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▶ FUTURE GENERATIONS ACT PASSED THE STATE LEGISLATURE: Thank you to 
all of the hunters and anglers who helped support the Future Generations 
Act and Colorado Parks and Wildlife. This act is a huge step for funding 
wildlife conservation. You'll see some changes for 2019, including a small 
fee increase for resident licenses and the Wildlife Education Fund. 
See full 2018/2019 fee comparison chart online: cpw.state.co.us/feechanges

▶ BIG GAME WALK-IN ACCESS HAS EXPANDED: The Walk-In Access Program will 
now offer big-game hunting on many properties across eastern Colorado. 
There will be overlap in small-game and big-game seasons. Properties that al-

low big- and small-game hunting are now yellow polygons on the WIA maps 
in this brochure. Small game only properties are white polygons. Properties 
will be signed with WIA boundary signs. In 2019 these properties are open 
for big-game hunting to properly licensed hunters during established big-
game seasons from Sept. 1, 2019, through Dec. 31, 2019, and to small-game 
hunting from Sept. 1, 2019, through Feb. 29, 2020. Big-game hunters must 
possess a valid pronghorn, deer or elk license valid for the Game Manage-
ment Unit (GMU) in which the Walk-In Access property lies. All normal 
WIA regulations apply. All big-game hunting regulations apply.  

WHAT’S NEW: 2019

LICENSE INFORMATION

HUNTER EDUCATION

REGULATION CHANGES & NEW INFORMATION

LICENSES

    SMALL GAME & WATERFOWL
 RESIDENT NONRESIDENT
       ▶ Habitat Stamp (required) ............................ $10 ............................. $10 
       ▶ Small Game (includes furbearers) ...........$29.75 .......................$ 81.75 
       ▶ Small Game (one-day) ...........................$13.75 ........................$16.75 
       ▶ Small Game (additional-day) ...................$6.75 ..........................$6.75 
       ▶ Youth Small Game (under 18) ..................$1.25 ..........................$1.25 
       ▶ Small-Game & Fishing combo ................$49.75 ..............................n/a 
       ▶ Furbearer only ........................................$29.75 ........................$81.75 
       ▶ Colorado Waterfowl Stamp ......................... $10 ............................. $10 
       ▶ Federal Migratory Bird Hunting Stamp ....... $25 ............................. $25 
            (Duck Stamp) 
       ▶ Lifetime Fishing & Small Game combo ........free ..............................n/a 
            (Disabled Veterans 60 percent or more disability) 
       ▶ Band-tailed Pigeon Permit .......................... $10 ............................. $10

    BIG GAME
   ▶ Deer
         Resident adult ...........................................$39.75
         Resident youth ..........................................$15.50
         Nonresident adult/fishing combo ............$396.75
         Nonresident youth/fishing combo ...........$101.50

   ▶ Elk
         Resident adult ...........................................$54.75
         Resident youth ..........................................$15.50
         Nonresident bull/fishing combo ..............$661.75
         Nonresident either-sex/fishing combo .. $661.75
         Nonresident cow/fishing combo .............$496.75
         Nonresident youth/fishing combo ...........$101.50

    ▶ Pronghorn
          Resident adult ..........................................$39.75
          Resident youth ..........................................$15.50
          Nonresident adult/fishing combo ...........$396.75
          Nonresident youth/fishing combo ..........$101.50

WHAT'S NEW

LICENSE FEES 
WHAT YOU NEED TO BUY A LICENSE AND HUNT:
1.  ID. Secure and verifiable ID. If you have questions about secure and verifiable 

identification, please call 303-297-1192, Mon–Fri 8 a.m.–5 p.m. 
A Social Security number is required for new hunters ages 12 and older.

2.  PROOF of hunter education. (See below.)
3.  PROOF of residency for Colorado residents. 
4.  HABITAT STAMP. A 2019 Habitat Stamp is required prior to 
     applying for the draw or buying a license. (See below.) 

HABITAT STAMPS ARE REQUIRED FOR HUNTERS
Habitat Stamps are $10 and only one is required per person, per year 
for anyone ages 18–64. Stamps are valid April 1–March 31.

▶ You must purchase a stamp before buying a hunting license.
▶ A lifetime stamp is $300.25.
▶ Anyone buying a one-day or additional-day license for fishing and/or small 

game is exempt from purchasing the Habitat Stamp with the first two of these 
licenses. The habitat fee will be assessed when a third one-day or additional-
day license is purchased for fishing or small game.

▶ Anyone who holds a free lifetime fishing license, a veteran’s lifetime combina-
tion small-game hunting/fishing license or are approved for the Big Game 
Mobility Impaired Hunting Program is exempt from the Habitat Stamp 
requirement. See cpw.state.co.us/accessibility.

HUNTER EDUCATION (SAFETY) REQUIREMENTS
1. Anyone born on or after January 1, 1949, must have a hunter education card to 

hunt in Colorado.
2. A hunter education card is needed to apply for or buy a license.
3. Your hunter education card must be carried while hunting, unless verified and 

marked with a “V” on your hunting license. To get your hunter education 
verified, take your hunter education card to a CPW office (listed on inside front 
cover) or state park.

4. CPW honors hunter education cards from other states, provinces and countries.

HUNTER EDUCATION EXEMPTIONS
1. Individuals over age 50 or active duty US military and veterans can obtain a 

hunter education certificate by testing out of hunter education: 
cpw.state.co.us/HunterEdTestOut

2. A one-time apprentice certificate can be obtained for hunters who are at least 10 
years old and who must be accompanied by a mentor in the field: 
cpw.state.co.us/apprenticecertificate

Please see the CPW website for more information: cpw.state.co.us/HunterEd
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GENERAL INFORMATION
GENERAL

HARVEST SURVEYS
The WIA program depends on private 
landowners enrolling property for 
walk-in hunting and maintaining 
good relations with those landowners 
and their neighbors. Here are some 
additional guidelines that, if followed, 
will improve the opportunities for all 
hunters and contribute to future WIA 
enrollments.  

▶ WHERE DESIGNATED  
PARKING AREAS ARE  
ESTABLISHED, USE THEM. Do 
not block gates or roads for the 
landowner or their agents who 
may need to work on the property. 
Do not park along highways. Do 
not park in tall grassy or weedy 
areas where your vehicle’s catalytic 
converter can cause a fire.  

▶ IF YOU SMOKE, make sure to com-
pletely extinguish cigarettes. Do 
not smoke or extinguish cigarettes 
in grassy or weedy areas where you 
could cause a fire.

▶ DON’T LITTER OR CLEAN HAR-
VESTED BIRDS ON WIA PROPER-
TIES OR ALONG ROADSIDES. If 
trash is present, please pick it up.

▶ DON’T SHOOT NEAR OR TOWARDS 
HOUSES, farm buildings, livestock 
or equipment.

▶ DON’T HUNT IF CATTLE ARE IN, or 
adjacent to, enrolled parcels.

SPECIES IDENTIFICATION

HUNTING INVASIVE SPECIES

ENROLL YOUR PROPERTY

A fully-feathered wing or head must be attached to all 
birds, except turkeys, doves and band-tailed pigeons, in 
transit to hunter’s home or commercial processor. For 
pheasants, a foot with a visible spur can be substituted.  
     NOTE: While in the field or during transport, all dressed 
(not fully-feathered) doves, including Eurasian collared-
doves, count against the daily bag and possession limit 
for mourning and white-winged doves during the Sept. 
1–Nov. 29 dove season. Eurasian collared-doves must be 
fully feathered while in the field or during transport at 
all other times. See more in "Hunting Invasive Species".

Eurasian collared-doves, European starlings and house 
(English) sparrows are considered invasive species in 
Colorado. Because of this designation, these species may 
be hunted year-round. No license or Habitat Stamp is 
required to hunt invasive species; however, hunters must 
have and carry with them a hunter education card.
     Hunters may harvest any number of each of these 
species and by any method of take approved for big- or 
small-game hunting. These species may be taken at 
night with the use of artificial light and night vision 
equipment.
     Commercial hunting of invasive species is prohibited, 
as is receiving or attempting to receive compensation by 
hunting these species. 
     Eurasian collared-doves must remain fully feathered 
while in the field or during transport, except when 
counted as part of the mourning or white-winged dove 
bag and possession limit during the dove season that 
runs from Sept. 1–Nov. 29.

NOVICE HUNTER PROGRAM
CPW has identified some properties as “Novice Hunter” 
Walk-In Access Properties. Please see the Late Cropland 
Walk-In Atlas for more details, or visit our website at 
cpw.state.co.us/novicehunterprogram.

HARVEST INFORMATION PROGRAM (HIP)
Small-game, furbearer and migratory bird hunters, includ-
ing falconers, must sign up with HIP each year before their 
license is valid. You can get a 2019–2020 HIP number 
beginning on April 1, but can get a HIP number anytime 
after April 1, as long as it's before you hunt small game 
during the  2019–2020 season. Write the new HIP number 
on your license. To sign up with HIP, call 1-866-265-6447 
(1-866-COLOHIP), or go to www.colohip.com. You 
will be asked for basic information, including how many 
birds you harvested the previous season and the species 
you plan to hunt this year. A season means Sept. 1 through 
March 15 of the next year. This information helps CPW 
manage migratory bird and resident small-game species by 
improving harvest estimates.

CPW conducts harvest surveys annually to estimate 
harvest, hunter numbers and recreation days, in ad-
dition to assessing satisfaction and crowding. Past 
small-game surveys are available at cpw.state.co.us/
small-game-stats, and updated reports are available 
after annual surveys conclude. Big- and small-game 
hunters are selected randomly to participate. Surveys 
are by telephone, by email or online. If contacted, your 
participation is not required, but responding — even if 
you did not hunt or harvest an animal — helps CPW set 
seasons and license numbers.

Interested in enrolling your land in the Walk-In Access 
program? CPW wants to enroll quality hunting lands 
across the state. To offer land for the 2019–20 season, 
please contact a CPW office for details. See office listings 
on inside cover.

In partnership with Colorado Parks & Wildlife.

Thank you. Your hunting and fishing 
licenses pay to protect Colorado wildlife.

COwildlifecouncil.org

REPORT POACHERS
OPERATION GAME THIEF: 1-877-265-6648

EMAIL: GAME.THIEF@STATE.CO.US
Earn a reward payment for reporting wildlife violations by calling 

Operation Game Thief. Callers can remain anonymous. 
(This number is not for information requests or emergencies.)

2019  Colorado
Waterfowl Stamp

WWW.CPWSHOP.COM
PURCHASE STAMPS & PRINTS ONLINE: 

BE A RESPONSIBLE HUNTER

by Michael Sieve

BEWARE OF HITCHHIKING SEEDS
Many “noxious” weeds reproduce primarily by seed. 
These seeds are often transported by wind, birds, rodents 
and other animals, but they can also be carried on 
shoelaces or pant cuffs. Please help control their spread 
by taking a few minutes as you leave the field to clean 
your shoelaces and pant cuffs of any seeds that may have 
become attached. And don’t forget to give your hunting 
dog a quick brush over to remove any hitchhiking seeds 
before traveling to a new hunting spot!
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GENERAL

1. Colorado Parks and Wildlife (CPW) can post firing lines at its properties.
2. It is illegal to kill, capture, injure or harass wildlife from a motor vehicle or 

an aircraft. It is also illegal to operate aircraft with intent to injure, harass, 
drive or rally wildlife. It is illegal to discharge a firearm or release an ar-
row from a motor vehicle or an aircraft.

3. It is illegal to discharge a firearm or release an arrow from, on or across a 
public road. Hunting with rifles, handguns, shotguns firing a single slug 
and archery equipment is prohibited within 50 feet on each side of the 
center line of any public road. On a divided road, the prohibition includes 
the median, and the 50-foot requirement is measured from the center line 
of both roads.

4. It is illegal to carry or have a firearm, except a pistol or revolver, in or on a 
motor vehicle unless the chamber is unloaded. While using artificial light 
from a vehicle, it is illegal to have a firearm with cartridges in the cham-
ber or magazine, or possess a strung bow unless the bow is cased.

5. You must take edible parts of game meat home to eat or provide it for hu-
man consumption. Do not leave wounded wildlife (or wildlife that might 
be wounded) without attempting to track and kill it.

6. Possession of wildlife is evidence you hunted.
7. Small-game and migratory bird hunters are not required to wear solid, 

fluorescent orange or pink clothes. However, CPW encourages you to 
wear fluorescent orange or pink clothes for safety.

8. You must stop at CPW check stations when told to do so.
9. Violations of Colorado wildlife laws carry point values. You can face sus-

pension of license privileges for up to five years or more if you accumulate 
20 or more points in five years.

10. During deer, elk, pronghorn and bear seasons, firearms (except hand-
guns) must be unloaded in the chamber and magazine when carried on 
an off-highway vehicle (OHV). Firearms (except handguns) and bows 
carried on an OHV must be fully enclosed in a hard or soft case. Scab-
bards or cases with open ends or sides are prohibited. This regulation 
does not apply to landowners or their agents carrying a firearm on an 
OHV for the purpose of taking depredating wildlife on property owned 
or leased by them.

GENERAL HUNTING LAWS

There are three types of 
doves in Colorado.
Knowing how to identify each is important 
to avoid violating the law while hunting.
     White-winged doves are not common in 
Colorado, and live mostly along the Front 
Range. The white-winged dove is pioneering 
new habitats north of its historic range in 
the southwest U.S. Eurasian collared-doves 
are sporadic throughout the state. It is an 
exotic introduced into the United States, and 
is considered an invasive species.

DOVE BANDING
Mourning doves are banded in 

Colorado and other states as part of 
a program to monitor their status. 

Hunters should report 
banded mourning doves to 
the USGS Bird Banding Lab:

 
www.reportband.gov

COLORADO DOVE IDENTIFICATION

▶ 12 inches long from tip of beak 
     to end of tail
▶ Grayish-brown color
▶ Long, pointed tail

▶ Rapid wing beat, erratic flight 
     path
▶ Soft call — “cooAHoo” — 
     followed by several coos

MOURNING DOVE
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▶ 15 inches from tip of beak to 
      end of tail
▶ Larger, heavier than mourning dove
▶ Dark grayish-brown
▶ Long, squared tail

▶ Thin black band on neck with 
     white upper border
▶ Gray belly and undertail coverts 
     with black on tail
▶ Rapid, three-part cooing — “coo- 
      coo-coo” — middle coo is longest

EURASIAN COLLARED-DOVE
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▶ Slightly larger than mourning 
     dove
▶ Gray-brown color
▶ Long, moderately rounded tail

▶ White  bar on upper wing surface
▶ Soft call — “hoohoo hoohoo” 
     — with the last note descending

WHITE-WINGED DOVE
©

 Ge
or

ge
 An

dr
ejk

o, 
AZ

 Ga
m

e &
 Fi

sh

GAMBEL’S QUAIL
REGION FOUND: Western Colorado, primarily in the 
Grand and Uncompahgre valleys. They may inhabit 
some WIA properties in this area.  
IDENTIFICATION: A distinctive plume feather on the 
head. Males have a black face and copper feath-
ers on top of the head. Females have mostly gray 
plumage with a tannish-gray face and beige plumage 
underneath.

SAGE-GROUSE 
REGION FOUND: Western Colorado. They may inhabit 
some WIA properties.   
IDENTIFICATION: Large, grayish bird with a slow wing beat 
in flight. They have distinctly pointed tail feathers and 
black breast feathers, both of which are visible when 
flushed. Sage-grouse tend to be silent when flushed. 

PLAINS SHARP-TAILED GROUSE 
REGION FOUND: Weld, western Logan and northern Morgan 
counties. Plains sharp-tailed grouse are not a legal game 
bird in Colorado but have been transplanted into some 
areas to re-establish populations. When hunting in these 
counties, please take special care to clearly identify the 
target before shooting. 
IDENTIFICATION: Much lighter in color than cock 
pheasants and have a short, distinctly pointed tail, 
which shows white when in flight. They often emit a 
low-pitched series of clucks when flushed.

© Rick Hoffman, CPW

NO HUNTING THESE BIRDS ON WIA LANDS

©Bill Haggerty, CPW

© Kathleen Tadvick, CPW
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HUNTING LAWS

WALK-IN PROPERTY LAWS
KNOW BEFORE YOU GO

There are a variety of Walk-In Access program boundary signs. Knowing what to look for in the field will help during your hunt.

ACCESS SIGNS in the field 
will have an access date 
of Sept. 1 through the 

end of Feb. that tell when 
the property is open for 

hunting.

PHEASANT SEASON 
ACCESS SIGNS have an  

access date of “The 
opening day of pheasant 

season” through the 
end of Feb. Properties 

that are posted to open 
on the opening day of 

pheasant season cannot 
be accessed prior to 

Nov. 12, 2019. 

EXTENDED ACCESS  
properties are posted 
to close at the end of 

March, annually.  
     These signs have an 

access date of  “The 
opening day of pheasant 
season” through the end 
of March. These proper-
ties cannot be accessed 
prior to Nov. 12, 2019.

PARKING SIGNS 
designate where hunters 

should park at some 
walk-in areas. The major-
ity of WIA properties do 

not have established 
parking areas. Instead, 

hunters should park 
along the road, taking 
care to stay out of the 
traveled portion of the 
road but also not park 
in tall weeds and grass 

where a fire hazard exists. 

SAFETY ZONE SIGNS  
are common on or 

near WIA properties. 
These signs are used 
to delineate safety 

zones around buildings, 
homesteads, livestock 
corrals or neighboring 

landowners' homes 
and properties. Please 

respect safety zone signs 
wherever you find them 

posted.

CLOSED! 
DO NOT HUNT IF FIELDS 

HAVE YELLOW  
“WARNING!” SIGNS.  

Rarely, it is necessary to 
remove a property from 
the  WIA program after 

this brochure is printed.  
     When that happens, 

boundary signs are 
replaced with yellow 

warning signs to notify 
hunters the property is 
no longer available for 

walk-in hunting.  
     Remember, if you 
find a WIA property 

listed in the brochure 
but boundary signs are 
not present at the field 
corners, please do not 

hunt that field!

BIG GAME ACCESS
PROGRAM  

CPW and partnering 
landowners are offering big 

game hunting access on many  
Walk-In Access (WIA) proper-
ties in Eastern Colorado. Prop-

erties that allow big-game 
hunting are yellow in the WIA 
maps in this brochure. These 

properties will be signed with 
yellow WIA boundary signs in 
the field. These properties are 
open for big-game hunting 
to properly licensed hunters 

during established big-game 
seasons from Sept. 1, 2019, 
through Dec. 31, 2019, and 

to small-game hunting 
from Sept. 1, 2019, through 

Feb. 29, 2020. Big-game 
hunters must possess a valid 

pronghorn, deer or elk license 
valid for the Game Manage-

ment Unit (GMU) in which the 
Walk-In Access property lies. 
All normal WIA regulations 

apply. All big-game hunting 
regulations apply. 

WALK-IN PROPERTY SIGNS

1. Lands are open for public access one hour before sunrise until one hour after 
sunset. When hunting waterfowl, deer, elk and pronghorn, public access is 
allowed two hours before sunrise until two hours after sunset.

2. Species of take will be restricted as follows:
a. Lands enrolled and posted as Regular, Late Cropland or Extended Sea-

son Walk-In Access properties are open for the take of all small game, 
furbearers, migratory game birds and Eurasian collared-doves, except 
Gambel’s quail, Gunnison sage-grouse and greater sage-grouse.

b. Lands enrolled and posted as Big Game Walk-In Access properties are 
open for the take of deer, elk and pronghorn by hunters holding a valid 
license for the GMU in which the property lies.

3. Public access is allowed:
a. From September 1 through the end of February annually for lands en-

rolled and posted as Regular Season Walk-In Access properties.
b. From the opening day of pheasant season through the end of February 

annually for lands enrolled and posted as Late Season Cropland Walk-In 
Access properties.

c. From September 1 through the end of the mountain sharp-tailed grouse 
season annually, for all lands enrolled and posted as Grouse Walk-In Ac-
cess properties.

d. From the opening day of pheasant season through the end of March 
annually for lands enrolled and posted as Extended Walk-In Access 
properties. 

e. From the opening day of pheasant season through the end of February 
annually for lands enrolled and posted as Novice Hunter Program Walk-
In Access properties.

1. A current year’s graduate of the Novice Hunter Program must be  
present and actively hunting with each group during all hunting 
activities.

2. Up to four additional hunters may accompany and hunt with a 
graduate of the Novice Hunter Program.

f. From September 1 through the end of December annually for lands en-
rolled and posted as Big Game Walk-In Access properties.

4. Access shall be by foot only. Entry by horseback, motorized vehicle or other 
means is prohibited.

5.  Access is allowed for small-game hunting only; all other activities are 
prohibited.

6. Access is prohibited as posted when the landowner is actively harvesting 
crops.
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Legal hunting times for big game are one-half hour before sunrise to 
one-half hour after sunset, unless specifically restricted. Legal times to 
hunt small game are one-half hour before sunrise to sunset. An excep-
tion is made for furbearers, which can be hunted from one-half hour 
before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset. 
     The sunrise/sunset chart below lists time in Denver. Subtract 1 min-
ute from opening and closing time for each 12 1/2 miles east of Denver. 
Add 1 minute to opening and closing time for each 12 1/2 miles west of 
Denver. 
     (These changes assume that each degree of longitude equals 50 miles 
and a change of 1 degree of longitude equals a 4-minute change in sunrise 
and sunset times.)

SEASON DATES LEGAL HUNTING HOURS

▶ COTTONTAIL RABBIT
▶ SNOWSHOE HARE
▶ JACKRABBIT: WHITE-TAILED, 
      BLACK-TAILED

SEASON: Oct. 1–end of Feb. 2020
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 10 of each 
species
POSSESSION LIMIT: 20 of each 
species

▶ DOVE: MOURNING, WHITE-WINGED 
SEASON: Sept. 1–Nov. 29
AREA:  Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 15 singly or in 
aggregate for either species 
POSSESSION LIMIT: 45 singly or in 
aggregate
NOTE: See “Species Identification” 
on page 2 for transit require-
ments. 

▶ DOVE: EURASIAN COLLARED
SEASON: Year-round
AREA:  Statewide
DAILY BAG, POSSESSION LIMITS: 
Unlimited 
NOTE: Eurasians must be fully 
feathered while in the field and 
during transport, unless counted 
as part of the mourning and/or 
white-winged dove bag limits. 
A small-game license is not 
required, as these are considered 
an invasive species. But a hunter 

education card is still required to 
hunt them. See pages 1 and 2. 

▶ EUROPEAN STARLING, 
      HOUSE (ENGLISH) SPARROW

SEASON: Year-round
AREA: Statewide
BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS: 
Unlimited
NOTE: A license is not required. 
See page 2, "Hunting Invasive 
Species."

▶ SQUIRREL: FOX, PINE
SEASON: Oct. 1–end of Feb. 2020
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 5 of each species
POSSESSION LIMIT: 10 of each 
species

▶ PHEASANT
SEASON 1: Nov. 9–Jan. 31, 2020
AREA:  East of I-25

SEASON 2:  Nov. 9–Jan. 5, 2020
AREA:  West of I-25
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3 cocks 
POSSESSION LIMIT: 9 cocks

▶ TEAL 
SEASON: Sept. 14–22
AREAS:  In Lake and Chaffee 
counties and all areas east of 
I-25.
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 6
POSSESSION LIMIT: 18

There are a variety of Walk-In Access program boundary signs. Knowing what to look for in the field will help during your hunt.

ACCESS SIGNS in the field 
will have an access date 
of Sept. 1 through the 

end of Feb. that tell when 
the property is open for 

hunting.

PHEASANT SEASON 
ACCESS SIGNS have an  

access date of “The 
opening day of pheasant 

season” through the 
end of Feb. Properties 

that are posted to open 
on the opening day of 

pheasant season cannot 
be accessed prior to 

Nov. 12, 2019. 

EXTENDED ACCESS  
properties are posted 
to close at the end of 

March, annually.  
     These signs have an 

access date of  “The 
opening day of pheasant 
season” through the end 
of March. These proper-
ties cannot be accessed 
prior to Nov. 12, 2019.

PARKING SIGNS 
designate where hunters 

should park at some 
walk-in areas. The major-
ity of WIA properties do 

not have established 
parking areas. Instead, 

hunters should park 
along the road, taking 
care to stay out of the 
traveled portion of the 
road but also not park 
in tall weeds and grass 

where a fire hazard exists. 

SAFETY ZONE SIGNS  
are common on or 

near WIA properties. 
These signs are used 
to delineate safety 

zones around buildings, 
homesteads, livestock 
corrals or neighboring 

landowners' homes 
and properties. Please 

respect safety zone signs 
wherever you find them 

posted.

CLOSED! 
DO NOT HUNT IF FIELDS 

HAVE YELLOW  
“WARNING!” SIGNS.  

Rarely, it is necessary to 
remove a property from 
the  WIA program after 

this brochure is printed.  
     When that happens, 

boundary signs are 
replaced with yellow 

warning signs to notify 
hunters the property is 
no longer available for 

walk-in hunting.  
     Remember, if you 
find a WIA property 

listed in the brochure 
but boundary signs are 
not present at the field 
corners, please do not 

hunt that field!

BIG GAME ACCESS
PROGRAM  

CPW and partnering 
landowners are offering big 

game hunting access on many  
Walk-In Access (WIA) proper-
ties in Eastern Colorado. Prop-

erties that allow big-game 
hunting are yellow in the WIA 
maps in this brochure. These 

properties will be signed with 
yellow WIA boundary signs in 
the field. These properties are 
open for big-game hunting 
to properly licensed hunters 

during established big-game 
seasons from Sept. 1, 2019, 
through Dec. 31, 2019, and 

to small-game hunting 
from Sept. 1, 2019, through 

Feb. 29, 2020. Big-game 
hunters must possess a valid 

pronghorn, deer or elk license 
valid for the Game Manage-

ment Unit (GMU) in which the 
Walk-In Access property lies. 
All normal WIA regulations 

apply. All big-game hunting 
regulations apply. 

Select big-and small-game season dates are included within this atlas for 
your convenience; however, all season dates are not listed.  
     A complete synopsis of the big-game hunting season dates can be 
found in the 2019 Colorado Big Game brochure, while the complete 
small-game hunting season dates can be found in the 2019 Small Game & 
Waterfowl brochure. These brochures are available at license agents, CPW 
offices and online in downloadable PDF and interactive, searchable for-
mats at cpw.state.co.us/bg/brochure and cpw.state.co.us/sgwf/brochure.

Source: www.usno.navy.mil

2019–2020 SUNRISE/SUNSET TABLE (DENVER)

SEPT.(DST)* OCT. (DST)* NOV. DEC. JAN. 2020 FEB. 2020
RISE   SET RISE   SET RISE   SET RISE   SET RISE   SET RISE   SET
A.M.   P.M. A.M.   P.M. A.M.   P.M. A.M.   P.M. A.M.   P.M. A.M.   P.M.

DAY
1 6:28   7:31 6:56   6:43 7:28   5:58 7:02   4:36 7:21   4:46 7:08   5:19
2 6:29   7:30 6:57   6:41 7:29   5:57 7:03   4:36 7:21   4:47 7:07   5:20
3 6:30   7:28 6:58   6:39 6:31   4:56 7:04   4:36 7:21   4:48 7:06   5:22
4 6:31   7:27 6:59   6:38 6:32   4:55 7:04   4:36 7:21   4:49 7:05   5:23
5 6:32   7:25 7:00   6:36 6:33   4:53 7:05   4:35 7:21   4:49 7:04   5:24
6 6:33   7:23 7:01   6:35 6:34   4:53 7:06   4:35 7:21   4:50 7:03   5:25
7 6:33   7:22 7:02   6:33 6:35   4:52 7:07   4:35 7:21   4:51 7:02   5:26
8 6:34   7:20 7:03   6:31 6:36   4:51 7:08   4:35 7:21   4:52 7:01   5:28
9 6:35   7:19 7:04   6:30 6:37   4:50 7:09   4:35 7:21   4:53 7:00   5:29
10 6:36   7:17 7:05   6:28 6:39   4:49 7:10   4:35 7:21   4:54 6:59   5:30
11 6:37   7:15 7:06   6:27 6:40   4:48 7:11   4:36 7:20   4:55 6:58   5:31
12 6:38   7:14 7:07   6:25 6:41   4:47 7:11   4:36 7:20   4:56 6:57   5:32
13 6:39   7:12 7:08   6:24 6:42   4:46 7:12   4:36 7:20   4:57 6:55   5:33
14 6:40   7:10 7:09   6:22 6:43   4:45 7:13   4:36 7:20   4:58 6:54   5:35
15 6:41   7:09 7:10   6:21 6:44   4:44 7:14   4:36 7:19   5:00 6:53   5:36
16 6:42   7:07 7:11   6:19 6:45   4:44 7:14   4:37 7:19   5:01 6:52   5:37
17 6:43   7:05 7:12   6:18 6:47   4:43 7:15   4:37 7:18   5:02 6:50   5:38
18 6:44   7:04 7:13   6:16 6:48   4:42 7:16   4:37 7:18   5:03 6:49   5:39
19 6:45   7:02 7:14   6:15 6:49   4:41 7:16   4:38 7:17   5:04 6:48   5:40
20 6:46   7:01 7:15   6:14 6:50   4:41 7:17   4:38 7:17   5:05 6:46   5:42
21 6:46   6:59 7:16   6:12 6:51   4:40 7:17   4:39 7:16   5:06 6:45   5:43
22 6:47   6:57 7:17   6:11 6:52   4:40 7:18   4:39 7:16   5:07 6:44   5:44
23 6:48   6:56 7:18   6:09 6:53   4:39 7:18   4:40 7:15   5:09 6:42   5:45
24 6:49   6:54 7:19   6:08 6:54   4:39 7:19   4:40 7:15   5:10 6:41   5:46
25 6:50   6:52 7:21   6:07 6:55   4:38 7:19   4:41 7:14   5:11 6:39   5:47
26 6:51   6:51 7:22   6:06 6:56   4:38 7:19   4:42 7:13   5:12 6:38   5:48
27 6:52   6:49 7:23   6:04 6:57   4:37 7:20   4:42 7:12   5:13 6:37   5:49
28 6:53   6:47 7:24   6:03 6:59   4:37 7:20   4:43 7:12   5:14 6:35   5:51
29 6:54   6:46 7:25   6:02 7:00   4:37 7:20   4:44 7:11   5:16 6:34   5:52
30 6:55   6:44 7:26   6:01 7:01   4:36 7:21   4:44 7:10   5:17
31 7:27   5:59 7:21   4:45 7:09   5:18

DST end

TIME ADJUSTMENT 
FOR OTHER COLORADO CITIES

This table reflects the minutes to add/subtract to the chart above 
for select towns. These are approximate; use only as a reference. 

Consult a state map for more details.

Alamosa +3
Buena Vista +5
Burlington -10
Craig +9
Durango +11
Fort Morgan -4

Gr. Junction +13
Gunnison +7
La Junta -6
Lamar -9
Sterling -6
Walden +5

*DST=(Daylight saving time)

SMALL-GAME SEASON DATES AND BAG LIMITS

BIG-GAME SEASON DATES
▶ DEER

PLAINS ARCHERY
SEASON: Oct. 1–25, Nov. 6–30, 
Dec. 15–31*
*Unless otherwise noted in the 2019 
Big Game brochure tables. Please refer 
to the 2019 Big Game brochure for a 
detailed listing of all dates.

PLAINS MUZZLELOADER 
SEASON: Oct. 12–20

PLAINS RIFLE
SEASON: Oct. 26–Nov. 5

LATE PLAINS RIFLE
SEASON: Dec. 1–14

▶ ELK
PLAINS ARCHERY
SEASON: Sept. 1–29

PLAINS MUZZLELOADER
SEASON: Sept. 14–22*
    GMU'S:  104, 128, 133,134, 141,
     142

PLAINS RIFLE
SEASON: Sept. 1–Jan. 31*
*Unless otherwise noted in the 2019 
Big Game brochure tables. Please refer 
to the 2019 Big Game brochure for a 
detailed listing of all dates.

▶ PRONGHORN
PLAINS ARCHERY
SEASON: Sept. 1–20*

PLAINS MUZZLELOADER
SEASON: Sept. 21–29

PLAINS RIFLE
SEASON: Oct. 5–11**
*Unless otherwise noted in the 2019 
Big Game brochure tables.
**Check hunt code tables in the 2019 
Big Game brochure for early and late 
rifle season dates for certain hunts, 
pages 51–52.

Mule deer buck © Wayne Lewis, CPW
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10 TIPS FOR A SUCCESSFUL COLORADO DOVE HUNT
DOVE HUNTING TIPS
When it comes to small-game hunting, doves are arguably the greatest challenge 
for wingshooters. Although these fast flyers are Colorado’s most plentiful game 
bird, you’ll need to bring your “A” game to fill the 15-bird daily limit. The fol-
lowing tips and information will help you have more fun and put more doves in 
your game-bag when the season opens statewide Sept. 1:

1. TAKE THE LEAD

2. SELECT THE RIGHT CHOKE

By far, the biggest mistake novice dove hunters make is shooting behind 
birds. Doves are strong fliers, capable of reaching speeds in excess of 55 
MPH. Add a tailwind to the equation and it’s easy to see why the only things 
many dove hunters bring home after a long day in the field are empty shell 
boxes and bruised shoulders and egos. How much you lead will depend on how 
fast the bird is moving and the distance of your shot. Additionally, it’s impor-
tant to swing the shotgun barrel past the bird and maintain your lead after 
you’ve pulled the trigger. In shooting terminology, this is known as “following 
through” on the shot. One of the best ways to prepare for dove season is to 
spend some time on a sporting clays range. Shooting fast-moving clay tar-
gets in simulated hunting scenarios will help you dust off your shotgun and fine 
tune your shooting skills before entering the field.

Selecting the right choke for your shotgun is key for shooting accurately in the 
field. Some hunters prefer an improved cylinder and modified choke combina-
tion for a 12-gauge over/under. For the first shot, use the barrel fitted with the 
improved cylinder. If necessary, follow up with a second shot using the more re-
strictive modified choke. The tighter pattern of the modified choke is more ef-
fective at taking doves at longer distances. Some hunters prefer a full choke on 
the second barrel, but this may be overkill for doves. Not only does the ex-
tremely narrow shot pattern make it more difficult to hit birds, but the con-
densed birdshot typically results in badly damaged doves and breast meat. If 
you’re using a shotgun without interchangeable chokes, don’t worry. Most shot-
guns come standard with either improved cylinder or modified barrels, which 
are ideal for most applications. Grab a box of target or skeet loads (size 7 1/2 or 
8 shot) and you’re ready to go.

3. USE DECOYS
Although dove hunting primarily involves pass-shooting birds that are flying to 
and from roosting and feeding sites, doves respond well to decoys. A spinning-
wing Mojo decoy, along with three or four stationary decoys placed in a dead 
tree or on a fence row, can entice doves within shotgun range. Decoys become 
even more valuable as the hunting season progresses, and birds become increas-
ingly wary of hunters. See "Do-It-Yourself Dove Decoys" on pages 7–8.

4. WEAR COLORED SHOOTING GLASSES
Try wearing a pair of colored shooting glasses to improve your vision and your 
ability to identify targets. Unlike standard sunglasses, which tend to make ev-
erything appear darker, rose or amber-tinted lenses make your surroundings 
more vibrant by reducing harsh shadows. In addition, colored lenses restrict 
your pupils, improving your depth perception and making it easier to separate 
targets from the background. As an added benefit, shooting glasses also protect 
your eyes from UV rays and errant birdshot. Amber, vermilion (rose) and or-
ange are all popular choices among wingshooters. Experiment with different 
colors and see which ones work best for you.  

5. STAY CONCEALED IN THE FIELD
Standing out in the open is a bad idea if you’re trying to bag a limit of 
doves. Sure, you might get away with this tactic on opening morning when 
naive birds are flying low and slow (for doves). But by mid-afternoon, doves 
wise up and quickly learn how to avoid shotgun-wielding hunters. It’s important 
to keep a low profile by crouching under trees or concealing yourself in tall 
grass. Use shaded areas and vegetation to break up your silhouette. Doves sense 
movement more than they sense color, so keep perfectly still until you’re ready 
to shoot.
     Unlike turkey or waterfowl hunting, you don’t need to wear full camouflage when hunting doves. Lightweight plaid or drab-colored (brown or green) 
clothing works just fine. Some hunters prefer to wear a shooting vest or a lightweight hunting shirt that has some blaze-orange or blaze-pink trim. Although 
not required for small-game hunting in Colorado, the blaze-orange or blaze-pink is highly visible to other hunters, and landowners will appreciate knowing 
your exact location. 
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6. HUNT EARLY
Hunting doves in Colorado is an early-season endeavor. Although Colorado’s 
dove season opens Sept. 1 and continues into November, the window of 
opportunity for hunters is small. Since mourning doves migrate, most of the 
fair-weather birds flee the state after the first cold snap, which can happen as 
early as August in some years. For the best chance of success, you should hit 
the fields in the first days and weeks after the season opens. Depending on fall 
weather conditions, localized populations of doves can be found in southeast 
Colorado into the late season, but hunting is sporadic at best. According to 
harvest surveys, hunters in Weld, Morgan, Adams, Arapahoe, Logan, 
Larimer, Yuma, Pueblo, Otero and Prowers counties harvest the greatest 
numbers of doves each year. And most of these birds are harvested in the early 
part of September.

7. HUNT EURASIAN COLLARED-DOVES
In addition to native mourning and white-winged doves, Colorado is now 
home to non native Eurasian collared-doves (ECDs). ECDs were inadvertently 
introduced to the United States in the 1970s when several of the birds escaped 
from a pet shop in the Bahamas. The birds soon made their way to Florida and, 
over the last four decades, have rapidly expanded across the Western United 
States and Canada. Unlike native doves, ECDs do not migrate and remain here 
throughout the winter. Because the birds are prolific breeders, wildlife manag-
ers are concerned that ECDs may out-compete native species for food and hab-
itat. To manage populations, Colorado has classified ECDs as an invasive 
species and has implemented a year-round hunting season coupled with un-
limited bag/possession limits. Although ECDs are extremely abundant, locat-
ing the birds in areas where hunting is allowed can be challenging. ECDs are 
primarily urban dwellers that congregate at suburban bird feeders or near busy 
agricultural centers like feedlots and farms. The birds are larger in size, yield 
more breast meat and they don’t count toward the regular limit of mourning 
doves as long as they remain fully featherd in the field or during transport. And 
if you can locate them in the winter, ECDs provide a fun, year-round wing-
shooting opportunity long after the regular dove season is just a memory.

8. HUNT WALK-IN ACCESS PROPERTIES
More than 115,000 acres are open to dove hunting through CPW’s Walk-In-
Access program. Although not all properties support the habitat neces-
sary to hold doves, many areas offer good hunting opportunities. For doves, 
you should do some preseason scouting and search for areas supporting food 
crops like wheat stubble, proso-millet stubble and sunflower fields. Areas lo-
cated near water and roosting sites (dead trees) should also hold good numbers 
of birds. This Walk-In-Access brochure features detailed maps and GPS coor-
dinates of enrolled properties. Keep in mind that all WIA properties are pri-
vately owned land that CPW has leased for public hunting. Please help 
maintain these areas by picking up empty shell casings and properly disposing 
of harvested birds.

9. READ THE SMALL GAME & WATERFOWL BROCHURE
The Colorado Small Game & Waterfowl brochure features a wealth of informa-
tion for hunters. In addition to providing season dates and bag/possession lim-
its, the brochure includes species profiles and general hunting tips. The online 
brochure also features video tutorials to help you get the most out of your expe-
rience this fall. It’s a must-read before entering the field.

10. DON'T FORGET YOUR HIP
One of the most common items that small-game hunters forget about every 
year is the Harvest Information Program (HIP) number. Yet, registering for an 
HIP number is fast and easy. Simply go to the Colorado HIP website at www.
colohip.com, or call 1-866-COLOHIP to obtain a number. Be sure to 
write the HIP number in the space provided on your small-game license. The 
HIP helps wildlife managers establish harvest estimates for doves and other mi-
gratory birds. A small-game license AND HIP Number are required to hunt 
doves and other small-game species in Colorado.

Article and photography by Jerry Neal. Neal is a media and information spe-
cialist and senior video producer for Colorado Parks and Wildlife and is the 
former editor of Colorado Outdoors online.
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DO-IT-YOURSELF DOVE DECOYS
Colorado’s dove season opens Sept. 1. 
Hunters seeking every advantage in the 
field understand the benefit of using 
decoys to attract doves. These DIY 
decoys are perfect for the budget-minded 
hunter. Simply photocopy the decoy 
images on page 9, increasing the size by 
150%. Next, cut out the images and glue 
to a piece of thin cardboard like a cereal 
box or a thick file folder destined for the 
recycle bin. Cut them out again, follow-
ing the outline of the bird. Finally, fold in 
half. For more protection, spray the as-
sembled decoys with lacquer. Once in the 
field, attach the decoys to dead branches 
and fences using clothespins or binder 
clips. The 2019 season for mourning 
doves and white-winged doves runs 
through Nov. 29. The Eurasian collared-
dove season is year-round with an unlim-
ited daily bag and possession limit. See 
“Season Dates” on page 5 for season dates 
and bag/possession limits. For decoy im-
ages to download, go to:
coloradooutdoorsmag.
com/2013/08/26/diy-dove-decoys/

Decoy supplies
© Wayne Lewis, CPW

Hunting with DIY decoys. 
© Jerry Neal, CPW

In the field, attach decoys using clothespins or binder clips. 
© Wayne Lewis, CPW

Dove decoy silhouette
© Jerry Neal, CPW

Article by Wayne Lewis. Lewis is the editor 
and art director of Colorado Outdoors.
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MOURNING DOVE

EURASIAN COLLARED-DOVE

© Wayne Lewis, CPW

© Wayne Lewis, CPW
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NOTICE ABOUT THIS GUIDE 
This brochure is not a legal notice nor a complete collection of hunting regulations and laws. Copies of statutes and regulations can be obtained from a CPW office or at 
cpw.state.co.us/regulations. For questions, call CPW at 303-297-1192.


