

Safety and Security Report 2008

in An





http://www.colostate-pueblo.edu/univpubsafety/docs/ SecurityReport2008.pdf

Table of Contents

Law Enforcement Qualifications and Authority	3
Request Law Enforcement Assistance	4
Warning the Campus Community	4
Building Security	5
Crime Prevention	6
Sexual Harassment Policy	6
Sexual Assault	8
Victim's Rights	9
Alcohol and Drug Policy	10
Crime Statistics (2005–2007)	11
Campus Map	14

Colorado State University-Pueblo does not discriminate on the basis of race, age, color, religion, national origin, gender, disability, sexual orientation, veteran status or disability. The University complies with the Civil Rights Act of 1964, related Executive Orders 11246 and 11375, Title IX of the Education Amendments Act of 1972, Sections 503 and 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Section 402 of the Vietnam Era Veteran's Readjustment Act of 1974, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967, as amended, Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Civil Rights Act of 1991, and all civil rights laws of the State of Colorado. Accordingly, equal opportunity of employment and admission shall be extended to all persons and the University shall promote equal opportunity and treatment through a positive and continuing affirmative action program. The Office of Affirmative Action is located in AD 306. In order to assist CSU-Pueblo in meeting its affirmative action responsibilities, ethnic minorities, women, and other protected class members are encouraged to apply and to so identify themselves.

Safety and Security Report 2008 Pueblo County Sheriff's Office at CSU-Pueblo

The following information is intended to educate current and prospective students and staff at CSU-Pueblo of certain policies and crime statistics.

The University believes a community that is well informed about crime is a safety conscious public. Not only is it an individual's right to know the information included in this report, it is an advantage to act on it. Personal routines should be developed to enhance one's safety and to become actively involved in campus crime-prevention programs such as community policing. If questions arise regarding the following statistics, contact the Pueblo County Sheriff's Office at CSU-Pueblo. Contact can be made via phone at 719-549-2373 or in person at our office located at 2200 Bonforte Blvd., Administration Building 118.

This report is mandated by the "Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Campus Crime Statistics Act," which was originally enacted by Congress in 1990 as the Campus Security Act. The act was renamed in 1998 in the memory of Jeanne Clery, who was murdered at Lehigh University in her dorm room in 1986. Her parents, Howard and Connie Clery, made it their goal to make colleges and universities safer by mandating the disclosure of campus crime and security policies. Only if students are aware of the campus crimes will they take appropriate precautions to protect themselves.

This report is published by the Pueblo County Sheriff's Office at CSU-Pueblo and updated yearly.

Law Enforcement Qualifications and Authority

Law enforcement services are provided by the Pueblo County Sheriff's Office. The Pueblo County Sheriff's Office is staffed with experienced state Certified Peace Officers who are current in Colorado Peace Officer Standards and Training (P.O.S.T) procedures. Deputies are on campus 24 hours a day/7 days a week, including holidays.

Campus Service Officers (CSO's) also are utilized to provide added security on campus. CSO's are students and are not P.O.S.T. certified peace officers.

Request Law Enforcement Assistance

In the event of any crime or emergency on campus, the Pueblo County Sheriff's Office should be notified. You may contact the Sheriff's Office in any of the following ways:

- 8-911 (from a campus phone) for emergency assistance.
- 911 (from any pay phone) no coins are needed. Pay phones are located in most buildings.
- Emergency call boxes: You can find the orange box with a blue light on it in the following parking lots: N-1, N-4, E-1, E-10, S-1, W-1, W-3 and in front of the library. Please see the campus map for locations.
- Pueblo County Sheriff's Office at the CSU-Pueblo is located on the first floor of the Administration Building, Room 118, 549-2373 or 583-6250.

If you have witnessed a crime or suspicious activity and wish to remain anonymous, you can call the Tip Line at 549-2376. This is a voice messaging system only and immediate action will not be taken. Therefore, if the crime is in progress, you need to call the Sheriff's Office or 911. You are not required to give your personal information. The Pueblo Crime Stoppers may be contacted at 542-7867.

Warning the Campus Community

Pueblo County Sheriff's Office at CSU–Pueblo strives to keep the campus community informed of safety and security issues.

If a crime presents an ongoing threat to students and employees, a timely warning will be issued. The warning will be issued through the college e-mail system to students, faculty, staff and the campus' student newspaper, *The CSU-Pueblo Today*. Anyone with information warranting a timely warning should report the circumstances to the Sheriff's Office, by phone (549-2373) or in person at the Pueblo County Sheriff's Office at CSU – Pueblo, in Administration 118.

Sex Offender Registration Information

Sex offenders currently required to register must provide notice when they are employed at, volunteer at, or are enrolled at CSU-Pueblo. Law enforcement information concerning registered sex offenders at CSU- Pueblo may be obtained from the Pueblo County Sheriff's Office at CSU-Pueblo during normal business hours. Additional information can be found on the web site of the Colorado Bureau of Investigations at http://sor.state.co.us/

Building Security

Preserving a safe and secure environment is a responsibility everyone on campus must share. Employees have the responsibility to secure their work area and the students have the responsibility to lock their residence hall and apartment doors and secure their personal property.

Most campus buildings and facilities are accessible to members of the campus community, guests, and visitors during normal business hours Monday through Friday, excluding holidays. Certain facilities may be open for designated hours on Saturdays.

Exterior doors on campus buildings are locked and secured each evening by Facilities personnel. Buildings may be secured at different times based on factors such as night classes, special events, or computer lab times.

The Belmont Residence Hall is accessible to campus members and visitors from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. From 10 p.m. to 8 a.m. the residence hall has restricted access. During those hours, the entrances are secured and access is limited to BRH residents with proper identification. Visitors must be accompanied by a BRH resident and are required to sign in. Hall hours may very during holidays, breaks, and special events.

We ask that you take the following steps to stay aware and avoid circumventing policies or rules that are meant to preserve your safety and that of others.

- Do not prop doors open or allow strangers into campus buildings that have been secured.
- Do not lend keys or leave them unattended in your work or living space.
- Notify the Sheriff's Office at CSU–Pueblo of any suspicious activities or individuals.

Crime Prevention

The Pueblo County Sheriff's Office provides the following crime prevention services to improve the safety of the campus community. Throughout the year, the deputies will participate in various programs to address the community policing philosophy and provide information as it relates to crime prevention, alcohol use, and illegal drugs.

<u>Campus Service Officers</u>: CSU–Pueblo students who provide additional foot patrol, building security, parking enforcement, and Safe-Walks.

<u>Campus Safe-Walk Program</u>: The Safe-Walk Program is available to any campus member wishing to be escorted from one location to another on campus.

<u>Residence Hall and Building Patrol</u>: Patrols include Deputies and CSO's patrolling in and around the buildings.

<u>Emergency Call Boxes</u>: Call boxes are located around campus in eight (8) different locations. They can be found by looking for the orange colored box with a blue light on it, which is attached to a light pole.

<u>Lighting Survey</u>: A deputy provides the Director of Facilities a lighting survey indicating any outside lighting concerns.

<u>Operation ID</u>: Campus members are offered the use of an engraver to mark their valuables.

<u>Building Proctors</u>: All buildings on campus have an assigned building proctor and deputy.

<u>Campus Survey</u>: An annual survey is sent out to campus members regarding the performance of the Pueblo County Sheriff's Office at CSU - Pueblo.

Sexual Harassment

Colorado State University-Pueblo is firmly committed to maintaining a work and learning environment where students, faculty, and staff are treated with dignity and respect. Sexual harassment and acts of discrimination are illegal, often demeaning for the individual student or employee, and can disrupt the University's positive learning and working environment. All members of the University community have a responsibility to be aware of what behaviors constitute sexual harassment, to be responsible for their own actions, and to help create an environment free of sexual harassment.

Colorado State University-Pueblo defines sexual harassment as unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, and other verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature when one or more of the following criteria are met:

- Submission to such conduct is made either explicitly or implicitly a term or condition of an individual's employment or of academic status in a course, program, or activity.
- Submission to or rejection of such conduct by an individual is used as a basis for employment or academic educational decisions affecting such individual.
- Such conduct is sufficiently severe, persistent, or pervasive to have the purpose or effect of unreasonably interfering with an individual's work and/ or academic educational performance or creating an intimidating, hostile, or offensive work and/or learning environment.

Retaliation against any person for filing a complaint, participating in, or cooperating in an investigation is prohibited.

If you believe that you have been sexually harassed or that you have been retaliated against for filing a complaint or participating in an investigation by anyone during your work and/or academic activities at Colorado State University-Pueblo, you should report this conduct immediately. You may report this conduct to an officer of the University, instructional dean, division/department director, Director of Diversity or a Human Resources representative.

The University has appointed a Director of Diversity who is responsible for the Affirmative Action/Equal Employment Opportunity policies of the University. Inquiries and/or complaints may be referred to that office in the Administration Building, Room 310A or by calling (719) 549-2521. The Director of Diversity or his designate will investigate all credible allegations of sexual harassment in a timely manner. The official Sexual Harassment Policy is available on the web at <u>http://</u> www.colostate-pueblo.edu/hr/, the Diversity Office, or the Human Resources Office.

Complaints may be referred to the Office for Civil Rights, U.S. Department of Education, 1961 Stout Street, Denver, CO 80294; the Colorado Civil Rights Division, 1560 Broadway St., Suite 1050, Denver, CO 80202; or the U.S Equal Opportunity Employment Commission, 303 East 17th Avenue, Denver, CO 80203.

Sexual Assault

The victim of a sexual assault should contact the Pueblo County Sheriff's Office at CSU-Pueblo as soon as possible. Evidence in sexual assault cases can be lost because of delays in reporting. Victims are encouraged not to shower, clean up, change or launder clothing or further disturb the area where the assault occurred since any of these actions can reduce the chances of law enforcement recovering evidence in support of the victim. If a crime occurs on campus, the Sheriff's Office should be notified immediately. The Sheriff's Office has primary jurisdiction on the campus, and normally no other agency responds to a campus emergency call except upon an invitation from the Sheriff's Office.

Victims of a sexual assault occurring off campus are encouraged to promptly notify the law enforcement jurisdiction in which the assault occurred. The Sheriff's Office will assist any victim with notifications to other agencies. In Pueblo County, the easiest access is by dialing 911. Even though another jurisdiction's law enforcement agency may handle the official investigation of an assault, they may not offer all of the services provided by the University. This process begins by notifying the Sheriff's Office.

The University will consider changing on-campus living arrangements and academic changes on a case-by-case basis for victims of crime.

In a disciplinary hearing, the accuser and accused are given the same opportunities to have others present during the proceedings. Both the accused and the accuser shall be informed of the outcome of the disciplinary proceedings alleging sexual assault. In a disciplinary hearing, the sanctions for sexual assault range from a warning to expulsion.

Victim's Rights

If you are a victim (or in some cases, the family member of a victim) of any of the following crimes, your rights as a victims are defined and assured by the Constitution of the State of Colorado:

- 1st or 2nd degree murder
- Manslaughter
- Criminally negligent homicide, vehicular homicide
- 1st, 2nd, or 3rd degree assault, vehicular assault
- Assault on the elderly or handicapped
- Menacing
- 1st or 2nd degree kidnapping
- 1st, 2nd or 3rd degree sexual assault
- Robbery, aggravated robbery, aggravated robbery of a controlled substance, robbery of the elderly or handicapped
- Incest, aggravated incest
- Child abuse
- Sexual exploitation of children
- Crimes against at-risk adults
- Designated crimes of domestic violence

Victim's Bill of Rights

(If you are a victim of any of the above listed crimes)

You have the right to:

BE INFORMED of emergency services, compensation, community assistance, services, and procedures available to provide protection from harassment, intimidation, and retaliation;

BE ASSISTED by law enforcement agencies and the criminal justice system;

BE NOTIFIED of important matters relating to your case;

BE HEARD in all matters relating to your well being;

BE TREATED WITH DIGNITY AND RESPECT.

The University will provide assistance to victims of crime through a variety of ways, depending on the type of crime that was committed.

Outside agencies in Pueblo County can be arranged through A.C.O.V.A., a community organization for victim assistance. A.C.O.V.A. provides crisis intervention, referrals, follow up, and accompaniment through the court system. A.C.O.V.A can be reached by calling (719) 583-6434 or (719) 583-6250.

Alcohol and Drug Policy

CSU-Pueblo has a vital interest in maintaining a safe, healthy, and efficient working environment for its employees and students. Individuals impaired by alcohol or other drugs during work or school hours may pose a safety and health risk to themselves and others.

It is the University's policy that the unlawful manufacture, distribution, sale, possession, or use of alcohol and other illegal drugs is prohibited on University property or as part of University activities. Likewise, the use of alcohol, controlled substances, or other drugs that results in job or personal impairment is prohibited.

Violation of this policy will be cause for management/supervisory intervention that may result in referral to mandatory treatment and/or to corrective or disciplinary action, up to and including loss of eligibility of

financial aid, sports activities, dismissal, or expulsion.

Alcohol sale is permitted at selected sites for special events on campus. Alcohol is not permitted in the Belmont Residence Hall. Alcohol is permitted inside the Walking Stick apartments, which are privately managed on CSU-Pueblo property, to residents who are twenty one (21) years of age or older.

Alcohol or drug violations may be charged under Colorado State statute and/or Student Conduct violations.

Crime Statistics

The *Clery Act* requires institutions to disclose three general categories of crime statistics:

- 1. Types of Offenses—Criminal Homicide, including:
 - a) Murder and Non-Negligent Manslaughter; and
 - b) Negligent Manslaughter;
 - c) Sex Offenses including :
 - 1. Forcible
 - 2. Non-forcible
 - d) Robbery;
 - e) Aggravated Assault;
 - f) Burglary;
 - g) Motor Vehicle Theft;
 - h) Arson.

2. **Hate Crimes**—Disclose whether any of the above-mentioned offenses, or any other crimes involving bodily injury, were hate crimes.

3. Arrests and Referrals for Disciplinary Action for illegal weapons possession and violation of drug and liquor laws.

Table 1: Crime Statistics

	On Campus			Residence Halls			
	2005	2006	2007		2005	2006	2007
Liquor Violations	55	22	62		48	22	50
Drug Violations	7	4	5		6	4	5
Weapons Violations	0	0	1		0	0	1
Murder	0	0	0		0	0	0
Manslaughter	0	0	0		0	0	0
Forcible Sex	2	1	2		1	0	1
Non-forcible Sex	0	0	1		0	0	0
Robbery	0	0	0		0	0	0
Aggravated Assault	1	2	1		1	1	1
Burglary	6	4	5		5	5	3
Motor Veh Theft	0	1	0		0	0	0
Arson	0	1	1		0	1	1
Hate Crimes	0	0	0		0	0	0

Residence halls are a subset of the on-campus category.

Campus Disciplinary Referrals

The Office of Student Life is responsible for student judicial affairs and also establishes and enforces student standards of conduct. Disciplinary actions range from a warning to expulsion. Students charged with violations of the law may expect to have the matter handled by the University's disciplinary process as well as through the criminal courts.

Table 2: Disciplinary Referrals

	2005	2006	2007
Liquor Violations *	43	22	62
Drug Violations	3	4	5
Weapons Violations	0	1	1

