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The Colorado Parks and Wildlife Commission sets big-game regulations in January.  The Com-
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NOTE: Laws and regulations in this brochure are paraphrased for easier understanding and are 
intended only as a guide. Complete Colorado wildlife statutes and regulations are available at 
CPW offices listed above and online at wildlife.state.co.us/RulesRegs/Regulations/Pages/
Regulations.aspx.
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Turkey ........................................................... (303) 291-7547
Hunter Education ..................................... (303) 291-7530

on THe CoveR:

David Stanley of Breckenridge harvested this bighorn 
sheep ram in 2011.  He wrote, “After a four-hour hike and 
one and a half hours laying under my poncho waiting for 
the rain to stop, I crawled over the rocks to take a look. 
There were 11 rams right below me... I watched them 
for the next hour and waited for the closest big ram to 
stand up. I took my shot with my .30-06 Savage rifle that 
I bought when I was 14 years old – it’s 40 years old this 
year.”

Read the rest of David’s story and share your own photos  
and hunt stories on the CPW website at www.bit.ly/ 
COHuntPhotos. We may use yours in print. 

bRUsH 
122 E. Edison
Brush, 80723
(970) 842-6300

ColoRaDo spRInGs
4255 Sinton Road  
Colorado Springs, 80907 
(719) 227-5200  

DenveR 
6060 Broadway
Denver, 80216
(303) 291-7227

DURanGo  
151 E. 16th St.  
Durango, 81301  
(970) 247-0855 

foRT CollIns 
317 W. Prospect Road  
Fort Collins, 80526  
(970) 472-4300  

GlenwooD spRInGs 
0088 Wildlife Way 
Glenwood Springs, 81601 
(970) 947-2920  

GRanD jUnCTIon
711 Independent Ave. 
Grand Junction, 81505 
(970) 255-6100

GUnnIson 
300 W. New York Ave.
Gunnison, 81230
(970) 641-7060

HoT sUlpHUR spRInGs 
346 Grand County Rd. 362
Hot Sulphur Springs, 80451
(970) 725-6200  

laMaR 
2500 S. Main St. 
Lamar, 81052 
(719) 336-6600
 
MeekeR 
73485 Hwy. 64
Meeker, 81641
(970) 878-6090

MonTe vIsTa  
0722 S. Road 1 E. 
Monte Vista, 81144 
(719) 587-6900 

MonTRose 
2300 S. Townsend Ave.
Montrose, 81401
(970) 252-6000

pUeblo 
600 Reservoir Road
Pueblo, 81005
(719) 561-5300

salIDa 
7405 Hwy. 50
Salida, 81201
(719) 530-5520

sTeaMboaT spRInGs 
925 Weiss Dr.
Steamboat Springs, 80487   
(970) 870-2197

aDMInIsTRaTIon
6060 Broadway
Denver, 80216
(303) 297-1192

Cpw offICe loCaTIons  
cpw.state.co.us

new!  All CPW parks and offices now sell hunting and fishing licenses and offer full 
license services.  See the CPW website for a list of parks locations.  

onlY the offices below can assist hunters with animal checks and taking samples that are 
related to hunting activities referred to in this brochure.

http://bit.ly/COHuntPhotos
http://cpw.state.co.us
http://cpw.state.co.us
http://wildlife.state.co.us/RulesRegs/Regulations/Pages/Regulations.aspx
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HUnTeR eDUCaTIon 
(safeTY) ReqUIReMenTs
Anyone born on or aft er Jan. 1, 
1949, must have completed an 
approved hunter education course 
sanctioned by a state or province 
before applying for or purchasing 
a license. Colorado honors hunter 
education courses from other states 
and provinces.      
     You must present an original 
hunter safety card when buying a 
license (unless previously verifi ed) or 
enter the required information when 
applying by mail or online. 
     All hunters must carry their 
hunter education card while hunting 
unless a “V” is printed on the license, 
which indicates hunter education has 
been verifi ed at a CPW location.   
     Th e hunter education course 
schedule is at  wildlife.state.co. us/
Hunting/Huntereducation/Course 
Calendar/pages/HeCalendar.aspx. 

aUCTIon anD 
Raffle lICenses
If you’re looking for another way 
to hunt sheep and goat, auction 
and raffl  e licenses may interest you.  
Th ese special licenses are available 

for Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep 
and mountain goats, allowing you to 
hunt during extended seasons. Th ese 
licenses are good statewide in any 
unit open to hunting that species.  
     Th ey are off ered by participating 
wildlife organizations that return at 
least 75 percent of the proceeds to 
CPW for research, management and 
education. For information, go to the 
website wildlife.state.co.us/Hunting/
bigGame/pages/Raffleauction.aspx. 
See page 4 for more.

CHIlD sUppoRT 
DelInqUenCY
State law requires a Social Security 
number to buy a license. It is not 
displayed on the license but is pro-
vided, if requested, to Child Support 
Enforcement authorities. Hunting 
and fi shing licenses are not issued to 
those suspended for noncompliance 
with child support. 
     Any current licenses become 
invalid if held by an individual who 
is noncompliant with child support.

weapons 
ResTRICTIons
Colorado and federal laws prohibit 

people convicted of certain crimes, 
such as domestic violence, from pos-
sessing weapons even for hunting. 

     

If you’ve been convicted of a 
crime, check with the appropriate 
law enforcement authority to fi nd 
out how these laws apply to you.

lICense  InfoRMaTIon
     

lICense pRoCess ToTal
fee CosT

» 2013 Habitat Stamp (required) ......$10 ................  -   .................$10

ResIDenT
» Rocky Mtn. Bighorn .......................$251 .............$3 .................$254
» Mountain Goat ................................$251 .............$3 .................$254
» Desert Bighorn .................................$251 .............$3 .................$254

nonResIDenT  (must use paper applications to apply)

» Rocky Mtn. Bighorn .......................$1,951 ..........$3 .................$1,954
» Mountain Goat .................................$1,951 ..........$3 .................$1,954
» Desert Bighorn ................................$1,301 ..........$3 .................$1,304
See license information below for details. Prices include 25-cent search-
and-rescue fee and 75-cent surcharge for the Wildlife Management Public 
Education Fund. 

wHaT YoU neeD To bUY a lICense
1.  Current and valid photo ID (Colorado driver’s license must be 
       issued at least 6 months prior to applying as a resident)
2.  Proof of hunter education (see requirements at left)
3.  For residents, proof of residency  (see page 4)
4.  Habitat Stamp (see requirements below)

HabITaT sTaMp 
• Stamps are $10 and are nonrefundable. Only one is required per 

person per year, valid April 1-March 31. A lifetime stamp is $300.25.
• Anyone 18-64 MUsT purchase a stamp prior to buying or apply-

ing for a preference point, or for a hunting or fi shing license.
• hunters ages 18-64 applying for a limited license must purchase 

a stamp to apply in the drawing process. Applications submitted 
for hunters who do not have a habitat Stamp will be disqualifi ed.

• EXEmptIONS: Anyone with a free lifetime fi shing license, a veter-
an’s lifetime combination small-game hunting and fi shing license, 
or those approved for the Big-Game Mobility Impaired Hunting 
Program.  See  wildlife.state.co.us/Hunting/Disabled
accessibility/pages/DisabilityInformation.aspx for details.

lICense  fees2013
WHAT’S NEW

» new HUnTs avaIlable foR bIGHoRn sHeep...  Th ere 
are a handful of new hunts and changes to bighorn sheep hunting. 
     Changes include two new archery hunts: One in unit S39 at Mount 
Silverheels, and one in S69 in Lower Cochetopa Canyon. 
     Th e rifl e hunts in unit S40 are now grouped with unit S58, for a 
hunt area that encompasses the Lone Pine and Lower Poudre areas.
     Th ere’s also a hunt available through the draw this year in unit S48 
which has traditionally been a Ranching For Wildlife hunt. Sheep here 
only reside on private land, get landowner permission before applying, 
an access fee may be required to hunt with this tag.  See details, pages 7-9.

» new boUnDaRIes In HUnT aReas...  Look at the hunt 
code tables closely to ensure you apply for the correct hunt, some 
hunting area boundaries have changed for sheep. 
     Two notable changes include the hunting boundaries within both 
units S21 and S33. Both have been split into more hunting areas and 
new hunts have been added.  See details, pages 7-9.

» CHeCk foResT seRvICe ClosURes...  Th ere’s a 
new website available to quickly and easily check closures of 
U.S. Forest Service lands and roads. Find out if your hunting 
area is aff ected before you apply for a license and before you 
leave home for your hunt. See page 3 for details.

» NEED a VIDEO FIX?...  Check out the interactive version of the 
2013 Sheep & Goat brochure online to view new bighorn ram footage 
and more: www.bit.ly/colosheepgoat.

 save TIMe:  bUY onlIne oR bY pHone
Go to www.bit.ly/cpwlicensesales or call 1-800-244-5613. 

Get the lead out
From the field to the table, ensuring your next 
harvest is safe for your family is important. 
Switching from lead bullets may be the right op-
tion for you. For more, go to the CPW link above.   
Science tells us ingesting lead can cause 
potential health problems.  Risks are low for 

most people, however, you 
can also: 

1. Use lead-free shot or 
bullets.

2. Liberally trim and discard meat damaged by 
the bullet when you process an animal. Frag-
ments can scatter far from the wound.

3. Clean your meat grinder between each 
animal. Lead is soft and can go through your 
grinder, contaminating an entire batch of 
ground meat.

4. Avoid eating game meat from animals har-
vested with lead bullets if you are pregnant. 
Children younger than 6 should also avoid it.

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment 
and Colorado Parks and Wildlife

www.bit.ly/leadammo

If you’ve been convicted of a 

most people, however, you 
can also: 

1. Use lead-free shot or 
bullets.

ground meat.
4. Avoid eating game meat from animals har-

vested with lead bullets if you are pregnant. 
Children younger than 6 should also avoid it.

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment 

Lead Safety

http://wildlife.state.co.us/Hunting/DisabledAccessibility/Pages/DisabilityInformation.aspx
http://wildlife.state.co.us/Hunting/BigGame/Pages/RaffleAuction.aspx
http://wildlife.state.co.us/Hunting/HunterEducation/CourseCalendar/Pages/HECalendar.aspx
http://bit.ly/leadammo
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 ewe: A female sheep with a horn 
or horns at least 5 inches long, 
measured on the outside curve.

 Males:  Horns have bases that are close to-
gether and larger than the eye. Horns are heavy 
and have more curvature. 
     Males stand and stretch hind legs backwards, 
with a slight arch in the back, to urinate. Th e 
scrotum may be visible from the rear when 
goats have short summer coats.

 MoUnTaIn GoaT IDenTIfICaTIon 

 feMales:  Horns have bases that are smaller 
or equal to the eye size. Horns are oft en thinner 
and straighter, with a curve at the ends.
     Females squat to urinate. Th e dark vulva 
patch may be visible when tail is raised.

foR MoRe go to the goat ID and quiz 
online:  wildlife.state.co.us/Hunting/ 
BigGame/GoatIDandQuiz/Pages/HEGoat
GuideAndQuiz.aspx

 leGal HUnTInG HoURs
Legal hunting hours for sheep and goat are one-half hour before sunrise to one-half 
hour aft er sunset. 
     Th e sunrise/sunset chart below lists Denver times. Subtract 1 minute from open-
ing and closing time for each 12 1/2 miles east of Denver. Add 1 minute to open-
ing and closing time for each 12 1/2 miles west of Denver. (Th ese changes assume 
that each degree of longitude equals 50 miles and a change of 1 degree of longitude 
equals a 4-minute change in sunrise and sunset times.) 

 ManDaToRY bIGHoRn sHeep CHeCk
1. All bighorns, including ewes and desert bighorns, must be 

inspected by a CPW offi  cer or at a CPW offi  ce (listed inside 
the cover) during regular business hours within fi ve working 
days of harvest. License holders must personally present sheep 
with horns and skull intact. A harvest report is completed at 
that time. A permanent marker will be attached to the horn of 
bighorn rams.

2. All licensees (successful or not) must return a completed ques-
tionnaire within 30 days aft er a season ends. Licensees who do 
not complete the questionnaire become ineligible for future 
sheep licenses.

3. It is illegal to trade, transfer or sell ram heads, capes, skulls or 
horns unless CPW inspects and permanently marks horns. 
Th e CPW marks only legally killed rams.

 ManDaToRY MoUnTaIn GoaT CHeCk
1. All goats must be inspected by a CPW offi  cer or at a CPW offi  ce 

(listed inside the cover) during regular business hours within fi ve 
working days of harvest. License holders must personally present 
goats with horns and skull intact. A harvest report is completed 
by the hunter at that time. 

2. All licensees (successful or not) must return a completed ques-
tionnaire within 30 days aft er a season ends. Licensees who do 
not complete the questionnaire become ineligible for future 
goat licenses.

 sHeep anD GoaT HUnTeR oRIenTaTIon
Hunters who draw a sheep or goat license may attend a free 
course on sheep and goat hunting sponsored by CPW, Rocky 
Mountain Bighorn Society, Colorado Bowhunters Association 
and the International Order of Rocky Mountain Goats. 
     Th e class is usually held in mid-July.  Th ose who are success-
ful in the draw and obtain a license will receive details about the 
class through the mail by early June. For more information, call 
(303) 297-1192. 

bIGHoRn sHeep IDenTIfICaTIon 

 one-Half CURl RaM:  Male bighorn 
with a horn or horns having one or both 
tips grown at least through half (180 
degrees) of a circle. Th is is measured 
by fi rst establishing a reference line 
bisecting the eye and base of the ear. A 
half-curl ram has one or both horns that 
have grown at least as far as the blue 
reference line in the illustration.

5 InCHes

1/2 
CURl

    bIllY

Illustrations by © Wayne Lewis, CPW nannY

2013 sUnRIse/sUnseT Table (DenveR)

Add or subtract these 
minutes to the chart 

above for select towns. 
For use only as a 

general reference. 

alamosa +3
buena vista +5
burlington -10
Craig +9

Durango +11
fort Morgan -4
Gr. junction +13
Gunnison +7

la junta -6
lamar -9
sterling -6
walden +5

TIMe aDjUsTMenT foR oTHeR ColoRaDo CITIes

        aUG.  (DST)*    sepT.  (DST)    oCT.  (DST) nov. (DST) DeC.  jan. 2014
  RIse   seT   RIse  seT   RIse  seT   RIse   seT  RIse  seT RIse seT
DaY a.M.   p.M. a.M.  p.M. a.M.  p.M. a.M.   p.M. a.M.   p.M. a.M.   p.M.
1  5:59  8:13 6:28 7:31 6:56  6:42 7:29 5:58 7:02 4:36 7:21 4:46
2   6:00  8:11  6:29  7:29 6:57  6:40 7:30 5:56 7:03 4:36 7:21 4:47
3   6:01  8:10   6:30  7:27 6:58  6:39 6:31 4:55 7:04 4:36 7:21 4:48
4   6:02  8:09 6:31  7:26 6:59  6:37 6:32 4:54 7:05 4:35 7:21 4:49
5   6:03  8:08 6:32  7:24 7:00  6:35 6:33 4:53 7:06 4:35 7:21 4:50
6   6:04  8:07 6:33  7:23 7:01  6:34 6:35 4:52 7:07 4:35 7:21 4:51
7   6:05  8:06 6:34  7:21 7:02  6:32 6:36 4:51 7:08 4:35 7:21 4:52
8   6:06  8:05 6:35  7:19 7:03  6:31 6:37 4:50 7:09 4:35 7:21 4:53
9  6:07  8:03 6:36  7:18 7:04  6:29 6:38 4:49 7:09 4:35 7:21 4:54
10  6:08  8:02 6:37  7:16 7:05  6:28 6:39 4:48 7:10 4:36 7:21 4:55
11  6:09  8:01 6:38  7:15 7:06  6:26 6:40  4:47 7:11 4:36 7:20 4:56
12  6:10  8:00 6:39  7:13 7:07  6:25 6:41 4:46 7:12 4:36 7:20 4:57
13  6:10  7:58 6:39  7:11 7:08  6:23 6:43 4:46 7:13 4:36  7:20 4:58
14  6:11  7:57 6:40  7:10 7:09  6:22 6:44 4:45 7:13 4:36 7:19 4:59
15 6:12  7:56 6:41  7:08 7:10  6:20 6:45 4:44 7:14 4:37 7:19 5:00
16  6:13  7:54 6:42  7:06 7:11  6:19 6:46 4:43 7:15 4:37 7:19 5:01
17  6:14  7:53 6:43  7:05 7:13  6:17 6:47 4:43  7:15 4:37 7:18 5:02
18   6:15  7:51 6:44  7:03 7:14  6:16 6:48 4:42 7:16 4:38 7:18 5:03
19   6:16  7:50 6:45  7:01 7:15  6:14 6:49 4:41 7:16 4:38 7:17 5:04
20   6:17  7:49 6:46  7:00 7:16  6:13 6:50 4:41 7:17 4:38 7:17 5:06
21  6:18  7:47 6:47  6:58 7:17  6:12 6:52 4:40 7:17 4:39 7:16 5:07
22   6:19  7:46 6:48  6:56 7:18  6:10 6:53 4:39 7:18 4:39 7:16 5:08
23  6:20  7:44 6:49  6:55 7:19  6:09 6:54 4:39 7:18 4:40 7:15 5:09
24   6:21  7:43 6:50  6:53 7:20  6:08 6:55 4:38 7:19 4:41 7:14 5:10
25   6:22  7:41 6:51  6:52 7:21  6:06 6:56 4:38 7:19 4:41 7:13 5:11
26   6:23  7:40 6:52  6:50 7:22  6:05 6:57 4:38 7:20 4:42 7:13 5:13
27   6:24  7:38 6:53  6:48 7:23  6:04 6:58 4:37 7:20 4:43 7:12 5:14
28   6:25  7:37 6:54  6:47 7:24  6:02 6:59 4:37 7:20 4:43 7:11 5:15
29   6:25  7:35 6:54  6:45 7:26  6:01 7:00 4:36 7:20 4:44 7:10 5:16
30   6:26  7:34 6:55  6:43 7:27  6:00 7:01 4:36 7:21 4:45 7:10  5:17
31   6:27 7:32   7:28  5:59   7:21 4:46 7:09 5:19

So
ur

ce
: w

w
w

.u
sn

o.
na

vy
.m

il

(at dotted line)

DST 
ends

* DST = Daylight Saving Time

http://wildlife.state.co.us/Hunting/BigGame/GoatIDandQuiz/Pages/HEGoatGuideAndQuiz.aspx
http://www.hugahunter.com
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new! CHeCk lanD ClosURes 
befoRe YoU HeaD oUT To HUnT
Projects on the National Forest can temporarily 
impact access any time of the year. Closures of 
areas, roads and trails can change quickly due to  
hazard tree removal, road work, wildfire, wind 
events, flooding and other activities.  
     Your hunting destination or access route may 
be affected. Be informed before you plan your 
hunt on National Forest System lands. Plan alter-
native routes and areas to hunt in case closures 
occur.  Keep up-to-date at www.fs.usda.gov/goto/
r2/huntnfs-co.

new!  leave YoUR paCk GoaTs 
aT HoMe wHen HUnTInG sHeep
Please leave your pack goats at home during your 
bighorn hunt. Diseases can be transmitted from 
goats to bighorns, even if your animals appear 
healthy. Some diseases can cause large-scale die-
offs of wild bighorns.   
     To prevent disease transmission, keep domestic 
goats out of areas occupied by bighorn sheep. For 
more information, go to the CPW website or the 
Western Association of Fish and Wildlife Agen-
cies: www.wafwa.org/documents/wswg/Recommend 
ationsforDomesticsheepGoatManagement.pdf.

EVIDENCE OF SEX
1. Males: head with horns attached, testicle, 

scrotum or penis.  
feMales: head, udder (mammary) or vulva.

2. It is illegal to have or transport big game, or a 
considerable part of it, without evidence of sex 
naturally attached. Evidence of sex must be 
attached to carcass until it is cut into processed 
meat (commercially or otherwise), wrapped and 
frozen or stored at licensee’s home.

3. Head or intact skull of sheep and goats with 
horns naturally attached to skull plate must ac-
company the carcass.

CaRCass TaGs
You must attach a carcass tag to animals you kill 
per instructions on the tag. Tags must stay on the 
carcass until the meat is processed and it must 
remain with the meat until consumed. 
     It is illegal to sign or tear the tag before a kill. 
If you lose, accidentally destroy or detach the tag, 
you must get a duplicate from a CPW location 
before hunting and prove the loss, detachment or 
destruction was accidental. Do not remove other 

parts of a license except the carcass tag after a kill. 
Doing so voids the license and you must buy a 
duplicate. 

TRanspoRTInG GaMe
1. Sheep and goats must have carcass tags properly 

and securely attached to carcass (not horns), 
unless it is 20 pounds or less of meat that is ac-
companied by a donation certificate. If carcass is 
in pieces, tag must be attached to the piece with 
evidence of sex naturally attached.

2. Harvested sheep or goats shipped by common 
carrier must be accompanied by either the license, 
a photocopy of license or carcass tag and (if less 
than 20 pounds of meat) a donation certificate.

3. Processed big-game meat must be accompanied 
by carcass tag or, if donated, a certificate.

4. If you transport someone else’s game, animals 
must be properly tagged, or you can be cited. 
The upper part of carcass tag must be kept by 
whoever killed the animal. Carry a list identify-
ing each hunter and animal. 

5. Hunters transporting game through other states 
are encouraged to check with each state for 
specific carcass transportation regulations.

DonaTInG GaMe MeaT
Donation certificates are required for all donations. 
Certificates must contain names, addresses and 
telephone numbers of donor and recipient; donor’s 
hunting license number; species and amounts do-

nated; date of kill; donor’s signature. The certificate 
can be a simple note; no special form is required. 
Certificate must stay with the meat until the meat 
is completely consumed. Donor and recipient are 
subject to all bag and possession limits.

     noTe: A “like license” is a license for exactly the 
same species, sex, season and method of take as a 
donor’s license.
1. You can donate to someone wITH oR wITHoUT 

a like license:
 a. Any amount of processed and packaged game 

meat, anywhere.
2. You can donate to someone wITHoUT a like 

license:
   a. up to 20 pounds of unprocessed meat, anywhere
  b. more than 20 pounds of unprocessed meat, 

only at recipient’s home
3. You can donate to someone wITH a like license:
 a. up to 20 pounds of unprocessed meat, anywhere   

b. more than 20 pounds of unprocessed meat, 
anywhere, only if:

        (1) recipient’s license is unfilled 
        (2) recipient’s carcass tag is on the meat. This 

establishes recipient’s claim to his/her portion 
of meat and voids his/her license. Donor’s tag 
must remain with his/her portion.

 c. the entire carcass, if: 
      (1) recipient’s license is unfilled, and
      (2) both the donor’s carcass tag and re-

cipient’s like-license carcass tag is on the meat, 
voiding both licenses.

RanCHInG foR wIlDlIfe
Public Ranching For Wildlife  (RFW)  licenses are 
available only to Colorado residents by drawing. 
This year, there is one bighorn sheep RFW license 
available, for Purgatoire Ranch.  The RFW hunt 
code and details for this hunt are on page 7. 
     RFW landowners must provide free access to 
hunters who draw a license for the ranch. By ap-
plying for a RFW license, hunters allow CPW to 
provide applicant information to the ranch. RFW 
hunting rules are different on each ranch. For 
Purgatoire Ranch rules, maps and ranch contacts, 
go to  wildlife.state.co.us/Hunting/
BigGame/RanchingforWildlife/Pages/RFW.aspx.

TURn In poaCHeRs (TIps) pRoGRaM
TIPs rewards people who voluntarily provide in-
formation resulting in charging poachers. Awards 
can be a preference point for species of choice or 
an unlimited license for the species reported. Some 
limited licenses also may be available. TIPs licenses 
do not count toward annual bag and possession 
limits.

DIsableD veTeRans
Colorado residents who are disabled veterans or 
Purple Heart recipients can get free lifetime combi-
nation small-game hunting and fishing licenses.  
     Veterans must have served on active duty and 
have been honorably discharged. Proof is required 

of a service-related disability rated by the Veterans 
Administration of at least 60 percent  through 
disability retirement benefits or a pension ad-
ministered by the Department of Veteran Affairs. 
Contact CPW, (303) 297-1192, for details.

speCIal ManaGeMenT lICenses
Colorado Parks and Wildlife may issue special 
licenses to prevent the spread of disease and un-
planned expansion of sheep and goats. 
     Licenses are offered to unsuccessful applicants 
from nearby units for the same species. Season 
dates to be determined. These licenses do not use 
or generate preference points. Hunters do not lose 
preference points by accepting these licenses.

In THe fIelD
“Realizing this was a 
once-in-a-lifetime draw, 
my brother Stuart (on 
left) took a week off of 
work and helped me 
get this 10-year-old 
ram in Unit 32. We lost 
40 pounds of weight 
between us getting 
ready for this hunt,” 
said Rick Evans.  Share 
tales from your hunts at 
www.bit.ly/ 
COHuntPhotos.

Photo ©  
CPW Hunter Testimonials

speCIal lICense InfoRMaTIon

http://www.fs.usda.gov/goto/r2/huntnfs-co
http://www.wafwa.org/documents/wswg/RecommendationsForDomesticSheepGoatManagement.pdf
http://wildlife.state.co.us/Hunting/BigGame/RanchingforWildlife/Pages/RFW.aspx
http://bit.ly/COHuntPhotos
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lICense ReqUIReMenTs
1. Bighorn sheep and mountain goat licenses are limited, available only by 

drawing for specific units. Licenses expire on the date printed on them 
and are not transferable.

2. You can apply for one bighorn sheep license and one mountain goat 
license each year. However, you cannot apply for a Rocky Mountain big-
horn and desert bighorn in the same year. If you apply for more than one 
bighorn sheep license at once, your applications become void.

3. bIGHoRn sHeep: If you harvest a Rocky Mountain bighorn ram (must 
have a half-curl or more), you must wait five years (sixth year after har-
vest) before applying for another Rocky Mountain bighorn ram license. 
During the five-year waiting period, hunters may apply for ewe licenses 
but cannot accrue preference points. This rule does not apply if you har-
vest a ram with an auction, raffle or special sheep management license. 

4. DeseRT bIGHoRn sHeep: If you harvest a desert bighorn sheep, you 
cannot participate in future desert bighorn sheep drawings.

5. MoUnTaIn GoaT: If you harvest a mountain goat, you must wait five 
years (sixth year after harvest) before applying for another mountain goat 
license. This rule does not apply if you harvest a goat with an auction, raffle 
or special goat management license.

6. Raffle oR aUCTIon lICenses: For information, call (303) 297-1192 
or see below for details. Licenses are available for any unit open to hunt-
ing sheep or goats in the current season. These licenses can be used in 
addition to sheep or goat licenses obtained in the limited license drawing.

7. YoUTHs aGes 12-17 can hunt sheep and goats but must meet hunter 
education requirements. Youths under 16 must hunt with a mentor. A 
mentor must be 18 or older and have a hunter education card, if born on 
or after Jan. 1, 1949. A mentor is not required to hunt. Youths and men-
tors must be able to see and hear each other without binoculars, radios, 
other devices or aids while hunting. Youths may apply for a sheep or goat 
license at age 11 if they will turn 12 before they go hunting. 

8. Ten percent of limited licenses are allocated to nonresidents.
9. It is illegal to make false statements to obtain a license or alter a license, 

and doing so voids the license.
10. Lost or destroyed licenses can be replaced by paying a replacement fee 

at any CPW location or license agent.

ResIDenCY ReqUIReMenTs
These are the requirements to qualify as a Colorado resident to buy a hunt-

ing license:
1. You must live in Colorado at least 6 consecutive months immediately be-

fore applying for or buying a license, and must intend to make Colorado 
home (except No. 3 and No. 4 below). The residence address you give to 
buy or apply for a license must be the same as on your Colorado income 
tax return.

2. A valid Colorado driver’s license or Colorado ID is proof of residency if 
issued at least 6 months prior to buying or applying for a license. If your 
ID or driver’s license was issued or renewed less than 6 months prior, you 
must provide documentation that proves you have been a resident for the 
required 6-month period.

3. U.S. military personnel and military personnel of U.S. allies on active duty 
in Colorado under permanent orders and their dependents. This includes 
people who were Colorado residents when they entered the military and 
keep Colorado as their home of record, and their dependents (unless they 
change their home of record to another state). Also included are personnel 
of the U.S. Diplomatic Service or diplomatic services of nations recognized 
by the U.S. assigned here on permanent active duty orders and their de-
pendents. Active duty does not include reserve status or National Guard.

4. Full-time students enrolled and attending a Colorado college, university or 
trade school at least 6 months immediately before applying for or buying a 
license. This includes students who are temporarily absent from Colorado 
but still enrolled. Colorado residents who attend school full time out of 
state and pay nonresident tuition still qualify for a resident license.

4. Children under 18 have the same residency status as their parent, legal 
guardian or person with whom they live most of the time per court order.

5. If you have a home in Colorado and another state, call (303) 297-1192 
to make sure you comply with Colorado residency requirements before 
applying for or obtaining a hunting or fishing license. 

6. Except as in No. 3 and No. 4 above, you lose your Colorado residency if 
you apply for, buy or accept hunting or fishing license as a resident of an-
other state or country, register to vote outside Colorado or get a driver’s 
license using an address in another state.

wIn THe HUnT of a lIfeTIMe —  
ToDaY!
Special auction and raffle licenses are available for 
moose, deer, elk, bighorn sheep, mountain goat and 
pronghorn. The licenses allow one to hunt dur-
ing extended seasons in any unit open to hunting 
the specific species. These licenses are offered by 
participating wildlife conservation organizations that 
return at least 75 percent of the proceeds to CPW for 
research, management and education.
     For information on purchasing raffle tickets for 
licenses or participating in auctions, visit the follow-
ing websites:

Auction 
& Raffle 
Licenses

MoRe aboUT 
THe aUCTIon 
anD Raffle  
pRoGRaM:

wildlife. 
state.co.us/ 
Hunting/big 

Game/pages/ 
Raffleauction.

aspx

bIGHoRn sHeep anD MoUnTaIn GoaT
• Rocky Mountain Bighorn Society:  www.bighornsheep.org

DeeR
• The Mule Deer Foundation:  www.muledeer.org
• Safari Club Intnl., Colorado Chapter:  www.scicolorado.org
• Colorado Mule Deer Association:  www. coloradomuledeer.org

Moose
• Safari Club Intnl.,  Colorado Chapter:  www.scicolorado.org
• Ducks Unlimited, Inc. Colorado:  www.ducks.org/colorado

pRonGHoRn
• Colorado Youth Outdoors:  www.coloradoyo.org
• Rocky Mountain Bighorn Society:  www.bighornsheep.org
• The Mule Deer Foundation:  www.muledeer.org

elk
• Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation:  www.rmef.org
• Colorado Bowhunters Assoc.:  www.coloradobowhunting.org
• The Mule Deer Foundation:  www.muledeer.org
• Colorado Wildlife Federation:  www.coloradowildlife.org

Photo ©  Dave Bantly
Dave Bantly poses with his bighorn sheep harvest. Bantly was the winner 
of the Rocky Mountain Bighorn Society’s raffle tag in 2012.

http://wildlife.state.co.us/Hunting/BigGame/Pages/RaffleAuction.aspx
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leGal HUnTInG MeTHoDs
1. HanD-HelD bow: a long bow, recurve bow or compound bow 

on which the string is not drawn mechanically or held mechani-
cally under tension. String or mechanical releases are legal if 
they are hand-drawn or hand-held with no other attachments or 
connections to the bow (other than bowstring).

 a. Hand-held bows, including compound bows, must use arrows 
with a broadhead having an outside diameter or minimum width 
of 7/8-inch with minimum of two steel cutting edges. Each cutting 
edge must be in same plane for entire length of cutting surface.

 b. Only legal hand-held bows allowed during archery seasons.
 c. Minimum draw weight: 35 pounds; Let-off max: 80 percent.
 d. No part of bow’s riser (handle) or track, trough, channel, 

arrow rest or other device (excluding cables and bowstring) that 
attaches to the riser can contact, support and/or guide the arrow 
from a point rearward of bow’s brace height behind the undrawn 
string.

 e. Bows can propel only one arrow at a time. No mechanisms 
that automatically load arrows are allowed.

 f. Scopes, electronic or battery-powered devices cannot be incor-
porated into or attached to a bow or arrow.

 g. Hydraulic or pneumatic technology cannot be used to derive 
or store energy to propel arrows. Explosive arrows prohibited.

2. CRossbows:
 a. Minimum draw weight: 125 pounds.
 b. Minimum draw length: 14 inches from front of bow to nock-

ing point of drawstring.
 c. Positive mechanical safety device required.
 d. Bolts must be minimum 16 inches long, have a broadhead 

minimum  7/8-inch wide and a minimum of two steel cutting 
edges. Each cutting edge must be in same plane for entire length 
of cutting surface.

 e. Illegal in archery seasons.

3. MUZZleloaDInG RIfles & sMooTHboRe MUskeTs: 
 a. In-line muzzleloaders are legal.
 b. Must have a single barrel that fires a single round ball or coni-

cal projectile.
 c. From .40 to .50 caliber, bullets must weigh at least 170 grains.  
 d. If greater than .50 caliber, bullets must weigh at least 210 grains.  
 e. Shotshell primers are legal. 

4. RIfles: Must be minimum .24 caliber (6 mm); have minimum 
16-inch barrel and be at least 26 inches long, fired from the 
shoulder. Must use expanding bullets that weigh minimum 70 
grains and have an impact energy (at 100 yards) of 1,000 foot-
pounds, as rated by the manufacturer. Semi-automatic rifles 
cannot hold more than six rounds in the magazine and chamber 
combined. Fully automatic rifles prohibited.

5. sHoTGUns:  Must be minimum 20 gauge and must fire a single 
slug. Barrel length: minimum 18 inches. Overall length: mini-
mum 26 inches.

6. HanDGUns: Must use a minimum .24 caliber (6 mm) diameter 
expanding bullet, with no shoulder stock or attachment. Must 
use only cartridge or load with minimum energy of 550 foot-
pounds at 50 yards. Barrel length: minimum 4 inches.

» If convicted of these felony violations, you can face a lifetime license suspension:
1. felonY offense: To kill and abandon big game. It is illegal to remove only the 

hide, antlers or other trophy parts and leave the carcass in the field.  
2. felonY offense: To sell, buy or offer to sell or buy big game. 
3. felonY offense: To solicit someone to illegally kill big game for commercial 

gain or provide outfitting services without required registration. 
4. Have a loaded (round in the chamber) rifle or shotgun in or on any motor vehicle. 

Muzzleloading rifles are considered unloaded if the percussion cap or shotshell 
primer is removed, or if the powder is removed from flashpan. It is illegal for 
anyone to have a loaded electronic-ignition muzzleloader in or on a motor vehicle 
unless the chamber is unloaded or the battery is disconnected and removed from 
its compartment. 

5. Carry firearms (except handguns) on an OHV during deer, elk, pronghorn and 
bear seasons unless they are unloaded in the chamber and magazine. Firearms 
(except handguns) and bows carried on an OHV must be fully enclosed in a hard 
or soft case. Scabbards or cases with open ends or sides are prohibited. This does 
not apply to landowners or their agents who carry a firearm on an OHV to take 
depredating wildlife on property they own or lease.

6. Hunt carelessly, discharge a firearm, or release an arrow with disregard for human 
life or property.

7. Operate or ride a snowmobile with a firearm unless it’s completely unloaded 
and cased, or with a bow unless it’s unstrung or cased. Compound bows must be 
cased, not unstrung.

8. Shoot from or use a motor vehicle, motorcycle, off-highway vehicle, snowmobile 
or aircraft to hunt, intercept, chase, harass or drive wildlife.

9. Use aircraft to hunt, to direct hunters on the ground or to hunt the same day or 
day after a flight was made to find wildlife.

10. Hunt under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances.
11. Use artificial light as an aid in hunting wildlife.
12. Use poison, drugs or explosives to hunt or harass wildlife.
13. Fail to extinguish a campfire.
14. Fail to make a reasonable attempt to track and kill animals you wound or may 

have wounded. It is against the law to pursue wounded wildlife that goes on private 
property without first obtaining permission from landowner or person in charge.

15. Fail to prepare edible wildlife meat for human consumption. At a minimum, the 
four quarters, tenderloins and backstraps are edible meat. Internal organs are not.

16. Shoot from, across or on a public road with a firearm, bow or crossbow. People 
firing a bow, rifle, handgun or shotgun with a single slug must be at least 50 feet 
from the centerline of the road.

17. Party hunt (kill someone else’s game or let someone kill yours).
18. Interfere with hunters. This includes distracting or frightening prey; causing prey to 

flee by using light or noise; chasing prey on foot or by vehicle; throwing objects; mak-
ing movements; harassing hunters by using threats or actions; erecting barriers to 
deny access to hunting areas and intentionally injecting yourself into the line of fire. 
Violators face prosecution and may have to pay victim’s damages and court costs.

19. Use the Internet or other computer-assisted remote technology while hunting or 
fishing. Hunters and anglers must be physically present in the immediate vicinity 
while hunting and fishing.

20. For two or more people to use electronic equipment on the ground, in a vehicle 
or vessel while violating any wildlife law or regulation.

HUnTInG ReqUIReMenTs

Operation Game Thief (OGT) is a nonprofit organization working with CPW’s law 
enforcement. Citizens who report poachers or resource violations are paid rewards. 
Callers don’t have to reveal their names, testify in court or sign a deposition.  
Rewards are paid if information leads to an arrest of a poacher or an issuance of a 
citation. Rewards do not depend on a conviction but must be requested when a 
violation is reported.   (This phone number is NOT for information or emergencies.)

OPERATION 
GAME THIEF
1-877-265-6648 

IT’s aGaInsT THe law To: 

http://wildlife.state.co.us/rulesregs/lawEnforcement/operationGameThief/Pages/OGT.aspx
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fIllInG oUT papeR applICaTIon
1. Print in capital, block letters and stay within the boxes. 

Use black ballpoint pen only. Photocopies not accepted.
2. Do not cut or fold applications. Tear along perforations.
3. Check or money order payment must accompany 

each application. The application fee of $3 is non-
refundable. The license cost also includes a 25-cent 
search-and-rescue fee and 75-cent Wildlife Manage-
ment Education Fund surcharge.

4. Starting from left to right, enter your customer iden-
tification (CID) number.  

 a. If this brochure was mailed to you, your CID num-
ber may be on the address label above your name.  

 b. If you’ve never had a CID, leave this part blank. 
Fill out the rest of the form, including the address 
box. You will get a CID when your application goes 
through the draw.

5. Enter hunt code choices. You can list up to four 
choices, the first being the one you want most.

6. Enter your name in capital letters, as many letters as will 
fit. Enter your birth date with four digits for the year.

7. Fill in “Colorado Resident Since” with month (MM) 
and year (YYYY) you moved here. If you have always 
lived here, enter month and year of your birth. Colo-
rado military: enter “88 8888.” One number per box.

8. You must buy a Habitat Stamp to apply for or buy 
a limited license. Hunters applying for a limited 
license must purchase a 2013 stamp to enter the 
drawing process. You may buy a Habitat Stamp at 
any license agent, CPW location, online, or by call-
ing 1-800-244-5613. You also can include $10 for a 
Habitat Stamp with your license fee when you apply 
for a license. Put an “X” in this box if you are send-
ing $10 for the stamp with your application. The $10 
charge is nonrefundable. 

9. If you have preference points, put an “X” in this box. 
10. If you were born on or after Jan.1, 1949, and have 

completed hunter education, put an “X” in the box.
11. State law requires your Social Security number to 

buy or apply for hunting licenses. If you have already 
given us your number, leave this blank.

12. The “permission to provide” box at the top of the 
application allows CPW to provide application 
information to entities offering hunting information 
or services. If you check this box and change your 
mind, you can cancel by writing CPW, Attn: Call 
Center, 6060 Broadway, Denver, CO 80216; or e-mail 
wildlife.dowinfo@state.co.us; call (303) 297-1192 or 
go to any CPW office (listed inside the cover).

13. Sign the application and enter a contact phone number.
14. You can change your address online or use the 

change-of-address form in this brochure. Mail the 
form separately to CPW. Don’t mail it with your 
application.

sUbMITTInG YoUR applICaTIon
1. Mail one check and application per envelope in a 

standard, 4 1/8- by 9 1/2-inch envelope. If you have 
a CID number, write it on the check. 

2. Personal checks, cashier’s checks or money orders 
are accepted, made to Colorado Parks and Wildlife. 
U.S. currency only. No cash. 

3. Payments are NOT accepted at CPW offices, includ-
ing Denver. A secure drop-box is available in Denver 
for sealed applications and payments. 

4. Applications are rejected if your check is returned by 
the bank. Prosecution may result.

GeTTInG RefUnDs oR ResToRInG  
YoUR pRefeRenCe poInTs
1. Refunds for unsuccessful applicants are issued by 

May 15. The $3 application fee and $10 Habitat 
Stamp fee are nonrefundable. Points used in apply-
ing are not restored to your record if you return your 
license and obtain a refund. Points may be restored 
in lieu of a refund at licensee’s request if the license is 
returned before the season opens. 

2. After a season starts, refunds  or point restorations 
are limited to extreme medical circumstances of 
licensee, death of the licensee or death of licensee’s 
immediate family member. 

3. Refunds and preference point restorations are not 
considered more than 30 days after a season starts. 
This limit is extended for members of the U.S. military 
whose service prevented requesting a refund on time. 

4. You must relinquish your license and carcass tag 
before opening day of the season. License must be 
accompanied by a completed request form obtained 
at a CPW location or on the website. Requests must 
be postmarked before the season starts. If there isn’t 
enough time to request a form, mail your license and 
carcass tag with a letter to the CPW. The envelope 
must be postmarked before the season starts and 
mailed to CPW, attn: Refund Office, 6060 Broadway, 
Denver, CO 80216.

GRoUp HUnT InsTRUCTIons
Group applications are accepted for Rocky 
Mountain bighorn sheep and mountain goat 
licenses. Maximum of two people per group.  
Group applications are prioritized based on the 
member with fewesT points. 
    Both members must enter the group leader’s 
CID number in the group application box to be 
entered as a group. If the leader has no CID, he or 
she must call CPW to get one. Both people must 
fill out their applications the same, using the 
same person as leader.  Each hunter’s application 
must be mailed separately.  
    Colorado residents and nonresidents cannot 
apply on the same group application. Group ap-
plications are not accepted for desert bighorn 
sheep. 

MaIl YoUR applICaTIons   MUsT posTMaRk on oR befoRe MIDnIGHT apRIl 2

GaInInG & UsInG 
pRefeRenCe poInTs 
1. One preference point is awarded to 

hunters who apply properly and are 
unsuccessful in drawing a license for a 
first-choice hunt code. Priority goes to 
whoever has the most points. Hunters 
who make an application error, includ-
ing on first-choice hunt codes, do not 
get a point.

2.  If you are issued a first-choice license, 
all accumulated preference points for 
that species are void and return to zero.

3.  If you fail to apply for oR have not pur-
chased a license for a certain species 
during a 10-year period, all accumu-
lated points for that species are erased 
from your record and become void. 

4. Second-, third- and fourth-choice hunts 
don’t use or generate points.

5. The maximum points you can accumu-
late for Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep 
or goats are three. If you have three 
points for bighorn sheep or mountain 
goat and you fail to draw a first-choice 
license, you will receive weighted pref-
erence for that species. 

6.  weIGHTeD pRefeRenCe increases your 
probability of drawing.  It is calculated 
by converting your application number 
into a different, random application 
number,  then dividing that new applica-
tion number by the amount of weighted 
points you have, plus one. This generates 
another new application number. Ap-
plications are sorted by this new number 
from lowest to highest and low numbers 
for each hunt code are awarded licenses.

7. Preference points don’t apply to desert 
bighorn sheep.

8. Preference points are not transferable.
9. Group application priority is based on 

member with fewest points.
10. If unsuccessful for a first choice, your 

accumulated points will be listed on 
your refund or other choice license.

11. If you are waiting five years to reapply 
for a bighorn ram license, you can apply 
for a bighorn ewe license. If you don’t 
draw a ewe license, you won’t get a point. 

12. Active duty U.S. military stationed in 
Colorado but deployed outside Colora-
do are eligible, when they return here, to 
apply for a preference point for a limited 
license offered in this year’s drawing.

pRefeRenCe  poInT  CoDes
Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep and 
mountain goat hunters (not desert 
bighorn) can apply for a preference point 
instead of a hunt. Preference-point hunt 
codes and details are on pages 7 and 10. 
    Entering this as a first choice on your 
application automatically awards you a 
point. You must still pay the full cost of a 
license and meet all license requirements. 
     If you apply for a point only, your 
money, minus the $3 application and $10 
Habitat Stamp fees, is refunded. 

applICaTIons anD pRefeRenCe poInTs

applY onlIne www.bit.ly/cpwlicensesales  Online applications are for residents only. Nonresi-
dents must use paper applications.

MaIl GoaT applICaTIons To:   
Colorado Parks and Wildlife  
Attn: Mountain Goat 
P.O. Box 173758 
Denver, CO 80217-3758

MaIl sHeep applICaTIons To:   
Colorado Parks and Wildlife  
Attn: Bighorn Sheep
P.O. Box 173757 
Denver, CO 80217-3757

* Midnight 
postmark is 
acceptable.
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BIGhORn ARChERY — RESIDENT LICENSES

BIGhORn RIFlE — RESIDENT LICENSES

RoCkY MTn. bIGHoRn sHeep
Rams must have a half-curl or longer to be harvested. See page 2 for details.

 pRefeRenCe poInT HUnT CoDe
To apply for a Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep point, enter hunt code 
s-p-999-99-p as your fIRsT CHoICe hunt.
» Entering the preference point hunt code as a fi rst choice on your applica-

tion automatically awards you a point. You must pay the full license cost, 
even if just applying for a point. If you only apply for a point the license 
fee you pay will be refunded to you. Th e $3 application fee and $10 Habi-
tat Stamp fee will not be refunded. 

» If you apply for a point as your fi rst choice, you also can use the second-, 
third- and fourth-choice hunt code spaces on the application to apply for 
a license. 

photo © Wayne Lewis, CPW

UnITs DaTes
# lICenses 

aND SEX HUnT CoDe
s6, s46 Nov. 10-30 1 Ram S-M-S06-O1-A

s9 Aug. 3-29 9 Ram S-M-S09-O1-A

s12 Aug. 3-29 9 Ram S-M-S12-O1-A

s20 Aug. 3-29 1 Ram S-M-S20-O1-A

s32   no hunting within 
a quarter-mile N of I-70 
or within a quarter-mile 
of U.S. 6 and U.S. 40

Aug. 10-25 4 Ram S-M-S32-O1-A

Aug. 31-Sept. 15
5 Ram S-M-S32-O2-A

3 Ewe S-F-S32-O2-A

s34
Oct. 15-31

1 Ram S-M-S34-O1-A

1 Ewe S-F-S34-O1-A

Dec. 1-15 1 Ram S-M-S34-O2-A

s35 Aug. 3-29 4 Ram S-M-S35-O1-A

s37 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 2 Ram S-M-S37-O1-A

s38 Dec. 1-31 1 Ram S-M-S38-O1-A

s39 Aug. 3-29 1 Ram S-M-S39-O1-A

s44 Aug. 31-Sept. 29 4 Ram S-M-S44-O1-A

s49 Aug. 3-29 4 Ram S-M-S49-O1-A

s51 Aug. 3-22 2 Ram S-M-S51-O1-A

S54•

Aug. 10-Sept. 1 1 Ram S-M-S54-O1-A

• S54 Sheep hunting is valid in this unit ONLY within the area bounded 
on the N by the northern boundary of T50N; on E by Colo. 135; on S by 
Gunnison River, Blue Mesa Reservoir and Morrow Point Reservoir; on W by 
Curecanti Creek.

s57 Sept. 3-Oct. 6
3 Ram S-M-S57-O1-A

2 Ewe S-F-S57-O1-A

s69 Aug. 10-Sept. 1 1 Ram S-M-S69-O1-A

s71 Aug. 24-Sept. 22 1 Ram S-M-S71-O1-A

UnITs DaTes
# lICenses 

aND SEX HUnT CoDe

s1, s18 Sept. 3-Oct. 6
2 Ram S-M-S01-O1-R

2 Ewe S-F-S01-O1-R

s3

Aug. 19-Sept. 4 1 Ram S-M-S03-O1-R

Sept. 11-Oct. 6
2 Ram S-M-S03-O2-R

1 Ewe S-F-S03-O2-R

s4

Aug. 19-Sept. 4 2 Ram S-M-S04-O1-R

Sept. 11-Oct. 6
1 Ram S-M-S04-O2-R

1 Ewe S-F-S04-O2-R

s6
Sept. 3-17 2 Ram S-M-S06-O1-R

Sept. 20-Oct. 4 1 Ram S-M-S06-O2-R

s7 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Ram S-M-S07-O1-R

s8 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 3 Ram S-M-S08-O1-R

UnITs DaTes
# lICenses 

aND SEX HUnT CoDe

s9
Sept. 3-Oct. 6 9 Ram S-M-S09-O1-R

Sept. 9-Oct. 6 4 Ewe S-F-S09-O1-R

s10 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Ram S-M-S10-O1-R

s11
Sept. 3-Oct. 6 4 Ram S-M-S11-O1-R

Sept. 14-Oct. 6 2 Ewe S-F-S11-O1-R

s12
Sept. 3-Oct. 6 5 Ram S-M-S12-O1-R

Sept. 14-Oct. 6 2 Ewe S-F-S12-O1-R

s13 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Ram S-M-S13-O1-R

s15
Sept. 3-Oct. 6 4 Ram S-M-S15-O1-R

Sept. 14-Oct. 6 2 Ewe S-F-S15-O1-R

s16
Sept. 3-Oct. 6 3 Ram S-M-S16-O1-R

Sept. 14-Oct. 6 2 Ewe S-F-S16-O1-R

Bighorn sheep hunting is available on Purgatoire Ranch for Colorado 
residents only.  Read ranch rules before applying. Rules, maps and ranch 
contacts can be found at wildlife.state.co.us/Hunting/BigGame/Ranching 
forWildlife/Pages/PurgatoireWildlifeRanch.aspx. See page 3 for details.

BIGhORn RAnChInG FOR WIlDlIFE

UnIT DaTes
# lICenses 

aND SEX HUnT CoDe
s61 Purgatoire Ranch Dec. 15-Jan. 13 1 Ram S-M-S61-W1-R

continued on next page

http://wildlife.state.co.us/Hunting/BigGame/RanchingforWildlife/Pages/PurgatoireWildlifeRanch.aspx
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BIGhORn RIFlE — RESIDENT LICENSES

BIGhORn RIFlE — nOnRESIDEnT lICEnSES

UnITs DaTes
# lICenses 

aND SEX HUnT CoDe
s3 Aug. 19-Sept. 4 1 Ram S-M-S03-O1-R

s9
Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Ram S-M-S09-O1-R

Sept. 9-Oct. 6 1 Ewe S-F-S09-O1-R

s11 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Ram S-M-S11-O1-R

s12 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Ram S-M-S12-O1-R

s15 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Ram S-M-S15-O1-R

s17 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Ram S-M-S17-O1-R

s21 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Ram S-M-S21-O1-R

s21 E of  Hwy. 550 only Sept. 14-Oct. 6 2 Ewe S-F-S21-O1-R

s31 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Ram S-M-S31-O1-R

s32  no hunting within 
a quarter-mile N of I-70 or 
within a quarter-mile of 
U.S. 6 and U.S. 40

Sept. 21-Oct. 6
1 Ram S-M-S32-O1-R

1 Ewe S-F-S32-O1-R

s33 Sept. 3-19 1 Ram S-M-S33-O1-R

s44 Oct. 3-16 1 Ram S-M-S44-O1-R

s51 W of  Hwy. 12 only Oct. 6-18 1 Ewe S-F-S51-O1-R

S60•
Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Ram S-M-S60-O1-R
• S60  Sheep may be found on private property throughout the unit. Before 
accessing, landowner permission is required.

s65  Trinchera 
Ranch only

Jan. 4-12 1 Ewe S-F-S65-O1-R

s66 Sept. 9-Oct. 13 1 Ram S-M-S66-O1-R

BIGhORn ARChERY — nOnRESIDEnT lICEnSES

UnITs DaTes
# lICenses 

aND SEX HUnT CoDe
s9 Aug. 3-29 1 Ram S-M-S09-O1-A

s12 Aug. 3-29 1 Ram S-M-S12-O1-A

s32  no hunting within 
a quarter-mile N of I-70 
or within a quarter-mile 
of U.S. 6 and U.S. 40

Aug. 10-25 1 Ram S-M-S32-O1-A

s35 Aug. 3-29 1 Ram S-M-S35-O1-A

s44 Aug. 31-Sept. 29 1 Ram S-M-S44-O1-A

s49 Aug. 3-29 1 Ram S-M-S49-O1-A

UnITs DaTes
# lICenses 

aND SEX HUnT CoDe

s17
Sept. 3-Oct. 6 6 Ram S-M-S17-O1-R

Sept. 14-Oct. 6 2 Ewe S-F-S17-O1-R

S19•  
Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Ram S-M-S19-O1-R

• S19  borders Rocky Mountain National Park. Sheep may be in park 
during hunting season.

s20 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 2 Ram S-M-S20-O1-R

s21 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 5 Ram S-M-S21-O1-R

s21 E of Hwy. 550  
Sept. 14-Oct. 6

5 Ewe S-F-S21-O1-R

s21  W of Hwy. 550 3 Ewe S-F-S21-S1-R

s22 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 2 Ram S-M-S22-O1-R

s23, s27 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 2 Ram S-M-S23-O1-R

s25 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Ram S-M-S25-O1-R

s28 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Ram S-M-S28-O1-R

s29 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Ram S-M-S29-O1-R

s30 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Ram S-M-S30-O1-R

s31 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 3 Ram S-M-S31-O1-R

s32  no hunting within 
a quarter-mile N of I-70 or 
within a quarter-mile of 
U.S. 6 and U.S. 40

Sept. 21-Oct. 6
9 Ram S-M-S32-O1-R

2 Ewe S-F-S32-O1-R

s33
Sept. 3-19 2 Ram S-M-S33-O1-R

Sept. 20-Oct. 6 2 Ram S-M-S33-O2-R

s33  N of Lake Fork 
River, Cottonwood Creek, 
Cuba Gulch, Minnie Gulch; 
W and N of Colo. 110

Sept. 8-17 2 Ewe S-F-S33-O1-R

Sept. 25-Oct. 4 2 Ewe S-F-S33-O2-R

s33  S of Lake Fork River, 
Cottonwood Creek, Cuba 
Gulch, Minnie Gulch; E 
and S of Colo. 110

Sept. 8-17 1 Ewe S-F-S33-S1-R

Sept. 25-Oct. 4 1 Ewe S-F-S33-S2-R

s35
Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Ram S-M-S35-O1-R

Oct. 7-20 2 Ewe S-F-S35-O1-R

s39 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Ram S-M-S39-O1-R

s40, s58 Sept. 3-Oct. 6
1 Ram S-M-S40-O1-R

1 Ewe S-F-S40-O1-R

s41 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Ram S-M-S41-O1-R

s44 Oct. 3-16 1 Ram S-M-S44-O1-R

s47  Sept. 3-Oct. 6 2 Ram S-M-S47-O1-R

S48•   
Dec. 1-31 1 Ram S-M-S48-O1-R
• S48  Sheep are found only on private property in this unit. Before access-
ing, landowner permission is required and a trespass fee may apply.

s49 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 2 Ram S-M-S49-O1-R

s50 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 2 Ram S-M-S50-O1-R

s51
Aug. 23-Sept. 11 2 Ram S-M-S51-O1-R

Sept. 12-Oct. 5 2 Ram S-M-S51-O2-R

s51 W of  Hwy. 12 only Oct. 6-18 3 Ewe S-F-S51-O1-R

s53
Sept. 3-Oct. 6 2 Ram S-M-S53-O1-R

Sept. 14-Oct. 6 2 Ewe S-F-S53-O1-R

S54•
Sept. 3-Oct. 6 2 Ram S-M-S54-O1-R
• S54 Sheep hunting is valid in this unit ONLY within the area bounded 
on the N by Gunnison CR 12 (Kebler Pass Road); on E by Colo. 135; on S by 
northern boundary of T50N; on W by Curecanti Creek and Coal Creek.

s59 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 2 Ram S-M-S59-O1-R

UnITs DaTes
# lICenses 

aND SEX HUnT CoDe

S60•
Sept. 3-Oct. 6 3 Ram S-M-S60-O1-R
• S60  Sheep may be found on private property throughout the unit. Before 
accessing, landowner permission is required.

s61 Dec. 1-31 3 Ram S-M-S61-O1-R

s65  
Trinchera Ranch only

Jan. 4-12 9 Ewe S-F-S65-O1-R

s66
Sept. 9-Oct. 13 5 Ram S-M-S66-O1-R

Sept. 14-Oct. 13 2 Ewe S-F-S66-O1-R

s67 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Ram S-M-S67-O1-R

s68 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 2 Ram S-M-S68-O1-R

s69 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Ram S-M-S69-O1-R

s71 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 2 Ram S-M-S71-O1-R

s73
Sept. 3-Oct. 6 2 Ram S-M-S73-O1-R

Oct. 14-31 1 Ewe S-F-S73-O1-R

s74 Sept. 10-Oct. 10 1 Ram S-M-S74-O1-R
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2013 bIGHoRn sHeep UnITs
 Map boundaries are approximate due to limited space. This map is provided only to give a 
general idea of unit locations. Refer to unit descriptions for exact unit boundaries.

DESERT BIGhORn ShEEP DESERT RIFlE — RESIDENT LICENSES

DESERT RIFlE — nOnRESIDEnT lICEnSES

Rams must have a half-curl or longer to be harvested. See page 2.

UnITs DaTes
# lICenses 

aND SEX HUnT CoDe
s56 Nov. 1-30 4 Ram C-M-S56-O1-R

s62 Nov. 1-30 4 Ram C-M-S62-O1-R

s63, s64 Nov. 1-30 3 Ram C-M-S63-O1-R

UnITs DaTes
# lICenses 

aND SEX HUnT CoDe
s56 Nov. 1-30 1 Ram C-M-S56-O1-R
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ARChERY — nOnRESIDEnT lICEnSES

RIFlE — nOnRESIDEnT lICEnSES

RIFlE — RESIDENT LICENSES

 pRefeRenCe poInT HUnT CoDe
To apply for a mountain goat point, enter hunt code G-p-999-99-p as 
your fIRsT CHoICe hunt.
» Entering the preference point hunt code as a fi rst choice on your applica-

tion automatically awards you a point. 
» You must pay the full license cost, even if just applying for a point. If you 

only apply for a point the license fee you pay will be refunded to you. Th e 
$3 application fee and $10 Habitat Stamp fee will not be refunded. 

» If you apply for a point as your fi rst choice, you can use the second-, third- 
and fourth-choice hunt code spaces on the application to apply for a license. 

MoUnTaIn GoaTs
It’s diffi  cult to tell the diff erence between male and female 
mountain goats.   See how to identify goats on page 2.

ARChERY — RESIDENT LICENSES

photo © Wayne Lewis, CPW

UnIT DaTes
# lICenses 

aND SEX HUnT CoDe
G5 Sept. 3-Oct. 31 2 Either Sex G-E-G05-O1-A

UnIT DaTes
# lICenses 

aND SEX HUnT CoDe
G2 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Either Sex G-E-G02-O1-R

G4  Weekdays only

Sept. 16-27 1 Either Sex G-E-G04-O1-R

Sept. 30-Oct. 11 1 Either Sex G-E-G04-O2-R

Oct. 14-25 1 Either Sex G-E-G04-O3-R

G7  Weekdays only
Sept. 16-27 1 Either Sex G-E-G07-O2-R

Sept. 30-Oct. 11 1 Either Sex G-E-G07-O3-R

G12 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 2 Either Sex G-E-G12-O1-R

G13
Sept. 3-19 2 Either Sex G-E-G13-O1-R

Sept. 20-Oct. 6 2 Either Sex G-E-G13-O2-R

G15 Weekdays only
• managed for low 
population size

Sept. 30-Oct. 11 1 Either Sex G-E-G15-O3-R

G16  Weekdays only
Sept. 3-13 1 Either Sex G-E-G16-O1-R

Sept. 16-27 1 Female G-F-G16-O2-R

G17 managed for low 
population size

Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Either Sex G-E-G17-O1-R

UnIT DaTes
# lICenses 

aND SEX HUnT CoDe
G1 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 1 Either Sex G-E-G01-O1-R

G2 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 14 Either Sex G-E-G02-O1-R

G3 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 8 Either Sex G-E-G03-O1-R

G4  Weekdays only

Sept. 16-27 9 Either Sex G-E-G04-O1-R

Sept. 30-Oct. 11 9 Either Sex G-E-G04-O2-R

Oct. 14-25 9 Either Sex G-E-G04-O3-R

g5• 
Sept. 14-Oct. 31 2 Either Sex G-E-G05-O1-R
• g5 Hunting area is only in those portions of unit G5 N of Ten Mile and 
Trinity creeks and W of Animas River. This is to minimize mountain goat 
dispersal into those areas.

G6 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 5 Either Sex G-E-G06-O1-R

G7  Weekdays only

Sept. 3-13 5 Either Sex G-E-G07-O1-R

Sept. 16-27 4 Either Sex G-E-G07-O2-R

Sept. 30-Oct. 11 3 Either Sex G-E-G07-O3-R

Oct. 14-25 4 Either Sex G-E-G07-O4-R

G10  Weekdays only

Sept. 3-13 1 Either Sex G-E-G10-O1-R

Sept. 16-27 2 Either Sex G-E-G10-O2-R

Sept. 30-Oct. 11 1 Either Sex G-E-G10-O3-R

Oct. 14-25 1 Either Sex G-E-G10-O4-R

G11 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 3 Either Sex G-E-G11-O1-R

G12 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 14 Either Sex G-E-G12-O1-R

G13
Sept. 3-19 13 Either Sex G-E-G13-O1-R

Sept. 20-Oct. 6 13 Either Sex G-E-G13-O2-R

G15  Weekdays only
• managed for low 
population size

Sept. 3-13
4 Either Sex G-E-G15-O1-R

2 Female G-F-G15-O1-R

Sept. 16-27
4 Either Sex G-E-G15-O2-R

1 Female G-F-G15-O2-R

Sept. 30-Oct. 11
2 Either Sex G-E-G15-O3-R

1 Female G-F-G15-O3-R

Oct. 14-25
3 Either Sex G-E-G15-O4-R

1 Female G-F-G15-O4-R

G16  Weekdays only

Sept. 3-13
2 Either Sex G-E-G16-O1-R

2 Female G-F-G16-O1-R

Sept. 16-27
2 Either Sex G-E-G16-O2-R

2 Female G-F-G16-O2-R

Sept. 30-Oct. 11
2 Either Sex G-E-G16-O3-R

3 Female G-F-G16-O3-R

Oct. 14-25
3 Either Sex G-E-G16-O4-R

2 Female G-F-G16-O4-R

G17  managed for low 
population size

Sept. 3-Oct. 6 7 Either Sex G-E-G17-O1-R

UnIT DaTes
# lICenses 

aND SEX HUnT CoDe
G5 Sept. 3-Oct. 31 18 Either Sex G-E-G05-O1-A

G8 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 2 Either Sex G-E-G08-O1-A

G14 Sept. 3-Oct. 6 4 Either Sex G-E-G14-O1-A
!
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2013 MoUnTaIn GoaT UnITs
Map boundaries are approximate due to limited space. This map is provided only to give 

a general idea of unit locations. Refer to unit descriptions for exact unit boundaries.
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s1 poUDRe RIveR (laRIMeR Co.) - bounded on N by CR 
80C and Deadman-Red Feather Road; on E by CR 68C 
(Boy Scout Ranch Road) and Elkhorn Creek; on S by Colo. 
14; and on W by the Laramie River Road.

s3 MoUnT evans (CleaR CReek, jeffeRson anD 
paRk Cos.) - bounded on N by I-70; on E by Colo. 74; on 
S by Bear Creek, Beartrack Creek, Tumbling Creek, a line 
from the head of Tumbling Creek to the junction of USFS 
Trails 603 and 602; USFS Trail 603, and the Pike-Arapaho 
NF boundary; and on W by the Continental Divide.

s4 GRanT (CleaR CReek, paRk anD jeffeRson Cos.) 
- bounded on N by the north boundary of the Pike NF, 
USFS Trail 603, a line from the junctions of USFS Trails 
603 and 602 to the head of Tumbling Creek, Tumbling 
Creek, Beartrack Creek and Bear Creek; on E  by CR 73; 
on E and S by U.S. 285; on S by the North Fork of the 
South Platte River; and on W by the Continental Divide.

s6 pIkes peak (TelleR anD el paso Cos.) - bounded 
on N by U.S. 24; on E by I-25 and Colo. 115; on S by Gold 
Camp Road and Rock Creek; and on W by Colo. 67.

s7 aRkansas RIveR (fReMonT Co.) - bounded on N by 
Fremont CR 2; on E by Colo. 9; on S by U.S. 50; and on W 
by Fremont CR 12.

s8 HUeRfano (HUeRfano, alaMosa Cos.) - bounded 
on N by Sixmile Lane, USFS Trail 883, USFS 583 (Mosca 
Pass) and Huerfano CRs 583, 581, 580 and 550; on E by 
Huerfano CRs 570 and 572 (Pass Creek Road); on S by the 
Huerfano-Costilla and Costilla-Alamosa Co. lines and U.S. 
160; and on W by Colo. 17.

s9 sanGRe De CRIsTo (alaMosa, saGUaCHe, 
CUsTeR anD HUeRfano Cos.) - bounded on N by 
Saguache CR LL 57, USFS 970 (Hayden Pass Road), and 
the Fremont-Saguache and Fremont-Custer Co. lines; on E 
by Colo. 69; on S by Huerfano CRs 550, 580, 581 and 583, 
USFS 583 (Mosca Pass), USFS Trail 883, and Sixmile Lane; 
and on W by Colo. 17 and U.S. 285.

s10 TRICkle MoUnTaIn (saGUaCHe, CHaffee 
anD GUnnIson Cos.) - bounded on N by U.S. 50 and 
Marshall Pass Road (USFS 243); on E by U.S. 285; on S by 
Colo. 114; and on W by USFS 803 (Meyer’s G. and Gismo 
Creek Road), Razor Creek and Saguache CR 14-PP and 
Gunnison CR 45 (Doyleville Cut-off Road).

s11 ColleGIaTe noRTH (lake, CHaffee, pITkIn anD 
GUnnIson Cos.) - bounded on N by Colo. 82; on E by 
U.S. 24; on S by Chaffee CR 306 and Cottonwood Pass 
Road (USFS 209); and on W by Taylor River, the North 
Fork of the Taylor River, USFS Trail 761 and USFS 123.

s12 bUffalo peaks (lake, CHaffee anD paRk Cos.) 
- bounded on N by the Continental Divide; on E by Colo. 
9 and U.S. 285; on S by U.S. 285; and on W by U.S. 24.

s13 snowMass easT (pITkIn Co.) - bounded on N and 
E by the Roaring Fork River, USFS 123 and 761; on S by 
the Gunnison-Pitkin Co. line; and on W by the Roaring 
Fork River-Crystal River divide and Capitol Creek.

s15 sHeep MoUnTaIn (HInsDale, MIneRal anD RIo 
GRanDe Cos.) - bounded on N by the Rio Grande; on 
E by Colo. 149, U.S. 160 and the Continental Divide; on 
S by USFS 667, the Mineral-Archuleta and the Hinsdale-
Archuleta Co. lines; and on W by the Piedra River, Middle 
Fork of the Piedra River, Middle Trout Creek, West Trout 
Creek and Trout Creek.

s16 CIMaRRona peak (HInsDale, MIneRal Cos.) - 
bounded on N by the Rio Grande; on E by Trout Creek, 
West Trout Creek, Middle Fork of Trout Creek, the Middle 
Fork of the Piedra River and the Piedra River; on S by the 
Hinsdale-Archuleta Co. line; and on W by Weminuche 
Creek, USFS Trail 539, the Los Pinos River, North Fork 
Pinos River and the Rio Grande Res.-Squaw Creek Divide.

s17 ColleGIaTe soUTH (CHaffee, GUnnIson Cos.) 
-  bounded on N by Chaffee CR 306 (Cottonwood Creek 

Road) and Cottonwood Pass Road (USFS 209); on E 
by U.S. 24 and 285; on S by U.S. 50; and on W by the 
Gunnison-Chaffee Co. line, Middle Willow Creek, Willow 
Creek and the Taylor River.

s18 RawaH (laRIMeR, jaCkson Cos.) - bounded on N 
by WY; on E by Larimer CR 103 (Laramie River Road); on 
S by Colo.14; on W by Colo. 125 and 127.

s19 neveR sUMMeR RanGe (laRIMeR, jaCkson 
anD GRanD Cos.) - bounded on N by Colo. 14; on E by 
Larimer CR 63E (Pingree Park Road), Larimer CR 44H 
(Buckhorn Road), the Pennock Creek-Elk Creek divide, 
USFS Trails 928 (Signal Mountain Trail), and 980 (Stormy 
Peaks Trail); on S by RMNP boundary, USFS 120.4 (North 
Supply Jeep Road), and 120 (Kawuneechee Road), the 
North Supply Trail, USFS Trail 118 (Blue Ridge Trail), the 
Lost Lake Trail, USFS 107 (Lost Lake Road); and on W by 
Colo. 125 and Jackson CR 27 (Rand-Gould Road).

s20 MaRsHall pass (GUnnIson, CHaffee anD sa-
GUaCHe Cos.) - bounded on N by U.S. 50; on E by U.S. 
285; and on S by Marshall Pass Road; and on W by U.S. 50.

s21 Cow CReek, weTTeRHoRn peak (oURaY, GUn-
nIson, san MIGUel anD HInsDale Cos.) - bounded 
on N by Colo. 62, U.S. 550, the Ouray-Montrose and Ouray-
Gunnison Co. lines, to the Uncompahgre National Forest 
line, and there to Big Blue Creek; on E and S by Big Blue 
Creek to Uncompahgre Peak, the Uncompahgre-Animas 
River divide, the Ouray-Hinsdale Co. line, Engineer Moun-
tain, the Uncompahgre-Lake Fork-Animas River divide, the 
San Miguel-San Juan and San Miguel-Dolores Co. lines, and 
Lizard Head Pass; on W by Colo. 145 and U.S. 62.

s22 san lUIs peak (HInsDale, MIneRal anD  
saGUaCHe Cos.) - bounded on N by USFS 788, Hins-
dale CRs 5, 15, and 45, Saguache CR KK-14, and USFS 788 
(Los Pinos Pass Road); on E by the Continental Divide, 
USFS 787, and the La Garita Wilderness boundary; on S by 
USFS Trails 787 (La Garita Stock Driveway), 790, 789 and 
801, and the Rio Grande; and on W by Colo. 149 (Spring 
Creek Pass), USFS 507, USFS Trails 803, 787 and 473.

s23 kenosHa (paRk anD jeffeRson Cos.) - bounded 
on N by U.S. 285; on N and E by Park CR 68, USFS 543 
and 560; on S by USFS 545, USFS Trail 609, Park CR 56 
and USFS 56 (Lost Park Road); and on W by U.S. 285.

s25 snowMass wesT (pITkIn, GUnnIson anD eaGle 
Cos.) - bounded on N by Roaring Fork River; on E by Capi-
tol Creek and the Roaring Fork River-Crystal River divide; 
on S by the Crystal River-Gunnison River divide; and on W 
by the Crystal River-Gunnison River divide and Colo 133.

s27 TaRRYall (paRk, jeffeRson Cos.) - bounded on N 
by Park CR 56, USFS 56 (Lost Park Road), USFS Trail 609, 
and USFS 560; on E by USFS 211 (Matukat Road), Park CR 
77, U.S. 24; on S by South Platte River, Park CRs 59, 592 
and 23, USFS 234 and Park CR 77; and on W by U.S. 285.

s28 valleCITo (HInsDale, la plaTa anD san jUan 
Cos.) - bounded on N by the Continental Divide; on E 
by North Fork Los Pinos River, Los Pinos River, USFS 
Trail 539 from Divide Lakes, and Weminuche Creek; on 
S by the Hinsdale-Archuleta Co. line, East Creek and the 
Los Pinos River; and on W by Vallecito Reservoir (east 
shoreline) and Vallecito Creek.

s29 alaMosa CanYon (Conejos, MIneRal anD RIo 
GRanDe Cos.) - bounded on N by U.S. 160; on E by Colo. 
15; on S by USFS 255, 240 and 259, USFS Trail 706, USFS 
260, 250 and 380; and on W by the Continental Divide.

s30 Conejos RIveR (Conejos, aRCHUleTa, MIneRal 
anD RIo GRanDe Cos.) - bounded on N by USFS 380, 
250 and 260, USFS Trail 706, USFS 259, 240 and 255, and 
Colo. 15; on E by U.S. 285; on S by NM and the USFS Rio 
Grande NF boundary; and on W by the Continental Divide.

s31 blanCa RIveR (aRCHUleTa, Conejos anD RIo 
GRanDe Cos.) - bounded on N by the Mineral-Archule-

ta Co. line and USFS 667; on E by the Continental Divide; 
on S by NM; and on W by U.S. 84 and U.S. 160.

s32 GeoRGeTown (CleaR CReek, jeffeRson, 
GIlpIn  anD boUlDeR Cos.) - bounded on N and E 
by USFS 149 (Rollins Pass Road), Gilpin CR 16 (Tolland 
Road), Colo. 119, and Colo. 72; on S by I-70; and on W by 
the Continental Divide.

s33 lake foRk/pole MoUnTaIn (HInsDale, san 
jUan Cos.) - bounded on N by the Gunnison-Hinsdale 
Co. line; on E by Colo. 149; on S by North Clear Creek, 
USFS Trail 821 from North Clear Creek to Lost Trail Creek, 
and Lost Trail Creek; on S by the Rio Grande, Stoney 
Gulch, Cunningham Creek and Colo. 110; and on W by 
U.S. 550, the Ouray-San Juan Co. line, the Uncompahgre-
Upper Gunnison River Divide and Big Blue Creek.

s34 RaMpaRT RanGe (el paso, TelleR Cos.) - bound-
ed on N by USFS 393, 300 and 320; on E by I-25; and on S 
and W by U.S. 24 to Woodland Park.

s35 GReenHoRns (pUeblo, HUeRfano anD CUsTeR 
Cos.) - bounded on N by Colo. 96; on E by I-25; on S by 
the Huerfano River; and on S and W by Colo. 69.

s37 sT. vRaIn (boUlDeR, GRanD anD laRIMeR Cos.) - 
bounded on N and E by RMNP boundary and U.S. 36; on S 
by Boulder CRs 94, 81, 106 and 95 (Lefthand Canyon Drive), 
Colo. 72 (Peak to Peak Highway), Boulder CR 102 (Brainard 
Lake Road), USFS Trail 907 (Pawnee Pass Trail) and USFS 
Trail 1 (Cascade Creek Trail); and on W by USFS 125, USFS 
Trail 102 (Knight Ridge Trail), and RMNP boundary.

s38 apIsHapa (HUeRfano, pUeblo, oTeRo anD las 
anIMas Cos.) - bounded on N by Colo. 10, and U.S. 50; 
on E and S by U.S. 350; and on W by I-25.

s39 MoUnT sIlveRHeels (paRk, sUMMIT Cos.) - 
bounded on N by Swan River Road (Summit CR 6), USFS 
6, the Continental Divide and the North Fork of the South 
Platte River; on E by U.S. 285, Park CRs 77 and 23 (Turner 
Gulch Road or USFS 234); on S by U.S. 24; and on W by 
U.S. 285 and Colo. 9.

s40 lone pIne (laRIMeR Co.) - bounded on N by CRs 
80C and 59 (Cherokee Park Road) and WY; on E by CR 
37, South Branch Boxelder Creek, Boxelder Creek, CR 19; 
on S by CR 80, and U.S. 287; and on S and W by CRs 74E 
and 162 (Red Feather Lakes-Deadman Road).

bIGHoRn & DeseRT sHeep GMUs 

GaMe ManaGeMenT UnITs
The following list includes only units open to sheep and goat hunting

lanD Use ResTRICTIons 
It is illegal to hunt on private land without 
permission of owner or person in charge. It 
is illegal to hunt or fish on State Land Board 
properties unless they are leased by the CPW 
or without permission of lessee.

MT. evans HwY. (UnITs G4 anD s3): Hunt-
ing prohibited on Mt. Evans Lake Cirque 
and within a half-mile of either side of 
the centerline of Mt. Evans Hwy. (Colo. 
5) while the road is open to vehicle traffic 
from the intersection with Colo. 103 to the 
summit. When Mt. Evans Road is closed to 
vehicles, the hunting closure is lifted. 

     There is no ptarmigan hunting at any time.

U.s.  — U.S. highway
Colo.  — Colorado 
highway
Co. — County 
CR — County road
Res. — Reservoir
n/nw/ne — North, 
northwest, northeast
s/sw/se — South, 
southwest, southeast

e / w — East / west
nf — National Forest
Usfs / fs — U.S. 
Forest Service
blM — Bureau of 
Land Management
RMnp — Rocky 
Mountain National Park
nM — New Mexico
UT — Utah
wY — Wyoming

abbRevIaTIons:  
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G1 MT. sHavano (CHaffee, GUnnIson, saGUaCHe 
Cos.) - bounded on N by USFS 839, USFS 1451 (Alpine 
Tunnel), USFS 295, Pomeroy Gulch, Grizzly Mountain 
and Brown’s Creek; on E by U.S. 285; on S by U.S.  50; 
and on W by Gunnison CR 76 (Quartz Creek Road) and 
USFS 765 (North Quartz Creek Road).

G2 MT. pRInCeTon (CHaffee, GUnnIson Cos.) - 
bounded on N by Cottonwood Pass Road (USFS 209, 
USFS 306 and Chaffee CR 306); on E by U.S. 24 and U.S. 
285; on S by Colo. 162, USFS 211 and USFS 267; and on 
W by USFS 765 and USFS 742.

G3 MT. HaRvaRD (CHaffee, GUnnIson Cos.) - 
bounded on N by Texas Creek, North Texas Creek, the 
Continental Divide and Pine Creek; on E by U.S. 24; on 
S by Cottonwood Pass Road (Chaffee CR 306, USFS 306 
and USFS 209); and on W by USFS 742.

G4 MoUnT evans (CleaR CReek, jeffeRson anD 
paRk Cos.) - bounded on N by I-70; on E by west side of 
Colo. 74 and Jefferson CR 73; on S and SW by U.S. 285; and 
on W by Guanella Pass Road (USFS 118 and USFS 381).

G5 wesT neeDles (la plaTa, san jUan, HInsDale 
anD aRCHUleTa Cos.) - bounded on N by the San 
Juan-Ouray Co. line and the Continental Divide; on E 
by the Los Pinos River-Piedra River divide, East Creek 
and the Los Pinos River; on S by U.S. 160 and on W by 
U.S. 550.

G6 GoRe RanGe (GRanD, eaGle anD sUMMIT 
Cos.) - bounded on N by the Colorado River; on E by 
Colo. 9; on S by I-70; and on W by Colo 131.

G7 GRaY's peak (sUMMIT, CleaR CReek Cos.) - 
bounded on N by U.S. 6/I-70; on E by Guanella Pass 
Road (USFS 381); on S by the Pike-Arapahoe NF 
boundary, the Continental Divide, the Argentine Pass 
trail, USFS 260 and 5; and on W by U.S. 6

G8 fossIl RIDGe (GUnnIson Co.) - bounded on N by 
USFS 742 (Taylor River Road); on E by USFS 765 (Cum-
berland Pass Road and North Quartz Creek Road); on 
S by Quartz Creek Road (Gunnison CR 76) and U.S. 50; 
and on W by Colo. 135.

G10 TenMIle (sUMMIT anD lake Cos.) - bounded on 
N by I-70; on E by Colo. 9 and Boreas Pass Road (USFS 
404 and Summit CR 10); on S by Continental Divide; 
and on W by Colo. 91 and I-70. 

G11 THe RaGGeDs (GUnnIson, pITkIn Cos.) - 
bounded on N by USFS 314 (Crystal River Road) and 317 
(Schofield Pass Road); on E by USFS 31 (Gothic Road) 
and Gunnison CR 317 (Crested Butte Road); on S by Gun-
nison CR 12 (Kebler Pass Road); and on W by Colo. 133.

G12 MaRoon bells (GaRfIelD, eaGle, GUnnIson 
anD pITkIn Cos.) - bounded on N by Colo. 82; on E 
by Castle Creek; on S by the Gunnison-Pitkin Co. line, 
the Colorado River headwaters-Gunnison River divide, 
USFS 317 (Schofield Pass Road), and USFS 314 (Crystal 
River Rd); and on the west by Colo 133.

G13 qUaIl MoUnTaIn (lake, CHaffee, GUnnIson 
anD pITkIn Cos.) - bounded on N by Colo. 82; on E 
by U.S. 24; on S by Pine Creek, North Texas Creek, Texas 
Creek, USFS 742, USFS 761 (Taylor Pass Road), the 
Gunnison-Pitkin Co. line, and on W by Castle Creek.

G14 anTeRo (CHaffee, GUnnIson Cos.) - bounded 
on N by USFS 267, USFS 211 and Colo. 162; on E by 
U.S. 285; on S by Brown’s Creek, Grizzly Mountain, 
Pomeroy Gulch, USFS 295, 1451, and 839; and on W by 
USFS 765.

G15 jones pass (sUMMIT, GRanD anD CleaR 
CReek Cos.) - bounded on N by USFS 132 (Ute Pass 
Road), 138, 139 (Crooked Creek Road) and Grand CR 50; 
on E by U.S. 40 and I-70/U.S. 6; on S by U.S. 6/I-70 and 
U.S. 6 over Loveland Pass; and on W by U.S. 6 and Colo. 9.

G16 MT. GUYoT (sUMMIT, CleaR CReek anD paRk 
Cos.) - bounded on N by U.S. 6, USFS 5, USFS 260, the 
Argentine Pass trail, the Continental Divide and the 
Pike-Arapahoe NF boundary; on E by Guanella Pass 
Road; on S by U.S. 285; and on W by Boreas Pass Road 
(USFS 404 and Summit CR 10), Colo. 9, and U.S. 6.

G17 InDepenDenCe pass (lake, pITkIn anD 
eaGle Cos.) - bounded on N by the Eagle River-
Fryingpan River watershed divide and the Continental 
Divide; on E by U.S. 24; on S by Colo. 82; and on W by 
Warren Creek, USFS 131, the Hunter-Fryingpan Wilder-
ness Area boundary, Deadman Creek, and USFS 105, 
501, 506, 507 and 400.

MoUnTaIn GoaT GMUs 

s41 peRU CReek (sUMMIT Co.) - bounded on N by I-70; 
on E by the Continental Divide; on S by the Swan River 
Road (CR 6) and USFS 6; and on W by Colo. 9 and U.S. 6.

s44 basalT (GaRfIelD, eaGle anD pITkIn Cos.) 
- bounded on N by USFS Trail 514 (Red Tables Divide 
Road) and USFS Trail 1870; on E by Crooked Creek Pass 
Road (USFS 400); on S by Fryingpan River and Roaring 
Fork River; and on W by Garfield CR 100, and Cotton-
wood Pass Road.

s46 DoMe RoCk (TelleR Co.) -  bounded on N by U.S. 
24; on E and S by Colo. 67; and on W by CR 1.

s47 bRowns CanYon (CHaffee, fReMonT anD 
paRk Cos.) - bounded on the N by U.S. 24; on E by 
Kaufman Ridge, Badger Creek and Fremont CRs 2 and 12; 
and on S by Arkansas River and South Arkansas River; and 
on W by U.S. 285 and 24.

s48 CaRRIZo CanYon (baCa anD las anIMas Cos.) 
- bounded on N by U.S. 160; on E by Baca CR 13 (Pritchett 
Grade Road); on S by NM; and on W by Colo. 389.

s49 GRape CReek/CoppeR RIDGe (CUsTeR, fReMonT 
Cos.) - bounded on N by U.S. 50; on E by Colo. 67; on S by 
Colo. 96; and on W by Colo. 69.

s50 MoUnT MesTas (HUeRfano, CosTIlla Cos.) 
- bounded on N by Huerfano CR 550, Colo. 69 and 
Huerfano River; on E by I-25; on S by U.S. 160; and on W 
by Pass Creek Road.

s51 spanIsH peaks (HUeRfano, CosTIlla anD las 
anIMas Cos.) - bounded on N by U.S. 160; on E by I-25; 
on S by NM; and on W by the Huerfano-Costilla Co. line 
and farther south by the southern Sangre de Cristo divide 
(Culebra range).

s53 bRIsTol HeaD (MIneRal, HInsDale Cos.) - 
bounded on N by North Clear Creek, Colo.  149, and USFS 
Trails 473 and 787; on E by USFS Trail 803 and USFS Rd 
507; on S by Colo. 149 and the Rio Grande; and on W by 
Lost Trail Creek.

s54 DIllon Mesa (GUnnIson Co.) - bounded on N by 
CR 12; on E by Colo. 135; on S by U.S. 50, the Gunnison 
River, Blue Mesa Reservoir and Colo. 92; and on W by 
Curecanti Creek, Curecanti Pass and Coal Creek.

s56 blaCk RIDGe (Mesa Co.) - bounded on N by 
Colorado River and U.S. 50; on E by U.S. 50; on E and S by 
Colo. 141 and the Dolores River; and on W by UT.

s57 bIG THoMpson (laRIMeR, boUlDeR Cos.) - 

bounded on N by Larimer CR 44H (Buckhorn Road), 
Stove Prairie Road (Larimer CR 27), Larimer CRs 52E 
(Rist Canyon Road) and 54G; on E by U.S. 287; on S by 
Colo. 66 and U.S. 36; and on W by RMNP boundary, USFS 
Trails 980 (Stormy Peaks Trail), and 928 (Signal Mountain 
Trail) and Pennock Creek-Elk Creek divide.

new! s58 loweR poUDRe (laRIMeR Co.) - bounded on 
the north by CR 74E (Red Feather Lakes Road); on the east 
by U.S. 287 and CR 54G; on the south by Rist Canyon Road 
(CR 52E), Stove Prairie Road (CR 27), and Buckhorn Road 
(CR 44H); on the west by Pingree Park Road (CR 63E), Hwy. 
14, Elkhorn Creek and the Boy Scout Ranch Road (CR 68). 

s59 DeRbY CReek  (RIo blanCo, RoUTT, eaGle anD 
GaRfIelD Cos.) - bounded on N by USFS Trails 1103, 
1116 and 1117, USFS 959 and 16, Routt CRs 132 and 15; 
on E by Colo. 131; on S by Eagle River, Colorado River and 
Deep Creek; and on W by the Colorado River-White River 
divide, and the White River-Yampa River divide.

s60 sHelf RoaD (TelleR, fReMonT anD paRk Cos.) 
- bounded on N by Park CRs 59 and 102 and Teller CRs 
112, 11, and 1; on E by Colo. 67, Teller CR 86 and Fremont 
CR 67; on S by U.S. 50; and on W by Colo. 9.

s61 pURGaToRY CanYon (oTeRo, benT anD las 
anIMas Cos.) - bounded on N by U.S. 50; on E by Colo. 
109; on S by U.S. 160; and on W by U.S. 350.

s62 DoMInGUeZ CReek (DelTa, Mesa, MonTRose anD 
oURaY Cos.) - bounded on N by Colo. 141; on E by Colo. 
50; on S by Colo. 90; and on W by USFS 402 (Divide Road).

s63 MIDDle DoloRes RIveR (MonTRose, san 
MIGUel Cos.) - bounded on N by Colo. 90; on E by 
Monogram Mesa Road (Montrose CR DD 19 and San 
Miguel CRs 18Y, U29 and 25R); on S by Colo. 141, and Big 
Gypsum Valley Road (San Miguel CR 20R, Dolores River 
and McIntyre Canyon); and on W by UT.

s64 UppeR DoloRes RIveR (san MIGUel, DoloRes 
anD MonTeZUMa Cos.) - bounded on N by McIntyre 
Canyon, Dolores River, San Miguel CR 20.R (Big Gypsum 
Valley Road), Colo. 141 and Disappointment Valley Road 
(San Miguel CR 19.Q and Dolores CR D.00); on E by 
USFS 526 (Norwood-Dolores Road) and Colo. 145; on S 
by Colo. 184 and U.S. 491; and on W by UT.

s65: CosTIlla (CosTIlla Co.) - bounded on N by the 
Alamosa-Costilla and Huerfano-Costilla Co. lines; on E by 
the Huerfano-Costilla Co. line and farther S by the south-

ern Sangre de Cristo divide (Culebra mountain range); on 
S by NM; and on W by Colo. 159 and U.S. 160.

s66 MoUnT elbeRT (lake, pITkIn Cos.) - bounded on 
N by North Fork Fryingpan River, Mormon Creek and the 
Continental Divide; on E by U.S. 24; on S by Colo. 82; and 
on W by Lost Man Creek, over the ridge from Lost Man 
Creek to South Fork of Fryingpan River and Fryingpan 
River.

s67 flaTTops (RIo blanCo, GaRfIelD Cos.) - 
bounded on N by Williams Fork River-White River divide; 
on E by White River-Yampa River divide and White 
River-Colorado River divide; on S by South Fork of the 
White River-Colorado River divide; and on W by USFS 
245, Rio Blanco CRs 17 (Buford-Newcastle Road) and 8, 
and USFS 250.

S68 COtOpaXI (ChaFFEE, FrEmONt aND SaguaChE 
Cos.) - bounded on N by the South Arkansas River, 
Arkansas River, Fremont CR 12 bridge, and U.S. 50; on 
E by Colo. 69; on S by the Fremont-Custer and Fremont-
Saguache Co. lines, USFS 970 (Hayden Pass Road), and 
Saguache CR LL 57; and on W by U.S. 285.

s69 CoCHeTopa (GUnnIson, saGUaCHe Cos.) - 
bounded on N by Gunnison River and U.S. 50, on E by 
Gunnison CR 45 and Saguache CR 14-PP (Doyleville 
Cut-off Road), Razor Creek and USFS 803 (Gismo Creek 
and Meyer’s Gulch Road), Colo. 114 and the Continental 
Divide; on S by Saguache CRs NN-14 and KK-14; and on 
W by USFS 806 and South Beaver Creek.

s71 wesT neeDles (san jUan, la plaTa Cos.) - 
bounded on N by the San Miguel-Ouray Co. line, U.S. 
550, Colo. 110, Cunningham Gulch, and  Continental 
Divide; on E by Vallecito Creek and Los Pinos River; on 
S by U.S. 160; and on W by the Montezuma-La Plata and 
Montezuma-Dolores Co. lines.

s73 MoUnT ZIRkel (jaCkson, RoUTT Cos.) - 
bounded on N by Mount Zirkel Wilderness boundary, 
USFS Trail 1125, USFS 660, and Big Creek Road (USFS 
600); on E by Jackson CRs 6W, 7, 12W, 18 and 5; on S by 
Jackson CR 24, and Buffalo Pass Road (USFS 60); and on 
W by Mount Zirkel Wilderness Area boundary.

s74 GlenwooD CanYon (GaRfIelD, eaGle Cos.) 
- bounded on N by South Fork of White River- 
Colorado River divide and Deep Creek; on E and S by the 
Colorado River; and on W by Canyon Creek.
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Get Outdoors
2013 
sHeep & GoaT 
DaTes To know

apRIl 2 — Application 
       deadline 

MaY 9 —  Drawing results 
      posted online
 
MaY 13-15 — Refunds in 
                the mail 

MaY 15 — Licenses in 
       the mail 

aUG. 3-jan. 13* — Rocky  
      Mountain bighorn  
      sheep hunting  
      seasons    
sepT. 3-oCT. 31* —  
     Mountain goat 
     hunting seasons       

nov. 1-30 — Desert 
     bighorn sheep  
     hunting seasons     

*SEASON DATES: Hunt dates 
vary by license type & hunt loca-
tion. See hunt tables for details, 
pages 7-11.   Some licenses are 
valid only on certain dates.  It is 
your responsibility to know the 
correct dates for your hunt.

noTICe:  This brochure includes information on hunting bighorn sheep and mountain goats.  It is not a legal notice nor a complete collection of 
regulations and laws. It is a condensed guide issued for hunters’ convenience. Copies of statutes and regulations can be obtained from a Colorado Parks 

and Wildlife office or at wildlife.state.co.us/RulesRegs/Regulations/Pages/Regulations.aspx. For questions, call (303) 297-1192.

Printed for free distribution by 
Colorado Parks and Wildlife
6060 Broadway, Denver, CO  80216
(303) 297-1192
cpw.state.co.us

CHanGe YoUR aDDRess onlIne at www.bit.ly/cpwlicensesales. 
Click on “bUY anD applY foR lICenses” and follow the steps to 
change your address.   mOVINg? 
(Please do NOT use your hunt application as a change-of-address form.)

http://cpw.state.co.us
http://wildlife.state.co.us/RulesRegs/Regulations/Pages/Regulations.aspx

