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CPW ADMINISTRATIVE, REGIONAL & AREA OFFICE LOCATIONS

ADMINISTRATION REGISTRATION OFFICE

6060 Broadway Boat, Snowmobile, Off-Highway Vehicle

Denver, 80216 13787 US Hwy 85 N

303-297-1192 (M—F, 8 a.m.=5 p.m. MT) Littleton, 80125

ONLY the offices below can assist hunters with animal checks and taking samples that are related
to hunting activities. See the CPW website for a complete list of our parks locations that can
also sell licenses, issue duplicate licenses and accept some licenses for refunds.

BRUSH GRAND JUNCTION MONTE VISTA
28167 County Rd. T 711 Independent Ave. 0722S.Rd. 1E.
Brush, 80723 Grand Junction, 81505 Monte Vista, 81144
970-842-6300 970-255-6100 719-587-6900
COLORADO SPRINGS GUNNISON MONTROSE

4255 Sinton Rd.
Colorado Springs, 80907
719-227-5200

DENVER

6060 Broadway
Denver, 80216
303-291-7227

DURANGO
151E. 16th St.
Durango, 81301
970-247-0855

FORT COLLINS
317 W. Prospect Rd.
Fort Collins, 80526
970-472-4300

GLENWOOD SPRINGS
0088 Wildlife Way
Glenwood Springs, 81601
970-947-2920

300 W. New York Ave.
Gunnison, 81230
970-641-7060

HOT SULPHUR SPRINGS
346 Grand County Rd. 362
Hot Sulphur Springs, 80451
970-725-6200

LAMAR

2500 S. Main St.
Lamar, 81052
719-336-6600

MEEKER

73485 Hwy. 64
Meeker, 81641
970-878-6090

2300 S. Townsend Ave.
Montrose, 81401
970-252-6000

PUEBLO

600 Pueblo Reservoir Rd.
Pueblo, 81005
719-561-5300

SALIDA

7405 Hwy. 50

Salida, 81201

719-530-5520

STEAMBOAT SPRINGS
925 Weiss Dr.

Steamboat Springs, 80487
970-870-3333




LICENSES

WHAT'S NEW

WHAT’S NEW: 2022 mmm

» CHECK OUR OTHER REGULATION BROCHURES FOR MORE INFORMATION: While n PROPER IDENTIFICATION and PROOF of residency (for Colorado residents).

there is nothing of note that is new for the Walk-In Access Program in
2022, be sure to check out the other regulation brochures for more hunting
and outdoor recreation information. Depending on the activity you'd like
to do on our state's public lands, our other brochures such as the Small
Game & Waterfowl, Colorado State Recreation Lands, Fishing and Big
Game, contain useful additional information to help you recreate and hunt
responsibly. Be sure to take a look!

n PROOF of hunter education.

n HABITAT STAMP: A 2022 ($10.59) or lifetime ($318.08) Habitat Stamp is
required prior to buying a license for anyone ages 18-64.

NOTE: A Social Security number is required for hunters age 12 and older.

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

1. Hunters must have an annual youth small-game/furbearer, small-game
(annual, 1-day or additional day, plus the furbearer harvest permit if ap-
plicable; see number 5 below), annual combo small-game/fishing license
(plus the furbearer harvest permit if applicable; see number 5 below), or
furbearer license. Hunters must carry their license when hunting and
show it when requested by law enforcement officers.

2. Annual fishing, small-game and furbearer licenses, the furbearer harvest
permit, and the Colorado Waterfowl Stamps and Habitat Stamps are valid
March 1 through March 31 of the following year (13 months). Lifetime
combo small-game/fishing licenses are valid as long as you are a Colorado
resident.

3. In order to hunt small game in any seasons that continue beyond March
31, 2023, you must purchase a 2023 small-game license.

4.T0 HUNT & TAKE SMALL GAME, you need a small-game license, a combo small-
game/fishing or a lifetime combo small-game/fishing license. Small-game
hunters must register with HIP before their first hunt. See information

LICENSE INFORMATION

SMAI',I' GAME . RESIDENT NONRESIDENT about the Harvest Information Program (HIP) on page 5.

> Habitat Stamp (required, ages 18-64) $1059 $1059 5. TO HUNT FURBEARERS, you will need to purchase either a furbearer license

=l 93141 986.50 (to harvest furbearers ONLY) or a small-game license (including daily

> Small Game (one-'d.ay) 21446 217.64 small-game licenses and combo small-game/fishing licenses) AND a $10

> Small Game (additional-day) 97.05 97.05 annual furbearer harvest permit. See number 6 below for the exception

» Youth Small Game & Furbearer (under 18) $1.31 $1.31 for coyote.

> Small Gamg &Fishing Combo 952,60 n/a 6.TO HUNT COYOTES, you need a small-game license or a furbearer license. An

> Furbearer License Only... 3141 386.50 annual furbearer harvest permit is NOT required to hunt or take coyote.

> Furbearer Harvest Permit 510 510 During big-game seasons, if you have an unfilled big-game license for the

> Colorado Waterfowl Stamp 31059 31059 same season and unit, you may hunt coyote without a small-game or fur-

» Federal Migratory Bird Hunting Stamp $31 931 bearer license. You must use the same method of take for coyotes as your

> Senior Small Game/Fishing Combo $31.03 n/a big-game license allows. Once the big-game license has been filled, hunters
(Residents age 65 and older) must purchase a small-game or furbearer license to continue hunting

» Senior Annual Small Game for coyotes, and if using a rifle, it must be .23 caliber or smaller.
Lifetime Fishing License Holders $22.56 n/a 7.TO HUNT EURASIAN COLLARED-DOVES, and other invasive species, you must have
(Senior Columbine or Centennial lifetime fishing license holders only) a hunter education card; however, a hunting license is not required. See

» First Responder Lifetime page 4.
Small Game/Fishing Combo free n/a 8.TO HUNT COMMON SNAPPING TURTLES, you need a small-game or fishing
(Resident only, permanent occupational disability, see page 2) license.

» Veterans Lifetime Small Game/Fishing Combo free n/a 9.TO HUNT WATERFOWI., you need a Small-game hunting license. Ifyou are
(Resident only, 60% disabled or Purple Heart recipient, see page 2) 16 or older, you also must have the $31 Federal Migratory Bird Hunting

» Band-tailed Pigeon Permit ¢t 5 and Conservation Stamp (Duck Stamp) AND the $10.59 Colorado State

Waterfowl Stamp to hunt waterfowl. COLORADO WATERFOWL STAMP: The state
BIG GAME stamp is printed on your hunting license and validated by signing your
name in ink on the license. FEDERAL DUCK STAMP: The federal stamp is avail-

b DEFR able after July 1 online, by phone and at select post offices (fws.gov/birds/
Resident adult 94201 get-involved/duck-stamp.php). It is valid when you sign your name in
ﬁes'deﬁ‘t youth : 51632 ink across the face of the stamp. It is also available at CPW offices and sales
onresident adult/fishing combo..... $420.23

Nonresident youth/fishing combo $107.43

» ELK

agents. When purchased at state outlets, an electronic stamp is issued. This
instantly gives you a unique code that is valid for 45 days from the date
of issue, sufficient time for the gum-backed stamp to arrive in the mail. A

Egi:g:m ;gﬂg] gg zgg federal stamp is not required to take light geese during the conservation order
Nonresident bull/fishing COMBO.......ooovererrrrrn $700.98 season.

$700.98
$526.17

Nonresident either-sex/fishing combo.
Nonresident cow/fishing combo ......

10.TO HUNT SANDHILL CRANES, a separate federal permit number, available
through HIP (see page 5) is required.

Nonresident youth/fishing combo...........oocceccrsceeen $107.43 11. TO HUNT BAND-TAILED PIGEONS, a permit ($5) is required in addition to the
» PRONGHORN small-game license. The permit is available online, by phone, at CPW of-

Resident adult $42.01 fices and at sales agents.

Resident youth $16.32 12.If a license is restricted to a specific area, you can hunt only that area.

Nonresident adult/fishing COMBO........cvvesssevvverrrrrsns $420.23 13. Licenses are not transferable.

Nonresident youth/fishing cOMbO.........cccceueveeeverces $107.43 14. False statements made in buying a license and altering a license are illegal

Prices include the 25-cent search-and-rescue fee and the $1.50 fee for the Wildlife Education

Fund if applicable.

and void the license.

15. Lost or destroyed licenses can be replaced by buying a new one or signing
an affidavit and paying half the license fee, not to exceed $25. Forms are
available at CPW offices, state parks, authorized sales agents and online.

CPW.STATE.CO.US 1



LICENSES

1 JRESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS cpwistate.co.us/proofofresidency

» The physical residence address you give to buy or apply for a license must be the same as the ad-

2 FHUNTER EDUCATION

HUNTER EDUCATION (SAFETY) REQUIREMENTS

dress given for Colorado state income tax purposes. A PO. Box is NOT a valid physical address.

» You terminate your Colorado residency if you apply for, buy or accept a resident hunting, fishing
or trapping license issued by another state or foreign country, register to vote outside Colorado

or accept a driver's license that shows an address other than in Colorado.

1. STANDARD COLORADO RESIDENT

a. Requirements: You must live in Colorado for at least 6 consecutive months immediately prior
to buying or applying for any resident CPW product, have your primary residence in Colo-
rado and have not applied for or purchased a resident license or pass outside of Colorado in

the last 6 months.

b. Proof: Current and valid Colorado driver’s license/ID with a Colorado address issued 6 or
more months prior. If the Colorado driver’s license/ID is not 6 months old, you must provide
at least two forms of additional residency proof, as outlined in "Additional Residency Proofs"

below.
2. STUDENT: ATTENDING SCHOOL FULL-TIME IN COLORADO

a. Requirements: You must be attending school full time at an accredited Colorado school start-
ing at least 6 months prior to buying or applying for any resident CPW product.
b. Proof: Student ID, name of institution, date you became a full-time student, school transcript

showing full-time status.
3. STUDENT: ATTENDING SCHOOL FULL-TIME OUTSIDE OF COLORADO

a. Requirements: You must meet Colorado residency requirements and be attending an accred-

ited school outside of Colorado, paying nonresident tuition.

b. Proof: Student ID, name of institution, date you became a full-time student, proof of out-of-

state tuition payment.
4. MILITARY: STATIONED IN COLORADO

a. Requirements: You must be active-duty military stationed in Colorado (including your spouse/

dependents). Residency begins the date the orders begin.
b. Proof: Military ID and orders.

5. MILITARY: COLORADO HOME OF RECORD

a. Requirements: You must be active-duty military stationed outside of Colorado, but with
Colorado as your home of record, paying income tax as a Colorado resident (including your

spouse/dependents).
b. Proof: Military ID and orders.
6.YOUTH

Children under the age of 18 have the same residency status as their parent, legal guardian or

person with whom they live the majority of the time per court order.

-

. ADDITIONAL RESIDENCY PROOFS

If you otherwise meet residency requirements but your Colorado driver’s license or ID was
issued or renewed less than 6 months ago, or you have a CPW-approved religious exemp-
tion to photo identification on your record, you must provide at least two additional proofs of
residency showing 6 consecutive months of Colorado residency immediately prior to buying
or applying for a license. Those proofs include: income sources (pay stubs), utility bills, state
income tax documents (as a full-time resident), lease agreements/rent receipts, motor vehicle

registration, voter registration.
2. MULTIPLE HOMES

If you have a home in Colorado and another location, call 303-297-1192 to make sure you com-

1. Anyone born on or after January 1, 1949, must
have a hunter education card to hunt in Colo-
rado.

2. A hunter education card is needed to apply for/
buy a license.

3. Your hunter education card must be carried
while hunting, unless it is verified and your
license is marked with a “V?” To get your hunter
education card verified, take your hunter educa-
tion card to a CPW office (listed on inside front
cover) or state park.

4, CPW honors hunter education cards from other
states, provinces and countries.

HUNTER EDUCATION EXEMPTIONS

1. Individuals over age 50 or active duty U.S. mili-
tary and veterans can obtain a hunter education
certificate by testing out of hunter education:
cpw.state.co.us/HunterEdTestOut

2. An apprentice certificate can be obtained for
hunters who are at least 10 years old and who
must be accompanied by a mentor in the field.
This hunter education waiver can be obtained
twice in a lifetime: cpw.state.co.us/apprenti-
cecertificate

» For more information, go to: cpw.state.co.us/
HunterEd

3 JHABITAT STAMPS

Habitat Stamps are REQUIRED for hunters and cost
$10.40; only one is required per person, per year
for anyone ages 18-64. Habitat Stamps are now
valid March 1-March 31 of the following year (13
months).

» A lifetime stamp is $312.30.

» Anyone buying a one-day or additional-day
license for fishing and/or small game is exempt
from purchasing the Habitat Stamp with the
first two of these licenses. The habitat fee will be
assessed when a third one-day or additional-day
license is purchased for fishing or small game.

» Anyone who is approved in the Columbine, Blue
Spruce, Independence and/or Big Game Mobil-
ity programs is exempt from the Habitat Stamp
requirement. See cpw.state.co.us/accessibility

» For more information, go to: cpw.state.co.us/
habitatstamp

ply with Colorado residency requirements before obtaining a CPW license or state park pass.

SPECIAL LICENSE INFORMATION

YOUTH LICENSES & MENTOR HUNTING
People under age 18 must have a license to hunt small game. A youth small-
game license is for hunters 17 and younger, and costs $1.31. If a youth plans
on hunting with a youth small-game license, they must be accompanied by a
mentor and must meet hunter education requirements. A mentor must be 18 or
older and must meet hunter education requirements; mentors aren't required
to hunt. While hunting, youths and mentors must be able to see and hear each
other without binoculars, radios, or other aids. Youths also have the option to
purchase an adult small-game license, which allows them to hunt without a
mentor, as long as they meet hunter education requirements.

At age 18, hunters must buy an adult license. Mentors are not permitted to
hunt ducks, geese, mergansers or coots during the youth waterfowl hunt season.

CPW offers several licenses for hunters and anglers with disabilities. Go to cpw.state.
co.us/accessibility for more license information and how to apply. These licenses
require advance legal paperwork submissions.

RESIDENT FIRST RESPONDER LIFETIME COMBO LICENSE

Colorado resident first responders who have proof of a permanent occupa-
tional disability can qualify for the First Responder program to obtain a lifetime
combo small game/fishing license.

RESIDENT DISABLED VETERAN LIFETIME COMBO LICENSE

Military veterans who have a service-connected disability (with an overall com-
bined rating of 60% or more by the Dept. of Veteran's Affairs) and are residents
of Colorado can obtain a lifetime combo small game/fishing license.

2 2022 COLORADO REGULAR WALK-IN ATLAS



GENERAL HUNTING LAWS

1. Colorado Parks and Wildlife can post firing lines at its properties.

2.1t is illegal to kill, capture, injure or harass wildlife from a motor vehicle or
an aircraft. It is also illegal to operate aircraft with intent to injure, harass,
drive or rally wildlife. It is illegal to discharge a firearm or release an arrow
from a motor vehicle or an aircraft.

. It is illegal to discharge a firearm or release an arrow from, on or across a
public road. Hunting with rifles, handguns, shotguns firing a single slug
and archery equipment is prohibited within 50 feet on each side of the
center line of any public road. On a divided road, the prohibition includes
the median, and the 50-foot requirement is measured from the center line
of both roads.

. It is illegal to carry or have a firearm, except a pistol or revolver, in or on a
motor vehicle unless the chamber is unloaded. While using artificial light
from a vehicle, it is illegal to have a firearm with cartridges in the chamber
or magazine, or possess a strung bow unless the bow is cased.

. You must take edible parts of game meat home to eat or provide it for hu-

man consumption. Do not leave wounded wildlife (or wildlife that might

be wounded) without attempting to track and kill it.

Possession of wildlife is evidence you hunted.

. Small-game and migratory bird hunters are not required to wear solid,
fluorescent orange or pink clothes. However, CPW encourages you to wear
fluorescent orange or pink clothes for safety.

. You must stop at CPW check stations when told to do so.

. Violations of Colorado wildlife laws carry point values. You can face sus-
pension of license privileges for up to five years or more if you accumulate
20 or more points in five years.

10. During deer, elk, pronghorn and bear seasons, firearms (except hand-
guns) must be unloaded in the chamber and magazine when carried on an
off-highway vehicle (OHV). Firearms (except handguns) and bows carried
on an OHV must be fully enclosed in a hard or soft case. Scabbards or cas-
es with open ends or sides are prohibited. This regulation does not apply to
landowners or their agents carrying a firearm on an OHV for the purpose
of taking depredating wildlife on property owned or leased by them.

11. CALIBER RESTRICTION: It is illegal to hunt game birds, small-game animals or
furbearers with a centerfire rifle larger than .23 caliber in regular rifle deer
and elk seasons west of I-25, unless you have an unfilled deer or elk license
for the season you are hunting. A small-game license is required.

RESTRICTIONS

CHILD SUPPORT DELINQUENCY

State law requires a Social Security number to buy a license. It is not dis-
played on the license but is provided, if requested, to Child Support Enforce-
ment authorities. Hunting and fishing licenses are not issued to those sus-
pended for noncompliance with child support. Any current licenses become
invalid if held by an individual who is noncompliant with child support.

WEAPONS RESTRICTIONS

Colorado and federal laws prohibit people convicted of certain crimes, such
as domestic violence, from possessing weapons even for hunting. If you've
been convicted of a crime, check with the appropriate law enforcement
authority to find out how the laws apply to you.

DONATING GAME MEAT

You can donate edible parts of wildlife to a like-license holder anywhere or

to anyone at the recipient’s home. A like-license is for the same species, sex,
dates and manner of take as the donors license. Bag and possession limits ap-
ply to donors and recipients and birds must be properly tagged. See the 2022
Small Game & Waterfowl brochure for more information.

WILDLIFE CAUSING DAMAGE

Colorado law allows landowners to protect private property from most wild-
life damage. For information, call CPW at 303-297-1192. Also see cpw.state.
co.us/regulations, Chapter W-17: Game Damage, for updated trapping
regulations and details on small-game damage.

w
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NO HUNTING THESE BIRDS ON WIA LANDS

GAMBEL'S QUAIL

REGION FOUND: Western Colorado, primarily in the
Grand and Uncompahgre valleys. They may inhabit
some WIA properties in this area.

IDENTIFICATION: A distinctive plume feather on the
head. Males have a black face and copper feath-

ers on top of the head. Females have mostly gray
plumage with a tannish-gray face and beige plumage
underneath.

©Bill Haggerty, CPW

SAGE-GROUSE

REGION FOUND: Western Colorado. They may inhabit
some WIA properties.

IDENTIFICATION: Large, grayish bird with a slow wing beat
in flight. They have distinctly pointed tail feathers and
black breast feathers, both of which are visible when
flushed. Sage-grouse tend to be silent when flushed.

© Kathleen Tadvick, (PW

PLAINS SHARP-TAILED GROUSE

REGION FOUND: Weld, western Logan and northern Morgan
counties. Plains sharp-tailed grouse are not a legal game
bird in Colorado but have been transplanted into some
areas to re-establish populations. When hunting in these
counties, please take special care to clearly identify the
target before shooting.

IDENTIFICATION: Much lighter in color than cock
pheasants and have a short, distinctly pointed tail,

© Rick Hoffman, (P which shows white when in flight. They often emit a
low-pitched series of clucks when flushed.

SAFE HANDLING OF GAME MEAT

Concern has grown about diseases affecting wild animals that could potentially
make humans sick. Most of the time, properly handled and prepared game
meat poses no greater risk than domestic meat of causing disease in humans.
Hunters are encouraged to contact their local public health department or
CPW office for information on wildlife diseases that may be present where they
plan to hunt.

Public health officials recommend the following precautions when handling

and preparing game meat:

1. Do not handle animals that are obviously sick or found dead. Report sick or
dead animals you find to a CPW office.

2. Keep game cool, clean and dry.

3. Do not eat, drink or smoke while dressing game.

4, Use disposable gloves when cleaning game.

5. Wash your hands with soap and water, or use alcohol wipes after dressing game.

6. Clean all tools and surfaces immediately afterward. Use hot, soapy water,
then disinfect with a 10 percent chlorine bleach solution.

7. Cook game meat to an internal temperature of at least 165 degrees F to kill disease
organisms and parasites. Juices from adequately cooked game meat should be clear.

8. Do not eat any raw portions of wild game.

9. Do not feed raw wild game to domestic pets.

CPW.STATE.CO.US 3




GENERAL INFORMATION

BIRD SPECIES IDENTIFICATION

A fully feathered wing or head must be attached
to all birds, except turkeys, doves and band-
tailed pigeons, in transit to hunter’s home or
commercial processor. For pheasants, a foot with
visible spur can be substituted.

NOTE: While in the field or during transport, all
dressed (not fully feathered) doves, including

Eurasian collared-doves, count against the daily
bag and possession limit for mourning and
white-winged doves during the Sept. 1-Nov. 29
dove season. Eurasian collared-doves must be
fully feathered while in the field or during trans-
port at all other times.

HUNTING INVASIVE BIRDS

EURASIAN COLLARED-DOVES, EUROPEAN STARLINGS
AND HOUSE (ENGLISH) SPARROWS are considered in-
vasive species in Colorado. Because of this desig-
nation, these species may be hunted year-round.
No license or Habitat Stamp is required to hunt
invasive species; however hunters must have and
carry with them a hunter education card.
Hunters may harvest any number of each
of these species and by any method of take ap-
proved for big- or small-game hunting. These

species may be taken at night with the use of
artificial light and night vision equipment.

Commercial hunting of invasive species is
prohibited, as is receiving or attempting to re-
ceive compensation by hunting these species.

Eurasian collared-doves must remain fully
feathered while in the field or during transport,
except when counted as part of the mourning or
white-winged dove bag and possession limit during
the dove season that runs from Sept. 1-Nov. 29.
See page 7 for season dates and bag limits.

ENROLL YOUR PROPERTY

Are you interested in enrolling your land in
the Walk-In Access program? CPW wants to
enroll quality hunting lands across the state.

To offer land for the 2022-2023 season, please
contact a CPW office for details. See office list-
ings on inside cover.

WATCH FOR BANDED BIRDS
Wildlife managers need help gathering information about the migratory bird populations.
If you kill or find a banded bird, please report it to the USGS Bird Banding Lab:
www.reportband.gov

ENTERTO WIN PRIZES.

CONTEST STARTS IN AUGUST!

CPW.STATE.CO.US/TAKEAFRIEND

BE A RESPONSIBLE HUNTER

The WIA program depends on private landowners
enrolling property for walk-in hunting and maintain-
ing good relations with those landowners and their
neighbors. Here are some additional guidelines that, if
followed, will improve the opportunities for all hunters
and contribute to future WIA enrollments.

» WHERE DESIGNATED PARKING AREAS ARE
ESTABLISHED, USE THEM. Do not block gates or
roads for the landowner or their agents who may
need to work on the property. Do not park along
highways. Do not park in tall grassy or weedy areas
where your vehicle’s catalytic converter can cause a
fire.

» [F YOU SMOKE, make sure to completely extinguish
cigarettes. Do not smoke or extinguish cigarettes in
grassy or weedy areas where you could cause a fire.

» DON'T LITTER OR CLEAN GAME ON WIA PROPERTIES
OR ALONG ROADSIDES. If trash is present, please
pick it up.

» DON'T SHOOT NEAR OR TOWARDS HOUSES, farm
buildings, livestock or equipment.

» DON'T HUNT IF CATTLE ARE IN, or adjacent to,
enrolled parcels.

» HUNTERS MUST WALK INTO WIA PROPERTIES.
Access by vehicle, horseback or other means is
prohibited.

REPORT

POACHERS

OPERATION GAME THIEF: 1-877-265-6648
EMAIL: GAME.THIEF@STATE.C0.US

Earn a reward payment for reporting wildlife
violations by calling Operation Game Thief.
(allers can remain anonymous.

(This number is not for information requests or emergencies.)
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GENERAL INFORMATION

SMALL-GAME SURVEYS

Colorado Parks and Wildlife conducts several small-game harvest surveys
annually to estimate harvest, hunter numbers and recreation days, in addi-
tion to assessing satisfaction and crowding. Past surveys are available on the
CPW website at cpw.state.co.us/small-game-stats, and updated reports
are available after annual surveys conclude. Hunters are selected randomly

to participate. Small-game surveys are by telephone or by email. If contacted,
your participation is not required, but responding — even if you did not hunt
or harvest an animal — helps CPW manage small game.

HARVEST INFORMATION PROGRAM (HIP)

Small-game, furbearer and migratory bird hunters, including falconers, must
sign up with HIP EACH YEAR before their license is valid. You can get a 2022
2023 HIP number beginning on April 1 but can get a HIP number anytime
after April 1, as long as it's before you hunt small game during the 2022-2023
season. Write the new HIP number on your license!

To sign up with HIP, call 1-866-265-6447 (1-866-COLOHIP) from 7
a.m.-10:30 p.m., or go to colohip.com. You will be asked for basic informa-
tion, including how many birds and small game you harvested the previous
season, and the species you plan to hunt this year. A season means Sept. 1
through March 15 of the next year. This information helps CPW manage mi-
gratory bird and resident small-game species by improving harvest estimates.

Live operator phone registrations at 1-866-COLO-HIP are no longer
offered during the overnight hours from 10:30 p.m. to 7 a.m. The live
operator system is also closed all day on major holidays (Thanksgiving,
Christmas and New Year's Day). During these out-of-service periods,
please call back during open service times or go to colohip.com and
register online, still available 24/7.

GETTHE LEAD OUT

NOVICE HUNTER PROGRAM

CPW has identified some properties as Novice Hunter Walk-In Access Prop-
erties. Please see the Late Cropland Walk-In Atlas for more details, or visit
our website at cpw.state.co.us/novicehunterprogram.

BIG-GAME HUNTING

Continuing in 2022, big-game hunting will be available on certain Walk-In
Access (WIA) properties. Big-game access within the program has been
expanded to the entire eastern plains, totaling approximately 139,000 acres.

The big game program will allow public access to specified Colorado WIA
properties for deer, elk and pronghorn hunting within specified big game
season dates, from Sept. 1-Dec. 31, 2022.

Hunters should be aware that many WIA properties will be open for both
small game and big game, while other properties will remain small game only.
Small/big game combo properties will be shown as YELLOW polygons on
the printed and mobile maps, and marked in the field with yellow boundary
signs. Small game-only signs will be depicted as white polygons on the maps,
and will be marked with white boundary signs.

Big game hunters thinking of applying for licenses in 2022, on the basis of
hunting on Walk-In Access properties, should consider that each property
is enrolled on an annual basis in July of each year. There can be significant
turnover in properties that are available each year. All big-game properties are
enrolled for the Regular Walk-In Access Brochure.

(olorado Department of Public Health & Environment and Colorado Parks and Wildlife

SEE THE CDPHE PUBLIC HEALTH STATEMENT: cPW.STATE.C0.US/DOCUMENTS/HUNTING/LEADEXPOSURERECOMMENDATIONS.PDF

From the field to the table, ensuring your next harvest 1, Use lead-free shot or bullets.
is safe for your family is important. Switching from
lead bullets may be an option that’s right for you.

Science tells us ingesting lead can cause potential

health problems over time. Risks are low for most
peaple; however, you can also:

2. Choose a firearm with lower-velocity bullets, so bullet fragments don't scatter as far into the wound. Liberally trim and discard meat
damaged by the bullet when you process an animal.

3. Clean your meat grinder between each animal. Lead is soft and can o through your grinder, contaminating an entire batch of ground meat. If
you don't grind the meat yourself, speak with your commercial processor about their equipment cleaning process between animals.

4. Avoid eating game meat from animals harvested with lead bullets if you are pregnant. Children younger than 6 should also avoid it.
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HUNTING LAWS

WALK-IN PROPERTY LAWS

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO

1. Lands are open for public access one hour before sunrise until one hour after

sunset. When hunting waterfowl, deer, elk and pronghorn, public access is
allowed two hours before sunrise until two hours after sunset.
2. Species of take will be restricted as follows:

a. Lands enrolled and posted as Regular, Late Cropland or Extended Sea-
son Walk-In Access properties are open for the take of all small game,
furbearers, migratory game birds and Eurasian collared-doves, except
Gambel’s quail, Gunnison sage-grouse and greater sage-grouse.

b. Lands enrolled and posted as Big Game Walk-In Access properties are
open for the take of deer, elk and pronghorn by hunters holding a valid
license for the GMU in which the property lies.

3. Public access is allowed:

a. From September 1 through the end of February annually for lands en-
rolled and posted as Regular Season Walk-In Access properties.

b. From the opening day of pheasant season through the end of February
annually for lands enrolled and posted as Late Season Cropland Walk-In
Access properties.

¢. From September 1 through the end of the mountain sharp-tailed grouse

d. From the opening day of pheasant season through the end of March
annually for lands enrolled and posted as Extended Walk-In Access
properties.

e. From the opening day of pheasant season through the end of February
annually for lands enrolled and posted as Novice Hunter Program Walk-
In Access properties.

1. A current year’s graduate of the Novice Hunter Program must be
present and actively hunting with each group during all hunting
activities.

2. Up to four additional hunters may accompany and hunt with a
graduate of the Novice Hunter Program.

f. From September 1 through the end of December annually for lands en-
rolled and posted as Big Game Walk-In Access properties.

4. Access shall be by foot only. Entry by horseback, motorized vehicle or other
means is prohibited.

5. Access is allowed for hunting only; all other activities are prohibited.

6. Access is prohibited as posted when the landowner is actively harvesting
crops.

season annually, for all lands enrolled and posted as Grouse Walk-In Ac-

cess properties.

WALK-IN PROPERTY SIGNS

There are a variety of Walk-In Access program boundary signs. Knowing what to look for in the field will help during your hunt.

ACCESS SIGNS in the field
will have an access date
of Sept. 1 through the
end of Feb. that tell when
the property is open for
hunting.

PHEASANT SEASON
ACCESS SIGNS have an
access date of “The
opening day of pheasant
season” through the
end of Feb. Properties
that are posted to open
on the opening day of
pheasant season cannot
be accessed prior to
Nov. 12, 2022.

EXTENDED ACCESS
properties are posted
to close at the end of

March, annually.
These signs have an
access date of “The
opening day of pheasant
season”through the end
of March. These proper-
ties cannot be accessed
prior to Nov. 12, 2022.

BEWARE OF HITCHHIKING SEEDS

PARKING SIGNS
designate where hunters
should park at some
walk-in areas. The major-
ity of WIA properties do
not have established
parking areas. Instead,
hunters should park
along the road, taking
care to stay out of the
traveled portion of the
road but also not park
in tall weeds and grass
where a fire hazard exists.

SAFETY ZONE SIGNS
are common on or
near WIA properties.
These signs are used
to delineate safety
zones around buildings,
homesteads, livestock
corrals or neighboring
landowners' homes
and properties. Please
respect safety zone signs
wherever you find them
posted.

CLOSED!

DO NOT HUNT IF FIELDS
HAVE YELLOW
“WARNING!” SIGNS.
Rarely, it is necessary to
remove a property from
the WIA program after
this brochure is printed.

When that happens,
boundary signs are
replaced with yellow
warning signs to notify
hunters the property is
no longer available for
walk-in hunting.

Remember, if you
find a WIA property
listed in the brochure
but boundary signs are
not present at the field
corners, please do not
hunt that field!

BIG GAME ACCESS
PROGRAM
(PW and partnering
landowners are offering big
game hunting access on many
Walk-In Access (WIA) proper-
ties in Eastern Colorado. Prop-
erties that allow big-game
hunting are yellow in the WIA
maps in this brochure. These
properties will be signed with
yellow WIA boundary signs in
the field. These properties are
open for big-game hunting
to properly licensed hunters
during established big-game
seasons from Sept. 1,2022,
through Dec. 31,2022, and
to small-game hunting
from Sept. 1, 2022, through
Feb. 28, 2023. Big-game
hunters must possess a valid
pronghorn, deer or elk license
valid for the Game Manage-
ment Unit (GMU) in which the
Walk-In Access property lies.
All normal WIA regulations
apply. All big-game hunting
regulations apply.
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HUNTING LAWS

SEASON DATES

Select big-and small-game season dates are included within this atlas for your

convenience; however, all season dates are not listed.
A complete synopsis of the big-game hunting season dates can be found
in the 2022 Colorado Big Game brochure, while the complete small-game

SMALL-GAME SEASON DATES AND BAG LIMITS B1G-GAME SEASON DATES

» COTTONTAIL RABBIT
» SNOWSHOE HARE

» JACKRABBIT: WHITE-TAILED,
BLACK-TAILED
SEASON: Oct. 1-end of Feb. 2023
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 10 of each
species
POSSESSION LIMIT: 20 of each
species

» DOVE: MOURNING, WHITE-WINGED
SEASON: Sept. 1-Nov. 29
AREA: Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 15 singly or in
aggregate for either species
POSSESSION LIMIT: 45 singly or in
aggregate
NOTE: See “Bird Species Identi-
fication” on page 4 for transit
requirements.

Mourning dove © Wayne Lewis, (PW

» DOVE:

EURASIAN COLLARED
SEASON: Year-round
AREA: Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: Unlimited
POSSESSION LIMIT: Unlimited
NOTE: Eurasians must be fully
feathered while in the field and
during transport, unless counted
as part of the mourning and/or
white-winged dove bag limits. A
small-game license is not required,
as these are considered an inva-
sive species. However, a hunter
education card is still required to
hunt them. See page 4, "Hunting
Invasive Birds.”

» SQUIRREL: FOX, PINE
SEASON: Oct. 1-end of Feb. 2023
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 5 of each species
POSSESSION LIMIT: 10 of each
species

Pine squirrel © Wayne Lewis, CPW

» PHEASANT
SEASON 1: Nov. 12-Jan. 31, 2023
AREA: East of I-25

SEASON 2: Nov. 12-Jan. 2, 2023
AREA: West of [-25

DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3 cocks
POSSESSION LIMIT: 9 cocks

» TEAL
SEASON: Sept. 10-18
AREAS: Lake and Chaffee coun-
ties and all areas east of [-25.
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 6 teal — blue-
winged, green-winged and
cinnamon teal, in aggregate
POSSESSION LIMIT: 18

» EUROPEAN STARLING,
HOUSE (ENGLISH) SPARROW
SEASON: Year-round
AREA: Statewide
BAG LIMIT: Unlimited
POSSESSION LIMIT: Unlimited
NOTE: A small-game license is not
required, as these are considered
an invasive species. See page 4,
"Hunting Invasive Birds."

LEGAL HUNTING HOURS

Legal hunting times for big game are one-half hour before sunrise to
one-half hour after sunset, unless specifically restricted. Legal times to
hunt small game are one-half hour before sunrise to sunset. An exception
is made for furbearers, which can be hunted from one-half hour before
sunrise to one-half hour after sunset. Go to cpw.state.co.us/huntin-
gresources for a link to sunrise/sunset tables and more information.

hunting season dates can be found in the 2022 Small Game & Waterfowl bro-
chure. These brochures are available at license agents, CPW offices and online
in downloadable PDF and interactive, searchable formats at cpw.state.co.us/
bg/brochure and cpw.state.co.us/sgwf/brochure.

> DEER

PLAINS ARCHERY

SEASON: Oct. 1-28, Nov. 9-30,

Dec. 15-31*

GMUS: 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94,
95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103,
104, 105, 106, 107, 109, 116, 117,
122,125,126, 127, 129, 130, 132,
136,137,138, 139, 141, 143, 144,
145, 146, 147, 951

SEASON: Oct. 1-28,

Nov. 9-Dec. 31*

GMUS: 110, 111, 112,113,114, 115,
118,119, 120, 121, 123, 124, 128,
133,134,135

SEASON: Oct. 1-Nov. 30,
Dec. 15-31*
GMUS: 142

PLAINS MUZZLELOADER

SEASON: Oct. 8-16*

GMUS: 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94,
95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102,
103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 109, 110,
111,112,113,114, 115,116,117,
118,119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124,
125,126, 127,128,129, 130, 132,
133,134, 135, 136, 137, 138, 139,
141, 142, 143, 144, 145, 146, 147,
951(951 is mule deer only)

PLAINS RIFLE

SEASON: Oct. 29-Nov. 8*

GMUS: 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94,
95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103,
104, 105, 106, 107, 109, 110, 111,
112,113,114, 115,116,117, 118,
119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125,
126, 127,128,129, 130, 132, 133,
134, 135, 136, 137,138, 139, 141,
143, 144, 145, 146, 147, 951

LATE PLAINS RIFLE

SEASON: Dec. 1-14*

GMUS: 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94,
95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103,
104, 116,117, 122, 124, 125, 126,
127,129, 130, 132, 136, 137, 138,
139, 141, 142, 144, 145, 146, 147,
951 (951 is mule deer only)

SEASON: Jan. 1-15, 2023* (whitetail
only)
GMUS: 103, 109

*Please refer to the hunt code tables
in the 2022 Big Game brochure for
a detailed listing of all season dates,
GMUs and methods of take for deer,
elk and pronghorn.

> ELK
PLAINS ARCHERY
SEASON: Sept. 2-30*
GMUS: 104

PLAINS MUZZLELOADER
SEASON: Sept. 10-18*
GMUS: 104, 128, 133, 134, 141, 142

PLAINS RIFLE
SEASON: Sept. 1-Jan. 31, 2023* (cow)
GMUS: 104, 128

SEASON: Nov. 23-27* (bull)
GMUS: 133, 134, 141, 142

LATE PLAINS RIFLE
SEASON: Oct. 16-Jan. 31, 2023* (cow)
GMUS: 133, 134, 141, 142

> PRONGHORN
PLAINS ARCHERY
SEASON: Aug. 15-Sept. 20* (buck)
SEASON: Sept. 1-Sept. 20* (doe)
GMUS: 87, 88

PLAINS MUZZLELOADER

SEASON: Sept. 21-29*

GMUS: 87, 88, 89, 90, 93, 95, 97, 98,
99, 100, 101, 102, 104, 105, 106, 107,
109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115,
116,117,118, 119, 120, 121, 122,
123, 124, 125, 126, 127, 128, 129,
130, 132, 133, 134, 135, 136, 137,
138, 139, 141, 142, 143, 144, 145,
146, 147, 951

PLAINS RIFLE

SEASON: Oct. 1-9*

GMUS: 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94,
95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 104,
105, 106, 107, 109, 110, 111, 112,
113,114, 115,116,117, 118, 119,
120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125, 126,
127,128, 129, 130, 132, 133, 134,
135, 136, 137, 138, 139, 141, 142,
143, 144, 145, 146, 147, 951

SEASON: Nov. 1-Dec. 31* (doe)
GMUS: 87, 88, 89, 95, 95

SEASON: Dec. 1-Dec. 31* (doe)
GMUS: 105, 110, 111, 116, 117, 118,
119, 122,123, 124, 127, 130, 132,
136, 137, 138, 139, 143, 144, 145,
146, 147

SEASON: Dec. 1-5* (doe)
GMUS: 128, 129, 133, 134, 135, 141,
147

SEASON: Dec. 1-14* (doe)
GMUS: 97

SEASON: Dec. 3-11* (doe)
GMUS: 112, 113,114, 115, 120, 121,
125, 126
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MAPS

WALK-IN PROPERTY MAPS
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Printed for free distribution by:

COLORADO PARKS AND WILDLIFE
6060 Broadway, Denver, CO 80216
303-297-1192

cpw.state.co.us

NOTICE ABOUT THIS GUIDE
This brochure is not a legal notice nor a complete collection of hunting regulations and laws. Copies of statutes and requlations can be obtained from
a (PW office or at cpw.state.co.us/regulations. For questions, call CPW at 303-297-1192.
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