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LICENSESWHAT'S NEW

WHAT’S NEW: 2019−2020 REGULATION CHANGES & NEW INFORMATION

LICENSE & HABITAT STAMP FEES
LICENSE INFORMATION

RESTRICTIONS

▶ FUTURE GENERATIONS ACT PASSED THE 2018 STATE
LEGISLATURE: Thank you to all of the hunters and anglers
who helped support the Future Generations Act and
Colorado Parks and Wildlife. This act is a huge step for
funding wildlife conservation. You'll see some changes in
2019, including a small fee increase for resident licenses
and the Wildlife Education Fund. Find the full 2018/2019 fee 
comparison chart online: cpw.state.co.us/feechanges

▶ MOUNTAIN LION BROCHURE NOW AVAILABLE ONLINE ONLY: The
CPW Mountain Lion brochure is now entirely digital,
beginning with the April 1, 2019–March 31, 2020 license
year.

▶ MOUNTAIN LION HUNTING UNIT CLOSURE INFORMATION 
AVAILABLE ONLINE ONLY: After March 31, 2019, the 1-888-940-
LION (5466) phone number will no longer be in service.
Beginning April 1, 2019, hunters must check harvest limits/
whether a unit is open or closed through the online Available 
Mountain Lion Harvest Limits Report at cpw.state.co.us/
huntlion no earlier than 5 p.m. the day before your hunt.
You can also call any CPW office to check if a unit is open or
closed. See page 4 for more information on the report.

▶ ANNUAL MOUNTAIN LION LICENSES ON SALE MARCH 25, 2019:
Mountain lion hunting licenses for the April 1, 2019–March
31, 2020 license year will be available for purchase starting
March 25, 2019.

CHILD SUPPORT DELINQUENCY
State law requires a Social Security number to buy a license.
It is not displayed on the license but is provided, if requested,
to Child Support Enforcement authorities. Hunting and
fishing licenses are not issued to those suspended for non-
compliance with child support. Any current licenses become
invalid if held by an individual who is noncompliant with
child support.

WEAPONS RESTRICTIONS
Colorado and federal laws prohibit people convicted of certain
crimes, such as domestic violence, from possessing weapons
even for hunting. If you’ve been convicted of a crime, check
with the appropriate law enforcement authority to find out how
the laws apply to you.

ACCEPTED FORMS OF PAYMENT
■ Online and by phone: Visa, Mastercard, Discover credit/debit cards and CPW gift certificates.
■ CPW offices/parks: In addition to the above: check, money order, traveler's checks and cash.
■ Sales agents: Any form of payment the agent accepts. CPW gift certificates are not valid.

HABITAT STAMPS
WHAT YOU NEED TO BUY A LICENSE AND HUNT
1. ID. Secure and verifiable ID. A Social Security number is

required for new hunters ages 12 and older.
2. PROOF of hunter education. (See page 2.)
3. PROOF of residency for Colorado residents. (See page 2.)
4.  HABITAT STAMP. A 2019 or Lifetime Habitat Stamp is re-
quired prior to applying for the draw or buying a license.
(See below.)

HABITAT STAMPS ARE REQUIRED FOR HUNTERS 
Habitat Stamps are $10 and only one is required per person, 
per year for anyone ages 18–64. Stamps are valid April 1–
March 31.
▶ A 2019 Habitat Stamp ($10) will automatically be added

to your first hunting or fishing license purchase of each
license year, if applicable.

▶ A lifetime stamp is $300.25.
▶ Anyone who holds a lifetime fishing license, a veteran's

resident lifetime combination small-game/fishing license or
are approved for the Big Game Mobility Impaired Hunting
Program is exempt from the Habitat Stamp requirement.
See: cpw.state.co.us/accessibility

BUY ONLINE, BY PHONE OR IN PERSON
▶ Online: Go to cpw.state.co.us and click "Buy and Apply"
▶ Call: 1-800-244-5613
▶ In person: CPW offices and sales agents around the state

HABITAT STAMPS	 FEE
▶ Annual Habitat Stamp (required & nonrefundable)...........$10 

▶ Lifetime Habitat Stamp.................................................... $300.25

LICENSES FEE
RESIDENTS.............................................................. $49.75
NONRESIDENTS....................................................... $351.75

All license prices include a 25-cent search-and-rescue fee and a $1.50 
fee for the Wildlife Education Fund.

Only one is required per person, ages 18–64, 
per year buying or applying for a license.

http://CPW.STATE.CO.US
http://cpw.state.co.us/feechanges
http://cpw.state.co.us/huntlion
http://cpw.state.co.us/huntlion
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LICENSES

1. YOU MUST HAVE A LION LICENSE and carry 
it when hunting. Licenses are valid for 
the April 1–March 31 license year during 
open mountain lion seasons.

2. HUNTER EDUCATION —
TWO REQUIREMENTS:
I. HUNTER EDUCATION

a. Anyone born on or after January 1, 
1949, must have a hunter education 
card to hunt in Colorado.

b. A hunter education card is needed to 
apply for or buy a license.

c. Your hunter education card must be 
carried while hunting, unless veri-
fied and marked with a “V” on your 
license. To get your hunter education 
verified, take your hunter education 
card to a CPW office (listed on inside 
front cover) or state park.

d. CPW honors hunter education cards 
from other states, provinces and 
countries.

EXEMPTIONS
a. Individuals over age 50 or active- 

duty U.S. military and veterans can 
obtain a hunter education certificate 
by testing out of hunter education: 
cpw.state.co.us/HunterEdTestOut

b. A one-time apprentice certificate can 
be obtained for hunters 10 years old 
(12 years old for mountain lion hunt-
ers) and who must be accompanied 
by a mentor in the field: cpw.state.
co.us/apprenticecertificate

Please see the CPW website for more in-
formation: cpw.state.co.us/HunterEd

II. MOUNTAIN LION EDUCATION CERTIFIED 
COURSE AND TEST: The test is mandatory, 
including for those with the apprentice 
certificate. Materials and the official 
test are online at cpw.state.co.us/
mountainlionexam. Enter your CID 
number when taking the official test. If 
you do not have a CID, contact a CPW 
office. Tests also can be taken at CPW 
area offices (listed on inside front cover). 
Hunters must carry the certificate of 
completion while hunting, unless a 
“Lion — V” (for verified) is printed on 
the license.

3. A HABITAT STAMP IS REQUIRED for those 
ages 18–64 who buy or apply for hunting 
or fishing licenses, or preference points. 
Cost is $10; one stamp is required per 
year. A lifetime stamp is $300.25.

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS                                        cpw.state.co.us/proofofresidency
▶ The residence address you give to buy or apply for a license must be the same as the ad-

dress given for Colorado state income tax purposes.
▶ You terminate your Colorado residency if you apply for, buy or accept a resident hunt-

ing, fishing or trapping license issued by another state or foreign country, register to 
vote outside Colorado or accept a driver's license that shows an address other than in 
Colorado.

▶ Colorado licenses with a black banner that states “Not Valid for Federal Identification, 
Voting or Public Benefit” cannot be used to prove residency.

RESIDENCY TYPES
1. STANDARD COLORADO RESIDENT

a. Requirements: Customer must live in Colorado for at least 6 consecutive months prior 
to buying or applying for any resident CPW product, have their primary residence in 
Colorado and have not applied for or purchased a resident license or pass outside of 
Colorado in the last 6 months.

b. Proof: Current and valid Colorado driver’s license/ID with a Colorado address issued 
6 or more months prior. If the Colorado driver’s license/ID is not 6 months old, the 
customer must provide at least two forms of additional residency proof, as outlined in 
"Additional Residency Proofs" below.

2. STUDENT: ATTENDING SCHOOL FULL-TIME IN COLORADO
a. Requirements: Customer must be attending school full time at an accredited Colorado 

school starting at least 6 months prior to buying or applying for any resident CPW 
product.

b. Proof: Student ID, name of institution, date customer became full-time student, 
school transcript showing full-time status.

3. STUDENT: ATTENDING SCHOOL FULL-TIME OUTSIDE OF COLORADO
a. Requirements: Customer must meet Colorado residency requirements and be attending an 

accredited school outside of Colorado, paying nonresident tuition.
b. Proof: Student ID, name of institution, date customer became full-time student, proof 

of out-of-state tuition payment.

4. MILITARY: STATIONED IN COLORADO
a. Requirements: Customer must be active-duty military stationed in Colorado (including 

their spouse/dependents). Residency begins the date the orders begin.
b. Proof: Military ID and Orders.

5. MILITARY: COLORADO HOME OF RECORD
a. Requirements: Customer must be active-duty military stationed outside of Colorado, 

but with Colorado as their home of record, paying income tax as a Colorado resident 
(includes spouse/dependents).

b. Proof: Military ID and Orders.

6. YOUTH
a. Children under the age of 18 have the same residency status as their parent, legal 

guardian or person with whom they live the majority of the time per court order.

OTHER RESIDENCY INFORMATION
1. ADDITIONAL RESIDENCY PROOFS

a. Customers who otherwise meet residency requirements but whose Colorado driver’s 
license or ID was issued or renewed less than 6 months ago, or who have a CPW-
approved religious exemption to photo identification on their record, must provide 
at least two additional proofs of residency. Those proofs include: income sources (pay 
stubs), utility bills, state income tax documents (as a full-time resident), lease agree-
ments/rent receipts, motor vehicle registration, voter registration.

2. MULTIPLE HOMES
a. If you have a home in Colorado and another location, call 303-297-1192 to make sure 

you comply with Colorado residency requirements before obtaining a CPW license 
or state park pass.

http://CPW.STATE.CO.US
http://cpw.state.co.us/HunterEdTestOut
http://cpw.state.co.us/apprenticecertificate
http://cpw.state.co.us/apprenticecertificate
http://cpw.state.co.us/HunterEd
http://cpw.state.co.us/mountainlionexam
http://cpw.state.co.us/mountainlionexam
http://cpw.state.co.us/proofofresidency
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GENERAL INFORMATION

Legal hunting hours for mountain lion are one-
half hour before sunrise to one half-hour after 
sunset. The sunrise/sunset chart at right lists 
Denver times. Subtract 1 minute from opening 
and closing time for each 12 1/2 miles east of 
Denver. Add 1 minute to opening and clos-
ing time for each 12 1/2 miles west of Denver. 
(These changes assume that each degree of lon-
gitude equals 50 miles and a change of 1 degree 
of longitude equals a 4-minute change in sunrise 
and sunset times.)

LEGAL HUNTING HOURS 2019–2020 SUNRISE/SUNSET TABLE (DENVER)
  APRIL (DST)*   NOV.    DEC.   JAN. 2020   FEB. 2020   MAR. 2020

DAY A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M.
1 06:44 7:24 07:28 5:58 07:02 4:36 07:21 4:46 07:08 5:19 06:32 5:53
2 06:43 7:25 07:29 5:57 07:03 4:36 07:21 4:47 07:07 5:20 06:31 5:54
3 06:41 7:26 06:31 4:56 07:04 4:36 07:21 4:48 07:06 5:22 06:29 5:55
4 06:40 7:27 06:32 4:55 07:04 4:36 07:21 4:49 07:05 5:23 06:28 5:56
5 06:38 7:28 06:33 4:54 07:05 4:35 07:21 4:49 07:04 5:24 06:26 5:57
6 06:36 7:29 06:34 4:53 07:06 4:35 07:21 4:50 07:03 5:25 06:25 5:58
7 06:35 7:30 06:35 4:52 07:07 4:35 07:21 4:51 07:02 5:26 06:23 5:59
8 06:33 7:31 06:36 4:51 07:08 4:35 07:21 4:52 07:01 5:28 06:21 5:00
9 06:32 7:32 06:37 4:50 07:09 4:35 07:21 4:53 07:00 5:29 06:20 6:01
10 06:30 7:33 06:39 4:49 07:10 4:35 07:21 4:54 06:59 5:30 06:18 6:02
11 06:29 7:34 06:40 4:48 07:11 4:36 07:20 4:55 06:58 5:31 06:17 6:03
12 06:27 7:35 06:41 4:47 07:11 4:36 07:20 4:56 06:57 5:32 06:15 6:04
13 06:26 7:36 06:42 4:46 07:12 4:36 07:20 4:57 06:55 5:33 06:14 6:05
14 06:24 7:37 06:43 4:45 07:13 4:36 07:20 4:58 06:54 5:35 06:12 6:06
15 06:23 7:38 06:44 4:44 07:14 4:36 07:19 5:00 06:53 5:36 06:10 6:07
16 06:21 7:39 06:45 4:44 07:14 4:37 07:19 5:01 06:52 5:37 06:09 6:08
17 06:20 7:40 06:47 4:43 07:15 4:37 07:18 5:02 06:50 5:38 06:07 6:10
18 06:18 7:41 06:48 4:42 07:16 4:37 07:18 5:03 06:49 5:39 06:06 6:11
19 06:17 7:42 06:49 4:41 07:16 4:38 07:17 5:04 06:48 5:40 06:04 6:12
20 06:15 7:43 06:50 4:41 07:17 4:38 07:17 5:05 06:46 5:42 06:02 6:13
21 06:14 7:44 06:51 4:40 07:17 4:39 07:16 5:06 06:45 5:43 06:01 6:14
22 06:13 7:45 06:52 4:40 07:18 4:39 07:16 5:07 06:44 5:44 05:59 6:15
23 06:11 7:46 06:53 4:39 07:18 4:40 07:15 5:09 06:42 5:45 05:58 6:16
24 06:10 7:47 06:54 4:39 07:19 4:40 07:15 5:10 06:41 5:46 05:56 6:17
25 06:09 7:48 06:55 4:38 07:19 4:41 07:14 5:11 06:39 5:47 05:54 6:18
26 06:07 7:49 06:56 4:38 07:19 4:42 07:13 5:12 06:38 5:48 05:53 6:19
27 06:06 7:50 06:57 4:37 07:20 4:42 07:12 5:13 06:37 5:49 05:51 6:20
28 06:05 7:51 06:59 4:37 07:20 4:43 07:12 5:14 06:35 5:51 05:50 6:21
29 06:03 7:52 07:00 4:37 07:20 4:44 07:11 5:16 06:34 5:52 05:48 6:22
30 06:02 7:53 07:01 4:36 07:21 4:44 07:10 5:17 05:46 6:23
31 07:21 4:45 07:09 5:18 05:45 6:24

                                            TIME ADJUSTMENT FOR OTHER COLORADO CITIES
Add or subtract these min-
utes to the chart above for 
select towns. For use only 

as a general reference. 

     Alamosa +3      Durango +11      La Junta -6
     Buena Vista +5      Fort Morgan -4      Lamar -9
     Burlington -10      Gr. Junction +13      Sterling -6
     Craig +9      Gunnison +7      Walden +5

*DST = Daylight Saving Time

DST 
ends

DST 
begins

Hunters must be at least 12 years old. Eleven-
year-olds can buy a license if they will turn 12 
before the end of the season. However, youths 
cannot hunt before their 12th birthday. Hunters 
16 and younger must be accompanied by some-
one 18 or older who meets hunter education 
requirements: cpw.state.co.us/HunterEd

1. IT IS ILLEGAL to have or transport a mountain 
lion carcass without evidence of sex naturally 
attached. Evidence of sex means testicles or 
penis of male, or vulva of female.

2. EVIDENCE OF SEX is not required when do-
nation certificate accompanies less than 20 
pounds of meat or after carcass is commercial-
ly processed, cut into portions, wrapped and 
frozen for storage, or stored at licensee’s home.

Hunters must contact a CPW office (listed 
on inside front cover) within 48 hours of 
harvesting a lion and give their name, 
CID number, license number, date and 
unit of harvest, and sex of the lion. If you 
get voicemail, leave a message with the 
information.
     Within five days of harvest, hunters 
must personally present their lion to a 
CPW office or officer for inspection and 
seal. Hides cannot be frozen.
     Hunters can help by making sure the 
jaw is propped open with a stick before 
rigor sets in and by making sure the car-
cass is not frozen at time of inspection.

     Lions or parts cannot be taken out of 
Colorado unless inspected 
and sealed. Lion hides or heads without 
seals become state property.
     A mandatory check report must be com-
pleted during inspection. Inspections and 
seals are free. Seals must stay attached until 
hide is tanned.
INTERNATIONAL TRANSPORT:
To transport a mountain lion or parts 
to a foreign country, you must first 
obtain CITES documents. Contact the 
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 303-342-
7430, or download the form at fws.gov/
forms/3-200-28.pdf.

MINIMUM HUNTING AGE

EVIDENCE OF SEX

INSPECTION & SEALS

At inspection, CPW officials are authorized to 
extract and keep a premolar tooth.
     If the head and hide are frozen, CPW may 
keep them long enough to thaw so that a tooth 
can be removed. The tooth will be analyzed to 
determine the lion’s age.
     Hunters can help by making sure the jaw is 
propped open with a stick before rigor sets in 
and by making sure the carcass is not frozen at 
time of inspection.
     The animal’s age will be posted on the CPW 
website 6 months after lion season ends. Ages are 
posted by seal number, so hunters should record 
the number to check the age of their animal.

TOOTH INSPECTION

Source: www.usno.navy.mil

http://CPW.STATE.CO.US
http://cpw.state.co.us/HunterEd
http://fws.gov/forms/3-200-28.pdf
http://fws.gov/forms/3-200-28.pdf
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Binoculars are recommended to determine the sex of treed or 
bayed lions. Sex also can be determined with the naked eye if you 
are close enough.
     If a lion is in a tree and it’s difficult to identify its sex, get it to 
move so you have a better view. Bang a branch on the tree trunk 
or throw a few snowballs or pine cones into branches near the 
lion.
     Remember, it is illegal to kill a female with kittens present. 
The absence of kittens with a lion does not mean it is a male or an 
unbred adult female. Research has shown that young are close to 
their mothers about half the time.

MALES usually have 
three spots below 
the base of their 
tail. Just under 
their tail is the anal 
opening; about 1 
inch below that is 
the scrotum, an 
oval-shaped patch 
of silver, light 
brown and white 
fur.
     Beneath the 
scrotum is a small, 
conspicuous black 
spot (about 1 inch 
across) that sur-
rounds the penis 
sheath opening.

FEMALES have only 
two spots below 
the base of their 
tail, including the 
anal opening hid-
den beneath the 
base of the tail and 
vaginal opening 
directly below the 
anus. The rest of 
the area behind the 
female’s hindquar-
ters is covered with 
white fur.

     Although colored spots help in identification, first and fore-
most, look for the darkest spot. If it is high and near the tail or is 
difficult to see, the lion is probably female. 
If the dark patch is 4–5 inches beneath the tail, it is probably a 
male.
     Because treed or bayed lions often urinate, look for the origin 
of the urine. If urine comes from behind the hind legs, about 4–5 
inches below the anus, the lion is probably male. If the stream 
comes from under the base of the tail, there’s a good chance the 
lion is female.
     Tracks also can be good indicators of sex. Adult and large, sub-
adult males usually have hind foot plantar (heel) pads more than 
2 inches (51 mm) wide. Adult and sub-adult female lions usually 
have heel pads less than 2 inches wide. Hunters should carry a 
small ruler or wind-up metal tape to measure tracks.

CPW.STATE.CO.US/ 
MOUNTAINLIONEXAM 

FOR MORE INFORMATION

Donation certificates are required for all donations. Certificates 
must contain names, addresses and telephone numbers of donor 
and recipient; donor’s hunting license number; species and amounts 
donated; date of kill; donor’s signature. The certificate can be a 
simple note; no special form is required. Certificate must stay with 
the meat until the meat is completely consumed. Donor and recipi-
ent are subject to all bag and possession limits. NOTE: A “like license” 
is a license for exactly the same species, sex, season and method of 
take as a donor’s license.

1. You can donate to someone WITH OR WITHOUT a like license:
a. Any amount of processed and packaged game meat, anywhere.

2. You can donate to someone WITHOUT a like license:
a. up to 20 pounds of unprocessed meat, anywhere.
b. more than 20 pounds of unprocessed meat, only at recipient’s 

home.
3. You can donate to someone WITH a like license:

a. up to 20 pounds of unprocessed meat, anywhere.
b. more than 20 pounds of unprocessed meat, anywhere, only if:

(1) recipient’s license is unfilled.
(2) recipient’s carcass tag is on the meat. This establishes re-

cipient’s claim to his/her portion of meat and voids his/her 
license. Donor’s tag must remain with his/her portion.

c. the entire carcass, if:
(1) recipient’s license is unfilled, and
(2) both the donor’s carcass tag and recipient’s like-license car-

cass tag is on meat, voiding both.

DONATING WILDLIFE

IDENTIFYING MALE & FEMALE LIONS
You must check DAILY to make sure the unit you want to hunt is 
open. Units close when harvest limits are reached.
     After 5 p.m. the day before the hunt, check the AVAILABLE MOUN-
TAIN LION HARVEST LIMITS REPORT on CPW's website for open units: 
cpw.state.co.us/huntlion. If a unit is closed, you must pick a dif-
ferent unit to hunt.
NOTE: Starting April 1, 2019, hunters must check the harvest limit 
and open unit information through the online AVAILABLE MOUNTAIN 
LION HARVEST LIMITS REPORT, or by contacting any CPW area office 
during regular business hours. The 1-888-940-LION (5466) phone 
number will no longer be in use, though it may be made available as 
a backup option in case of a technological emergency.

DAILY HARVEST LIMIT REPORT

Male mountain lion hindquarters

Female mountain lion hindquarters

Unit Valid Units Season Dates
Harvest 

Limit
# Lions 
Taken Status Description

1 1,2 Nov 18, 2019  - Mar 31, 2020 5 5 CLOSED Closed April 1-30

2 see unit 1 Closed April 1-30

3 3,301 Nov 18, 2019  - Mar 31, 2020 5 0 Open Closed April 1-30

4 see unit 5 Closed April 1-30, North of CR 
27 & USFS Rd 110

4 see unit 441 Closed April 1-30, South of CR 
27 & USFS Rd 110

5 4,5 - North of CR 27 & 
USFS Rd 110

Nov 18, 2019  - Mar 31, 2020 9 0 Open Closed April 1-30, North of CR 
27 & USFS Rd 110

6 6,16,17,161,171 Nov 18, 2019  - Mar 31, 2020 4 0 Open Closed April 1-30

7 7 Apr 01 - 30, 2019 & Nov 18, 
2019  - Mar 31, 2020

1 0 Open

8 8 Apr 01 - 30, 2019 & Nov 18, 
2019  - Mar 31, 2020

4 0 Open

9 9 Apr 01 - 30, 2019 & Nov 18, 
2019  - Mar 31, 2020

3 3 CLOSED

10 10 Nov 18, 2019  - Mar 31, 2020 8 0 Open Closed April 1-30

11 11 Nov 18, 2019  - Mar 31, 2020 12 0 Open Closed April 1-30

12 12 Nov 18, 2019  - Mar 31, 2020 20 0 Open Closed April 1-30

13 13 - West of Hayden 
Divide Road

Nov 18, 2018  - Mar 31, 2019 10 0 Open Closed April 1-30, West of 
Hayden Divide Road

13 13,131,231 - East of 
Hayden Divide Road

Nov 18, 2018  - Mar 31, 2019 9 0 Open Closed April 1-30, East of 
Hayden Divide Road

14 see unit 441 Closed April 1-30, South of CR 
27 & USFS Rd 110

15 15 Nov 18, 2018  - Mar 31, 2019 5 0 Open Closed April 1-30

16 see unit 6 Closed April 1-30

17 see unit 6 Closed April 1-30

18 18,27,28,37,181,371 Nov 18, 2018  - Mar 31, 2019 12 0 Open Closed April 1-30

19 19 Apr 01 - 30, 2018 & Nov 18, 
2018  - Mar 31, 2019 

5 0 Open

20 20 Apr 01 - 30, 2018 & Nov 18, 
2018  - Mar 31, 2019 

9 0 Open

21 21 Nov 18, 2018  - Mar 31, 2019 15 0 Open Closed April 1-30

Available Mountain Lion Harvest Limits
2/27/2019 2:05:49 PM COLORADO PARKS AND WILDLIFE

EXAMPLE
Example of the online Available Mountain Lion Harvest Limits Report.

http://CPW.STATE.CO.US
http://cpw.state.co.us/mountainlionexam
http://cpw.state.co.us/huntlion
https://cpw.state.co.us/Documents/LionQuota.pdf
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HUNTING LAWS

BAG LIMITS & TAGGING

1. Hunters who have licenses to hunt certain species can legally wear fluorescent 
pink clothing as an alternative to fluorescent orange garments. Lion hunters are 
not required to wear fluorescent orange or pink, but may wish to consider wear-
ing​ it if concerned about visibility to other hunters.

2. It is illegal to kill a kitten or lion accompanied by one or more kittens. A kitten is a 
lion with spots.

3. Artificial light, electronic devices and electronic calls are illegal. Hand-held calls 
are permitted.

4. Bait is illegal.
5. Dogs are permitted. No more than 8 dogs are allowed per pack.
6. Hunters must be present when dogs are released and must be an active partici-

pant until the hunt ends.
7. After a lion is pursued, treed, cornered or held at bay, you must harvest or release 

the lion. It is illegal to prevent a lion from escaping so that someone not in your 
hunting party can harvest it.

8. All edible parts of lions must be properly prepared for human consumption, 
excluding internal organs.

9. Upon harvest, the carcass tag must immediately be detached from the license and 
attached to the lion carcass, per instructions on tag.

10. Hunting with archery equipment, rifles, muzzleloaders, handguns or shotguns 
firing single slugs is prohibited within 50 feet on either side of the centerline of 
state highways and municipal or county roads.

For general Colorado hunting regulations, see cpw.state.co.us/regulations. 

HUNTING LAWS
LEGAL METHODS OF TAKE

1. CENTERFIRE RIFLES OR HANDGUNS: Bullets must 
weigh a minimum of 45 grains and produce at 
least 400 foot-pounds of energy at muzzle.

2. MUZZLELOADING RIFLES & SMOOTHBORE MUSKETS: 
Minimum .40 caliber for conical bullets and .50 
caliber for roundball bullets, and must use a bullet 
at least 170 grains in weight.

3. SHOTGUNS: Minimum 20 gauge. Must fire single 
slug.

4. HAND-HELD BOWS: Long bow, recurved bow or 
compound bow on which the string is not drawn 
mechanically or held mechanically under tension. 
String or mechanical releases that are hand drawn 
or hand-held without other attachments or con-
nections to the bow (other than bowstring) are 
legal.
a. Hand-held bows, including compound bows, 

must use arrows equipped with a broadhead 
with an outside diameter or a minimum width 
of 7/8 of an inch, with a minimum of two steel 
cutting edges. Each cutting edge must be in the 
same plane for the entire length of the cutting 
surface.

b. Minimum draw weight of 35 pounds required. 
Let-off percentage maximum of 80 percent.

c. No part of bow’s riser (handle) or track, trough, 
channel, arrow rest or other device (excluding 
cables and bowstring) that attaches to the riser 
can contact, support and/or guide the arrow 
from a point rearward of the bow’s brace height 
behind the undrawn string.

d. Bows can propel only a single arrow at a time. 
No mechanisms for automatically loading ar-
rows are permitted.

e. Electric or battery-powered devices cannot be 
incorporated or attached to a bow, with the ex-
ception of lighted nocks on arrows and record-
ing devices on bows that cast no light towards 
the target and do not aid in range finding, sight-
ing or shooting the bow.

f. Hydraulic or pneumatic technology cannot be 
used to derive or store energy to propel arrows. 
Explosive arrows are prohibited.

5. CROSSBOWS:
a. Draw weight: minimum 125 pounds.
b. Draw length: minimum 14 inches from front of 

the bow to nocking point of the drawstring.
c. Positive mechanical safety device is required.
d. Bolt must be a minimum 16 inches long, have a 

broadhead at least 7/8 inch wide and a mini-
mum of two steel cutting edges. Each cutting 
edge must be in the same plane for the entire 
length of cutting surface.

6. METHODS NOT LISTED ARE PROHIBITED.

1. One mountain lion, either sex, per license year (April 1–March 31). Hunters may 
harvest one lion from April 1–30, 2019, OR one lion during the fall season, Nov. 
18, 2019–March 31, 2020, depending on the valid season dates for the unit you 
are hunting. See hunt code table on pages 6–7.

2. A lion harvested during special damage seasons doesn’t count toward the annual 
bag limit.

3. A lion harvested on the Southern Ute Indian Reservation does not count toward 
annual bag limit.

MOUNTAIN LION REGULATIONS

© Dave Arnold

http://CPW.STATE.CO.US
http://cpw.state.co.us/regulations
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SEASONS

MOUNTAIN LION HUNTING SEASONS
HUNTING DATES: APRIL 1–30, 2019 & NOV. 18, 2019–MARCH 31, 2020

These harvest limits are for April 1–30, 2019, then Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020. Harvest limits are the total number of lions that can be harvested in a unit. 
Units not listed in the tables below are not open to lion hunting for the April and/or fall season. Map, page 8.

UNITS SEASON DATES HARVEST 
LIMIT

1, 2 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 5
3, 301 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 3
4 (N of CR 27 and USFS Rd. 
110), 5 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 9

4 (S of CR 27 and USFS Rd. 
110), 14, 214, 441 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 6

6, 16, 17, 161, 171 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 4

7
April 1–30, 2019

1
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

8
April 1–30, 2019

4
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

9
April 1–30, 2019

3
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

10 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 8
11 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 12
12 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 20
13 (W of Hayden Divide Rd.) Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 10
13 (E of Hayden Divide Rd.), 
131, 231 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 9

15 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 5
18, 27, 28, 37, 181, 371 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 12

19
April 1–30, 2019

5
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

20
April 1–30, 2019

9
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

21 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 15
22 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 17
23 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 17
24 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 8
25, 26, 34 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 7

29
April 1–30, 2019

2
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

30 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 10
31 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 12
32 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 5

UNITS SEASON DATES HARVEST 
LIMIT

33 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 13
35, 36, 361 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 9

38
April 1–30, 2019

7
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

39, 391
April 1–30, 2019

7
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

40 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 7
41 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 5
42 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 10
43 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 5
44 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 6
45 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 1

46
April 1–30, 2019

6
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

47 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 1

48, 56, 481, 561
April 1–30, 2019

10
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

49, 57, 58, 581
April 1–30, 2019

12
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

50, 500, 501
April 1–30, 2019

10
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

51
April 1–30, 2019

7
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

52, 411 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 10
53, 63 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 10
54, 55, 551 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 7

59, 591
April 1–30, 2019

7
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

60 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 5
61 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 10
62 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 9
64 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 5
65 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 7
66, 67 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 8

http://CPW.STATE.CO.US
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Once a mountain lion has been harvested, these steps will ensure prop-
er reporting and inspection is completed. See page 3 for more details.
1. REPORT the lion harvest to a CPW office (listed on inside front cover) 

within 48 hours. If you reach voicemail, leave your CID number, li-
cense number, date and unit of harvest, and sex of the lion harvested.

2. AFTER any field photos have been taken of the harvested lion, prop 
its jaw open with a stick in the mouth to help keep it open as rigor 
sets in. This will help CPW agents with tooth extraction later.

3. PRESENT the lion to a CPW office within five days of harvesting for 
inspection and sealing. Heads and hides must be unfrozen. CPW 
may retain frozen heads and hides until they thaw to extract a tooth. 
At this time, hunters must also fill out a report about the hunt.

Colorado Parks and Wildlife develops management plans for moun-
tain lion populations in Colorado. The harvest limits are determined 
annually to ensure that lion mortality objectives are not exceeded.

CONSERVING COLORADO’S MOUNTAIN LIONS
Mountain lion populations are very sensitive to female deaths. A 
large number of female deaths can shift a population from increasing 
to decreasing numbers.
     Females don’t disperse far, and some don’t disperse at all. If too 
many adult females are harvested, it can take longer for lions to 
reoccupy an area. Therefore, harvesting too many females can have 
far-reaching implications for Colorado’s lion population.
     Wildlife managers use the amount and proportion of female 
harvest when setting annual harvest limits. Hunter harvest and total 
mortality are examined on a consecutive 3-year average in each unit. 
If the female harvest and mortality are too high in an area with a goal 
of maintaining a stable or increasing population, harvest limits may 
be lowered.
     CPW officials ask hunters to refrain voluntarily from harvesting 
females in units managed to maintain stable populations.

AFTER HARVEST

LION MANAGEMENT & RESEARCH

1. Don’t handle animals that are sick or found dead. Report them to a 
CPW office.

2. Keep game cool, clean and dry.
3. Do not eat, drink or smoke while dressing game.
4. Use disposable gloves when cleaning game.
5. Wash your hands after dressing game.
6. Clean all tools and surfaces immediately afterward.
7. Cook meat to an internal temperature of at least 165°F.
8. Do not eat raw wild game.

In the old days, mountain lions were regarded 
as unwelcome pests, with bounties of up to $50 
offered for each one that was taken. Mountain 
lions were designated a big-game species in 
Colorado in 1965 and are now afforded the 
protections given to other Colorado wildlife.
Answer this and more in the required mountain lion 
hunter test online:
cpw.state.co.us/mountainlionexam

TAKE THE MOUNTAIN LION HUNTER EDUCATION TEST
 

cpw.state.co.us  

C O L O R A D O  P A R K S  &  W I L D L I F E

Colorado Mountain Lion
Education & Identification
Course

INFORMATION FOR THE MOUNTAIN LION EXAM

SAFE HANDLING OF GAME MEAT

UNITS SEASON DATES HARVEST 
LIMIT

68, 681, 682 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 6
69, 84, 86, 691, 861 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 15

70 (E of Hwy. 141)
April 1–30, 2019

10
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

70 (W of Hwy. 141)
April 1–30, 2019

6
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

71, 711
April 1–30, 2019

11
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

72
April 1–30, 2019

4
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

73
April 1–30, 2019

10
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

74, 741 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 6
75 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 4
76, 79, 791 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 5
77 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 6
78 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 5
80 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 5
81 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 4
82 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 6
83 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 10
85, 140, 851 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 29

87–103, 106, 107, 109, 
111–122, 951

April 1–30, 2019
5

Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

104, 105, 110
April 1–30, 2019

5
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

123–130, 132–139, 
141–147

April 1–30, 2019
20

Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

191
April 1–30, 2019

8
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

201 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 5
211 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 12
421 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 10
444 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 6

461
April 1–30, 2019

7
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

511
April 1–30, 2019

4
Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020

521 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 6
751, 771 Nov. 18, 2019–March 31, 2020 5

http://CPW.STATE.CO.US
http://cpw.state.co.us/mountainlionexam
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Printed for free distribution by: 
COLORADO PARKS AND WILDLIFE 
6060 Broadway, Denver, CO 80216
303-297-1192 
cpw.state.co.us

NOTICE: This brochure includes information on mountain lion hunting. It is not a legal notice nor a complete collection of hunting regulations and laws. It is a 
condensed guide issued for hunters’ convenience. Copies of statutes and regulations can be obtained from a Colorado Parks and Wildlife regional or area office, or at 
cpw.state.co.us/regulations. For questions, call CPW at 303-297-1192.

2019–2020 MTN. LION
SEASON DATES

MARCH 25, 2019 Annual mountain lion 
licenses go on sale

APRIL 1–30, 2019 April mountain lion season

NOV. 18, 2019– 
MARCH 31, 2020 Fall mountain lion season

THE DAY BEFORE
THE HUNT 
(after 5 p.m.)

Available Mountain Lion 
Harvest Limits Report

See hunt tables and map for details, pages 6–8.

IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY TO KNOW THE 
CORRECT DATES FOR YOUR HUNT.

Take a
friend hunting.

LIVE LIFE
OUTSIDE CPW.STATE.CO.US/TAKEAFRIEND

ENTER TO WIN PRIZES.

REPORT POACHERS
OPERATION GAME THIEF: 1-877-265-6648  ■  EMAIL: GAME.THIEF@STATE.CO.US

Earn a reward payment for reporting 
wildlife violations by calling Operation 

Game Thief. Callers can remain 
anonymous.

(This number is not for information requests 
or emergencies.)

Thank you. Your hunting and fishing 
licenses pay to protect Colorado wildlife.

https://cpw.state.co.us/
http://cpw.state.co.us/regulations
https://cpw.state.co.us/
https://hugahunter.com/
https://cpw.state.co.us/takeafriend
https://cpw.state.co.us/aboutus/Pages/OGT.aspx



