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SEecTioN | STATEWIDE PERSPECTIVE

The Colorado Department of Transportations (CDOT's) Office of Transportation Safety
(OTS) retained BBC Research & Consulting (BBC) to prepare the FY2011 Problem Identi-
fication Report. The study team would like to gratefully acknowledge the leadership and con-

tributions of the following individuals—uwithout their assistance and leadership this project
would not have been possible: Mike Nugent, Carol Gould, Glenn Davis, Rahim Marandi,
Kevin Dietrick, Susan Woods, Don Snow, Al Conner, Yakov Moyn and Steve Hooper.

Objective

The mission of the OTS is to work with traf-
fic safety stakeholders to reduce the number and
severity of traffic crashes in Colorado, and the
economic and human loss associated with crash-
es. To achieve this objective, the OTS admin-
isters state and federal dollars to a broad range
of partners, including law enforcement, local
traffic safety coalitions, nonprofit organizations,
health and prevention professionals, among
others. These partners develop and implement
education and enforcement programs targeted
at reducing high-risk driving behaviors (e.g.,
impaired driving) or delivering impactful mes-
saging to high-risk drivers (e.g., teens). In order
for the OTS to direct its limited resources in the
most effective manner, the OTS conducts an
annual analysis of Colorado crashes and traffic
safety data—the Problem Identification Report.

The FY2011 Problem Identification Report
examines trends in Colorado crash and traffic
safety data at the state level, regionally and on a
county-by-county basis.

Data Sources

The following data were used to construct the

FY2011 Problem Identification Report:

B 2010 Electronic Accident Reporting Sys-
tem (EARS) crash data from the Depart-
ment of Revenue (DOR);

B DOR’s database of Colorado Licensed
Drivers in 2010;

B 2010 county population estimates from
the Colorado Division of Local Affairs;

B 2010 observational seat belt surveys con-
ducted by the Institute of Transportation
Management at Colorado State Univer-

sity;
B 2010 enforcement data from the OTS;

B Preliminary 2010 Fatality Analysis
Reporting System (FARS) data from the
OTS; and

B Economic costs of crashes from the Na-
tional Safety Council.
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Colorado Crash Severity Trends

In 2010, preliminary FARS data show that Fatalities on Colorado’s roadways have fallen
Colorado’s 409 fatal crashes were the lowest to- from a high of 743 deaths in 2002 to a record
tal number of fatal crashes in a decade (shown low of 448 in 2010 (shown in Figure 2). From
in Figure 1, below). The 2010 number of fatal 2009 to 2010, the number of fatalities fell by 4

crashes is a 6 percent reduction from 2009. percent.

Figure 1. Fatal Crashes, 2001-2010
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Source: BBC Research & Consulting from FARS data. Data reported for 2010 are preliminary.

Figure 2. Fatalities, 2001-2010
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Source: BBC Research & Consulting from FARS data. Data reported for 2010 are preliminary.
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Overall since 2002, fatalities and fatal crashes
per 100 million Vehicle Miles Traveled (VMT)

have declined annually, despite increases in

VMT (Figure 3).

A retrospective look at injury crashes is mud-
died, because the classification of an injury crash

changed in 2005 with the release of a new traffic
manual. The data from 2008-2010 are consis-
tent and show a steady decline in the number of
injury crashes. From 2009 to 2010, the number
of injury crashes in Colorado fell by 9 percent
(Figure 4).

Figure 3. Fatalities and Fatal Crashes per 100 Million VMT, 2001-2010

== Fatal crashes per 100 Million VMT ==¢==Fatalities per 100 Million VMT
1.73 171
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2008 2009 2010

Source: BBC Research & Consulting from FARS data. Figures for 2010 are preliminary.

Figure 4. Injury crashes, 2001-2010

34,160 33,944

31,731 31,796
11,207
Data not available.
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2008 2009 2010

Note: In 2005, the classification of injury crashes changed with the release of a new traffic manual.

Source: BBC Research & Consulting from EARS data.
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As with examining injury crashes, a historic view Even with the changes in classifying injuries

is impeded by the change in classification of an and injury crashes, the rate of injury crashes and
injury. The data from 2008-2010 are consistent injuries per 100 million VMT have steadily de-
and indicate that the number of injuries result- clined since 2002 (Figure 6).

ing from crashes is declining. From 2009 to 2010,
injuries fell by 10 percent (Figure 5).

Figure 5. Injuries, 2001-2010

51,803
48,649

45,167 44,847
14,177
12,010 10,782
Data not available.

2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010
Note: In 2005, the classification of an injury changed.
Source: BBC Research & Consulting from EARS data.
Figure 6. Injury Crashes and Injuries per 100 Million VMT, 2001-2010

==Injury crashes per 100 Million VMT ==@==Injuries per 100 Million VMT
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Note: In 2005, the classification of an injury changed.
Source: BBC Research & Consulting from EARS data.

Section | - 5



Like more severe crashes, property damage-only Occupant Protection
(PDO) crashes also have shown a decline since

2008. From 2009 to 2010, the number of PDO In 2010, 2,815 individuals injured in crashes
crashes decreased by 4 percent (Figure 7). were unrestrained—or 26% of all those injured
in Colorado (Figure 8).

Figure 7. Property Damage-Only Crashes, 2001-2010

102,598 98,332
93,197

92,213 94,578
85,116 81,717
Data not available. | I
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Source: BBC Research & Consulting from EARS data.

Figure 8. 2010 Vehicle Occupant Injuries—Restraint Status

Unrestrained
26%

Note: n=10,872 injuries.
Source: BBC Research & Consulting from EARS data.
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Each year the OTS funds a statistically valid
observational survey of occupant protection use
statewide. Figure 7 depicts the slow but steady
increase in statewide seat belt use from 1990 to
2010.1In 2010, seat belt use was 82.9 percent, the
highest ever recorded in Colorado.

Historically, drivers and passengers in light
trucks have had much lower observed seat belt
use than drivers in other passenger vehicles. In
1995, slightly more than one-third of light truck
occupants used seat belts, compared to 72.7 per-
cent in 2010 (Figure 10).

Figure 9. Statewide Seat Belt Use, 1990-2010
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Source: BBC Research & Consulting from historical data and the 2010 Statewide Seat Belt Survey

conducted by the Institute for Transportation Management.

Figure 10. Statewide Light Truck Seat Belt Use, 1995-2010
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Source: BBC Research & Consulting from historical data and the 2010 Statewide Seat Belt Survey

conducted by the Institute for Transportation Management.
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Teen seat belt use—82.2 percent in 2010—is Juvenile seat belt use continues to lag that of
very similar to that of all Colorado drivers and adults, although 2010 had the highest observed
passengers, and exceeds that of juveniles by a juvenile seat belt use since the survey began in

considerable margin (Figure 11). 1997 (Figure 12).

Figure 11. Teen Seat Belt Use, 2005-2010
82.2%

80.6%
79.2%

70.4%

Data not available

2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010

Source: BBC Research & Consulting from historical data and the 2010 Statewide Seat Belt Surveyconducted
by the Institute for Trans-portation Management.

Figure 12. Juvenile (Age 5 to 15) Seat Belt Use, 1997-2010
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Data not available.
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Source: BBC Research & Consulting from historical data and the 2010 Statewide Seat Belt Survey conducted by the
Institute for Transportation Management.
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Observed occupant protection device usage—
car seats and booster seats—for the youngest
children (birth to age 4) declined from 2009
to 2010 although, at 85 percent, this is slightly
higher than the historic average of 85 percent
(Figure 13).

Figure 13. Children’s (Birth to Age 4) Car Seat and Booster Seat Belt Use, 1997-2010
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Source: BBC Research & Consulting from historical data and the 2010 Statewide Seat Belt Survey conducted by the Institute for
Transportation Management.
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Motorcycles, Bicycles and

Pedestrians

In 2010, there were 82 motorcyclist fatalities, In 2010, seven bicyclists and 37 pedestrians were
comprising nearly 20 percent of total fatalities, killed on Colorado’s roads. As shown in Figure
as shown in Figure 14. With respect to all those 15, pedestrians accounted for 8 percent of total
injured in crashes, motorcyclists accounted for fatalities.

11 percent of total injuries.

Figure 14. 2010 Motorcyclist Fatalities

Motorcyclist
fatalities

18%

Source: BBC Research & Consulting from preliminary 2010 FARS data.

Figure 15. 2010 Pedestrian Fatalities

Pedestrian

fatalities
8%

Source: BBC Research & Consulting from preliminary 2010 FARS data.
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APPENDIX B CountYy DATA SHEETS

This Appendix presents the 2010 Problem ldentification results for
each of Colorados 64 counties. The following pages describe each of
the measures of traffic safety reported for counties. If you have ques-
tions, contact Carol Gould at the Office of Transportation Safety:
Carol. Gould@dot.state.co.us or 303-757-9468.

EXAMPLE
COUNTY

Fatal crashes: The total

Rank: Shows where the number of fatal crashes

county ranks in the state with that occurr_ed within

respect to total fatalities. the county in 2010.
Preliminary FARS data.

th 27 fatal crashes Primary challenges: In
out of 409 statewide this space, the primary

traffic safety challenges
in the County are briefly
discussed.

2 9 fatalities
/Jigbesz‘ 0f’64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities |

Fatalities: The total number of fatalities
from the county’s 2010 fatal crashes.
Preliminary FARS data.
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EXAMPLE
COUNTY

Impaired driver residence index: Values
greater than 1.0 indicate that crash drivers
living in the county are more likely to be
impaired than the state average. For example,
if County X has an index of 3.0, drivers living
in County X are 3 times more likely to be
impaired than the state average.

Impaired driver crash location
index: Examines the scope of al-
cohol-related crashes that occur
in a county and compares each
county’s rate of alcohol-related
crashes to the state average.

Percent of alcohol-related
fatal crashes: The percentage
of fatal crashes occurring in
the county that were alcohol-
related. Preliminary FARS
data.

25%

percent of
alcohol-related
fatal crashes

IMPAIRED DRIVERS
impaired driver
5 2 residence index
° 35" worst
history of impaired
3 7 driving index
° 7" worst

Impaired male age 21-24: Male
crash drivers age 21-24 have the
highest incidence of impaired
driving. This index examines the
incidence of impaired driving

by county residents in this age
cohort, compared to the state

impaired driver
crash location index
° 14" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 8™ worst

14" worst

80229 80601

80022 80241 impaired driver

average for this cohort.

History of impaired driving
index: Drivers with a history of
impaired driving were 50 times
more likely to crash while driv-
ing impaired than all other driv-
ers. This index illustrates how
the proportion of drivers with

a history of impaired driving in
each county compares to the
statewide proportion of driv-
ers with a history of impaired
driving.

Impaired driver ZIP code of
residence: This list identifies
the ZIP codes where the larg-
est number of impaired crash
drivers reside.

80233 80260 f;:lgce";i: Clj
80221 80031
ECONOMIC COSTS

T

Economic costs: The National
Safety Council estimates the
economic costs of motor vehi-
cle crashes by the severity of
the crash. These costs are cal-
culated for each county. The
economic cost of a fatal crash
is estimated to be $1.29
million. A nonfatal disabling
injury crash is $68,000, and
a property damage-only crash
costs $8,200.
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(age birth to 5).

Occupant protection: Each year, a sam-
ple of Colorado counties are included
in observational surveys of occupant
protection use. These graphics depict
overall seat belt use in the county: teen
seat belt use; juvenile seat belt use

(age 5 to 15) and booster/car seat use 5 (y unrestrained
O injuries

percent of

14" worst

OCCUPANT PROTECTION
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Unrestrained injuries:
HEEEEEEEEEN 16th This measure reports
EEEEEEEEER in-
EEEEEEEEEE bestof fche perce'ntage of in
= (5 B B B jured vehicle occupants
I i ] ] [ 18 who were unrestrained
HEENENENEEE counties at the time of the crash.
EEEEEEEEER
EEEEEEEEER
AEEEEEEEEEN
EEREEEEEEER

85% teen seat belt use

EENENNNNEE |
EEEEEmmmnn 16
EEEEEEEEEE besof
EEEEDEEEEE
eunnnnnnn 20
.......... counties
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEN
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE

76% kids (0-4) seat belt use
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EXAMPLE COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS

1% of teens have texting, cell
phone, and GDL violations

6th worst of 64 counties

*

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 14" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

o 8" worst

80229 80601 at-fault
80022 80241 teen driver
80233 80260 ZIP codes of
80221 80031 residence

*

—

At-fault teen driver resi-
dence index: This index
compares a county’s
rate of teen drivers at-
fault in a crash to the
state’s rate. Counties
with an index greater
than 1.0 have teenage
drivers that are more
likely than teen drivers
statewide to be at-fault
in a crash.

Impaired teen driver
residence index: Values

Texting, cell phone and GDL
violations: This graphic de-
picts the proportion of resi-
dent teen drivers with a his-
tory of texting, cell phone or
GDL violations on their record.

Teen driver ZIP code of
residence: This index
identifies the ZIP codes
where the greatest
number of teen at-fault
drivers resided.

greater than 1.0 indicate
that teens living in the
county are more likely to
be impaired crash driv-
ers than the state aver-
age for this age cohort.

OLDER DRIVERS

drivers age
70-74 index
° 7" worst
drivers age
80-84 index
° 7" worst

drivers age
75-79 index
° 8™ worst
drivers age
85-90+ index
° 8" worst

Older driver crash indices. Four

ﬁ indices related to older drivers

are reported. Each examines
the incidence of crash involve-
ment by an age cohort (e.g.,
70 to 74) and compares this
incidence to the state average.
Counties with indices greater
than 1.0 have greater than
expected older at-fault drivers.
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EXAMPLE COUNTY

History of reckless driving index: Drivers with a history of
reckless driving or excessive speed are nearly 3 times
more likely to be an at-fault crash driver than drivers with-
out a history of reckless driving or excessive speed. When
this index exceeds 1.0, the county has a higher proportion
of residents with a history of reckless driving and exces-
sive speed than the state as a whole.

Reckless driver residence index: The share of crash drivers
cited with reckless driving or excessive speed are com-
pared to the state average. Counties with an index greater
than 1.0 have residents that are more likely than expected
to be cited with reckless driving in a crash.

RECKLESS DRIVERS

history of reckless
q driving index
° 14" worst

reckless driver
1 residence index
q ° 14" worst

AT-FAULT DRIVERS

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
o 44™" worst o 51t worst

MOTORCYCLES

rider-to-driver
4 crash residence
I P index
crash residence
I 2 , ind
° index

At-fault driver residence
index: This index examines
the per capita involvement
of county resident at-fault
crash drivers to the state
average. Counties with

an index greater than 1.0
have residents that are
more likely than expected
to be involved in a crash.

Crash location index:

This index examines the
frequency of crashes oc-
curring in a county and
compares this to the state
average. The county’s driv-
ing age population is em-
ployed as a proxy for VMT.

Crash residence index: The
share of resident motorcyclists
in injury crashes are compared
to the state average. Counties
with an index greater than 1.0
have residents that are more
likely than expected to be injured
in a motorcycle crash.

Rider-driver-crash residence
Index: This index examines
whether riders with a motorcycle
endorsement living in a county
are more likely to be injured in

a crash than drivers in a county.
If riders and drivers in a county
both have the same likelihood of
an injury, the index would be 1.0.
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Primary challenges: occupant

2 7 fatal crashes
out of 409 statewide

29

protection use by juveniles &
children; impaired driving; and

5 fatalities
out of 448 statewide

motorcycle crashes.

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (199 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
0 9 residence index
° 26" worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 11™ worst

impaired driver
1 crash location index
° 2 20" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 28" worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

3 worst

80229 80234 [ 2P codesof

SUZI g1 impaired driver
80221 80031 P
80022 80260 | 'esidence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION (259 UNRESTRAINED

EEEEEEEEENEH)d HNEEEEEEEEE 4t

EEEEEEEEEE 2 BopuEEsEEn 3 $176,140,800
EEEEEEEEEEbstof NEEEEEEEEE bestof p
NENEENEEEE 5 I property damage
EEEEEEEEEN 2> messsssses 18

i — B —

EEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE $28,008,9OO
EEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE >
ENEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE injury costs

89% overall seat belt use 85% teen seat belt use

ONDEDNEIND O N [0 [ [ [ T [

sesnnennns 19" Seesssssss 177 $37,410,000
EEEEEEEEEE betof HENEEEEEEE bosof Sfatality costs
EEEEDEEEEE I

T T PA TTTTTT TP

EEEEEEEEEN countcs HMEREEEEEEE ooy

T T

EEEEEEEEEE T $241,559,7OO
EEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE rotal cost

60% juvenile (5-15) seat belt use

76% kids (0-4) seat belt use
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ADAMS COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (99 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)
1 O at-fault teen driver
residence index
° 16™ worst
O 9 impaired teen driver
residence index
° 31t worst

0.4% of teens have texting, cell 80233 80221 | atfault

phone, and GDL violations 80229 80022 teen driver
80241 80234 zip codes of
80031 80601 residence

45 th worst of 64 counties

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (733 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
° 14" worst ° 28" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (21 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 23" worst ° 23" worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 13" worst ° 18" worst

OCCUPANT
PROTECTION (cont.)

unrestrained

319 {&="

20" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS (17
INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 24" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 23" worst

MOTORCYCLES (98

MOTORCYCLIST INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index
° 15" worst
crash residence
index
° 5™ worst

In 2010, Adams County had the 5th highest number of fa-
talities out of all Colorado counties, and 7% of the state’s
alcohol-related fatal crashes occurred in Adams County, the
third worst in the state.

Of the counties included in the observational seat belt study,
Adams County’s results are mixed. Adult seat belt use great-
ly exceeds that of juveniles and the youngest children. Mo-
torcyclists who reside in Adams County are 20% more likely

to be injured in a crash than motorcyclists statewide.

Adams County’s impaired driving challenge is complex.
Residents have a 30% higher concentration of drivers with
an impaired history than found statewide. Additionally,
more impaired driving crashes happen in the County than
would be expected given their population.
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-1 ALAMOSA

COUNTY

6 fatal crashes

; th out of 409 statewide

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

6 fatalities

out of 448 statewide

Primary challenges: maintaining
recent strides gained toward
reducing impaired driving and
reducing crashes involving resident

drivers age 70-79.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (5 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver
0 residence index crash location index
° ; 46" worst ° 15" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 49" worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

11" worst

81101 impaired driver
zip codes of
81 136 residence

history of impaired
driving index
° 13™" worst
unrestrained

OCCUPANT PROTECTION et
(11 UNRESTRAINED 26% {gjgtnhes
INJURIES) worst

TEEN DRIVERS (4 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)
O 8 at-fault teen driver
residence index
37" worst
O 3 impaired teen driver
residence index
46™ worst

1.97% of teens have texting, cell 80229 80601 atfault
80022 80241 teen driver

phone, and GDL violations

1 3th worst of 64 counties

80233 80260 zip codes of
80221 80031 residence

ECONOMIC COSTS

$7,372,000

property damage

$1,516,500

injury costs

$7,740,000

fatality costs

$16,628,500

total cost
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ALAMOSA COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (34 INJURY CRASHES) (O RECKLESS INJURY
CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location hi £ reckl
residence index index dlr?\tf)r:é ic; dr:;: ess
° 5" worst ° 15" worst .

15" worst

18" worst

drivers. age 1 9 {drivers.age
2 2 70-74 index 75-79 index MOTORCYCLES
nd th
: {2 worst © 7 LA worst (2 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

reckless driver
OLDER DRIVERS (1 INJURY CRASH) 1 1 {residenceindex
[

rider-to-driver

drivers age drivers age crash residence
80-84 index 85-90+ index index

° 45" worst ° 40" worst ° 23" worst
crash residence
index

° 14" worst

Overall, 3% of the state’s alcohol-related fatal crashes oc- Older drivers from Alamosa County are twice as likely to be
curred in Alamosa County, 11th worst overall. Despite this, involved in a crash than their peers statewide, and Alamosa
Alamosa County has made significant improvements regard- County ranks 2nd and 4th worst on measures related to driv-
ing impaired driving compared to prior years. Residents are ers age 70-74 and 75-79 respectively.

less likely than the state average to be impaired drivers in a
crash, ranking 46th out of 64 on this measure. Remarkably,
men ages 21 to 24 are 70% less likely than their peers state-
wide to be involved as an impaired driver in a crash. Sustain-
ing these gains is important, and other communities could
learn from Alamosa County’s progress on this issue.
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| ARAPAHOE
1 COUNTY

7th

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

1 7 out of 409 statewide

aml crashes

Primary challenges: juvenile and
youth occupant protection; teen

drivers; motorcyclists; and reducing

fatalities
out of 448 statewide

fatalities on the County’s roads.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (101 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
1 0 residence index
° 19" worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 39" worst

impaired driver
O 9 crash location index
° 43" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 31t worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

6" worst

80010 80014 [ 2P codesof

ey’ A impaired driver
80013 80010 P
80015 goo17 | 'esidence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION (271 UNRESTRAINED

INJURIES)

(N [0 [ [ [ Y (T Y M 15’th
EDDDoEEEED
I best of
EEEEEEEEEN 25’
EEEEEEEEEN
HEENENENENENNEN counties
AEEEEEEEER
E0DOTONEES
AEEEEEEEEEN
EEEEEEEEEE

82% overall seat belt use

OO0 0 T g
eennennmns 13
I O O O O O O O st of
EEEEDEEEEE
T T PA
P counties
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE

71% juvenile (5-15) seat belt use

EEEEEENNEEN Cth
EEDEoEEEES
EEEEEENEEE bestof
EEEEEEEEEE 18
EEEEEEEEEN
HMENENEENENEN counties
EEENOEEEEE
SONOCoNEEE
EEEEEEEEEN
EEEEEEEEEE

85% teen seat belt use

A EE AW A
eennnnnnnn 20
EEEEEEEEEE b of
I
mennnnnnnn 20
EEEEEEEEEE o
EEEEEEEEEN
EEEEEEEENE
EEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE

58% kid (0-4) seat belt use

ECONOMIC COSTS

$207,406,800

property damage

$34,747,500

injury costs

$24,510,000

fatality costs

$266,664,300

total cost
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ARAPAHOE COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (125 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 13" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 24" worst

80015 80011 at-fault
80013 80122 teen driver
80016 80010 zip codes of
80012 80017 residence

0.3% of teens have texting, cell
phone, and GDL violations

49th worst of 64 counties

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (935 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
° 10" worst ° 36" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (57 INJURY CRASHES)
O 9 drivers age 1 O drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 24™ worst ° 20" worst
1 O drivers age 1 O drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 25" worst ° 20" worst

OCCUPANT
PROTECTION (cont.)

unrestrained

26% {&=

37" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(24 INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 36" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 19" worst

MOTORCYCLES (131
MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
1 6 index
° 16" worst
crash residence
index
° 6" worst

In the observational seat belt study, only 58% of the youngest
children (age birth to 4) were properly restrained and juve-
nile seat belt use was also low (71%).

With respect to fatalities, Arapahoe County was the 7th
worst out of Colorado’s 64 counties. Overall, 6 percent of
the state’s alcohol-related fatal crashes occurred in Arapahoe
County, the 6th worst statewide.

Arapahoe County teens are 10% more likely than teens
statewide to be the at-fault driver in a crash, and the County
ranks 13th worst on this measure.

Resident motorcyclists are 30% more likely than others in
the state to be involved in an injury crash; the 6th worst
statewide.
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COUNTY

ARCHULETA

men ages 21 to 34; reduce crashes
élfa[ 1ty involving older drivers.

highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

a f ol crash Primary challenge: reduce impaired
9t out of 409 statewide driving overall and particularly by

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (6 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver
1 residence index crash location index
° 2 7" worst ° 11" worst
history of impaired impaired male
driving index age 21-24 index
50" worst 12™ worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

64" worst

residence

impaired driver
81147 Zip codes of

OCCUPANT PROTECTION centn
(9 UNRESTRAINED unrestained
INJURIES) 23% i rasnes.

TEEN DRIVERS (4 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index
49" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index
40" worst

1.6% of teens have texting, cell at-fault
phone, and GDL violations teen driver
81 147 zip codes of
th residence
6 worst of 64 counties

ECONOMIC COSTS

$3,395,000

property damage

$1,359,000

injury costs

$1,290,000

fatality costs

$6,044,000

total cost
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ARCHULETA COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (31 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
o 47" worst ° 40™ worst

OLDER DRIVERS (1 INJURY CRASH)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
N 52" worst o 12" worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
® 11* worst ° 64" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(1 INJURY CRASH)

history of reckless
O driving index
° 55" worst
reckless driver
1 3 residence index
° 11* worst

MOTORCYCLES
(1 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURY)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index
° 46" worst
crash residence
index
° 45" worst

Archuleta County men between the ages of 21 and 24 are County residents are 30% more likely than drivers statewide
nearly twice as likely than their peers statewide to be im- to be cited with reckless driving or excessive speed resulting
paired in a crash. Overall, Archuleta County residents rank in a crash.

7th worst among Colorado’s 64 counties in a measure exam-
ining impaired driving.

Resident older drivers between the ages of 75-79 and 80-84
are 20% and 40% more likely than their peers to be involved
in a crash.
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BACA
COUNTY

_ﬂl tal crashes Primary challenges: impaired driving
8t 6 out of 409 statewide by teens and men ages 21 to 24

6 fatalities

out of 448 statewide

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (1 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASH)

impaired driver impaired driver O percent of
residence index crash location index alcohol-related
45™ worst 24t worst O fatal crashes

13" worst
(0.8 [ ) | [omme, sors Lo
° 49" worst ° 10" worst 81090 residence
OCCUPANT PROTECTION unrestrained
(0 UNRESTRAINED O(y percent of ECONOMIC COSTS
INJURIES) 0 e
$710,000

property damage
TEEN DRIVERS (0 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

O 2 Fesidonca x| $43,800
° 63" worst injury costs

2.6 {L;“;::s;’;?:;ei”“e' $7,740,000

5™ worst fatality costs

residence total cost

3.6% of teens have texting, cell at-fault
hone, and GDL violati i
phone, an violations 81073 } tc_aen driver $ 8,494,000

zip codes of
rd .
3 worst of 64 counties
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BACA COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (2 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver
residence index
° 61t worst

crash location
index
° 54" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age
O O 70-74 index
° 64" worst
drivers age
0 0 80-84 index
° 64" worst

drivers age
O O 75-79 index
° 64" worst
drivers age
O O 85-90+ index
° 64" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(0 INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 60" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 64" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(O MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index
[}

64" worst

crash residence
O O index
° 64" worst

Baca County had the 18th highest number of fatalities in
the state and accounted for 2% of the state’s alcohol-related

fatalities.

Baca County men ages 21 to 24 are twice as likely as their

counterparts statewide to be impaired at the time of a crash.

Baca County teens are nearly 3 times more likely than teens

statewide to be impaired drivers in a crash.
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- BENT
COUNTY

a Z‘ ol crash Primary challenges: Impaired driving
t out of 409 statewide in general and by men ages 21 to
24; occupant protection use by all

ﬂfa[ Zf vehicle occupants.
highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (5 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver O percent of
0 8 residence index crash location index O ?|C°|h0| rer:ated
atal crashes
° 35" worst ° 2 18" worst

64" worst
O 9 history of impaired 3 () impaired male impaired driver
driving index age 21-24 index 81054 zip codes of
° 44" worst ° 6" worst residence
OCCUPANT PROTECTION o
(5 UNRESTRAINED 0 percent of ECONOMIC COSTS
INJURIES) 63% mes
$1,125,200

TEEN DRIVERS (0 TEEN INJURY CRASHES) property damage

O 7 fesdonce dex $358,800
L 45" worst injury costs

0.0 {L;“;::s;’;?:;ei”“e' $1,290,000

64" worst fatality costs

0.8% of teens have texting, cell 81054 at-fault
phone, and GDL violations teen driver
81044 } zip codes of $2’774’000
id
32nd worst of 64 counties 81057 o total cost
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BENT COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (6 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver
residence index
o 63" worst

crash location
index
° 56" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age
O O 70-74 index
° 64" worst
drivers age
O O 80-84 index
° 64" worst

drivers age
O 4 75-79 index
° 50" worst
drivers age
O O 85-90+ index
° 64" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(O INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
O 6 driving index
° 60" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 64" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(O MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

O O crash residence
index
[}

64" worst

crash residence
O O index
° 64" worst

Bent County has a problem with men ages 21 to 24 driving

while impaired. Men ages 21 to 24 are 3 times more likely to

be impaired crash drivers than their counterparts statewide

and Bent County ranks 6th worst overall on this measure.

Of those vehicle occupants injured in a crash in Bent Coun-
ty, 63% were not restrained. Bent County had the worst rate

of unrestrained injuries in the state.
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BOULDER
COUNTY

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

20
20

‘atal crashes

atalities

out of 409 statewide

out of 448 statewide

Primary challenges: maintaining and

improving rates of impaired drving

and occupant protection.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (77 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
1 O crash location index
° 33 worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 39" worst

impaired driver
0 9 residence index
° 27" worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 35" worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

9" worst

80026 80301 [ 2P codesof

80501 80303 n oo
80027 80504 p
80503 80305 residence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION (122 UNRESTRAINED

INJURIES)

(N [0 [ [ [ Y (T Y M 6th
EDDDoEEEED
I best of
EEEEEEEEEN 25’
EEEEEEEEEN
HEENENENENENNEN counties
AEEEEEEEER
SODDOONEES
AEEEEREEEN
EEEEEEEEEE

86% overall seat belt use

EEEEEEEEEN Sth
EEEEEEEEEN
I W Dbest of
EEEEEEEEEE
T4
[T counties
EEEEEEEEEN
EREEEEEEEER
AEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE

83% juvenile (5-15) seat belt use

81% teen seat belt use

(0 ) [T () T [
EEEEEEEEEN
ANEEEEREEN
AEEEEEEEEN
EEEEEEEEEN
AEEEEEEEER
EEEEEEEEERE
AENEEEEEEER
EEEGEEEEES
EREEEEEEEN
63% kid (0-4) seat belt use

6th

best of

18

counties

6th

best of

20

counties

ECONOMIC COSTS

$105,898,600

property damage

$21,660,300

injury costs

$25,800,000

fatality costs

$153,358,900

total cost
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BOULDER COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (56 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 38" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 30" worst

80501 80026
80503 80301
80027 80302
80504 80303

0.2% of teens have texting, cell
phone, and GDL violations

5 3rd worst of 64 counties

OCCUPANT
PROTECTION (cont.)

18%

56™ worst

percent of

injuries
RECKLESS DRIVERS
(9 INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
at-fault driving index
tgen driver PY 37th worst
zip codes of
residence

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (597 INJURY CRASHES)

crash location
index
° 34" worst

at-fault driver
residence index
° 215t worst

reckless driver
residence index
° 28" worst

MOTORCYCLES (49
MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

OLDER DRIVERS (20 INJURY CRASHES)
1 O drivers age
75-79 index
° 17" worst
1 1 drivers age
85-90+ index
° 15" worst

drivers age
70-74 index
° 21 worst
drivers age
80-84 index
° 23" worst

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index
° 26" worst
crash residence
index
° 28" worst

Among Colorado counties, Boulder County is generally do-
ing well with respect to traffic safety. Seat belt use by adults,
teens and juveniles is high compared to the rest of the state.

With respect to fatalities, Boulder ranks 6th worst statewide
and 9th worst with respect to alcohol-related fatal crashes.
Maintaining and increasing occupant protection use rates
and maintaining and continuing to decrease impaired driv-
ing will continue to be a challenge. Other counties can learn

from Boulder County’s experiences.

Boulder County does appear to have an emerging challenge
associated with older drivers. Those age 85-90 are 10% more
likely than others their age statewide to be involved in a
crash, and Boulder County ranks 15th worst on this measure.

Boulder County motorcyclists are 10% more likely to be in-
jured in a crash than Boulder County drivers.
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COUNTY

BROOMFIELD

1 fatal crash

I S t out of 409 statewide

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

1 fatality

out of 448 statewide

Primary challenges: impaired driving
by male County residents ages 21 to
24; overall crash reduction.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (10 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
O residence index
2 57" worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 40" worst

impaired driver
crash location index
46" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 33" worst

percent of

O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

64" worst

residence

impaired driver
80020 Zip codes of

OCCUPANT PROTECTION
(31 UNRESTRAINED
INJURIES)

unrestrained

26% {r;;t?:; ‘

4" worst

TEEN DRIVERS (3 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 57" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 45" worst

at-fault
teen driver
80020 zip codes of

0.1% of teens have texting, cell
phone, and GDL violations

5 5 th worst of 64 counties

residence

ECONOMIC COSTS

$24,598,000

property damage

$4,190,700

injury costs

$1,290,000

fatality costs

$30,078,700

total cost
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BROOMFIELD COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (101 INJURY CRASHES)

crash location
index
° 22" worst

at-fault driver
residence index
o 60" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(2 INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 45" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (1 INJURY CRASH)

drivers age
70-74 index
° 27" worst
drivers age
80-84 index
° 28" worst

drivers age
75-79 index
° 44" worst
drivers age
85-90+ index
° 30" worst

reckless driver
O 4 residence index
° 44" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(8 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index

° 6" worst
crash residence
index

° 29" worst

Overall, Broomfield County has fewer stark traffic safety
challenges when compared to other Colorado counties. On
most measures, Broomfield County is among the best, par-
ticularly those related to impaired driving. Resident men 21-
24 years old, however, continue to be impaired crsah drivers
at a rate nearly equal to the state rate.

Broomfield motorcyclists are 80% more likely than Broom-
field drivers to be injured in a crash. The County ranks 6th
worst statewide on this measure.

Broomfield residents age 70-74 are nearly twice as likely as
others in their age cohort to be involved in a crash, resulting
in the County’s rank of 27th worst overall.

Perhaps Broomfield’s greatest traffic safety challenge is over-
all crash reduction. Crashes are 10% more likely to occur in
Broomfield than in other counties - the County ranks 22nd
worst with respect to crash location.
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-1 CHAFFEE

COUNTY

4 ‘atal crashes

out of 409 statewide

Primary challenges: overall crash
prevention and preventing crash

involvement by drivers age 80 and

7th /i )
4 fatalities older.

highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (2 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
0 8 residence index
° 34™" worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 46" worst

impaired driver
crash location index
° 30" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 44™ worst

13" worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

81211 impaired driver
81201 zip .codes of
81236 residence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION
(10 UNRESTRAINED
INJURIES)

unrestrained

220 {r;;i?:; °f

47" worst

TEEN DRIVERS (4 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index
° 34" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index
42 worst

1.0% of teens have texting, cell 80229 80601 atfault
80022 80241 teen driver

phone, and GDL violations

27th worst of 64 counties

80233 80260 zip codes of
80221 80031 residence

ECONOMIC COSTS

$5,141,200

property damage

$1,466,400

injury costs

$5,160,000

fatality costs

$11,767,600

total cost
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CHAFFEE COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (38 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
o 27" worst ° 24" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (4 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 9" worst ° 45" worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 5" worst ° 3" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(0 INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
O 9 driving index
° 41* worst
reckless driver
O residence index
° 2 48" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(2 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index

° 39" worst
crash residence
index

° 44" worst

Older drivers living in Chaffee County are an emerging
traffic safety challenge. Resident drivers age 70-74 are 30%
more likely than others their age in the state to be involved
in a crash, and are the 9th worst county in the state. Resi-
dents age 80-84 and 85+ are 70% and 80% more likely to be
in a crash than others their age, and Chaftee County ranks
5th worst and 3rd worst, respectively.
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-1 CHEYENNE

COUNTY

3 fatal crashes

I S t out of 409 statewide

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

3 fatalities

out of 448 statewide

Primary challenges: impaired driving
overall; impaired driving by teens
and men ages 21 to 24; older drivers.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (0 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
1 8 residence index
° 2" worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 60" worst

impaired driver
crash location index
° 64" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 3 worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

64" worst

80810 | [oares o
80825 residence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION 0 unrestrtalr;ed
(0 UNRESTRAINED Eﬁ;cfens ©
INJURIES) 0 A) 64" worst

TEEN DRIVERS (0 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 36" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 2" worst

0% of teens have texting, cell 80810 at-fault
phone, and GDL violations teen driver
80825

zip codes of
80862

residence

ECONOMIC COSTS

$435,200

property damage

$41,900

injury costs

$3,870,000

fatality costs

$4,327,100

total cost
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CHEYENNE COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (1 INJURY CRASH)

at-fault driver
residence index
o 58" worst

crash location
index
° 50" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (1 INJURY CRASH)

drivers age
0 0 70-74 index
° 64" worst

drivers age
O O 75-79 index
° 64" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(O INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index

° 46" worst
reckless driver

° residence index

64" worst

MOTORCYCLES

drivers age
1 4 80-84 index
° 10" worst

drivers age
1 8 85-90+ index
° 4™ worst

(O MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

ider-to-driver

O O crash residence
index
[}

64" worst

crash residence
O O index
° 64" worst

Cheyenne County’s teens are nearly 4.5 times more likely to
be impaired drivers in a crash, and Cheyenne County ranks
2nd worst on this measure. This high frequency of impaired
driving carries on among male residents ages 21 to 24; they
are nearly 4 times more likely than others their age statewide
to be impaired drivers in a crash. Overall, Cheyenne County
residents rank 2nd worst overall with regard to the incidence
of impaired driving in a crash.

Cheyenne County residents age 80 to 84 are 40% more like-
ly than others their age to be involved as a driver in a crash,
ranking Cheyenne County 10th worst statewide. Residents

age 85 or older are nearly 2 times more likely to be in a crash
than their counterparts statewide, and Cheyenne County
ranks 4th worst statewide on this measure.
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and resident teens

fatalities
out of 448 statewide

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

_ﬁl tal crashes Primary challenges: impaired driving
9t 2 out of 409 statewide by all, but especially non-residents

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (7 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver O percent of
residence index crash location index O ?"Eolh""rer']ated
I atal crashes
° 2 8" worst ° 3" worst

20" worst
1. 45 () =5 = Lo
° 4 worst ° 64" worst ggﬁz residence
OCCUPANT PROTECTION (11 UNRESTRAINED
( ECONOMIC COSTS

INJURIES)
(N [0 [ [ [ Y (T Y M 1st

SEEEEEEE.. 700 (it | S1LE3T.600

(5 D D I T rd property damage
T PA 337 worst

T

ENEA00NEES $1,494,600
AEEEEEEEEE ..
EEEEEEEEEE 1njury costs

85% overall seat belt use

$2,580,000

fatality costs

$15,912,200

total cost
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CLEAR CREEK COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (0 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 58" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 11" worst

0.4% of teens have texting, cell at-fault
phone, and GDL violations 80452 t<_een ddrlverf
ZIp codes O
80436 residence

46th worst of 64 counties

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (39 INJURY CRASHES)
0 7 at-fault driver 3 5 crash location
residence index index
° 36" worst ° 2" worst
OLDER DRIVERS (1 INJURY CRASH)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 25" worst ° 49" worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index O O 85-90+ index
° 64" worst ° 64" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(1 INJURY CRASH)

history of reckless
driving index
° 6" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 43" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(3 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver
I 5 crash residence
inde:
°® I X

13" worst

crash residence
index
° 22" worst

Non-resident drivers are a traffic safety challenge for Clear
Creek County. Overall, the County ranks 2nd worst overall
on the crash location index. Drivers in Clear Creek County ties.
are 3.5 times more likely to be involved in a crash than driv-
ers elsewhere in the state. Similarly, crash drivers are nearly
3 times more likely to be impaired and in a crash in Clear
Creek County than in other counties, and Clear Creek
County ranks 3rd worst overall on this measure.

Teens living in Clear Creek County are more than twice as

likely as other teens to be impaired crash drivers, ranking
Clear Creek County 11th worst out of Colorado’s 64 coun-

Clear Creek County motorcyclists are 50% more likely than
drivers to be injured in a crash.
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-1 CONEJOS
COUNTY

a l‘ o] crashes Primary challenges: impaired driving
n out of 409 statewide by resident males age 21 to 24;
teen crash and impaired driving

az‘al 1ties prevention; and occupant protection
highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

use overall.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (5 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver O percent of
0 8 residence index crash location index O ?kt:olhOI rerllated
2 , atal crashes
) 38" worst ° 14™ worst

13" worst
istory of impaire: impaired male S impaired driver
1 4 Zri\tiné ierexp ’ 2 8 agz 21—34 inldex ::iif Zippcod:sdof
° 5™ worst ° 7" worst il residence
OCCUPANT PROTECTION S
(10 UNRESTRAINED percent of ECONOMIC COSTS
INJURIES) 42% ot
$1,136,600

property damage
TEEN DRIVERS (5 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

1.2 {?é!%ﬂiéi‘iﬁé’;‘x“e' $984.,600

6" worst injury costs

residence index

12" worst fatality costs

1.9 { $6,450,000

2.9% of teens have texting, cell 81140 81148 at-fault

phone, and GDL violations 81120 81151 { teen driver $ 8 ’5 71 ’200

h 81141 81129 zip codes of
t . residence
4 worst of 64 counties total cost
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CONEJOS COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (19 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver
residence index
o 33 worst

crash location
index
° 59" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age
70-74 index
° 53 worst
drivers age
O O 80-84 index
° 64" worst

drivers age
75-79 index
° 34" worst
drivers age
O O 85-90+ index
° 64" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(O INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
1 driving index
° 2 18" worst
reckless driver
O 6 residence index
° 39" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(O MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index
[}

64" worst

crash residence
O O index
° 64" worst

Impaired driving, particularly by male residents age 21 to 24,
is an issue in Conejos County. Men age 21 to 24 are nearly
3 times more likely than men in this age cohort statewide to
be involved as an impaired driver in a crash. Conejos County
is 7th worst statewide on this measure.

Teens living in Conejos County are 20% more likely than
other Colorado teens to be involved as the at-fault driver in
a crash and they are nearly twice as likely to be an impaired
crash driver. Conejos County ranks 6th and 12th worst on

these measures, respectively.

Among vehicle occupants injured in a crash, 42% were not

restrained; this is the 10th worst rate in the state.
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COSTILLA
COUNTY

fh tal crashes Primary challenges: teen and older
t 3 out of 409 statewide driver crash prevention; impaired

driving prevention; increasing

4 faz‘al ities occupant protection; and overall
highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

crash reduction.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (3 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

(). 5= 1 gl ()
° 50" worst ° 5" worst O 64" worst
1.2 {0 O sum Lo
° 215t worst ° 64" worst 81133 residence
OCCUPANT PROTECTION unrestrained
(8 UNRESTRAINED 44(y percent of ECONOMIC COSTS
INJURIES) 07 5
$1,871,200
property damage

TEEN DRIVERS (4 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)
) A fumm $486,000
o 15t worst injury costs

O O {r::zgszsf:sgi“vef $5,160,000

4™ worst fatality costs

0% of teens have texting, cell 81152 at-fault

phone, and GDL violations 81123 teen driver $ 7 5 1 7 200
81133 zip codes of ) )
81153 residence total cost
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COSTILLA COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (6 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver
residence index
o 19 worst

crash location
index
° 8™ worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(O INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 33" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (1 INJURY CRASH)

drivers age
70-74 index
° 4" worst
drivers age
O O 80-84 index
° 64" worst

drivers age
75-79 index
° 39" worst
drivers age
85-90+ index
° 10" worst

reckless driver
residence index
° 64" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(O MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index
[

64" worst

crash residence
index
° 64" worst

More than two in five of those injured in crashes were un-
restrained, ranking Costilla County 7th worst statewide on
this measure.

Costilla County’s resident teen drivers are 2.4 times more
likely than teen drivers statewide to be the at-fault driverin a
crash, ranking Costilla County the worst out of 64 counties.

Residents age 70 to 74 are twice as likely as others in this age
group to be involved in a crash; Costilla County ranks 4th
worst out of 64.

For crashes occurring in Costilla County, drivers involved
are nearly 2 times as likely as crash drivers statewide to be
impaired. Out of all other counties, Costilla County ranks
5th worst.

Overall, 70% more crashes occur in Costilla County than
would be expected given the size of the driving population.
This indicates that general crash prevention should be an
area of focus.
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-1 CROWLEY
COUNTY

a l‘ o] crashes Primary challenges: maintain
out of 409 statewide impaired driving prevention
successes while focusing on teen

az‘al ities impaired driving prevention; increase
highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

occupant protection by all.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (0 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver O percent of
0 3 residence index crash location index O ?I:olhol—rerl]ated
2 , atal crashes
) 55™ worst ° 63" worst
history of impaired impaired male impaired driver
driving index age 21-24 index 81063 Zip codes of
36" worst 41" worst residence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION

unrestrained
(3 UNRESTRAINED 0 percent of ECONOMIC COSTS
INJURIES) 60% {;{gftvsorst
$554,440

property damage
TEEN DRIVERS (0 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

O 9 Fesidonca x| $201,300
° 33 worst injury costs

impaired teen driver
1 9 residence index $ O
i 13" worst fatality costs

1.1% of teens have texting, cell 81063 at-fault
phone, and GDL violations teen driver
81062 } zip codes of $ 755 ) 700
th id
25 worst of 64 counties 81076 o total cost
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CROWLEY COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (5 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver
residence index
o 62" worst

crash location
index
° 64" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (1 INJURY CRASH)

drivers age
O O 70-74 index
° 64" worst
drivers age
O O 80-84 index
° 64" worst

drivers age
75-79 index
° 30" worst
drivers age
85-90+ index
° 17" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(O INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
O 9 driving index
° 40" worst
reckless driver
O residence index
° 37" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(O MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index
[}

64" worst

crash residence
O O index
° 64" worst

With respect to impaired driving crashes, Crowley County

is among the best in the state, with the exception of teen

impaired driving crashes. Crowley County teens are nearly

twice as likely than teens statewide to be impaired crash

drivers, resulting in Crowley County’s rank of 13th worst

on this measure.

Of those injured in crashes, 60% were not restrained; the

third worst rate in the state.
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CUSTER
COUNTY

drivers age 75 to 79; and reckless

highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

a f ol crash Primary challenges: occupant
n out of 409 statewide protection; crash involvement of
i ;
élfa[ 1ty driving crashes.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (3 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver
O residence index crash location index
° ; 47" worst ° 49" worst
history of impaired impaired male
driving index age 21-24 index
° 64" worst ° 64" worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

64" worst

residence

impaired driver
81252 zip codes of

OCCUPANT PROTECTION o
(6 UNRESTRAINED O percent of
INJURIES) 43% uies

TEEN DRIVERS (1 TEEN INJURY CRASH)

at-fault teen driver
residence index
° 52" worst
impaired teen driver
() () residence index
64" worst

2.2% of teens have texting, cell at-fault
phone, and GDL violations teen driver
81252

zip codes of
1 Oth worst of 64 counties

residence

ECONOMIC COSTS

$936,200

property damage

$398,400

injury costs

$1,290,000

fatality costs

$2,624,600

total cost
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CUSTER COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (14 INJURY CRASHES) (0 INJURY CRASHES)
at-fault driver crash location history of reckless
O 9 residence index 1 O index 1 O driving index
o {15th worst ° 29t worst ° 34t worst

reckless driver
OLDER DRIVERS (1 INJURY CRASH) 2 ) O {residenceindex

4™ worst

drivers age drivers age
O 8 70-74 index 1 2 75-79 index MOTORCYCLES
. 35" worst e 10 worst (0 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

drivers age drivers age f:rash residence
80-84 index 85-90+ index o mdiﬁ
° 24" worst ° 64" worst 64" worst
crash residence
O O index
° 64" worst

Among the vehicle occupants injured in Custer County Custer County residents are twice as likely to have been cit-

crashes, 43% were unrestrained, the 7th worst rate in the ed for reckless driving or excessive speed causing a crash as

state. other drivers statewide. On this measure, the county ranked
4th worst.

Custer County drivers between the ages of 75 and 79 are
20% more likely than other drivers their age to be involved
as the driver in a crash, and this is the 10th worst statewide.
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DELTA
COUNTY

d fatal crashes
r out of 409 statewide
az‘alzz‘zes

highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

Primary challenges: teen impaired
driving prevention.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (9 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
O residence index
° ; 40" worst

history of impaired
driving index
° 41 worst

impaired driver
crash location index
° 42" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 38" worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

13" worst

81419 g1a18 2P codesof

Y A impaired driver
81413 81410 P
81428 residence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION

(15 UNRESTRAINED
INJURIES)

unrestrained

23% {r;;t?:; ‘

44™ worst

TEEN DRIVERS (8 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

1.3% of teens have texting, cell
phone, and GDL violations

1 8th worst of 64 counties

at-fault teen driver
residence index
44" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index
20" worst

81428 81414 zip codes of

81416 81415 at-fault
81419 81418 teen driver
81413 81410 residence

ECONOMIC COSTS

$6,061,600

property damage

$2,179,800

injury costs

$6,450,000

fatality costs

$14,691,400

total cost
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DELTA COUNTY

RECKLESS DRIVERS

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (56 INJURY CRASHES) (0 INJURY CRASHES)
O 6 at-fault driver O 6 crash location 1 2 2i§t9r; 9f dreckless
residence index index riving index
° 50" worst ° 55t worst L 16" worst
reckless driver
OLDER DRIVERS (4 INJURY CRASHES) O ) 8 gzghe&f;; i:sd’sx

drivers age drivers age
O 8 A O 5 7579 index MOTORCYCLES
. 38" worst e 427 worst (9 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

drivers age drivers age crash residence
80-84 index 85-90+ index index

° 33" worst ° 26" worst @ 15" worst
crash residence
index

° 16" worst

On most of the measures examined, Delta County ranks in state’s alcohol-related fatal crashes occurred in Delta County,
the middle; not the worst and not the best. resulting in its rank of 13th worst statewide on this measure.
Teens living in Delta County are nearly 30% more likely Delta County motorcycle riders are 50% more likely to be
than other teens to be impaired crash drivers, and Delta injured in a crash than drivers, and Delta County ranks 15th
County ranks 20th worst overall on this measure. worst.

With respect to impaired driving overall, Delta County per-
forms better than would be expected. However, 2% of the
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DENVER
COUNTY

:E;gﬂtl

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

35
40

atal crashes
out of 409 statewide

atalities
out of 448 statewide

Primary challenges: crash prevention

in general; improved occupant

protection; impaired driving

prevention; and motorcycle crash

prevention.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (170 INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
1 1 crash location index
° 23" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 25" worst

impaired driver
1 0 residence index
° 20" worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 23 worst

percent of
alcohol-related
fatal crashes

9%
2" worst
80219 80220

80239 80231 impaired driver

80211 80205 f'e’;f;:e; &l

80204 80210
OCCUPANT PROTECTION (517 UNRESTRAINED
EEEEEEEEEE {/t:» NEEEEEEEEEE 10t
sanunnunnn 10" peemesesen 10° $350,465,600
EEEEEEEEEEbstof EEEEEEEEEE bestof p
NENEENEEEE 5 EEEEEEEEEE g property damage
CEOEOECOED TEEEOESOED
i — B —
EEEEEEEEEE ENEEEEEE $67,158,900
ENEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE -
ENEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE injury costs
82% overall seat belt use 78% teen seat belt use
IEEEEEEEEE 14" EEEEEEEEEE 14 $51,600,000
EEEEEEEEEE bestof NENEEEEEEE bosof Sfatality costs
EEEEDEEEEE I
T T PA aennnnnnnn 20
EEEEEEEEEE ountcs HEREEEEEEE e
SEESRRRRE- EEEReenan
EEEEEEEEEE O $469,224,500
EEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE rotal cost

70% juvenile (5-15) seat belt use

85% kid (0-4) seat belt use
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DENVER COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (107 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 39" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 29" worst

80219 80231 at-fault
80239 80249 teen driver
80204 80207 zip codes of
80220 80210 residence

0.3% of teens have texting, cell
phone, and GDL violations

48th worst of 64 counties

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (1,763 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
° 9™ worst ° 10" worst

OCCUPANT
PROTECTION (cont.)

unrestrained

26% { ==

38" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(27 INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 27" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 34" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (71 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 22" worst ° 29" worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 215t worst ° 22" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(120 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index
° 7" worst
crash residence
index
° 7" worst

With respect to occupant protection, Denver County is
worse than most of the counties surveyed in the observa-
tional seat belt study. Only one-quarter of the counties sur-
veyed performed worse on passengers under 16 years of age.

Opverall, 9 percent of the state’s alcohol-related fatal crashes
occurred in Denver, and the County ranks 2nd worst state-
wide on this measure. Resident males age 21 to 24 are 10%
more likely than others their age to be impaired crash driv-
ers. Denver County ranks 25th out of 64 counties.

Drivers are 60% more likely to be involved in a crash in Den-
ver county than the state average, making Denver County
the 10th worst overall in crashes.

Denver motorcyclists are 80% more likely than Denver driv-
ers to be injured in a crash and are 50% more likely to be
involved in an injury crash than riders statewide, resulting in
Denver’s rank of 7th worst on both of these measures.
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COUNTY

DOLORES

prevention in general

highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

a l‘ o] crashes Primary challenges: teen and older
! n out of 409 statewide driver crash prevention; crash
fatalities

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (1 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASH)

impaired driver impaired driver
O O residence index crash location index
° 64" worst ° 415 worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

20" worst
hi§t9ry gf impaired impaired male impaired driver
driving index age 21-24 index N/A zip.codes of

° 31 worst ° 64" worst residence
OCCUPANT PROTECTION unrestrained
(2 UNRESTRAINED 1 5% ipncjlrjc;ieenst of ECONOMIC COSTS
INJURIES) B1% worst $714.400
)
property damage

TEEN DRIVERS (1 TEEN INJURY CRASH)

at-fault teen driver
residence index
° 10" worst
impaired teen driver
() () residence index
64" worst

1.0% of teens have texting, cell at-fault
phone, and GDL violations 81324 teen driver
81320 zip codes of
th residence
26 worst of 64 counties

$422,400

injury costs

$3,870,000

fatality costs

$5,006,800

total cost
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DOLORES COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (11 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver
residence index
o 43" worst

crash location
index
° 12™ worst

OLDER DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age
O O 70-74 index
° 64" worst
drivers age
O O 80-84 index
° 64" worst

drivers age
75-79 index
° 9t worst
drivers age
O O 85-90+ index
° 64" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(O INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
O 8 driving index
° 48" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 64" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(O MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index
[}

64" worst

crash residence
O O index
° 64" worst

Dolores County teens are 10% more likely than other teens

to be involved as the at-fault driver in a crash, and Dolores

County ranks 10th worst overall on this measure.

Dolores County ranks 9th worst overall with respect to crash

involvement by drivers age 75 to 79.

Opverall, drivers in Dolores County are 30% more likely than
drivers statewide to be involved in a crash, making Dolores

County 12th worst statewide in overall crash involvement.
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DOUGLAS
COUNTY

Oth

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

13
13

atal crashes
out of 409 statewide

atalities
out of 448 statewide

Primary challenges: maintaining low
rates of impaired driving and high
occupant protection use; older driver
crash prevention.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (43 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
0 6 residence index
° 48" worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 57™ worst

impaired driver
O 6 crash location index
° 53" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 45" worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

14" worst

80134 80130

20138 80129 impaired driver

80126 80124 f'e’;f;:e; Cj

80104 80108
OCCUPANT PROTECTION (74 UNRESTRAINED
INJURIES) ECONOMIC COSTS
EEEREEREEEEE Qth EEEEEEEEEN d
EEEEEEEEER 9t EEEEEEEEER 3r $71,080,600
NN EENEEE bestof HEEEEEEEEENE bestof
EEEEEEEEEN 25’ EEEEEEEEER 18 property damage
EEEEEEEEEN EEEEEEEEER
EEEEEEEEEE — SEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEER EEEEEEEEERE $11,012,700
AEEEEEEEEE AEEEEREEEE ..
EEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEENE INJury costs

85% overall seat belt use

IO OO O 0 L LI D
EEEEEEEEEE Y
I O O O O O O O st of
EEEEDEEEEE
T T PA
P counties
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE
ENEEEEEEEE
ENEEEEEEEE

82% juvenile (5-15) seat belt use

86% teen seat belt use

M AW g
EeEnmmmnnm 16
EEEEEEEEEE bes of
I
mennnnnnnn 20
.......... counties
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEN
T
EEEEEEEEEE

77% kid (0-4) seat belt use

$16,770,000

fatality costs

$98.863,300

total cost
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DOUGLAS COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (47 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 20" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 43" worst

80134 80108
80126 80129
80138 80130
80104 80109

0.3% of teens have texting, cell
phone, and GDL violations

5 2nd worst of 64 counties

OCCUPANT
PROTECTION (cont.)

22%

45" worst

percent of

injuries
RECKLESS DRIVERS
(8 INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
at-fault driving index
tgen driver Py 29th worst
zip codes of
residence

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (292 INJURY CRASHES)

crash location
index
° 53" worst

at-fault driver
residence index
° 39" worst

reckless driver
residence index
° 35" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(53 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

OLDER DRIVERS (14 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age
75-79 index
° 13" worst
drivers age
85-90+ index
° 11" worst

drivers age
70-74 index
° 19" worst
drivers age
80-84 index
° 12" worst

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index
° 5t worst
crash residence
index
° 24" worst

On most of the measures examined, Douglas County is ei-
ther in the middle or among the best. Adult and teen seat
belt use are higher than the state average. Impaired driving
is lower than what would be expected. Other counties can
benefit from examining how Douglas County has been suc-

cessful.

Douglas County does rank 10th worst statewide with re-
spect to the number of fatalities in 2010. Overall, 5% of

the state’s alcohol-related fatal crashes occurred in Douglas
County, making the County 14th worst out of Colorado’s
64 counties.

Older drivers in Douglas County are more likely than others
in their age cohorts to be involved as crash drivers.

Douglas County motorcyclists are 80% more likely to be in-
jured in a crash than drivers, ranking 5th worst in the state.

44 - Appendix B



to 24; maintain high occupant
ﬂfa[ii ies protection use; and continue to

out of 448 statewide

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

_ﬁl tal crashes Primary challenges: reduce impaired
9t 4 out of 409 statewide driving by resident males age 21

reduce impaired driving overall.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (7 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver
0 9 residence index 1 O crash location index
° 25" worst ° 34" worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

64" worst

81621 81657

81620 81632 impaired driver

1 3 history of impaired 3 3 impaired male

driving index age 21-24 index zip codes of
o) | 7 worst o) | 4" worst si631 81645 [ eaigonce
OCCUPANT PROTECTION (25 UNRESTRAINED
INJURIES) ECONOMIC COSTS
(0[O T (Y 0 [ d unrestraine:
EEEEEEEEER b31' ¢ 200/ .pe.rc.e:\tof ‘ $16,210,200
= = = = = = = = = = L O Ig;:: SWO rst property damage
EEEEEEEEEN 25
e
R 83,723,300

| ..

EEEEEEEEEE 1njury costs

89% overall seat belt use

$5,160,000

fatality costs

$25,093,500

total cost
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EAGLE COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (5 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 53" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 33" worst

80229 80601 at-fault
80022 80241 teen driver
80233 80260 zip codes of
80221 80031 residence

1.1% of teens have texting, cell
phone, and GDL violations

23rd worst of 64 counties

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (105 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
° 48" worst ° 315t worst

OLDER DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 49" worst ° 43" worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 38" worst ° 35" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(0 INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
2 ° 15t worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 47" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(4 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index

° 35" worst
crash residence
index

° 43" worst

In many respects, Eagle County outperforms other counties,
particularly with respect to observed seat belt use (89%).

Out of all 64 counties, Eagle County is 4th worst with re-
spect to the involvement of resident males age 21 to 24 in
impaired driving crashes. These residents are 3.3 times more
likely than other men in this age cohort to be impaired crash
drivers.

Eagle County has 30% more residents with a history of im-
paired driving than would be expected, given the County’s
population. Similarly, residents are 2.1 times more likely to
have a history of reckless driving or excessive speed than

would be expected.
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EL PASO
COUNTY

3 7 fatal crashes

Primary challenges: Overall crash
out of 409 statewide

4 1 fatalities
out of 448 statewide

prevention, motorcycle crash
prevention and impaired driving

jl_sd:

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

prevention.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (122 INJURY CRASH DRIVERS)
impaired driver impaired driver percent of
1 0 residence index 1 O crash location index ?:::Ih::;:r'zfd
) 21 worst ° 27" worst

3 worst

7%

istory of impaire: impaired male 8091680910 impair river
O 8 zri\tin; ir:dexp ’ O 9 agZ 21—g4in|dex :gg;g 282(1)77 zipp:ode;s(if ©
OCCUPANT PROTECTION (250 UNRESTRAINED
INJURIES) ECONOMIC COSTS
EREEEEEEEN th (0 ) [T () T [ t
EEEEEEEEEN 10 EEEEEEEEEN 1S $187,980,000
EEEEEEEEEN bestof EEEEEEEENEE bestof J
AEEEEEEEEN 25 AEEEEEEEEN 18 property damage
EEEEEEEEEN EEEEEEEEEN
EHRaaaEEEE - HumemEEEE
AEEEEEEEER AEEEEEEEER $36,525,300
AEEEEEEEE. AEEEEEEEEE ..
AEEEEEEEER EEEEEEEEER 1mjury costs

85% overall seat belt use

89% teen seat belt use

percent of EREREEREEEERN 13th
O unrestrained EEEEEEEEEN

O injury crashes ========== best of

th
39%"worst e mmmmmmmn 20

percent juvenile ....-..... counties
O (age 5 to 15) EEEEEEEEER
O seat belt use ANEEEEEEER
39 best EEEEEEE
AEREEEEEEER

87% kid (0-4) seat belt use

$52,890,000

fatality costs

$277,395,600

total cost
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EL PASO COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (140 INJURY CRASH DRIVERS)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 35" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 26" worst

80918 80917 at-fault
80920 80909 teen driver
80906 80916 zip codes of
80911 80922 residence

0.2% of teens have texting, cell
phone, and GDL violations

5 4th worst of 64 counties

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(20 INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 56" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 32" worst

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (873 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
° 34™" worst ° 48" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (31 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 40" worst ° 25" worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 30" worst ° 24" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(154 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index

° 11" worst
crash residence
index

° 12" worst

In 2010, E1 Paso County had the highest number of fatalities
out of all Colorado counties. Among alcohol-related fatal
crashes, 7% occurred in El Paso County, ranking it 3rd worst
overall on this measure.

With respect to alcohol-related crashes overall, El Paso
County is not among the top 20 worst counties in the state.

Occupant protection use is high, and El Paso County has the
highest teen seat belt use rate.

Motorcycle riding residents are 60% more likely to be in-
jured in a crash than drivers, ranking 11st worst overall.
Residents who ride motorcycles are 10% more likely than
other motorcyclists statewide to be involved in an injury
crash, resulting in the County’s rank of 12th worst.
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. ELBERT
COUNTY

a l‘ o] crashes Primary challenges: crash prevention
t out of 409 statewide focused on teens and reckless drivers;

and maintain low incidence of

az‘al 1ties impaired driving.
highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (3 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver O percent of
0 3 residence index crash location index O ?kt:olhOI rerllated
2 , atal crashes
) 54" worst ° 56" worst

13" worst
history of impaired impaired male 80107 impaired driver
O 9 driving index O 7 age 21-24 index 80105 zip codes of
43 worst 40" worst 80117 residence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION o
(8 UNRESTRAINED percent of ECONOMIC COSTS
INJURIES) 3 0% '”;‘:fsworst

$3,969,800

property damage
TEEN DRIVERS (5 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

1.1 {?é!%“e'iii‘iﬁé’;;“” $958,500

2" worst injury costs
O O {impaired teen driver $7, 740’000
residence index .
° ‘atality costs
64" worst Jatality
0.4% of teens have texting, cell 80107 at-fault
phone, and GDL violations 80117 teen driver $
80835 } zip codes of 12’668’300
th 1 residence
47 worst of 64 counties 80105 total cost
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ELBERT COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (21 INJURY CRASHES) (2 INJURY CRASHES)
at-fault driver crash location history of reckless
O 7 residence index O 6 index 1 6 driving index
° {35th worst ° 58" worst ° 8" worst

reckless driver
OLDER DRIVERS (1 INJURY CRASH) 1 .2 {residenceindex

13" worst
drivers age drivers age
O O 7074 nden O 5 o ey MOTORCYCLES
. 64" worst e 48" worst (8 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

_ rider-to-driver
drivers age drivers a.ge crash residence
80-84 index 85‘310*' index ° index
° 37" worst ° 64" worst 17" worst
crash residence
index
° 14" worst

Teens living in Elbert County are 10% more likely than their of 8th worst on this measure.
peers to be at-fault crash drivers and Elbert County ranks
12th worst on this measure. Resident motorcyclists are 40% more likely to be injured in a

crash than drivers in the County.
Elbert County crash drivers are 20% more likely to be cited
with reckless driving or excessive speed resulting in a crash.
'The County has 60% more resident drivers with a recent his-
tory of reckless or excessive speed citations than expected,
compared to the state average, resulting in the County’s rank
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Oth

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

4 fatal crashes
out of 409 statewide
6 fatalities
out of 448 statewide

Primary challenges: impaired driving
prevention focused on resident males
age 21 to 24.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (6 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
0 residence index
° ; 41% worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 37" worst

impaired driver
O crash location index
° 48" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 23" worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

20" worst

81240 zip codes of

S1217 g8l v impaired driver
81226 81223 P
residence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION (14 UNRESTRAINED

INJURIES)

EENEEEEEEE g,
EEEEEEEEER
HEEEENENENEN best of
EEEEEEEEEN
eennnnnnnn 20
AEEEEEEEER counties
EEEEEEEEER
EREEEEEEER
AEEEEEEEEN
EEEEEEEEEE

83% juvenile (5-15) seat belt use

unrestrained

21% {::3:2?:; e

49" worst

TLLLLLLLL e
T T TR
EEEEEEEEEE b of
I
mennnnnnnn 20
AEEREEEEEEN ounties
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEN
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE

94% kid (0-4) seat belt use

ECONOMIC COSTS

$8,307,600

property damage

$2,271,600

injury costs

$7,740,000

fatality costs

$18,319,200

total cost
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FREMONT COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (10 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 25" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 36" worst

81212 81244 at-fault
81240 81222 teen driver
81226 81221 zip codes of
81223 81232 residence

3.6% of teens have texting, cell
phone, and GDL violations

2nd worst of 64 counties

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(1 INJURY CRASH)

history of reckless
driving index
° 23" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 29" worst

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (54 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
° 52" worst ° 60" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (5 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 39" worst ° 35" worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 31t worst ° 38" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(7 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index

° 27" worst
crash residence
index

° 36" worst

On most measures examined, Fremont County is outper-
forming the majority of Colorado counties. Juvenile seat belt
use and the proper use of restraints for children age 0 to 4 is
particularly high compared to other counties surveyed.

Resident males age 21 to 24 are 20% more likely than others
their age to be impaired crash drivers and Fremont County
ranks 23rd worst on this measure.
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COUNTY

GARFIELD

prevention.

1 1 ) Z‘a ] crashes Primary challenges: overall crash
out of 409 statewide prevention; and teen impaired driver

1 1 az‘alzz‘zes
highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (9 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver
0 9 residence index 1 O crash location index
° 30" worst ° 32" worst
history of impaired impaired male
driving index age 21-24 index
° 9™ worst 43 worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

13" worst

81650 81652 [ 2P codesof

81601 QEL6H impaired driver
81623 81635 P
residence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION (22 UNRESTRAINED
INJURIES)

EEEEEEEEEN 7th ENEEEEEEEN 13th
EEEEEEEEEN EEEEEEEEEE
NN EEEEEE bestof HEEEEEENEENENE bestof
EEEEEEEEEE 25’ EEEEEEEEEE 18
EEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE
HAEEEERENENENEN counties [HHENENEENEEN counties

EEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEER AREEEEEEEN
AEEEEEEEE. AEEEEEEEER
AEEEEEEEER AEEEEEEEEER
86% overall seat belt use 74% teen seat belt use

unrestrained

20% {::3:2?:; e

53 worst

ECONOMIC COSTS

$20,500,800

property damage

$3,716,100

injury costs

$14,190,000

fatality costs

$38,406,900

total cost
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GARFIELD COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (14 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 30" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 23" worst

81601 81647 at-fault
81650 81635 teen driver
81623 81653 zip codes of

12th worst of 64 counties o i

2.1% of teens have texting, cell
phone, and GDL violations

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (94 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
° 8" worst ° 21t worst

OLDER DRIVERS (4 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 16" worst ° 53" worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 36" worst ° 29" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(2 INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
2 ° 2" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 25" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(5 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index

° 37" worst
crash residence
index

° 38" worst

In 2010, Garfield County had the 12th highest number of ~ other teens statewide to be impaired crash drivers, resulting

fatalities among Colorado’s 64 counties.

Despite the high number of fatalities, Garfield County per-
forms well on a number of traffic safety measures; includ-
ing occupant protection use and most measures of impaired
driving.

However, Garfield County teens are 10% more likely than

in the County’s ranking of 23rd worst.
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=1 GILPIN
COUNTY

th az‘al crashes
out of 409 statewide

fatalities
highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide
rank in crash fatalities

Primary challenges: impaired driving
prevention overall and reducing
impaired driving by resident males
age 21 to 24; teen crash and older
driver crash prevention; occupant

protection.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (2 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
1 1 residence index
° 12" worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 3 worst

impaired driver
crash location index
° 2 2" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 13" worst

percent of

O alcohol-related
fatal crashes

64" worst

impaired driver

80422 Zip codes of

residence
OCCUPANT PROTECTION unrestrained
(10 UNRESTRAINED percnt o ECONOMIC COSTS
INJURIES) 32% I;ﬂtr:]e\s,vorst
$1,978,800
property damage

TEEN DRIVERS (2 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index
° 2" worst
impaired teen driver
O O residence index
° 64" worst

0% of teens have texting, cell 80422 at-fault
phone, and GDL violations teen driver

80427 zip codes of
80474 residence

$1,046,100

injury costs

$0

fatality costs

$3,024,900

total cost
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GILPIN COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (28 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver
residence index
o 7" worst

crash location
index
° 11" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (1 INJURY CRASH)

drivers age
70-74 index
° 46" worst
drivers age
80-84 index
° 13" worst

drivers age
75-79 index
° 42 worst
drivers age
85-90+ index
° 64" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(O INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
1 driving index
° 2 17" worst
reckless driver
O residence index
° 36" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(1 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURY)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index

° 36" worst
crash residence
index

° 27" worst

Gilpin County resident drivers between the ages of 80 and
84 are 70% more likely to be involved in a crash than others

Drivers that crash in Gilpin County are 3.2 times more like-
ly to be impaired than crash drivers elsewhere in the state.
Gilpin County ranks 2nd worst out of 64 counties on this their age statewide.
measure. Male Gilpin County residents between the ages of
21 and 24 are 80% more likely than their peers statewide to

be impaired crash drivers.

Among vehicle occupants injured in a crash, 32% were unre-
strained, the 14th worst rate in the state.

Teens living in Gilpin County are 50% more likely than
teens elsewhere to be at-fault drivers in a crash, resulting in
the County’s rank of 2nd worst statewide.
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-1 GRAND

COUNTY
3rd

fatal crashes

out of 409 statewide

fatalities
highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

Primary challenges: impaired driving
prevention overall and focused

on teens and males age 21 to 24;
overall crash prevention and crashes
involving teens and older drivers.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (8 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
1 1 residence index
° 13" worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 14" worst

impaired driver
crash location index
° 2 17" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 19" worst

percent of
alcohol-related
fatal crashes

1 A) 20" worst
80446 80482

80459 80447 impaired driver

zip codes of
gg:;: residence
OCCUPANT PROTECTION unrestrained
(14 UNRESTRAINED percent of ECONOMIC COSTS
INJURIES) 2 7% gjout”he?/vorst
$4,719,400
property damage

TEEN DRIVERS (5 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 30" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 7" worst

1.5% of teens have texting, cell 80446 80442 at-fault

phone, and GDL violations 80459 80482 teen driver
80447 zip codes of
residence

1 5 th worst of 64 counties 80478

$2,080,800

injury costs

$3,870,000

fatality costs

$10,670,200

total cost
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GRAND COUNTY

RECKLESS DRIVERS

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (42 INJURY CRASHES) (1 INJURY CRASH)
at-fault driver crash location history of reckless
O 8 residence index 1 2 index 1 5 driving index
° {22nd worst ° 19t worst L 10™ worst
reckless driver
OLDER DRIVERS (1 INJURY CRASH) 1 1 residence index
° 16™ worst

drivers age drivers age
0 8 70-74 index O 4 76-79 index MOTORCYCLES
° 37" worst ° 52" worst (5 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

drivers age drivers a.ge crash residence
80-84 index 85'9hO+ index index

° 2nd worst ° 64" worst ° 16" worst
crash residence
index

° 21 worst

In Grand County, residents are 10% more likely to be im- Residents age 80 to 84 are 3.7 times more likely to be crash
paired crash drivers than other statewide, and Grand County drivers than others their age living in Colorado, and this is
ranks 13th worst out of 64 counties on this measure. Teens the 2nd worst ranking statewide.

living in Grand are 2.2 times more likely than other teens to
be impaired crash drivers, resulting in the County’s rank of
7th worst. Male residents between the ages of 21 and 24 are
30% more likely than expected to be impaired crash drivers
and the County ranks 19th worst on this measure.
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| GUNNISON
I COUNTY

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

Oth {

az‘czl crashes
out of 409 statewide

Primary challenges: occupant
protection overall; impaired driving

prevention focused on men age 21 to

amlzz‘zes
out of 448 statewide

24; and older driver crash prevention.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (4 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
0 residence index
° ; 42" worst
history of impaired
driving index
15" worst

impaired driver
1 O crash location index
° 29" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
16™ worst

0 percent of
O alcohol-related
fatal crashes

81230 } impaired driver
81224 zip codes of

81231 residence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION (38 UNRESTRAINED

INJURIES)

(0[O T (Y 0 [ 18th
EEEEEEEEER
NN EEEEEE bestof
([ D D O I 25’
EEEEEEEEER
HEEENENENENENEN counties
EEEEEEEEER
EREEEEEEEN
AR EN
EEEEEEEEER

76% overall seat belt use
unrestrained

61% { =

2" worst

ENEEEEEEEN 14th
EEEEEEEEEE
HEEEEEEEEENE bestof
EEEEEEEEEE 18
EEEEEEEEEE
HEERENENENENENEN counties
EEEEEEEEER
AREEEEEEEN
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEN

73% teen seat belt use

ECONOMIC COSTS

$3,730,400

property damage

$2,367,600

injury costs

$2,580,000

fatality costs

$8,678,000

total cost
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GUNNISON COUNTY

RECKLESS DRIVERS

TEEN DRIVERS (2 TEEN INJURY CRASHES) (0 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

O 5 history of reckless
1 driving index
® 60" worst Py 20t worst
O 6 reckless driver
residence index
© 41% worst O ° 8 31t worst

impaired teen driver
residence index

2.3% of teens have texting, cell 81230 at-fault MOTORCYCLES:
phone, and GDL violations. gigg‘i‘ e dd”"erf (0 MOTORCYCLIST
zip codes 0
th 81225 residence INJURIES)
9 worst of 64 counties rider-to-driver

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (25 INJURY CRA

crash residence
index
° 64" worst

SHES)

64" worst

at-fault driver crash location crash residence
residence index index index
° 46" worst ° 35" worst .

OLDER DRIVERS (1 INJURY CRASH)

drivers age drivers'age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 18" worst ° 64" worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 6" worst ° 9" worst

Observed seat belt use in Gunnison County is below the
state average. Of those injured in Gunnison County crashes,
61% were unrestrained; the 2nd worst rate in the state.

Resident males age 21 to 24 are 50% more likely to be im-
paired crash drivers than others their age living elsewhere.
Out of 64 counties, Gunnison ranks 16th worst on this mea-
sure.

Gunnison County has an older driver challenge. Drivers age
80 to 84 are 70% more likely to be crash drivers than their
peers and those 85 and older are 40% more likely to be crash
drivers. Gunnison County ranks 6th and 9th worst on these
measures respectively.
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HINSDALE
COUNTY

Primary challenges: older driver
crash prevention and impaired
driving prevention focused on men
age 21 to 24.

d fatal crash

r out of 409 statewide
fatality

highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (1 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASH)

impaired driver impaired driver
1 O residence index crash location index
° 17* worst ° 26" worst
history of impaired impaired male
driving index age 21-24 index
° 62" worst ° 15t worst

20" worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

residence

impaired driver
81235 zip codes of

OCCUPANT PROTECTION —
(2 UNRESTRAINED 0 percent of
INJURIES) 18% mures

TEEN DRIVERS (0 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index
° 56" worst
impaired teen driver
PY residence index

64" worst
0% of teens have texting, cell at-fault
phone, and GDL violations teen driver
81235 zip codes of
residence

ECONOMIC COSTS

$369,000

property damage

$332,700

injury costs

$1,290,000

fatality costs

$1,991,700

total cost
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HINSDALE COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (9 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
o 2" worst ° 5" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 3 worst ° 15t worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 15t worst ° 15t worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(O INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 26" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 64" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(1 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURY)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index

° 3 worst
crash residence
index

° 15t worst

Hinsdale County men age 21 to 24 are 16 times more likely Similarly drivers age 85 and older are 8 times more likely to

than others their age to be impaired crash drivers, making be in a crash.

Hinsdale County the worst in the state on this measure.

Hinsdale County has a challenge with respect to older driv-
ers’ involvement in crashes; it ranks worst in the state in ev-
ery age cohort but one, and is third worst for that category.
Residents age 80 to 84 are 7.3 times more likely to be in-
volved in a crash than others in their age group statewide.
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HUERFANO
COUNTY

a l‘ o] crashes Primary challenges: impaired driving
out of 409 statewide crash prevention focused on all
drivers, not just residents; increasing

Lll‘alll‘ 1es occupant protection use by all
highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

vehicle occupants; and older driver
crash prevention.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (5 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver O percent of
residence index crash location index O ?kt:olhOI rerl]ated
I 2 , atal crashes
° 2 9" worst ° 4™ worst

20" worst

history of impaired impaired male 81089 impaired driver
driving index age 21-24 index 81040 zip codes of
° 48" worst ° 15" worst residence

81055

OCCUPANT PROTECTION (8 UNRESTRAINED
INJURIES) ECONOMIC COSTS

ONDEDNEIND d ned
T P24 0 oreentof $3,970,000
semmmmmmms o ] 90p B
th
.....25 55" worst
01 [l counties

property damage

$1,287,000

injury costs

67% overall seat belt use

$6,450,000

fatality costs

$11,707,000

total cost
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HUERFANO COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (1 TEEN INJURY CRASH)

at-fault teen driver
residence index
° 31t worst
impaired teen driver
O O residence index
° 64" worst

0.9% of teens have texting, cell at-fault
phone, and GDL violations 81089 teen driver

81040 zip codes of
h residence
29t worst of 64 counties

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (37 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
° 20" worst ° 6" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (2 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 8™ worst ° 28" worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 16™ worst ° 25" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(2 INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 2 15" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 59" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(O MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index
[

64" worst

crash residence
° 64" worst

Drivers in Huerfano County are 90% more likely to be in-
volved in a crash than drivers statewide; the county ranks 6th
worst on this measure.

Resident crash drivers are 20% more likely than drivers
statewide to be impaired at the time of a crash, and Huer-
fano County ranks 9th worst on this measure. For crashes
that occur in Huerfano County, drivers are 2 times as likely
to be impaired than drivers involved in crashes elsewhere,
resulting in the County’s rank of 4th worst overall.

Overall, 67% of vehicle occupants were observed to be prop-
erly restrained during the statewide seat belt survey; this rate
is well below the state average.

Resident drivers age 70 to 74 are 40% more likely than their
peers statewide to be involved in a crash, resulting in the
County’s rank of 8th worst.
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=1 JACKSON

COUNTY

fatalities
out of 448 statewide

th az‘al crashes
out of 409 statewide

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

Primary challenges: impaired driving
prevention overall and teen-focused;

occupant protection use; motorcycle

crash prevention; and reckless

driving prevention.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (2 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
1 9 residence index
° 15t worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 56" worst

impaired driver
crash location index
° 6" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 64" worst

percent of

O alcohol-related
fatal crashes

64" worst

80480 impaired driver
zip codes of
80434 repsi(c:;:eniseo

OCCUPANT PROTECTION o
(6 UNRESTRAINED O percent of
INJURIES) 46% puies

TEEN DRIVERS (1 TEEN INJURY CRASH)

at-fault teen driver
residence index
14" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index
° 15t worst

at-fault
80480 } tgen driver

0% of teens have texting, cell

phone, and GDL violations
zip codes of
residence

ECONOMIC COSTS

$771,400

property damage

$514,200

injury costs

$0

fatality costs

$1,285,600

total cost
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JACKSON COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (10 INJURY CRASHES)

crash location
index
° 4™ worst

at-fault driver
residence index
° 51t worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(1 INJURY CRASH)

history of reckless
driving index
° 49" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age
75-79 index
° 64" worst
drivers age
O O 85-90+ index
° 64" worst

drivers age
0 0 70-74 index
° 64" worst
drivers age
O O 80-84 index
° 64" worst

reckless driver
residence index
2 ° 3" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(1 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURY)

rider-to-driver
crash residence
index
o 19" worst

crash residence

2 1 index
. 3 worst

Teens in Jackson County are 5.5 times more likely to be im-
paired crash drivers than teens elsewhere in the state, and
the County is the worst in the state. Residents involved in
crashes are nearly 2 times as likely to be impaired than other
crash drivers, making Jackson County the worst statewide
for overall impaired crash driving.

Among those injured in crashes in the County, 46% were
unrestrained, the 6th worst rate in the state.

Jackson County residents who ride motorcycles are 2.1 times
more likely than riders statewide to be injured in a crash,
and the County ranks 3rd worst in the state on this measure.

Overall, Jackson County is a dangerous place to drive.
Drivers in the County are 2.5 times more likely to be in-
volved in a crash than drivers statewide, resulting in the
County’s rank of 4th worst.

Drivers in Jackson County are 2.8 times more likely than
drivers statewide to be cited with reckless driving or exces-
sive speed resulting in a crash; the 3rd worst statewide.
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JEFFERSON
COUNTY

4th

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

31~
35%

atal crashes
out of 409 statewide

atalities
out of 448 statewide

Primary challenges: overall crash
reduction; teen crash and impaired
driving prevention; and older driver
crash prevention.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (123 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
1 1 residence index
° 15" worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 32" worst

impaired driver
1 O crash location index
° 35" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 36" worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

3 worst
ey A impaired driver
80033 80021 P
80226 80228

zip codes of

80401 80003 | 'esidence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION (267 UNRESTRAINED

INJURIES)

EEEEEEEEEN 8th
EEEEEEEEEE
NN EEEEEE bestof
EEEEEEEEEE 25
EEEEEEEEEE
HEENNENENNEN counties
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEN
AEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE

85% overall seat belt use

IO O 0 0 0 T
EEEEEEEEEE 2
I O O O O O O O st of
EEEEDEEEEE
T T PA
I O O B coumtics
EEEEEEEEEE
ENEEEEEEEE
O
ENEEEEEEEE

86% juvenile (5-15) seat belt use

79% teen seat belt use

(0 ) [T () T [
EEEEEEEEEN
ANEEEEREEN
AEEEEEEEEN
EEEEEEEEEN
AEEEEEEEER
EEEEEEEEER
AREEEEEEER
AEEEEEEEEN
EEEEEEEEEN
95% kid (0-4) seat belt use

ECONOMIC COSTS
8" | $187,299,000
{580 property damage
T $31,789,200

injury costs

gih $45,150,000
best of fatality costs
20

$264,238,200

total cost
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JEFFERSON COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (123 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 3 worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 25" worst

OCCUPANT
PROTECTION (cont.)
unrestrained
ercent of
2 6% i’:uuries
36" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(18 INJURY CRASHES)

0.3% of teens have texting, cell 8012780123 7§  at-fault

phone, and GDL violations BoooR21 Iepcciiics
80128 80004 zip codes of
80401 80026 residence

history of reckless
driving index
° 28" worst

5 1 st worst of 64 counties

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (922 INJURY CRASHES)

crash location
index
° 33" worst

at-fault driver
residence index
° 4™ worst

reckless driver
residence index
° 24" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(138 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

OLDER DRIVERS (64 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age
75-79 index
° 16™ worst
drivers age
85-90+ index
° 19" worst

drivers age
70-74 index
° 14" worst
drivers age
80-84 index
° 8™ worst

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index
° 20" worst
crash residence
index
° 13" worst

In many cases, Jefferson County performs as well as or better
than other counties on many of the measures examined. Jef-
ferson County had the highest proportion of children ages
0 to 4 properly restrained. Other counties could learn from

Jefferson County.

Jefferson County had the 4th highest number of fatalities in
2010. Overall, 7% of the state’s alcohol-related fatal crashes
occurred in Jefferson County, making it the 3rd worst county

out of 64. Residents involved in crashes are 10% more likely
to be impaired than crash drivers elsewhere, and Jefferson
County ranks 15th worst on this aspect.

Jefferson County teens are 30% more likely to be involved in
a crash than teens statewide, resulting in the County’s rank
of 3rd worst.

The County’s older drivers are an emerging safety challenge.
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KIOWA
COUNTY

out of 409 statewide

2 fatal crashes

1st

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

2 fatalities

out of 448 statewide

Primary challenges: crash prevention
focused on drivers age 70 to 74;
increase occupant protection; and
maintain low impaired driving crash
incidence.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (1 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASH)

impaired driver
O O residence index
° 64" worst
history of impaired
driving index
63" worst

impaired driver
crash location index
° 50" worst
impaired male
O O age 21-24 index
64" worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

64" worst

residence

impaired driver
N/A zip codes of

OCCUPANT PROTECTION unrestrained
(2 UNRESTRAINED 0/ 4 ceroerter
INJURIES) 29 Y0 26" worst

TEEN DRIVERS (0 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index
22" worst
impaired teen driver
() () residence index
64" worst

0% of teens have texting, cell at-fault
phone, and GDL violations 81036 teen driver
81071 zip codes of
residence

ECONOMIC COSTS

$296,200

property damage

$245,100

injury costs

$2,580,000

fatality costs

$3,121,300

total cost
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KIOWA COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (3 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver
residence index
o 55" worst

crash location
index
° 30" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age
70-74 index
° 7" worst
drivers age
O O 80-84 index
° 64" worst

drivers age
O O 75-79 index
° 64" worst
drivers age
O O 85-90+ index
° 64" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(O INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
O driving index
° 53" worst
reckless driver
O O residence index
° 64" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(O MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

O O crash residence
index
[}

64" worst

crash residence
O O index
° 64" worst

Kiowa County has some of the best impaired driving-related

measures in the state. Other counties could learn from Kio-

wa County’s example.

Of those injured in crashes, 29% were unrestrained, resulting

in Kiowa County’s 26th worst ranking.

Kiowa County residents age 70 to 74 are 40% more likely
than others their age to be crash drivers and Kiowa County’s

elders in this age cohort are the 7th worst statewide.
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KIT CARSON
COUNTY

3th

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

3 fatal crashes
out of 409 statewide
7 fatalities
out of 448 statewide

Primary challenges: increasing adult
occupant protection use; and crash
prevention focused on drivers age 85
and older.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (4 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
0 8 residence index
° 32" worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 61t worst

impaired driver
1 O crash location index
° 25" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 37" worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

20" worst

80807 impaired driver
80815 zip codes of

80836 residence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION (9 UNRESTRAINED

INJURIES)

Illlllllllzsm
EEEEEEEEER
I best of
l.lll..lll25
EEEEEEEEEN
N I counties
EEEEEEEEEE
AEEEEEEEEN
AN
EEEEEEEEEE

49% overall seat belt use
unrestrained

47% {:;i:i?:; ‘

4™ worst

AEOEOEETET |~
EEEEEEEEEE 12
EEEEEEEEEE bt of
SEREEEE
T PA
AREEEREEEN counties
EEEEEEEEEE
T
EEEEEEEENE
ERENEEEENE

74% juvenile (5-15) seat belt use

IO T L T
EEEEEEEEEE 1
EEEEEEEEEE e of
I
mennnnnnnn 20
AEEEEEEEER counties
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEN
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE

100% kid (0-4) seat belt use

ECONOMIC COSTS

$2,019,800

property damage

$645,600

injury costs

$9,030,000

fatality costs

$11,695,400

total cost
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KIT CARSON COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (5 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 44" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 32" worst

80807 80805 at-fault
80815 80861 teen driver
80836 zip codes of

20th worst of 64 counties B

1.2% of teens have texting, cell
phone, and GDL violations

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (17 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
° 45" worst ° 41%t worst

OLDER DRIVERS (1 INJURY CRASH)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 415 worst ° 22" worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 35" worst ° 5" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(0 INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 38" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 64" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(1 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURY)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index

° 44™ worst
crash residence
index

° 39" worst

Less than half of Kit Carson County’s drivers were observed
using seat belts, while all of the children age 0 to 4 were
properly restrained. Among those injured in crashes, 47%
were unrestrained, the 4th worst rate in the state.

Residents age 85 and older are 60% more likely than other
drivers their age to be involved in a crash. Kit Carson Coun-
ty ranked 5th worst statewide.
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LA PLATA
COUNTY

fh tal crashes Primary challenges: impaired driving
! I St 6 out of 409 statewide prevention overall and for teens and

men ages 21-24; increasing teen

6 flll‘a[il‘ ies occupant protection use; and older
highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

driver crash prevention.
rank in fatalities

IMPAIRED DRIVERS: (15 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver O percent of
0 residence index crash location index O ?Iiolhol-rer:ated
I atal crashes
° 18" worst ° 16" worst

64" worst
history of impaired impaired male 81301 impaired driver
1 3 driving index 1 4 age 21-24 index 81137 R
® 10" worst ® 17" worst 81122 residence
OCCUPANT PROTECTION: (37 UNRESTRAINED
INJURIES) ECONOMIC COSTS
(30 10 [ 0 (O 0 O IO {0 0 T N
senmsnsnnn 10" meesssmsmm 4" $19,384,200
EEEEEENEEE bestof [N N NN best of
CEEEEEEEED I 0 D O O TR property damage
sennennnss 1S seessensss 20
SESSSEEEEN - EEEREEEEEN o
EEEEEEEEEN EFPEEEEETHE $5,475,600
EEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE .
EEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEER Lnjury costs
69% teen seat belt use 84% juvenile (5-15) seat belt use
unrestrained (X [N {1 [0 [0 0 I 1 th $7 740 000
23% {E="  sEEEEEEERn | e
43°worst e pmmmmmnn 20
HEEREERENEENE . unties
EEEEEEEEEE
e 832,299,800
91% kid (0-4) seat belt use total cost
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LA PLATA COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS: (16 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 27" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 21 worst

81301 81122 at-fault
81303 81326 teen driver
81137 zip codes of

2 8th worst of 64 counties B

0.9% of teens have texting, cell
phone, and GDL violations

RECKLESS DRIVERS:
(3 INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 47" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 10" worst

AT-FAULT DRIVERS: (138 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
° 18" worst ° 18" worst

OLDER DRIVERS: (3 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 28" worst ° 18" worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 14" worst ° 21 worst

MOTORCYCLES:
(13 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver
I 0 crash residence
inde:
°® I X

29" worst

crash residence
index
° 23" worst

While La Plata County’s child and juvenile seat belt use are Resident drivers between the ages of 80 and 84 are 30%

high, teen seat belt use lags well behind the state average.

more likely than others their age statewide to be involved in

crashes, and the County ranks 14th worst overall.

Impaired driving is a problem in La Plata County. Resident
males ages 21 to 24 are 40% more likely to be impaired crash
drivers than their peers statewide, resulting in the County’s
rank of 17th worst overall. Similarly, County teens are 30%
more likely to be impaired crash drivers than teens state-
wide; the County ranks 21st worst on this measure.
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- LAKE
COUNTY

focused reckless driving and

az‘alzz‘ 1es excessive speed; and increasing

highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

a l‘ o] crashes Primary challenges: crash prevention
t out of 409 statewide overall and prevention efforts

occupant protection use.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (2 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver
0 residence index crash location index
° 51t worst ° 52" worst
history of impaired impaired male
driving index age 21-24 index
° 15t worst 64" worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

14™ worst

residence

impaired driver
80461 zip codes of

OCCUPANT PROTECTION

unrestrained
(8 UNRESTRAINED O percent of
INJURIES) 44% s

TEEN DRIVERS (3 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index
54" worst
impaired teen driver
O O residence index
64" worst

1.3% of teens have texting, cell at-fault
phone, and GDL violations teen driver
80461

zip codes of
1 7th worst of 64 counties

residence

ECONOMIC COSTS

$894,800

property damage

$531,900

injury costs

$3,870,000

fatality costs

$5,296,700

total cost
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LAKE COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (13 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver
residence index
° 31st worst

crash location
index
° 63" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age
70-74 index
° 45" worst
drivers age
0 0 80-84 index
° 64" worst

drivers age
75-79 index
° 40" worst
drivers age
O O 85-90+ index
° 64" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(0 INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 3 worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 2" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(1 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURY)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index

° 42" worst
crash residence
index

° 34" worst

Lake County residents are 3.1 times more likely to be cited

for reckless driving or excessive speed causing a crash than

other drivers statewide. Lake County ranks 2nd worst over-

all on this measure.

Among those injured in crashes, 44% were unrestrained, the

7th worst rate in the state.
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1 LARIMER
- COUNTY

9th

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

15
16

atal crashes
out of 409 statewide

atalities
out of 448 statewide

Primary challenges: maintain
impaired driving crash prevention
gains and high occupant protection
use; and older driver crash
prevention.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (66 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
0 8 residence index
° 33" worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 28" worst

impaired driver
O 9 crash location index
° 38" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 29" worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

9" worst

80537 80525

80526 80524 impaired driver

80521 80528 f'e’;fj‘:ecse o

80538 80513
OCCUPANT PROTECTION (181 UNRESTRAINED
EEEEEEEEEE {7 NEEEEEEEEEE Ynd
sesnssnnns 12" SessssssEs 2 $102,461,000
EEEEEEEEEEbstof EEEEEEEEEE bestof P
NENNNNENNE); EENNNNENEE o property damage
DEDEOOOOED DEEEOEOOED
T T T
ENEEEDEEES EEEEEEEEEE $20,764,200
EEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE )
EEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE injury costs

84% overall seat belt use

IO OO 0 0 L I g
T
I O O O O O O O st of
EEEEDEEEEE
T T PA
I O O B coumtics
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEN
EEEEEEEEEE

92% juvenile (5-15) seat belt use

86% teen seat belt use

IO T OO FU T
EEEEEEEEEE 3
EEEEEEEEEE besof
I
mennnnnnnn 20
....-..... counties
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE
T

100% kid (0-4) seat belt use

$20,640,000

fatality costs

$143,865,200

total cost
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LARIMER COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (71 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 24" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 37" worst

80526 80537 at-fault
80525 80524 teen driver
80521 80528 zip codes of
80538 80513 residence

0.5% of teens have texting, cell
phone, and GDL violations

4 1 st worst of 64 counties

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (600 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
° 24" worst ° 38" worst

OCCUPANT
PROTECTION (cont.)

unrestrained

V700 1 e

32" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
15 INJURY CRASHES

history of reckless
driving index
° 30" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 33" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (18 INJURY CRASHES)
O 8 drivers age O 9 drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 34" worst ° 26" worst
1 1 drivers age 1 1 drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 20" worst ° 16" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(79 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index
° 14" worst
crash residence
index
° 17" worst

Opverall, Larimer County performs better than many coun- lenge.
ties on most of the traffic safety measures examined. Ob-

served seat belt use is high for all ages.

Despite these good indicators, Larimer County had the 9th
highest number of fatalities in 2010.

Maintaining and continuing to improve occupant protection
rates and impaired crash prevention will be an ongoing chal-

Larimer County’s resident drivers age 80 to 84 and 85+
are 10% more likely than others their age to be involved in
crashes. The County ranks 20th and 16th worst respectively

on this measure.

44 - Appendix B



s
SOET

1 LAS ANIMAS
COUNTY

LZ l‘ o] crashes Primary challenges: overall crash
out of 409 statewide and impaired driving prevention;
teen-focused crash and impaired

al‘ﬂ[ ities driving prevention; older driver crash
highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

prevention; and increasing occupant
protection use.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (8 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver O percent of
residence index crash location index O ?ktmlhOI ret:ated
I atal crashes
° 2 6" worst ° 13" worst

64" worst

history of impaired impaired male impaired driver
driving index age 21-24 index 81082 Zip codes of
° 42" worst ° 47" worst residence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION (11 UNRESTRAINED

INJURIES) ECONOMIC COSTS
EEEEEEEEEN ANEEEEEEEN

seeussnns 11" Sseessssss 18T $6,489,400
HEEEENENENEN best of HEEREENENEN bestof

EEEEEEREEN AEEEEEREEE property damage
EEEEEEEEEN 20 DEEOOEN O E D 20

SEESEESEEIL EIEILEEE o

EEEEEEEEEN AEEEEEREEN $1 337 100
AN EEN AR ..
EREEEEEREEE EREEEENEEN Lnjury costs

78% juvenile (5-15) seat belt use 71% kid (0-4) seat belt use

o— $9,030,000

O percent of ) )
O injuries fatality costs

25" worst

$16,856,500

total cost
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LAS ANIMAS COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (7 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 7" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 10" worst

81082 81024
81020 81081
81049

1.1% of teens have texting, cell
phone, and GDL violations

24th worst of 64 counties

at-fault
teen driver
zip codes of
residence

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(1 INJURY CRASH)

history of reckless
driving index
° 61t worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 7" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(2 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (32 INJURY CRASHES)

crash location
index
° 13" worst

at-fault driver
residence index
° 17* worst

rider-to-driver
I I crash residence
inde:
°® I X

23 worst

crash residence
index
° 35" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age
75-79 index
° 11" worst
drivers age
85-90+ index
° 28" worst

drivers age
70-74 index
° 12" worst
drivers age
80-84 index
° 19" worst

The focus in recent years on decreasing impaired driving by
men age 21 to 34 in Las Animas County has been successful
and should be continued. Las Animas County resident crash
drivers are 20% more likely to be impaired than crash drivers
living elsewhere, earning the County the rank of 6th worst
out of 64.

Juvenile and child seat belt use is low. Among individuals
injured in Las Animas crashes, 29% were unrestrained, the
25th worst rate in the state.

County teens are 20% more likely to be involved in a crash
than teens statewide, resulting in the County’s rank of 7th
worst. With respect to impaired driving crashes, Las Animas
teens are 2.1 times more likely to be impaired than teens
statewide; the 10th worst overall.

County residents age 70 to 74 and 75 to 79 are each 20%
more likely to be involved in a crash than others their age
in the state. The County ranks 12th and 11th worst among
these age cohorts in the state.
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LINCOLN
COUNTY

5 _ﬁl tal crashes Primary challenges: maintaining
t out of 409 statewide high occupant protection use and

low incidence of impaired driving

5 fill‘a[ 1ties crashes.
out of 448 statewide

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (0 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver percent of
0 2 residence index O 2 crash location index 1 % ?:;;’Ih:r;g]‘zt:d
h nd
° 59" worst ° 62" worst 20 worst
history of impaired o @ " -
O 8 b O O e nale 80821 b upeosesr
° 54" worst o 64 worst residence
OCCUPANT PROTECTION (1 UNRESTRAINED
INJURY) ECONOMIC COSTS
EEEEEEEEENE 1th percent of
T HTTH R 0 Unrestrained $1,154,4OO
e 0\ i ety g
nd
EEEEEEEEEE 2O b2 worst
FefaEi el
ANEEEEEEER $420,300
EEEEEEEEEN

EEEEENEEEN injury costs

87% overall seat belt use

$6,450,000

fatality costs

$8,024,700

total cost
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LINCOLN COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (1 TEEN INJURY CRASH)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 55" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 64" worst

0% of teens have texting, cell 80828 at-fault

phone, and GDL violations 80821 teen driver
80818 zip codes of
80823 residence

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(0 INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 31st worst
reckless driver
O O residence index
° 64" worst

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (9 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
° 64" worst ° 52" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age drivers age
() () 70-74 index O O 75-79 index
° 64" worst ° 64" worst
drivers age drivers age
O 6 80-84 index 85-90+ index
1 10" worst ° 64" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(O MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver
crash residence
index

[

64" worst

crash residence

0 0 index
° 64" worst

Lincoln County outperforms most Colorado counties on the
majority of traffic safety measures examined. Observed adult
seat belt use is high. Impaired driving crashes are very low.

Maintaining these positive metrics will continue to be a

challenge for the County.
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LOGAN
COUNTY

4th

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

1 fatal crash
out of 409 statewide
1 fatality
out of 448 statewide

Primary challenges: increase

occupant protection use; teen crash

prevention; and prevent crash

involvement of drivers age 75 to 79.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (2 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
0 4 residence index
° 52" worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 20" worst

impaired driver
O 4 crash location index
° 57" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 46" worst

64" worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

80751 impaired driver
zip codes of
80736 residence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION (11 UNRESTRAINED

INJURIES)

(N [0 [ [ [ Y (T Y M 23rd

EDDDoEEEED
I best of
EEEEEEEEEN 25’
EEEEEEEEEN

NN NNENENNEN counties

66% overall seat belt use
unrestrained

359% {::3:2?:; e

12" worst

55% teen seat belt use

1 8th

best of

18

counties

ECONOMIC COSTS

$7,324,000

property damage

$1,367,400

injury costs

$1,290,000

fatality costs

$9,981,400

total cost
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LOGAN COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (2 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index
° 5™ worst
impaired teen driver
O O residence index
° 64" worst

0.7% of teens have texting, cell 80751 80722 | atfault

phone, and GDL violations 80741 80747 teen driver
80728 80726 zip codes of

80736 id
3 3rd worst of 64 counties W

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (27 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
° 29" worst ° 27" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 29" worst ° 5™ worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 46" worst ° 27" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(O INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 43" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 2 49" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(1 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURY)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index

° 45" worst
crash residence
index

° 46" worst

Overall seat belt use by adults and teens in Logan County ~ a crash than others in this age cohort statewide, resulting in
is low. Logan County’s rank of 5th worst.

Teens living in Logan County are 30% more likely than
teens living elsewhere to be the at-fault driver in a crash.
Logan County ranks 5th worst out of 64 counties on this
measure.

Residents age 75 to 79 are 70% more likely to be involved in
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MESA
COUNTY

lth

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

127
127

atal crashes
out of 409 statewide

atalities
out of 448 statewide

Primary challenges: increasing

occupant protection; overall crash

prevention; older driver and

motorcyclist crash prevention;

prevent reckless driving.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (39 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
1 O crash location index
° 36" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 24™ worst

impaired driver
0 8 residence index
° 31 worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 17" worst

percent of
alcohol-related
fatal crashes

3 A) 11% worst
81504 81507

81501 81521 impaired driver

81503 81505 f'e’;f;:e; o

81520 81526
OCCUPANT PROTECTION (78 UNRESTRAINED
EEEEEEEEEE {~:. NEEEEEEEEEE {1t
Eannmnnnnn 1/ sessssssss 11° $44.752.800
EEEEEEEEEEbstof EEEEEENEEE bestof ) p )
NENEENEEEE 5 EEEEEEEEEE g property damage
CEOEOECOED TEEEOESOED
iR — IR —
EREEEEE @ EEEEEEEEEN $12,091,200
EEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE >
ENEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE injury costs
77% overall seat belt use 75% teen seat belt use
ONDEDNEIND O N [0 [ [ [ T [
sesmenmnns 1/" SEEEeEEEEE /O $15a480a000
EEEEEEEEEE bestof HENEEEEEEE besof Sfatality costs
EEEEDEEEEE I
T T PA TTTTTT TP
EEEEEEEEEE countcs HMEREEEEEEE ooy
EEEsenns - EERESERees
EEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE $72>324>000
ENEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE rotal cost

69% juvenile (5-15) seat belt use

97% kid (0-4) seat belt use
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MESA COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (55 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 215t worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 28" worst

81504 81507 at-fault
81501 81520 teen driver
81503 81506 zip codes of
81521 81505 residence

2.7% of teens have texting, cell
phone, and GDL violations

6th worst of 64 counties

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (296 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
o 28™" worst ° 44" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (33 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 30" worst ° 24™ worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 26" worst ° 13" worst

OCCUPANT
PROTECTION (cont.)

unrestrained

220 { &=

46" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(8 INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 12™" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 17" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(46 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver
I ; crash residence
index
[

215t worst

crash residence
index
° 11" worst

On most measures, Mesa County performs as well or better

than about half of Colorado counties.

In 2010, Mesa County had the 11th highest number of fa-
talities out of 64 counties. Overall, 3% of the state’s alcohol-
related fatalities occurred in Mesa County. Male residents
ages 21 to 24 are 10% more likely than others their age state-
wide to be impaired crash drivers, resulting in the County’s
rank of 24th worst.

Mesa County’s observed adult, teen and juvenile seat belt
use rates are lower than the state.

Residents are 10% more likely to be cited for reckless driv-
ing or excessive speed resulting in a crash than other drivers
statewide, and the County ranks 17th worst on this mea-
sure. Resident motorcyclists are more likely to be injured in
a crash than motorcyclists statewide.
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COUNTY

MINERAL

1 fatal crash

5 th out of 409 statewide

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

1 fatality
out of 448 statewide

Primary challenges: overall crash
prevention and crash prevention
efforts focused on resident drivers
age 70 to 74.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (0 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

64" worst

. . ’ impaired driver
O O lmpzlred d.rl\(/jer crash location index
residence index
° ° 39" worst

64" worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

hi§t9ry gf impaired iargzaQil:’Le-;ri?l:jeex impaired driver
0.8 zm="" (). (0] mazm=  wa }ress
OCCUPANT PROTECTION unrestrained
(4 UNRESTRAINED 29% Iprzlrﬁ?enst of ECONOMIC COSTS
INJURIES) 26" worst §1.169.600
) )
property damage

TEEN DRIVERS (0 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index
° 58" worst
impaired teen driver
° residence index

64" worst
0% of teens have texting, cell at-fault
phone, and GDL violations teen driver
81130 zip codes of
residence

$673,800

injury costs

$1,290,000

fatality costs

$3,133,400

total cost
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MINERAL COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (12 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
o 57" worst ° 15t worst

OLDER DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age a
70-74 index 72V$;S_iiz
- | X
e 13" worst °

64" worst

drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
¢ 64" worst ® 64" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(O INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
® 64" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 64" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(O MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index
[}

64" worst

crash residence
O O index
° 64" worst

Mineral County outperforms most Colorado counties on
many of the traffic safety measures examined.

Residents of Mineral County between the ages of 70 and 74
are 20% more likely to be involved in a crash than others in
their age cohort statewide.

Drivers in Mineral County are 3.6 times more likely to be
involved in a crash than drivers elsewhere in the state, and
this is the worst in the state.
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1 MOFFAT
1 COUNTY

Oth {

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

4 fatal crashes
out of 409 statewide

fatalities
out of 448 statewide

Primary challenges: overall crash
prevention; occupant protection;
impaired driving prevention; reckless
driving prevention; and crash
prevention for residents age 70 to 74.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (4 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
1 0 residence index
° 16™ worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 8™ worst

impaired driver
1 crash location index
° 2 21 worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 35" worst

64" worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

81625 impaired driver
zip codes of
81640 residence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION (16 UNRESTRAINED

INJURIES)

EEEEEEEEEE 9th
EEEEEEEEER
EEEEEENEEENE bestof
EEEEEEEEEE 18
EEEEEEEEEE
HEEREENENENEENE counties
EEEEEEEEER
EEEEEEEEEN
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEENEEE

78% teen seat belt use
unrestrained

36% { &=

11™ worst

AEEEOOETEE
EEEnsmnmnn 16
EEEEEEEEEE best of
SRR TR
eennnnnnnn 20
AEEEEEEEEEN counties
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE

69% juvenile (5-15) seat belt use

EREEEEEREEN 11th
EEEEEEEEEN
HEEREEEERENENE bestof
EEEEEEEEEN
eennnnnnnn 20
AEEEEEEEER counties
EEEEEEEEER
EEEEEEEEEN
AEEEEEENEEE
EEEEEEEEEN

88% kid (0-4) seat belt use

ECONOMIC COSTS

$4,673,600

property damage

$1,536,300

injury costs

$5,160,000

fatality costs

$11,369,900

total cost
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MOFFAT COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (7 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 9t worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 27" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(1 INJURY CRASH)

history of reckless
1 3 driving index
° 14" worst
reckless driver
1 residence index
° 2 14" worst

4.6% of teens have texting, cell 81625 at-fault
phone, and GDL violations :iggg feer dd”"erf
zip codes o
81626 residence MOTORCYCLES

1 st worst of 64 counties

(4 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (38 INJURY CRASHES)

crash location
index
° 17" worst

at-fault driver
residence index
° 1st worst

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index
d 31t worst

OLDER DRIVERS (4 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age
75-79 index
° 36" worst
drivers age
85-90+ index
° 36" worst

drivers age
70-74 index
° 15t worst
drivers age
80-84 index
° 44™ worst

crash residence
index
° 18" worst

Residents of Moftat County are 10% more likely than resi-
dents of other Colorado counties to be involved in a crash.
Moftat County ranks worst on this measure.

Occupant protection use is below the state average. Of those
injured in crashes, 36% were unrestrained, the 11th worst
rate in the state. Law enforcement in Moffat County have
penalized the greatest proportion of teen drivers for viola-
tions of texting, cell phone and GDL violation compared to
all other counties. Moffat County teens are in line with the

statewide average for rate of impaired crash drivers.

Drivers involved in crashes in Moffat County are 20% more
likely than others statewide to be impaired, and the county
ranks 21st worst on this measure.

Moffat County residents age 70 to 74 are 2.4% more likely to
be involved in a crash than other Colorado drivers their age,
resulting in the County’s rank of 1st worst.
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COUNTY

MONTEZUMA

th 5 _ﬁll‘cl[ crashes Primary challenges: impaired
out of 409 statewide driving prevention for all residents

7 fatalities
out of 448 statewide

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

and teens; and increasing occupant

protection use.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (13 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver
1 1 residence index 1 crash location index
° 14" worst ° 2 19" worst
history of impaired impaired male
driving index age 21-24 index
° 8" worst ° 21 worst

percent of
0 alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

e impaired driver
81323 81327 | pco o
81328 P

residence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION (26 UNRESTRAINED
INJURIES)

(0[O T (Y 0 [ 14th percent of

EEEEEEEEER O unrestrained
========== best of O injury crashes

th
EEEEEEEEEE 2D 17" worst
EEEEEEEEEE countcs
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE
ENEEEEEEEE

82% overall seat belt use

ECONOMIC COSTS

$7,296,800

property damage

$3,426,300

injury costs

$9,030,000

fatality costs

$19,753,100

total cost
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MONTEZUMA COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (11 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 32" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 9™ worst

2.2% of teens have texting, cell 81321 81334 | atfault

phone, and GDL violations B13 g o2 Icciiics
81328 81335 zip codes of
residence

1 1th worst of 64 counties

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(O INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 39" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 46" worst

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (61 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
° 37" worst ° 42 worst

OLDER DRIVERS (2 INJURY CRASHES)

MOTORCYCLES
(3 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index

° 32" worst
crash residence
index

° 30" worst

drivers age
70-74 index

° 33" worst
drivers age
80-84 index

° 42 worst

drivers age
75-79 index
° 21 worst
drivers age
85-90+ index
° 37" worst

In 2010, Montezuma County had the 15th highest number
of fatalities out of Colorado’s 64 counties.

Residents are 10% more likely to be impaired crash driv-
ers than residents of other counties, resulting in Montezuma
County’s rank of 14th worst. Male residents between the
ages of 21 and 24 are 20% more likely than others their
age to be impaired crash drivers, the 21st worst in the state.
Montezuma County teens are 2.1 times more likely than

other teens to be impaired crash drivers, ranking 9th worst.

Observed occupant protection is high, but there is still con-
tinued room for improvement. Of those injured in crashes,
27% were unrestrained, the 17th worst rate in the state.
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2nd

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

{

aml crashes
out of 409 statewide

Primary challenges: teen impaired

driving prevention; and occupant

amlzz‘zes
out of 448 statewide

protection.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (8 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
0 residence index
° ; 43 worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 16™ worst

impaired driver
O crash location index
° 51t worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 42" worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

20" worst

81403 zip codes of

e A impaired driver
81425 81424 e
residence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION (20 UNRESTRAINED

INJURIES)

EEENEEEEEE 5,
EECUOEEEED
EEEEEEEEEN best of
NEEEEEEEEN
EEEEEEEEEE 2
PR counties
EEEEEEEEEE
ENEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE
ENENEEEEEE

74% overall seat belt use
unrestrained

7% {.‘L‘?Li?:; e

31t worst

T TTTT TR
T
IO O O O O O O O O ot of
EEEEDEEEEE
epnnnnnnnn 20
HEENENENEENEN counties
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE

69% juvenile (5-15) seat belt use

IO T L T
EEEEEEEEEE 1
EEEEEEEEEE e of
I
mennnnnnnn 20
AEEEEEEEER counties
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE
T

100% kid (0-4) seat belt use

ECONOMIC COSTS

$9,028,600

property damage

$2,746,200

injury costs

$2,580,000

fatality costs

$14,354,800

total cost
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MONTROSE COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (14 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 15" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 17* worst

81401 81422 at-fault
81425 81431 teen driver
81403 zip codes of

id
8th worst of 6 4 countics residence

2.4% of teens have texting, cell
phone, and GDL violations

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (58 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
° 40" worst ° 57" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (8 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 26" worst ° 38" worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 22" worst ° 34" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(2 INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 2 215t worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 41%t worst

MOTORCYCLES
(10 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index
° 25" worst
crash residence
index
o 15" worst

Observed seat belt use in Montrose County is below the
state average and 27% of those injured in crashes were unre-
strained; the 31st worst rate in the state.

Montrose County teens are 50% times more likely to be im-
paired crash drivers than teens statewide. Montrose County
ranks 17th worst on this measures.
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B

MORGAN
=0t COUNTY
6th

fatal crashes

out of 409 statewide

fatalities
highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

Primary challenges: increase
occupant protection; motorcycle
crash prevention; and crash
prevention for older drivers.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (5 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)
percent of
2 0/ { alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

impaired driver impaired driver
0 6 residence index crash location index
° 49" worst ° 55" worst
13" worst
history of impaired impaired male i A impaired driver
driving index age 21-24 index :ggi i et
° 18" worst ° 48" worst residence

80653
OCCUPANT PROTECTION (15 UNRESTRAINED

SIIZEEEEEE)|t EEEEEEEEEN 11" | §g 909,000
EEEEEEEEEEbstof EEEEEENEEE bestof ) d’
EENENENEEE 55 ENENNENEEE {g property damage
OEEOEENDED DEENOENOED

EREEREEEEE  EEaEEmE

EEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE $2,068,200
EEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE o
EEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE injury costs

73% overall seat belt use

58% teen seat belt use

unrestrained

$9,030,000

fatality costs

4%, {r:s:,i?:; ‘

15t

$20,007,200

total cost
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MORGAN COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (12 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

1.1% of teens have texting, cell
phone, and GDL violations

2 1 st worst of 64 counties

at-fault teen driver
residence index
° 18" worst

impaired teen driver
residence index
° 44" worst

80701 80705 at-fault

80723 80733 teen driver
80654 80750 zip codes of
80653 residence

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (55 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver
residence index
° 11* worst

crash location
index
° 32" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(1 INJURY CRASH)

history of reckless
1 O driving index
° 25" worst
reckless driver
1 0 residence index
° 22" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(13 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver
! ; crash residence
index
[}

2" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (6 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age
75-79 index
° 3" worst
drivers age
85-90+ index
° 8" worst

drivers age
70-74 index
° 17* worst
drivers age
80-84 index
° 29" worst

crash residence
index
° 5" worst

Morgan County had the 16th highest number of fatalities
in 2010.

Observed occupant protection for adults and teens is below
the state average.

Resident drivers age 70 to 74 are 2.3 times more likely to
be crash drivers than others their age statewide, resulting in
Morgan County’s rank of 3rd worst on this measure. Simi-

larly residents age 85+ are 50% more likely to be involved in
a crash, a ranking of 8th worst.

Resident motorcyclists are 2.3 times more likely to be in-
jured in a crash than county drivers (2nd worst) and they are
90% more likely to be injured in a crash than motorcyclists
statewide, a ranking of 5th worst.
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OTERO

COUNTY
3rd

fatal crashes

out of 409 statewide

fatalities
highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

Primary challenges: increase
occupant protection; and teen
impaired driving.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (4 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver
1 O residence index crash location index
° 23" worst ° 37" worst

percent of

O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

64" worst

81067 81039

81050 81077 impaired driver

hi§t9ry gf impaired impaired mgle
1.1 {5 1,045 e es
OCCUPANT PROTECTION unrestrained
(9 UNRESTRAINED 31064 = ECONOMIC COSTS
INJURIES) 19" worst
$2,833,400
property damage

TEEN DRIVERS (5 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 42" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 18" worst

1.2% of teens have texting, cell at-fault
phone, and GDL violations 8106 J@ESrsa teen driver

giggg 81030 zip codes of
th . residence
1 9 worst of 64 counties

$1,185,600

injury costs

$2,580,000

fatality costs

$6,599,300

total cost
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OTERO COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (24 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver
residence index
o 49™ worst

crash location
index
° 61" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (2 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age
70-74 index
° 50" worst
drivers age
80-84 index
° 47" worst

drivers age
75-79 index
° 31 worst
drivers age
® 85-90+ index

64" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(O INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index

° 54" worst
reckless driver

° residence index

64" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(2 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index

o 43" worst
crash residence
index

° 44" worst

On many measures of traffic safety, Otero County is among

the 40 best in the state.

Among those injured in crashes, 31% were unrestrained, the

19th worst rate in the state.

Otero County teens are 40% more likely than other teens to

be impaired drivers in a crash, resulting in the County’s rank

of 18th worst.
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=1 OURAY
COUNTY

highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

focused on residents age 80 to 84.

th aml crash Primary challenges: overall crash
OUt of 409 statewide prevention; teen impaired driving
prevention; and crash prevention

fatality

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (2 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver
0 residence index crash location index
° 2 58" worst ° 40" worst
hi§t9ry .Of impaired impaired male
driving index .
th age 21-24 index
° 34" worst °

64" worst

percent of

O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

64" worst

residence

impaired driver
81427 zip codes of

OCCUPANT PROTECTION urestaned
(3 UNRESTRAINED 180 {f’njuﬁei f
INJURIES) 58" worst

TEEN DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 47" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 15" worst

0.8% of teens have texting, cell at-fault
phone, and GDL violations 81432 teen driver
81427 zip codes of
st residence
3 1 worst of 64 counties

ECONOMIC COSTS

$1,613,200

property damage

$647,700

injury costs

$1,290,000

fatality costs

$3,550,900

total cost
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OURAY COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (16 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver
residence index
o 59" worst

crash location
index
° 23" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age
70-74 index
° 47" worst
drivers age
80-84 index
° 15" worst

drivers age
75-79 index
° 41 worst
drivers age
O O 85-90+ index
° 64" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(O INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 58" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 64" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(O MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver
O O crash residence
index
®

64" worst

crash residence
O O index
° 64" worst

Ouray County teen drivers are 80% more likely to be im-

paired crash drivers than teens living elsewhere in the state.
With regards to this behavior, Ouray County ranks 15th

worst out of 64 counties.

Ouray County resident drivers between the ages of 80 and
84 are 20% more likely to be crash drivers than those in their
age cohort statewide, resulting in Ouray County ranking

15th worst.

Drivers in Ouray County are 10% more likely to be involved

in a crash than drivers statewide, a ranking of 23rd worst.
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PARK
COUNTY

3 fatal crashes

5 th out of 409 statewide

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

3 fatalities

out of 448 statewide

Primary challenges: overall crash
prevention; impaired driving
prevention focused on male residents
age 21 to 24; older driver crash
prevention and increasing occupant

protection use overall.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (3 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
0 residence index
° ; 39™ worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 33" worst

impaired driver
crash location index
° 47" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 26" worst

0%

percent of
alcohol-related
fatal crashes

64" worst

80421 80449

80420 80440 impaired driver

80827 goase * 2P oodes of
OCCUPANT PROTECTION Sercent of
(15 UNRESTRAINED unrestrained ECONOMIC COSTS
INJURIES) 32% InJYUt?'\cArlagrr\;
$5,135,000
property damage

TEEN DRIVERS (0 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 47" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 64" worst

0.7% of teens have texting, cell 80421 80475 at-fault

phone, and GDL violations 80440 80820 teen driver
80449 80827 zip codes of
residence

34th worst of 64 counties 80420

$1,671,900

injury costs

$3,870,000

fatality costs

$10,676,900

total cost
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PARK COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (36 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver
residence index
o 25" worst

crash location
index
° 25" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 11" worst ° 8" worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 64" worst ° 64" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(O INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 22" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 42" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(3 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver
O 8 crash residence
index
[

34" worst

crash residence
index
o 33 worst

Park County male residents age 21 to 24 are 10% more likely
to be impaired crash drivers than those in their age cohort
statewide. Park County ranks 26th worst out of 64 counties
on this measure.

Among those injured in crashes, 32% were unrestrained, the
17th worst rate in the state.

Drivers age 70 to 74 are 20% more likely than drivers their
age in the state to be in a crash and those age 75 to 79 are
40% more likely to be crash drivers. Park County rankts 11th
worst and 8th worst on these measures respectively.

Opverall, drivers in Park County are 10% more likely than
drivers statewide to be involved in a crash, resulting in a
County ranking of 25th worst.
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-1 PHILLIPS
COUNTY

th az‘al crashes Primary challenges: crash prevention
OUt of 409 statewide for resident drivers age 80 to 84
and 85 and older; and prevention of

az‘alzz‘zes

out of 448 statewide reckless driving and excessive speed.

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (0 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver O percent of
0 8 residence index crash location index O ?kt:olhOI rerllated
atal crashes
° 36" worst ° 59" worst

64" worst

history of impaired impaired male impaired driver
O driving index O O age 21-24 index 80734 zip codes of
; 59" worst 64t worst 80731 residence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION ereatof ECONOMIC COSTS
(1 UNRESTRAINED 20% { i
50" worst
INJURY) $636,200
property damage

TEEN DRIVERS (1 TEEN INJURY CRASH)

O 7 resdence ndex $201,300
46" worst injury costs

impaired teen driver
O O residence index $O
64" worst fatality costs

phone, and GDL violations 80731 teen driver $83 7’500

0.3% of teens have texting, cell 80734 at-fault
" } zip codes of
t
5 O worst of 64 counties 80721

residence total cost
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PHILLIPS COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (5 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
o 32" worst ° 62" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 31st worst ° 15" worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 4™ worst ° 2" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(1 INJURY CRASH)

history of reckless
driving index
° 62" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 5™ worst

MOTORCYCLES
(O MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver
O O crash residence
index
[

64" worst

crash residence
index
° 64" worst

Phillips County has an older driver problem. Resident driv-
ers age 80 to 84 are 2.1 times more likely to be involved
in a crash than others their age. Similarly, resident drivers
age 85 and older are 2.1 times more likely to be crash driv-
ers. Phillips County ranks 4th worst and 2nd worst on these
measures out of 64 counties statewide.

Crash drivers in Phillips County are 90% more likely than
other crash drivers statewide to be cited with reckless driving
or excessive speed causing a crash, resulting in the County’s
rank of 5th worst overall on this measure.
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=7 PITKIN

COUNTY
44 f

fatal crashes

out of 409 statewide

fatalities
highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

Primary challenges: Crash
prevention overall; impaired driving
prevention, including a focus on
teens and men ages 21-24; reckless
driving; and older driver crash

prevention.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (9 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
1 1 residence index
° 11" worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 30" worst

impaired driver
crash location index
° 7" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 20" worst

percent of
alcohol-related
fatal crashes

1 A) 20" worst
81611 81612

81615 81654 impaired driver

CUR e
OCCUPANT PROTECTION unrestrained
(13 UNRESTRAINED percent of ECONOMIC COSTS
INJURIES) 2 8% i2njsl;trihe?/vorst
$8,995,600
property damage

TEEN DRIVERS (1 TEEN INJURY CRASH)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 51t worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 19" worst

0.6% of teens have texting, cell 81611 at-fault
phone, and GDL violations 81615 teen driver
81654 zip codes of

40th worst of 64 counties 81612 residence

$1,512,300

injury costs

$2,580,000

fatality costs

$13,087,900

total cost
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PITKIN COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (42 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
o 12™ worst ° 7" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (2 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 10" worst ° 47" worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 3 worst ° 6" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(1 INJURY CRASH)

history of reckless
driving index
° 4™ worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 9™ worst

MOTORCYCLES
(4 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index

L 18™ worst
crash residence
index

° 26" worst

Drivers are 80% more likely to crash in Pitkin County than
those driving elsewhere. With respect to crash location, Pit-
kin County ranks 7th worst out of 64 counties statewide.

Crash drivers in Pitkin County are 70% more likely to be
impaired crash drivers, resulting in the County’s rank of 7th
worst. Male residents ages 21 to 24 are 30% more likely to
be impaired crash drivers (7th worst). Teens are 40% more
likely than other teens to be impaired crash drivers, resulting
in the County’s ranking of 19th worst.

Resident drivers age 80 to 84 are 3 times more likely than
others in their age cohort to be involved in a crash, ranking
Pitkin County 3rd worst. Older drivers in the 70 to 74 co-
hort and the 85+ cohort also have higher likelihoods of crash

involvement than others their age.
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PROWERS
COUNTY

_ﬂl tal crashes Primary challenges: impaired driving
t 2 out of 409 statewide prevention focused on male residents

age 21 to 24 and teens; and occupant

2 fZZZ‘ﬂ[Z.l‘ ies protection.
highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (2 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver O percent of
0 residence index crash location index O alcohol-related
° 44" worst ° 58" worst fatal crashes

64" worst
history of impaired impaired male impaired driver
1 1 driving index 2 6 age 21-24 index 81052 zip codes of
° 24" worst o 8t worst residence
OCCUPANT PROTECTION percent of
(4 UNRESTRAINED 0/ { eromne, | ECONOMICCOSTS
INJURIES)

2ot $3,221,600

property damage

TEEN DRIVERS (1 TEEN INJURY CRASH)

0.8 {?é!%ﬂiéi‘iﬁé’;‘x“e' $490,200

43 worst injury costs

residence index

2" worst fatality costs

1.2 { $2,580,000

2.6% of teens have texting, cell 81052 at-fault
phone, and GDL violations teen driver
81047 } zip codes of $6’291’800
id
7th worst of 64 counties 81092 o O total cost
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PROWERS COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (12 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
o 38" worst ° 49" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (2 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 20" worst ° 37" worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 415t worst ° 33 worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(0 INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 57" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 8™ worst

MOTORCYCLES
(2 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver
O crash residence
I ° index

28" worst

crash residence
index
° 25" worst

On many of the traffic safety measures, Prowers County per- Of those injured in crashes in Prowers County, 29% were

forms better than 20 or more counties. unrestrained, the 26th worst rate in the state.

Prowers County male residents age 21 to 24 are 2.6 times
more likely to be impaired crash drivers than their peers
statewide. Prowers County ranks 8th worst out of 64 coun-
ties. Similarly, resident teen drivers are 20% more likely than
other teens to be impaired crash drivers, and Prowers Coun-
ty ranks 22nd worst.
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PUEBLO
COUNTY

8th

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

1 8 fatal crashes

out of 409 statewide

1 9 fatalities

out of 448 statewide

Primary challenges: impaired

driving prevention focused on all

residents and all drivers; increasing

occupant protection use; preventing

motorcycle crashes; older driver

crash prevention.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (37 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
1 crash location index
° 9™ worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 27" worst

impaired driver
1 residence index
° 4™ worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 55" worst

percent of
alcohol-related
fatal crashes

5 A) 14" worst
81004 81007

81001 81006 impaired driver

81005 81008 f'e’;f;:e; of

81003 81023
OCCUPANT PROTECTION (102 UNRESTRAINED
INJURIES) ECONOMIC COSTS
EEEEEEEEEE {Qt: NEEEEEEEEN 1cth
SEEmmmmEEE 1) SEEsssEEEE 1O $76,366,200
EEEEEEEEEEbstof EEEEEEEEEE bestof p
ENNNSEEEEN,; EEEEENEEEN ;o property damage
DEEI0ENOED DEENOENUED
SEafiSNiES — ENMisAiRE —
EEEEEEEEEE EEEEEENEEN $11,063,700
EEEEEENEEN EEEEEENEEN v
EEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE injury costs
76% overall seat belt use 70% teen seat belt use
NNDEDNEIND [0 [ [ 0 L [ [ I
seeuesnns 13" meeessssms 197 $24,510,000
EEEEEENEEE bostof NENNEENEEN beotof Sfatality costs
CEONZENEEED CHEEENEEED
euneEnEEs 20 sessssssss 20
EEEEEEEEEE ountcs MENMEEEEEN Countics
Efsccacs— Hennnices
EEEEEEEEEN EEEEEENEEN $111,939,900
EEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE rotal cost

64% juvenile (5-15) seat belt use

67% kid (0-4) seat belt use
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PUEBLO COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (39 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 4™ worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 16" worst

81007 81006 at-fault
81001 81003 teen driver
81004 81008 zip codes of
81005 81019 residence

0.9% of teens have texting, cell
phone, and GDL violations

3 Oth worst of 64 counties

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (307 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
° 3 worst ° 14" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (24 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 15" worst ° 14" worst

OCCUPANT
PROTECTION (cont.)

unrestrained

2994 [ =

23 worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(5 INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 52" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 20" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(48 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index
° 8" worst
crash residence
index
° 8™ worst

drivers age
80-84 index
° 17" worst

drivers age
85-90+ index
° 12" worst

Pubelo County had the 8th highest number of fatalities in
2010.

Pueblo resident drivers are 50% more likely to be impaired
crash drivers than residents statewide, and Pueblo ranks 4th
worst out of 64 counties. Regardless of where they live, crash
drivers in Pueblo are 50% more likely than crash drivers
statewide to be impaired.

Occupant protection use in Pueblo is below the state average
for people of all ages. Of those injured in crashes, 29% were
unrestrained; the 23rd worst in the state.

Pueblo motorcyclists are 50% more likely to be injured in a
crash than motorcyclists statewide, resulting in the County’s
rank of 8th worst.
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COUNTY

RIO BLANCO

highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

th az‘al crashes
out of 409 statewide
az‘alzz‘zes

Primary challenges: impaired
driving prevention focused on teens;
occupant protection; and preventing
motorcycle crashes.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (3 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
0 9 residence index
° 29" worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 26" worst

impaired driver
crash location index
° 44™ worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 32" worst

20" worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

81648 impaired driver
zi d f
81641 repsi(c:;:eniseo

OCCUPANT PROTECTION restanes
(5 UNRESTRAINED 0y, J seren
INJURIES) 31% s

TEEN DRIVERS (3 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 50" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 3 worst

2.9% of teens have texting, cell at-fault
phone, and GDL violations 81648 } teen driver

81641 zip codes of
5 th worst of 64 counties

residence

ECONOMIC COSTS

$1,846,900

property damage

$579,900

injury costs

$2,580,000

fatality costs

$5,006,500

total cost
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RIO BLANCO COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (15 INJURY CRASHES)

crash location
index
° 26" worst

at-fault driver
residence index
o 53 worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(O INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 5" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (1 INJURY CRASH)

drivers age
70-74 index
° 515t worst
drivers age
O O 80-84 index
° 64" worst

drivers age
O O 75-79 index
° 64" worst
drivers age
O O 85-90+ index
° 64" worst

reckless driver
° residence index

64" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(3 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver
I 9 crash residence
° index

4% worst

crash residence
index
° 6" worst

Rio Blanco County performs better than many counties on
most of the traffic safety measures. However, Rio Blanco
County teens are 3.5 times more likely to be impaired crash
drivers than teens living elsewhere. Rio Blanco County ranks
3rd worst out of 64 counties on this measure.

Of those injured in crashes, 31% were unrestrained, the 18th
worst rate in the state.

Motoreycle crashes are a problem in the County. Rio Blanco
motorcyclists are 90% more likely than County drivers to be
injured in a crash (4th worst). Moreover, Rio Blanco County
motorcyclists are 60% more likely than other motorcyclists
statewide to be injured in a crash, the 6th worst rank in the

state.
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RIO GRANDE
COUNTY

7th

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

2 fatal crashes

out of 409 statewide

2 fatalities

out of 448 statewide

Primary challenges: impaired driving

prevention focused on teens and

on male residents age 21 to 24; and

older driver crash prevention.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (5 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

0.8 e () Qdmmime ()0

° 37" worst ° 45" worst O 64t worst
history of impaired impaired male 81144 impaired driver

1 2 driving index 2 1 age 21-24 index 81132 zip codes of

° 19" worst ° 11* worst 81154 residence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION (5 UNRESTRAINED

INJURIES) ECONOMIC COSTS

(2 [0 [0 [0 [ [0 [ O (0 T 0 [ [0 I

sEnnEnEnEn 8° messsssses 127 $3,583,200

HEENEEENEEN best of EEEEEENEEE bestof

AEEEEEEEEER EEEEEEEEER property damage

EEEEEEEEEE 20 EEEEEEEEEE 20

========== counties ========== counties

ANEEEEEEER AEEEEEEEER $1,048,200

AR .. AEEEEEENEN

ANEEEEEEER
83% juvenile (5-15) seat belt use

percent of

O unrestrained
O injury crashes

59™ worst

ANEEEEEEER
88% kid (0-4) seat belt use

injury costs

$2,580,000

fatality costs

$7,211,400

total cost
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RIO GRANDE COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (7 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 29" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 8™ worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(0 INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 39 worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 45" worst

1.3% of teens have texting, cell 81144 at-fault MOTORCYCLES
phone, and GDL violations 81132 tz?e’;:drg’:;f (2 MOTORCYCLIST
81154 repsidence INJURIES)

1 6th worst of 64 counties

rider-to-driver

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (23 INJURY CRASHES)

crash location
index
° 39" worst

at-fault driver
residence index
° 30" worst

crash residence
index

° 40" worst
crash residence
index

° 32" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age
75-79 index
° 7" worst
drivers age
85-90+ index
° 7" worst

drivers age
70-74 index
° 6" worst
drivers age
80-84 index
° 43" worst

Rio Grande resident males age 21 to 24 are 2.1 times more
likely to be impaired crash drivers than their peers living
statewide. Rio Grande County ranks 11th worst out of 64
counties on this measure.

Rio Grande teens are 2.1 times more likely to be impaired
crash drivers than teens statewide, and Rio Grande County
ranks 8th worst.

Older drivers are a challenge in Rio Grande County. Those
age 70 to 74 are 60% more likely than drivers their age state-
wide to be involved in a crash, resulting in the rank of 6th
worst. Similarly, drivers age 75 to 79 are 40% more likely
and drivers age 85+ are 50% more likely to be in a crash than
their peers; a rank of 7th worst on both measures.
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ROUTT
COUNTY

th 3 fatal crashes
out of 409 statewide
3 fatalities
hi g/.)esz‘ of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

Primary challenge: comprehensive
impaired driving prevention for all
residents, particularly males age 21
to 24 and all drivers in the county;
and older driver crash prevention.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (15 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
1 4 residence index
° 5™ worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 2" worst

impaired driver
1 crash location index
° 12" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 5™ worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

20" worst

80487 81639

80477 80428 impaired driver

80467 80469 f;’;fj‘;ecse &l
OCCUPANT PROTECTION (13 UNRESTRAINED
INJURIES) ECONOMIC COSTS
(2 0 {0 [ 0 [ T I h HENEEEEEEE h
EODOOREEEED 13¢ EEEEEEEEEN 12¢ $8,906,000
NN EEEEEE bestof EEEEEEEEEE bestof
EEEEEEEEEE 25 EEEEEEEEEN 18 property damage
DEENOENEED DEENNOENEED
EEEEEEEEEE AR
EEEEEEEEEN EEEEEEEEEN $2,042,100
EEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE

84% overall seat belt use

74% teen seat belt use

unrestrained

209 {&=

54" worst

injury costs

$3,870,000

fatality costs

$14,818,100

total cost
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ROUTT COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (8 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 22" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 39" worst

80487 80477 at-fault
81639 80488 teen driver
80467 80469 zip codes of
80428 80479 residence

0.6% of teens have texting, cell
phone, and GDL violations

3 8th worst of 64 counties

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(2 INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
1 driving index
° 9™ worst
reckless driver
O 9 residence index
° 27" worst

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (58 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
° 6" worst ° 16" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 42 worst ° 54" worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 9" worst ° 39" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(4 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
0 6 index
° 41 worst
crash residence
index
o 37" worst

Impaired driving is a problem in Routt County. Residents living elsewhere.

involved in crashes are 40% more likely than other crash
drivers to be impaired. Regardless of residence, Routt Coun-
ty crash drivers are 50% more likely than crash drivers else-
where to be impaired. Routt County ranks 5th worst and
12th worst on these measures.

Routt County male residents age 21 to 24 are 3 times more
likely to be impaired drivers than those in their age cohort

Routt County residents between the ages of 80 and 84 are
50% more likely to be involved in a crash than others their
age statewide, resulting in the rank of 9th worst.
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COUNTY

SAGUACHE

out of 448 statewide

th az‘al crashes
out of 409 statewide
az‘alzz‘zes

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

Primary challenges: impaired driving
prevention focused on teens and men
age 21 to 24; occupant protection;
and older driver crash prevention.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (4 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
0 9 residence index
° 28" worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 25" worst

impaired driver
crash location index
° 28" worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 9™ worst

O percent of
O alcohol-related
fatal crashes

64" worst

81125 impaired driver
zi d f
81143 repsi(c:;:eniseo

OCCUPANT PROTECTION

percent of
(10 UNRESTRAINED 0. | imesaines
INJURIES) 32% or rsros

TEEN DRIVERS (4 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index
40" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index
° 6" worst

1.1% of teens have texting, cell 81125 81143 atfault
81149 81155 teen driver

phone, and GDL violations

22nd worst of 64 counties

81131 zip codes of
residence

ECONOMIC COSTS

$1,502,800

property damage

$1,092,000

injury costs

$0

fatality costs

$2,594,800

total cost
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SAGUACHE COUNTY

RECKLESS DRIVERS

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (22 INJURY CRASHES) (0 INJURY CRASHES)
at-fault driver crash location hi§t9ry 9f reckless
O 7 residence index O 8 index 1 4 driving index
o {41St worst o 45" worst o 13" worst
reckless driver
OLDER DRIVERS (1 INJURY CRASH) 1 2 residence index
° 12" worst

1 8 drivers. age O O {drivers_age
70-74 index 75-79 index
MOTORCYCLES
th th
‘ {5 worst ‘ oA worst (0 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

drivers age dri o O O crash residence
o rivers age inde
O 8 80 ?: Index 85-90+ index [ I t);
° 30" worst ® 14" worst 64" worst
crash residence
O O indox
° 64" worst

Male residents age 21 to 24 of Saguache County are 2.4 Resident drivers age 70 to 74 are 80% more likely to be in-
times more likely to be impaired crash drivers than those in volved in a crash than drivers in this age cohort elsewhere.

this age cohort living elsewhere. Saguache County ranks 9th Saguache County ranks 5th worst.

worst out of 64 counties on this measure.

Of those injured in crashes, 32% were unrestrained, the 14th
Teens living in the County are 2.3 times more likely to be worst rate in the state.
impaired crash drivers than their peers statewide, and the
County ranks 6th worst.
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SAN JUAN
COUNTY

a l‘ o] crashes Primary challenges: crash prevention
t out of 409 statewide overall; impaired driving prevention;

and reckless driving prevention.

fatalities
highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (2 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver O p?rcl'?nlt Of| ted

paire € crash location index alcohol-relate

residence index st O fatal crashes
° 1%t worst

64" worst 64" worst
history of impaired impaired male impaired driver
riving index age 21-24 index zip codes o
O ° 9 {d38“’gwc(;rst O O { 64" worst N/A } re’;ide(:wce f
OCCUPANT PROTECTION -
(3 UNRESTRAINED O .ur?restrained ECONOMIC COSTS
INJURIES) 30% q nimee

21 worst $488,200

property damage

TEEN DRIVERS (0 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

0.0 {féi%ﬂiiiﬁﬂfé‘:“ $402,600

th ..
64" worst 11Uy COSLS

impaired teen driver $0
() () residence index
64" worst fatality costs
0% of teens have texting, cell

phone, and GDL violations N/A } :_et::lg:iver $ 890, 800

zip codes of
residence total cost
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SAN JUAN COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (9 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver
residence index
o 56" worst

crash location
index
° 34 worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(O INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 35" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age
O O 75-79 index
° 64" worst
drivers age
O O 85-90+ index
° 64" worst

drivers age
O O 70-74 index
° 64" worst
drivers age
O O 80-84 index
° 64" worst

reckless driver
residence index
15t worst

MOTORCYCLES
(O MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver
crash residence
PS index

64" worst

crash residence
O O index
° 64" worst

Regardless of residence, drivers involved in crashes in San
Juan County are 4.8 times more likely to be impaired than
crash drivers statewide. The County ranks worst on this
measure out of all counties.

Drivers in San Juan County are 3.4 times more likely than
drivers statewide to be involved in a crash, and the County is
the 3rd worst overall on this measure.

Crash drivers in San Juan County are 15 times more likely to
have been cited with reckless driving or excessive speed caus-
ing a crash than drivers statewide, resulting in the County’s
ranking as the state’s worst on this measure.

Of those injured in crashes, 30% were unrestrained; the 21st
worst in the state.
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COUNTY

SAN MIGUEL

fatalities
highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

th az‘al crashes
out of 409 statewide

Primary challenges: impaired driving
prevention for all residents and
focused efforts for men age 21 to 24
and teens; and crash prevention for

residents age 75 to 79.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (0 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver
1 6 residence index crash location index
° 3 worst ° 22" worst

O percent of
O alcohol-related
fatal crashes

64" worst
history of impaired impaired male 81435 impaired driver
1 3 driving index 4 9 age 21-24 index 81423 zip codes of
° 6" worst ° 2" worst 81426 residence
OCCUPANT PROTECTION unrestrained
(3 UNRESTRAINED 2 O% Iprzlrjcneenst of ECONOMIC COSTS
INJURIES) 50" worst $1.711.800
) )
property damage

TEEN DRIVERS (1 TEEN INJURY CRASH)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 48" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 4™ worst

0.7% of teens have texting, cell 81435 at-fault
phone, and GDL violations teen driver
81423 } zip codes of
th residence
3 6 worst of 64 counties 81426

$512,100

injury costs

$0

fatality costs

$2,223,900

total cost
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SAN MIGUEL COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (13 INJURY CRASHES)

crash location
index
° 46" worst

at-fault driver
residence index
o 42" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(O INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 11" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age
75-79 index
° 1st worst
drivers age
O O 85-90+ index
° 64" worst

drivers age
0 0 70-74 index
° 64" worst
drivers age
O O 80-84 index
° 64" worst

reckless driver
O residence index
° 40" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(1 MOTORCYCLIST

INJURY)
rider-to-driver

O 8 crash residence
index
[}

33 worst

crash residence
° 42 worst

Impaired driving is a problem in San Miguel County. Resi-
dents involved in crashes are 60% more likely to be impaired
crash drivers than crash drivers statewide, and male residents
age 21 to 24 are 4.9 times more likely than those their age
living elsewhere to be impaired crash drivers. San Miguel
County ranks 3rd worst and 2nd worst out of 64 counties
on these measures respectively. San Miguel County teens are
2.9 times more likely than teens statewide to be impaired
crash drivers; the 4th worst in the state.

Resident drivers age 75 to 79 are 4.9 times more likely than
drivers in this age cohort statewide to be involved in a crash.
San Miguel County is the worst on this measure out of all
Colorado counties.
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SEDGWICK
COUNTY

_ﬂl tal crash Primary challenges: motorcycle crash
t 1 out of 409 statewide prevention; and increasing occupant

protection use.
1 fatality

out of 448 statewide

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (1 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASH)

impaired driver impaired driver O percent of
0 4 residence index crash location index O ?Igolhol-rerl]ated
atal crashes
° 53" worst ° 60" worst

20" worst

history of impaired impaired male impaired driver
driving index age §1'24 index 80744 zip codes of
PY 58t worst Y 64" worst residence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION (2 UNRESTRAINED
INJURIES) ECONOMIC COSTS

snmsannmum 24" 17% {sﬁ:‘;z?:;,:ed $731,000

NN EEEEEE bestof injury crashes

AEEEEEEEEN 60" worst property damage
EEEEEEEEER 25
=!5_.“55g.|_l !E counties

|1=,=!'"— - . S !l—:;‘:

EEEEEEEEN $584,100
AN ..
EEEEEENEER injury costs

61% overall seat belt use

$1,290,000

fatality costs

$2,605,100

total cost
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SEDGWICK COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (0 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index
° 62" worst
impaired teen driver
O O residence index
° 64" worst

0.7% of teens have texting, cell at-fault
hone, and GDL violations teen driver
P 80737 zip codes of

th residence
3 5 worst of 64 counties

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(O INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 63" worst
reckless driver
O O residence index
° 64" worst

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (9 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
° 54" worst ° 20" worst

OLDER DRIVERS (1 INJURY CRASH)

drivers age drivers age
0 0 70-74 index O 8 75-79 index
° 64" worst ° 32" worst
drivers age drivers age
O O 80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 64" worst ° 23" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(2 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index

o 15t worst
crash residence
index

o 1st worst

With respect to impaired driving, Sedgwick County outper- wide to be injured in a crash. The County ranks as the state’s

forms most counties.
Observed seat belt use is well below the state average.

Motorcycle crashes are a problem in the County. Sedgwick
County motorcycle riders are 2.4 times more likely to be in-
jured than County drivers. Similarly, Sedgwick County mo-
torcyclists are 3 times more likely than motorcyclists state-

worst on both of these measures.
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SUMMIT
COUNTY

6th

rank in fatalities

5 fatal crashes
out of 409 statewide
5 fatalities
hi g/.)esz‘ of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

Primary challenges: overall crash
prevention; impaired driving
prevention focused on residents and
non-residents alike, including teens
and men ages 21-24; and occupant

protection.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (1 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASH)

impaired driver
1 residence index
° 2 10" worst

impaired driver
crash location index
° 8™ worst

percent of
alcohol-related
fatal crashes

20" worst

1%

istory of impaire: impaired male 80424 impair river
1 3 zri\tin; ir:dexp ’ 1 4 agZ 21—g4in|dex :gzgz zipp:0de§sdof °
OCCUPANT PROTECTION (21 UNRESTRAINED
EEEREEREEEEE th EEEEEEEEEN
EEEEEEEEEN’  _ SssEssssEs 07 $16,695,800
NN EENEEE bestof HEENEEENEEN best of J
EEEEEEEEEN 25’ EEEEEEEEER property damage
EEEEEEEEEN ) EEEEEEEEER 20
SEESIESIES... IMEREEREEEC..
EEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEN $2’090,1OO
AEEEEREEEE EEEEEEEEER L.
EEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEN Lnjury costs

86% overall seat belt use

33%

unrestrained
percent of
injuries

13" worst

99% juvenile (5-15) seat belt use

EREEEEEREEN 4th
EEEEEEEEEN
HEEREEEERENENE bestof
EEEEEEEEEN
eennnnnnnn 20
AEEEEEEEER counties
EEEEEEEEER
EEEEEEEEEN
AEEEEEEEEENE
EREEEEEEEN

99% kid (0-4) seat belt use

$6,450,000

fatality costs

$25,235,900

total cost
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SUMMIT COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (3 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 17" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 14" worst

80435 80443 at-fault
80424 80497 teen driver
80498 zip codes of

id
44th worst of 64 counties o ]

0.5% of teens have texting, cell
phone, and GDL violations

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(O INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 7" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 38" worst

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (55 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
° 26" worst ° 9™ worst

OLDER DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
® 43" worst ° 33" worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
. 32" worst ° 64" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(3 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index

° 30" worst
crash residence
index

° 40" worst

Summit County had the 26th highest number of fatalities
out of 64 counties. Of those injured in crashes, 33% were
unrestrained, the 13th worst rate in the state.

Impaired driving continues to be a problem in Summit
County. Residents involved in crashes are 20% more likely
to be impaired than crash drivers statewide. Regardless of
residence, crash drivers in Summit County are 60% more
likely than crash drivers statewide to be impaired. Summit

County ranks 10th worst and 8th worst on each of these
measures. Resident males age 21 to 24 are 40% more likely
to be impaired crash drivers than others their age statewide
(18th worst). Similarly, resident teens are 80% more likely to
be impaired crash drivers than other teens, resulting in the
County’s rank of 14th worst.

Overall, drivers in Summit County are 60% more likely to be
involved in a crash than drivers statewide, ranking 9th worst.
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- TELLER
COUNTY

and all drivers; and teen and older

LZZ‘ alities driver crash prevention.

highest of 64 counties out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

a l‘ o] crashes Primary challenges: impaired driving
8t out of 409 statewide prevention for residents age 21 to 24

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (12 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver
1 0 residence index crash location index
° 22" worst ° 10" worst

percent of

O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

64" worst

istory of impaire: impaired male S impaired driver
O 8 Zri\tiné ierexp ‘ 1 7 agz 21—34 inldex 282(1;2 zippcod:sdof
° 51t worst ° 14" worst 80813 residence
OCCUPANT PROTECTION unrestrained
(18 UNRESTRAINED 24% ipncjlrjcrieenst of ECONOMIC COSTS
INJURIES) 40" worst $5 627.400
) )
property damage

TEEN DRIVERS (7 TEEN INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 8" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 38" worst

0.5% of teens have texting, cell 80863 80813 at-fault
phone, and GDL violations 80816 80866 teen driver
80814 zip codes of

42nd worst of 64 counties residence

$2,193,300

injury costs

$2,580,000

fatality costs

$10,400,700

total cost
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TELLER COUNTY

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (59 INJURY CRASHES)

crash location
index
° 43" worst

at-fault driver
residence index
o 16" worst

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(1 INJURY CRASH)

history of reckless
driving index
° 42 worst

OLDER DRIVERS (1 INJURY CRASH)

drivers age
70-74 index
° 44" worst
drivers age
80-84 index
° 48" worst

drivers age
75-79 index
° 6" worst
drivers age
85-90+ index
° 64" worst

reckless driver
O 9 residence index
° 26" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(6 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver

crash residence
index

° 24" worst
crash residence
index

° 19" worst

'The primary traffic safety issue in Teller County is impaired
driving. Regardless of residence, crash drivers in Teller
County are 50% more likely than crash drivers elsewhere to
be impaired. Teller County ranks 10th worst out of 64 coun-
ties on this measure.

Male residents of Teller County between the ages of 21 and
24 are 70% more likely to be impaired crash drivers than
those this age statewide, resulting in the County’s ranking

of 14th worst.

Teller County teen drivers are 20% more likely than other
teens to be at-fault drivers in a crash, and Teller County
ranks 8th worst on this measure.

Residents age 75 to 79 are 60% more likely than others
their age statewide to be involved in a crash, resulting in the
County’s rank of 6th worst.
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WASHINGTON
COUNTY

3 fatal crashes

out of 409 statewide

Primary challenges: motorcycle crash
prevention; and preventing reckless
driving and excessive speed.

7th

faz‘aliz‘z'es

/?zg/_)est 0 64 counties 3 out of 448 statewide

rank in fatalities

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (2 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver impaired driver
O O residence index crash location index
64" worst 54" worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

64" worst
history of impaired impaired male impaired driver
O 8 driving index O O age 21-24 index N/A zip codes of
° 47" worst o 64" worst residence

OCCU PANT PROTECTION unrestrained
(3 UNRESTRAINED 2 1 % Ipntirjc”eenst of ECONOMIC COSTS
INJURIES) 48™ worst

$1,039,200

property damage

TEEN DRIVERS (1 TEEN INJURY CRASH)

at-fault teen driver
residence index
° 28" worst
impaired teen driver
() () residence index
° 64" worst

0.6% of teens have texting, cell 80720 at-fault
phone, and GDL violations teen driver
80743

zip codes of
3 9th worst of 64 counties 80801

residence

$536,100

injury costs

$3,870,000

fatality costs

$5,445,300

total cost
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WASHINGTON COUNTY

RECKLESS DRIVERS

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (12 INJURY CRASHES) (0 INJURY CRASHES)
at-fault driver crash location history of reckless
O 9 residence index O 9 index O 9 driving index
’ {13”‘ worst ° 37" worst ° 44" worst
reckless driver
OLDER DRIVERS (0 INJURY CRASHES) 1 8 residence index
° 6" worst
drivers age drivers age
O 8 70-74 index O 4 75-79 index MOTORCYCLES
® 36" worst ® 51t worst (2 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)
rider-to-driver
drivers age drivers age crash residence
1 2 80-84 index O O 85-90+ index 2 1 { index
° {18th worst ° 64" worst ° 3" worst
1 9 crash residence
index
° 4™ worst

Motorcycle crashes are a problem in Washington County. reckless driving or excessive speed resulting in a crash. The
Resident motorcyclists are 2.1 times more likely than drivers County is the 6th worst in the state on this measure.

to be injured in a crash, the 3rd worst in the state. Simi-

larly, Washington County motorcyclists are 90% more likely

than motorcyclists statewide to be injured in a crash; the 4th

worst.

Wiashington County residents involved in crashes are 80%
more likely than crash drivers statewide to be cited with
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| WELD
1 COUNTY

2nd

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

36
41

fatal crashes
out of 409 statewide

fatalities
out of 448 statewide

Primary challenges: impaired driving
prevention; and occupant protection.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (59 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASHES)

impaired driver
0 9 residence index
° 24™ worst
history of impaired
driving index
° 22" worst

impaired driver
1 O crash location index
° 31t worst
impaired male
age 21-24 index
° 22" worst

percent of
O alcohol-related
O fatal crashes

15t worst

80620 80621 [ 2P codesof

o A impaired driver
80634 80603 P
80550 80543 | 'esidence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION (129 UNRESTRAINED

INJURIES)

(N [0 [ [ [ Y (T Y M 11th
EDDDoEEEED
I best of
EEEEEEEEEN 25’
EEEEEEEEEN
HEENENENENENNEN counties
EO00OoEEEHES
HIDO0OOoNEES
AEEREEEEE .
EEEEEEEEEE

84% overall seat belt use

IO O 0 O T g gy
sennennnnn 10
I O O O O O O O st of
EEEEDEEEEE
T T PA
P counties
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEEEE
ENEEEEEEEE

81% juvenile (5-15) seat belt use

(N (0 [ Y [ Y I M 7th
EEDEoEEEES
EEEEEENEEE bestof
EEEEEEEEEE 18
EEEEEEEEEN
HMEENENENENNENE counties
Epujmyn g upugngf=|
SNDOEONEES
ENEEEEEEEN
EEEEEEEEEE

81% teen seat belt use

EREEEEEREEN
EEEEEEEEEN
HAREREEENEEEN bestof
EEEEEEEEEN
eennnnnnnn 20
.......... counties
EEEEEEEEER
EEEEEEEEER
AEEEEEEEEEN
EREEEEEEEN

99% kid (0-4) seat belt use

ECONOMIC COSTS

$68,297,800

property damage

$14,499,300

injury costs

$52,890,000

fatality costs

$135,687,100

total cost
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WELD COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (58 TEEN INJURY CRASHES) OCCUPANT
_ PROTECTION (cont.)
at-fault teen driver
1 O {residence index unrestrained
° 19™ worst O percent of
injuries
2 9 A) 24™ worst
impaired teen driver
O . 8 residence index RECKLESS DRIVERS
357 worst (10 INJURY CRASHES)
history of reckless
0.7% of teens have texting, cell 80631 80516 at-fault 1 2 driving index
phone, and GDL violations 80634780521 |@iteenidiiver ° 19" worst
80550 80603 zip codes of
2 4 residence
3 7th worst of 64 counties 0020 808 i
1 O reckless driver
residence index
AT-FAULT DRIVERS (364 INJURY CRASHES) . 21% worst
(.8 = (). 84w MOTORCYCLES
° 23 worst o 471 worst (44 MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)
rider-to-driver
crash residence
OLDER DRIVERS (19 INJURY CRASHES) 1 2 { index
° 22" worst
drivers age drivers age
O 8 70-74 index 1 O 75-79 index
° {32nd worst ° 19" worst 0 8 _Crgsh residence
° 20" worst
O 9 drivers age O 7 drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 27" worst ® 31° worst

Weld County had the 2nd highest number of fatalities out of ~ Impaired driving is an issue in Weld County, but the County
Colorado’s 64 counties. is not in the top 20 worst on any measure, except for one key
measure: Weld County comprised 13% of the state’s alcohol-

Observed seat belt use is above the state’s average and is related fatal crashes, the worst statewide.

particularly high for juveniles and children. Other counties
could learn from Weld County’s success with juvenile and
child occupant protection. However, 29% of those injured
in Weld County crashes were unrestrained, the 24th worst
rate in the state.
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8th

highest of 64 counties

rank in fatalities

2 fatal crashes
out of 409 statewide
3 fatalities
out of 448 statewide

Primary challenges: occcupant
protection overall; and preventing
reckless driving and excessive speed.

IMPAIRED DRIVERS (1 IMPAIRED INJURY CRASH)

impaired driver
0 3 residence index
° 56" worst

impaired driver O percent of
crash location index O alcohol-related
P 61t worst fatal crashes

64" worst

0.9 0.0 i S0721 ) e aner
[ ) 45" worst ° 64" worst 80759 residence

OCCUPANT PROTECTION (9 UNRESTRAINED
INJURIES) ECONOMIC COSTS
EEEEEEEEER EEEEEEEEEN
sennnnnnnn 20" messsssses 157 $1,605,600
HEENEEENENEN best of HEEEEERENENE bestof
EEEEEEEEEN EEEEEEEEER propen‘ydamage
EEEEEEEEEN 20 EEEEEEEEER 20
HAEEEERENEEN ounties HEENEREEENE undes
EEEEEEEEER EEEEEEEEER
EEEEEEEEEE EEEEEEEEEE $691,500
AT EEE AEEEEEEEEE

ANEEEEEEER
80% juvenile (5-15) seat belt use

unrestrained

47% {::3:2?:; ‘

4™ worst

EEENEEEEEE injury costs

80% kid (0-4) seat belt use

$3,870,000

fatality costs

$6,167,100

total cost
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YUMA COUNTY

TEEN DRIVERS (1 TEEN INJURY CRASH)

at-fault teen driver
residence index

° 15" worst
impaired teen driver
residence index

° 34" worst

80758 80824 at-fault
80759 80735 teen driver
80727 zip codes of

43rd worst of 64 counties o i

0.5% of teens have texting, cell
phone, and GDL violations

RECKLESS DRIVERS
(O INJURY CRASHES)

history of reckless
driving index
° 14" worst
reckless driver
residence index
° 14" worst

AT-FAULT DRIVERS (15 INJURY CRASHES)

at-fault driver crash location
residence index index
° 44" worst ° 515t worst

OLDER DRIVERS (1 INJURY CRASH)

drivers age drivers age
70-74 index 75-79 index
° 53" worst ° 415t worst
drivers age drivers age
80-84 index 85-90+ index
° 19" worst ° 24" worst

MOTORCYCLES
(O MOTORCYCLIST
INJURIES)

rider-to-driver
crash residence
index

[

64" worst

crash residence
0 0 index
° 64" worst

Of those injured in Yuma County crashes, 47% were unre-
strained, the 4th worst rate in the state. Juvenile and child
occupant protection use is low.

The County is among the best in the state with respect to
impaired driving crashes.

Yuma County residents involved in crashes are 50% more
likely than drivers statewide to be cited with reckless driv-
ing or excessive speed resulting in a crash; the 14th worst
statewide.
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