
Governor Jared Polis has appointed
Eric Blank of Boulder as Chairman of
the Public Utilities Commission (PUC).
Blank will begin his four-year term fol-
lowing the end of Jeff Ackermann’s
tenure as chairman on January 11, 2021.

Blank has spent his career working in
the renewable energy and non-profit
sectors and is an entrepreneur and
thought leader.

“Eric has a deep understanding of
Colorado’s energy system and will play
an integral role at the PUC in advancing
the market and consumer-driven transi-
tion to a cleaner, more affordable renew-
able energy future,” Gov. Polis said in
making the announcement on December
11. The appointment requires confirma-
tion by the Colorado Senate.

Over the past 20 years, Blank has co-
founded and led several pioneering
renewable energy development compa-
nies that have collectively built 2,000

megawatts of new wind and solar facili-
ties (representing $4 billion in invested
capital), including the largest currently
operating solar projects in the Midwest,
Mid-Atlantic, and Colorado.

Before entering the renewable energy
development business, Eric spent 
10 years running the energy work of a
non-profit environmental group, now
called Western Resource Advocates, that
intervened before state public utility
commissions in Colorado and five other
western states to make it economically
feasible for electric utilities to invest in
clean energy.

“I’m honored to be chosen by
Governor Polis for this position. Largely
because of the leadership of Governor
Polis and the state legislature, I believe
Colorado has a compelling opportunity
to decarbonize energy systems and to do
it in a way that benefits all customers
and grows the economy,” Blank said.

Blank holds a law degree from Yale
Law School and a master’s in economics
from the London School of Economics.

Blank will serve with John Gavan
and Megan Gilman on the three-
member PUC, which regulates rates and
services of investor-owned electric, gas

and water utilities; some intrastate
telecommunications services; for-hire
motor carriers in Colorado; and safety of
railroad crossings and intrastate natural
gas pipelines.

PUC commissioners serve staggered
four-year terms. No more than two
appointees may be from the same 
political party. Blank and Gilman are
Democrats; Gavan is an Independent. 

As we move
through the
2020-21 winter
heating season,
it is important
for Colorado
customers of
electric and
natural gas utili-
ties to be aware
of their options
for assistance in
paying their
energy bills if
they need help.

To avoid dis-
connection, customers who have
fallen behind in their payments are
encouraged to contact their electric
or gas utility. Information about
how to contact the utility can be
found on the customer’s bill, the
utility’s website or the PUC’s
website at “Colorado Electric &
Gas Utility Contact Information.”

Utilities will work with cus-
tomers who are having difficulties
in paying their bills to offer
payment arrangements, especially
during the Covid-19 outbreak.
These arrangements can spread
payments across multiple months
giving customers the opportunity
to become current. By governor’s
order, late payment fees have been
suspended and reconnection fees
waived during this time.

Residential customers of
investor-owned utilities (Xcel
Energy, Black Hills Energy, Atmos
Energy, Colorado Natural Gas)
also may prevent a shutoff by pro-
viding the utility company a
“medical certification” from a
doctor, or health practitioner
acting under a doctor's supervi-
sion, stating that disconnecting
service would be especially dan-
gerous to the health or safety of
the customer or a permanent resi-
dent of the customer's household.

If a medical certification is
given to the company, no shut off
of service will occur for up to 
90 days from the date of the certifi-
cate. A medical certificate can
delay a disconnection for no more
than 90 days during any consecu-
tive 12-month period.

For more information about
utility disconnections and collec-
tions, see the PUC’s For-Your-
Information fact sheet on “Your
Rights as an Electric or Natural
Gas Utility Customer.”

If customers cannot reach an
agreement with their utility, they
may contact the PUC consumer
affairs unit for assistance at 303-
894-2070 or by filing a complaint
via the PUC website.

If a customer is having diffi-
culty paying their energy bill or
receives a disconnection notice,
they may be eligible for assistance
from Colorado’s Low-Income
Energy Assistance Program
(LEAP) or Energy Outreach
Colorado. To determine eligibility
or to apply online, go to the
Colorado Department of Human
Services or call 1-866-HEAT-HELP
(1-866-432-8435) to apply over the
phone.

Governor appoints new PUC chairman
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Tri-State Generation and Trans-
mission Association has filed an Electric
Resource Plan (ERP) with the Public
Utilities Commission (PUC) that it says
would more than double its solar and
wind resources by 2030, add energy
storage, and advance the goal of 
80 percent greenhouse gas emissions
reduction in Colorado.

The plan, filed on December 1, is the
first ERP filed by Tri-State that requires
approval from the PUC under a 2019 law
approved by the Colorado legislature.

Tri-State is a wholesale cooperative
electric generation and transmission
association consisting of 17 rural 
electric cooperatives in Colorado and 
25 others in Nebraska, New Mexico 
and Wyoming.

Tri-State previously filed resource
plans for review only in Colorado in 2010
and 2015. With the passage of Senate Bill
19-236 in Colorado in May 2019, Tri-State
as a wholesale generation and transmis-
sion electric cooperative operating in the
state of Colorado became subject to

resource planning regulation by the
PUC. Rules guiding this process were
finalized by the PUC in April 2020, with
an effective date of July 15, 2020.

In early 2020, Tri-State announced 
its Responsible Energy Plan, which
includes, among other initiatives, the
announced retirements of Escalante
Generating Station in New Mexico in
2020 and the retirement of all three units
comprising the Craig Generating Station
in northwest Colorado by 2030. Tri-State
included these announced retirements in
its base assumptions for its ERP.

Tri-State’s preferred scenario includes
1,850 megawatts (MW) of additional
renewable generation, more than 
200 MW of energy storage, and the
retirement of its remaining Colorado 
coal units.

Tri-State said its preferred scenario
will reduce greenhouse gas emissions
associated with its wholesale electricity
sales in Colorado by 80% by 2030, when
compared to a 2005 baseline. The cooper-
ative’s filing supports its broader transi-

tion, which also includes a goal to reduce
rates and provide more contract flexi-
bility for its members.

Tri-State noted that its ERP will be
revised over time, as the cooperative
implements partial requirements con-
tract options with its members, and in
response to market, technology and reg-
ulatory changes, which may influence
resource needs over the next 10 years.

Tri-State also noted its continuing
efforts with other regional power
providers to evaluate the expansion of
the Southwest Power Pool’s regional
transmission organization into the West.
In addition, Tri-State has set a goal to
reduce its wholesale rates by 8 percent
by the end of 2023 and has submitted a
partial requirements membership option
to the Federal Energy Regulatory
Commission (FERC) for approval to
create increased flexibility for members
to self-supply power.

Hearings on the proposed plan are
likely to take place during the first half 
of 2021.

PUC opens probe of Comanche 3 operations
The Colorado Public Utilities

Commission (PUC) has opened an
investigation into Xcel Energy’s
Comanche Unit 3 coal-fired generating
station in Pueblo, which has been
plagued by operational and equipment
problems since it was declared in-service
and placed into rate base more than a
decade ago.

The PUC issued a written decision on
October 30 authorizing PUC staff to
undertake an investigation into the
history and operations of the troubled
plant, “particularly as Colorado utilities
consider various measures for reducing
emissions of carbon dioxide and other
greenhouse gas emissions.”

Comanche 3 has been beset by prob-
lems since it was declared in-service and
placed into rate base on May 14, 2010.

Specific problems have included boiler
tube leaks; stack noise issues; reduced
capacity factors due to planned outages
required to correct improperly welded
components in the boiler and unplanned
outages due to malfunctioning water
cannons; the replacement of the finishing
superheater; and finally the report of a
major incident in June 2020 where the
loss of lubrication oil for the steam
turbine shaft resulted in major damage.

In its decision opening the investiga-
tion, the PUC listed a number of issues
to be examined, including, but not
limited to, a root cause analysis of the
June incident and corrective actions
taken to prevent recurrence of the
problem; estimated capital costs for
repair of the damage and estimated
costs of replacement power for the June

incident; a chronology of planned and
unplanned outages that have occurred
since the beginning of commercial oper-
ations, including the cause, corrective
actions, and cost of repairs and replace-
ment power for those outages.

The investigation will compare the
performance and availability of
Comanche Unit 3 to similar coal-fired
generating plants. PUC staff also will
look at what Xcel said the operation and
maintenance costs would be when it
applied for approval of the plant and
compare them to actual costs, devel-
oping an estimated levelized cost of
energy for the plant’s first 10 years 
of operations.

The PUC directed staff to file a report
of its findings on or before March 1,

Tri-State files first PUC resource plan 
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Steve Denman played drums in a
rock band in high school and college,
but it has been his lengthy and distin-
guished legal career where the beat truly
goes on for Denman.

Denman has worked as an attorney

in both public and private practice in a
career spanning more than 45 years from
Florida to Colorado. The last four and a
half years have been spent as an
Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) with
the Public Utilities Commission (PUC).

As an ALJ, Denman presides over all
sorts of proceedings involving the
various industries the PUC regulates—
energy and water, transportation,
telecommunications, and rail and 
gas pipeline safety. He conducts eviden-
tiary hearings in matters referred 
by the Commissioners and issues 
recommended decisions in utility 
applications, rulemakings and formal
complaint cases.

“I enjoy the variety of cases I get, as
well as the challenging legal issues I get
to resolve in some cases,” Denman said.
“My cases range from the routine to the
complex. Yet, I believe that the parties in
all my cases deserve due process of law;
that is, a fair and meaningful opportu-
nity to be heard before a fair and impar-
tial tribunal.”

His extensive experience also comes
in handy when brainstorming about
how to improve the Commission’s
hearing procedures
and rules.

“I work with a
great group of people
in the Administrative
Hearings section,” he
said.

Denman earned
both his bachelor’s
and law degrees from
Indiana University 
in Bloomington. He
worked as a govern-
ment lawyer for 
more than 13 years,
including as an appel-
late law clerk, about
six years as an
Assistant and Chief
Assistant Public
Defender in Florida
and a Deputy State
Public Defender in Colorado, and more
than five years with the Colorado
Attorney General's Office, where his
clients included the PUC and trial staff.

After that, he spent about 32 years in
private practice representing clients in
regulatory litigation in cases involving
public utilities regulation, energy law,
and telecommunications.

Away from work, Denman’s hobbies
include travel, reading and history.

“I used to be a runner and a recre-
ational fencer, but had to quit when 
my sports injuries caught up with me,”
he said.

(Inside Connections will feature a PUC
employee each edition as selected by PUC
section chiefs.)

Several changes to how emergency
911 telephone services are funded in
Colorado became effective on January 1.

The Public Utilities Commission
(PUC) adopted the changes in late
September in response to amendments
to the state’s emergency telephone ser-
vices statutes approved by the Colorado
Legislature in 2020.

House Bill 20-1293 was approved as a
means to provide for the future of 911
technology and funding in Colorado. 
It was the first major overhaul of 911
funding legislation in the state in 
30 years.

The new law directed the PUC by
Oct. 1 to establish several changes 
to how 911 services are funded by: 
(1) adjusting the threshold at which PUC
approval is required for increased local
emergency telephone charges; (2) estab-
lishing a new statewide 911 surcharge to
be assessed on every phone bill in
Colorado; (3) setting a flat-rate 911 
surcharge for each pre-paid wireless 

services retail transaction; and (4) deter-
mination of the formula for distribution
of money to governing bodies from the
prepaid wireless 911 charge.

“It is the intent of the General
Assembly to maintain and strengthen
the existing local funding structure for
emergency telephone service in the state,
while also creating a new funding mech-
anism for local expenditures that will
improve the quality of the emergency
telephone service statewide,” the new
law stated.

All land-line, wireless, and Voice-
over-Internet-Protocol (VOIP) telephone
customers in Colorado pay a monthly
surcharge to fund the equipment and
operational expenses of the 911 system.
Individual authority boards establish the
amount needed to cover the costs of
equipment, personnel and access to tele-
phone lines. The surcharge is collected
by the telephone provider and passed on
to authority boards.

As of January 1, a local 911 authority

board may assess a surcharge of up to
$1.72 per customer per month for 
emergency telephone services without
permission from the PUC. Anything
above that amount requires PUC
approval. Prior to the new law, the
threshold for obtaining PUC approval
for 911 surcharges was 70 cents per 
customer per month.

The PUC will review the threshold
rate by October 1 of each year, taking
into consideration inflation and the
needs of the governing bodies, and
establish an appropriate threshold rate
to take effect on January 1.

A new statewide 911 monthly sur-
charge of 10 cents per customer per
month also took effect on January 1. The
statewide surcharge, which by law may
not exceed 50 cents, is designed to
provide additional funding support to
local 911 authorities. And the PUC
established a flat-rate $1.38 charge for
each pre-paid wireless services retail
transaction.

Congratulations to Daniel Yuen,
the PUC’s Director of Systems
Enhancement, who received the

2020 Dom Hidalgo customer service
award. The annual award recognizes 
the PUC employee who displays consis-
tent and superior customer service
throughout the year.

As noted in his nominations, the year
2020 more than ever demonstrated
Daniel’s contributions to the Com-
mission. His work was integral to
success of the PUC in making a rapid
transition to a remote workplace due to
COVID-19. He acted quickly so
everyone had access to laptops and other
available resources. He continues
solving problems on a daily basis and
working to prevent future problems.

Even remotely, Daniel is ever-avail-
able with a kind, professional and
helpful demeanor. Most notable about
Daniel’s style is his ability to effectively
listen, hone in on the problem for speedy
resolution, and communicate that reso-
lution to employees at their level of
expertise, according to one nomination.

PUC colleagues submit nominations
for the annual award. After a committee
of previous winners narrows the list of
nominations to three finalists, PUC
employees vote to determine the winner.
Holly Bise and Alison Torvik were this
year’s other finalists.

Special recognition goes to the
following PUC employees for
hitting milestones in their years

of service with the state of Colorado: 
5 years—Holly Bise, Janie Castle, James
Lester, Daryl Branson, Conor Farley; 
10 years—Daniel Yuen, Michael
Gullatte, Steve Denman, Rebecca Lim,
Fiona Sigalla; 15 years—Sandra Kahl,
Ron Davis, Drew Bolin; 20 years—Joe
Molloy, Karl Kunzie, Bridget McGee,
Harriet Weisenthal, Pam Fischhaber; 
25 years—Doug Dean; 30 years—
Deborah Fajen, Hubert Barton.

Welcome to new PUC employees
Colin Konrad, a rate/financial
analyst in the Utilities section;

Justin LeVeque, chief of the Research and
Emerging Issues section; Luis Rivera
Lugo, a rate/financial analyst in the
Utilities section; Richard McAllister,
rate/financial analyst in the Advisory
section; Conner McClanahan, a rate/
financial analyst in the Economics section;
and Mike Mendolsohn, a rate/financial
analyst in the Advisory section.

CONNECTIONS is the newsletter of 
the Colorado Public Utilities Commission. 
It covers Commission cases and actions 
of importance to consumers, utilities, con-
sumer groups, and decision makers.

Comments, suggestions, and requests for
more information should be directed to: 

Terry Bote 
1560 Broadway, Suite 250 
Denver, Colorado 80202 

Steve Denman visiting Santiago, Chile
in 2016.

Starting Point
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Energy Outreach Colorado, a
non-profit organization, provides
payment assistance beyond that
offered by the utilities and LEAP to
help customers with their energy
costs. For information visit https://
www . e n e r g y o u t r e a c h . o r g /
programs-for-individuals/bill-
payment-assistance/.

New year bring changes to 911 funding 

The Colorado Public Utilities
Commission (PUC) has established the
registration fees for 2021 that telemar-
keters will pay to obtain the state’s 
do-not-call list.

The fees are set on a sliding scale
based on the number of employees of
the soliciting company. The fees 
collected are used to pay the annual 
contract costs for the designated agent 
to administer the Colorado No-Call
program, and to support enforcement
activities provided by the Colorado
Attorney General’s Office.

The 2021 fees will range from $300 for
telemarketers with 5–10 employees, up
to $500 for companies with more than
1,000 employees. Telemarketers with
less than five employees are not charged
an annual registration fee.

PUC staff estimates that approxi-
mately 230 telemarketers will register
with the Colorado No-Call program in
2020 and pay registration fees that will

generate roughly $104,940 in annual 
revenues.

Colorado’s No-Call program allows
residential and wireless telephone 
subscribers to notify solicitors of their
objection to receiving solicitations 
by telephone or fax by placing their 
telephone numbers on a do-not-call list
at no charge. Telemarketers must 
update these do-not-call lists four times
a year to help reduce unwanted tele-
phone calls.

A state enforcement action may be
brought against commercial telemar-
keters for three or more violations in a
month. Certain types of calls are
excluded from no-call rules, including
political calls, calls from charitable 
organizations, and calls from businesses
that have an existing relationship with 
a customer.

As of December, approximately 
4.1 million telephone numbers had been
registered with Colorado’s do-not-call

list, which began in 2002. Telephone
subscribers may register a residential or
wireless phone number or file a com-
plaint about possible violations of the
no-call law by either calling toll-free at 
1-800-309-7041, or by going on-line at
www.coloradonocall.com. 

2020 Telemarketer
Registration Fees

Number of Employees Fee Amount
1–4 $0
5–10 $300
11–50 $400
51–100 $475
101–250 $485
251–400 $490
401–1,000 $495
1,001+ $500

No-call telemarketer fees set for 2021

2021. While no direct action will be
taken as a result of the investigation, the
findings could be taken up in future
proceedings as appropriate—such as
rate cases or the company’s clean
energy and resource plans.

Comanche 3 probe
(Continued from page 1)
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A Public Utilities Commission (PUC)
administrative law judge has scheduled
hearings for January 14 and 19 on a
request by Xcel Energy for approval of an
updated wildfire mitigation plan and its
associated cost recovery.

The proposal, which covers a five-year
period from 2021–2025, generally acceler-
ates risk mitigation actions related to
inspection, repair and replacement of
infrastructure, vegetation management,
and increased distribution system protec-
tion measures.

Recent increases in severe weather
events have impacted not only the 
frequency but also the intensity of wild-
fires in Colorado, which ranks near the
top of all states in terms of åproperties
exposed to significant wildfire risk,
according to the company. Xcel describes
its proposal as a proactive and prudent
approach to wildfire mitigation that “can
dramatically reduce the potential finan-
cial impact and physical damage associ-
ated with a large-scale wildfire ignited by
utility infrastructure.”

The proposal builds on programs
approved in an unopposed partial settle-
ment of wildfire mitigation issues that
was part of the company’s 2019 electric
rate case. The updated plan proposes
additional incremental actions in three
main categories:
• Increased engagement with local,

county and state entities to facilitate
more coordinated planning and miti-
gation efforts across organizations;
and to ensure customers, communities
and emergency responders are aware
of and informed of the company’s
operations, existing procedures and
wildfire mitigation plan.

• Equipment upgrades and increased
use of technology, including extreme
wind loading conditions analyses and
increased data collection to enable the
company to systematically mitigate
the risk of electrical infrastructure
starting a wildfire, as well as the use of
unmanned aerial systems to provide
detailed pole top inspections; and

• Accelerating certain utility practices
that mitigate wildfire risk, such as
routine pole inspections and replace-

ments, in areas designated as Xcel’s
wildfire risk zone from traditional
timeframes to shorter cycles.
Xcel initially is seeking to recover an

additional $17.2 million in 2021 through a
Wildfire Mitigation Rider. If approved by
the PUC, the proposed rider would
increase bills for typical residential cus-
tomers by $0.49 a month (or 0.71 percent),
based on average monthly usage. A
typical small commercial customer’s bill
would increase by an additional $0.71 a

month (or 0.69 percent), based on average
monthly usage. 

After that, Xcel would file by November
15 of each year, beginning in 2021, an
adjustment to the rider containing the pro-
jected costs for the following calendar year,
along with a true-up of the previous year’s
costs, effective January 1 of each year. The
total bill impact over the five-year period
would be a 1.43 percent increase for resi-
dential customers and a 1.39 percent
increase for small commercial customers.

Xcel seeks approval of wildfire mitigation plan, rider 

New rates for natural gas customers of
Xcel Energy became effective on
November 1, but customers won’t see the
effect of those changes until April 1, in
recognition of the economic impacts of
the continuing Covid-19 crisis.

The Public Utilities Commission
(PUC) in October approved an “unop-
posed and comprehensive” settlement
addressing all issues of Xcel’s gas rate
case filed last year. Although the settle-
ment established an effective date of
November 1, the parties agreed to defer
implementation of the new rates until
after the 2020-21 heating season.

The deferred revenue for the period
between the effective date and the imple-
mentation date will be collected through
an additional customer surcharge to be
billed during the shoulder months of
March through May, and September
through November, through 2022.

The settlement, approved by a PUC
administrative law judge without mate-
rial modification, authorized a net
increase of $77.3 million in annual
revenue for the company, down from 

the original request for an increase of
$126.7 million. The additional revenue
will be used to support extensive invest-
ments across Xcel’s Colorado natural gas
network to enhance reliability and build
resiliency, especially during severe
weather; reduce methane emissions; and
strengthen safety through revitalized
infrastructure and technology.

Under the approved settlement, resi-
dential customers will see bills increase
by about $3.83 a month. (9.36 percent).
The average small commercial customer’s
bill will increase $12.14 a month 
(7.55 percent).

The PUC decision established a 
9.2 percent return on equity (ROE) for the
company, down from its currently autho-
rized 9.35 percent. The ROE is the profit
that a utility is authorized to earn on its
investments. The PUC sets a maximum
return on equity, but it is not guaranteed.

The base rate component of a monthly
natural gas bill includes a fixed monthly
customer charge and a volumetric charge,
which varies from month to month
depending on the amount of gas used.

The base rates cover costs for infrastruc-
ture, equipment, labor, materials, meter
reading and billing.

Base rates are separate from the rates
charged for the gas commodity itself,

which as passed on to customers on a
dollar-for-dollar basis through a separate
charge called the “gas cost adjustment.”
Gas commodity charges account for
65–75 percent of the total monthly bill.

The Colorado Public Utilities
Commission (PUC) has adopted
changes to its electric and gas rules that
will allow utilities to expand their avail-
able assistance programs for low-
income customers during the winter
heating season.

The PUC in December approved
emergency rules increasing the allow-
able surcharge that utilities may assess
residential customers from $0.31 to
$1.00 a month in order to provide 
targeted low-income residential bill
assistance. The emergency rules are
effective for the earlier of 210 days or
until the PUC issues permanent rules
replacing the emergency ones.

PUC rules require regulated utilities
to offer Percentage of Income Payment

Plan (PIPP) programs to low-income
customers who have a household
income at or below 185 percent of the
current federal poverty level, and who
otherwise meet the eligibility criteria set
forth by the Department of Human
Services Low-Income Energy Assistance
(LEAP) program.

PIPP programs include two compo-
nents: an affordable payment plan and a
process for providing arrearage credits.
PIPP programs currently are funded by
a maximum monthly surcharge of $0.31
on residential customer bills, with pro-
portional fees on other customer classes.

Information provided to the PUC by
utilities and low-income experts in
October indicated that most utilities are
experiencing significant increases in

both the number of residential cus-
tomers in arrears and the amount of
active arrears due to the COVID-19 eco-
nomic situation. Applications for low-
income energy assistance have increased
this heating season by 15–25 percent.

Two Colorado utilities, Black Hills
Colorado Electric and Colorado Natural
Gas, are at the current $0.31 per 
month maximum funding fee and
cannot serve all the customers who
would otherwise qualify for low-income
energy assistance.

“We find that increasing the
maximum allowed impact on residential
rates to $1.00 should provide sufficient
funding to expand PIPP programs to
customers on program waitlists and
some customers who have recently

become eligible for the programs or
who will become eligible this heating
season,” the PUC said in its decision
adopting the emergency rules.

The PUC encouraged electric and gas
utilities that are currently unable to
serve all low-income customers who
have qualified through the LEAP appli-
cation under their existing fee surcharge
to promptly file a revised advice letter
and tariff with an increased surcharge of
up to $1.00 to serve as many low-income
customers as possible.

It also encouraged utilities to con-
sider providing additional customer
outreach to inform low-income cus-
tomers who may not be familiar with
the utility’s PIPP program of the
program’s existence.

PUC adopts rules to expand low-income assistance 

Xcel natural gas rate changes deferred until April

Implementation of new rates for Xcel gas customers was deferred until April 1 due to
the economic impacts of the COVID-19 crisis.

The Colorado Public Utilities
Commission (PUC) in late October 
dismissed formal complaints filed by 
La Plata Electric Association and United
Power against Tri-State Generation and
Transmission Association over exit fees,
citing a lack of legal jurisdiction.

The PUC, in a 3-0 vote, determined
that an order issued by the Federal
Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC)
in late August concluding it had exclu-
sive jurisdiction over the exit fee disputes
preempted the Colorado PUC from
acting further on them. That order
reversed an initial FERC decision con-
cluding that the complaints could
proceed at the PUC.

As a result of the exit fee preemption,
the only issue remaining in the PUC
complaints is whether Tri-State’s admis-
sion of MEICO as a non-utility member
was proper under Colorado law. Because
this question is a matter of corporate law,
not public utilities law, the PUC found it

does not have the jurisdiction to decide
that question.

In May, United Power filed a case in
Adams County District Court chal-
lenging, on various grounds, the MEICO
transaction, which is the basis of FERC’s
jurisdiction over Tri-State. That court is
where the question of MEICO’s member-
ship should be answered, the PUC said.

Because the Commission dismissed
the formal complaints without prejudice,
the PUC will be ready to adjudicate the
exit fee questions if United Power 
prevails in district court.

The aids the parties in getting an
answer to the question from the proper
legal forum, which will ultimately
reduce the time needed to resolve this
complex and important dispute, the PUC
said at its oral deliberations.

LPEA filed a formal complaint 
against Tri-State on November 5, 2019,
requesting that the PUC determine a 
just, reasonable and non-discriminatory

exit charge for LPEA, which serves 
more than 46,000 meters in southwest
Colorado. United, which serves more
than 93,000 members in Adams. 
Weld, Jefferson, Boulder, Gilpin and
Broomfield counties, filed a similar 
complaint the next day. The formal 
complaints were consolidated into a
single proceeding.

Last July, a PUC administrative law
judge ruled in favor of United and 
La Plata, concluding that Tri-State’s
refusal to provide an exit charge to United
and La Plata was “unjust, unreasonable
and discriminatory.” The ALJ adopted an
exit charge methodology proposed by
United, with minor adjustments, as the
proper methodology to calculate an exit
fee for members of Tri-State.

Tri-State, United and La Plata all filed
exceptions to the ALJ’s recommended
decision. But FERC’s August decision
preempted the PUC from taking up the
merits of those arguments.

PUC dismisses Tri-State formal complaints



Xcel Energy in 2021 will begin imple-
mentation of a multi-year effort to gradu-
ally transition residential electric customers
to time-of-use (TOU) electric rates.

The Public Utilities Commission (PUC)
last year approved, without modification, a
comprehensive settlement that will replace
the summer “inverted block” (or tiered)
rates with year-round TOU rates. The mod-
ified TOU rate schedule was to become
effective January 1, 2021.

Under current inverted-block rates,
which are in effect June through
September, customers are charged one rate
for the first 500 kilowatt-hours (kWhs) used
each month, and a higher rate for all kWhs
over 500. In contrast, TOU rates charge dif-
ferent rates during different periods of the
day based on the costs of generation and
the corresponding emissions of carbon
dioxide (CO2).

TOU rates send effective price signals to
ratepayers that provide incentives to shift
some of their electricity usage to the
periods of the day when generation costs
and CO2 emissions are relatively low. Xcel

contends that the change to TOU rates will
result in lower costs and CO2 emissions.

Under terms of the settlement, Xcel will
make the modified TOU rate schedule the
default rate schedule for all residential cus-
tomers once Advanced Metering
Infrastructure (AMI) meter deployment is
completed in their area. The company
plans to start deployment of smart meters
in the second quarter of 2021, and have all
residential meters swapped out by the end
of 2024.

Groups of residential customers will
transition to TOU rates twice per year in
either the spring or fall. The transition will
take place between four to nine months
after installation of the advanced meter.
During the interim period between installa-
tion of the advanced meter and transition
to TOU rates, customers will receive
ratepayer-specific TOU usage data that will
be included on the ratepayer’s bill.

As approved in the settlement, the on-
peak rate will apply from 3–7 p.m. week-
days year-round (except holidays), with a
shoulder rate from 1–3 p.m. The parties

agreed in the settlement to make the
peak/off-peak rate ratio 2.7:1 in the
summer and 1.7:1 in the winter, with the
shoulder rate remaining the midpoint
between the peak and off-peak rates.

The settlement also allows any residen-
tial ratepayer to opt out of the TOU rate
schedule after the ratepayer’s transition
date provided the ratepayer gives 30 days’

notice to Xcel. The opting-out ratepayer
will be placed on a new seasonally-differ-
entiated flat rate.

The settlement also maintained the
Medical Exemption Program (MEP) for
ratepayers with medical conditions who
are dependent on electric medical equip-
ment and cannot shift the usage of their
equipment to lower-cost periods.
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A Public Utilities Commission (PUC)
administrative law judge has dismissed a
proposal by Xcel Energy to implement a
new charge on customer bills for five
years to fund its advanced electric distrib-
ution grid efforts.

The judge on October 31 issued a rec-
ommended decision granting summary
judgment in favor of the Office of
Consumer Counsel (OCC), which had
filed a motion to dismiss the proposed
advice letter. The OCC argued that the
proposed rider violated a previously-
approved settlement that required that
the costs for grid enhancements be recov-
ered in base rates, and not through an
accelerated customer charge.

PUC staff also supported the motion,
contending that the proposed rider con-
stituted a fundamentally different cost
recovery mechanism than a Phase I rate
case, in part because “unlike a Phase I
rate case, a standalone rider proceeding
prevents the Commission from simulta-
neously evaluation Public Services’
overall risk profile and, if necessary
adjust its return on equity.”

The PUC in 2017 approved a settle-
ment supported by a broad spectrum of
parties that authorized Xcel to install
advanced metering infrastructure and
associated components of an advanced
communications network for all of its
Colorado customers. The advanced

metering and other new technologies are
expected to enhance power reliability,
allow for better integration of distributed
generation on to the electric grid, and
provide customers with more information
to control and track their energy usage.

With the advice letter, which had a
proposed effective date of May 1, 2021,
the company initially sought to recover
$52.7 million in expenses through an
Advanced Grid Rider. The proposal
would have increased bills by $1.90 a
month for typical residential customers,
and by $3.35 a month for typical small
commercial customers.

However, in granting the motion for
summary judgment, the administrative

law judge found that the proposed rider
constituted a collateral attack on the
PUC’s previous decision approving the
settlement and would require the parties
to re-litigate an issue already decided.

The judge ruled the proposed advice
letter would “be contrary to, and ultimately
frustrate, the Commission’s goal of encour-
aging settlement agreements in the public
interest.” Moreover, the judge said, the
summary judgment spares the expense
associated with an evidentiary hearing
where, “as a matter of law, based on undis-
puted facts, the utility could not prevail.”

The recommended decision vacated
evidentiary hearings scheduled for
January 25–28 on the proposal.

Proposal to implement advanced grid rider dismissed

Settlement allows gradual move to time-of-use electric rates

Retail natural gas emissions examined
The Colorado Public Utilities Com-

mission (PUC) has opened an investiga-
tion to collect information regarding retail
natural gas industry greenhouse gas
emissions in light of Colorado’s emission
reduction goals.

A law passed by the Colorado
Legislature in 2019 set statewide goals to
reduce greenhouse gas emissions. While
no specific requirements for the retail
natural gas sector have been established
yet, the PUC intends to investigate
whether changes in natural gas use emis-
sions could help meet the statewide goals
of House Bill 19-1261.

The PUC is seeking information
regarding topics such as the mathematical
and scientific expectations for emission
reductions from the retail natural gas
sector; options to decarbonize retail
natural gas; and potential steps the
Commission can take now while long-
term technological and regulatory
changes are implemented.

To facilitate this investigation, the 

PUC in October opened Proceeding 
No. 20M-0439G as a repository for 
presentations, comments, and other 
materials relating to the Commission’s
general investigation. Commissioner
Megan Gilman was designated Hearing
Commissioner for the proceeding.

An initial Commissioners’ Infor-
mation Meeting (CIM) was held on
November 5 to establish a base set of
background information regarding retail
natural gas industry greenhouse gas
emissions. The PUC heard presentations
regarding the future market dynamics for
natural gas; Colorado’s statutory green-
house gas reductions and the Governor’s
roadmap; the retail natural gas industry’s
potential to help meet statewide green-
house gas emission reductions; relevant
state agency rulemakings and expected
timelines; and potential future pathways
to meet Colorado’s emission reduction
targets.

The Commission anticipates there will
be subsequent CIMs’ on this topic as well.

April hearing for Black Hills EV plan
The Public Utilities Commission 

(PUC) has scheduled hearings for 
April 19–23 on Black Hills Colorado
Electric’s proposed three-year plan to
support transportation electrification 
in Colorado.

The PUC in October approved a joint
procedural schedule supported by all
parties in the company’s application
seeking approval of its initial transporta-
tion electrification plan, which it calls
Ready EV. The plan is designed to
encourage the widespread adoption of
electric vehicles across Black Hills’ service
territory through deployment of cus-
tomer-focused education, partnerships,
rates, and rebates/incentives for public
and in-home chargers.

Legislation adopted in 2019 required
electric public utilities to file no later than
May 15, 2020, and every three years there-
after, an application for a program for
regulated activities to support wide-
spread transportation electrification
within the utility’s service area. The 
legislation established several criteria for
evaluating the proposals, including: seek
to maximize benefits and minimize costs;
improve use of the electric grid; increase
access to electricity as a transportation
fuel; ensure safety and reliability; 
contribute to air quality standards; 
foster competition for charging; include 
transparent public reporting; and 

provide access for low-income customers.
Black Hills Colorado Electric serves

about 96,000 customers in 21 southern
Colorado communities, including the
towns of Pueblo, Canon City, Rocky Ford,
Florence and Westcliffe.

In its Ready EV application, Black
Hills noted that its customers are “very
sensitive to rate changes” and it is
“striving to find the right balance
between maximizing the benefits of 
EV adoption at a reasonable cost to 
all customers.”

Black Hills’ Ready EV proposal con-
tains four core elements that work inde-
pendently, but together are designed to
meet overall program goals. These four
elements are (1) rebates for Electric
Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE); 
(2) modification to the company’s
Distribution Line Extension Tariff for
EVSE; (3) EV charging rates; and (4) a 
customer communication and education
strategy. 

The company is proposing a total
budget of about $1.3 million over the
three-year period of the Ready EV plan,
with a potential bill increase for residen-
tial customers ranging from $0.19 per
month the first year to $0.24 per month 
by the third year. Increases for small 
commercial customers would start at
$0.71 per month the first year, increasing
to $0.87 per month in year three.


