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Products from Colorado Qutdoors

Colorado Outdoors Big Game 7.0 CD by HuntData

The 7.0 version of the Big Game CD includes:

* Extensive data analysis tools.

- Concentration overlays for all big game species

« Big game migration routes and migration cooridors

- Sheep, goat and moose kill sites

» 1:500,000 BLM land ownership, USGS
topo and USGS shaded relief
maps

See www.huntdata.com for more
features.

Window 95, 98,2000, XP and

Vista.— $49.95

Down to the Bone

DVD is a quick and

easy method for

deboning an elk in the

field.By removing the

bones and other inedible

portions of the animal, hunters

can reduce the weight by more

than 50 percent.No more sawing

and quartering.— $17.95

Dressing & Cooking Wild Game

is a complete guide to field dress-

ing and preparing great-tasting

meals from big game, small game,

upland birds and waterfowl. Full-

color. 160 pages.— $23.95

ORD E R F o R M Prices include shipping and handling

Price Qty | Total
Down to the Bone DVD $1795 |
Big Game CD, Deluxe Edition 54995 |
Dressing and Cooking Wild Game ~ $23.95 _ |

SHOP ONLINE AT wildlife.state.co.us/shopDOW

Name

Address

City State Zip

Daytime phone

METHOD OF PAYMENT
Chargemy __ Visa __ MasterCard __ MasterCard

Account No. Exp.Date

Signature

6060 Broadway, Denver, CO 80216
(303) 297-1192

OPERATION GAME THIEF

Operation Game Thief (OGT) is a non-profit organization wor
with the DOW's law enforcement program. It pays rewards to
zens who report poachers or resource violations. Callers don
have to reveal their names, testify in court or sign a depositio
Rewards are paid if the information leads to the arrest of a pa
or a citation is issued. Rewards do not depend on a convictio
must be requested when a violation is reported. Call tollfree,
(877) COLOOGT. The number should not be used for inform
tion requests or emergencies.
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The Wildlife Commission sets big game regulations at its January
meeting.Wildlife commissioners (as of Jan. 2009): Robert Bray, chair; Brad
vice chair; Tim Glenn, secretary; Jeffrey A. Crawford, member; Roy McAnal

member; Robert Streeter, member; Harris Sherman, ex-officio member; Jo
Stulp, ex-officio member.

The Colorado Division of Wildlife of the Department of Natural Resources p
hibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin
disabilities in all aspects of employment and public participation in its progrg
and services. For information or to register a complaint, contact the Colorad
Division of Wildlife, 6060 Broadway, Denver, 80216, or call (303) 297-1192.
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NOTICE

This brochure is not a legal notice nor a complete collection of hunting regulations and
laws. It is a condensed guide issued for hunters’ convenience. You can find copies of
wildlife statutes and regulations on our website, www.wildlife.state.co.us or at any DOW

office.



2009 DEER, ELK,
PRONGHORN, BEAR

& MOOSE HUNTING

APPLICATION DEADLINE:
APRIL 7, 2009
Midnight postmark acceptable.

What's New for 2009

Mandatory Moose Inspection:All moose harvested must be presented
to the DOW for inspection. See “Mandatory Inspection: Moose.”

Youth Pronghorn: Youths with unfilled doe or either-sex pronghorn
licenses can continue hunting in a December doe season in certain unit
in southeast Colorado. See “Late Youth Pronghorn.”

Season Choice License&xperimental private-land-only doe deer
licenses are available in three units in northeast Colorado. See “Season
Choice Licenses.”

New Moose Units OpenedUnits 41,42, 52, 411, 421 and 521 are

LICENSE OPTIONS
Leftover Licenses:Limited licenses remaining after the drawing.
Offered in the leftover drawing. Sold by phone, at DOW offices andl
license agents starting 9 a.m., Aug. 11; online Aug. 12.
Limited Licenses: Limited in number; by application and drawing
only for specific units and dates.
Over-the-Counter Licenses With CapsA preset number available
first come, first served. Sold online, by phone or at DOW offices an
license agents, starting 9 a.m., July 14.
Private-Land-Only Licenses:By application and drawing fapecific
units on private land and State Trust Lands not leased by the B&whing
For Wildlife licenses are not private-land-only licenses.
SRanching For Wildlife: Public RFW licenses available only to
Colorado residents by drawing for specific seasons and ranches
Unlimited Licenses:Sold online, by phone and at DOW offidegnse
agentsstarting July 14, 9 a.m.
Note: The DOW conducts big game counts with planes and helicopters
late seasons. The counts must occur at this time and may disperse anin

n
nals.

now open to moose hunting.

Doe Deer FeesReducedicense fees are no longer offered for doe
deer hunting in 2009 as they were last year in a few units.

License Year ChangeStarting April 1, 2009, the license year
changes for annual small game licenses, fishing licenses, senior
fishing licenses, combination small game and fishing licenses,

LICENSE SALES CUTOFF DATES

Only DOW offices sell licenses after the following dates:
ARCHERY BEAR: Midnight, Sept. 1.
MUZZLELOADING BEAR: Midnight, Sept. 11.

furbearer licenses, habitat stamps, Colorado waterfowl stamps and’LAINS RIFLE BEAR: Midnight, preceding opening day.

walk-in access permits. These licenses are valid from April 1
through March 31.

LEAD BULLETS IN GAME MEAT

from eating wild game harvested with lead bullets. Ingesting lead from a vari-
ety of sources can cause significant health problems, especially in yound chil-
dren and pregnant women. Not enough research has been done to fully|evalu-
ate potential health risks that may be associated with lead in game meat, but
data from a recent study suggest these risks are low for most people. THe
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment and DOW offer|rec-
ommendations to minimize exposure to lead in wild game:
*Lead fragments cannot be eliminated with complete certainty, so pregnant
women and children younger than 6 should avoid eating meat from garrfe ani-
mals harvested with lead bullets. These groups are more sensitive to thd health
effects of lead, and ingesting even small amounts may be harmful. Lead can
affect the development of infants and young children

*Hunters can eliminate lead in their game meat by using lead-free bullets.
*When processing an animal, liberally trim and discard meat damaged hy the
bullet because lead fragments may scatter some distance from the visib|
wound. Discard meat that is bruised, discolored or contains hair, dirt, graks, vis-
ible bone or lead fragments.

*Lead is a soft metal that can be ground with meat, spreading lead contamina-
tion through an entire batch of ground meat. Lead has been found more|often
in ground meat than whole meat cuts. To minimize the amount of procegsed
game meat potentially contaminated with lead, clean the grinder freque
preferably between each animal. Ask your commercial processor to progess
your animal individually to avoid cross-contamination from batching mul
animals.

o

or a commercial processor, there is still a chance small amounts of lead may
remain in the meat if lead bullets have been used.

RIFLE ELK, BEAR:
1st season bear only, Oct. 10-14, cutoff: Oct. 9, midnight.
2nd combined rifle, Oct. 17-25 cutoff: Oct. 16, midnight.
3rd combined rifle, Oct. 31-Nov. 6, cutoff: Oct. 30, midnight.
4th season bear onipv. 11-15, cutoffNov. 10, midnight.

Recently, concerns have been raised abou the potential risk of exposure to lead (CENSE REQUIREMENTS

1. You must have a license to hunt and carry it while hunting.
2.You can hunt only the animal, season and area stated on the license.
3.ltis illegal to give false information to obtain a license. It also is

illegal to alter a license or to loan, transfer, sell or give your license to
someone.

4.1f you lose or destroy your license, you can get a duplicate before
the season opens from a license agent for a fee. After the season
begins, duplicate available only at DOW offices.

5. Licenses expire on the date stated on them.

HUNTER EDUCATION (SAFETY)

Hunters born on or after Jan. 1, 1949, must have completed an
approved hunter education course or bowhunter education course
(for archery licenses only) sanctioned by a state or province before
applying for or purchasing a license. Colorado honors hunter educa-
tion courses from other states and provinces. You must present an
original hunter safety card when buying a license. Noust carry

your hunter education card when hunting unless “Verified” is
printed by the DOW on your license.

*Even if a carcass is processed using these recommendations, whetherjat home



HABITAT STAMP REQUIREMENTS
For License Buyers:A habitat stamp is required of people 1
64 who buy hunting or fishing licenses. With a license pur-
chase, the stamp is $5 and required with the first 2 license
bought per year ($10 total). The stamp allows access to st
wildlife areas and state trust lands leased by the DOW.
For Wildlife and Outdoor Enthusiasts: A habitat stamp is
required of all people 19-64 who visit a state wildlife area d
state trust land leased by the DOW. This stamp is $10.25
cent search and rescue fee).
Lifetime Stamp: Anyone can buy a $200 lifetime stamp to
satisfy these requirements.

Licenses arblOT mailed until you meet your habitat stamp requirement.

RESIDENCY QUALIFICATIONS

These are the requirements to qualify as a Colorado resident to
buy a hunting license:

1.You must have lived continuously in Colorado at least six
months immediately before applying for or buying a license, and
must intend to make Colorado home (except #2 and 3 below).
The residence address you give to buy or apply for a license
must be the same as on your Colorado income tax return.
2.U.S. military personnel and military personnel of U.S. allies on
active duty in Colorado under permanent orders and their
dependents. This includes people who were Colorado residents
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YOUTH PREFERENCE

1. Up to 15 percent of limited doe pronghorn, doe and either-sex
deer, and cow elk licenses in regular rifle and private-land-only
rifle seasons (except late rifle, muzzleloading, Ranching For
Wildlife and Air Force Academy) are available for youths, 12-17,
who meet hunter education requirements. These licenses are
available by drawing. Licenses not drawn by youths are available
to the public.

2. Group applications are not accepted. If you enter more than 1
hunt code on your application, all hunt codes must be eligible for
youth preferences as in #1 above.

LATE YOUTH ELK HUNTS

Youths, 12-17, may keep hunting if they don't harvest an elk
before their elk season ends. This is available to youths with
unfilled cow or either-sex elk licenses. Youths with unfilled bull
elk licenses are not eligible.

1. The elk season for which the original license was issued must
have ended. Youths can go to the elk tables in this brochure and
pick from any cow only elk season still open after the fourth reg-
ular rifle season ends, including private-land-only seasons.
Ranching For Wildlife Licenses excluded.

2.Youths must follow rules for the hunt code they select, includ-
ing season dates and geographic restrictions. If the unit table
indicates a hunt is valid on private land only, youths can hunt
only on private land. If the unit tables don't state “private land

of record, and their dependents (with Colorado as their home of
record). Also included are personnel of the U.S. Diplomatic
Service or diplomatic services of nations recognized by the U.S.
assigned here on permanent active duty oetheitheir depend-
ents. Active duty does not includeserve status or National Guard.

3. Full-time students enrolled and attending an accredited
Colorado college, university or trade school at least six months
immediately before applying for or buying a license. This
includes students who are temporarily absent from Colorado but
still enrolled. Colorado residents who attend school full time out
of state and pay nonresident tuition still qualify for a resident
license.

4. Children under 18 have the same residency status as their par

ent, legal guardian or person with whom they live most of the
time per court order.

5.1f you have a home in Colorado and another state, call (303)
297-1192 to make sure you comply with Colorado residency
requirements before obtaining a hunting or fishing license.

6. Except as in #2 and 3 above, you lose your Colorado residen-

cy if you apply for, buy or accept a hunting or fishing license as a

resident of another state or country; register to vote outside
Colorado or get a driver’s license using an address in another
state.

YOUTH BIG GAME LICENSES

Youths must be at least 12 and meet hunter education require-
ments. At age 11, youths can buy or apply for a license if they
turn 12 before the end of season on the license. Youths cannot
hunt with the license until they turn 12cense fees are reduced
for deer, elk and pronghorn licenses for youths, 12-linhters

under 16 must be accompanied by a mentor, 18 or older, who
meets hunter education requiremelientors don't have to hunt.
Youths and mentors must be able to see and hear each other
while hunting.Youths cannot apply for a reduced-cost limited
license if they turn 18 on or before Feb. 12 this year. Youths must
be 12-17 to buy a reduced-cost unlimited or leftover license.

required before hunting on private land.

3. Youths with an unfilled either-sex elk license must go to a
DOW office and get it converted to a cow license before hunting
in one of these late seasons.

4. A mentor must accompany youths under 16.

5. Mentors can hunt with a youth only if the mentor’s license is
valid for the same unit, dates and geographic restrictions as the
youth’s.

6. Youths who obtained their original license at age 17 and later
turn 18 can patrticipate in these late seasons. Youth hunting rules

apply.

LATE YOUTH PRONGHORN

NEW FOR 2009:Youths, 12-17, can participate in any

December pronghorn doe season in units 110, 111, 112, 113, 114,
115, 118, 119, 123, 124, 125, 126, 128, 129, 133, 134, 135, 140,
141, 142, 147, if they have an unfilled pronghorn doe license for
a season that has ended. Youths with an unfilled either-sex prong-
horn license must bring that license to a DOW office and get it
converted to a doe license before hunting in a December season.
Youths must comply with all regulations that apply to the
December season they hunt. Unfilled pronghorn buck licenses
may not be used to participate in this program.

YOUTH OUTREACH LICENSES

Youth Outreach licenses are offered for deer, elk and pronghorn
to qualified organizations sponsoring youth hunting activities.
Application procedures are on our website,
wildlife.state.co.us/Hunting/HunterOutreach/YouthLicensingPrograms.

RANCHING FOR WILDLIFE

Public RFW licenses are available only to Colorado residents
by drawing. Licenses are valid only for the season and ranch
specified. RFW landowners must provide free access to hunters
who draw a public license for their ranch. By applying for a
RFW license, hunters allow the DOW to provide applicant
information to the ranch. Hunting rules differ for each ranch.
Read ranch rules before applying on our website.



SEASON CHOICE LICENSES from public roads not allowed. All wildlife laws must be observed.

NEW FOR 2009: Experimental season choice licenses are 2. Permits from other states not honored here.

available for deer hunting in units 91, 92 and 96. These are pri- 3.Hunters must apply for a permit at least 30 days before hunting.
vate-land-only doe deer licenses valid until filled in established Applications are on our website. Hunters are encouraged to get a permit
archery, muzzleloading, regular rifle and late rifle deer seasons. before applying for a limited license.

Hunters may use a season 9h0|ce'llcense to _hunt in any or a}ll of MOBILITY-IMPAIRED LICENSES

the seasons on private land in designated units until license is
filled. Hunters who draw one of these licenses must comply with
all season restrictions, including season dates and method of
take. See “2009 Deer Seasons.”

1. Some doe deer, cow elk and doe pronghorn licenses are offered
to mobility-impaired hunters. Hunters must have a mobility impair-
ment resulting from permanent medical conditions, making it physi-
cally impossible to hunt without someone else’s help. Evidence
LANDOWNER PREFERENCE includes, but not limited to, prescribed equipment such as a
Up to 15 percent of deer, elk and pronghorn licenses in units with Wheelchair, shoulder or arm crutches, walker or two canes.
totally limited licenses are allocated for people who own at least 2. Applications are available at DOW offices and must be

160 contiguous acres of agricultural land. Landowner preference Mailed with license fees to DOW, Limited Licenses, 6060

is available in units with limited licenses in all rifle seasons. Broadway, Denver, 80216. Applications accepted from the
Landowner preference quotas are allocated by species, sex and Monday after the Wildlife Commission meeting in May through
season. The 15 percent is for regular and priority landowner appli-the end of rifle seasons. Licenses are first come, first served
cants. Priority registered applicants have priority over other appli- until unit and program caps are reached.

cants. PREFERENCE POINTS

PRIORITY LANDOWNER REGISTRATION 1. One preference point is awarded if you apply properly for
Deadline to register properties is the second Friday in January. d:aer,r?Ik, pron?f}oianarbﬁrnor ”l‘iooie astourlﬁrst CEO'Ce Ianfdr
To register for the 2010 season, contact a DOW office. are unsuccessiu awing a licénse. rou also can apply 1o

X L a preference-point hunt code as your first choice. See
Registered landowners have priority over other landowners. Up «praference Point Hunt Code.” If you make any application

to 6 deer, elk or pronghorn applications are available for error, you will not get a point.

landowners. Number of applications per landowner depends on 2, Unsuccessful applicants and those who apply for a point
acres owned. Landowner applications are drawn before the will be assessed a $25 fee per species unless theyphave
DOW's regular limited license drawing. Successful landowners chasedl of the following: (Fee waived for youths, lifetime

get vouchers for eligible hunters of their choice. Vouchers must license holders, free senior annual fishing license holders and
be redeemed at license agents or DOW offices before hunting. Colorado residents who are in the military on active duty
Unsuccessful landowners receive preference in next year's drawfutside Colorado.) . o

ing. Hunters redeeming vouchers are subject to regular bag lim- _: Al\ln annual f(ljs?lnhg, smallfg%me, rels_ldent c_omrt])matmn.

its. Redeeming vouchers grants permission to hunt on the land small game and fishing, or furbearer ficense in the previous

. . year.
for which the voucher was issudthe DOW has a landowner b. A big game license in the previous year or a current lim-

pilot program for pronghorn hunting east of I-25 and elk in units 1 jted license for the same species for which they are seeking a
and 10. Call (303) 291-7380 for information. point.

3. Points are awarded for specific species, not by hunt codes
LANDOWNER PILOT PUBLIC LICENSES or method of take. No one else can use your points.

The landowner pilot program offers elk hunting in units 1 and 4 priority goes to those with the most points, except when
10. The hunts are designated in the unit tables by Y2, Y3 and Y4the license quota or nonresident cap would be exceeded.

hunt codes. Licenses valid in the entire unit, as well as private 5. Group applications receive priority according to the mem-
properties successful in the pilot program. If you draw one of  ber with the fewest points except when there are not enough
these licenses, you will receive a list of participating landowners licenses for everyone in the group.

and other details in the mail. 6. Second, third and fourth choices do not generate or use
points.
DREAM HUNT LICENSES 7.1f you are unsuccessful on your first choice, your accumu-

Deer, elk, pronghorn, mountain lion and bear licenses are avail- lated points will be shown on your refund, leftover drawing
able to hunters 12-21 with a terminal illness or life-threatening ~ application or your other-choice license.

disease or injury. Licenses issued only for the dates and unit with8. Preference points accumulate until you draw a first-choice
an open season for specific species. Licenses not offered in unitdicense. If you don’t apply at least once within 3 consecutive
with at least 1 hunt code that require 10 or more resident prefer- Y&ars for a deer, elk, pronghom or bear license, you lose your
ence points to draw (excluding Ranching For Wildliife). Before a POINtS for that species. Applying for preference points keeps

license is issued, hunters must obtain written permission from thel, ur file active. i
' p .You can accumulate a max. of 3 points for moose. If you

landowner to hunt on private land. Sponsoring organizations  haye 3 points for moose and fail to draw a first-choice license,

must request licenses in writing and document the life-threaten- yoy get weighted preference in future drawings. Weighted pref-
ing or terminal condition, hunting experience, logistical consider- erence increases the probability of drawing a license. If you
ations, hunt location and dates. Submit requests to DOW, Hunterdraw a license or don’t apply at least once during 5 years, all

Outreach Coordinator, 6060 Broadway, Denver, 80216. points (weighted or otherwise) become void.

10. Youths can apply for a point if they turn 12 by Dec. 31 of
HUNTERS WITH DISABILITIES the application yoar Y Y
Permits are available to disabled hunters, including for method of take 11 Active duty U.S. military stationed in Colorado but
accommodations. o . deployed elsewhere are eligible, when they return here, to
1. Hunters must h_ave_atempprary or permanent disability that _S|gn|f|- apply for a preference point for any limited license offered
cantly impairs major life functions and the ability to hunt. Shooting this year.



PREFERENCE POINT HUNT CODE licenses.

You can apply for a preference point without losing points 2. You can hunt bears only with an “over-the-counter with caps”

you already have. A special hunt code is in the hunt code secbear license in 1 bear season. If the deer or elk season dates overlap
tions for each species. Entering the preference point hunt  more than 1 bear season, you must pick 1 bear season when you buy
code as a first choice on your application automatically your license.

awards you a point. You also can apply for a license as your Coyotes

second, third or fourth choice. You must pay the full cost of a You can hunt coyotes without a small game license during big game
license and meet all license requirements even if you are seasons if you have an unfilled big game license. But, you can hunt
applying only for a point. If you only apply for a point, your  coyotes only in the same unit, season and manner of take as on the
money, minus the $3 application fee, is refunded. Another  big game license. Once you fill your big game license, you must

$25 may be deducted if you don’'t meet the criteria under buy a small game or furbearer license to hunt coyotes. Harvesting a
“Preference Points #2.” coyote does not void your big game license.

NUMBER OF ALLOWABLE LICENSES
2009 BAG LIMITS The following charts tell how many and the kind of licenses you can
have for each species.

1. Limited licenses:You can submit onl{t application in the draw-

ing per species, per ye&fo exceptions

2. Bag limits, license purchasesthe bag and possession limit is

the total number of animals you can legally kill of each species. Big
game Kkilled in January and February seasons set as part of the previ-
ous calendar year’s seasons fall under that year’s bag and possession
limit. When a license allows hunting in more than 1 unit, the unit in
the hunt code determines the max. number of licenses a hunter can
obtain per year for that species.

3. Moose: The lifetime bag limit for bull moose 15 except
for auction, raffle or special management licenses. YOUR 75 CENT WILDLIFE

EDUCATION FEE WORKS FOR YOU

Bear . . The Wildlife Management Public Education ~
1. You cannot hunt bear with an “over-the-counter with caps” bear [NV ARO[ ) el NS ok (A= 8 (Falo i h (Lo M= ! Lo G
license in a regular rifle deer or elk season west of I-25 or in units [T TR oro et Lol et e e Lo A | I‘ﬁ P
SICK AR E AN KON PLONN P W A RAC U o N Y VTN SSRGS EVERCY | ment and that this management is funded primarily through tl
deer or elk Ilcens_e for th_e same unit, season and meth(_)d (URCLCHI sale of hunting and fishing licenses. Look for our ads on TV &
AU C eIRE L QUE SRS ES R E RO IEICHEURS RS USRI billboards throughout Colorado, or visit our website,

license. This does not apply to archery or muzzleloading bear www.keepingcoloradowild.org

DEER
NUMBER OF LICENSES A HUNTER CAN LEGALLY POSSESS
A hunter can have 1 deer license on List A A hunter can have 2 licenses, if at least 1 is from List B.
LIST A LIST B
o Any deer license. e Private-land-only, antlerless licenses.
How to obtain a List A license: e Private-land-only, antlered licenses for units 20, 51, 391, 461.
o By drawing. Limited licenses may be available as left-over licenses. e Antlerless licenses, except Ranching For Wildlife, for units 1, 2,
o Private Ranching for Wildlife licenses available at participating 3,4,5,6,10,11, 12,13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25,
ranch. 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44,
o Landowner vouchers. See “Priority Landowner Registration.” 45,47, 131,161,171, 181, 201, 211, 214, 231, 301, 371, 421,
441, 444, 471.
o Antlerless whitetail only deer licenses, except Ranching For
Wildlife.
How to obtain a List B license:
o | limited license can be obtained by drawing or
e 1 or both limited licenses may be available as left-over licenses.
s Landowner vouchers, if available, and if not a List A license.

Hunters ALSO can obtain any number of deer licenses from List C, no matter how many licenses they have from List A or B.
LISTC

e DOW auction or raffle licenses. Game damage, special population management or disease management licenses.

¢ Replacement licenses for animal found CWD positive.

o Rewards program license (TIPS). Only 1 TIPs license per year.

L ]

L ]

Youth Qutreach licenses.
These Ranching For Wildlife licenses: youth, donation and mobility impaired.

How to obtain a List C license:
« When available, game damage, disease management or special population management licenses issued by local DOW offices.




ELK

NUMBER OF LICENSES A HUNTER CAN LEGALLY POSSESS

A hunter can have 1 elk license in List A. A hunter can have 2 licenses, if at least 1 is from List B.
LIST A LIST B
* Any elk license. o Unlimited antlerless archery licenses.
How to obtain a List A license: e Private-land-only antlerless licenses.
o Unlimited archery either-sex licenses sold at license agents, online | e Antlerless licenses, except Ranching For Wildlife, for units 1, 2,
and DOW offices. 3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22,
e Unlimited rifle, antlered licenses sold at license agents, online and 23, 24, 25, 26, 27,28, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 40, 43,
DOW offices until the season begins; then only at DOW offices. 44,435, 47,50, 59, 74, 76, 79, 82, 83, 85, 86, 128, 131, 132, 133,
o All limited licenses by drawing. Limited licenses may be available 134, 135, 136, 137, 138, 139, 140, 141, 142, 143, 144, 145, 147,
as left-over licenses. 161, 171,181, 191, 201, 211, 214, 231, 301, 371, 441, 444, 471,
e Private Ranching for Wildlife licenses available at participating 500, 501, 511, 512, 581, 591, 682, 691, 791, 851, 861. Excluding
ranch. statewide antlerless, muzzleloading.
e Landowner vouchers. See “Priority Landowner Registration,” * A license for hunt code E-F-072-E1-R
How to obtain a List B license:
¢ Unlimited archery antlerless licenses sold at license agents, online
and DOW offices throughout the season.
¢ ] limited license can be obtained by drawing or
e | or both limited licenses may be available as leftover licenses.
o Antlerless licenses sold over the counter for units 25, 26 at license
agents, online and DOW offices while supplies last.
o Landowner vouchers, if available, and if not a List A license.

Hunters ALSO can have any number of elk licenses from List C, no matter how many licenses they have from List A or B.

LIST C
e Antlerless, private-land-only licenses for unit 391 or 461,
Unlimited either-sex plains licenses.
Any license for hunt codes E-F-002-E1-R, E-F-682-P5-R, E-M-682-P5-R, E-M-682-P6-R.
DOW auction or raffle licenses. Game damage, special population management or disease management licenses.
Replacement licenses for animals found CWD positive.
Rewards program license (TIPS). Only 1 TIPs license per year.
Youth Outreach license.
These Ranching For Wildlife licenses: youth, donation and mobility impaired.

How to obtain a List C license:
e Left-over licenses sold at license agents, online and DOW offices while supplies last.

¢ When available, game damage, disease management or special population management licenses issued by local DOW offices.

® @ ° o @ @

PRONGHORN
NUMBER OF ANTELOPE LICENSES A HUNTER CAN LEGALLY POSSESS
A hunter can have 1 pronghorn license on List A. A hunter can have 2 licenses if at least 1 is from List B.
LIST A LIST B
s Any pronghom license. e Private-land-only licenses.

How to obtain a List A license: « Antlerless licenses, except Ranching For Wildlife, for units 110,
e Unlimited archery licenses available at license agents, online and 111,112, 113, 114, 115, 118, 119, 123, 124, 125, 126, 128,
DOW offices. 129, 133, 134, 135, 140, 141, 142, 147.
e Limited archery, muzzleloading and rifle licenses available by How to obtain a List B license:
drawing. Limited licenses may be available as left-over licenses. o 1 limited license can be obtained by drawing, or
o Private Ranching for Wildlife licenses available at participating ranch. | * 1 or both limited licenses may be available as left-over licenses.
o Landowner vouchers. See “Priority Landowner Reﬂistration,” « Landowner vouchers, if available, and if not a List A license.
Hunters ALSO can obtain any number of pronghorn licenses from List C, no matter how many licenses they have from List A or B.
LIST C
e DOW auction or raffle licenses. Game damage, special population management or disease management licenses.
e  Rewards program license (TIPS). Only 1 TIPs license per year.
e  Youth Outreach license.
¢ These Ranching For Wildlife licenses: youth, donation and mobility impaired.

How To Obtain a List C license:
» When available, game damage, disease management or special population management licenses issued by local DOW offices.




BEAR

NUMBER OF BEAR LICENSES A HUNTER CAN LEGALLY POSSESS

Any hunter can have 1 bear license on List A.

A hunter can have 2 licenses if at least 1 is from List B.

LIST A

e Any bear license.

How to obtain a List A license:

e Archery, muzzleloading and rifle licenses sold over the counter with
caps at license agents, online and DOW offices. After season opens,
only sold at DOW offices.

e Limited rifle licenses only available by drawing. Limited licenses may
be available as left-over licenses.

e Private Ranching for Wildlife licenses available at participating ranch.

LIST B
e Limited, private-land-only licenses.
How to obtain a List B license:
¢ | limited license can be obtained by drawing or
o 1 or both limited licenses may be available as left-over licenses.

Hunters ALSO can obtain any number of licenses from List C, no matter how many licenses they have from List A or B.

LISTC
e  Game damage or disease management licenses.
Rewards program license (TIPs). Only 1 TIPs license per year.
How to obtain a List C license:

e When available, issued by local DOW offices.

MOOSE

NUMBER OF LICENSES A HUNTER CAN LEGALLY POSSESS

A hunter can have 1 moose license on List A.

A hunter can have 2 licenses if at least 1 is from List B.

LIST A
* Any moose license.
How to obtain a List A license:
e By drawing. Limited licenses may be available as left-over licenses.
« Private Ranching for Wildlife licenses available at participating
ranch.

LIST B

e  None.

Hunters ALSO can obtain any number of moose licenses from List C,

no matter how many licenses they have from List A.

¢ Replacement licenses for animal found CWD positive.
e Rewards program license (TIPS). Only 1 TTPs license per year.
How to obtain a List C license:

LIST C
¢ DOW auction or raffle licenses. Game damage, special population management or disease management licenses.

« When available, game damage, disease management or special population management licenses issued by local DOW offices.

LICENSE ALLOCATIONS

Nonresident allocations are determined by the average number of
preference points a Colorado resident needed to draw a specific
license over a 3-year period that ended with the 2005 drawing.
(Units with low numbers of available licenses may not have any
remaining for nonresidents after resident licenses are drawn.)

1. For hunt codes that required 5 or more points for a Colorado res-
ident to draw an elk or deer license, 80 percent of licenses go to
residents and up to 20 percent to nonresidents. These hunts are
shown in unit tables by a+" under “Permitted Bag.”

2. For hunt codes that required fewer than 5 points for a Colorado
resident to draw an elk or deer license, 65 percent of licenses go to
residents and up to 35 to nonresidents.

3. Nonresident allocations may increase if licenses remain after
drawing all first-choice hunt codes for Colorado residents.

4. License allocations do not apply to private-land-only and
Ranching For Wildlife licenses.

5. Mixed-group applications of residents and nonresidents count
against the nonresident allocation.

GROUP APPLICATIONS

1. Any number of people can apply as a group for deer, elk,
bear and pronghorn. Group applications are not allowed for
moose. Members must apply for the same species, hunt
code, unit and season for each choice. If there are discrepan-
cies, the leader’s hunt code is used. Groups are assigned a
number, and if their number is selected in the drawing,
everyone in the group gets a license. This won't happen if
there aren’t enough licenses for everyone in the group. It
also won't happen if the group includes resident and nonresi-
dent applicants and the nonresident cap has been met.

2. To apply as a group, 1 person must be the leader.
Members must apply using the leader’s CID number. See
“Filling Out Applications.”

3. If everyone in the group is successful for their first choice,
they all get a license and their preference points drop to zero.
If unsuccessful for their first choice, everyone gets a point.
Licenses, refunds and notifications are sent to each person.
4. If anyone in the group makes an application error or does-
n't pay the correct amount, everyone is disqualified and
won't get a preference point.



and fluorescent paint incorporated into or on open or iron sights are legal.
Scopes or any sighting device using artificial light, batteries and electronic
gear are prohibited duringuzzleloading seasons.

k. Sabots are prohibiténl muzzleloading seasar€loth patches are
not sabots.

I. Smokeless powder prohibited in muzzleloading seasons. Black
powder and black powder substitutes are legal.

m. Only legal muzzleloaders allowed in muzzleloading seasons.

n. Electronic or battery-powered devices cannot be incorporated
into or attached to muzzleloader during muzzleloading seasons.
4. HAND-HELD BOWS: a long bow, recurved bow or compound bow on
which the string is not drawn mechanically or held mechanically under ten-

i i - ) sion. String or mechanical releases are legal if they are hand drawn or hand

Al IR e fand peroeng heed . TR Lioamees el ow a5 Pisnd ol i g o- . - .
saniad esams 1N any Nk e 80 renting the spvctilc spacies. These icenss ine held with no other attachments or connections to bow (except bowstring).
affenad by participatiing ui kTR Consarvazion of ganisanions tial reurn a kst 75 a.Hand-held bOWS, |nC|Ud|ng Compound bOWS, must use arrows with a
percans il Uhee rocasid 5o the DO for pessarc h, managerent and education, broadhead having a min. 7/8-inch outside diameter or width and min. 2 steel
cutting edges. Each cutting edge must be in same plane for entire length of
cutting surface.
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oy anctions visk the flkewing Wi sies b. Only legal hand-held bows allowed during archery seasons.
Blghen Shaap and Mountan Goat c. Min. draw weight of 35 Ibs. required. Let-off max. of 80%.
Beocky Mountin Bghorn Secley — wwwhighomsteseng d. No part of bow's riser (handle) or track, trough, channel, arrow rest or
Mocss - other device (excluding cables and bowstring) that attaches to riser can con-
Radan Club Inkernatienal, Cotorad o Chapter — wwosd coloradousg " . .
Dracks Lk, Ine. Codamade — Wi ol Coa onghSimtes KA e sl tact, Support and(or gU|de the arrow _from a pomt rearward of the bow's
D brace height behind the undrawn string.
TRt Mluke Diaar Feundiatien — wmisiilidosr o e. Bows can propel only a single arrow at a time. No mechanisms for auto-
Radan Club Inkernatienal, Cotorad o Chapter — wwosd coloradousg matically Ioading arrows permitted.
E'.lll:l.l\.'l:'\llll'l.l11.ll'\-\.'-:-\.l.lll.l' Py e o ol kb e f SCOpeS, electronicorbattery'pOWereddeVicescannOtbeincorporated
By Modisain Bk Foadaiomn — Wi rmstLsrg into or attached to bow or arrow.
Colorade Brwhuniens Assecialion — wawonkeradohmwhuning e g. Hydraulic or pneumatic technology cannot be used to derive or store
Tha Mfuke D Fretimcidion — wowrmivel ey o energy to propel arrows. Explosive arrows prohibited.
L ovcerad Wik BRe Faderagion — whanoodemadomrind [ie orp/ 5. SHOTGUNS
L overad Brwhunkens Assecialion — warwon kradoh i inting el a.Must be min. 20 g_auge’_ and fire a Slng_le S|Ug. .
Heocky Mountzin Bighern Seclety — weewbighomshegsong b. Barrel must be min. 18 inches long. Min. overall length, 26 inches.
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a. Draw weight must be min. 125 Ibs.

Additiomsd infcemation on the Awction fmd Rl Licemsa Frogmen: b. Draw length must be min. 14 inches from front of bow to nocking point
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of drawstring.

LEGAL HUNTING METHODS c. Positive mechanical safety device required.

1. CENTERFIRE RIFLES d. Bolt must be min. 16 inches long, have a broadhead min. of 7/8 inch
a. Must be min. .24 caliber (6 mm). wide and min. 2 steel cutting edges. Each cutting edge must be in same
b. Must have min. a 16-inch barrel and be at least 26 inches long. plane for entire length of cutting surface.

c. If semiautomatic, they can hold max. of 6 rounds in the magazine and €. lllegal in archery seasons.
chamber combined. 7. HANDGUNS

d. Must use expanding bullets that weigh min. 70 grains for deer, prong- @ Barrel must be min. 4 inches long.
horn and bear, 85 grains for elk and moose, and have an impact energy (at b Must use a min. .24-caliber (6 mm) diameter expanding bullet.
100 yds.) of 1,000-ft. pounds as rated by manufacturer. c. Shoulder stocks or attachments prohibited.
e.ltis illegal to hunt game birds, small game mammals or furbearers with ~ d. Must use a cartridge or load that produces min. energy of 550-ft. Ibs. at
a centerfire rifle larger than .23 caliber during regular rifle deer and elk sea- 50 Yds. as rated by manufacturer.
sons W of 1-25, without an unfilled deer or elk license for the season. A~ 8. CALLS

small game license is required. a. Mechanical calls are legal, including mouth calls.
2. FULLY AUTOMATIC RIFLES prohibited. b. Electronic calls, such as amplified cassette players, are prohibited for big
3. MUZZLELOADING RIFLES & SMOOTHBORE MUSKETS game hunting.

a. In-line muzzleloaders are legal.

b. Mustbe single-barrel that fires a singtaund-ball or conical projec-
tile the length of which does not exceed twice the diameter

¢. To hunt deer, pronghorn or bear, they must be min. of .40 caliber.

d. To hunt elk or moose, they must be min. of .50 caliber.

e.From .40 caliber to .50 caliber, bullets must weigh min. 170 grains.

f. If greater than .50 caliber, bullets must weigh min. 210 grains.

g. Shotshell primers are legal.

h. Pelletized powder systems prohibited in muzzleloading seasons.

i. Cannot be loaded from the breech in muzzleloading seasons.

j- Only open or iron sights allowed in muzzleloading seasons. Fiber optics

HUNTING HOURS
One-half hour before sunrise to one half-hour after sunset, unless
specifically restricted. See sunrise and sunset chart in this brochure.

IT'S AGAINST THE LAW TO:

1.Have a loaded (in the chamber) rifle or shotgun in or on any motor
vehicle. Muzzleloading rifles are considered unloaded if percussion cap or
shotshell primer is removed, or if powder is removed from flashpan. It is
illegal for anyone to have a loaded electronic-ignition muzzleloader in or on
a motor vehicle unless the chamber is unloaded or the battery is disconnect-
ed and removed from its compartment.
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2. Carry firearms (except handguns) on an OHV during ééer,

26.Hunt on private land without first obtaining permission from landowner

pronghorn antelope and bear seasons unless they are unloaded in theperson in charge.
chamber and magazine. Firearms (except handguns) and bows car-27.Post, sign or indicate that public lands, not under an exclusive-control

ried on an OHV must be fully enclosed in a hard or soft case.

lease, are private.

Scabbards or cases with open ends or sides are prohibited. This do@8.Hunt or fish on State Land Board properties not leased and signed by

not apply to landowners or their agents who carry a firearm on an
OHYV to take depredating wildlife on property they own or lease.

3. Hunt carelessly or discharge a firearm or release an arrow disregarding
human life or property.

4. Operate or ride a snowmobile with a firearm unless it's completely

DOW without permission of lessee.
29.For 2 or more people to use electronic equipment on the ground, in a
vehicle or vessel while violating any wildlife law or regulation.

CLOSURES, LAND-USE RESTRICTIONS

unloaded and cased, or with a bow unless it's unstrung or cased. Compound: Hunting prohibited 1/2 mile on either side of centerline of Mt. Evans

bows must be cased, not unstrung.

5. Shoot from or use a motor vehicle, motorcycle, off-highway vehicle,
snowmobile or aircraft to hunt, intercept, chase, harass or drive wildlife.

6. Use aircraft to hunt, to direct hunters on the ground or to hunt the same
day or day after a flight was made to find wildlife.

7.Hunt under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances.

8. Use artificial light as an aid in hunting wildlife.

9. Use poison, drugs or explosives to hunt or harass wildlife.

10. Fail to extinguish a campfire.

11. Fail to make a reasonable attempt to track and kill animals you wound
or may have wounded. It is against the law to pursue wounded wildlife that
goes on private property without first obtaining permission from landowner
or person in charge.

12.Fail to prepare edible wildlife meat for human consumption. At a mini-

Hwy. (Colo. 5) from Echo Lake to summit, all of Summit €&kirque and
all of Summit Lake Flats above 11,600 ft. Also, Mt. Evans Rd. beyond
Summit Lake closed after Labor Day. From Echo Lake to Summit Lake,
road may be closed after Labor Day.

2. Hunting prohibited within 50 ft. of centerline of federal, state or county
roads or highways. Land between divided highways closed to hunting.
3. Hunting prohibited in Gore Creek drainage S of I-70 from Lion’s Head
ski lift at Vail to I-70 and US 24. Hunting prohibited N of 1-70 and within
1/2 mile of I-70 between Vail and |-70 and US 24.

4.Moose hunting prohibited within 1/4 mile of Colo. 14 in Jackson
County from Cameron Pass west to Forest Rd. 740 at Gould.

5. Hunters: Be aware that specific restrictions apply on State
Wildlife Areas and State Trust Lands leased by the DOW. Before
hunting on any of these properties, please consult either the
Division’s State Wildlife Areas or State Trust Lands brochures,

mum, the four quarters, tenderloins and backstraps are edible meat. Internahvailable at DOW offices and license agents.

organs are not.

13.Shoot from, across or on a public road with a firearm, bow or crossbow.
People firing a bow, rifle, handgun or shotgun with a single slug must be at
least 50 feet from centerline of the road.

14.Party hunt (kill someone else’s game or let someone Kkill yours).
15.Interfere with hunters. This includes distracting or frightening prey;

causing prey to flee by using light or noise; chasing prey on foot or by vehi-

cle; throwing objects; making movements; harassing hunters by using
threats or actions; erecting barriers to deny access to hunting areas and
intentionally injecting yourself into the line of fire. Violators face prosecu-
tion and may have to pay victim's damages and court costs.

16.Kill and abandon big game. It is illegal to remove only the hide, antlers
or other trophy parts and leave the carcass in the field. (Felony)

17.Sell, buy or offer to sell or buy big game. (Felony)

18. Solicit someone to illegally kill big game for commercial gain or pro-
vide outfitting services without required registration. (Felony)

19.1f convicted of these felony violations, you can face a lifetime license
suspension.

20.Use internet or other computer-assisted remote technology while hunt-
ing or fishing. Hunters must be physically present in the immediate vicinity
while hunting.

21.Use dogs or bait to hunt bears, deer, elk, pronghorn or moose. Bait

6. National wildlife refuges may have restrictions. Consult specific refuges.
7. National parks and monuments managed by the National Park Service
are closed to hunting.

AIR FORCE ACADEMY (AFA)

1. Dec. 1-31 (Dates determined by Academy)

Unit 512: Limited buck and doe deer licenses available by DOW
drawing. Successful applicants must buy an Air Force Academy
access permit and attend a mandatory safety orientation before hunt-
ing. Hunting allowed only on days, areas and by method of take
authorized by Academy. See unit 512 in deer section for hunt code.
Call (719) 333-3336 for information.

2. Limited cow elk licenses available for the Air Force Academy
(unit 512). Hunters first must obtain an Academy permit by calling,
(719) 333-3336. Permit application deadline: May 31. Hunters can-
not access unit 511 via unit 512 (AFA) with firearms.

FORT CARSON (unit 591) AND

PINON CANYON MANEUVER SITE (unit 142)

Limited licenses available by DOW drawing. Bull elk licenses are unlimit-
ed in 2nd and 3rd seasons. A DOW license does not guarantee access to
Fort Carson or Pinon Canyon. Military training has priority. Hunting
allowed as authorized by Fort Carson. Hunters must buy a Fort Carson
hunting permit and acquire authorization to enter military land. Hunters

means to put, expose, distribute or scatter salt, minerals, grain, animal partsmust attend a range safety briefing before purchasing a Fort Carson hunt-

or other food as an attraction for big game. Scent sticks that smell like food
are illegal for bears.
22.Kill cubs or bears accompanied by one or more cubs. Acub is a
bear less than a year old.
23.Have a carcass, hide, skull, claws or parts of bears or mountain lions
without a valid hunting license or unless authorized by DOW.
24.Sell, trade, barter or offer to sell, trade or barter bear gall blad-
ders or edible portions of bears.
25.Not wear at least 500 square inches of SOAYLIGHT FLUORES-
CENT ORANGE material in an outer garment above the waist while hunt-
ing deer, elk, pronghorn, bear or moose with any firearm. Part of the fluo-
rescent orange must be a hat or head covering visible from all directions.
Camouflage orange does not qualify. Mesh garments are legal but not rec-
ommended. We strongly recommend wearing daylight fluorescent orange
clothes in the field even if you're not hunting.
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ing permit. Call (719) 524-5339 for Fort Carson and (719) 524-0123 for
Pinon Canyon questions.

JAMES M. JOHN SWA (unit 140)

Access only allowed during regular rifle seasons to hunters with permits,
issued by drawing. Max. 10 hunters per season; max. 2 per group. Apply at
DOW, 600 Reservoir Rd., Pueblo, (719) 561-5300. Application deadline:
July 1. Successful applicants notified by mail. Permits issued for each
season.



SHARPTAIL RIDGE SWA (unit 51)
Deer and elk hunting only by permit. Permits valid 2-3 days, starting after AFTER YOU HARVEST
Labor Day weekend. A limited deer or elk license for unit 51 required to

apply. Applications available from DOW's Northeast Regional Office in AN ANIMAL
Denver, 6060 Broadway, (303) 291-7227. Max. 2 applicants per group. CARCASS TAGS

Application deadline: 3rd Monday in July. Successful applicants notified by yoy must attach a carcass tag to animals you kill per instructions on

mail. Date, time, location of drawing on application. tag. Tags must stay on until meat is processed and remain with meat
CHANCELLOR RANCH STATE TRUST LAND (unit 147) until consumed. It is illegal to sign or tear the tag before a kill. If you
Access only by permit to hunters and 1 non-hunting companion.  l0se, accidentally destroy or detach the tag, you must get a duplicate

Permits issued by drawing at DOW office in Lamar. Youths get pri- from the DOW before hunting and prove the loss, detachment or
ority. Applications available from DOW, 2500 S. Main St., Lamar, ~ destruction was accidental. Do not remove other parts of a license

81052, (719) 336-6600; or on our website. Group applications except the carcass tag after a kill. Doing so voids the license, and you
accepted; max. 2 per group. Deadline: July 1. Successful applicants Must buy a duplicate.

notified by mail. Permits issued for deer, elk, bear, pronghorn, EVIDENCE OF SEX, ANTLER POINTS

bighorn sheep and mountain lion. 1.1t is illegal to have or transport a big game carcass without evidence
LONE MESA STATE PARK (unit 711) of sexnaturally attached. It is illegal only to have evidence of sex

Limited public hunting at Lone Mesa State Park is by permit and fee accompany the carcass. If you submit a deer or elk head for CWD test-
via State Parks drawing in July. Hunters must have a limited license ing, leave evidence of sex on the carcass.
for unit 711, an unlimited rifle bull elk license or unlimited archery 2. Evidence of sex is:

license. Contact Lone Mesa State Park, Attn: Hunting Packet a. Buck/Bull: Head, with antlers or horns, attached to carcass, or testi-
Request, Box 1047, Dolores, CO 81323, (970) 882-2213; fax, (970) cle, scrotum or penis attached to carcass.
882-4640; lone.mesa.park@state.co.us. b. Doe/Cow:Head, udder (mammary) or vulva attached to carcass .
. c. Black Bear Male: testicles or penis. Female: vulva.
GREEN RANCH, GOLDEN GATE CANYON (unit 38) 3. Heads detached from carcass are not adequate evidence of sex.

Limited hunting at Green Ranch is by permit and fee via State Parks, | 3 carcass is cut in pieces or deboned, evidence of sex only needs to

drawing in Aug. Hunters must have a limited license for unit 38 or o 4 ched to 1/4 or another major part of carcass. Al portions must be
an unlimited rifle bull elk license or unlimited archery license. Go to
transported together.

parks.state.co.us or write Golden Gate Canyon State Park, attn: i - . . .
Green Ranch, 92 Crawford Gulch Rd., Golden, CO 80403, (303) 5. Evidence of sex not required if a donation certificate accompanies less

582-3707. than 20 Ibs. of meat or after the carcass is cut into processed meat (commer-
) cially or otherwise), wrapped and frozen, or stored at licensee’s home.
RIDGWAY STATE PARK (unit 62) 6. Elk antler-point compliance:

Deer hunting allowed for mobility-impaired in 1st and 2nd com-
bined rifle deer seasons. Two hunters selected by drawing for each
season. Contact the park, 28555 Hwy. 550, Ridgway, CO 81432,

a.If you leave the head with its antlers at a taxidermist, you must get a
receipt from taxidermist, with date delivered and description of antlers

: before you take the carcass home or to a commercial processor.
970) 626-5822 or ridgway.park@state.co.us. ;
(970) gway.park@ b. Head or skull plate, with both antlers naturally attached, must
SAN LUIS VALLEY DAMAGE ELK HUNT accompany the carcass of bulls in camp or in transit, even when the

?SCBW e'g fa_l[?]age S'_Tlason mat))/ tﬁe I(l):fered in Un'\i}ls 6% }%1 é“iug- J scrotum or testicles are used as evidence of sex. (Except in “a” above.)
-Dec. 31. There will be two bull elk seasons: May 15-July 31 an
Aug. 15-Dec. 31. Also, an either-sex elk damage season in unit 82 TRANSPORT_lNG GAME _ _ _
runs Sept. 1-Nov. 30. Apply at DOW in Monte Vista, 722 S Rd. 1E, 1.You can be cited for illegally transporting game animals even if someone
to enter drawing for cow elk hunts only. Call, (719) 587-6900. else made an error. When you transport carcasses or processed meat:

a. Carcasses must be properly tagged. You must meet evidence of sex and
BIG GAME ACCESS PILOT PROGRAM

The Bia G A Pilot P frers d d h antler-point requirements. Hunters must keep their own license.
€ blg same /Ccess Flot Frogram OlIers deer and pronghorn b. Carcass tags or donation certificates must accompany processed game meat.
hunting on specific properties in southeast Colorado. Hunters 18 an

older must buy a $40 permit from a license agent or DOW office . Carcass tags must be securely attached to carcass, not antlers, or
Hunters under 18 must obtain a free permit. Hunters must carry per-Must a@ccompany processed meat.

mit while hunting. 3. To ship by commercial carrier, the license, photocopy of license, carcass
1. Closed 2 hours after sunset until 2 hours before sunrise. tag or donation certificate must accompany carcass or processed meat.
2.0pen Aug. 15-Dec. 31, on dates for which hunters have a valid 4. Hunters transporting game through national parks or monuments must
license unless otherwise posted. follow federal regulations. Contact National Park Service for information.

3. Motor vehicles prohibited except in parking areas or on designat-
ed roads. Walk-in access only. DONATING GAME MEAT

4.0Only portable blinds or tree stands allowed, which must be 1. Donation certificates are required for game meat donations. Certificates

removed by the last day of hunting season. Pit blinds prohibited. ~ must show names, addresses and telephone numbers of donor and recipi-
5. Open only to hunting pronghorn and deer. Hunting small game  ent; donor’s license number; species and amounts donated; date of kill;

and waterfowl allowed only with landowner permission. People donor’s signature. The certificate can be a simple note; no special form
accompanying hunters don't need a license or access permit if they required. It must stay with the meat until completely consumed.
don't hunt. 2.A"like license” is a license for the same species, sex, season and

6.Access permits cannot be transferred to anyone, nor do they allowyaihod of take as a donor’s license.

anyone else to hunt. . 3. Donor and recipient are subject to bag and possession limits.
7. For information and units with enrolled properties, see our web- 4 Anv amount of processed and packaded gqame meat can be donated
site starting March 1. -ANy P P geag
to anyone, anywhere.
5. You can donate to someone without a “like license™;
a. up to 20 Ibs. of unprocessed meat, anywhere.



b. more than 20 Ibs. of unprocessed meat, only at recipient’s home. 94, 95, 96, 99, 102, 107, 109, 131, 161, 171, 181, 191, 211, 214,

6. You can donate to someone with a “like license”: 231, 301, 371, 391, 421, 441, 461, 521, 591, 951. These units are
a. up to 20 Ibs. of unprocessed meat, anywhere. highlighted on the map i_n this brochure. Surveillance summaries
b. more than 20 Ibs. of unprocessed meat,anywhere, only if: are posted on our website.

(1) recipient’s license is unfilled, and SIMPLE PRECAUTIONS ADVISED
(2) recipient’s carcass tag is on the meat. This establishes recipient’s CWD is not likely transmissible to humans, according to state and
claim to his/her portion of meat and voids his/her license. Donor's tag must foqeral health experts. However, the Colorado Department of

remain with his/her portion. , _ . Public Health and Environment and the Division of Wildlife

(3) If the entire carcass is donated, donor's carcass tag and recipi- - advise hunters to take simple precautions when handling carcasses
ent's “like license” must be attached to carcass. of deer, elk and moose from units where the disease has been
BEARS - INSPECTION AND SEALS detected. Do not shoot, handle or consume animals that appear

You must personally present bears to the DOW for inspection and seal- SICk. Wear rgbber gloyes Wh.en f|e_ld dressing and processing ani-
ing within 5 working days after the kill. Bear heads and hides must be Mals. Minimize handling brain, spinal and lymphatic tissues. Wash
unfrozen when presented for inspection. At inspection, the DOW is hands and instruments thoroughly after field dressing. Bone out
authorized to extract and keep a premolar tooth. If the head and hide Meat from your animal (following evidence of sex and antler-point
are frozen, the DOW may keep them long enough to thaw so thata  regulations). Avoid eating brain, spinal cord, eyes, spleen, pan-
tooth can be removed. A check report must be done at inspection. No  creas, tonsils and lymph nodes. Do not eat meat from CWD posi-
fee required. Seals must be attached to the hide until tanned. Bears cartive animals.

not be taken out of Colorado until hide and skull are inspected and

sealed. Having a bear hide without a seal after the 5-day period is ille- CWD TEST"_\‘G . .
gal, and the hide becomes state property. Contact the nearest DOW 1. CWD testing for deer and elk is voluntary and available )
office or officer for inspection and sealing. To transport a bear or parts Statewide. The test cost will be up to $25 per animal when submit-
to a foreign country, you must first obtain CITES documents. Contact  ted through the DOW. See CWD page on our website in early

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, (303) 342-7430. August for costs and other details. Test costs may be waived at
MANDATORY MOOSE INSPECTION r[])é)e\(/j\/e(sjubmission sites in seasons or units where more samples are

NEW FOR 2009: All moose must be submitted for inspection with-
in five working days of harvest. Mandatory check report will be com-

pleted during inspection. Mandatory chronic wasting disease testing ~ PREPARING ANIMALS FOR TESTING

also will occur at this time. Hunters must submit the head of antlerless  Avoid shooting an animal in the head or nabkien removing the

moose or head with antlers attached of antlered moose to any DOW  head, leave 1-2 inches below where the neck joins the skull (just

office. below first vertebrae). Whole brains or other brain pieces are not
accepted for testing. Check the CWD section of our website for

AC.CIDENTAL K”—L. - - alternate tissues that may be used for testing. Hunters may want to

Accidental kill is unintentionally killing wildlife not due to carelessness |aarn to collect samples themselves. Keep samples or heads cold

or negligence. You must report big game accidentally killed to the but not frozen. Do not submerge in water. Submit samples or

DOW before continuing to hunt and as soon as practical. Before con-

) , ; , ot heads as soon as possible, no more than 5 days after harvest.
tacting the DOW, field dress the animal to avoid spoiling meat. The Hunters can remove antlers before submitting heads. However,

DOW evaluates the circumstances, including shots fired, species and  gnimals from units with antler-point restrictions must comply with
number of animals present, firearms or ammunition, etc. Big game acci-

2. See “Mandatory Inspection: Moose.”

regulations.
dentally killed does not count toward annual bag limits. 9
SUBMITTING ANIMALS FOR TESTING
EAR TAGS, RADIO COLLARS You can take heads or tissue samples to a DOW submission site or

If you shoot big game with a collar or ear tag, report the number, 5 haricipating veterinarian. You must bring your license so that
color, harvest location and date to the DOW and return radio collars. 5y v/ can scan the bar code and obtain your address and phone
HARVEST SURVEYS number. You will be asked for kill site coordinates or to show it on
You may receive a phone call or e-mail, asking you to take part in a har-a map at the submission site, along with the unit and date of har-
vest survey. Only randomly selected hunters can participate. Surveys arevest. If someone else submits your animal, he/she must your CID
important in helping the DOW set hunting seasons. You will be asked  number, but you should keep your license. Submitters should
basic information, such as where you hunted and when. If you are con- bring the same information listed above. See CWD page on our
tacted, you can do the survey online, www.cdowsurvey.com or call website in early August for submission sites, hours and other
1-866-825-0045. The survey runs 24 hours daily, Oct. through mid-Feb. details.
See our website for more information.

TEST RESULTS

CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE All samples are sent to Colorado State University's Veterinary

Diagnostic Laboratory. Testing is for CWD screening only and
Chronic wasting disease (CWD) affects deer, elk, and moose. It does not assure the absolute safety of meat for human consump-
occurs in free-ranging deer, elk and moose in parts of Colorado, agion. Testing accuracy and sensitivity vary, depending on sample
well as several other states and provinces. Infected animals can type and quality. No test can assure complete accuracy, and "not
show no signs of illness throughout much of the disease. In termi- detected" results don't exclude the possibility of early stage CWD.
nal stages of CWD, animals appear emaciated and often behave Test results are provided by automated phone system, 1-800-434-
abnormally. In Colorado, distribution and prevalence of CWD 0274, on our website or by calling (303) 297-1192. Tests are com-
vary. Infection rates appear higher in males and older animals. As pleted as soon as possible. The goal is to provide results within 10-
a result of testing, CWD was detected in units 3, 4,5, 6,7, 8,9, 15 working days, subject to volume and laboratory backlog.
10,11,12,13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 22, 23, 24, 25, 27, 28, 295>uspected positive results are confirmed by a second test, which
33, 36, 37, 38, 39, 42, 51, 59, 69, 84, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93,  zkes 7-10 more working days. Because moose samples are tested
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differently than deer and elk, their initial results may not be avail- CERTIFIED HAY

able for 15-20 working days or more. In addition, hunters whose Hay, straw and mulch are illegal on federal land and DOW
animals test positive are contacted by the DOW. If you don't get  property unless certified free of noxious weeds. Hay must be
test results more than three weeks (15 working days) after submisclearly marked by certifying agency. People who transport
sion, call a DOW office. these materials on public roads crossing DOW property are
LICENSE FEE AND OTHER REFUNDS exempt. For a list of weed-free forage, contact quorado
Hunters whose deer, elk or moose test positive for CWD are eligi- [B)E F,\ﬁj 8‘; Agf[gmeé (3s?§t)eZc:i)gil‘slllégl,l\lﬁlgreijslztrgglg\cl;fae g/:/vee d-
ble for a license fee refund or an antlerless license. If the hunting Ht Ig -ag- e 9

season has ended or there’s not a reasonable amount of time left iﬁee. mi.

the current season, the DOW may issue an antlerless license for TIPs PROGRAM

the next year’s season in the same unit where the animal was TIPs rewards people who provide information resulting in charg-
killed. If antlerless hunting isn't offered in that unit, the DOW can ing poachers. Awards can be a preference point for species of
designate a substitute unit. If the original license was for a season choice or unlimited license for the species reported. Some limit-
that closed before Oct. 31, the replacement license will be valid  ed licenses may be available. TIPs licenses do not count toward
until Oct. 31. When paid, costs for processing CWD positive ani- annual bag and possession limits.

mals are refunded. Requests for reimbursements must be made on

DOW forms and accompanied by receipts. Reimbursements up to WHERE TO GET MAPS

$50 for processing allowed without receipts. Reimbursements for Bureau of Land Management 2850 Youngdfield, Lakewood, CO
deer and elk are limited to $100 per animal for private processing 80215, (303) 239-3600.

or $200 per animal for commercial processing. The maximum U.S. Geological SurveyP.O. Box 25286, Denver Federal Center,
allowed for commercial processing of moose is $250. Denver, CO 80225, 1-888-275-8747 or (303) 202-4700,

topographical and county maps.
CARCASS TRANSPORT RESTRICTIONS .
Nonresidents are encouraged to check with non-Colorado wildlife U.S. Forest ServiceP.0. Box 25127, Lakewood, CO 80225,

; ; - ; 303) 275-5350.
agencies to see if carcass restrictions apply before taking deer, elk( . } .
or moose carcasses from Colorado through other states, Colorado Outdoorssells 28-by-22-inch statewide unit maps for $5.

Order from DOW, 6060 Broadway, Denver, CO 80216,

OTHER INFORMATION (303) 2971192

STATE TRUST LANDS
OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLES - ; i
All OHVs operated on public lands must have a Colorado OHV The DOW participates in the State Trust Lands public access pro-

ot . : g ! ram, but not all State Trust Lands designated on maps are in the
registration or a nonresident permit. Registration/permits cost gram, > )
$25.25 and are available from Colorado State Parks. Annual regis-DOW program. Only STL properties in the DOW's State Trust Lands

tration and permits are valid April 1 through March 31. To buy a brochure are open for wildlife recreation.

nonresident permit, call (303) 791-1955 or go CHILD SUPPORT DELINQUENCY
www.parks.state.co.us/parksstore. For information, go to State law requires Social Security numbers to buy licenses. It
www.parks.state.co.us/OHVsandSnowmobiles/OHVProgram. A o ot displayed on licenses but is provided, if requested, to

motor vehicle is a self-propelled vehicle or vehicle drawn by a - chilg Support Enforcement authorities. Hunting and fishing
self-propelled vehicle by which persons or property may be licenses are not issued to those delinquent in child support.
moved, carried or transported from one place to another by land or

ar. WEAPONS RESTRICTIONS

GUIDES AND OUTEITTERS Colorado and federal laws prohibit people convicted of certain

. . . . crimes, such as domestic violence, from possessing weapons,
Guides and outfitters must be registered, bonded and msuredeven for hunting. Check with the appropriate law enforcement

in Colorado. They also need permits to operate on public Iandauthority on how the laws apply to you.

and must register with Office of Oultfitter Registration, 1560
Broadway, Suite 1340, Denver, CO 80202, (303) 894-7778;
www.dora.state.co.us/outfitters. If your outfitter is arrested
for operating illegally, your hunt can be cancelled and your
game confiscated. Verify an outfitter’s registration by con-
tacting the above office or Colorado Outfitters Association,
www.coloradooutfitters.org.

HUNTERS BRINGING/USING HORSES

You must contact a veterinarian to get a Certificate .
Health Inspection within 30 days before horses ent M (0 \VA| ng ?
Colorado. Horses need a Coggins Blood Test for

equine infectious anemia within a year before comi Change Your Address Online

here. Call Colorado State Veterinarian’s office, (30 e . .
239-4161. Residents: Horses may require brand (e A AV AVIT I ERS CLERE ATEYACLE [ EEL L -V

inspection before transportation. Call brand inspectii?28(e] [Te (&1 Ml = TV T, e I7-Vo 5] \VA {o] ol Bal=] ) (=100
(303) 294-0895. 3. Follow the simple steps to change your address and

you're done!
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APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

arel Lcemse Isfonmetias by ce tain
£5 tag Tt Sed nimer thore.

Ird Chifiee Hun L Code 3 Ird l:n-c--mﬂ.- L \-:-:l-r

dppiranty plems reme mber § et lsndossser permrbwion fa
reouired orior 15 appiying for & PO Pust

WUESE BLACK BALLPCHST FEH K0 PRINT IH CAMTAL LETTERS 0 L ﬂ:nmmﬂmﬁwm-
-\I

m[1||||||||

I:lnl.ullw kdentilication Humber

[ ECTTTTTT]

Toa Tenkr of wyadits mveL ke repeean ki
For mrrern diew iz mapd inadice: compleied with

levar cann hin, cobored inka o pancil i Hun ':W‘:" 4ih Capdor Herm Code
3 T WETEE .:r'l. i Cuts =l Mrth ARTHITE |
| O uregcrdy |, send me [0 onei; | Fiof: G BRSO Y s s, i, ool tand
Rt Fu b prep— | —
4 O Q] | | | | | - o a an
= O voridfoent [ Rt oo pr— A brd Saen wikd He LT
(3] Eeith E b Elmar face b SEOn g Crier Group Lesder's Coviomer Ide=tfication #
SRR H farchiry
x ||
[ry [  CORTIFY THAT THI INFORMATION GIVEN . 7 i i ]
=1 [ [ i ﬁ I I I | I I I 4 THE S8 FUCATION 15 TRLE." hing false | Signatus Fl.aaﬁw- s EBhome bhamber
el pem Erky 1‘ i whan seqky far g teeme g ey et B D0 W, B guirim o iy e irforratics
eries TGSH Tonr ST Securlly Feamber  eriminal offere. pecHCaly s ot e o .3 bl o (it Comy ot o e
G RGT AR THE Waiker Frmals
,.a..;.amllllll||||||L||||||||||| Owe O

rEEEs T dgdees, PO Box, Hural Boute (Mailing

s (LI ITTTLLTT]

THIS ARGTHLRE

T W DL
Corpd s hin

GHLY # vy by Sty {ine
FENEN kad 0

(=T T

(LTI

Vour Area Code snd Phone Famber

e foreign country 1F nesded)

I;U

Liwivwers L icemss Ham

e | (D clastee. G S B

E L Haight II‘L - ) Weighit (i)

Application Deadline: April 7, 2009. Midnight postmark acceptable.
Applications postmarked after deadline are rejected.

GUIDE TO UNIT TABLES

Hunting Season or Method

*Archery (Bow and Arrow Dates

Only)

Season dates
when licenses

COMBINED UNITS

*Muzzleloading Rifle Only

are valid.

Please read the unit tables care
fully. Some licenses are valid ol
unit only while others are valid
in multiple units. There are two
different ways this is shown in
the unit tables.

Example 1

All rifle elk licenses for unit 7
are also valid in unit 8. In this
circumstance, the sentence,
“License valid in units 7, 8
appears in bold type at the bot-
tom of the table for unit 7. Unit 8
reads “See UNIT 7.”

Example 2

Not all licenses in unit 44 are
valid in other units. Instead, only
some of unit 44 hunt codes
include other units. In this situa:
tion, the table indicates within
specific seasons where the hunit
code is valid. In unit 44, the seg-
arate rifle season license lists
units 44, 45, 47 and 444 where
you can hunt with this license.
However, in the three combined
seasons and the rifle early sea
son, no other units are listed.
That means these licenses only
are valid in unit 44.

*Rifle and Other Legal

Methods \ /

/

GAME HUNTING DATES PERMITTED HUNT
UNIT  SEASON BAG (SEX CODE
Rifle-Separate_ct. Bulk___ E-M-007-O1-R
7 Rifle-Combined Oct.17-25 Bull* -007-02-
CWD Cow E-F-007-02-R
Rifle-Combined Oct.31-Nov.6  Bull* E-M-007-O3-R
© _E-007-0O3-!
Rifle-Combined Nov.11-15 Bull* E-M-007-O4-R
_ Cow
Rifle-Late Nov.21-Dec.2 _ Cow
Rifle-Late Dec.5-16 Cow
Rifle-Late Sept.1-Jan.31 Cow*

Private Land Only
License valid in units 7, 8

SEE UNIT 7
8 CWD

Rifle-Separate  Oct.10-14 Either sex _E-E-044-O1-R

44 units 44, 45, 47, 444 Cow* E-F-044-01R
Rifle-Combined Oct.17-25 Cow* E-F-044-02-R
Rifle-Combined Oct.31-Nov.6 _ Cow* E-F-044-03R
Rifle-Combined  Nov.11-15 Either sex* E-E-044-O4-R

Cow* E-F-044-04-R

Rifle-Early Aug.15-Jan.15 Cow* E-F-044-P5-R

Private Land Only
Rifle-Separate  Oct.10-14 Either sex* E-E-044-P1-R

units 44, 45, 47, 444 Private Land Only
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Permitted Bag
This part indicates the sex that can
be hunted in that season.

Hunt Code

Be sure to verify your hunt

codes in the unit tablesThey

may have changed since last year.

Private Land Only

When a hunt is allowed only on
private land, you must get permis-
sion from a landowner in that unit
before you hunt.




FILLING OUTAPPLICATIONS

WORRIED ABOUT MAKING
AN APPLICATION ERROR?

Simple mistakes can disqualify you from the drawing.
Applying online helps reduce errors.
You also can buy habitat stamps online.
Go to: www.wildlife.state.co.us.

*Use only applications in this brochure. Photocopies not
accepted.

*Do not cut or fold applications. Remove stubs.
*UseBLACK BALLPOINT PEN ONLY.

*Print clearly. Use capital letters and stay in boxes.

*Do not use correction fluid or tape or write over errors. If
you don’t have another application, scratch out the error and
write above it without interfering with other boxes.

*Use your home address; business addresses are illegal.

1. ciD Number. Starting from left to right, enter your num-
ber. If you were mailed this brochure, your CID number may

be on the address label above your name. If you've never ha

a CID, see #16.

2. Enter Your First-Choice Hunt Code. The hunt code

must be listed in the unit tables. Applications are pre-printed
with the first letter of the hunt code, indicating the species (E
for elk, D for deer, etc.). If the first letter on the form does
not match the first letter of your hunt code, STOP. You have
either the wrong application form or wrong hunt code.

3. Optional Second, Third and Fourth ChoicesYou may
apply for as many as three more choices.

4. permission to Provide Information.Allows informa-

tion from applications to be given to entities providing
hunting information, services and products. If you check
this box and decide you don’t want your information
released, cancel your permission by writing DOW, 6060
Broadway, Denver, CO 80216, Attn: Call Center; in person
at DOW offices; by e-mail to

wildlife.dowinfo@state.co.us; or phone, (303) 297-1192.

5. Name.Print your first name, middle initial and last
name. Don’t add or delete Jr., Ill, etc. Use capital letters.
Enter as many letters as fit.

6. Date of Birth. Enter your birth date, using four digits for
the yearExample: MM DD YYYY
July 20, 1945 07 20 1945

7. Payment.Mark an “X” in the box that applies to your
residency. See license fee chart for prices. Mark one box
only.

8. Residency If you checked “Resident” or “Resident
Youth,” you must fill in the “Colorado Resident Since” boxes
with month (MM) and year (YYYY) you moved here. For
Colorado military, enter “88 8888.”
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LIMITED LICENSE FEES
(See Habitat Stamp)

DEER

Resident.................... $34 Nonresident ...................... $32p

Youth, Resident......... $13.75 Youth, Nonresident.......... $103.75
ELK

Resident.................... $49 Nonresident Bull............... $549
..................................... Nonresident Cow.............$254
..................................... Nonresident Either Sex....$549

Youth, Resident........ $13.75 Youth, Nonresident.......... $103.75
PRONGHORN

Resident.................... $34 Nonresident ...................... $32p

Youth, Resident........ $13.75 Youth, Nonresident.......... $103.75
BEAR - Resident.......$44 Nonresident ...................... $254
MOOSE - Resident...$254 Nonresident .............c.ee.... $1,829
Costs include $3 nonrefundable application fee, a 25-cent search and rescue fee fnd 75-
cent surcharge for the Wildlife Management Public Education Fund.

9. You are encouraged to buy your annual habitat stamp
efore or when applying for a limited license. Licenses are
OT mailed until you meet the annual habitat stamp require-

ment (see “Habitat Stamp”). To avoid delays in receiving a

license, buy a habitat stamp online, by calling 1-800-244-

5613 or at a license agent or DOW office. You also can

include $5 for a habitat stamp with your license fee. Put an

“X" in this box if you are sending $5 for the stamp.

10. if Unsuccessful.Place “X” in the correct box to tell us
what to do if you don’t draw a license.

a. Deer and elk applicants can choose the leftover drawing.
If you choose this option, you will receive a priority list of
leftover licenses available in the left-over drawing. Youths,
12-17, receive priority in the leftover drawing. (Licenses
remaining after the leftover drawing go on sale to the public
the second Tuesday in Aug.)

b. Pronghorn hunters can select a refund or a general
archery license. Unsuccessful pronghorn applicants who
leave this box blank automatically get a refund.

11.Groups. Pick 1 member as leader. All members, includ-
ing leader, must enter the leader’s CID number in section
“For Groups Only.” Only applicants who enter the same
number in this section are considered in the group. If no one
has a CID, the leader should call the DOW. Group members
must mail applications separately. See “Group Applications.”

12.preference Pointslf you have preference points for
this species, mark “X” in box.

DRAWING CALENDAR
Application deadline
Refunds in mail by

Licenses in mail by
Drawing results are posted on our website as soon as licel
are in the mail.




1 3. Hunter Education. Put “X” in box if you have a valid
hunter education card. Proof of hunter education is required
in Colorado if you were born on or after Jan. 1, 1949.

14 . social Security Number.Your Social Security number
(SSN) is required to apply for licenses. The SSN is not dis-
played on licenses. You can contact the DOW directly with
your SSN. If you already gave it to us, leave this section
blank.

15. Signature. Read the certification statement carefully,
then sign the application. Include a day phone number.
Unsigned applications are rejected.

16.it you've never had a CID. Fill in the bottom part

Colorado Division of Wildlife
Attention: Deer

P.O. Box 173313

Denver, CO 80217-3313

Colorado Division of Wildlife
Attention: Elk

P.O. Box 173314

Denver, CO 80217-3314

Colorado Division of Wildlife
Attention: Bear

P.O. Box 173761

Denver, CO 80217-3761

Colorado Division of Wildlife
Attention: Moose

P.O. Box 173782

Denver, CO 80217-3782

Colorado Division of Wildlife
Attention: Pronghorn

P.O. Box 173315

Denver, CO 80217-3315

REFUNDS

1. To get a refund, you must relinquish your license and car-
cass tag before opening day of that season. License must be
accompanied by a completed request form obtained at a

with your address, sex, area code and phone number, driver'ow office or on our website. Requests must be postmarked

license number (first 14 digits or letters only), height and
weight. Don'’t use bottom area for address changes.

17.vou can change your address online or use change of
address form in the application insert. Mail the form sepa-
rately. Mail it by April 7 to: DOW Address Change, 6060
Broadway, Denver, CO 80216. DO NOT INCLUDE IT
WITH YOUR APPLICATION.

18. Review your applicatiorincorrect applications are dis-
qualified, and no preference points are awarded. Photocopy
your application for your records.

SUBMITTING YOUR APPLICATION

1. Make checks payable to: COLORADO DIVISION OF
WILDLIFE.

2.0Only personal checks, cashier’s checks or money orders,
in U.S. currency, accepted. Do not send cash. Credit cards
accepted for online applications only.

3. Applications and payments are not accepted at DOW
offices, including Denver. Application drop boxes are avail-

before the season starts. If there isn’'t enough time to request
a form, mail your license and carcass tag with a letter to the
DOW. The envelope must be postmarked before the season
starts and mailed to DOW, 6060 Broadway, Denver, 80216,
attn: Refund Office.

2. After a season starts, refunds are limited to extreme med-
ical circumstances of licensee, death of the licensee or death
of licensee’s immediate family member.

3. Refunds and preference point restorations are not consid-
ered more than 30 days after a season starts. This limit is
extended for members of the U.S. military whose service
prevented requesting a refund on time.

4. Refunds for unsuccessful drawing applications are issued
by June 25 The $3 application fee is not refunded.
Preference points used in applying are not restored to your
record if you return your license and obtain a refund. Points
may be restored in lieu of a refund at licensee’s request if the
license is returned before the season opens. After a season
opens, the DOW also may restore points in lieu of a refund
in extreme medical circumstances of the licensee or death of

able at Denver headquarters; only personal checks, cashier'sjicensee’s immediate family member.

checks or money orders accepted.

4. Write your CID number on your check.

5. Don’t send applications directly to us unless your name
changed or you were told to do so by us.

6. Applications are rejected if your check is returned by the
bank and the money may be collected electronically.

7.Use a 4 1/8 X 9 1/2 inch envelope (standard commercial
#10 envelope) so you don'’t have to fold the application.

8. You can submit only 1 application per species, per year. If
you submit more than 1 application, each must be in a sepa-
rate envelope with separate payment, including group appli-
cations. Envelopes with multiple applications can be dam-
aged by machine opener. Send applications to:
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MAKE SURE YOU GET A LICENSE!

Being unsuccessful in the drawing doesn’t mean
you can't get a hunting license. Applications for
deer, elk and pronghorn feature options if you
don't draw a first choice. Look for the “lunsuc-
cessful” box on the pplication and make your
selection.





