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OPERATION GAME THIEF
Operation Game Thief (OGT) is a non-profit organization working
with the DOW’s law enforcement program. It pays rewards to citizens
who report poachers or resource violations. Callers don’t have to
reveal their names, testify in court or sign a deposition. Rewards are
paid if the information leads to the arrest of a poacher or a citation is
issued. Rewards do not depend on a conviction but must be requested
when a violation is reported. Call: 1-877-COLOOGT toll-free. The
number cannot be used for information requests or emergencies.
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General fishing season dates . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .291-7533
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Fishing Conditions Reports:
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FISHING SEASON DATES
Waters of Colorado are open to taking fish, amphibians
and crustaceans day and night, year-round, except as
otherwise stated in this brochure.

FREE FISHING DAYS
Residents and nonresidents can fish in Colorado without a license or Habitat Stamp on the first full
weekend of June each year. All other rules and regulations apply.

LICENSE INFORMATION
» Licenses are valid through March 31, 2011, and are nontransferable. False statements made
while buying a license render it void.

» Lost or destroyed licenses can be replaced by filling out an application and paying a fee.
» Anglers must comply with habitat stamp requirements.
» The taking of mollusks listed in Chapter 10 is prohibited.

1. ADULTS — A fishing license is required for people ages 16 and older to take fish, amphib-
ians and crustaceans, except as noted in this brochure.
2. YOUTH — Those under 16 can take a full bag and possession limit without a license.
(a) Youth under 16 must have a second rod stamp if fishing with more than one line at a time.

3. SENIORS — Colorado residents 64 and older can obtain an annual fishing license from a
DOW office or license agent for $1, which consists of the 25-cent search and rescue fee and 75-
cent PEAC surcharge. A license must be carried while fishing.

(a) Low-income fishing licenses also are available for Colorado residents 64 or older. These
are free and valid for a person’s lifetime. For information and eligibility requirements, contact
any DOW office.

4. SECONDROD STAMP— Anglers can use a second rod, handline or tip up by purchasing a
second rod stamp. Anglers can buy only 1 second rod stamp per season.
(a) Second rod stamps are nontransferable.
(b)A second rod stamp is not required when only using trotlines or jugs.

5. COMMERCIAL— $40; required to take or possess bait fish, amphibians, or crustaceans for
commercial purposes. Applications are available at the DOW. License holders must submit an
annual report to the DOWwithin 30 days of the license expiration date. Holders are required to
provide live fish buyers with a receipt stating the seller’s name, date of sale, species and number sold.
2

2010 LICENSE FEES
(available at DOW offices, through license agents and online)

» Residents
Annual Fishing (16 and older) ..............................................................................$26
Combination Fishing & Small Game ....................................................................$41
Senior Annual Fishing (Colorado residents at least 64 years old) ..........................$1

» Nonresidents
Annual Fishing ....................................................................................................$56
Five-Day Fishing License......................................................................................$21

» Residents and Nonresidents
One-Day Fishing License ........................................................................................$9
Second Rod Stamp ..................................................................................................$5
(Second rod stamp available to licensed residents, licensed nonresidents
and youth under 16 years.)

» Habitat Stamp ............................................................................................................$5

*License fees include a 25-cent search and rescue fee,
and 75-cent PEAC surcharge. BUY ONLINE

Buy your fishing license on our
Web site, www.wildlife.state.co.us,
or by calling 1-800-244-5613.
Credit cards accepted for phone
or Internet purchases.
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6. VIOLATIONS—Wildlife violations have specific point val-
ues. People who accumulate 20 or more points in 5 years can
have their license privileges suspended or revoked.
7. ARMEDFORCES EXEMPTION— Colorado residents
on active duty with U.S. armed forces out of state can fish free
without a license while here on temporary leave, max. 30 days a
year. You must carry official leave papers while fishing.
8. YOUTHMENTORS— Youth mentor hunting and fishing
opportunities are available for those under 18. Youths under 16
must be accompanied by a mentor. Mentors must be 18 and
comply with hunter education requirements.

RESIDENCY QUALIFICATIONS
These are the requirements to qualify as a Colorado resident
to buy a license:
1. You must have lived continuously in Colorado at least six
months immediately before applying for or buying a license,
and must intend to make Colorado home (except #2 and 3
below.) The residence address you give to buy or apply for a
license must be the same as on your Colorado income tax return.
2. U.S. armed services personnel and military personnel of
U.S. allies on active duty in Colorado under permanent
orders and their dependents. This includes people who were
Colorado residents when they entered the armed services
and maintain Colorado as their home of record, and their
dependents (unless they change their home of record to another state.) Also included are person-
nel of the U.S. Diplomatic Service or diplomatic services of nations recognized by the U.S.
assigned to duty here on permanent active duty orders and their dependents. Active duty does not
include reserve status or National Guard.
3. Full-time students enrolled and attending a Colorado college, university or trade school at least six
months immediately before applying for or buying a license. This includes students who are tem-
porarily absent from Colorado but still enrolled. Colorado residents who attend school full time out
of state and pay nonresident tuition still qualify for a resident license.
4. People under 18 have the same residency status as their parent, legal guardian or person with
whom they live the majority of the time per court order.
5. If you have a home in Colorado and another state, call (303) 297-1192 to make sure you com-
ply with Colorado residency requirements before obtaining a hunting or fishing license.
6. Except as in #2 and #3 above, your Colorado residency ends if you apply for, buy or accept
hunting, fishing or trapping license as a resident of another state or country; register to vote out-
side Colorado; or get a driver’s license with an address in another state.

DISABILITY LICENSES
You can obtain applications for disabled licenses on our Web site or at DOW offices and send
them to 6060 Broadway, Denver, CO, 80216. Licenses are valid only during Colorado residency.
Those eligible for free licenses are:
1. U.S. armed forces members, active or retired, who are resident patients of a U.S. armed forces
hospital or convalescent facility in Colorado.
2. Resident patients of a VA hospital or state mental institution or mental health institution.
3. Totally and permanently disabled Colorado residents per Social Security Administration or
Division of Labor. You must provide either:
a. Social Security documentation of permanent and total disability. If documents do not state

“totally and permanently disabled,” you must provide documentation that Social Security benefits
began 7 or more years ago;

HABITAT STAMP
AHabitat Stamp is
required of people 19-64
who buy hunting or fishing
licenses. With a license
purchase, the stamp is $5
and required on each of the
first 2 licenses bought per
year ($10 total). A lifetime
stamp costs $200. This
stamp satisfies either of the
above requirements.



b. Or, a physician’s statement attesting to total and permanent physical or mental impairment
that prevents gainful employment and is reasonably certain to continue throughout your life;
c. Or, a Colorado Division of Workers’ Compensation Final Admission of Liability form indi-

cating total and permanent disability.
4. Colorado residents who are disabled veterans. You must have served on active duty in the
armed forces, honorably discharged and establish a service-related disability rated by the VA a
min. 60% through disability retirement benefits or pension because of a public statute adminis-
tered by the VA or military. You can get proof of disability by requesting an eligibility letter from
the VA, 1-800-827-1000. Meeting these requirements qualifies you for a free, lifetime resident
combination small game and fishing license.

DEFINITIONS
» ARTIFICIAL FLIES AND LURES means devices made entirely of, or a combination of,
natural or synthetic non-edible, non-scented (regardless if the scent is added in the manufactur-
ing process or applied afterward), or materials such as wood, plastic, silicone, rubber, epoxy,
glass, hair, metal, feathers, or fiber, designed to attract fish. This does not include anything
defined as bait below.
» BAIT means any hand-moldable material designed to attract fish by the sense of taste or smell;
those devices to which scents or smell attractants have been added or externally applied (regard-
less if the scent is added in the manufacturing process or applied afterward); scented manufac-
tured fish eggs and traditional organic baits, including but not limited to worms, grubs, crickets,
leeches, dough baits or stink baits, insects, crayfish, human food, fish, fish parts or fish eggs.
» CHUMMING means placing fish, parts of fish, or other material upon which fish might feed
in the waters of this state for the purpose of attracting fish to a particular area in order that they
might be taken, but such term shall not include fishing with baited hooks or live traps.
» GAME FISH means all species of fish except prohibited nongame, endangered and threatened
species, which currently exist or may be introduced into the state and which are classified as game
fish by the Commission. This includes, but is not limited to brown, brook, cutthroat, golden, lake
(mackinaw), and rainbow trout; splake (lake trout and brook trout hybrids); arctic char; grayling;
kokanee salmon; whitefish; sculpin; smallmouth, largemouth, spotted, striped, and white bass;
wipers (striped bass and white bass hybrids); carp; bullhead, blue, channel, and flathead catfish;
black and white crappie; drum; northern pike; tiger muskie; sacramento and yellow perch; sauger;
saugeye (walleye and sauger hybrids); speckled dace; rainbow smelt; tench; walleye; bluegill;
bluegill hybrids (bluegill and green sunfish); green and pumpkinseed sunfish; gizzard shad; long-
nose and white suckers; minnows (except brassy, plains, plains top, and suckermouth minnows).
» FLOAT TUBE means a floating device which suspends a single occupant in the water from
the seat down and is not propelled by oars, paddles or motors.
» GIG means a barbed fork with one or more tines which is attached to a handle.
» JUGS means floats to which are attached a line and common hook.
» MINNOW means all members of the families of fish classified Cyprinidae (Carp, Chub, Dace,
Goldfish, Minnow, Shiner, Stoneroller, and Tench) Cyprinodontidae (Killifish, Top Minnow) and
Clupeidae (Gizzard Shad), except those designated as nongame, threatened, or endangered in
Chapter 10 of these regulations.
» NATURAL STREAM is one where water naturally flows regularly or intermittently for at
least part of the year. Man-made ditches or other channels are not considered natural streams.
» NET means seine, dip net, gill net, cast net, trap net, hoop net or similar devices used to take
or as an aid in taking fish, amphibians or crustaceans.
» PERSONALLYATTENDED LINE means a rod and line, hand line, or tip up that is used for
fishing and which is under the personal control of a person who is in proximity to it.
» COMMON HOOK means any hook or multiple hooks having a common shank. All hooks
attached to a manufactured artificial lure shall be considered a common hook.
» SIZE OR LENGTH means the total length of a fish with head and tail attached measured
from the tip of the snout to the tip of the tail.
» SEINING means the capture of live fish with the use of a net that hangs vertically in the water
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and is used to enclose fish when its ends are pulled together, or are drawn ashore.
» SNAGGING means the taking of fish by snatching with hooks, gang hooks, artificial flies or
lures, or similar devices where the fish is hooked in a part of the body other than the mouth.
» TROTLINE is a single, anchored line with a float at each end from which droplines are attached.

LEGALMETHODS OF TAKE
1. ONE PERSONALLYATTENDED LINE — Each line shall have only 3 common hooks
attached.
2. TROTLINES —

(a) Permitted only on specific waters, as listed in this brochure.
(b)No one may use more than one trotline.
(c) Must be anchored, marked at each end by floats, be no longer than 150 feet with no more
than 25 droplines, and shall be weighted to place the line at least 3 feet under water.
(d)Only 3 barbed hooks are allowed on a common hook on each dropline.
(e) Trotlines shall be tagged with the user’s name, CID number and date set.
(f) All trotlines shall be personally checked at least once in every 24-hour period.

3. JUGS —
(a) Permitted only on specific waters, as listed in this brochure.
(b)Only 10 jugs are allowed for each license holder, each with only 1 single line
and 1 common hook.
(c) Must be tagged with the owner or user’s name and CID number.
(d)Must be personally checked at least once an hour.

4. UNDERWATER SPEARFISHING, ARCHERY, AND GIGS —
(a) Underwater spearfishing, archery, and gigs may be used statewide for the taking of carp.
East of the Continental Divide, gizzard shad, and white or long-nose suckers may also be
taken, unless otherwise prohibited in “Waters with Special Fishing Regulations.” Other fish
may be taken when authorized in specific waters in “Waters with Special Fishing
Regulations.” Underwater spearfishing of lake trout is prohibited.
(b) These additional restrictions apply to underwater spearfishing:

1. CO2 guns or cartridge-powered spears are prohibited.
2. Guns must be loaded and unloaded while the diver is submerged.
3. Divers must stay within a radius of 100 feet of a float bearing the National Divers’
Symbol.
4. Spears must be attached by a safety line no longer than 10 feet.

(c) Archery and gigs are allowed for taking bullfrogs.
5. SNAGGING —

(a) Snagging is permitted for taking kokanee salmon only, on specific waters listed in
“Waters with Special Fishing Regulations.” Other species snagged must be returned to the
water immediately.

6. SEINES AND CAST-NETS —
(a) Seines are allowed only for bait fish, gilled form of aquatic tiger salamander larvae and
crayfish; or if authorized for emergency salvage. See “Special Conditions and Restrictions.”
(b) Seines must be made of 1/4-inch or less non-metallic square mesh.
(c) Seines cannot exceed 20 feet long and 4 feet in depth.

7. BY HAND OR WITH DIP NETS —
(a) Allowed for bullfrogs, crayfish and the gilled form of aquatic tiger salamander larvae.
(b) Fish may be taken by these means or others approved by the DOW for emergency
salvage.
(c) Hand-held dip nets may be used for taking bait fish according to restrictions. See “Use
and Collection of Bait Fish.”

8. LIVETRAPS —
(a) Cage or box traps, including set pots, shall be used only for the taking of crayfish,
snapping turtles, and fish captured as bait fish.

9. ARTIFICIAL LIGHT — may be used as a fishing aid.
10. BAIT — may be used where permitted as a fishing aid, except by chumming.
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SPECIAL CONDITIONS AND RESTRICTIONS
1. CATCH AND RELEASE — Any fish released upon catch must be released alive and into
the same body of water from which it was taken.
2. SOME PROHIBITED FISHING METHODS INCLUDE— Chumming, using toxicants
or poisons, stupefying substances, electrofishing.
3. PROHIBITED SPECIES— These species and their viable eggs are detrimental to other fish and
habitat in Colorado. Unless authorized in writing by DOW for controlled and experimental purposes
only, it is illegal to export, import, transport, stock, sell, acquire and possess for release these species:
piranha; trahira; gar (all species); snakeheads or murrels; sticklebacks; walking catfish; tilapia;
bowfins; rudd; zebra mussels; quagga mussels; New Zealand mud snail; Eurasian ruffe; white perch;
rusty crayfish; carp (silver, catla, Indian, bighead, giant barb, mrigal, largescale sliver, rohu, black and
mahseers); Asian swamp eel; green frog and gobies, fish hook fleas and spiny water fleas.
4. THREATENEDAND ENDANGERED SPECIES — It is illegal to take or use these threatened
or endangered species: bonytail, Colorado pikeminnow, humpback chub, razorback sucker, Arkansas
darter, Rio Grande sucker, brassy minnow, common shiner, northern redbelly dace, southern redbelly
dace, plains minnow, suckermouth minnow, lake chub and greenback cutthroat trout. If caught, these
species must be returned to the water immediately. Except, taking greenback cutthroat trout is per-
mitted in specific waters and with restrictions as listed in this brochure.
5. NONGAME SPECIES — It is illegal to have or harvest bluehead sucker, flannelmouth sucker,
mountain sucker, roundtail chub, Rio Grande chub, plains topminnow, river shiner, stonecat, plains
orangethroat darter, Iowa darter, flathead chub, mollusks, wood frog, Woodhouse’s toad, plains leop-
ard frog, northern leopard frog and boreal toad.
6. ICE FISHING — The following additional restrictions apply to waters open for ice fishing:

(a) Ice fishing holes cannot exceed 10 inches in diameter, or 10 inches on any side.
(b) All fires on the ice must be enclosed in a container.
(c) No litter allowed on the ice.
(d) Portable ice fishing shelters (where permitted) must be removed at the end of the day.
(e) Permanent ice fishing shelters (where permitted) must display the name and CID number of
the owner or user on the outside of the shelter facing the shore. Writing must be in legible,
contrasting color letters at least 2 inches high.

7. USEAND COLLECTION OF BAIT FISH—
(a) The only fish allowed to be taken for commercial use are minnows, gizzard shad, white and
longnose suckers and carp. All live baitfish from a commercial source and transported by anglers
must at all times be accompanied by a receipt from the source.
(b) The use of, or possession of live fish for use as bait is prohibited in all waters east of the
Continental Divide above 7,000 feet elevation and all waters west of the Continental Divide,
except in Navajo Reservoir; theArkansas River above Parkdale (in Fremont and Chaffee counties);
andWatson Lake in Larimer County.
(c) The only species allowed to be taken and used for consumption or used as bait (either alive or
dead) by fishing, seining, netting, trapping, or dipping are minnows, bluegill, hybrid bluegill,
carp, sunfish, gizzard shad, sculpin, white and longnose suckers, yellow perch and rainbow
smelt. Statewide bag limits apply to sunfish, bluegill, hybrid bluegills and yellow perch.
(d) The seining, netting, trapping, and dipping of fish is prohibited statewide in all natural streams,
springs, all waters in Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas,
Gilpin, Elbert, Jefferson, and Park counties, and all public standing waters in Rio Grande,
Saguache, Conejos, Costilla, Alamosa, Mineral and Hinsdale counties in the Rio Grande drainage.
This does not apply to fish handled or produced at commercially licensed aquaculture facilities.
(e) Bullfrogs and Salamanders — Bullfrogs and the aquatic gilled form of the tiger salamander
for private and commercial use is permitted. Statewide bag limits apply.
(f) Crustaceans — Taking crustaceans, crayfish, for commercial use is allowed. The minimum
size is 3 inches for commercial food (measured from the tip of the acumen (bony spike between the
eye) to the telson (last bony plate in the tail)). Crayfish with eggs attached must be returned to the
water All set pots and traps must be labeled with the licensee’s name, address and license number.
(g) Mollusks — Taking mollusks for personal or commercial use as bait is prohibited.

8. RELEASING TAGGED FISH— It is illegal to release tagged or marked fish, except for
approved contests, into public waters. Tagged or marked fish can be released in public waters for
scientific research with written application and approval by DOW at least 30 days before release.
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9. DONATING FISH—You can donate edible parts of fish to like-license holders anywhere or to
anyone at the recipient’s home. Donor and recipient subject to bag and possession limits. A “like-
license” is a Colorado fishing license.
10. TRANSPORTING, EXPORTING FISH— Species in this brochure, or parts of game fish,
transported within or exported from Colorado, must be accompanied by license holder. Wildlife
shipped by common carrier must be accompanied by license or photocopy of license and donation
certificate, if needed.
11. RELEASING FISH— Any fish caught in catch and release waters MUST be returned immedi-
ately to the water. Please follow these tips for ensuring higher fish survival rates:
(a) Do not play fish to exhaustion.
(b) Keep fish in water as much as possible when handling and removing hook.
(c) Remove hook gently; don’t squeeze fish or put your fingers in gills.
(d) If deeply hooked, cut the line. Do not pull hook out.
(e) Release fish only after its equilibrium has recovered. If necessary, gently hold fish facing
upstream and move it slowly back and forth. Release in quiet water.

12. ILLEGALTAKE AND TRANSFER OF FISH — Only people designated by the U.S. Fish
and Wildlife Service may take fish, amphibians, mollusks or crustaceans within the boundaries
of any Federal fish hatchery or rearing unit.

(a)Molesting, disturbing, or damaging gill nets, traps, or seines set by the DOW is prohibited.
13. EMERGENCYCLOSURE OF FISHINGWATERS— Emergency closure of waters may be
authorized for up to 9 months when environmental conditions in these waters warrant and fishing
could result in unacceptable levels of fish mortality. Public notice will be given if waters are closed
and notice will be posted at the site. Closures may occur when any of the following criteria are met:

(a)Daily maximum water temperatures exceed 74º F, or the daily average temperature exceeds 72º F
(b)Measured stream flows are 25% or less of the historical average low flow for the time period
(c) Fungus and other visible signs of deterioration may be present
(d) Daily minimum dissolved oxygen levels are below five (5) parts per million (ppm)
(e)When environmental events such as wildfires, mudslides, oil spills or similar events have
occurred, resulting in the need for recovery time or remedial action for a fish population

14. PROTECTEDWATERS — Fishing may be prohibited as posted when necessary to protect:
threatened or endangered species; spawning areas; waters used in DOW research projects; newly
acquired access to fishing waters; and the integrity of aquatic wildlife populations.
15. EMERGENCYPUBLIC SALVAGE— If substantial numbers of fish are in imminent danger of
being lost, the DOW can allow licensed anglers to take fish during daylight hours. Public notice will be
given and notice will be posted at the site regarding the catch limit and approved fishing methods.
16. FISHING CONTESTS — Fishing contests cannot be advertised, promoted or conducted
without DOW approval if the purpose is to take marked or tagged fish released in waters open
to public fishing. Applications and a $40 nonrefundable fee must be made 60 days before the
contest. Written approval must be obtained from landowners or agencies before applying.
Contest are not permitted on streams, rivers, other flowing water or Gold Medal Water, or com-
mercial or private lakes licensed by the DOW. All standard fishing regulations apply. Contests
for tagged or marked trout will be permitted only on waters greater than 200 surface acres and
managed as a catchable fishery. Public fishing areas will remain open during a contest, regard-
less of contest fees. Sponsors shall document the number of participants, average time spent
fishing and estimated total catch by species in a written report for the DOW within 20 days of
the contest end.

CUTTHROATWATERS
Various cutthroat waters, specifically those considered Cutthroat Conservation and
Recreation waters, are protected throughout the state. In these waters, fishing is allowed
by artificial flies and lures only and all cutthroat trout must be returned to the water imme-
diately upon catch. These restrictions are to accommodate the growing number of cut-
throat trout streams and lakes that are being included in conservation and recovery actions
according to management plans.
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BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS
Statewide limits for species are listed on the next page.
Species not on the chart have no bag or possession limits or
are restricted or illegal to take. (See “Special Conditions
and Restrictions.”) Some waters have more restrictive limits
than listed on chart. Check “Waters with Special Fishing
Regulations” for the area you plan to fish to learn more
about specific waters. If a water is not on the list or no bag
limit is specified, these statewide limits apply.

DAILY BAG LIMIT — Maximum number of fish you
can take in a day, regardless of what you do with them
that day.

» Fish caught and placed on a stringer, in a container
or live well, or not returned to the water immediately
count in your daily bag or possession limit. Fish
released immediately are not part of the limit.

POSSESSION LIMIT — Maximum number of fish
allowed at any time, including in the field, transporting, at
home or in storage. Transporting live fish without proper
permits is prohibited.

» Fish taken and later smoked, canned, frozen or
preserved for consumption are part of the possession
limit until consumed.

» When taken by underwater spearfishing, the daily
bag and possession limit for fish with established
limits is 2.

MEASURE YOUR CATCH

Measure your fish from the tip of the snout to the end of the tail. You may
squeeze the tailfin together as shown in the bass illustrated above to obtain
a maximum length or you may tilt the tail down as seen in the lake trout.

AWARD-QUALIFYING LENGTHS BY SPECIES
Species ........................Length (inches) Species ....................................Length
Rainbow trout ........................24 Brown trout ............................................22
Brook trout..............................16 Cutthroat trout ........................................20
Golden trout............................16 Lake trout ................................................32
Cutbow trout ..........................22 Pumpkinseed .......................................... 8
Splake......................................20 Arctic char ..............................................18
Kokanee ..................................20 Grayling ..................................................15
Northern pike..........................36 Tiger muskie ..........................................40
Walleye ..................................26 Saugeye ..................................................26
Yellow perch ..........................12 Largemouth bass ....................................18
Smallmouth bass ....................17 Wiper ......................................................28
White bass ..............................17 Bluegill ....................................................10
Crappie....................................15 Channel catfish ......................................30
Blue catfish ............................30 Black bullhead ........................................14
Common carp ........................30 Grass carp................................................30

Is your catch safe
to eat? Check online
The Colorado Department
of Public Health and
Environment has issued
fish consumption advisories
for some Colorado waters.
The advisories provide
information on specific fish
species and their sizes
classes that may contain
levels of contaminants pos-
ing human health risks. Fish
consumption information is
important for anglers who
eat the fish they catch,
especially pregnant or nurs-
ing women and children.
Anglers should check these
advisories before going fish-
ing to see if their destination
is included. The advisories
can be found online at
www.cdphe.state.co.us/
wq/FishCon/Analyses.
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STATEWIDE BAG&POSSESSION LIMITS
TYPE OF FISH DAILY LIMIT
» Trout, Arctic Char,
Grayling, Salmon (except kokanee)
• In aggregate*..........................................................................Daily bag: 4

Possession: 8
» Brook Trout (in addition to above)
8 inches long or less .................................................................................10

» Kokanee Salmon .....................................................................................10

» Walleye, Saugeye, Sauger
• In aggregate* ............................................................................................5
• Arkansas River drainage, in aggregate*................................................10
• Arkansas River waters with minimum size restrictions .........................5

» Largemouth, Smallmouth, Spotted bass
• In aggregate* ............................................................................................5

» White bass, Wiper, Striped bass
• In aggregate*..........................................................................................10
• Arkansas, South Fork of Republican River
drainages, in aggregate*.........................................................................20

» Channel, Flathead and Blue catfish
• In aggregate*.........................................................................................10

» White and Black Crappie
• In aggregate*..........................................................................................20

» Bluegill, Hybrid Bluegill, Green Sunfish, Pumpkinseed Sunfish
• In aggregate ............................................................................................20

» Yellow Perch
• West of Continental Divide......................................................Unlimited
• East of Continental Divide ...................................................................20

» Tiger Muskie ...........................................................1 fish at least 36 inches

» Northern Pike, Whitefish, Bullhead ........................................Unlimited

» Speckled Dace, Sculpin
• West of Continental Divide, In aggregate*...........................................20
• East of Continental Divide........................................................Unlimited

» Crayfish (crawdads) or Bullfrogs ............................................Unlimited

» Aquatic Tiger Salamander Larvae (gilled) ...50 less than 5 inches long
*In aggregate means the limit may consist of one species or a mixed bag of more than one
species. Trout include rainbow, brown, brook, cutthroat, splake, golden and lake trout.
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Abrams Creek - Eagle County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately upon catch.

Adams County Fairgrounds Lakes (Public Works and Mann-Nyholt Lakes) —Adams County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Adobe Creek Reservoir (Blue Lake) — Bent and Kiowa Counties
a. Trotlines and jugs are permitted.
b. The bag and possession limit and minimum size for walleye and saugeye is 5 fish in the aggregate,
15 inches long. Only 1 walleye or saugeye in the aggregate more than 21 inches long taken per day.

Agnes Lakes (Upper and Lower Lakes) — Jackson County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Akron City Lake —Washington County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Alberta Park Reservoir —Mineral County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

American Lakes (Snow and Michigan Lakes) — Jackson County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Animas River — La Plata County
a. From the confluence with Lightner Creek to the Rivera Crossing Bridge:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. Bag and possession limit and minimum size for trout is two fish, 16 inches long.

Antelope Creek, West — Gunnison County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Antero Reservoir — Park County
a. Ice fishing shelters must be portable.
b. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Apache Creek, North and South Forks — Huerfano County
a. Fishing prohibited from the headwaters downstream to the US Forest Service boundary.

Arapahoe Bend NaturalArea (Bass, Beaver, Cormorant, and Snapper Ponds)—Larimer County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Arapaho Creek — Grand County
a. From Monarch Lake downstream to USFS 125:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Archuleta Creek — Saguache County
a. On that portion within the Cochetopa State Wildlife Area (Snyder Ranch):

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Arkansas River — Chaffee, Fremont, and Lake Counties
a. Fishing by flies and lures only from the US 24 river overpass downstream to the lower bound-
ary of the Hayden Ranch, as posted:

1. The bag and possession limit and maximum size for trout is one fish, 12 inches long.

WATERS WITH SPECIAL FISHING REGULATIONS
These waters and DOW properties have more restrictive fishing regulations than standard bag
and possession limits, manner of take, fishing hours, etc. Special regulations are designed to
provide the best fishing and maintain the long-term welfare of fish. They include bag limits,
size limits and harvest restrictions. By reducing bag limits and requiring that certain fish be
returned to the water, larger fish may result. While many streams and rivers support a daily
bag and possession limit, anglers are asked to reduce their harvest by practicing voluntary,
selective harvest. If a specific water doesn’t appear in this list, statewide regulations apply.

NOTE: This brochure only includes fishing regulations, such as bag and possession limits. State
wildlife areas have additional regulations. If you plan to visit an SWA, you must consult the
DOW’s Colorado State Wildlife Areas brochure for regulations that apply to specific properties.



b. Fishing with flies and lures only from the Stockyard Bridge (Chaffee Co Rd 102) below Salida
downstream 7 ½ miles to the confluence with Badger Creek:

1. All rainbow trout must be returned to the water immediately.
Arkansas River, Middle Fork of the South Arkansas — Chaffee County
a. From the headwaters downstream to Boss Lake:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Augustora Creek —Archuleta County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Aurora (Senac) Reservoir —Arapahoe County
a. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.
b. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.
c. The minimum size for walleye is 18 inches long. Only one walleye or saugeye in the aggregate
greater than 21 inches long may be taken per day.

Bard Creek — Clear Creek County
a. From the headwaters downstream to the confluence with the west fork of Clear Creek:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Barker Reservoir — Boulder County
a. Ice fishing is prohibited.

Barr Lake —Adams County
a. The minimum size for walleye and saugeye is 15 inches long.
b. Only one walleye or saugeye in the aggregate more than 21 inches long may be taken per day.

Bear Creek — Conejos County
a. From the headwaters downstream to the confluence with the Conejos River:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Bear Creek — El Paso County
a. Fishing prohibited from the headwaters downstream to High Drive.

Bear Creek — Jefferson County
a. From the base of Evergreen Lake dam downstream to Bear Creek Reservoir:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. The bag and possession limit for trout (except rainbow trout) is two fish. All rainbow
trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Bear Creek —Montezuma County
a. From the headwaters downstream to the confluence with the Dolores River:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Bear Creek Reservoir — Jefferson County
a. The minimum size for walleye and saugeye is 15 inches long.
b. Only one walleye or saugeye in the aggregate more than 21 inches long may be taken per day.

Bear River — Garfield and Routt Counties
a. The whitefish bag limit is four fish and possession limit is eight fish.

Beaver Creek – Gunnison County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Beaver Creek —Mineral County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Beaver Creek Reservoir — Rio Grande County
a. Snagging for kokanee is permitted from Oct. 1-Dec. 31.

Beaver Creek, West — Gunnison County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Big Bend Creek — La Plata County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Big Creek Lake (Lower) — Jackson County
a. The bag and possession limit for lake trout and/or splake is three fish, only one of which may be
more than 26 inches long.
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Big Lake — Conejos County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Big Thompson Ponds — Larimer County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Big Thompson River — Larimer County
a. From the base of Olympus Dam at Lake Estes downstream to the bridge at Waltonia:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Black Hollow Creek — Larimer County
a. From the headwaters downstream to the confluence with the Poudre River:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Blanca Wildlife Habitat Area (BLM Ponds) —Alamosa County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.
b. Fishing is prohibited from Feb. 15-July 15.

Blue Mesa Reservoir — Gunnison County
a. Ice fishing shelters must be portable.
b. The bag and possession limit for lake trout is eight fish.
c. Snagging of kokanee is permitted from Nov. 1-Dec. 31.
d. Fishing prohibited Jan. 1-June 30 from high water line at reservoir upstream 1 mile in Coal Creek.

Blue River — Grand and Summit Counties
a. From the north inlet at Summit Co Rd 3 (Coyne Valley Rd. 3 miles north of Breckenridge)
downstream to Dillon Reservoir:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. Bag and possession limit and minimum size for trout is two fish, 16 inches long.

b. From Dillon Dam downstream to the north city limits of the town of Silverthorne:
1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.

c. From the north city limits of the town of Silverthorne downstream to the Colo 9 bridge over the
Blue River at Blue River State Wildlife Area:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. The bag and possession limit and minimum size for trout is two fish, 16 inches long.

d. From the Colo 9 bridge over the Blue River at Blue River State Wildlife Area downstream to
the Green Mountain Reservoir inlet:

1. Snagging for kokanee is permitted from Sept. 1-Dec. 31.
e. From Green Mountain Reservoir dam downstream to the Colorado River:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Bobtail Creek — Grand County
a. From the headwaters downstream to the Denver Water Board Diversion:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Bonny Reservoir —Yuma County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.
b. The minimum size for walleye and saugeye is 15 inches long. Only one walleye or saugeye in
the aggregate more than 21 inches long may be taken per day.

Boss Lake — Chaffee County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Boulder Creek — Boulder County
a. From the upper end of Eben Fine Park (within the City Limits of Boulder) downstream to 55th St:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Boulder Reservoir — Boulder County
a. The minimum size for walleye and saugeye is 15 inches long.
b. Only one walleye or saugeye in the aggregate more than 21 inches long may be taken per day.

Boyd Lake — Larimer County
a. The minimum size for largemouth bass, walleye and saugeye is 15 inches long.
b. The minimum size for smallmouth bass is 12 inches long.
c. Only one walleye or saugeye in the aggregate more than 21 inches long may be taken per day.



Brush Creek — Eagle County
a. Bag and possession limit for trout is 2 from the confluence with Eagle River upstream 2.5 miles.

Brush Creek, West — Eagle County
a. Fishing prohibited Sept. 1-Nov. 30 in the Sylvan Lake inlet and upstream for ½ mile.

Brush Hollow Reservoir — Fremont County
a. The minimum size for largemouth, smallmouth, and spotted bass is 15 inches long.

Bull Basin Reservoir #1 —Mesa County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit and minimum size for trout is two fish, 16 inches long.

Bull Creek Reservoirs #1 and #2 and Connecting Channels —Mesa County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit and minimum size for trout is two fish, 16 inches long.

Burgess Creek — Garfield and Routt Counties
a. The bag limit for whitefish is four fish.
b. The possession limit for whitefish is eight fish.

Button Rock (Ralph Price) Reservoir — Boulder County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.
c. Fishing is prohibited from Nov. 1-April 30.

Cabin Creek — Garfield County
a. Fishing prohibited from Trappers Lake upstream for ½ mile.

Canyon Creek – Garfield County
a. Fishing is prohibited March 15-May 15 and Oct. 1-Nov. 30 from the north side of the I-70
Bridge downstream to the confluence with the Colorado River.

Carnero Creek, Middle — Saguache County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Carnero Creek, North — Saguache County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Carnero Creek, South – Saguache County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Carter Creek — Grand County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Carter Lake — Larimer County
a. Snagging of kokanee is permitted from Oct. 1-Dec. 31.
b. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.
c. The bag limit for walleye is one fish 16-20 inches long. The possession limit for walleye is two
fish. All walleye shorter or longer must be returned to the water immediately.
d. It is illegal to possess filleted or cleaned fish in a boat on the lake.

Cascade Creek — Conejos County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Cascade Creek — Huerfano County
a. Fishing prohibited from the headwaters downstream to the US Forest Service boundary.

Cat Creek — Rio Grande and Conejos Counties
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Cat Creek, North Fork — Rio Grande County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Cat Creek, South Fork — Rio Grande County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Cataract Creek – Summit County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Chartier Pond —Morgan County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.
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Chatfield Reservoir — Jefferson and Douglas Counties
a. The minimum size for walleye and saugeye is 18 inches long.
b. Only one walleye or saugeye in the aggregate greater than 21 inches long may be taken per day.
c. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.
d. Fishing is prohibited from the dam and within 100 feet of the dam or walleye spawning
operation nets, from March 15-April 15 between 4 p.m. and 9 a.m.

Cheesman Reservoir — Douglas and Jefferson Counties
a. Fishing is prohibited from Jan. 1-April 30 and ½ hour after sunset until ½ hour before sunrise.
c. Fishing is prohibited on the dam and around the reservoir as posted.
d. Snagging of kokanee is permitted from Sept. 1-Dec. 31.
e. Ice fishing is prohibited.
f. Only one northern pike greater than 34 inches long may be taken per day.

Cherry Creek Reservoir —Arapahoe County
a. The minimum size for walleye and saugeye is 18 inches long.
b. Only one walleye or saugeye in the aggregate greater than 21 inches long may be taken per day.
c. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.
d. Fishing is prohibited from the dam and within 100 feet of the dam or walleye spawning opera-
tion nets, from March 15-April 15 between 4 p.m. and 9 a.m.

Cheyenne Creek, North — El Paso and Teller Counties
a. Fishing prohibited from the headwaters downstream to Gold Camp Road.

Chinns Lake – Clear Creek County
a. The bag and possession limit and minimum size for splake is two fish, 16 inches long.
b. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.

Cimarron River —Montrose County
a. Snagging of kokanee is permitted from Nov. 1-Dec. 31.

Clear Creek — Chaffee County
a. Kokanee snagging permitted Oct. 1-Dec. 31 from the gauging station (approximately ½ mile
above Clear Creek Reservoir) downstream to Clear Creek Reservoir.

Clear Creek — La Plata County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Clear Creek Holding Ponds —Adams County
a. Fishing is prohibited, except for youth participating in Division angler education activities.

Clear Creek Reservoir — Chaffee County
a. Snagging of kokanee is permitted from Oct. 1-Dec. 31.

Clear Lake — Jackson County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Clinton Reservoir — Summit County
a. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Cochetopa Creek — Saguache County
a. From Snyder Ranch downstream from Dome Lakes State Wildlife Area:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Colorado River — Garfield, Eagle, Grand, and Mesa Counties
a. Bag and possession limit for trout is two fish from Lake Granby Dam downstream to the US 40
bridge approximately 3 miles west of Hot Sulphur Springs.
b. From the US 40 bridge, approximately 3 miles west of Hot Sulphur Springs downstream to the
confluence with Troublesome Creek (approximately 5 miles east of Kremmling):

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.

c. Bag and possession limit for trout is two fish from Troublesome Creek downstream to the I-70
Exit 90 bridge at Rifle (excluding within 50 yards of Canyon, Grizzly and No Name Creeks).
d. 50 yards upstream and downstream of Canyon, Grizzly and No Name creeks:

1. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.
2. Fishing is prohibited from March 15-May 15 and Oct. 1-Nov. 30.

e. From the I-70 Exit 90 bridge at Rifle downstream to the state line:
1. There is no bag or possession limit for channel catfish, largemouth bass, smallmouth
bass, northern pike, walleye, green sunfish, bluegill, bullhead, yellow perch or crappie.

Colorado River, (North Fork) including Shadow Mountain Spillway — Grand County
a. Fishing prohibited Oct. 1-Dec. 31 from Shadow Mountain Dam spillway to Lake Granby,
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including Columbine Bay to the Twin Creek inlet.
Colorado Springs Water Supply Reservoirs #2 (Boehmer), #4 (Mason), #5 (McReynolds) — El
Paso and Teller Counties
a. Fishing prohibited in these reservoirs, including all inlets upstream for ½ mile and all outlets
downstream for ½ mile, within the City of Colorado Springs property line.

Como Creek — Boulder County
a. Fishing prohibited from the headwaters downstream to the confluence with North Boulder Creek.

Conejos River — Conejos County
a. From the lower bridge at the town of Platoro downstream to the South Fork of the Conejos River:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. Bag and possession limit and minimum size for trout is two fish, 16 inches long.

b. From Menkhaven Resort downstream to the upper boundary of Aspen Glade Campground:
1. Fishing is by artificial flies only.
2. Bag and possession limit and minimum size for trout is two fish, 16 inches long.

Conejos River, Lake Fork — Conejos County
a. From the headwaters including Big Lake, downstream to and including Rock Lake and its outlet:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Connected Lake —Mesa County
a. Bag and possession limit and minimum size for largemouth bass is two fish, 15 inches long.

Cooper Lake — Hinsdale County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Cornelius Creek — Larimer County
a. From the headwaters downstream to the confluence with George Creek:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Corral Creek – Summit County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Cottonwood Creek, Little —Moffat County
a. Fishing prohibited Jan. 1-July 31 from Freeman Reservoir upstream for ¼ mile.

Cottonwood Lake — Boulder County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Crawford Reservoir — Delta County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.
b. There is no bag or possession limit on yellow perch.
c. Only one northern pike greater than 34 inches long may be taken per day.
d. Fishing in the spillway, stilling basin and the outlet canal is prohibited from the fence on top of
the Crawford Reservoir dam downstream to the north boundary fence.

Crosho Reservoir – Rio Blanco County
a. The bag and possession limit and minimum size for grayling is two fish, 16 inches long.

Crystal Lake — Lake County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.

Crystal Reservoir —Montrose County
a. Snagging kokanee is permitted from Sept. 1-Dec. 31.

Culebra Creek — Costilla County
a. From the Colo 159 bridge downstream approximately 3 miles to the Jaquez Bridge:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.
3. Landowner permission and Colorado Courtesy Card required, available at San Luis
Visitor Center.

Cunningham Creek – Pitkin County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Daigre Lake — Huerfano County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. Ice fishing is prohibited.

Deep Creek — San Miguel County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.
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Deer Beaver Creek — Saguache County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Delaney Butte Lakes (North, South, and East) — Jackson County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only, or scented flies or lures 1.5 inches long or longer.
b. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.
c. All brown trout 14-20 inches long and rainbow or cutthroat trout 18-22 inches long must be
returned to the water immediately.
d. North Delaney Butte Lake:

1. Fishing is prohibited in the inlet, upstream of the standing water line. Also prohibited
from the dam and within 100 feet of the dam Sept. 15-Nov. 15.

e. South Delaney Butte Lake:
1. Fishing is prohibited in the inlet, upstream of the standing water line.

DePoorter Lake — Sedgwick County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Dixon Lake — Larimer County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Dolores River — Dolores and Montezuma Counties
a. From theWest Fork of the Dolores River downstream to standing water line of McPhee Reservoir:

1. Taking kokanee prohibited, except Nov. 15-Dec. 31 when snagging permitted.
b. From McPhee Dam downstream approximately 11 miles to the Bradfield Bridge:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Doty Park Lake —Morgan County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Doug Creek —Montrose County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Duke Lake —Mesa County
a. The bag and possession limit and minimum size for largemouth bass is two fish, 15 inches long.

Eagle River — Eagle County
a. From the East Fork and the South Fork downstream to the confluence with the Colorado River:

1. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.
East Pass Creek — Saguache
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately upon catch.

East River — Gunnison County
a. From the property boundary at the Roaring Judy Fish Hatchery to the Taylor River:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies only.
2. Bag and possession limit and maximum size for trout is two fish, 12 inches long.
3. Taking kokanee is prohibited.

b. Fishing prohibitedAug. 1-Oct. 31 from Roaring Judy Hatchery outlet downstream to property line.
Echo Canyon Reservoir —Archuleta County
a. Largemouth and smallmouth bass 12-15 inches long must be returned to the water immediately.

Elaine T. Valente Open Space Lakes, North Lake —Adams County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only, or scented flies or lures 1.5 inches or longer.
b. All fish must be returned to the water immediately upon catch.

Elevenmile Reservoir — Park County
a. Ice fishing shelters must be portable.
b. Bag and possession limit for trout is four fish, and only two may be more than 16 inches long.
c. Snagging kokanee is permitted Oct. 1-Dec. 31 on the lake side, east of the inlet buoy line.

Elk Creek — San Miguel County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Elk River — Routt County
a. The whitefish bag limit is four fish, the possession limit is eight fish.

Elk River (North, South and Middle Forks) — Routt County
a. The whitefish bag limit is four fish, the possession limit is eight fish.

Elkhead Reservoir – Moffat and Routt Counties
a. Only two bass in the aggregate greater than 15 inches long may be taken per day.
b. The bag and possession limit and minimum size for largemouth bass is two fish, 15 inches long.
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c. The bag and possession limit for crappie is 10 fish.
Emerald Lakes (Big and Little) – Hinsdale County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit and maximum size for trout is two fish, 14 inches long.
c. Fishing prohibited Jan. 1-July 15 in the Lake Creek inlet for ½ mile above Big Emerald Lake.

Evans City Lake (Riverside Park) —Weld County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Fairgrounds Lake — Boulder County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All largemouth and smallmouth bass must be returned to the water immediately.

Fawn Creek — Rio Blanco County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Fish Creek — Routt County
a. The whitefish bag limit is four fish and possession limit is eight fish.

Florida River – La Plata County
a. Kokanee snagging permitted Sept. 1-Dec. 31 from headwaters downstream to Lemon Reservoir.

Forbes Park Lake — Costilla County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All trout must be returned to the water immediately upon catch.

Fort Morgan Ponds —Morgan County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Four-Mile Creek — Garfield County
a. Fishing prohibited March 15-May 15 and Oct. 1-Nov. 30 from the confluence with the Roaring
Fork River upstream for ½ mile.

Frank Easement Ponds —Weld County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Fraser Creek — Garfield County
a. Fishing prohibited from Trappers Lake upstream for ½ mile.

Fraser River — Grand County
a. Bag and possession limit for trout is two fish from Ranch Creek downstream to Colorado River.

Freeman Reservoir —Moffat County
a. Fishing prohibited Jan. 1-July 31 within 50 yards of the inlet and upstream for ¼ mile.

French Gulch — Summit County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Fryingpan Lakes #2 and #3 — Pitkin County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Fryingpan River — Eagle and Pitkin Counties
a. From Ruedi Dam downstream to the Roaring Fork River, approximately 14 miles:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout (except brown trout) must be returned to the water immediately.
3. Bag and possession limit and maximum size for brown trout is two fish, 14 inches long.

George Creek — Larimer County
a. From the headwaters downstream to the confluence with Sheep Creek:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Golden Park Ponds #1, #2, #3, and #4 — Boulder County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Gore Creek – Eagle County
a. From the Red Sandstone Creek downstream to the confluence with the Eagle River:

1. Fishing by artificial flies and lures only.
2. Bag and possession limit and minimum size for trout is two fish, 16 inches long.

Grand Lake — Grand County
a. The bag and possession limit for lake trout is four fish, only one may be more than 36 inches
long. Oct. 1-June 30, all lake trout 26-36 inches long must be released immediately.
b. Ice fishing shelters must be portable.
c. Gaffs and tail snares are prohibited.

Grandview Ponds – Adams County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.
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Graneros Creek — Pueblo County
a. Fishing prohibited from the headwaters downstream to the US Forest Service Boundary.

Green Creek, Little — Grand and Routt County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Green Mountain Reservoir — Grand and Summit Counties
a. Snagging kokanee is permitted Sept. 1-Dec. 31.

Green River —Moffat County
a. There is no bag or possession limit for channel catfish, largemouth bass, smallmouth bass,
northern pike, walleye, green sunfish, bluegill, bullhead, yellow perch or crappie.

Griffith Reservoir – Mesa County
a. Fishing by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit and minimum size for trout is two fish, 16 inches long.

Grimes Creek — La Plata County
a. From the headwaters downstream to the standing water line of Vallecito Reservoir:

1. Kokanee must be returned to the water immediately Sept. 1-Nov. 14.
2. Snagging kokanee is permitted Nov. 15-Dec. 31.

Grizzly Creek — Garfield County
a. Fishing prohibited March 15-May 15 and Oct. 1-Nov. 30 from the confluence with the
Colorado River upstream for ½ mile.

Gross Reservoir — Boulder County
a. Fishing is prohibited between 9 p.m. and 4 a.m., or as posted at the main entrance.
b. Snagging kokanee is permitted Sept. 1-Jan. 31.

Groundhog Creek — Dolores County
a. Fishing prohibited April 15-July 15 from Groundhog Reservoir upstream for ½ mile.

Groundhog Reservoir — Dolores County
a. Fishing prohibited April 15-July 15 in Nash Creek and Groundhog Creek inlets upstream ½ mile.

Gunnison River — Delta, Gunnison and Montrose Counties
a. From the East and Taylor rivers downstream to the US 50 bridge:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. Bag and possession limit and minimum size for brown trout is two fish, 16 inches long.
3. All rainbow trout must be returned to the water immediately.

b. From the East and Taylor rivers downstream to standing water line of Blue Mesa Reservoir,
including tributary canals and diversions:

1. Taking kokanee is prohibited Aug. 1-Oct. 31.
2. Snagging kokanee is permitted Nov. 1-Dec. 31.

c. From Blue Mesa Dam downstream for 225 yards fishing prohibited as posted.
d. From the closure signs below Blue Mesa Dam downstream to Morrow Point Reservoir Dam:

1. Snagging kokanee is permitted Sept. 1-Dec. 31.
e. From Morrow Point Reservoir dam downstream for 130 yards fishing is prohibited, as posted.
f. From the closure sign below Morrow Point Reservoir dam downstream to Crystal Reservoir Dam:

1. Snagging kokanee is permitted Sept. 1-Dec. 31.
g. From Crystal Reservoir dam downstream for 200 yards fishing is prohibited, as posted.
h. From 200 yards downstream of Crystal Reservoir dam to the Relief Ditch diversion (5 miles
above Austin Bridge):

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All rainbow trout must be returned to the water immediately.

i. From the Uncompaghre River downstream to the confluence with the Colorado River:
1. No bag or possession limit for channel catfish, largemouth or smallmouth bass,
northern pike, walleye, green sunfish, bluegill, bullhead, yellow perch or crappie.

Gunnison River, Lake Fork — Gunnison and Hinsdale Counties
a. From the headwaters downstream to the waterfall at Sherman:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

b. Fishing with artificial flies only from first bridge crossing above Lake San Cristobal downstream
to Lake San Cristobal.
c. From the High Bridge Gulch downstream to the BLM boundary below The Gate campground:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. Bag and possession limit and minimum size for brown trout is two fish, 16 inches long.
3. All rainbow trout must be returned to the water immediately.

d. From the BLM boundary below The Gate campground to Cherry Creek:
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1. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.
e. From Cherry Creek downstream to the upper Red Bridge campground boundary:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. Bag and possession limit and minimum size for brown trout is 2 fish, 16 inches long.
3. All rainbow trout must be returned to the water immediately.

f. From the upper Red Bridge campground boundary downstream to Blue Mesa Reservoir:
1. Snagging kokanee is permitted Sept. 1-Dec. 31.

Gypsum Ponds SWA— Eagle County
a. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Hahn Creek — Rio Blanco County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Hallenbeck (Purdy Mesa) Reservoir —Mesa County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only, or scented flies or lures 1.5 inches or longer.
b. Largemouth bass 12-15 inches long must be released. Only two may be more than 15 inches
long.

Hamilton Creek — Grand County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Hanging Lake — Garfield County
a. Fishing is prohibited.

Harvey Gap Reservoir — Garfield County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.
b. The bag and possession limit for channel catfish is two fish.

Hat Creek — Eagle County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Haxtun City Lake (Gun Club Lake) — Phillips County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Hayden Creek, South Prong — Fremont County
a. Fishing prohibited from the headwaters downstream to the confluence with Hayden Creek.

Headache Creek —Archuleta County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Heberton Creek — Garfield County
a. Fishing prohibited from Trappers Lake upstream for ½ mile.

Hermosa Creek, East Fork — La Plata County
a. From the headwaters downstream to the confluence with Sig Creek:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Hidden Lakes — Lake County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Highline Reservoir —Mesa County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Himes Creek —Mineral County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Hine Lake — Jefferson County
a. The minimum size for largemouth bass is 18 inches long.

Hohnholz Lake #3 — Larimer County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit for trout is four fish.

Holyoke City Lake (Lions Club Fishing Hole) — Phillips County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Homestake Conveyance Channel (Spinney Mountain Reservoir inlet ditch) — Park County
a. Fishing is prohibited.

Horse Creek Reservoir (Timber Lake) — Bent and Otero Counties
a. Trotlines and jugs are permitted.

Horseshoe Reservoir — Huerfano County
a. The minimum size for largemouth, smallmouth, and spotted bass is 15 inches long.
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Horsetooth Reservoir — Larimer County
a. Fishing is prohibited in the inlet area as posted from March 15-May 31.
b. The minimum size for smallmouth bass is 12 inches long.
c. The minimum size for walleye and saugeye is 18 inches long. Only one walleye or saugeye in
the aggregate more than 21 inches long may be taken per day.

Huerfano River — Huerfano County
a. From the headwaters downstream to the US Forest Service boundary:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies or artificial lures only.
2. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Hunt Lake — Chaffee County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Illinois River — Jackson County
a. Within the Diamond J State Wildlife Area:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies or artificial lures only.
2. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Jackson Lake (Reservoir) — Morgan County
a. Ice fishing shelters must be portable.
b. The minimum size for walleye and saugeye is 15 inches long. Only one walleye or saugeye in
the aggregate greater than 21 inches long may be taken per day.
c. The minimum size for wipers is 15 inches long.
d. Fishing in the outlet ditch below the dam and around the rotary screen structure is prohibited.
f. Fishing prohibited Oct. 1 through end of waterfowl season on the portion of the lake in Jackson
State Wildlife Area.
g. On the portion of the lake within Jackson Lake State Park, fishing is prohibited Nov. 1 through
the last day of waterfowl season, except from the dam where bank fishing is allowed until Nov. 30.

Jerry Creek Reservoirs #1 and #2 —Mesa County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only, or scented flies or lures 1.5 inches or longer.
b. All fish must be returned to the water immediately.
c. Use of float tubes with chest-high waders is allowed.

Jim Creek — Conejos County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Joe Wright Creek — Larimer County
a. From the confluence with Joe Wright Reservoir upstream to Colo 14:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only and is prohibited Jan. 1-July 31.
2. The bag and possession limit for trout (except grayling) is two fish.

Joe Wright Reservoir — Larimer County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit for trout (except grayling) is two fish.

John Martin Reservoir — Bent County
a. Trotlines and jugs are permitted.
b. Bag and possession limit for walleye and saugeye is five fish in the aggregate, at least 15 inches long.
c. Only one walleye or saugeye in the aggregate greater than 21 inches long may be taken per day.

Johnstown Reservoir —Weld County
a. The minimum size for walleye and saugeye is 15 inches long.
b. Only one walleye or saugeye in the aggregate greater than 21 inches long may be taken per day.
c. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.
d. The minimum size for crappie is 10 inches long.

Jumbo (Julesburg) Reservoir — Logan and Sedgwick Counties
a. The minimum size for walleye and saugeye is 15 inches long.
b. Only one walleye or saugeye in the aggregate greater than 21 inches long may be taken per day.
c. The minimum size for wipers is 15 inches long.
d. The minimum size for crappie is 10 inches long.

Juniata Reservoir —Mesa County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only, or scented flies or lures 1.5 inches or longer.
b. All largemouth bass between 12-15 inches long must be returned to the water immediately.
Only two largemouth bass in any bag and possession limit may be more than 15 inches long.

Kelly Lake — Jackson County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.
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Kenney Reservoir — Rio Blanco County
a. There is no bag or possession limit for channel catfish, largemouth bass, smallmouth bass,
northern pike, walleye, green sunfish, bluegill, bullhead, yellow perch or crappie.

Kerr Lake — Conejos County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Ketner Lake — Jefferson County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Kingfisher Pond (Fort Collins Environmental Learning Center) — Larimer County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Kinney Creek (3 miles east of Hot Sulphur Springs) — Grand County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Kitson Reservoir —Mesa County
a. The bag and possession limit and minimum size for grayling is two fish, 16 inches long.

KOALake — Boulder County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Lagerman Reservoir — Boulder County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Lake Arbor — Jefferson County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.
b. The minimum size for walleye and saugeye is 15 inches long. Only one walleye or saugeye in
the aggregate greater than 21 inches long may be taken per day.

Lake Creek — Hinsdale County
a. Fishing prohibited Jan. 1-July 15 from Big Emerald Lake inlet upstream for ½ mile.

Lake Dorothey — Las Animas County
a. Fishing by artificial flies and lures only within the Lake Dorothey State Wildlife Area, including
Schwachheim Creek and all other drainages into the lake.

Lake Fork Creek — Lake County
a. From the headwaters downstream to the confluence with Glacier Creek:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Lake Granby including inlet streams — Grand County
a. The bag and possession limit for lake trout is four fish.
b. Jan. 1-Aug. 31: bag and possession limit for kokanee, trout (except lake trout) is four fish,
singly or in aggregate.
c. Sept. 1-Dec. 31: bag and possession limit for trout (except lake trout) is four fish, singly or in
aggregate. Bag and possession limit for kokanee is 10 fish.
d. Snagging kokanee is permitted in the lake Sept. 1-Dec. 31. It is prohibited in Columbine Bay
from the inlet of Twin Creek upstream.
f. Gaffs and tail snares are prohibited.
g. Ice fishing shelters must be portable.
h. Fishing prohibited Oct. 1-Dec. 31 in Columbine Bay from inlet of Twin Creek upstream.

Lake Isabelle — Boulder County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Lake John — Jackson County
a. The bag and possession limit for trout is four fish.

Laramie River — Larimer County
a. Within the Hohnholz State Wildlife Area:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Lester Creek — Routt County
a. For ¼ mile upstream and ¼ mile downstream from Pearl Lake:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. The bag and possession limit and minimum size for trout is two fish, 18 inches long.

Lon Hagler Reservoir — Larimer County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Lone Pine Creek — Larimer County
a. Fishing prohibited as posted from Parvin Lake to Larimer Co Rd 74E (Red Feather Lakes Rd).
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Lonetree Reservoir — Larimer County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.
b. The minimum size for wipers is 15 inches long.
c. The minimum size for walleye and saugeye is 15 inches long.
d. Only one walleye or saugeye in the aggregate more than 21 inches long may be taken per day.

Long Draw Creek (La Poudre Pass Creek) and Reservoir — Larimer County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Long Lake — Boulder County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.
c. Fishing prohibited May 1-July 15 in outlet stream of Long Lake to inlet bridge of Brainard Lake.

Los Pinos Creek — Saguache County
a. On Snyder Ranch (within the Cochetopa State Wildlife Area):

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All fish must be returned to the water immediately.

Los Pinos River — Hinsdale County
a. From the headwaters downstream to the Weminuche Wilderness boundary:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Lost Trail Creek — Gunnison County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Lowell Ponds — Adams County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Mack Mesa Reservoir — Mesa County
a. The bag and possession limit for largemouth bass is two fish.

Mad Creek — Routt County
a. The whitefish bag limit for is four fish and possession limit is eight fish.

Martin Lake — Huerfano County
a. The minimum size for largemouth, smallmouth, and spotted bass is 15 inches long.

May Creek — Larimer County
a. Fishing prohibited from the headwaters downstream to the confluence with the Poudre River.

McCall Lake — Boulder County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.
b. The minimum size for crappie is 10 inches long.

McKay Lake —Adams County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only, or scented flies or lures 1.5 inches or longer.
b. All largemouth bass must be returned to the water immediately.

McMurry Ponds — Larimer County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

McPhee Reservoir — Montezuma County
a. Largemouth and smallmouth bass 10-15 inches long must be returned to the water immediately.
b. Snagging for kokanee is permitted Sept. 1-Dec. 31.
c. There is no bag or possession limit for walleye.

Meadow Creek — Eagle County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Meadow Creek, East — Eagle County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Medano Creek — Saguache and Alamosa Counties
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Medano Creek, Hudson Branch — Saguache County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.
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Medano Creek, Little — Saguache County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Meredith Reservoir — Crowley County
a. Trotlines and jugs are permitted.

Michigan River — Jackson County
a. Within the Diamond J State Wildlife Area:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. Bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Middle Creek, East — Saguache County
a. From the headwaters downstream to the waterfall, about 2.5 miles upstream from Middle Creek:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Miners Creek — Saguache County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Mitchell Creek — Garfield County
a. From the headwaters downstream to the upper boundary of the Glenwood Springs Fish Hatchery:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Montgomery Reservoir — Park County
a. Ice fishing is prohibited at all times. Fishing is prohibited Dec. 1-May 31.
b. Fishing prohibited as posted on the south side of the reservoir and from the west face of the dam.

Monument Reservoir — Las Animas County
a. Snagging kokanee is permitted from Oct. 1-Dec. 31.

Morrison Creek — Routt County
a. The whitefish bag limit is four fish and possession limit is eight fish.

Morrow Point Reservoir — Gunnison and Montrose Counties
a. Snagging kokanee is permitted Sept. 1-Dec. 31.

Mount Elbert Forebay Reservoir — Lake County
a. The bag and possession limit for lake trout is one fish. All lake trout between 22-34 inches long
must be returned to the water immediately.

Mower Reservoir — Jefferson County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only, or scented flies or lures 1.5 inches or longer.
b. All fish must be returned to the water immediately.

Muddy Creek, Little - Grand County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Nash Creek — Dolores County
a. Fishing prohibited April 15-July 15 from Groundhog Reservoir upstream for ½ mile.

Native Lake — Lake County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Navajo Lake — Dolores County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.

Navajo Reservoir — Archuleta County
a. Trotlines are permitted.
b. Kokanee snagging permitted Sept. 1-Jan. 31 at Navajo State Park boat ramp, mooring cove.

Navajo River — Archuleta and Conejos Counties
a. From the headwaters downstream to Bridal Veil Falls:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Nee Grande Reservoir — Kiowa County
a. Trotlines and jugs are permitted.
b. Bag and possession limit for walleye and saugeye is five fish in the aggregate, at least 15 inches
long.
c. Only one walleye or saugeye in the aggregate greater than 21 inches long may be taken per day.
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Nee Noshe Reservoir — Kiowa County
a. Trotlines and jugs are permitted.
b. Bag and possession limit for walleye and saugeye is five fish in the aggregate, at least 15 inches long.
c. Only one walleye or saugeye in the aggregate greater than 21 inches long may be taken per day.

Nee So Pah Reservoir (Sweetwater and Jet) — Kiowa County
a. Trotlines and jugs are permitted.

Newlin Creek — Custer and Fremont Counties
a. Fishing prohibited from the headwaters downstream to the US Forest Service boundary.

Nickelson Creek — Pitkin County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

No Name Creek — Garfield County
a. From the confluence with the Colorado River upstream for ½ mile:
1. Fishing is prohibited March 15-May 15 and Oct. 1-Nov. 30.

Nolan Creek — Eagle County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

North Lake State Wildlife Area — Las Animas County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.

North Platte River — Jackson County
a. Within the Brownlee or Verner State Wildlife Areas:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

b. From the southern boundary of the Routt National Forest downstream to the Wyoming state line:
1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

North Platte River, North Fork — Jackson County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

North Shields Ponds — Larimer County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

North Sterling Reservoir — Logan County
a. The minimum size for walleye and saugeye is 15 inches long.
b. Only one walleye or saugeye in the aggregate greater than 21 inches long may be taken per day.
c. The minimum size for wipers is 15 inches long; only one wiper may be more than 25 inches long.
d. The minimum size for smallmouth bass is 12 inches long, largemouth bass is 15 inches long.

North Taylor Creek — Custer County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Northwater Creek — Garfield County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Osier Creek — Conejos County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Overland Trail Pond — Logan County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Paonia Reservoir (Muddy Creek) — Gunnison County
a. Fishing prohibited as posted from top of Paonia Dam to boundary fence below the stilling basin.

Parachute Creek, East Fork — Garfield County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Parvin Lake — Larimer County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.
c. Fishing prohibited as posted in the inlet stream (Lone Pine Creek) upstream to Larimer Co Rd
74E (Red Feather Lakes Rd).
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Pass Creek — Mineral County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately upon catch.

Pastorius Reservoir — La Plata County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Pasture Creek — La Plata and San Juan Counties
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Pearl Lake — Routt County
Including the inlet stream for ¼ mile above the inlet and the outlet stream for ¼ mile below outlet
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit and minimum size for trout is two fish, 18 inches long.

Pella Crossing Recreation Area Ponds (All Ponds) — Boulder County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only, or scented flies or lures 1.5 inches or longer.
b. All largemouth and smallmouth bass must be returned to the water immediately.

Pennock Creek — Larimer County
a. Fishing prohibited from headwaters downstream to the intersection with Signal Mountain Trail.

Piedra River — Archuleta County
a. From Piedra River bridge on USFS 631 (Piedra Road) to the lower boundary of the Tres Piedra
Ranch (1.5 miles above US 160):

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Piedra River, East Fork — Hinsdale and Mineral Counties
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Pikes Peak North Slope Reservoirs (Crystal, North Catamount and South Catamount
Reservoirs) — El Paso and Teller Counties
a. The bag and possession limit for lake trout is two fish.
b. Fishing by artificial flies and lures only in North Catamount Reservoir.

Pit D Pond — Boulder County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Poose Creek — Rio Blanco County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Porcupine Lake — Routt County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Poudre River — Larimer County
a. From Rocky Mountain National Park boundary downstream to Joe Wright Creek:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

b. From the upper boundary of the Big Bend campground downstream to Black Hollow Creek;
from west boundary of Hombre Ranch (below Rustic) downstream to Pingree Park Road/bridge;
and from the upper boundary of Gateway Park downstream to the North Fork of the Poudre River:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Poudre River, North Fork — Larimer County
a. From Divide Creek downstream to Bull Creek (above Halligan Reservoir) and from Milton
Seaman Reservoir downstream to the Poudre River:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies or artificial lures only.
2. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Poudre River, South Fork — Larimer County
a. Fishing prohibited from the Rocky Mountain National Park boundary downstream for 1 mile.

Prewitt Reservoir — Logan and Washington counties
a. The minimum size limit for walleye and saugeye is 15 inches long.
b. Only one walleye or saugeye in the aggregate more than 21 inches long may be taken per day.
c. The minimum size for wipers is 15 inches long.
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Pronger Pond — Logan County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Prospect Park Lakes — Jefferson County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.
b. Bass Lake and West Prospect Lakes only:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only, or scented flies or lures 1.5 inches or longer.
Prospect Ponds #2 and #3 — Larimer County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Pueblo Reservoir — Pueblo County
a. The minimum size for largemouth, smallmouth, and spotted bass is 15 inches long.
b. Bag and possession limit for walleye and saugeye is five fish in the aggregate, at least 18 inches long.
c. Only one walleye or saugeye in the aggregate greater than 21 inches long may be taken per day.
d. Underwater spearfishing is permitted July 16-March 14 only.
e. Fishing prohibited from dam and within 100 feet of dam, March 15-April 15 between 4 p.m.-9 a.m.
f. It is illegal to possess filleted or cleaned fish in a boat on the lake.

Purgatoire River, Middle Fork and South Fork — Las Animas County
a. Within the Bosque del Oso State Wildlife Area:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All fish must be returned to the water immediately.

Queens Reservoir, North and South — Kiowa County
a. Trotlines and jugs are permitted.

Quincy Reservoir — Arapahoe County
a. Fishing by artificial flies and lures only, or scented flies or lures 1.5 inches or longer.
b. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.
c. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 18 inches long.
d. Fishing access is controlled by Aurora Parks and Recreation as posted.
e. The minimum size for tiger muskie is 40 inches long.

Rampart Reservoir — El Paso County
a. Ice fishing is prohibited.
b. The bag and possession limit for lake trout is two fish.

Ranch Creek, North Fork — Grand County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Red Lion State Wildlife Area — Logan County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.
b. The minimum size for crappie is 10 inches long.

Rhodes Gulch — Conejos County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Ridgway Reservoir — Ouray County
a. Snagging kokanee is permitted Sept. 1-Dec. 31.

Rifle Gap Reservoir — Garfield County
a. The bag and possession limit and minimum size for smallmouth bass is two fish, 15 inches long.
b. All smallmouth bass must be returned to the water immediately upon catch from May 1-June 15.
c. The bag and possession limit and minimum size for walleye is three fish, 18 inches long.

Rio Blanco Lake — Rio Blanco County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.
b. Only one northern pike greater than 34 inches long may be taken per day.

Rio de Los Pinos — Conejos County
a. From the headwaters downstream to the waterfall at the South San Juan Wilderness boundary:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Rio Grande River — Hinsdale, Mineral and Rio Grande Counties
a. From the lower boundary of River Hill Campground downstream to the west fence of Masonic Park:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. Bag and possession limit for brown trout is two fish, no more than 12 inches long.
3. All rainbow trout must be returned to the water immediately.
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b. From the Colo 149 bridge at South Fork downstream to the Rio Grande Canal diversion structure:
1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. Bag and possession limit for brown trout is two fish, at least 16 inches long.
3. All rainbow trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Rio Lado Creek — Montezuma County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Riverbend Ponds #1, #2, #3, #4 and #5 — Larimer County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Road Beaver Creek — Gunnison County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Roaring Creek — Larimer County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Roaring Fork Creek — Grand County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Roaring Fork of the North Platte — Jackson County
a. Within the Odd Fellows or Manville State Wildlife Areas:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Roaring Fork River — Pitkin and Garfield Counties
a. From McFarlane Creek downstream to the upper Woody Creek bridge:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies only.
2. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.

b. From the upper Woody Creek bridge downstream to the Colorado River (excluding 50 yards
upstream and downstream from the confluences with Four-Mile Creek and Three-Mile Creek):

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. Bag and possession limit for trout is two fish, at least 16 inches long.

c. 50 yards upstream and downstream from confluences with Four-Mile Creek and Three-Mile Creek:
1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. The bag and possession limit and minimum size for trout is two fish, 16 inches long.
3. Fishing prohibited March 15-May 15 and Oct. 1-Nov. 30.

Rock Creek — Lake County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Rock Lake — Conejos County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Rocky Fork Creek — Pitkin County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Rocky Mountain Lake — Denver County
a. The minimum size for largemouth bass is 15 inches long.

Rosemont Reservoir — Teller County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. Ice fishing is prohibited.

Rough Canyon — Conejos County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Ruby Jewel Lake — Jackson County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Runyon/Fountain Lakes State Wildlife Area — Pueblo County
a. Ice fishing is prohibited.

Saguache Creek — Saguache County
a. From the Middle and South Forks downstream to the confluence with California Gulch:
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1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
Saguache Creek, Middle Fork — Saguache County
a. From the headwaters downstream to the South Fork of Saguache Creek:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
Saguache Creek, South Fork — Saguache County
a. From the headwaters downstream to the Middle Fork of Saguache Creek:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
Saint Vrain Creek (North) — Boulder County
a. From Horse Creek downstream to the inlet of Button Rock Reservoir:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Saint Vrain Creek (South) — Boulder County
a. From the headwaters downstream to the outlet of Long Lake:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

b. From the outlet of Long Lake downstream to the bridge at the inlet of Brainard Lake:
1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only. Fishing prohibited May 1-July 15.
2. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Saint Vrain State Park — Weld County
a. Bald Eagle Pond:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only, or scented flies or lures 1.5 inches or longer.
2. All largemouth bass must be returned to the water immediately.

San Francisco Creek (Middle andWest Forks), West San Francisco Lake — Rio Grande County
a. That portion on US Forest Service lands including West San Francisco Lake:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.

San Juan River — Archuleta County
a. Bag and possession limit for trout is two fish from the intersection of US 160 and US 84 down-
stream through Pagosa Springs to the intersection of Apache Street with the river.

Sawhill Ponds — Boulder County
a. The minimum size for all largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.
b. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only, or scented flies or lures 1.5 inches or longer on all
ponds except 1 and 1a.

Schwachheim Creek — Las Animas County
a. Fishing by artificial flies and lures only within the Lake Dorothey State Wildlife Area.

Second Creek — Delta County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Seeley Lake — Weld County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Service Creek — Grand and Routt Counties
a. The whitefish bag limit is four fish, possession limit is eight fish.

Severy Creek — El Paso County
a. Fishing prohibited from the headwaters downstream to the US Forest Service boundary.

Shadow Mountain Reservoir — Grand County
a. Ice fishing shelters must be portable.

Shadow Mountain Spillway — Grand County
a. From Shadow Mountain Reservoir downstream to Lake Granby, including Columbine Bay to
the Twin Creek inlet:

1. Snagging is prohibited at all times, fishing is prohibited Oct. 1-Dec. 31.
Sheep Creek — Conejos County
a. From the headwaters downstream to the Conejos River:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Sheep Creek — Larimer County
a. From the East and West Forks downstream to the confluence with the Poudre River:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
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2. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.
Sheep Creek, East and West Forks — Larimer County
a. From the headwaters downstream to the confluence of the East and West Forks:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Sherwin Lake — Clear Creek County
a. The bag and possession limit and minimum size for splake is two fish, 16 inches long.
b. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.

Silver Lake — Mesa County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit and minimum size for trout is two fish, 16 inches long.

Slater Creek, South Fork and West Prong of the South Fork — Routt County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Sloan Lake — Hinsdale County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Snell Creek — Rio Blanco County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Soda Creek — Routt County
a. The whitefish bag limit is four fish, possession limit is eight fish.

South Platte Park (Littleton) — Arapahoe County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

South Platte River — Douglas, Jefferson, Park and Teller Counties
a. From the confluence of the Middle and South Forks downstream to Spinney Mountain Reservoir:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout 12-20 inches long must be returned to the water immediately.
3. Bag and possession limit for trout is two fish, only one may be more than 20 inches long.

b. From the outlet of Spinney Mountain Reservoir downstream to the inlet of Elevenmile Reservoir:
1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All fish caught must be returned to the water immediately.
3. Portions may be closed to fishing as posted Sept. 15-Dec. 31 for kokanee spawning.

c. From immediately below Elevenmile Dam downstream to the Wagon Tongue Gulch Road
bridge at Springer Gulch (Elevenmile Canyon):

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.

d. From Cheesman Dam downstream to the upper Wigwam Club property line:
1. Fishing by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.

e. From the lower boundary of the Wigwam Club downstream to Scraggy View Picnic Ground:
1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. The bag and possession limit and minimum size for trout is two fish, 16 inches long.

f. From Strontia Springs Dam downstream to 300 yards upstream from the Denver Water Board's
Marston Diversion structure:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

South Platte River, Middle Fork — Park County
a. From the Colo 9 bridge (4.9 miles north of Garo) downstream to the South Fork of the South Platte:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout 12-20 inches long must be returned to the water immediately.
3. Bag and possession limit for trout is two fish, only one more than 20 inches long.

South Platte River, South Fork — Park County
a. From US 285 downstream to Antero Reservoir:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout 12-20 inches long must be returned to the water immediately.
3. Bag and possession limit for trout is two fish, only one more than 20 inches long.

b. FromAntero Reservoir downstream in the newly constructed channel to the existing channel:
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1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.

c. From lower boundary fence of Badger Basin State Wildlife Area downstream to Middle Fork of
the South Platte:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout 12-20 inches long must be returned to the water immediately.
3. Bag and possession limit for trout is two fish, only one more than 20 inches long.

Spinney Mountain Reservoir — Park County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit and minimum size for trout is one fish, 20 inches long.
c. Fishing prohibited ½ hour after sunset until ½ hour before sunrise. Ice fishing also prohibited.

Sprat-Platte Lake —Adams County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only, or scented flies or lures 1.5 inches or longer.
b. The minimum size for largemouth bass is 18 inches long.

Spruce Creek #1 — Grand County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Spruce Creek #3 — Summit County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Stalker Lake — Yuma County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Standley Lake — Jefferson County
a. The minimum size for walleye and saugeye is 15 inches long.
b. Only one walleye or saugeye in the aggregate greater than 21 inches long may be taken per day.

Stearns Lake — Boulder County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Steelman Creek — Grand County
a. From the headwaters downstream to the Denver Water Board Diversion:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Summit Reservoir — Montezuma County
a. The minimum size for largemouth bass is 15 inches long.

Swamp Lakes — Lake County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Swan River — Summit County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit and minimum size for trout is two fish, 16 inches long.

Swan River, North Fork — Summit County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Sylvan Lake — Eagle County
a. Fishing is prohibited Sept. 1-Nov. 30 in the inlet and upstream for ½ mile.

Tamarack Ranch Pond — Logan County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Taylor Creek, Little — Montezuma County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Taylor Park Reservoir — Gunnison County
a. Bag and possession limit for lake trout is three fish, only one more than 26 inches long.
b. Gaffs and tail snares are prohibited.
c. Snagging kokanee is permitted from Sept. 1-Dec. 31.

Taylor River — Gunnison County
a. Fishing prohibited as posted from the top of Taylor Dam and from the dam downstream 325 yards.
b. From 325 yards below Taylor Dam downstream to the lower boundary of the Taylor State
Wildlife Area (approximately 0.4 miles):
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1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Teller Lake and Teller Lake No. 5— Boulder County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Three Lakes (Lowest and Middle Lakes) — Lake County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Threemile Creek — Garfield County
a. Fishing prohibited March 15-May 15, Oct. 1-Nov. 30 from Roaring Fork River upstream ½ mile.

Timberline Lake — Lake County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Torsido Creek — Conejos County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Totten Reservoir — Montezuma County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Trapper Creek — Garfield County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Trappers Lake — Garfield County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. Bag and possession limit for cutthroat trout is two fish. No bag or possession limit on brook
trout. All fish more than 11 inches long must be returned to the water immediately.
c. Fishing prohibited in inlets and upstream for ½ mile, within 100 feet of either side of inlet and
outlet streams, and downstream to the first falls.

Trinidad Reservoir — Las Animas County
a. The minimum size for largemouth, smallmouth, and spotted bass is 15 inches long.
b. Bag and possession limit for walleye and saugeye is five fish in the aggregate, at least 15 inches.
c. Only one walleye or saugeye in the aggregate greater than 21 inches long may be taken per day.

Trout Creek — Rio Blanco and Routt Counties
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.
c. The whitefish bag limit is four fish, possession limit is eight fish.

Turquoise Reservoir — Lake County
a. The bag and possession limit for lake trout is two fish.

Tuttle Creek — Saguache County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Twin Lakes — Lake County
a. The bag and possession limit for lake trout is one fish. All lake trout 22-34 inches long must be
returned to the water immediately.

Two Ledge Reservoir — Jackson County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.

Uncompahgre River — Ouray County
a. From the Ouray Co Rd 23 bridge downstream to Ridgway Reservoir:

1. Snagging kokanee permitted Sept. 1-Dec. 31.
b. Fishing prohibited, except as posted, Ridgway dam downstream to fence below USGSGauge Station.
c. From the fence below USGS Gauge Station below Ridgway Dam downstream to Cow Creek:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Union Reservoir (Calkins Lake) — Weld County
a. The minimum size for crappie is 10 inches long.
b. The minimum size for wipers is 15 inches long.

Vallecito Creek — La Plata and San Juan Counties
a. From the headwaters downstream to the southern boundary of the Weminuche Wilderness:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
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2. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.
b. From southern boundary ofWeminucheWilderness downstream to the La Plata Co Rd 501 bridge:

1. Kokanee must be returned to the water immediately from Sept. 1-Nov. 14.
2. Snagging kokanee is permitted from Nov. 15-Dec. 31.

c. From La Plata Co Rd 501 bridge downstream to the standing water line of Vallecito Reservoir:
1. Fishing is prohibited Sept. 1-Nov. 14.
2. Snagging kokanee is permitted Nov. 15-Dec. 31.

Vasquez Creek, Little and South Fork— Grand County:
a. From the headwaters downstream to the Denver Water Board Diversion and on South Fork:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Vaughn Reservoir — Rio Blanco County
a. The bag and possession limit for cutthroat trout is two fish.

Virginia Gulch Creek, West — La Plata County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Virginia Lake — Lake County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

Wacker Ponds (formerly known as Hanson Bros. Ponds) — Morgan County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass 15 inches long.

Wahatoya State Wildlife Area — Huerfano County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and only.
b. Ice fishing is prohibited.

Walden Ponds (except Wally Toevs Pond) — Boulder County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only, or scented flies or lures 1.5 inches or longer.
b. All largemouth and smallmouth bass must be returned to the water immediately.

Walker Lake State Wildlife Area — Mesa County
a. Fishing is prohibited from Oct. 1 through the last day of February.

Walton Creek — Routt County
a. The whitefish bag limit is four fish, possession limit is eight fish.

Waneka Lake (Lafayette) — Boulder County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Ward Road Pond — Jefferson County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only, or scented flies or lures 1.5 inches or longer.
b. All fish must be returned to the water immediately.

Washington Park (Lily Pond) — Denver County
a. Fishing is restricted to youth 15 years old or younger.

Watson Lake — Larimer County
a. The minimum size for smallmouth bass is 12 inches long.

West Creek — Mesa County
a. Bag and possession limit for trout is two fish from the Colo 141 Bridge downstream to Ute Creek.

West Cross Creek — Eagle County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

White River — Rio Blanco County
a. Bag and possession limit for trout is two fish from headwaters of the White River downstream
to the Colo 13 Bridge below Meeker (excluding the Sleepy Cat easement, Wakara lease, and the
Meeker Pasture State Wildlife Area).
b. On the Sleepy Cat easement, Wakara Lease, and the Meeker Pasture State Wildlife Area:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.

c. From the confluence with Piceance Creek downstream to Kenney Reservoir:
1. No bag or possession limit for channel catfish, largemouth bass, smallmouth bass,
northern pike, walleye, green sunfish, bluegill, bullhead, yellow perch or crappie.

d. Fishing prohibited as posted from Taylor Draw Dam downstream 400 yards.
e. From 400 yards below Taylor Draw Dam downstream to the state line:
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1. No bag or possession limit for channel catfish, largemouth bass, smallmouth bass,
northern pike, walleye, green sunfish, bluegill, bullhead, yellow perch or crappie.

White River, North and South forks — Rio Blanco County
a. Bag and possession limit for trout is two from headwaters downstream to Colo 13 bridge below
Meeker (excluding Sleepy Cat easement, Wakara lease and Meeker Pasture State Wildlife Area).
See White River — Rio Blanco County listing.

Williams Fork Reservoir — Grand County
a. Snagging kokanee is permitted from Sept. 1-Dec. 31.
b. Northern pike between 26-34 inches long must be returned to the water immediately.
c. From the buoy line at the Williams Fork River inlet upstream to the first Grand Co Rd bridge:

1. Fishing and snagging are prohibited from Sept. 15-Nov. 30.
Williams Fork River — Grand County
a. FromWilliams Fork Dam downstream to the confluence with the Colorado River:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Williams Gulch — Larimer County
a. Fishing prohibited from the headwaters downstream to the Poudre River.

Willow Creek (Little Snake drainage) — Moffat County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Willow Creek Reservoir — Grand County
a. Ice fishing shelters must be portable.

Windsor Reservoir — Weld County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Wolf Creek — Conejos County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Woods Lake State Wildlife Area — San Miguel County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.

Wrights Lake — Chaffee County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.

Yampa River — Routt County
a. From the headwaters to Trout Creek (including tributaries):

1. The whitefish bag limit is four fish, possession limit is eight fish.
b. From Stagecoach Dam downstream for 0.6 mile:

1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.

c. From 0.6 miles below Stagecoach Dam downstream toWalton Creek, excluding Catamount Lake:
1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. The bag and possession limit for trout is two fish.

d. FromWalton Creek downstream 4.8 miles to the James Brown bridge, in Steamboat Springs:
1. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
2. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.

e. Bag and possession limit for trout is two from James Brown bridge downstream to Colo 394 bridge
near Craig.
f. From the headwaters of the Yampa River downstream to the confluence with the Green River:

1. There is no bag or possession limit for channel catfish, largemouth bass, smallmouth
bass, northern pike, walleye, green sunfish, bluegill, bullhead, yellow perch or crappie.

Youngs Creek Reservoirs #1, #2, and #3 — Delta County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All cutthroat trout must be returned to the water immediately.

Yuma City Lake — Yuma County
a. The minimum size for largemouth and smallmouth bass is 15 inches long.

Zimmerman Lake — Larimer County
a. Fishing is by artificial flies and lures only.
b. All trout must be returned to the water immediately.
c. Fishing is prohibited in the inlet area as posted from Jan. 1-July 31.
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34

SOUTH PLATTE RIVER FISHING REGULATIONS FROM CHEESMAN
RES. TO CHATFIELD RES.

Fly/lure only; catch and release; return trout to water immediately.

Fly/lure only; 2 trout limit, 16 inches or longer.

Fly/lure only; 2 trout limit.

Chatfield Res.

Marston Diverson

Strontia Springs
Res. DamNorth Fork

Scraggy View P.G.

DeckersWigwam P.G.
Wigwam Club (private)
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River Drainages
South Platte, North Republican, Arkansas and South Republican rivers

COLORADO 
MASTER ANGLER PROGRAM

The Division of Wildlife’s Master Angler Award Program recognizes anglers
who catch fish of trophy size and promote conservation. There are two cate-
gories: fish that are kept and fish released. Awards are based on fish length,
so fish can be measured and released. Anglers who catch a fish of qualifying
length receive a Master Angler certificate and patch. Those who achieve
record status also receive a matching lapel pin. Anglers can win multiple cer-
tificates but only one patch per year. Only fish caught in Colorado are eligi-
ble. Entrants must have hooked, played, landed or released the fish. Snagged
fish are ineligible. Fish length is measured from the jaw tip to tail tip. Entries
must be submitted within 60 days of catch. A clear, side-view photograph of
the fish must accompany entries with one witness verification. Two witnesses
are required for entries without photos. For an entry form, contact the Master
Angler Award Program, Colorado Division of Wildlife, 6060 Broadway,
Denver, 80216, or go to www.wildlife.state.co.us.
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AQUATIC NUISANCE SPECIES
Colorado’s aquatic ecosystem and fisheries are

threatened by several imported diseases, animals and
plants, including zebra and quagga mussels, New
Zealand mudsnails, whirling disease, viral hemorrhagic
septicemia (VHS) and Eurasian watermilfoil. 

Don’t let these ruin your fishing trip. Anglers are
asked to follow these guidelines to help control the
spread of these pests and prevent new species from
entering our state:
1. Remove all plants, animals, or mud, and thoroughly
wash boats, trailers, waders and equipment that have
come in contact with the water before leaving a lake
or stream.

2. Drain water from boats, including live wells, bilge,
ballast, storage areas or any other place on boats or
equipment that might hold water.

3. Allow boats, engines, boots and gear to dry com-
pletely before moving to another body of water.

4. If draining and drying are not possible, wash boats,
trailers and equipment carefully and completely with
high-pressure hot water (140 degrees F).

5. Don’t move or transport
fish between waters. This
can spread diseases and nui-
sance species.

6. Don’t dispose of fish
entrails or other byproducts
into any body of water.

7. For general disinfection,
soak/treat equipment and
waders for 15 minutes with a
bleach solution (6 oz. house-
hold bleach per 5 gal. water),
a solution of Sparquat 256 (4
oz. per gal. water) or a solu-
tion of potassium chloride (1
tsp per 2 gal. water.

Go to the “Invasive Species”
section on the DOW Web site
at www.wildlife.state.co.us/
WildlifeSpecies/Profiles/ for
more information. 

Gold Medal Waters
These lakes and streams in
Colorado offer the greatest poten-
tial for trophy trout fishing: 

» Gold Medal Streams
Animas River: From Lightner
Creek to Rivera Crossing
bridge

Blue River: From Dillon Res dam
to Green Mountain Res inlet;
also from  Green Mountain Res
dam to Colorado River 

Colorado River: From Fraser
River to Troublesome Ck 

Fryingpan River: From Ruedi
Res dam to Roaring Fork River 

Gore Creek: From Red
Sandstone Ck to Eagle River 

Gunnison River: From 200
yards downstream of Crystal
Res dam to relief ditch diver-
sion (5 miles upstream of
Austin bridge)

North Platte River: From south
boundary of Routt National
Forest to Wyoming 

Rio Grande: From Hwy 149
bridge at South Fork down-
stream to Rio Grande canal
diversion structure

Roaring Fork River: From
Fryingpan River to Colorado
River 

South Platte River:
» From confluence of middle
and south forks to Spinney
Mountain Res Inlet
» From Spinney Mountain Res
outlet to Elevenmile Res inlet
» From Cheesman Res dam to
south boundary of Wigwam
Club property
» From north boundary of
Wigwam Club property to
Scraggy View picnic ground
» Middle fork, from Hwy 9
bridge to south fork confluence

» Gold Medal Lakes
North Delaney Butte Lake in
Jackson County

Spinney Mountain Res in Park
County

Steamboat Lake in Routt County

ATTENTION
BOATERS

Due to aquatic nui-
sance species and
other factors, some
waters may be closed
to boating, restrict
access and/or require
boat inspections at
any time during the
year. Please contact
the appropriate man-
agement agency for
up-to-date informa-
tion on specific
waters before going
on your trip.

75 CENTS, AT WORK FOR YOU
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The Wildlife Management Public
Education Advisory Council uses the
75-cent Wildlife Education Fee
funds for public education about the importance of
wildlife management. Management is funded primarily
through hunting and fishing license sales. Look for our
ads on TV and billboards throughout Colorado, or visit
the Web site at www.keepingcoloradowild.org.
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POPULAR COLORADO SPORTFISH

Cutthroat (Native) Trout - Cutthroat have a crimson slash on
either side of the throat beneath the lower jaws. The green-
back cutthroat trout is Colorado’s official state fish.

Brown Trout - Spotting pattern is made up of black spots
and red-orange spots inside light blue circles.

Rainbow Trout - Identifying marks are black spots on a light
body and red stripe along sides.

Brook Trout - Pectoral, pelvic and anal fins often orange,
edged with black and white. Body is dark with white and red
spots inside blue circles.

Kokanee Salmon - At the end of their third summer, females
develop a red-gray-white pattern. Males develop hook jaw
and turn brick red.

Lake Trout (Mackinaw) - Has a white, irregular spot pattern
on dark body. Veriform markings over back and head. Unlike
other trout, they have a deeply indented tail fin.

Mountain Whitefish - The mouth is smaller than a
trout’s, and mouth does not extend to below center of
the eye as on a trout.

Bluegill - Opercle (ear flap) is dark to its edge and a
dark blotch at the back of dorsal fin rays. Small mouth.

Walleye - Have large, well-developed canine teeth
and large eyes with milky corneas.

Largemouth Bass - Upper jaw extends beyond eye
and often has horizontal stripe extending the length
of body.

Smallmouth Bass - Upper jaw does not extend
beyond eye and fish usually has vertical stripes along
sides.

Wiper - Hybrid between white bass and striped bass.


