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Take, “TWO Seconds for Safety!”
Take two-seconds to fasten your seat
belt. Take two deep breaths to become centered.

Take two-seconds to be mindful of how unacceptable driving
behavior can affect your life and others.

Use the Colorado State Patrol’s “TWO Seconds for Safety”
salute to remind yourself and others to be civil on our
highways. When confronted by an aggressive driver, ignore
them and get out of their way. Avoid eye contact. Maintain a
positive attitude when you drive!

Unacceptable aggressive driving behavior includes tailgating,
weaving in and out of traffic, passing on the right or the shoulder
of the highway, cutting people off, failure to allow others to merge
or pass, obscene hand gestures, honking, yelling or flashing
lights, exceeding the speed limit, bumping or ramming another
vehicle or brandishing weapons.

Start Taking an Active Role —To report an aggressive driver,
road hazards or request assistance, you can use your cell
phone to make a free call directly to the Colorado State Patrol
by dialing STAR CSP (*277).

Colorado State Patrol
700 Kipling St.
Denver, Colorado 80215
Public Affairs: 303.239.4532
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INTRODUCTION
The purpose of this Driver Handbook is to provide you
with information on how to become a safe driver.

The Driver Handbook is a summary of the laws, rules and
safe driving practices that apply to all persons who drive
a vehicle in the state of Colorado. It is based on current
laws, legislation and department policies and is subject
to change. It is not a book of laws and should not be used
as a basis for any legal claims or actions. It is a book of
information only and does not supersede Colorado
Revised Statutes. Traffic regulations in cities, towns,
counties and federal territories may go beyond state laws,
as long as they do not conflict with state law. For more
information on Colorado motor vehicle laws refer to the
Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.) Vehicles and Traffic,
Title 42 Common Code book.

Don’t discard this handbook after you have obtained
your license; keep it as a reference or pass it on to
another applicant.

1. THE DRIVER’S LICENSE

1.1 PERSONS REQUIRED TO HAVE A DRIVER’S
LICENSE:

Any person who operates a motor vehicle, motor-driven
cycle or moped on the public streets and highways in
Colorado is required to be at least 16 years of age and have
a valid driver’s license.

RESIDENT: Per C.R.S. 42-1-102 (81), any person who owns
or operates a business in Colorado or who has resided
within the state continuously for 90 days or who has
obtained gainful employment within this state, whichever
shall occur first, is considered a Colorado resident. (See
New Resident §3)

SPECIAL EXEMPTIONS C.R.S. 42-2-102 AND 24-60-1106
The following persons need not obtain a Colorado
License provided they are 16 years of age or older and
possess a valid license from their home state or state of
last assignment.

COLORADO RESIDENTS: Any resident of this state who
is employed in another state, where the laws of that state
require licensing to drive in order to engage in a regular
trade or profession, does not need a Colorado Driver’s
license as long as such other license to drive is valid and
the employment is not terminated. This special exemption
applies only if the other state is a member of the Interstate
Driver’s license Compact Agreement.

MILITARY: Anyone who is serving as a member of the
Armed Forces of the United States on active duty; this also
includes the spouse and children of such members.

FOREIGN MILITARY PERSONNEL: On duty or assigned to
temporary duty with the United States Armed Forces; this
also includes the spouse and children of such members.

STUDENTS: Any nonresident who is temporarily residing
in Colorado for the PRINCIPAL purpose of furthering
his/her education and is considered a nonresident for
tuition purposes.

NON-RESIDENT ALIENS: Foreign tourists, instructors, and
business persons may drive any private (noncommercial)
vehicle with their personal Driver’s license.

1.2 PERSONS WHO CANNOT BE ISSUED A

COLORADO DRIVER’S LICENSE

e Any person who does not submit proof of age, proof of
identity, or both, as required by the department.

e Any person unable to pass the Driver’s license examination.

* Any person with a license from another state that does
not surrender that license. (C.R.S. 24-60-1106)

* Any person under suspension, revocation, or denial of
driving privileges in this or any other state.

* Any person whose presence in the United States is in
violation of federal immigration laws.

* Any person adjudicated to be mentally incompetent,
an alcoholic, or an habitual user of narcotic drugs.

e Emancipated minors without an Affidavit of
Liability. (DR 2460)

e Any person who has unpaid fines or outstanding
judgments for traffic violations.

* Any person under 16 years of age.

1.3 OBTAINING A COLORADO DRIVER’S
LICENSE

Applications and written testing are on a first come,
first served basis. You should allow yourself ample time
before closing to complete the process. No appointment
is needed for the written test, however, to allow sufficient
time to complete the test and any processing, no written
test will be given after 4:15 p.m. at those offices with 8:00
a.m. to 5:00 p.m. hours of operation. Drive tests are by
appointment only. To allow sufficient time to complete the
test and any processing, the last appointment for a drive
test is 4:00 p.m. at those offices with 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
hours of operation.

Try to arrive at the office as early as possible. Generally,
Mondays, Fridays and days after holidays are the busiest.
Check the list of offices in the Service Center Guide, in the
back of this handbook, for locations, services provided,
and hours of operation.

TO APPLY FOR A LICENSE OR INSTRUCTION
PERMIT YOU MUST...
1. Submit identification establishing age, identity and
lawful presence in the United States such as:
(Photocopies or notarized copies are not accepted)
e Certified State or County Birth Certificate.
 United States Certificate of Birth Abroad.
e Previous License or Identification Card expired less
than 1 year.
* Valid Passport.
¢ Valid Military Identification Card.
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* Resident Alien Identification Card.

e Naturalization Certificate.

e Valid Foreign Passport with Immigration Visa/I-94.
(No Border Crossing Cards or a Visa status of B1, B2,
W/T, W/B,C/PorN/C)

2. Provide your Social Security Number (SSN).

e If you state that you do not have an SSN, you must
provide documentation from the Social Security
Administration supporting your statement.

3. Supply a Colorado residence address.
4. Pass all required examinations: (physical, vision,
written, driving test).

DRIVING RECORD ANALYSIS: The Motor Vehicle
Division examines your driving record and present
license status to determine eligibility before issuing a
new license.

PHYSICALAPTITUDE ANALYSIS: This is a determination,
by the driver’s license employee, of any physical ailment
or disability which may have an effect on your driving. A
Confidential Medical Examination Report is required for
many physical ailments or disabilities such as epilepsy
or paralysis.

VISION SCREENING: Your vision will be tested to
determine if you can see well enough to drive safely. If
the test discloses that you need corrective lenses to meet
the minimum visual standards, your license will show this
restriction. Failure to meet established vision standards will
result in initial rejection and referral to a vision specialist for
correction and recommendations at the applicant’s expense.
The minimum vision standard is 20/40.

BASIC WRITTEN TEST: This covers various aspects of
driving knowledge and safety. The test questions will
cover the contents of this handbook including road signs,
driving under the influence, as well as other driving rules,
safety rules and legal items.

DRIVING TEST: This is the most important part of the

examination because it provides you with the opportunity to

demonstrate that you can drive safely. (See Drive Test §13)

5. Pay the required fee. A separate fee is required for
the Instruction Permit and for the Driver’s license.
A surcharge will be added for any motorcycle
endorsement, license, or extension.

6. Be fingerprinted (C.R.S. 42-2-107) and photographed.
(C.RS. 42-2-114.)

1.4 CLASSES OF COLORADO DRIVER'’S LICENSES
Colorado Driver’s licenses are issued in various classes
according to your age group and the type of vehicle for
which you qualify.

All classes of licenses are valid for chauffeur purposes.
Chauffeur is defined as: “Every person who is employed
for the principal purpose of operating a motor vehicle
and every person who drives a motor vehicle while in use
as a public or common carrier of persons or property”.

Ataminimum, a valid, basic Class R license is required for
the operation of low-power scooters (engine size of 50cc
or less or 4476 watts or less, if electric. 40 MPH max) and
low-speed electric vehicles.

CLASS R (Basic License) Any motor vehicle which is
not considered a motorcycle or commercial vehicle as
described below.

CLASS A, B and C (Commercial Driver’s license - CDL) A
driver must have a Commercial Driver’s license to operate
the following types of vehicles:

e Any motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating
(GVWR) or combination vehicle weight rating (GCWR)
of 26,001 pounds or more.

e Any vehicle that transports quantities of hazardous
materials that require warning placards under the
Department of Transportation regulations.

e Any vehicle that is designed to transport 16 or more
passengers, including the driver.

e The GVWR or GCWR of the vehicle(s) is not the
weight of the vehicle(s), but the weight rating that the
manufacturer assigned to the vehicle(s).

For further information including requirements,
qualifications, endorsements and restrictions on the
Commercial Driver’s license, please obtain a Commercial
Driver Manual at any driver licensing office in the state,
or at any Port of Entry office.

For information on adding a motorcycle endorsement to
either a basic or Commercial Driver’s License, please pick
up a Motorcycle Operator’s Handbook from any driver
license office or download a copy from the Internet.

1.5 PARENT CONSENT FOR MINORS/AFFIDAVIT
OF LIABILITY AND GUARDIANSHIP

If you are under 18, an Affidavit of Liability (DR 2460)
must be signed by a parent, stepparent, grandparent with
Power of Attorney, legal guardian or spouse 18 years of
age or older. If the signer is a grandparent with Power of
Attorney (POA), the original POA must be presented and
a copy of the POA must be surrendered upon application
for the permit. If the signer is a legal guardian, original
court documents showing guardianship, custody or
adoption must be presented. Spouses must show the
marriage certificate.

The affidavit must be signed in front of the examiner or a notary
public.

Whoever signs the Affidavit agrees to take legal
responsibility for your actions as a driver. If the signer
decides later not to accept responsibility for your driving,
that person may withdraw their signature and your
permit/license will be canceled.

2. TYPES OF INSTRUCTION PERMITS

AND LICENSES
INSTRUCTION PERMITS: An Instruction Permit allows
limited driving privileges for people learning to drive.
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Regardless of age, if you are driving with an Instruction
Permit, you must be accompanied by a person 21 years
of age or older, who holds a valid Colorado license, and
is riding in the seat beside you.

AGE GROUPS: See the following categories for specific
requirements and restrictions other than those listed previously.

MINOR AGE GROUP - 15 years to 21 years of age

DRIVER EDUCATION PERMIT - available to customers
15 years to 15 years, 6 months.

Expires 3 years after issuance.

Must present a completed Affidavit of Liability and
Guardianship and a completed Affidavit of Completion
of a Driver Education Classroom Course indicating the
minor has completed and passed the classroom portion of
a state-approved driver education course within 6 months
prior to applying for the instruction permit.

While holding this type of permit, you may only drive
with your driver education instructor or the person(s)
who signed the Affidavit of Liability (DR2460) until you
are 15 years, 6 months. At 15 years, 6 months, you may
drive only with the person(s) who signed the affidavit
of Liability (DR 2460) until you are 18. This restriction is
automatically lifted when you reach 18 years of age.
While you are under 18, if the person(s) who signed the
DR 2460 does not hold a valid Colorado driver’s license,
they may appoint an Alternate Permit Supervisor to
supervise you while you are driving. The Alternate
Permit Supervisor must hold a valid Colorado Driver’s
License and be 21 years of age or older. Drive time with
an Alternate Permit Supervisor will count toward the 50
hour total required on the log sheet. The person(s) who
signed the DR 2460 may also allow any person 21 years
of age or older, who holds a valid license, to supervise
you while you are driving but that driving time does
not count toward the 50 hour total required on the log
sheet.

DRIVER AWARENESS PERMIT - available to customers 15
years, 6 months to 16 years of age.

°

Expires 3 years after issuance.

Must present a completed Affidavit of Liability
and Guardianship (DR2460) and documentation
indicating completion of an approved Driver
Awareness Program.

While holding this type of permit you may only drive
with the person(s) who signed the Affidavit of Liability
(DR 2460). This restriction is automatically lifted when
you reach 18 years of age.

While you are under 18, if the person(s) who signed
the DR 2460 does not hold a valid Colorado driver’s
license, they may appoint an Alternate Permit
Supervisor to supervise you while you are driving.
The Alternate Permit Supervisor must hold a valid
Colorado Driver’s License and be 21 years of age or
older. Drive time with an Alternate Permit Supervisor
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will count toward the 50 hour total required on the
log sheet. The person(s) who signed the DR 2460 may
also allow any person 21 years of age or older, who
holds a valid license, to supervise you while you are
driving but that driving time does not count toward
the 50 hour total required on the log sheet.

PLEASE NOTE: If you elect to take driver education to
get your permit, instead of the 4-hour Driver Awareness
Program, you must, by statute, complete behind-the-
wheel training prior to being issued your license. Proof of
completion of the behind-the-wheel training is required at
the time you apply for your license. You may also substitute
completion of the 4-hour Driver Awareness Program for
the behind-the-wheel training.

MINOR INSTRUCTION PERMIT - available to customers 16
years to 21 years of age.

Expires 3 years after issuance.

Minors under 18 must present a completed Affidavit of
Liability and Guardianship (DR2460).

While holding this type of permit, you may only drive
with the person(s) who signed the Affidavit of Liability
(DR 2460) until you are 18.

While you are under 18, if the person(s) who signed the
DR 2460 does not hold a valid Colorado driver’s license,
they may appoint an Alternate Permit Supervisor to
supervise you while you are driving. The Alternate
Permit Supervisor must hold a valid Colorado Driver’s
License and be 21 years of age or older. Drive time with
an Alternate Permit Supervisor will count toward the
50 hour total required on the log sheet. The person(s)
who signed the DR 2460 may also allow any person
21 years of age or older, who holds a valid license, to
supervise you while you are driving but that driving
time does not count toward the 50 hour total required
on the log sheet.

MINOR LICENSE - Expires 20 days after the 21st birthday.

Minors under the age of 18 must hold an instruction
permit for at least TWELVE MONTHS and be at least
16 years of age before obtaining a Driver’s license.
Minors age 15 to 15/6 months, issued their original
permit on or after April 23, 2007, must complete behind-
the wheel (BTW) training prior to applying for their
driver’s license. The BTW must be either 6 hours of
behind-the-wheel training with an approved driver
education instructor or 12 hours of BTW training with
their parent/guardian/alternate permit supervisor, if
there isn’t an approved driving school, offering at least
20 hours of BTW training per week, within 30 miles of
the permit holder’s residence.

Minors under 18 must present a completed and signed Drive
Time Log sheet when applying for their Driver’s license.
Minors 18 and older do not have to hold an instruction
permit for any required amount of time but do have to first
purchase an instruction permit before taking a drive test.
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* For restrictions on minors under 18 driving on
the job, visit the Department of Labor at www.

youthrules.dol.gov
ADULT AGE GROUP- 21 years of age and over

INSTRUCTION PERMIT - Expires 3 years after issuance.
Adults do not have to hold an instruction permit for any
required amount of time but do have to first purchase an
instruction permit before taking a drive test.

ADULT LICENSE - Expires on the birthday 5 years from
the year of issue.

TEMPORARY DOCUMENT: Driver’s license offices no
longer have instant photo equipment. Driver’s license
offices will issue a paper temporary license, permit or
ID card, which is valid for 30 days, while your photo is
processed. Because you will receive your photo document
in the mail, it is important that your address is correct.
If you do not receive your photo document in the mail
after 30 days, you should report it to the office where you
originally applied.

MOTORCYCLE ENDORSEMENT: See the
Motorcycle Handbook.

IDENTIFICATION CARDS: Any Colorado resident

not holding a valid license may apply for a Colorado

Identification Card. See Resident, § 1.1.) Per C.R.S. 42-2-114

and 42-2-302, Colorado law prohibits a person from holding

both a valid driver’s license and an identification card.

* You must present identification establishing age,
identity and lawful presence in the United States. (See
documents listed under Obtaining a Colorado Driver’s
license § 1.3)

e If you are 60 or older, there is no charge for the ID card.

* Expiration:

e Minor ID cards expire on the 21st birthday.
e Adult ID cards expire on the birthday, 5 years from
the year of issue.

3. NEW RESIDENT / RENEWAL

Some offices in the metro area are limited service offices.
If you do not have to take any tests, you may be able
to save time by going to one of these offices. Check the
list of offices in the Service Center Guide in the back
of this handbook for locations, services provided, and
hours of operation.

3.1 NEW RESIDENT WITH A VALID LICENSE

If you are 16 years of age or older and have a valid license
in your possession which was issued by another U.S. state,
territory or possession, you will normally not be required
to take the written test or the drive test.

The driver’s license employee has a responsibility to
require a drive test, even if you turn in a valid license, if
there is a problem with your physical aptitude analysis
or vision screening.

You must surrender your valid out-of-state driver’s license
(C.R.S. 24-60-1106) and present identification showing
proof of lawful presence in the U.S. along with your
surrendered out-of-state driver’s license.

If you are under the age of 18, an Affidavit of Liability must
be signed. (See Parent Consent for Minors, §1.5)

3.2 RENEWAL OF A COLORADO DRIVER’S
LICENSE OR INSTRUCTION PERMIT

To renew a Colorado driver’s license or instruction permit,
you will need to present your old license or permit, pass
a vision test, pay the required fee and be fingerprinted
and photographed.

Once you obtain a Colorado Driver’s license or Instruction

Permit, you will not normally have to repeat the written

or driving test unless:

* You apply for a different class of license or add
an endorsement.

* You receive traffic tickets which result in suspension.

e The license or permit is canceled, revoked or denied.

* You let the license or permit expire for more than one year.

You may renew an Adult Colorado Driver’s license at any
time prior to the expiration date. Minor licenses cannot be
renewed before the day of the 21st birthday.

You may be eligible to renew your driver’s license or ID card
over the Internet, or by mail, if you are at least 21 years of
age and you have been issued an adult, non-CDL driver’s
license or adult ID card. Internet or mail renewal is available
every other renewal cycle. Commercial Driver License
(CDL) holders are NOT eligible for this service. If you wish
to have your name changed or a new photograph taken, you
must appear in person at a Driver’s License office.

Internet renewal is available for 21 through 65 years of age.
Please visit:
https:/ / www.colorado.gov/vroom/renewlicense / index.jst

Renew-By-Mail is available for 21 and older. Please visit
https:/ / www.renew-app.state.co.us/ checkeligibility.asp

4. DUPLICATE DRIVER'’S LICENSE

4.1 LOST, STOLEN, OR MUTILATED LICENSE OR
PERMIT

If your driver’s license is lost, stolen or mutilated and
you are 21 years of age or older, you will be required to
renew the license for the standard renewal fee (C.R.S.
42-2-117 (1.5)). Duplicates are only available to minor
drivers, Commercial Driver’s license holders and all
instruction permit holders. To replace or renew a lost,
stolen or mutilated driver’s license or instruction permit,
you must appear in person at any driver’s license office,
present acceptable identification and pay the required fee.
See Section 1.3, Obtaining a Colorado Driver’s license, for
the list of acceptable identification.
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4.2 CHANGE OF NAME AND/OR ADDRESS
Colorado law 42-2-119 (1)(a) requires that you notify the
Motor Vehicle Division in writing within 30 days of a name
change or a change of address.

CHANGE OF NAME: If you are changing your name, you
must appear at a driver’s license office in person, with
legal, original, or certified documentation. (i.e. recorded
marriage certificate, divorce decree, court order) At the
time you change your name, you will be required to renew
your driver’s license for the standard renewal fee.

CHANGE OF ADDRESS: For emergency notification
purposes, to receive a renew-by-mail application or to
receive your license in the mail, it is important to keep the
Motor Vehicle Division informed of your current address.
You can change your address at any driver’s license office
or by mailing our self-service change of address postcard,
available at any driver’s license office or on our Website.

5. EXTENSION OF A COLORADO
DRIVER’S LICENSE

The Motor Vehicle Division examines your driving record,
driver’s license status and the type of license you have
before issuing an extension. Please include your full name,
date of birth and license number on any extension requests.
For non-CDL licenses:

MILITARY: Only one three-year extension is given for
Colorado residents and their dependents on active duty
outside the state. You may request an extension card prior to
the expiration date of the license. The request must include
a copy of your valid Military Identification Card.

CIVILIAN: The charge for a one-year extension is $3.00.

Add $1.00 if you have a motorcycle endorsement.

e If you are out-of-state when your license will expire,
you may obtain a one-year extension.

e If you are out of the country when your license will
expire, you may obtain up to 2 one-year extensions.

e If you are unable to renew your license due to a medical
condition, you may obtain a one-year extension. The
request must include a statement from your doctor.

Mail all extension requests and required information to:
Regular Mailing Address: Overnight requests:
Motor Vehicle Division Motor Vehicle Division
Driver Services 1881 Pierce St.

Denver, CO 80261-0016 Denver, CO 80214

For CDL licenses: Due to medical and testing requirements
for CDL drivers, only a 30-day extension is available. Please
contact either of the above addresses.

6. KEEPING YOUR LICENSE
LICENSE/DRIVING PRIVILEGE STATUS: Having a
driver’s license is a privilege. Protect that privilege by
driving with care and consideration for others.

VALID DRIVING PRIVILEGE: The individual may apply
for or hold a Colorado Driver’s license. There are no
restraint actions against that privilege.

VALID DRIVER’S LICENSE: The Driver’s license is
considered legally in force and authorizes the individual
to drive.

CLEARANCE: A formal indication from a state, on
letterhead, or an official state form, that the applicant has
valid driving privileges and is clear to apply for a Colorado
Driver’s license.

REINSTATEMENT: A procedure to restore an individual’s
driving privilege. Reinstatement of driving privileges does
not always reinstate the Driver’s license.

Reinstatement of the driving privilege may be processed
even with outstanding tickets, however, a new permit or
license may not be issued until the individual can show
clearance of any such tickets.

The following are actions that affect your driving privilege
or driver’s license. These actions may be for a specific
amount of time and / or until certain conditions are satisfied.
You may NOT drive while under any of these actions.

CANCELLATION: An action to void a valid Driver
License. This action does not require reinstatement.

DENIAL: A restraint action taken when an individual does
not have a Colorado Driver’s license. This action may
require reinstatement.

SUSPENSION: A restraint action that temporarily
invalidates the Driver’s license and withdraws the driving
privilege. This action requires reinstatement.

The following actions require the individual to reinstate
their driving privilege, pass the written test, purchase an
Instruction Permit, pass the driving test, and purchase a
new Driver’s license.

CANCELLATION AND DENIAL: A restraint action to cancel
the Driver’s license and withdraw the driving privilege.

REVOCATION: A restraint action that invalidates the
Driver’s license and revokes the driving privilege.

6.1 RE-EEXAMINATION

A reexamination (vision, written and driving) will be
required for one or more of the following reasons:
 Involvement in 2 accidents within 3 years.

¢ Involvement in a fatal accident.

* Incident report from any law enforcement agency.

* Medical report from a doctor.

e A family member submitting a written request.

The notice of re-exam allows you 20 days to complete the
re-exam (pass or fail). Failure to complete the re-exam
within 20 days will result in cancellation and denial of
your driving privilege.
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After you have taken the examination, your license may
be returned, you may be issued a license or permit with
restrictions, or your driving privilege could be canceled
and denied depending on the results of the examination.

6.2 COLORADO POINT SYSTEM

As a driver, you start out with a clean record, no points
against you. If you accumulate too many points against
your driving record within a certain period of time, you
will lose your driver’s license through a point suspension.
Each time you are convicted of a traffic violation, the court
notifies the Motor Vehicle Division. A conviction occurs
when you plead guilty, pay the ticket, or accept a plea
bargain. Each type of conviction causes a certain number of
points to be placed on your traffic record. Points assessed
against your record are not erased when you get a new
license or get reinstated.

The number of point accumulations for suspension are:

MINOR DRIVER UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE:
* 6 points in any 12 consecutive months.
¢ 7 or more points for the period of the license.

MINOR DRIVER BETWEEN 18 AND 21:
e 9 points in any 12 consecutive months.
* 12 points in any 24 consecutive months.
e 14 points in the period of the license.

ADULT DRIVER:
* 12 points in any 12 consecutive months.
* 18 points in any 24 consecutive months.

CHAUFFEUR POINTS:

* 16 points in any 12 consecutive months.
* 24 points in any 24 consecutive months.
e 28 points in any 48 consecutive months.

All chauffeur violations must have been received in a
motor vehicle in use as a public or common carrier of
persons or property.

6.3 YOUR DRIVING PRIVILEGE MAY BE

SUSPENDED, REVOKED OR CANCELED IF YOU:

* Meet or exceed the minimum point accumulation for
suspension. (See Colorado Point System §6.2)

e Are convicted of driving while under the influence of
alcohol or drugs.

* Refuse to be tested for alcohol or drug content.

e Are convicted of failing to report an accident or leaving
the scene of an accident without stopping, exchanging
information, and rendering aid.

e Fail to report an accident to the Colorado Motor Vehicle
division according to the Financial Responsibility Law.

* Give false information on your driver’s license
application.

e Fail to settle a judgment against you as a result of an
accident while operating a vehicle.

¢ Lend your license to someone else or misuse it in any way.

e Alter or deface your license.

e Fail to appear for a reexamination requested by the
Motor Vehicle Division.

e Are convicted of manslaughter as a result of a motor
vehicle accident.

e Fail to pay a fine for a traffic violation from this or any
other state.

e Fail to register, in Colorado, all vehicles owned within
30 days of becoming a resident.

e Fail to pay ordered child support.

* Fail to provide valid evidence of insurance when
requested by a law enforcement officer.

If you are convicted of driving while under restraint, your
driving privilege will be suspended again effective for ONE
YEAR from the date you would have been reinstated.

7. UNDERSTANDING COLORADO’S
MOTOR VEHICLE LAWS

7.1 MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE DATA BASE
LAW (C.R.S. 10-4-615 AND 42-7-604)

Effective January 1, 1999, a statewide database was
established to track compliance and noncompliance,
within Colorado, of motor vehicle insurance requirements.
Vehicle insurance companies are required to submit, on a
weekly basis, information on policies issued during the
previous week. Vehicle registration offices also submit
information to the database on vehicles registered. Should
you be stopped by a police officer, if you do not have
evidence of insurance in your vehicle and you are not listed
in the database as having insurance, your license is subject
to confiscation and suspension. Per C.R.S. 42-2-127.7, you
may request a hearing or present evidence of insurance,
that was valid at the time you were stopped, at a driver’s
license office or at 1881 Pierce St. in Lakewood.

EVIDENCE OF INSURANCE: Evidence of insurance
includes the insurance company, policy number, date of
expiration and vehicle covered, and mustbe in your motor
vehicle while in operation.

7.2 FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY LAW /

COMPULSORY INSURANCE

(C.R.S. 42-4-1409)

“No owner of a motor vehicle required to be registered in this

state shall operate the vehicle or permit it to be operated on the

public highways of this state when the owner has failed to have

a complying policy or certificate of self-insurance in full force

and effect as required by law.”

The minimum insurance you must have in addition to

personal injury protection is:

* $25,000 for bodily injury or death to one person in any
one accident.

e $50,000 for bodily injury or death to two or more persons
in any one accident.

* $15,000 property damage coverage.

In the event of an accident, evidence of insurance must be
shown for all vehicles involved even if....




1. The driver was not at fault in the accident.

2. The vehicle was parked.

3. There was no injury or damage to any other party.

4. The accident results in damages that are less than
$1,000.00.

The Motor Vehicle Division is allowed to accept the
insurance information noted on the Traffic Officer’s accident
report or on counter reports filed with law enforcement
agencies. The Motor Vehicle Division continues to have
the authority to send notice for additional information to
the driver if the insurance information is incomplete on
the officer’s report or if the report indicates there was no
insurance at the time of the accident.

7.3 COLORADO’S SAFETY BELT LAW (C.R.S. 42-4-237)

Colorado’s Safety Belt Law requires that a fastened safety

belt must be worn in all motor vehicles, that were factory

equipped with a safety belt system, while in operation on

public roadways by...

e The driver.

¢ Every front seat passenger.

e Every child between the ages of 4 and 16 and/or over
40 pounds seated anywhere in the vehicle.

For children, see Colorado’s Child Passenger Protection Law.

The only exceptions are:

Emergency personnel.

Passenger buses and school buses.

Farm equipment.

Motorcycles.

Driver of delivery vans on the job.

Anyone carrying a written medical statement from
a physician stating why s/he is not physically or
psychologically required to wear the safety belts.

Always wear both shoulder and lap safety belts low and tight.

7.4 COLORADO’S CHILD PASSENGER PROTECTION
LAW (C.R.S. 42-4-236)

Children are required, by law, to be properly fastened into
an appropriate child restraint system. It is the responsibility
of the driver to ensure that each child is properly fastened
into one of the following:

Children less than one year of age, and less than 20 pounds,
in a rear-facing child restraint system.

Children one year of age or older, but less than 4 years
of age and less than 40 pounds, in a forward-facing child
restraint system.

Children at least 4 years of age, but less than 6 years of
age and less than 55 inches tall, in a child booster seat or
with a child safety belt-positioning device unless the child
is being transported in a vehicle equipped with only a
two-point-lap-belt-only system. The child must then be
properly restrained with the lap belt.

Children atleast 6 years of age, or older, or is 55 inches tall
or more may use the motor vehicle’s safety belt.
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According to the National Safety Council:

* Never place an infant in a rear-facing child safety seat in
the front seat of a vehicle with a passenger side air bag.

e Children should ride, in the appropriate child restraint
system, in the back seat. This eliminates the possibility
of airbag-related deaths or injuries and studies show
that children are up to 29% safer in the back seat.

7.5 COLORADO’S GRADUATED LICENSE LAW
(C.R.S. 42-2-104, 105, 105.5, 42-4-116)

Colorado law requires a minor applying for an instruction
permit to hold that permit for at least 12 months and
submit a log of their driving experience at the time they
apply for their license. They must show 50 hours of driving
experience; 10 of which must have been at night. Once a
minor gets their license, the law also places restrictions on
drivers under 18. See page 37 for the log sheet and detailed
information on restrictions and requirements.

7.6 THE DUTIES OF OCCUPANTS OF VEHICLES
INVOLVED IN ACCIDENTS RESULTING IN
PERSONAL INJURY (C.R.S. 42-4-1607)

If you are a passenger in a vehicle involved in an accident
where the driver is physically incapable of reporting
the accident, you are required to report the accident
and, if directed by police, to remain at the scene of the
accident until police arrive. Failure to do so is a Class 2
misdemeanor traffic offense.

7.7 USING A CELL PHONE OR MOBILE TELEPHONE
WHILE DRIVING (C.R.S. 42-4-239)

Effective December 1, 2009, Colorado law prohibits drivers
under 18 years age from using a cell or mobile phone while
driving unless it is to contact the police or fire department
or it is an emergency. Drivers 18 and older may not use a
cell or mobile telephone for text messaging while driving
unless it is to contact the police or fire department or it is
an emergency.

7.8 TOY VEHICLES PROHIBITED ON A PUBLIC
ROAD (C.R.S. 42-1-103.5)

“Toy vehicle” includes, but is not limited to, gas-
powered or electric-powered mini bikes, pocket bikes,
kamikaze boards, go-peds and stand-up scooters that
are not designed, approved or intended for use on public
roadways or highways.

7.9 LICENSE PLATES

Any motor vehicle owned by a Colorado resident cannot
be parked or driven on a public street or highway unless it
is properly registered in Colorado and displays Colorado
license plates. If you own a motor vehicle, you must
register the vehicle in the county in which you live. (See
the county office locations in the Service Center Guide.)

The signed registration card must be carried in the vehicle
or in the possession of the operator whenever the vehicle
is being operated.
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The license plates must be fastened horizontally, in a
manner to prevent swinging, at a height of at least 12
inches from the ground. They must be clearly visible and
kept clean and legible. Vehicles must have plates attached
to both the front and rear of the vehicle.

Exceptions: Motorcycles, trailers, and semitrailers must
have one plate attached to the rear, semi-tractors must
have one plate attached to the front. Temporary (paper)
license plates should be attached in a place clearly visible
on the rear of the vehicle.

Any change of address or name must be reported within
30 days to your local county motor vehicle office.

If you are moving into Colorado, you must obtain new
license plates within 30 days of establishing Colorado
residency. (C.R.S. 42-2-107 (a)(b))

EMISSIONS TEST REQUIRED: Colorado’s “AIR”
Program requires emissions tests for gasoline and diesel
vehicles registered in the following counties: Adams,
Arapahoe, Boulder, Denver, Douglas and Jefferson.
Emissions tests are required for diesel vehicles only in El

Paso, Larimer and Weld counties. Check with your county
clerk or call (303) 456-7090.

8. DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE

8.1 ALCOHOL AND DRIVING

Drinking and driving is one of the greatest problems causing
highway crashes. Every year, tens of thousands of people
are killed in alcohol related traffic crashes. Drinking drivers
are more likely than other drivers to take excessive risks
such as speeding or turning abruptly. The drinking driver
is also more likely to have slowed reaction times and may
not be able to react quickly enough to avoid a collision. Itis
also unlawful for someone to drink from or possess an open
alcohol beverage container while in the passenger area of a
motor vehicle that is on a public road.

Alcohol is a depressant drug that affects the central
nervous system which affects the brain. It slows reflexes
and reaction times while reducing the ability to make
split second decisions necessary to safely operate a motor
vehicle. As the amount of alcohol in your body increases,
your judgment worsens and your skills decrease.

The amount of alcohol absorbed in your blood stream is
what causes you to feel the effects of drinking. This is called
Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC). BAC is determined
by a chemical test, usually of blood or breath. The driver
with a BAC between 0.05% and 0.07% is presumed to be
Driving While Ability to drive is Impaired. If a driver BAC
is 0.08% or greater, he is presumed to be Driving Under the
Influence. (The BAC standards and penalties for drivers of
commercial vehicles are more strict. See the Commercial
Drivers Manual).

Alcohol concentration in the body may be different for

some people than others, even if they have consumed

identical amounts of liquor over the same time period.

Your BAC depends on several factors including;:

e Body weight.

* The period of time in which the alcohol was
consumed.

e The amount of time since you had your last drink.

It does not make any difference whether you drink beer,

wine or liquor. Standard servings of each have the same

amount of alcohol. Per the National Highway Traffic Safety

Association, a standard drink is defined as 12 ounces of

beer, 5 ounces of wine, or 1.5 ounces of 72-proof distilled

spirits, all of which contain the same amount of alcohol;

about .54 ounces (NHTSA 2002).
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Food can slow down the absorption of alcohol. Drinking
on a full stomach prevents large amounts of alcohol from
going to your brain immediately. Once alcohol is in the
blood stream, the body gets rid of it through normal bodily
processes. In spite of popular opinion, coffee, cold showers,
and other so-called “cures” will not make a person sober.
Only the passage of time will make a person sober.

On average, after a person reaches a peak BAC, it will drop
by 0.015% per hour. For example, if the person reaches a
maximum BAC of 0.15%, it will take about ten hours for
them to eliminate all of the alcohol.

8.2 DRUGS AND DRIVING
Driving while under the influence of drugs is illegal and
subject to the same penalties as drinking and driving.

Besides alcohol, there are many drugs that can affect your
ability to safely operate a vehicle. This is true for many
prescription drugs such as tranquilizers as well as over-
the-counter medications for allergies and colds. If you are
taking medication be sure to check the label for warnings
about ts effects prior to driving. If you are not sure it is safe
to take the drug and drive, ask your doctor or pharmacist
about any side effects.

Never drink alcohol while you are taking other drugs.
Mixing alcohol and drugs often multiplies the effects of
the alcohol and any other drugs. For example, one drink,
when you are also taking an allergy or cold medication,
could have the same effect as several drinks.

Illegal drugs such as marijuana, cocaine, LSD and heroin
also affect your reflexes, judgment, and alertness along
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Possible Penalties for Drinking and Driving and/or Drugs and Driving for Age 21 and Older

Presumed by Points Toward
Conviction Blood Alcohol ] Fine Jail Public Service
Suspension
Content of

1st Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI 0.05% 8 $100-$500 | 2 days- 180 days | 24 hours- 48 hours
2nd Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) 0.05% Revocation 1 year | $300-$1000 | 45 days-1year | 48 hours-96 hours
1st Driving Under the Influence (DUI) 0.08% Revocation 9 months | $300-$1000 | 5 days- 1year | 48 hours- 96 hours
2nd Driving Under the Influence (DUI) 0.08% Revocation 1 year | $500- $1500 | 90 days-1 year | 60 hours- 120 hours
DWAI with previous DUI Revocation 1 year | $400- $1200 | 60 days- 1year | 52 hours- 104 hours
DUI with previous DWAI Revocation 1 year | $450- $1500 | 70 days - 1 year | 56 hours- 112 hours
All second offenses within five (5) years- The minimum mandatory jail sentence is adjustable when combined with an agreement for an alcohol
treatment program.

with their many other dangerous side effects. These
drugs can give a person a false sense of alertness and self
confidence or make a person drowsy and unable to react
to simple situations.

8.3 EXPRESS CONSENT LAW (C.R.S. 42-4-1301)

The Express Consent Law means that when you operate
a motor vehicle within the state, you have already agreed
to take a chemical test of your blood, breath, or urine to
determine the alcohol and / or drug content of your blood.
The law is designed specifically to quickly remove the
drinking or drugged driver from the roads.

If a law enforcement officer suspects that you are driving
under the influence or while your ability is impaired
by alcohol and/or drugs, he can require that you take a
chemical test of your blood, breath, or urine.

If you refuse to take the test or don’t cooperate with the
testing procedure, your license will be revoked for a period
of one year. If other suspensions or revocations come about
from this same incident, they will be added onto the end
of the revocation (consecutively).

Because driving “under the influence” is so dangerous, the
penalties for alcohol or drug related violations are very
tough, and DUI enforcement efforts by the police are a
top priority that can include jail, fines, and suspension
of your driving privileges. Colorado law does not allow
you to “plea bargain” your way out of an alcohol or drug
related driving offense.

The only sure way to avoid the consequences is not to use
alcohol or drugs at all when you will be driving.

8.4 UNDER AGE 21 Effective August 5, 2009, any
driver under the age of 21, convicted of DUI or DWAI,
is subject to revocation for the first conviction if they fail
to complete a court-ordered evaluation or program. A
second or third conviction is a mandatory revocation.

8.4a ZERO TOLERANCE: (C.R.S. 42-2-126) Drivers under
the age of 21 with a BAC of .02 but less than .08 are subject
to a mandatory revocation of their driving privilege.

8.4b BUY AND POSSESS: (C.R.S. 42-2-125) Any person
under the age of 21 who buys or possesses liquor (including
beer) is subject to mandatory revocation of their driving
privilege even if driving is not a factor.

8.4c SUPPLYING ALCOHOL TO PERSONS UNDER 21:
(C.R.S. 12-47-901) The department must suspend, for 6
months, the driving privilege of anyone convicted of
providing any alcoholic beverage to minors under 21. This
includes providing identification for a minor under 21 to
use to purchase alcohol.

9. BEFORE YOU DRIVE

Your ability to be a safe driver depends on being able to
see clearly, not being overly tired, not driving under the
influence of alcohol or drugs, being generally healthy, and
being emotionally fit to drive. In other words, being in
“shape” to drive safely.

VISION: Good vision is a must for safe driving. You
drive based on what you see. If you cannot see clearly,
you will have trouble identifying traffic and road
conditions, spotting potential trouble, and reacting in a
timely manner.

It is important to have your eyes checked every year or
two by an eye specialist. If you have a corrective lenses
restriction on your license, you need to wear glasses or
contact lenses while driving.

HEARING: Hearing can be helpful to safe driving. The
sounds of horns, a siren, or screeching tires can warn you of
danger. Hearing problems, like bad eyesight, can come on
so slowly that you do not notice it. These problems should
be addressed on a regular basis. And, per C.R.S. 42-4-1411,
itis illegal to wear any type of headphones while you are
driving because they can interfere with your hearing.

FATIGUE: When you are tired, you cannot drive as safely
as when you are rested. Your reactions and decision
making skills are greatly reduced. Break long driving
periods into two hour segments. If you become drowsy,
pull off the road and rest!
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HEALTH: Many health problems can affect your driving
- a bad cold, infection, or a virus. Even little problems
like a stiff neck, a cough, or a sore leg can affect your
driving. Some conditions can be very dangerous, such as
epilepsy, diabetes, and heart conditions. Check with your
doctor if you think your health condition could affect
your driving.

EMOTIONS: Emotions can have a great affect on safe
driving. You may not be able to drive well if you are overly
worried, excited, afraid or angry. Do not give in to “Road
Rage”. See Page 26 on Aggressive Driving.

DISTRACTIONS: A distraction is anything that diverts
your attention, even momentarily, from the task of driving.
Driving requires your full attention. Before you begin
your trip, adjust your seat, your mirrors, the radio and
the temperature and secure any loose objects in the car.
Be sure you and everyone else in the vehicle, particularly
children, are wearing age-appropriate restraint devices.
Do not allow yourself to become distracted by your cell
phone, conversations with passengers, noisy children
or by “rubbernecking”. Limit your cell phone use while
driving to brief, essential conversations. Pull off the road to
a safe area for longer cell phone conversations or to control
children. Do not attempt to eat or drink, read smoke, apply
makeup, shave or adjust the radio or a CD while you are
driving. In the time it takes to change radio stations, lives
may be changed forever.

VEHICLE: How safely you can drive includes the vehicle
you are driving. It is the responsibility of drivers to make
certain that the vehicles they drive are safe to operate.

A vehicle that is in poor operating condition is unsafe,
costs more to run and may not get you out of an
emergency situation such as a breakdown or collision. You
should follow your vehicle owner’s manual for routine
maintenance. A few simple checks will prevent trouble
on the road and ensure your vehicle is in compliance with

Colorado Motor Vehicle laws.

* Braking System: If the brakes do not seem to be working
properly, such as the brake pedal goes to the floor, have
a mechanic check them immediately.

e Lights: Make sure that turn signals, brake lights, tail
lights, and head lights are operating properly.

e Windshield and Wipers: Damaged glass can easily
break in a minor collision or when something hits the
windshield. Have the windshield replaced. Windshield
wipers keep the rain and snow off the windshield.
Make sure they are in good operating condition. If the
blades have not been working well, replace them. Keep
the windshield clean inside and out, and keep your
window washer bottle full. Clear snow, ice, or frost
from all windows.

e Tires: Worn or bald tires can increase your stopping
distance, make turning more difficult, can cause
“hydroplaning” at lower speeds when the road is wet,
and increase the chance of having a flat tire. Unbalanced

wheels and low tire pressure increase tire wear, reduce
fuel economy, and make the vehicle harder to steer
and stop. If the vehicle bounces, or the steering wheel
shakes, or the vehicle pulls to one side, have a mechanic
check your tires.

e Steering System: If the vehicle is hard to turn have the
steering checked by a mechanic.

e Suspension System: If the vehicle bounces excessively,
keeps bouncing after a bump, or after you stop, you
may need new shocks or other suspension parts. Have
a mechanic check it out.

 Exhaust System: Fumes from a leaky exhaust system can
cause death in a very short time. Never run the motor
in your garage, or sit in the car with the motor running,
without opening a window. Most exhaust problems are
easily heard. Have them fixed.

e Engine: A poorly tuned engine may lose power that is
needed for normal driving and emergencies, may not
start, gets poor fuel economy, pollutes the air, and could
die on you when you are on the road, causing problems
for you and other traffic.

e Horn: The horn should be checked for operation
periodically.

* Mirrors: Adjust your rear view mirror and side mirrors
before you begin to drive. You should be able to see out
the back window with the rear view mirror, and adjust
your side mirrors to let you see the lane behind and
most of the lane next to you.

e Loose Objects: Make sure that there are no packages
or other objects on the rear shelf or back seat that could
injure someone in the event of a sudden stop or crash.
Make sure there are no objects on the floor that could
roll under the brake pedal or accelerator and interfere
with your safe driving.

e Head restraints: They should be adjusted so the head
restraint contacts the back of the head.

10. RULES OF THE ROAD

10.1 TRAFFIC CONTROLS

Traffic controls include traffic signals, traffic signs, and
pavement markings. Traffic control also can be provided
by law enforcement, highway personnel, or school crossing
guards. You must obey directions from these persons.

10.1a TRAFFIC SIGNALS: Traffic signals are lights that
tell you when or where to stop and go. Traffic lights are
usually at intersections and are red, yellow, and green, from
top to bottom. There are intersections and other locations
where there are single green, yellow, or red lights. If the
traffic signal is not operating or is malfunctioning, treat the
intersection as a four way stop. (CRS. 42-4-612 (1))

STEADY RED LIGHT: STOP until a green light appears.
After stopping and yielding to pedestrians and other
traffic, and if not prohibited by a traffic sign, you may turn
right while the light is red. Also, you may turn left on a red
lightif you are turning from a one-way street onto another
one-way street, unless prohibited by a sign.
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STEADY YELLOW LIGHT: A red light is about to appear.
Stop unless you are already within the intersection.

STEADY GREEN LIGHT: You may proceed straight
through or turn right or left unless a sign prohibits
such turns. However, you must yield to any vehicle or
pedestrian within the intersection or adjacent crosswalk.

GREEN ARROW: A lighted green arrow, by itself or along
with a red, green or yellow light means you may make
the turn indicated by the arrow. If the green arrow goes
off, but the circular green is on, you may still turn after
yielding to through vehicles, unless prohibited by a sign
or red arrow.

YELLOW ARROW: A lighted red arrow is about to appear.
Stop if you are not already in the intersection.

RED ARROW: A lighted red arrow means that you may not
proceed in the direction indicated by the arrow.

FLASHING RED LIGHT: A flashing red light means the
same as a STOP sign. Stop; then proceed only after yielding
to pedestrians and other traffic.

FLASHING YELLOW LIGHT: a flashing yellow light
is a warning of a hazard. Slow down and proceed
with caution.

10.1b TRAFFIC SIGNS: Traffic signs tell you about traffic
rules, hazards, where you are, give directions, and where
services are located. The shape and color of these signs give
clues to the type of information they provide.

REGULATORY: These signs tell you of laws and
regulations that apply at a specific location. They are black
or red on a white background. Failure to obey these signs
is a traffic violation.

SPEED LIMIT SIGNS: These signs
indicate the maximum or minimum safe
speed that is allowed. The maximum
limits are for ideal conditions and
you must reduce your speed when
conditions require it.

STOP SIGNS: This sign means you
must come to a complete stop. Stop at
the marked stop line or, if none, at the
point just before the intersecting street.
If there is a crosswalk, you must come
to a complete stop before entering it.
You may proceed only after yielding
to all pedestrians and vehicles.

'SPEED
LIMIT
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YIELD SIGNS: This sign indicates
drivers must reduce speed or stop
if necessary to yield right-of-way to
any traffic on the roadway they are
crossing or entering.

WRONG WAY /DO NOT ENTER
SIGNS: This sign is used to warn and
redirect drivers who are heading the
wrong way on one-way streets or
freeway ramps. Do not proceed past
one of these signs.

ONE WAY SIGNS: Travel only in the direction indicated

by the arrow on the sign.

LANE CONTROL SIGNS: These signs give direction
and where you can turn and often use an arrow symbol.
The signs are along the road or hanging over the road.
Sometimes arrows may be painted on the road.

WAY

| RIGHT LANE]
MUST
TURN RIGHT

PROHIBITED SIGNS: These signs indicate you cannot do
something, for example, no left turn, or no U-turn.

PASSING SIGNS: These signs tell you where it is safe
to pass another vehicle and where you cannot. Passing
areas are based on how far you can see ahead. Where it is
permitted to pass, you may do so only if it is safe.

DO PASS
NOT WITH
PASS CARE
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WARNING SIGNS: These signs are yellow or fluorescent
green with black symbols and most are diamond shaped.
They warn you to slow down and be prepared to stop if
may warn of intersections, different types of highways,
traffic entering your area, curves, etc.

WORK ZONE SIGNS: These signs have an orange
background with black letters or symbols. They are used
with other traffic control devices or flag persons to help
direct traffic safely through work areas and to protect
highway workers.

PASSING
ZONE

(SCHOOL CROSSING)

ADVISORY SPEED SIGNS: These cautionary signs show
the safe speed around curves, corners, and off-ramps.

T —

EXIT

—_—

i

RAILROAD CROSSINGS: Many railroad crossings have
signs or signals to warn drivers. Never try to beat a train
across the tracks. Never start to cross the tracks until there
is enough room for your vehicle to clear the tracks on the
other side. Do not shift gears when crossing the railroad
tracks in case your vehicle stalls.

| —

GUIDE SIGNS: These signs have a green background
and provide directional and mileage information to
specific destinations.

SERVICE SIGNS: These signs have blue backgrounds
and provide directions to service facilities. Signs with
brown backgrounds indicate recreational, historic or
cultural areas.

FOOD - PHONE
GAS - LODGING

HOSPITAL
CAMPING
SECOND RIGHT

ROUTE SIGNS AND MARKERS: The shape of the sign
indicates the type of roadway: Interstate, U.S., State or
County highway.
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SLOW MOVING VEHICLE: A reflective orange triangle
on the rear of a vehicle means it is designed to travel at
speeds less than 25 m.p.h..

HANDICAPPED PARKING SIGNS - These signs mark
special parking areas for only those vehicles displaying a
disabled parking permit. Handicapped parking indicators
may also appear on the pavement in designated parking
spaces. Crosshatched sections are for van access, only, and
parking is not allowed at any time. It is a class B traffic
offense, subject to a $100 fine, if you park in a handicapped
space without authorization.

oy
RESERVED
PARKING

STATE (SABLED PARKING
PERMIT REQUIRED
.

PARKING

10.1c PAVEMENT MARKINGS: Lines and symbols on
the roadway divide lanes, tell you when you may pass
other vehicles or change lanes, which lanes to use for turns,
define pedestrian walkways, and mark where you must
stop for traffic signals or signs.

YELLOW LINES: Separate traffic moving in opposite

directions.

¢ Broken Yellow Line: Drive on the right side of the road
and pass with care.

¢ Solid Yellow Lines: Means a NO-Passing Zone.

e Double Solid Yellow Lines: Neither side can pass.

e Solid & Broken Yellow Lines: You may not pass if the
solid yellow line is on your side. If the broken yellow
line is on your side, you may pass if it is safe to do so.

o way mﬂ-m

roadway, prohibited both

passing dirsctions, crossing

permmitied center line as par of
laft tum maneuver is
permitied.

Two-lane,
two way
roadway,
passing
prohibiled
ona
direction.
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You may cross a solid yellow line for a left turn into an
alley, private road or driveway when such movement can
be made safely.

WHITE LINES: Separate lanes of traffic moving in the

same direction.

e Broken White Line: You may change lanes if it is safe
to do so.

* Solid White Line: Requires you to stay within the lane
and also marks the shoulder of the roadway.

CROSSWALKS: Crosswalks define the area where pedestrians
are to cross the roadway. They exist whether the lines are
marked or unmarked. You must stop behind the crosswalk to
allow any pedestrians to cross (See right of way). Whenever
you approach any vehicle from the rear that is stopped at a
crosswalk, you may not pass that vehicle.

i

| UNMARKED I
CROSS
|

I WALK

These are some of the most common types of crosswalk markings.
Be aware that there are others.

10.1d LANE CONTROLS: As a rule you must drive your
vehicle on the right half of the road. Use only one lane,
do not straddle lanes. On roadways without designated
bicycle lanes, bicycles are generally required to stay to the
far right side of the right lane. They may use the entire
lane to pass another vehicle, avoid objects in the road,
and turn left.

RESTRICTED LANE: One or more
lanes may be restricted for special use.
Restricted lanes are marked by signs or
ﬁ pavement markings stating that the lane

| ONLY |

is restricted for special use. There will be
a white diamond painted on the road
within the lane, and/or a sign posted
at the side of the road which specifies
its use. Examples are transit, bus, or
bicycle lanes.

HIGH OCCUPANCY VEHICLE (HOV)

LANE: These lanes are identified by a

white diamond painted on the roadway,

signs will identify the types of vehicles

'MOTORCYCLES  and the number of occupants required
0K per vehicle to use the lane.
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EXPRESS
<> LANE () EXPRESS LANE

2 OR MORE 1-25 & 20TH TO DWNTWN
PEF;:gNS OPEN HOV ONLY
VEHICLE ‘ LEFT LANE ‘

ONLY a o q

i 5 EXPRESS LANE

REVERSIBLE LANE: Some travel lanes are designed to
carry traffic in one direction at certain times and in the
opposite direction at other times. These lanes are separated
by a barrier or marked by double-broken yellow lines.
There may be signs posted by the side of the road or
overhead. Sometimes special lights are used.

Multi-lane, two-
lane roadway;,
with two way
left turn
reserved
exclusively for
left turning
vehicles.

SHARED CENTER TURN LANE: These center lanes are
reserved for turning and are used by vehicles traveling in
both directions. You may turn into or from the road using
this lane. You may stop in this lane until it is safe to complete
the turn. When a street has a shared center turn lane, you
may not turn left from any other lane. This lane is not to be
used to pass another vehicle.

UNMARKED LANE: When there are no signs or pavement

markings to control the use of lanes, there are rules that

indicate which lane is to be used.

e Drive just to the right of the center of the road.

¢ Do not drive on the shoulder of the road.

* The same rules for passing and turning on marked
roads apply with unmarked roads. (See Passing &
Turning sections)

ROTARY ISLAND/ROUNDABOUT LANE: Yield to traffic
already within the rotary island. Drive to the right and
watch for directional signs and signals.

10.2 RIGHT OF WAY

Where vehicles or pedestrians meet one another, and there
are no signs or signals to regulate traffic, there are rules
that say who must yield the right-of-way. These rules tell
drivers who goes first and who must wait in different
traffic situations.

The law states who must yield the right-of-way; it does not
give anyone the right-of-way, even if your traffic signal
is green. You must do everything you can to prevent
striking a pedestrian or another vehicle, regardless of
the circumstances.

PEDESTRIANS: When driving, you should yield the right-
of-way to pedestrians under all conditions. Be particularly
watchful for children, elderly and blind persons. Most
blind persons are easily recognized by the white cane they
carry and/or by their guide dog.

Pedestrians have the right-of-way at all intersections and
crosswalks. Drivers must come to a complete stop and let
the person pass safely.

BICYCLES: Bicycles on the road are considered
“vehicles” and have the same rights and responsibilities
as motor vehicles.

4-WAY STOP: You must yield the right-of-way to the
vehicle that reached the intersection first. When more than
one vehicle reaches the intersection at the same time the
vehicle on the left must yield the right-of-way and allow
the vehicle on the right to go first.

UNCONTROLLED INTERSECTIONS: When more than
one vehicle reaches an uncontrolled intersection at the
same time, the vehicle on the left must yield the right of
way to the vehicle on the right and allow the vehicle on
the right to go first.

TURNING LEFT: You must yield to all oncoming traffic.

CHANGING LANES and PASSING: You must yield the
right-of-way to vehicles already occupying the lane you
wish to enter or use for passing. Do not change lanes if
another vehicle must slow down for you.

MERGING: You must yield to all vehicles on that
roadway. Do not merge if another vehicle must slow
down for you.

BACKING: You must yield the right-of-way to all vehicles
close enough to be a hazard.

NARROW MOUNTAIN ROADWAY: When vehicles meet
on a steep, narrow road which is not wide enough for two
vehicles, the vehicle going downhill must yield the right-
of-way by backing up to a wider place or by stopping to
leave sufficient space for the vehicle going uphill, except
where it is more practicable for the vehicle going uphill
to return to a wider space or turnout.
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EMERGENCY VEHICLES: You must yield the right-of-
way to all emergency vehicles using a siren, air horn, and/
or flashing red, blue or white lights. Where possible, you
must pull over to the right edge of the road. If you are in
an intersection, drive through the intersection before you
pull over. On a roadway with two or more lanes traveling
in the same direction, if you are approaching an emergency
vehicle that has stopped along the side of the road, when
possible you must leave at least one lane between your
vehicle and the emergency vehicle by changing lanes,
unless directed otherwise by a police officer or emergency
personnel or conditions prohibit the lane change. If the
road only has one lane on your side, or you cannot change
lanes, slow down to a safe speed and use due care and
caution as you pass.

MAINTENANCE VEHICLES: Yield the right-of-way to
service vehicles and maintenance equipment engaged
in work upon the roads using flashing yellow and
blue warning lights. Use extra caution in approaching,
overtaking, or passing maintenance vehicles and
snow plows. Because of their traveling speed and size,
snowplows tend to create large clouds of blowing snow
that conceal the plow, making it invisible.

SCHOOL BUS: You must
stop your vehicle at least 20
feet before reaching a school
bus that is stopped with its
red lights flashing whether
it is on your side of the road,
the opposite side of the road,
or at an intersection you are

approaching.

You must remain stopped
until the flashing red lights are
no longer operating. Watch
carefully for children near
the school bus and children
crossing the roadway before
proceeding.

You are not required to stop if the bus is traveling toward
you on a roadway that is separated by a median or other
physical barrier.

ROAD WORK/CONSTRUCTION ZONE: You must yield
the right-of-way to all workers and construction and
construction vehicles. Drivers are responsible for knowing
how to read and react to work zone directional signs,
roadway markings, and flag persons. Normal speed limits
are reduced for safety reasons and are clearly marked.
Reduce speed, adjust lane position away from workers,
and prepare for the unexpected. Failure to comply can
result in double fines for certain violations.

10.3 SPEED

Almost half of the fatal accidents on Colorado highways
involve excessive speed. Of all the possible causes of
accidents, speeding or driving too fast for conditions is
perhaps the most common and the most dangerous.

LIMITS - Speed limit signs indicate the maximum speed
allowed in ideal conditions. Some roads, such as freeways,
have minimum speed limits posted. Driving slower than
the minimum speed limit, in ideal conditions, is a traffic
violation. Regardless of what the posted limit is, your
safety and the safety of others may be affected by many
things and it may be necessary to reduce your speed (See
Safe Driving Tips).

(C.R.S. 42-4-1101(3) EXCEEDED SAFE SPEED FOR
CONDITIONS “No driver of a vehicle shall fail to
decrease the speed of such vehicle from an otherwise lawful
speed to a reasonable and prudent speed when a special
hazard exists with respect to pedestrians or other traffic
or by reason of weather or highway conditions.”

REDUCED SPEED ZONES: At various locations, such as
school zones and construction zones, a reduced speed is
required during certain hours or periods of the day when
temporary hazards exist. Signs will indicate when the
lower speed limit is in effect.

Unless otherwise posted, Colorado speed limits are as
follows:

20 M.P.H. - on narrow, winding mountain highways and
blind curves.

25 M.P.H. - in any business district.

30 M.P.H. - in any residence district.

40 M.PH. - on open mountain highways.

45 M.P.H. - for vehicles in the business of hauling trash.
55 M.PH. - on urban interstate and highways.

65-75 M.P.H. - on designated rural interstate and
highways.
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STOPPING DISTANCE: Be alert so that you know when
you will have to stop well ahead of time. Stopping suddenly
is dangerous and usually points to a driver who was not
paying attention. When you brake quickly, you could skid
and lose control of your vehicle. You also make it harder
for drivers behind you to stop without hitting you.
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Try to avoid panic stops by seeing events well in advance.
By slowing down or changing lanes, you may not have
to stop at all, and if you do, it can be a more gradual and
safer stop.

According to the National Safety Council, a lightweight
passenger car traveling at 55 m.p.h. can stop in about
200 feet. Other vehicles require different stopping
distances. The chart above shows stopping distances,
under ideal conditions.

10.4 TURNING

The most common faults when making turns are failing to
signal, not signaling long enough, failing to search for
hazards, turning from the wrong lane, and failing to
turn properly.

SIGNALING: Before making any turn, whether the turn is
into another roadway, a parking lot, another traffic lane, or
leaving a parked position, it is extremely important that you
signal. Your signal lets other drivers, cyclists, and pedestrians
know your intentions.

In urban or metropolitan areas, you must signal
continuously for 100 feet before making a turn or a
lane change.

m(— MINIMUM 200 FT.——>

At speeds above 40 m.p.h. you must signal
continuously for 200 feet before making a turn or
lane change.

Extra caution should be used by the drivers of

vehicles A & B when a private drive or side street is

near an intersection.

+ Driver A should not assume driver B will yield the
right of way.

+ Driver B should not assume where driver A is
turning.

In urban or metropolitan areas, you must signal continuously
for 100 ft. before making a turn or lane change. On four-lane
highways where the posted speed limit is more than 40 m.p.h.
you must signal for 200 ft.

Failing to signal is a traffic violation.

If your vehicle’s turn signals do not work, you must use hand
signals. If using hand signals, end your signal before starting
to make your turn, and place both hands on the wheel while
making your turn. As seen from behind:

i

LEFT SLOW/ RIGHT
STOP

TURNING FROM THE PROPER LANE - If you are making
a left turn, you must begin in the left-most lane. If you are
making a right turn, you must begin in the right-most lane,
unless traffic signs, signals or lane markings clearly permit
turning from more than one lane.

M

Left and Turning
right turns from

from two double
way streets. turn lanes.

TURNING IN A CORRECT
PATH - Do not turn too short so i)

as to cut corners on left turns or
Turmng too wide or tgo l.ate, street on to

straddling lanes, or turning into 5 two way

the wrong side of the street will ~ street.

result in not being able to turn %

your turn in the lane closest to

you on your side of the street.

And always follow the solid

white lines in intersections using multiple turn lanes.

at the stop line or crosswalk until there is a gap in traffic
large enough to allow you to pull into the intersection
and complete your turn. Pulling into the intersection to
wait to turn left blocks the intersection for emergency
in a position to get in an accident if the light changes and
oncoming traffic runs the red light while you are making
your turn. Never turn the front wheels towards the left
while you are waiting to turn. If you happen to get rear

run over the curb on right turns. One way

into the correct lane. Complete

LEFT TURNS - If you are turning left, you should wait
vehicles, limits visibility for oncoming traffic and puts you
ended, you would be pushed into oncoming traffic.
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U-TURNS - U-turns are forbidden unless they can be
made without endangering other traffic. Prohibitory signs
are usually posted at hazardous locations. U-turns are
normally permitted where your vehicle can be seen for a
great distance. However, it is always preferable to continue
to the next street or turn-around area if a U-turn cannot be
made safely. Do not try to make a sudden U-turn in front
of traffic traveling either direction.

10.5 PARKING

There are several locations where it is forbidden to stop

or park a vehicle. Among these are:

* On a crosswalk, sidewalk, bridge, elevated structure,
railroad tracks, or any controlled access highway.

e Within 30 feet of a traffic signal, stop sign, railroad
crossing or within 15 feet of a fire hydrant.

e Within an intersection, tunnel, runaway truck ramp,
on/off ramp, or blocking a driveway.

Stop even with the

car ahead: turn the
wheel sharp right and
back slowly toward the
car behind

When clear of the car
ahead, turn wheel sharp
left and back slowly to car
behind

—

Turn wheel sharp right and
pull toward curb in center of
parking space

When you pull away from a parallel parked position, you should
follow all the steps for changing lanes; signal, glance in the mirrors,
look over your shoulder and pull away only when it is safe.

Where parking is permitted, your vehicle must be within
12 inches of the curb or as close as possible to the outside
edge of the shoulder, so that traffic will not be impeded.

Leave the car in low gear if headed uphill and in reverse
gear if headed downbhill or in park position if your vehicle
has automatic transmission. Set the emergency brake and
remember to remove the ignition key when leaving the car.

DOWNHILL: When you stop your car headed
downbhill, turn your front wheels toward the
curb. Let your vehicle roll slowly until the
front tire rests against the curb using it as a
block.

UPHILL: When headed uphill at a curb, turn
the front wheels away from the curb and let
your vehicle roll backwards slowly until the
rear part of the front wheel rests against the
curb using it as a block.

Colorado Driver Handbook

NO CURB: When headed uphill with no curb,
always turn your front wheels to the right so
that if your vehicle moves, it will roll off the
highway, not into traffic.

11. SAFE DRIVING TIPS

Everything that is contained in this manual is for the
purpose of eliminating driver error. If you obey every
highway rule and regulation, your chances of being
involved in an accident will be greatly reduced. However,
can you be certain that other drivers are following every
rule and regulation? It is important that you become a
defensive driver.

Defensive driving is driving to protect yourself and others
from dangerous and unexpected driving situations as well
as everyday driving.

11.1 STEERING
Keep both hands on the steering wheel. The two most
effective positions are 10 0’clock and 2 o’clock for vehicles

without airbags and 9 o’clock and 3 o’clock for vehicles
with airbags. When turning corners, use the “hand-over-
hand” or grip and slide method. Do not turn the wheel
with the palm of your hand. Letting the wheel slip through
your fingers could be dangerous.

STEERING LOCK: Never turn your vehicle’s ignition to
the “lock” position while it is still in motion. This will cause
the steering to lock if you turn the steering wheel and you
will lose control of your vehicle.

STEERING LOCK OPERATION:

* The Transmission Park System - Park. Shift the
transmission into the “park” position. Turn key to LOCK
and remove.

e The Two-Hand Button System - Park. This system requires
two hands. Depress button below the steering column.
Turn key to LOCK and remove.

 The Lever System - Park. Depress lever located near the
ignition. Turn key to LOCK and remove.

* The One-Hand Button System - Park. Depress button
located near the ignition. Turn key to LOCK and remove.

* The Push-In System - Park. Turn key to OFF, push in. Turn
key to LOCK and remove.

* The Turn and Remove System - Park. Turn key to LOCK
and remove.

©1992 Automobile Safety Foundation
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11.2 SCANNING

To be a good driver you must know what is happening
around your vehicle. You must look ahead, to the sides, and
behind the vehicle. When you are turning, driving through,
or entering an intersection always look left, right, and left
again. Scanning helps you to see problems ahead, vehicles
and people that may be in the road, or on the shoulder by
the time you reach them, and warning signs of problems
ahead and signs giving you directions.

LOOK AHEAD: In order to avoid last-minute braking or
the need to turn abruptly, you should look down the road
at least 10 seconds ahead of your vehicle (City - one block,
Open road - one half a mile). By looking well ahead and
being ready to stop or change lanes if needed, you can drive
more safely, save on fuel, and help keep traffic moving at a
steady pace.

LOOK TO THE SIDES: As other vehicles or pedestrians may
cross or enter your path at anytime, you should look to both
sides to watch for potential trouble.

LOOK BEHIND: You must check traffic behind you. This is
the only way to know if someone is following too closely or
coming up too fast, and it will give you time to do something
about it. You need to check more often when trafficis heavy.
It is very important to look behind you when you change
lanes, slow down, back up, or are driving down a long or
steep hill.

11.3 FOLLOWING ANOTHER VEHICLE

(C.R.S. 42-4-1008(1)) FOLLOWING TOO CLOSELY
“The driver of a motor vehicle shall not follow another
vehicle more closely than is reasonable and prudent,
having due regard for the speed of such vehicles and the
traffic upon and the condition of the highway.”

Under normal conditions, use the “THREE SECOND
RULE.” Watch the car ahead of you; when it passes a
reference point (such as a mile marker, sign or telephone
pole) then count “one-thousand-one, one-thousand-two,
one-thousand-three.” If you pass the reference point before
you finish counting, you are following too closely.

It is also important to consider weather, road conditions,
the amount of traffic, and time of day. If the road is slick,
the stopping distance required is greatly increased.

11.4 ADJUSTING TO TRAFFIC

Keep pace with traffic in a reasonable and prudent manner.
If you are going faster than traffic, you will have to keep
passing others. Each time you pass someone, there is a
chance for collision. Driving considerably slower than
other vehicles can be just as bad as speeding. It tends to
make vehicles bunch up behind you and causes the other
traffic to try to pass you. Remember to obey all posted
speed limits.

11.5 TROUBLE SPOTS

Wherever people or traffic gather, your time and room to
maneuver is limited. These areas require slower speeds
and increased observation.

Shopping centers ~ Rush Hour Traffic
Schools Narrow Bridges
Playgrounds Toll Plazas

Residential Streets

11.6 ENTERING THE FREEWAY

High speed roadways generally have acceleration ramps
to give you time to build up your speed. When entering
a freeway from an on-ramp try to increase your speed to
match that of the freeway traffic. Do not merge into traffic
until the solid white line has ended. Do not stop in the
acceleration lane unless absolutely necessary. Remember,
you must yield the right of way to the traffic already on
the freeway.

Adjust to freeway DO NOT  Signal and move
speed in the cross solid carefully into
Acceleration Lane. white line. freeway lane.

]
—
oN RED
ONE VEHICLE
per GREEN

EACH LANE

Some freeway entrance ramps have traffic signals which
regulate the release of vehicles onto a freeway to allow easier
merging and a smoother traffic flow. Motorists on metered
ramps will be required to stop and wait to be released on a
green light to enter the freeway. The ramp signals operate
during morning peak periods (6:30 a.m. to 8:30 a.m.) and
evening peak periods (3:30 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.).
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11.6a FREEWAY DRIVING: Freeway driving is different

from driving on a regular street or highway mainly because

the highways are designed to move a greater volume of
traffic at a higher rate of speed.

e Traffic moving at less than the normal speed should
always use the right lane.

* To be courteous to vehicles entering the freeway, you
should change to the left (or center) lane, if you can do
so safely and without slowing the traffic flow.

e Observe the movement of traffic well ahead of you,
around you, and behind you. Be particularly aware of
any vehicles traveling in your blind spots.

e Plan ahead, look for directional signs and guidance signs.

e Signal atleast 200 feet before you change lanes, avoiding
frequent lane changes.

¢ Do not drive across, over, or within any median or island.

11.6b LEAVING THE FREEWAY: When exiting the freeway,
you must use the deceleration lane. This lane is designed
to allow you to slow down before reaching the exit ramp
without being a hazard to other vehicles on the freeway.
Enter the deceleration lane at approximately the speed you
were going on the freeway, then slow down after you have
entered the deceleration lane to the advisory speed.

LOW OF TRAFFIC

Wi
Q@.
v

Do not slow  Slow down after Do not make Check posted
here on turning into last minute safe speed for
freeway. Deceleration Lane.  turnoff. exit ramp.

11.7 CHANGING LANES

You must check for possible hazards or vehicles in the lane
you want to enter. This means you must check for traffic
ahead, to the side, and behind your vehicle before you
change lanes. Changing lanes includes: Changing from
one lane to another, passing another vehicle, merging
onto a roadway from an entrance ramp, and entering the
roadway from the curb or shoulder.

owa St O | opots Bl spots e

SNSRI ALk -1

areas slightly to the sides

and the rear of your
vehicle that you can not
see in your rear view or
side view mirrors.

When changing lanes, you should:

1. Turn your signal on.

2. Check your mirrors.

3. Check your blind spot. (Look over your shoulder.)

4. If it is safe, you may change lanes.

5. Turn off your signal after completing the lane change.

11.8 PASSING

Whenever signs or road markings permit you to pass,
you will have to judge whether you have enough room
to pass safely. If you do, follow the 5 steps for changing
lanes. Return to the driving lane when you can see both
headlights of the other vehicle in your inside rear view
mirror, using the 5 steps for changing lanes again. Do
not count on having enough time to pass several cars at
once. To be safe, as a general rule, only pass one vehicle
at a time.

DO NOT PASS...

e If you cannot safely return to the right-hand side before
coming within 200 feet of an oncoming vehicle, including
a bicyclist in the oncoming lane or shoulder.

e If you cannot safely return to the right-hand side
before the solid yellow line begins. If passing a bicyclist
you can briefly cross a solid yellow when there is no
oncoming traffic and you have a clear view ahead.

* On a curve or hill when your view is obstructed.

e Within 100 feet of a marked or unmarked intersection,
or railroad crossing.

e Within 100 feet of any bridge, viaduct, or tunnel when
view is obstructed.

* Abicyclist unless you can allow a minimum three foot
buffer zone between your vehicle, including mirrors,
and the bicyclist.

You may pass another vehicle on the right side on a
one-way street or on a roadway with two or more lanes
of traffic in each direction. At no time shall such pass be
made by driving off the pavement of the main-traveled
portion of the roadway.

11.9 HILLS AND CURVES

You may not know what is on the other side of a hill or just
around a curve, even if you have driven the road hundreds
of times. If an obstruction is in the road just over a hill or
around a curve, you must be able to stop.

A vehicle can travel much faster in a straight line than it
can in a curve. If you go too fast, the tires will not be able
to grip the road, and the vehicle will skid.

Always slow down before reaching the curve, and
accelerate only after passing the middle of the curve.

11.10 NIGHT DRIVING

Driving in the evening, at dusk, at night, and just prior to
sunrise is normally more hazardous than driving during
daylight hours. This is due to limited visibility, the limited
area illuminated by your headlights and the blinding effect
of high beam lights or low beam lights with fog lights.
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Colorado law requires you to drive with your headlights
on from sunset to sunrise or when visibility is less than
1,000 feet.

Parking lights must be illuminated on any vehicle parked
alongside the roadway, whether attended or not from sunset
to sunrise or whenever visibility is less than 1,000 feet.

Tips for driving at night...

e Use your bright lights when driving in rural areas and on
open highways away from urban and metropolitan areas.

e If you are driving with your high beam lights on or your
low beam lights with fog lights on, you must dim them
before coming within 500 feet of any oncoming vehicle so
the oncoming driver is not blinded by the glare.

¢ When following another vehicle, you must use your low
beam lights, with your fog lights off, if you are within 200
feet of the vehicle ahead of you.

¢ Never look directly into an approaching car’s headlights.
As the car draws near, watch the right edge of your lane,
noting the position of the oncoming car out of the corner
of your eye.

* When driving through fog at night it is best to use
your low beam lights and fog lights, if you have them.
Driving with high beam lights is like shining your lights
on a mirror.

e Be alert to vehicles, particularly darker vehicles,
traveling after sunset without their headlights on.

11.11 BAD WEATHER

In bad weather conditions such as rain, fog, ice, wind, and
dust you should slow your speed and drive at a speed
that is safe for conditions. When roads are wet they may
become very slippery when water mixes with oil, grease,
and exhaust particles on the roadway. These conditions
affect ALL types of vehicles including: Front wheel drive,
sport utility, 4-wheel drive, and all-wheel drive vehicles.

Hydroplaning is a natural phenomenon whereby the water

forms a very thin, but very strong, film on the highway.

This film can actually support your vehicle. Your tires

may have absolutely no contact with the roadway. This is

extremely dangerous for you have little or no control of

your vehicle. A vehicle may hydroplane at speeds as low

as 50 m.p.h. in water one-eighth of an inch deep. If it feels

like your tires have lost traction with the surface of the

road you should:

¢ Ease your foot off the gas pedal or,

¢ Ifengaged, immediately turn off your cruise control and
allow your vehicle to slow down and regain traction. If
the highway is wet or icy, do not use cruise control.

¢ Keep the steering wheel straight.

* Do not try to stop or turn until your tires are gripping
the road again.

An increasing number of new vehicles are equipped

with rear fog lights. These lights help to reduce rear-end

collisions in severe weather conditions. If your vehicle is

equipped with rear fog lights use them while driving in

heavy fog, rain or similar weather conditions. Be sure to
switch them off once the conditions clear.

11.11a SNOW AND ICE: Streets and highways covered
with snow, snowpack or ice are extremely hazardous. They
are most hazardous when the snow or ice begins to melt.
The slush or wet surface acts as a lubricant and traction
is reduced. Overpasses, bridges, shaded areas and snow
packed portions of the road can be icy even when other
pavement is not.

E in Direction of Skid

If you begin to skid, let up on the accelerator and turn the
front wheels in the direction of the skid.

Here are a few simple precautions which you should

follow:

1. Make sure your tires have good tread for adequate
traction. In winter, chains or snow tires are certainly
preferable. (However, remember that even chains and
snow tires will slip on slick pavement.)

2. Make sure your brakes are in good condition and
properly adjusted so that the braking power of each
wheel is uniform.

ANTI-LOCK BRAKES: Apply the brakes with hard
firm pressure from the start of the skid and maintain
this pressure until you have stopped. You may feel or
hear vibrations and/ or pulsations. This is normal.

NO ANTI-LOCK BRAKES: Threshold breaking: Apply
the brakes just hard enough to not lock the wheels,
release and apply the brakes the same way again.

3. Keep the windows clear by making certain the
defrosters and windshield wipers are working properly.
Use a good window scraper to remove all ice, snow,
and frost even if you are just traveling a short distance.
Fogging or condensation of moisture on the inside of
the windshield can quickly be removed by opening the
side vent windows.

4. Be alert for snow plows and sanding trucks. They use
flashing yellow and blue lights as a warning for you
to use extreme caution when approaching or passing
them.

5. Maintain an extra large space between you and the car
ahead.

6. Start gradually by using a low gear and accelerating
gently.
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11.12 MOUNTAIN DRIVING
Mountain driving can be very different from normal
driving conditions. Some hazards you should be aware of
are steep hills, changing weather, wildlife, and rocks in the
roadway. If your vehicle experiences difficulty traveling
up steep roadways, pull off the road at the first place you
may do so safely, or stay in the right lane to allow other
vehicles to pass.

Here are some added tips:

e Pay special attention to speed limit signs and warning
signs, such as those warning of curves, steep hills or
other hazards.

e Watch for bicyclists near the right side of the road.

* Use a lower gear to control speeds while going up or
down long, steep hills.

* You must yield to vehicles going uphill if you are
traveling downhill on a narrow road.

* Do not coast downhill by shifting into neutral or
disengaging the clutch.

11.13 RURAL DRIVING

When driving in rural or country areas, there are anumber
of special situations that require attention. Watch for
driveways, farm equipment, railroad crossings that might
not be marked, and bridges that are narrow and poorly
surfaced. Some intersections may be hidden by trees,
brush and crops. Animals often are found wandering
along the roadway.

Extra care and slower speeds should be used when driving
on gravel roads because of the reduced traction due to
the road surface. The road surface can be affected by
loose gravel, slippery conditions after rain or snow, ruts
in the driving lanes, and washboard conditions. When
approaching oncoming vehicles, watch for soft shoulders
or the absence of shoulders.

11.14 CONSTRUCTION ZONES

Every year drivers are faced with highway construction
and maintenance projects, which are designed to improve
the efficiency and safety of our transportation systems.
Every construction or maintenance operation creates a
work zone with equipment, workers, and, in some cases,
daily changes to the road that you may be used to driving.
In advance of these projects are signs, cones, and other
devices designed to warn you of the upcoming changes
and hazards associated with the road construction. These
changes and additions require you to stay alert and focused
at all times while driving.

Large construction projects can have complex work zones
with flaggers, portable concrete barriers, complicated
directional signing, and reduced speed limits to safely
direct you through the work zone. The reduced speed
limits are critical because they give drivers more time
to understand and react to the information and reduced
speed allows more time to safely drive through the
complex assortment of devices, workers, and equipment.
Unfortunately, there is no way to completely separate
drivers from these work zone hazards, which places the
construction crews at additional risk. Not only are these
workers dealing with construction dangers associated
with heavy equipment, excavation, power lines, and other
activities but they are constantly on guard for vehicles that
may stray into the work area. Your safety, your passenger’s
safety, and the safety of these workers depends on you.
Of the 1267 road construction related deaths nationally
since 1992, 147 happened in Colorado. Because of this,
increased police enforcement is routinely added to
construction projects. In order to ensure drivers understand
the importance of complying with signs and directions
given in work zones, the fines have been doubled for most
of the violations that occur in these work zones.
So, remember when driving on Colorado’s highways, if
you encounter a work zone, for your own safety and the
safety of the workers:
1. Pay attention, use extra caution and stay focused on the
driving task
2. Obey all construction signs (including work zone speed
limit signs) and flagger instructions
3. Watch the vehicle in front of you (most work zone crashes
are rear-end collisions due to an inattentive driver)
4. Drive calmly and avoid entanglements with
aggressive drivers
5. Remember to require all occupants to buckle-up. This
includes making sure children are in the back seat and
also properly secured in the vehicle.

12. SHARING THE ROAD

Sharing the road means “getting along, not ahead.” A
courteous, alert, and knowledgeable driver will make
the highways safer for all. Bicycles, motorcycles, buses,
trucks, and truck tractors each have unique operating
characteristics. Let’s share the road safely with trucks
and buses.

12.1 LARGE TRUCKS AND BUSES

Due to their size and weight, large trucks and buses
present unique problems to motorists who share the
highway with them. A loaded truck with good tires and
properly adjusted brakes traveling at 55 m.p.h. on a clear,
dry roadway requires a minimum of 290 feet to come to
a complete stop.

Trucks/buses require more room than automobiles to
execute turns, make lane changes, and other driving
maneuvers.
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Trucks/buses have blind spots which are called NO-
ZONES. No-Zones are the areas around trucks/buses
where cars either disappear into blind spots or are so close
that they restrict the truck or bus driver’s ability to stop or
maneuver safely. Both types of No-Zones greatly increase
the potential for a crash. Know the NO-ZONE.

POINTS TO REMEMBER

BACKING UP: Do not pass or stop close to a truck/bus
that is preparing to or is backing up, as the trailer will hide
objects in the No-Zone.

PASSING: Maintain a constant speed when passing and
reentering the lane in front of trucks or buses, since they
require longer distances to slow down than cars. Do not
pull in front of a truck or bus until you can see the entire
front of the vehicle.

REAR BLIND SPOTS: Trucks/buses have large blind
spots behind them. If you tailgate, not only do you make
itimpossible for the driver to see you, but you also cut off
your own view of traffic.

SIDE BLIND SPOTS: Trucks/buses have much larger
blind spots on both sides than cars. If the truck or bus
driver needs to make an emergency maneuver or change
lanes, they will not be able to see you and a collision could
result.

WIDE TURNS: Because
of their size trucks/
buses often need to
move to the left lane
to make right turns.
Cutting in between the
truck /bus and the curb
or shoulder increases
the possibility of a
crash.

RUNAWAY TRUCK RAMPS: Occasionally truck/buses
lose their ability to brake. In order to prevent serious
accidents from occurring due to out-of-control vehicles,
runaway truck ramps have been built. Never park on the
ramp or even in the entrance. Not only is this illegal, it
is inviting disaster. You may be depriving a truck or bus
driver of the chance to survive by denying him or her
access to the runaway ramp. One indication of a runaway
truck /bus is smoke coming from the brakes. Get out of the
way and/or do not get in front of the truck/bus.

BUS RELATED ISSUES: Buses make frequent stops. Avoid
being caught behind the bus by making safe lane changes.
If you are passing a stopped bus use care as the bus may
start to move out into your lane of traffic.

REMEMBER - THE BIGGER THE TRUCK/BUS:

The bigger the blind spots.

The more room they need to maneuver.

The longer it takes them to stop.

The longer it takes them to accelerate.

The longer it takes to pass them.

The more likely you're going to be the loser in a
collision.

12.2 RAILROAD CROSSING

When approaching a railroad crossing, be cautious because
atrain can arrive atany time, day, or night. Obey all warning
devices, lights, gates, and signs. Do not drive onto a crossing
until you are sure the tracks are clear, especially when there
are multiple tracks. There may be a second train.

Do not misjudge the train’s speed and distance. Because
of its large size, a train appears to be moving much slower
than you think. The average freight train traveling at 55
m.p.h. requires approximately one mile to stop. Trains can
not stop, you can.

WARNING DEVICES

ADVANCE WARNING SIGNS: A railroad crossing is
ahead. The warning sign is located at a sufficient distance
to allow you to stop (if necessary) before reaching the
crossing.

PAVEMENT MARKINGS: Consists of an “R X R” and a
stop line and may be painted on the pavement in front of
a crossing. Always stay behind the painted stop line while
waiting for a passing train.

CROSSBUCK SIGNS: These signs should be treated the same
as ayield sign. If there is more than one track, a sign below the
Crossbuck indicates the number of tracks at this crossing.

FLASHING LIGHT SIGNALS: Always stop when the
lights begin to flash. Do not attempt to cross until the lights
have stopped flashing.

GATES: Gates are used with flashing light signals at certain
crossings. Do not cross until the gates are raised and the
lights have stopped flashing.
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12.3 LIGHT RAIL

The Regional Transportation District (RTD) has added
Light Rail Transit (LRT) to its bus fleet in the Denver
Metropolitan area. Light Rail Vehicles (LRV’s) are six axle,
articulated, bidirectional rail vehicles powered by 750 volts
DC from an overhead catenary wire. Clean, quiet and
reliable, light rail is safe, proven technology - but it requires
additional attention from pedestrians and motorists.

LRT Map
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Il 29th and Welton
[l 25th and Welton:
Five Points
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18th & California
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In some areas, LRV’s will operate on streets in the same
way as other motor vehicles, and will have the same rights
and responsibilities as other motorists. In other areas (such
as on Stout and California streets in downtown Denver)
LRV’s will operate in the opposite
direction from other traffic. The
LRV’s will be governed by all traffic
signals and signs when operating on
the streets.

PEDESTRIAN SAFETY TIPS

e LRV’s are very quiet so when
approaching a light rail line stop,
look, and listen in both directions
(even on one way streets).

¢ Do not step on the rails as they can
be very slippery.

e Never climb between two LRV’s
that are hooked together.

LRV Stopping Distances

450 FEET
= aun

[T
110 FEET 2smpu

DRIVER SAFETY TIPS

Each light rail car can weigh up to 40 tons and therefore
cannot stop quickly. Remember these important tips while
driving in a light rail area:

e Never turn in front of an approaching LRV.

* Never turn across a set of light rail tracks without checking in
all directions.

e Watch for people getting on and off a stopped LRV.

* Beespecially alertin light rail areas as nearby buildings and
foliage can make it difficult for motorists to see them.

e Thelightrail crossing areas for motorists can have regular
traffic lights. Some have warning lights and some have
gates with railroad type traffic arms. All these signals
mean the same thing:

STOP! DO NOT CROSS THE TRACKS.

e Never drive around traffic gates, even if a LRV has
just passed. Another vehicle may be coming from the
other direction.

* Be aware of your vehicle height.
Overhead wires are a standard height DMEH
of 18 feet, 6 inches above the center of OVERHEAD
the tracks. "

e Always assume a wire hanging from the —
overhead catenary is HOT (electrified) so

never touch the wire or anything it is in
contact with.

Pay particular attention to these special traffic warning
signs in connection with light rail.
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If you find a wire hanging from the overhead or if you
think any safety devices are malfunctioning, please call
RTD at 299-6000 and report the situation.

12.4 BICYCLES AND MOTORCYCLES

Motorists must be on the lookout for cyclists and anticipate
sudden and unexpected moves from them. A “Share the
Road” attitude is the best policy to promote safe highways
in Colorado. The most common motorist-caused car-
bicycle or car-motorcycle collision is a motorist turning left
in front of an oncoming bicycle or motorcycle. Drivers may
fail to see cyclists or a driver may fail to judge the speed
of oncoming cyclists. As a driver, remember to look for
cyclists at the right side of the lane or on the shoulder and
then look again. Make sure you see the cyclist and know
their speed before you make your left turn.

Bicycles travel in the same direction as motor vehicles and
are entitled to the full lane when traveling at the normal
speed of traffic. However, they are generally moving more
slowly and will usually travel to the right of the right lane
or on the shoulder or bike lane. Exceptions include making
left turns, or when a right turn lane is present and the
cyclist is traveling straight through.

Motorcycles are entitled to the same full lane width as
other vehicles. Motorcyclists constantly change position
within their lane so they can see and be seen and avoid road
hazards. Never move into the same lane with a motorcycle,
even if the motorcycle is traveling to one side of the lane.
Also, be aware that strong winds can unexpectedly move
a motorcycle out if its lane.

Bicycles and motorcycles are smaller, harder to see and can
move faster and stop faster than expected. Their control
is more easily hampered by road defects and debris. You
should watch for bicycles and motorcycles, use extra
caution when driving around either and increase your
following distance.

12.5 CARELESS / RECKLESS DRIVING
Sharing the road is important not only for your safety and
the safety of others, it is the law.

42-4-1401 RECKLESS DRIVING: Any person who drives any
motor vehicle, bicycle, or motorized bicycle in such a manner as
to indicate either a wanton or willful disregard for the safety of
persons or property is guilty of reckless driving.

42-4-1402 CARELESS DRIVING: Any person who drives any
motor vehicle, bicycle, or motorized bicycle in careless and
imprudent manner, without due regard for the width, grade,
curves, corners, traffic and use of the streets and highways and all
other attendant circumstances, is guilty of careless driving.

12.6 AGGRESSIVE DRIVING

Aggressive driving or reckless driving is defined as any
behind-the-wheel behavior that places another person (or
people) and / or property in danger through willful action
without regard to safety.

Aggressive vs. Reckless

Driving assertively to enter a freeway or changing lanes
to protect yourself from another motorist encroaching on
your lane is acceptable, but at what point does assertive
driving become aggressive or reckless? The line is defined
by your intent as a motorist.

If a law enforcement officer notes your actions as
endangering another person or property (including
the other motorist’s vehicle) you can be charged under
Colorado’s reckless driving statute (42-4-1401) and if
convicted, up to eight points can be assessed against your
driving record.

A single act, such as tailgating another driver, passing
on the shoulder or running a red light could be seen
by a law enforcement officer as aggressive if the officer
believes the action is willful and places others in danger.
A combination of acts, such as speeding, cutting off other
vehicles, swerving toward another motorist, honking,
flashing headlights, yelling and using inappropriate hand
gestures can also be considered aggressive driving.

Some acts, such as waving a weapon at another motorist,
bumping or ramming another vehicle or high speed
pursuit of a vehicle can result in criminal charges beyond
a reckless driving charge.

Protecting Yourself From Aggressive Drivers

To protect yourself from an aggressive driver, don’t
engage with that driver. Don’t attempt to match his or her
aggressive act. Avoid eye contact.

Even if you've unintentionally made a mistake that made
the other driver angry, back off, give way to the other
driver and let the aggressive driver go.

A few seconds engaged with an aggressive driver could
change your life, or the lives of the loved ones riding with
you, forever.

Reporting Aggressive Drivers

Dial *CSP to report aggressive drivers! The Colorado State
Patrol has set aside a special cellular telephone number
for motorists and bicyclists to use in reporting aggressive
drivers. The call will be handled by the state patrol trooper
closest to the caller, or will be referred to a participating local
law enforcement agency. There is no charge for the call.

Could I become an Aggressive Driver?

Anyone is capable of becoming an aggressive driver. Some
drivers may be more likely to become aggressive. Here is
a series of questions developed by Leon James PhD., to
determine whether you have a greater potential to become
aggressive behind the wheel. Take a few minutes to ask
yourself these questions, and be honest with yourself.
Do you:
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* Mentally condemn other drivers as incompetent or
stupid?

* Make negative comments about other drivers to those
riding with you?

* Close up space to stop other motorists from merging or
changing lanes?

e Prevent another driver from passing?

e Tailgate a driver to get them to speed up or get out of
your way?

e Angrily speed past another driver?

* Run a stop sign, red light or other traffic control device
out of frustration or anger?

e Honk or yell at someone to express your anger or
frustration?

e Make an obscene gesture at another driver?
e Pursue another vehicle to express your anger?
e Deliberately bump or ram another vehicle?

e Exityourvehicle to teach the other driver alesson through
either a verbal exchange or physical confrontation?

¢ Fantasize about physically attacking another driver?

If you answered yes to these questions, even a couple
of these questions, you may be at risk to become an
aggressive driver.

How do I Avoid Becoming an Aggressive Driver?
Leave early for any trip. Too frequently people don’t allow
enough time to get where they want on time!

Play music that you like, but not so loud that you can't
hear emergency vehicles.

Keep cool. Don’t transfer the anger you may feel from
other situations into your driving.

Let people merge, even if they’ve done something stupid.
Why make their problem your problem?

13. THE DRIVE TEST

Drive tests are by appointment only. Generally, Mondays,
Fridays and days after holidays are the busiest. To allow
for sufficient time to complete the drive test and any
processing, the last appointment for a drive test is at
4:00 p.m. at those offices with 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. hours
of operation. Appointments are scheduled close together.
You must be on time. If you are late for your appointment,
you will have to reschedule.

Not all driver’s license offices offer drive tests. Check the
list of offices in the Service Center Guide, in the back of
this handbook, for locations, services provided, and hours
of operation.

The drive test will be given in a legally licensed vehicle
that you provide. You must show evidence of insurance
for that vehicle. The examiner will check the vehicle for
safety including brake lights, turn signals, seat belts, the
windshield, and tires. For safety reasons, only the driver and
the examiner are allowed in the vehicle during the test.

The drive test measures your skill and knowledge of legal
and safe driving practices. You will not be tricked or asked
to do anything illegal. You may question the examiner
before the test begins. After that, any unnecessary talking
will only hamper the test. You will be scored during the
entire test.

The drive test will be administered using guidelines from
the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators
(AAMVA). The skills measured will be an assessment of
all three of the following categories:

PERCEPTUAL: The ability to interpret the traffic
environment in a way that permits proper vehicle
operation. (See and know what to do)

PERCEPTUAL - MOTOR: The ability to couple driving
responses with traffic stimuli. (See, know what to do, and
do it)

ATTENTION SHARING: The ability to carry out two or
more performances simultaneously. (Steer, control speed,
and watch)

Your driving test score will be based upon how well you
perform the following maneuvers:

LEFT OR RIGHT TURNS

STOP INTERSECTIONS

THROUGH INTERSECTIONS

LANE CHANGES IN TRAFFIC
GENERAL DRIVING BEHAVIOR
MERGING TO AND FROM TRAFFIC

Each of these maneuvers has grading factors that are
associated with the performance requirements. These
are:

LANE SELECTION: Enters/ exits traffic from proper lane,
approaches intersections in proper lane, ends maneuver
in proper lane.

LANE MANAGEMENT: Remaining entirely within
the turning lane, keeps both hands on the wheel, uses
approved method of steering control (hand-over-hand or
push-pull-slide), keeping vehicle centered in appropriate
lane at start and finish of maneuver, starts/ finishes turns
in proper lane, does not encroach over lane markings, or
drag wheels over curbs.

SIGNALS: Activates signal the proper distance in advance
of turning or making a lane change, cancels signal, if
necessary, after completion of maneuver.

SPEED CONTROL: Smooth deceleration, does notimpede
traffic, adjusts speed to react to traffic or conditions,
maintains steady speed during lane change, approaches
intersection at a speed which allows the turn to be made
without stopping or braking during the turn.

STOPPING: Does not encroach over stop line, crosswalk,

keeps vehicle wheels pointed straight ahead while stopped,
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does not turn wheels until actually beginning to make the
turn, maintains an adequate gap between vehicles (rear
wheels of vehicle ahead are visible and/ or uses three (3)
second following distance to stop).

ACCELERATION: Accelerates smoothly without jerking,
doesn’t lug engine, coast, impede traffic, clash gears, or
stall vehicle.

OBSERVATION: Observes the traffic environment, looks
over shoulder before changing lanes, uses mirrors, looks
left, right, left prior to entering intersections.

GENERAL DRIVING BEHAVIOR: Steering, braking,
acceleration, observation, lane usage, and obeying all
traffic laws, signs, and signals.

If you fail the drive test, you must wait at least 1 day before
another exam will be given, unless the examiner feels more
time is necessary to allow for improvement.

14. EMERGENCIES

All drivers sooner or later will find themselves in an
emergency situation. As careful as you are, there are
situations that could cause you a problem. If you are
prepared, you may be able to prevent any serious
outcomes.

14.1 AVOIDING COLLISIONS
When it looks like a collision may happen, many drivers
panic and fail to act. In some cases, they do act, but do
something that does not help to reduce the chance of the
collision. There almost always is something you can do
to avoid the crash, or reduce the results of the crash. In
avoiding a collision, drivers have three options:

(1) stop or slow down.

(2) turn.

(3) speed up.
STOPPING QUICKLY: Many newer vehicles have ABS
(ANTI-LOCK Braking System). Be sure to read the vehicle
owners manual on how to use the ABS. The ABS system
will allow you stop without skidding. In general, if you
need to stop quickly:

WITH ABS: Press on the brake pedal as hard as you can
and keep pressing on it. You might feel the brake pedal
pushing back when the ABS is working. Do not let up on
the brake pedal. The ABS system will only work with the
brake pedal pushed down.

WITHOUT ABS: You can cause the vehicle to go into a
skid if you brake too hard. Apply the brakes as hard as
you can without locking them. If the brakes lock up, you
will feel the vehicle start to skid. Quickly let up on the
brake pedal. As soon as the vehicle stops skidding, push
down on the brake pedal again. Keep doing this until the
vehicle has stopped.

TURNING QUICKLY: In most cases, you can turn the
vehicle quicker than you can stop it. You should consider
turning in order to avoid a collision.

Make sure you have a good grip with both hands on the
steering wheel (see §11.1, Steering). Once you have turned
away or changed lanes, you must be ready to keep the
vehicle under control. Some drivers steer away from one
collision only to end up in another. Always steer in the
direction you want the vehicle to go.

WITH ABS: One aspect of having ABS, is that you can turn
your vehicle while braking without skidding. This is very
helpful if you must turn and stop or slow down.

WITHOUT ABS: If you do not have ABS, you must use
a different procedure to turn quickly. Step on the brake
pedal, but then let up and turn the steering wheel. Braking
will slow the vehicle some, and it puts more weight on the
front tires and this allows for a quicker turn. Do not lock
up the front wheels while braking or turn so sharply that
the vehicle can only plow ahead.

Another consideration is that generally it is better to run off
the road than to crash head-on into another vehicle.

SPEEDING UP: Sometimes it is best or necessary to speed
up to avoid a collision. This may happen when another
vehicle is about to hit you from the side or from behind
and there is room to the front of you to get out of danger.
Be sure to slow down once the danger has passed.

14.2 VEHICLE EMERGENCIES

There is always a chance of a vehicle problem while
driving. You should follow the recommended maintenance
schedule listed in the vehicle owner’s manual. Following
these preventive measures greatly reduces the chance your
vehicle will have a problem. The following section notes
some possible vehicle failures and what you can do if they
happen.

14.2a BRAKE FAILURE: Pump the brake pedal several
times. This will often build up enough brake pressure to
allow you to stop. If that does not work, use the parking
brake. Pull on the parking brake handle slowly so you
will not lock the rear wheels and cause a skid. Be ready to
release the brake if the vehicle does start to skid.

If that does not work, start shifting tolower gears and look
for a safe place to slow to a stop. Make sure the car is off
the roadway. Don’t drive the vehicle without brakes.

14.2b TIRE BLOWOUT: Hold the steering wheel tightly,
and keep the vehicle going straight. Slow down gradually.
Take your foot off the gas pedal and use the brakes lightly.
Do not stop on the road if at all possible. Pull off the road
in a safe place.

14.2c POWER FAILURE: Keep a strong grip on the
steering wheel. Be aware that the steering may be difficult
to turn but you can turn it. Pull off the roadway. The brakes
will still work but you may have to push very hard on the
brake pedal.
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14.2d HEADLIGHT FAILURE: Try the headlight switch
a few times. If that does not work, put on the emergency
flashers, turn signals, or fog lights, if you have them. Pull
off the road as soon as possible.

14.2e JAMMED GAS PEDAL: Keep your eyes on the road.
Quickly shift to neutral. Pull off the road when safe to do
so. Turn off the engine.

14.2f DRIVING OFF THE PAVEMENT: If your right
wheels run off the pavement edge, do not use your brakes.
Do not try to pull sharply back onto the pavement. Take
your foot off the accelerator, steer straight ahead, straddling
the pavement edge, until the car has almost stopped. Then
turn and guide your car back onto the road.

14.3 ANIMALS

There may be occasions when an animal suddenly runs in
front of your vehicle. Small animals such as rabbits, dogs,
or cats seldom cause severe property damage to vehicles,
but present a hazard if a motorist takes evasive action that
results in losing control of the vehicle.

Big game animals, mostly deer, are large enough to cause
damage to a motor vehicle. However, the size of these
animals may cause the motorist to take drastic evasive
action to prevent a collision. This may result in a more
serious crash than if the vehicle collided with the animal.
Regretfully, the safest alternative may be hitting the animal.
Concentrate on retaining control of the vehicle before,
during, and after the collision with the animal.

About 90% of deer—vehicle crashes occur between dusk
and dawn, at all times of the year. Big game animals can
appear in metropolitan areas as well as mountainous
regions. If there are animals near the roadway, slow down
and proceed with extreme caution.

14.4 ACCIDENTS

In the event of an accident you should:

1. Stop immediately.

2. Check for injuries and where practical render reasonable
assistance.

3. Call the police and emergency personnel.

4. Exchange name, address, phone, registration and
insurance information.

If under accident alert status: If alcohol and drugs are not
involved, there are no injuries, and all vehicles are still
drivable, exchange information listed under #4 above.
You must file an accident report with the police within
24 hours.

If an accident involves a parked car and you cannot find
the owner, call the police and leave a note in a place that
the owner of the car can find it.

14.5 FIRST AID

Good Samaritan laws were developed to encourage people
to help others in emergency situations. They require that
the “Good Samaritan use common sense and a reasonable
level of skill, not to exceed the scope of the individual’s
training in emergency situations.” They assume each

person would do his or her best to save a life or prevent
further injury.

When citizens respond to an emergency and act as a

reasonable and prudent person would under the same

conditions, Good Samaritan immunity generally prevails.

This legal immunity protects you, as a rescuer, from being

sued and found financially responsible for the victims

injury. For example, a reasonable and prudent person

would...

* Move a victim only if the victim’s life was endangered.

* Ask a conscious victim for permission before giving
care.

e Check the victim for life-threatening emergencies before
providing further care.

e Summon professional help to the scene by calling the
local emergency number or the operator.

e Continue to provide care until more highly trained
personnel arrive.

15. PEDESTRIANS

Pedestrians are those people standing, walking or using
a wheelchair on public streets, highways, and private
property.

As a pedestrian, you should avoid walking on the traveled
portion of a road. When there is no sidewalk, you should
walk on the outside of a curb or painted edge strip, if
either exists. When walking along a road, you should
walk on the side facing traffic. When vision is poor, such
as at night, make yourself more visible by wearing light-
colored clothing, a white cloth tied around your arm, or
some reflective material.

You have the right-of-way at crosswalks and intersections

whether the crosswalks are marked or not. However, you

should always watch for vehicles. If there is an accident

you are the one who will suffer.

* Never walk across a freeway or expressway.

e Do not leave the curb or sidewalk so suddenly that an
approaching vehicle cannot yield.

* Look for Walk and Don’t Walk signals at intersections.

iy’ e

]

o o

DON'T WALK

Steady Don’t Walk - Do not cross.

Steady Walk - You may cross.

Flashing Walk - You may not start across the street.
Those pedestrians that started across during a steady
walk signal shall complete their crossing to a sidewalk
or island.

-

WALK
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16. BICYCLES

Bicycles are a legitimate form of transportation and are
considered “vehicles” under state law. Per Colorado
Revised Statute 42-4-1412, bicyclists have the same rights
and duties as motorists. Because motorists and bicyclists
share the road, both are responsible for following the rules
of the road to ensure safety and both can be ticketed for
not obeying traffic laws though points are not assessed
against the bicyclist’s driver’s license.

16.1 BICYCLING AND DRIVING RULES

Roads can be safe for all users if motorists and bicyclists
understand and obey the following state laws:

e Bicyclists must ride in the same direction as traffic and
as far to the right as is judged safe by the bicyclist.

* On a multilane one-way street, a bicyclist can ride to
the right or the left side of roadway.

* Bicyclists can ride side-by-side as long as they are not
impeding the normal and reasonable movement of
traffic. Moving to single file to allow easier passing is
courteous practice.

e Atnightand low-light situations, bicyclists are required
to have a headlight, side reflectors, and a red rear
reflector.

e No bicycle shall be used to carry more persons at
one time than the number for which it is designed or
equipped.

e Bicyclists shall not attach himself/ herself to any moving
vehicle upon the roadway.

* Bicyclists shall keep at least one hand on the handlebars
at all times.

* Motorists must give a bicyclist at least a three foot buffer
when overtaking or passing.

* Motorists can cross a center line when passing a bicyclist
if the oncoming lane is clear and they won't interfere
with any other traffic.

Bicyclists are required to use hand signals to communicate

turns unless the hand is needed in the control or operation

of the bicycle.

e Foraright turn, extend the right arm straight out to the
right or left arm upward from the elbow.

e For a left turn, extend the left arm directly out to the
left.

e If slowing or stopping, drop the left arm down at the
elbow.

Left Turn

Right Turn Stop

Persons may park bicycles on a sidewalk unless prohibited
or restricted by an official traffic control device or local
ordinance. Bicycles are allowed on sidewalks and bike
paths unless restricted by local ordinance. Bicyclists must
give an audible signal before passing a pedestrian.

16.2 AVOIDING COLLISIONS

Drivers of vehicles can help to prevent collisions with
bicyclists by knowing the most common causes of
motorist-bicyclist collisions and how to avoid them. Five
common errors that can cause a motorist- bicyclist collision

include:

Cause of Collision How to Prevent

Motorist turning left in front of
an oncoming bicyclist

Look for oncoming bicyclists
riding on the shoulder or edge
of the lane before turning

Motorist or bicyclist running a
stop sign or stop signal

Stop first and then proceed
into intersection yielding
to others

Motorist opening a vehicle
door without looking behind
for a passing bicyclist

Always check behind you
before opening a door into
the roadway

Bicyclist riding the wrong
way against traffic, toward the
motorist

Ride bicycles in the same
direction as traffic

Motorist pulling out from a
driveway and failing to see a
bicyclist on road or sidewalk

Check both directions when
crossing a sidewalk, bike
path, or road

Though bicycles travel in the same direction as motor
vehicles, they are generally moving more slowly and
usually travel to the right of the rightlane, on the shoulder,
or in a bike lane. Exceptions include: making left turns,
when a right turn lane is present and the cyclistis traveling
straight through, or when the right side of a lane has
hazards or debris that the bicyclist must avoid.

Motorists must be aware that bicyclists, like pedestrians,
are more vulnerable users of the public roads and that they
may change positions in the road to avoid road hazards.
Also, be aware that strong winds can unexpectedly move
a bicyclist into a different position on the road.

Inexperienced bicyclists or younger bicyclists may be less
predictable. Signs of an inexperienced bicyclist include:
riding against traffic, riding on the sidewalk, or swerving.
Take extra precautions when driving around or near
bicyclists displaying these behaviors.

17. ORGAN DONATION

COLORADO ORGAN AND TISSUE DONOR REGISTRY
People who choose to become organ and tissue donors
see it as a way to make a difference in the world. They

say it feels good to know they can help others. Currently,
in Colorado, there are over 1,400 people waiting for life-
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saving organ transplants. You can make a difference by
saying “yes” and joining the Colorado Organ and Tissue
Donor Registry.

When applying for or renewing a Colorado Driver’s
license, Instruction Permit or ID card, you will be asked two
important questions regarding organ and tissue donation.
* Would you like to be an organ and tissue donor?
If you say “yes”, a red heart with a “Y” will appear on
the front of your license, permit or ID card. Your name
will automatically be added to the Colorado Organ
and Tissue Donor Registry. Being in the Donor Registry
means you have elected to have all of your organs and
tissues made available for transplant at the time of
your death. Joining the Registry not only documents
your decision to save lives by becoming an organ and
tissue donor, it relieves your family of having to make
the donation decision on your behalf. The Registry is
managed by Donor Alliance, a non-profit, federally-
designated organ and tissue recovery agency, and is
accessible only to authorized donation personnel.

Consider these facts about donation:

® One donor can save the lives of up to 8 people, and
enhance the lives of up to 50 others.

e People of all ages and medical histories can be donors
- even those with diabetes or hepatitis C.

e All costs related to donation are paid by recovery
agencies.

e All major religions support organ and tissue donation.

* An open casket remains an option

e Organ and tissue recovery happens only after all life-
saving efforts have been exhausted and death has been
legally declared.

It is possible to sign up, or remove your name from the
Donor Registry by visiting:

www.ColoradoDonorRegistry.org

or by calling 303-380-4802 or 888-256-4386

* Would you like to contribute a dollar or more to the
Colorado Organ and Tissue Donation Awareness
Fund?

Another way for you to support organ and tissue donation
is to make a voluntary contribution to the Colorado
Organ and Tissue Donation Awareness Fund. The Fund
was created in 1996 by the Colorado State Legislature
to increase organ and tissue donation in Colorado.
Your contributions to the Fund go directly to the Donor
Awareness Council, a non-profit coalition, whose sole
purpose is to increase organ and tissue donation through
public education and awareness and empower people to
make the decision to donate.

Information brochures are available at all Colorado
Driver’s license offices and through the Donor Awareness
Council. For more information, call 303-388-8605 or
888-388-8605 or visit www.donor-awareness.org

Say “Yes” Colorado! Sign up to be an
Organ and Tissue Donor!

18. SERVICE CENTER GUIDE
18.1 DRIVER’S LICENSE
18.1a SERVICES PROVIDED

LIMITED SERVICE OFFICES: Renewal, out-of-

state transfers, change of name and address, voter
registration, hearing requests, duplicates, ID cards, basic
and motorcycle written tests and driving permits.

FULL SERVICE OFFICES : Renewals, out of state transfers,
change of name and address, motor vehicle records, voter
registration, hearing requests, duplicates, ID cards, all
written tests, driving permits and basic driving test. Some
offices provide the motorcycle drive tests.

ADMINISTRATION: 1881 Pierce St., Lakewood.

DRIVER SERVICES SECTION: 1881 Pierce St.,
Lakewood. (303) 205-5613. This section provides
reinstatements, multiple motor vehicle records,
extensions and duplicate lost license when customer is
out of state. (No testing).

oD mme

4(=—=>)\MAR
LA JUNTA

Visit the Motor Vehicle Group website at
http://www.colorado.gov/revenue
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BE AN ORGAN AND TISSUE DONOR

When applying for your driver’s license,
give the gift of life. Whether you become
a donor, give a dollar or more, or
both—you'll be helping us help others.

Call today for more information.

DonorAwareness Gouncil
303- 388 8605

1-888- 388 8605

© 2000 Donor Awareness Council, Denver, Colorado 80209. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.



18.1b OFFICE LOCATIONS

DENVER METRO OFFICES
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LIMITED SERVICE FULL SERVICE
LITTLETON AURORA GOLDEN
311 E. County Line Rd. 14391 E. 4th. Ave. 16950 W. Colfax, #104
8:00-5:00 M-F 8:00-5:00 M-F 8:00-5:00 M-F
(303) 795-5954 (303) 344-8400 (720) 497-1182
ARAPAHOE COUNTY - No Testing BOULDER NORTHGLENN
5334 S. Prince St. 2850 Iris Ave #F 500 E. Malley Drive
8:00-4:30 M-F 8:00-5:00 M-F 8:00-5:00 M-F

(303) 795-5954
ARAPAHOE COUNTY CENTRAL

(303) 442-3006

DENVER - ATHMAR

(720) 929-8636

PARKER

ﬁ%ggsgirj‘f e 1865 W. Mississippi Ave. 17924 Cottonwood Dr.

oo E 8:00-5:00 M-F 8:00-5:00 M-F

(303) 795-5954 (303) 937-9507 (303) 627-0985

LAKEWOOD - No Testing DENVER - NE

1881 Pierce St. 4685 Peoria St., #115

8:00 - 5:00 M-F 8:00-5:00 M-F

(303) 205-5609 (303) 373-0161
OUT OF DENVER METRO AREA OFFICES
CITY LOCATION HOURS PHONE #
AKRON 150 Ash 8:00-4:30 M-F (970)345-2404
ALAMOSA 715 6th St 8 00-5:00 M-F (719)589-4274
BOULDER 2850 Iris Ave #F 8:00-5:00 M-F (303)442-3006
BROOMFIELD 5139 W. 120th Ave., Suite G-8 8:00-5:00 M-F (720)887-8396
BURLINGTON 251 16th St. 8:00-4:00 M-F (719)346-8638
CANON CITY 127 Justice Center Rd. #K 8:00-5:00 M-F (719)275-5617
CHEYENNE WELLS Cheyenne County Courthouse 8:00-4:00 M-F (719)767-5685
COLORADO SPRINGS 4420 Austin Bluffs Parkway 8:00-5:00 M-F (719)594-8701
COLO SPGS/CASCADE Centennial Hall, 200 S Cascade 8:00-5:00 M-TH (719)520-6240
COLO SPGS/CHAPEL HILLS 1710 Briargate Blvd. #350 8:00-5:00 M-F (719)520-6240
COLO SPGS/POWERS BRANCH 5650 Industrial P1. #100 8:00-5:00 M-TH (719)520-6240
CORTEZ 360 W. First St. 8:00-5:00 M-F (970)565-9779
CRAIG 555 Breeze # 130 8:00-5:00 M-TH (970)824-5447
DELTA Delta County Courthouse 8:00-5:00 M-F (970)874-9795
DURANGO 311 S. Camino del Rio #A 8:00-5:00 M-F (970)247-4591
EADS Kiowa County Courthouse 8:30-4:00 TU-W Closed Noon-1:00 (719)438-5421
FT. COLLINS 1121 W. Prospect Road 8:00-5:00 M-F (970)494-9809
FT. MORGAN 201 Ensign 8:00-5:00 M,W,F (970)867-2647
FRISCO County Commons Bldg. 0037 CR 1005  8:00-4:30 M-F (970)668-5015
GLENWOOD SPRINGS Glenwood Spgs Mall 9:00-6:00 M-F (970)945-8229
GRAND COUNTY Grand Count Courthouse 8:00-4:30 M-F (970)725-3053
GRAND JUNCTION 222 S. 6th St. #111 8:00-5:00 M-F (970)248-7010
GREELEY 800 8th Ave. #111 8:00-5:00 M-F (970)352-5845
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CITY
GUNNISON
HOLYOKE

HUGO

JULESBURG

LA JUNTA

LAMAR

LEADVILLE
LOVELAND
LONGMONT
MEEKER

MONTROSE

NUCLA

PAGOSA SPRINGS
PUEBLO

RANGELY
SAGUACHE COUNTY
SALIDA
SPRINGFIELD
STEAMBOAT SPRINGS
STERLING

TRINIDAD

WALDEN
WALSENBURG

WRAY

YUMA

LOCATION

221 N. Wisconsin #C

221 S. Interocean

Lincoln County Courthouse
Sedgwick County Courthouse
Otero County Courthouse
Village Center #10

505 Harrison Ave

118 E. 29th St.

917 S. Main St. #600

265 8th St.

86 Rose Lane

320 Main St.

Archuleta County Courthouse
827 W. 4th St.

17497 Hwy 64

501 4th

120 W Third St.

Baca County Courthouse 714 Main St
625 Anglers Drive

714 W. Main

Las Animas County Courthouse
396 LaFever

Huerfano County Courthse
310 Ash

910 S. Main St., #102

HOURS
8:00-5:00 M-F
8:00-4:15 M-F

8:00-4:30 M-F closed Noon-1:00

8:00-3:30 W

8:00-5:00 M-F
8:00-5:00 M-F
8:30-4:30 M-F
8:00-5:00 M-F
8:00-5:00 M-F
8:00-4:30 1st, 3rd, 5th F
8:00-5:00 M-F
9:30-3:30 1st & 3rd TH
9:00-4:00 W

8:00-5:00 M-F
9:00-4:00 2nd and 4th F
8:00-4:00 M-F
8:00-5:00 M-F
8:30-4:30 M-F
8:00-5:00 M-F
8:00-5:00 TU,TH,
8:00-5:00 M, TU, TH,F
9:00-3:30 3rd TH
9:00-4:00 W

8:30-4:30 M,W,F
8:30-4:00 TU, TH

PHONE #
(970)641-1052
(970)854-3131
(719)743-2796
(970)474-3417
(719)384-2801
(719)336-2670
(719)486-0888
(970)667-7247
(303)776-4073
(970)878-5548
(970)249-5426
(970)864-7351
(970)264-6088
(719)543-5164
(970)675-2881
(719)655-2512
(719)539-2802
(719)523-4372
(970)879-0715
(970)522-5982
(719)846-4348
(970)723-8427
(719)738-2807
(970)332-5855
(970)848-2335
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18.2 COUNTY MOTOR VEHICLE OFFICES (LICENSE PLATES)

LOCATION
ADAMS COUNTY

Aurora

Brighton

Commerce City

Westminster

Watkins

Westminster
ALAMOSA COUNTY
ARAPAHOE COUNTY

Aurora

Byers

Englewood

Littleton
ARCHULETA COUNTY
BACA COUNTY
BENT COUNTY
BOULDER COUNTY

Boulder

Longmont

Louisville
BROOMFIELD COUNTY

Broomfield
CHAFFEE COUNTY
CHEYENNE COUNTY
CLEAR CREEK COUNTY
CONEJOS COUNTY
COSTILLA COUNTY
CROWLEY COUNTY
CUSTER COUNTY
DELTA COUNTY
DENVER COUNTY

Main Office

5 Points Plaza

S.E. Branch

S.W. Branch

N.W. Branch
DOLORES COUNTY
DOUGLAS COUNTY

Castle Rock

Littleton

Parker

PHONE NUMBER
(303)654-6010

3449 N. Chambers Rd. #A
450 S. 4th Ave.

4201 E. 72nd Ave. Suite A
12200 Pecos St.

5150 Front Range Parkway
8452 Federal Blvd.
(719)589-6681
(303)795-4500

490 S. Chambers Rd.

538 N. Hwy 36

12600 E. Arapahoe Road
5334 S. Prince
(970)264-8350
(719)523-4372
(719)456-2009
(303)413-7710

1750 33rd St., Suite 101
529 Coffman St 110

722 Main St.
(303)464-5888

One Des Combes Drive
(719)539-4004
(719)767-5685
(303)679-2339
(719)376-5422
(719)672-3301
(719)267-4643
(719)783-2441
(970)874-2150
(303)376-2200

4685 Peoria St.

2736 Welton St

10890 E. Dartmouth Ave.
3199 S. Sheridan Blvd.
3698 W. 44th Ave.

(970) 677-2381
(303)660-7440

301 Wilcox St.

2223 W. Wildcat Reserve Pkwy. Unit G

16522 Keystone Blvd. #F

LOCATION
EAGLE COUNTY
ELBERT COUNTY
EL PASO COUNTY

Chapel Hills

Colo. Springs

Colo. Springs
FREMONT COUNTY
GARFIELD COUNTY
GILPIN COUNTY
GRAND COUNTY
GUNNISON COUNTY
HINSDALE COUNTY
HUERFANO COUNTY
JACKSON COUNTY
JEFFERSON COUNTY

Arvada

Evergreen

Lakewood

Littleton

Golden
KIOWA COUNTY
KIT CARSON COUNTY
LAKE COUNTY
LA PLATA COUNTY
LARIMER COUNTY

Estes Park

Ft Collins

Loveland
LAS ANIMAS COUNTY
LINCOLN COUNTY
LOGAN COUNTY
MESA COUNTY
MINERAL COUNTY
MOFFAT COUNTY
MONTEZUMA COUNTY
MONTROSE COUNTY
MORGAN COUNTY
OTERO COUNTY
OURAY COUNTY
PARK COUNTY

PHONE NUMBER
(303)328-8717
(303)621-3123
(719)520-6240

1710 Briargate Blvd., #350
200 S. Cascade Ave.
5650 Industrial Place
(719)276-7330
(970)384-3700
(303)582-5321
(970)725-3347
(970)641-1602
(970)944-2228
(719)738-2380
(970)723-4334
(303)271-8100

6510 Wadsworth Blvd., #320
4990 Cty Hwy 73

2099 Wadsworth Blvd., #H
6004 S. Kipling, #A

100 Jefferson County Pkwy
(719)438-5421
(719)346-8638
(719)486-1410
(970)385-0240
(970)498-7878

1601 Brodie Avenue
200 W. Oak St.

205 E. 6th St.
(719)846-3314
(719)743-2444
(970)522-1158
(970)244-1667
(719)658-2440
(970)824-9104
(970)565-3728
(970)249-3362
(970)542-3521
(719)383-3020
(970)325-4961
(719)836-4333

Colorado Driver Handbook
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LOCATION
PHILLIPS COUNTY
PHILLIPS COUNTY
PITKIN COUNTY
PROWERS COUNTY
PUEBLO COUNTY

RIO BLANCO COUNTY
RIO GRANDE COUNTY
ROUTT COUNTY
SAGUACHE COUNTY
SAN JUAN COUNTY
SAN MIGUEL COUNTY
SEDGWICK COUNTY
SUMMIT COUNTY
TELLER COUNTY

WASHINGTON COUNTY

WELD COUNTY
Longmont
Ft. Lupton
Greeley
YUMA COUNTY

PHONE NUMBER
(970)854-3131
(970)854-3131
(970)920-5180
(719)336-8011
(719)583-6518
(970)878-5068
(719)657-3334
(970)870-5557
(719)655-2512
(970)387-5671
(970)728-3954
(970)474-3346
(970)668-5623
(719)689-2951
(970)345-6565
(970)304-6520

4209 Weld County RD, 24 1/2

2950 9th St.
1402 N. 17th Ave.
(970)332-5809
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DR 2324 (07/21/09)
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES

Student’s Name

YOUR INSTRUCTION PERMIT...

If you are under 18, you must comply with the following
requirements:

You must be 16 years of age to be issued an instruction permit
unless...

You have completed and passed the classroom portion of an
approved driver education course, then you may be issued an
instruction permit at the age of 15 years. You must submit proof
of completion, along with your identification, at the time you apply
for the permit.

Or, if you have completed a State-approved 4-hour driver
awareness course, then you may be issued a permit at 15 years/6
months. You must submit proof of completion, along with your
identification, at the time you apply for the permit.

You are required to hold your first instruction permit for at least
twelve months and be at least 16 years of age before you can
get a driver’s license in Colorado. This means that if you get your
permit on your 15th birthday, you will have to hold the permit until
your 16th birthday before you can apply for the license.

Before you can be issued your driver’s license, you are required,
by law, to complete behind-the-wheel (BTW) training if you
completed the classroom portion of an approved driver education
course and you were under the age of 16 at the time you were
issued your permit. The BTW training can be administered
two ways: you can take 6 hours with a driving instructor from a
department-approved school or, if there isn’t a driving school that
offers BTW training at least 20 hours per week with an address
that is within 30 miles of the permit holder’s residence, you may
complete 12 hours with a parent, guardian or alternate permit
supervisor. After completing the classroom portion of an approved
driver education course, if you were issued your permit at 15/6
months, you may substitute completion of the 4-hour Driver
Awareness Program for the BTW training.

At the time you apply for your driver’s license, you are also
required, by law, to submit a log of your driving experience. The
log sheet must show a minimum total of 50 hours, with 10 hours
of those 50 hours having been driven at night. The Drive Time Log
Sheet is used any time you drive. The appropriate box is filled in
by the parent/guardian driving with you or by the driver authorized
by your parent/guardian to accompany you while you are driving.
They will fill in the date, the total drive time, the amount of night
driving (if any) and their initials. The Comments section is optional
for licensing purposes, but is useful for you to track your progress.
The Driver Time Log Sheet is the only log sheet acceptable as
proof of the required 50 hours of driving time unless the log sheet
you are presenting is from a state-approved Commercial Driving
School, Driver Education or 3rd-party testing organization. The
50 hour total may include your 6-hour BTW training, if your BTW
training was with your driver’s education teacher. If you complete
12 hours of BTW training with your parent/guardian/alternate
permit supervisor, the 12 hours is IN ADDITION to the 50 hour
requirement of the log sheet, for a total of 62 hours. You may
make photocopies of the log sheet if you need more than one to
complete your 50 hours.

When you have reached your required totals, your parent,
stepparent, guardian or grandparent with Power of Attorney
(the same person that signed the DR 2460, Affidavit of Liability
and Guardianship, for you to get your permit) or your driver

DRIVE TIME LOG SHEET

Permit Number

education instructor must then verify total driving time and total
night driving time on your log sheet(s). These totals are entered on
the appropriate lines on the back of the last log sheet. The parent/
guardian or driver education instructor will then sign and date only
the back of the log sheet that has the final completed totals.

Once you have held your instruction permit for at least 12 full
months, and you are at least 16 years of age, you are eligible
to apply for your license. You will need to bring the completed
original Drive Time Log Sheet(s) with you when you come in.
You must submit the completed Drive Time Log Sheet at
the time you apply for your license. If your parent/guardian/
alternate permit supervisor administered the required behind-
the-wheel training, they will complete the back of a DR2460, the
Affidavit of Completion of a Driver Education Classroom Course
or BTW. Reminder, drive tests at driver’s license offices are by
appointment, only.

YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE...

When you are issued your driver’s license, if you are under the
age of 18, there are still a few things you need to be aware of.
The law does not allow you to carry a passenger under the age
of 21 until you have held your license for at least 6 months. And,
you can’t carry more than one passenger under 21 until you've
held your license for at least one year. The exceptions to this are
if your parent/guardian is with you, or there is an adult passenger
21 or older who has a valid license and has held that license for
at least one year, or the passenger under 21 needs emergency
medical assistance or is a member of your immediate family.

While you are under 18, you cannot drive between the hours of
12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. unless you have held your license
for at least one year. The exceptions to this are if your parent/
guardian is with you, or there is an adult passenger 21 or older
who has a valid license and has held that license for at least one
year, or itis an emergency, or you are an emancipated minor with
a valid license. You may drive between midnight and 5:00 a.m.
if it's to a school or school-authorized activity where the school
doesn’t provide transportation. You will need a signed statement
from the school official showing the date of the activity. And, you
may drive between midnight and 5:00 a.m., if it's to and from work.
You must carry a signed statement from your employer verifying
your employment.

While you are under the age of 18, when you carry any allowed
passengers, everyone riding with you must wear their seat belt.
Only one passenger can ride in the front seat with you. You
can only carry as many passengers in the back seat as there are
seat belts.

Effective December 1, 2009, Colorado law prohibits drivers under
18 years age from using a cell or mobile phone while driving unless
it is to contact the police or fire department or it is an emergency.
Drivers 18 and older may not use a cell or mobile telephone for
text messaging while driving unless it is to contact the police or
fire department or it is an emergency. Your license expires 20
days after your 21st birthday. Have a safe journey and we will
see you when you turn 21.



Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving
Comments:
Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving
Comments:
Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving
Comments:
Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving
Comments:
Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving
Comments:
Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving
Comments:
Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving
Comments:
Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving
Comments:
Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving
Comments:
Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving
Comments:
Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving
Comments:
Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving
Comments:
Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving
Comments:

Driving Time Night Driving
Totals ...

Minimum of 50 hours Minimum of 10 hours

The verifying signature must be from one of the signers of the Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship, form DR 2460, or from the Driver Education
Instructor. Please check all totals prior to signing. By signing below, | certify that the above total hours of driving experience is true and accurate.

Signed Date
Parent/Guardian or Driver Education Instructor
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Know Colorado’s new teen driving laws.
Learn them at
www.coteendriver.com.
They're keeping you in

The Driver’s Seat.
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DR 2460 (08/20/09) AFFIDAVIT OF LIABILITY AND GUARDIANSHIP
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES (C.R.S. 42-2-108 and 42-2-109)
DRIVER LICENSE SECTION Must be signed in the presence of a Motor Vehicle employee or Notary Public
Minor's First Name Middle Name Last Name Date of Birth

@ |/We understand by signing this form I/we assume liabilities of the above minor driving a motor vehicle, and
@ |/We understand my/our signatures may be withdrawn upon written request and the minor's license/permit will be cancelled.

Printed Name and Signature of Parent or Guardian or Person Assuming Liability ] Mother
[ ] Guardian*
[]Other*
Printed Name and Signature of Parent or Guardian or Person Assuming Liability [ ] Father
[ ] Guardian*
[ ]Other*
Motor Vehicle Employee Date
Notary Public
Subscribed and sworn before me this day of ,20

Inthe State of Colorado, County of

My commission expires

SignatureofNotaryPublic

*CourtorPowerof Attorney documents presented:

By signing this form, | / We give our consent as Parent(s) / Guardian(s), for the above named Minor
to be designated as an Organ / Tissue Donor [JYESs [OIno Seal

AFFIDAVIT OF COMPLETION OF A DRIVER EDUCATION CLASSROOM COURSE

Minor's First Name Middle Name Last Name Date of Birth

Has completed the classroom portion of a Colorado Department of Revenue-approved driver education course within the last 6 months.

Completion date:

Name of school and state-assigned number Signature of driver education instructor and state-assigned number

There is no behind-the-wheel training offered within 30 miles of the permit holder's residence. Therefore, in addition to the drive time required by the log
sheet, the required 12-hour behind-the-wheel training was administered by: L] Mother [] Father [] Guardian [] Alternate Permit Supervisor

Print Name

Signature Date

Alternate Permit Supervisor = If the person(s) signing the DR2460 does not hold a valid Colorado driver's license, they may appoint an Alternate
Permit Supervisor to supervise the minor while driving. The Alternate Permit Supervisor must hold a valid Colorado Driver's License and be 21
years of age or older.




DON'T DRINK
AND DRIVE

THE HEAT IS ON!

To report a drunk driver,
call "DUI ("384) or "CSP (217
from a cellular phone.
Your call is free and may save lives!

“The Heat is On" is sponsored by the Colorado Department of
Transportation and supported by the Colorado State Patrol
and local law enforcement across the State of Golorado.




