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LICENSE INFORMATION
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ONLY the offices below can assist hunters with animal checks and taking samples that are 
related to hunting activities. See the CPW website for a complete list of our parks locations 
that can also sell licenses, issue duplicate licenses and accept licenses for refunds.

Send us your hunter testimonial photos and stories for a chance 
to be featured on a brochure cover or CPW's online blog!

HUNTER.TESTIMONIALS@STATE.CO.US
COVER: 
▶ Pheasant hunter © Douglas Skinner/CPW

OTHER PHOTOS, TOP TO BOTTOM:
▶ Hunting Dog © Douglas Skinner/CPW
▶ Small-game hunter © Mike DelliVeneri/CPW
▶ Mule deer on the snowy plains © Wayne Lewis/CPW
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▶ FUTURE GENERATIONS ACT PASSED THE STATE LEGISLATURE: Thank you to 
all of the hunters and anglers who helped support the Future Generations 
Act and Colorado Parks and Wildlife. This act is a huge step for funding 
wildlife conservation. You'll see some changes for 2019, including a small 
fee increase for resident licenses and the Wildlife Education Fund. 
See full 2018/2019 fee comparison chart online: cpw.state.co.us/feechanges

▶ BIG GAME WALK-IN ACCESS HAS EXPANDED: The Walk-In Access Program will 
now offer big-game hunting on many properties across eastern Colorado. 
There will be overlap in small-game and big-game seasons. Properties that al-

low big- and small-game hunting are now yellow polygons on the WIA maps 
in this brochure. Small-game-only properties are white polygons. Properties 
will be signed with WIA boundary signs. In 2019, these properties are open 
for big-game hunting to properly-licensed hunters during established big-
game seasons from Sept. 1, 2019, through Dec. 31, 2019, and to small-game 
hunting from Sept. 1, 2019, through Feb. 29, 2020. Big-game hunters must 
possess a valid pronghorn, deer or elk license valid for the game management 
unit (GMU) in which the Walk-In Access property lies. All normal WIA 
regulations apply. All big-game hunting regulations apply.  

WHAT’S NEW: 2019

LICENSE FEES 
LICENSE INFORMATION

HUNTER EDUCATION

REGULATION CHANGES & NEW INFORMATION

 
Colorado residents who are disabled veterans or Purple Heart recipients can receive 
a free lifetime fishing and small game combination license. To qualify, you must 
have served on active duty and have been honorably discharged. Proof is required 
of a service-connected disability rated by the Department of Veteran Affairs of at 
least 60 percent, or DD214 showing Purple Heart or Purple Heart Certificate. More 
details: cpw.state.co.us/accessibility

WHAT'S NEW LICENSES

    SMALL GAME & WATERFOWL
	 RESIDENT	 NONRESIDENT
	      ▶ Habitat Stamp (required)............................. $10.............................. $10 
	      ▶ Small Game (includes furbearers)............$29.75........................$ 81.75 
	      ▶ Small Game (one-day)............................$13.75.........................$16.75 
	      ▶ Small Game (additional-day)....................$6.75...........................$6.75 
	      ▶ Youth Small Game (under 18)...................$1.25...........................$1.25 
	      ▶ Small-Game & Fishing combo.................$49.75...............................n/a 
	      ▶ Furbearer only.........................................$29.75.........................$81.75 
	      ▶ Colorado Waterfowl Stamp.......................... $10.............................. $10 
	      ▶ Federal Migratory Bird Hunting Stamp........ $25.............................. $25 
	           (Duck Stamp) 
	      ▶ Lifetime Fishing & Small Game combo.........free...............................n/a 
	           (Disabled Veterans 60 percent or more disability) 
	      ▶ Band-tailed Pigeon Permit..............................$5.................................$5

    BIG GAME
   ▶ Deer
         Resident adult............................................$39.75
         Resident youth...........................................$15.50
         Nonresident adult/fishing combo.............$396.75
         Nonresident youth/fishing combo............$101.50

   ▶ Elk
         Resident adult............................................$54.75
         Resident youth...........................................$15.50
         Nonresident bull/fishing combo...............$661.75
         Nonresident either-sex/fishing combo.....$661.75
         Nonresident cow/fishing combo..............$496.75
         Nonresident youth/fishing combo............$101.50

	   ▶ Pronghorn
          Resident adult...........................................$39.75
          Resident youth...........................................$15.50
          Nonresident adult/fishing combo............$396.75
          Nonresident youth/fishing combo...........$101.50

WHAT YOU NEED TO BUY A LICENSE AND HUNT:
1.  ID. Secure and verifiable ID. If you have questions about secure and verifiable 

identification, please call 303-297-1192, Mon–Fri 8 a.m.–5 p.m. 
A Social Security number is required for new hunters ages 12 and older.

2.  PROOF of hunter education. (See below.)
3.  PROOF of residency for Colorado residents. 
4.  HABITAT STAMP. A 2019 Habitat Stamp is required prior to 
     applying for the draw or buying a license. (See below.) 

HABITAT STAMPS ARE REQUIRED FOR HUNTERS
Habitat Stamps are $10 and only one is required per person, per year 
for anyone ages 18–64. Stamps are valid April 1–March 31.

▶ You must purchase a stamp before buying a hunting license.
▶ A lifetime stamp is $300.25.
▶ Anyone buying a one-day or additional-day license for fishing and/or small 

game is exempt from purchasing the Habitat Stamp with the first two of these 
licenses. The habitat fee will be assessed when a third one-day or additional-
day license is purchased for fishing or small game.

▶ Anyone who holds a free lifetime fishing license, a veteran’s lifetime combina-
tion small-game hunting/fishing license or are approved for the Big Game 
Mobility Impaired Hunting Program is exempt from the Habitat Stamp 
requirement. See cpw.state.co.us/accessibility.

HUNTER EDUCATION (SAFETY) REQUIREMENTS
1. Anyone born on or after January 1, 1949, must have a hunter education card to 

hunt in Colorado.
2. A hunter education card is needed to apply for or buy a license.
3. Your hunter education card must be carried while hunting, unless verified and 

marked with a “V” on your hunting license. To get your hunter education 
verified, take your hunter education card to a CPW office (listed on inside front 
cover) or state park.

4. CPW honors hunter education cards from other states, provinces and countries.

HUNTER EDUCATION EXEMPTIONS
1. Individuals over age 50 or active duty US military and veterans can obtain a 

hunter education certificate by testing out of hunter education: 
cpw.state.co.us/HunterEdTestOut

2. A one-time apprentice certificate can be obtained for hunters who are at least 10 
years old and who must be accompanied by a mentor in the field: 
cpw.state.co.us/apprenticecertificate

Please see the CPW website for more information: cpw.state.co.us/HunterEd

DISABLED VETERANS
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GENERAL INFORMATION

HARVEST SURVEYS

The WIA program depends on private 
landowners enrolling property for 
walk-in hunting and maintaining 
good relations with those landown-
ers and their neighbors. Here are 
some additional guidelines that, if 
followed, will improve the opportuni-
ties for all hunters and contribute to 
future WIA enrollments:  

▶ WHERE DESIGNATED  
PARKING AREAS ARE  
ESTABLISHED, USE THEM. 
Do not block gates or roads for the 
landowner or their agents who 
may need to work on the property. 
Do not park along highways. Do 
not park in tall grassy or weedy 
areas where your vehicle’s catalytic 
converter can cause a fire.  

▶ IF YOU SMOKE, make sure to 
completely extinguish cigarettes. 
Do not smoke or extinguish 
cigarettes in grassy or weedy areas 
where you could cause a fire.

▶ DON’T LITTER OR CLEAN 
HARVESTED BIRDS ON WIA 
PROPERTIES OR ALONG ROAD-
SIDES. If trash is present, please 
pick it up.

▶ DON’T SHOOT NEAR OR TO-
WARDS HOUSES, farm buildings, 
livestock or equipment.

▶ DON’T HUNT IF CATTLE ARE IN, 
or adjacent to, enrolled parcels.

HUNTING INVASIVE SPECIES

SPECIES IDENTIFICATION

ENROLL YOUR PROPERTY

CRP LOSS
Colorado has experienced the loss of several thousand 
acres of CRP in the last few years. Many of these acres 
have been or are in the process of being converted to 
cropland and do not have suitable cover for upland 
game. While we have caught and removed many of these 
fields, it is also very likely that some were not detected 
prior to printing this atlas. In addition, some fields are 
undergoing CRP enhancements and will have reduced 
cover as well.

HARVEST INFORMATION PROGRAM

GENERAL INFORMATION

REPORT POACHERS
OPERATION GAME THIEF: 1-877-265-6648

EMAIL: GAME.THIEF@STATE.CO.US
Earn a reward payment for reporting wildlife violations by calling 

Operation Game Thief. Callers can remain anonymous. 
(This number is not for information requests or emergencies.)

BE A RESPONSIBLE HUNTER

To promote safe hunting and help landowners efficiently harvest crops, some 
WIA properties — primarily grass sprinkler corners adjacent to irrigated 
corn fields — will be closed to WIA hunting when landowners are actively 
harvesting crops. Specifically, when harvesting 
machines are working in the associated corn 
field, sprinkler corners are CLOSED to all WIA 
hunting.
     In most cases, corners will only be 
closed for a day or two while the landowner 
completes harvest. All sprinkler corners will 
be posted with closure signs in addition to 
regular boundary signs. Adhering to this 
temporary closure will help hunters and CPW 
maintain excellent working relations with 
landowners and will contribute to keeping 
high-quality sprinkler corners open to public 
walk-in hunting.    

2019  Colorado
Waterfowl Stamp

WWW.CPWSHOP.COM
PURCHASE STAMPS & PRINTS ONLINE: 

GENERAL

by Michael Sieve

Eurasian collared-doves, European starlings and house 
(English) sparrows are considered invasive species in 
Colorado. Because of this designation, these species may 
be hunted year-round. No license or Habitat Stamp is 
required to hunt invasive species; however, hunters must 
have and carry with them a hunter education card.
     Hunters may harvest any number of each of these 
species and by any method of take approved for big- or 
small-game hunting. These species may be taken at 
night with the use of artificial light and night vision 
equipment.
     Commercial hunting of invasive species is prohibited, 
as is receiving or attempting to receive compensation by 
hunting these species. 
     Eurasian collared-doves must remain fully feathered 
while in the field or during transport, except when 
counted as part of the mourning or white-winged dove 
bag and possession limit during the dove season that 
runs from Sept. 1–Nov. 29.

Interested in enrolling your land in the Walk-In Access 
program? CPW wants to enroll quality hunting lands 
across the state. To offer land for the 2019–20 season, 
please contact a CPW office for details. See office listings 
on inside cover.

Small-game, furbearer and migratory bird hunters, includ-
ing falconers, must sign up with HIP each year before their 
license is valid. You can get a 2019–2020 HIP number 
beginning on April 1, but can get a HIP number anytime 
after April 1, as long as it's before you hunt small game 
during the  2019–2020 season. Write the new HIP number 
on your license. To sign up with HIP, call 1-866-265-6447 
(1-866-COLOHIP), or go to www.colohip.com. You 
will be asked for basic information, including how many 
birds you harvested the previous season and the species 
you plan to hunt this year. A season means Sept. 1 through 
March 15 of the next year. This information helps CPW 
manage migratory bird and resident small-game species by 
improving harvest estimates.

A fully-feathered wing or head must be attached to all 
birds, except turkeys, doves and band-tailed pigeons, in 
transit to hunter’s home or commercial processor. For 
pheasants, a foot with a visible spur can be substituted.  
     NOTE: While in the field or during transport, all dressed 
(not fully-feathered) doves, including Eurasian collared-
doves, count against the daily bag and possession limit 
for mourning and white-winged doves during the Sept. 
1–Nov. 29 dove season. Eurasian collared-doves must be 
fully feathered while in the field or during transport at 
all other times. See more in "Hunting Invasive Species."

CPW conducts harvest surveys annually to estimate 
harvest, hunter numbers and recreation days, in ad-
dition to assessing satisfaction and crowding. Past 
small-game surveys are available at cpw.state.co.us/
small-game-stats, and updated reports are available 
after annual surveys conclude. Big- and small-game 
hunters are selected randomly to participate. Surveys 
are by telephone, by email or online. If contacted, your 
participation is not required, but responding — even if 
you did not hunt or harvest an animal — helps CPW set 
seasons and license numbers.
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GENERAL INFORMATION
Colorado Parks and Wildlife has partnered 
with Pheasants Forever Inc., the Volun-
tary Public Access and Habitat Incentive 
Program (through Natural Resources 
Conservation Service), High Plains Land 
Conservancy and Muley Fanatics Founda-
tion to create a new habitat practice for 
northeast Colorado. Known as Corners for 
Conservation, the practice is designed to 
create excellent habitat for wildlife, includ-
ing upland game birds, by establishing 
highly diverse cover on sprinkler corners, 
including tall native grasses and flower-
ing forbs. All Corners for Conservation 
projects are enrolled in the Walk-In Access 
Program and will provide year-round habitat for many species of wildlife. 
Corners for Conservation properties are posted in this atlas, and in the 
field are identified with WIA boundary signs and Corners for Conserva-
tion Habitat signs. Over 400 projects have been completed through this 
habitat partnership, with more planned for future seasons.

CORNERS FOR CONSERVATION

NO HUNTING DURING ACTIVE HARVEST
To promote safe hunting and help landowners efficiently harvest crops, some 
WIA properties — primarily grass sprinkler corners adjacent to irrigated 
corn fields — will be closed to WIA hunting when landowners are actively 
harvesting crops. Specifically, when harvesting 
machines are working in the associated corn 
field, sprinkler corners are CLOSED to all WIA 
hunting.
     In most cases, corners will only be 
closed for a day or two while the landowner 
completes harvest. All sprinkler corners will 
be posted with closure signs in addition to 
regular boundary signs. Adhering to this 
temporary closure will help hunters and CPW 
maintain excellent working relations with 
landowners and will contribute to keeping 
high-quality sprinkler corners open to public 
walk-in hunting.    

GENERAL HUNTING LAWS
GENERAL

1. Colorado Parks and Wildlife (CPW) can post firing lines at its properties.
2. It is illegal to kill, capture, injure or harass wildlife from a motor vehicle or 

an aircraft. It is also illegal to operate aircraft with intent to injure, harass, 
drive or rally wildlife. It is illegal to discharge a firearm or release an arrow 
from a motor vehicle or an aircraft.

3. It is illegal to discharge a firearm or release an arrow from, on or across a 
public road. Hunting with rifles, handguns, shotguns firing a single slug and 
archery equipment is prohibited within 50 feet on each side of the center 
line of any public road. On a divided road, the prohibition includes the 
median, and the 50-foot requirement is measured from the center line of 
both roads.

4. It is illegal to carry or have a firearm, except a pistol or revolver, in or on a 
motor vehicle unless the chamber is unloaded. While using artificial light 
from a vehicle, it is illegal to have a firearm with cartridges in the chamber 
or magazine, or possess a strung bow unless the bow is cased.

5. You must take edible parts of game meat home to eat or provide it for hu-
man consumption. Do not leave wounded wildlife (or wildlife that might be 
wounded) without attempting to track and kill it.

6. Possession of wildlife is evidence you hunted.
7. Small-game and migratory bird hunters are not required to wear solid, 

fluorescent orange or pink clothes. However, CPW encourages you to wear 
fluorescent orange or pink clothes for safety.

8. You must stop at CPW check stations when told to do so.
9. Violations of Colorado wildlife laws carry point values. You can face suspen-

sion of license privileges for up to five years or more if you accumulate 20 or 
more points in five years.

10. During deer, elk, pronghorn and bear seasons, firearms (except handguns) 
must be unloaded in the chamber and magazine when carried on an off-
highway vehicle (OHV). Firearms (except handguns) and bows carried on 
an OHV must be fully enclosed in a hard or soft case. Scabbards or cases 
with open ends or sides are prohibited. This regulation does not apply to 
landowners or their agents carrying a firearm on an OHV for the purpose of 
taking depredating wildlife on property owned or leased by them.

Colorado Parks and Wildlife’s Novice Hunter Program (NHP) provides people 
new to hunting with a solid foundation of knowl-
edge and skills to instill the confidence that aids 
in future safe and enjoyable hunting experiences 
in Colorado. 
     The novice program includes classroom time, 
and the curriculum focuses on the fundamentals 
of pheasant biology, hunting techniques, firearms 
safety and hunting ethics, as well as practical 
exercises in the field.
     But there’s one thing that we can’t give you,  
and that’s experience. As part of this program, 
CPW leases some Walk-In Access properties spe-
cifically for novice hunters, to give an opportunity 
to hunt in good pheasant habitat in a relatively 
unpressured setting. These lands are not open to 
the general public and are available to you just for this hunting season. 
     There are some restrictions on how these lands can be hunted. We ask you 
to please abide by program regulations and property-specific rules while you 
are hunting. Remember to plan ahead and be safe. Good luck and have fun!

To hunt these special designated pheasant properties: 
1. You must be a current-year graduate of the Novice Hunter Program must 

be present and actively hunting during all hunting activities. 
2. Up to four additional licensed hunters may accompany and hunt with a 

graduate of the Novice Hunter Program.
3. A valid “student” hang tag must be hung from the rearview mirror from 

students’ vehicles while they are hunting NHP WIA properties.
4. A valid “mentor” hang tag must be hung from the rearview mirror of 

vehicles carrying hunters accompanying an NHP student. 
5. No more than two vehicles are allowed per NHP hunter.
6. Lands enrolled and posted as NHP Walk-In Access properties may be 

accessed from Nov. 9, 2019 through the end of February 2020. All hunting 
season dates must be followed. 

7. Access shall be by foot only. Entry by horseback, motorized vehicle, or 
other means is prohibited. 

8. Access is allowed for hunting only; all other activities are prohibited. 
  (See additional walk-in hunting regulations on page 4.)

NOVICE HUNTER PROGRAM

Look for the signs!   
WIA properties that are open for 
novice hunters will be posted 
with special yellow signs that look 
like this. 
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SEASON DATES WALK-IN PROPERTY LAWS
KNOW BEFORE YOU GO

HUNTING LAWS

1. Lands are open for public access one hour before sunrise until one hour after 
sunset. When hunting waterfowl, deer, elk and pronghorn, public access is 
allowed two hours before sunrise until two hours after sunset.

2. Species of take will be restricted as follows:
a. Lands enrolled and posted as Regular, Late Cropland or Extended Sea-

son Walk-In Access properties are open for the take of all small game, 
furbearers, migratory game birds and Eurasian collared-doves, except 
Gambel’s quail, Gunnison sage-grouse and greater sage-grouse.

b. Lands enrolled and posted as Big Game Walk-In Access properties are 
open for the take of deer, elk and pronghorn by hunters holding a valid 
license for the GMU in which the property lies.

3. Public access is allowed:
a. From Sept. 1 through the end of Feb. annually for lands enrolled and 

posted as Regular Season Walk-In Access properties.
b. From the opening day of pheasant season through the end of Feb. an-

nually for lands enrolled and posted as Late Season Cropland Walk-In 
Access properties.

c. From Sept. 1 through the end of the mountain sharp-tailed grouse season 
annually, for all lands enrolled and posted as Grouse Walk-In Access 
properties.

d. From the opening day of pheasant season through the end of March 

annually for lands enrolled and posted as Extended Walk-In Access 
properties. 

e. From the opening day of pheasant season through the end of February 
annually for lands enrolled and posted as Novice Hunter Program Walk-
In Access properties.

1. A current year’s graduate of the Novice Hunter Program must be 	
present and actively hunting with each group during all hunting 
activities.

2. Up to four additional hunters may accompany and hunt with a 
graduate of the Novice Hunter Program.

f. From September 1 through the end of December annually for lands en-
rolled and posted as Big Game Walk-In Access properties.

4. Access shall be by foot only. Entry by horseback, motorized vehicle or other 
means is prohibited.

5.  Access is allowed for small-game hunting only; all other activities are 
prohibited.

6. Access is prohibited as posted when the landowner is actively harvesting 
crops.

There are a variety of Walk-In Access Program boundary signs. Knowing what to look for in the field will help during your hunt.

ACCESS SIGNS in the field 
will have an access date 
of Sept. 1 through the 

end of Feb. that tell when 
the property is open for 

hunting.

PHEASANT SEASON 
ACCESS SIGNS have an  

access date of “The 
opening day of pheasant 

season” through the 
end of Feb. Properties 

that are posted to open 
on the opening day of 

pheasant season cannot 
be accessed prior to 

Nov. 9, 2019. 

EXTENDED ACCESS  
properties are posted 
to close at the end of 

March, annually.  
     These signs have an 

access date of  “The 
opening day of pheasant 
season” through the end 
of March. These proper-
ties cannot be accessed 

prior to Nov. 9, 2019.

PARKING SIGNS 
designate where hunters 

should park at some 
walk-in areas. The major-
ity of WIA properties do 

not have established 
parking areas. Instead, 

hunters should park 
along the road, taking 
care to stay out of the 
traveled portion of the 
road but also not park 
in tall weeds and grass 

where a fire hazard exists. 

SAFETY ZONE SIGNS  
are common on or 

near WIA properties. 
These signs are used 
to delineate safety 

zones around buildings, 
homesteads, livestock 
corrals or neighboring 

landowners' homes 
and properties. Please 

respect safety zone signs 
wherever you find them 

posted.

CLOSED! 
DO NOT HUNT IF FIELDS 

HAVE YELLOW  
“WARNING!” SIGNS.  

Rarely, it is necessary to 
remove a property from 
the  WIA program after 

this brochure is printed.  
     When that happens, 

boundary signs are 
replaced with yellow 

warning signs to notify 
hunters the property is 
no longer available for 

walk-in hunting.  
     Remember, if you 
find a WIA property 

listed in the brochure 
but boundary signs are 
not present at the field 
corners, please do not 

hunt that field!

BIG GAME ACCESS
PROGRAM  

CPW and partnering 
landowners are offering 
big game hunting access 
on many  Walk-In Access 

(WIA) properties in Eastern 
Colorado. Properties that 

allow big-game hunting are 
yellow in the WIA maps in 

this brochure. These proper-
ties will be signed with 

yellow WIA boundary signs 
in the field. These properties 

are open for big-game 
hunting to properly licensed 
hunters during established 

big-game seasons from 
Sept. 1, 2019, through Dec. 

31, 2019, and to small-
game hunting from Sept. 1, 

2019, through Feb. 29, 2020. 
Big-game hunters must 

possess a valid pronghorn, 
deer or elk license valid for 

the Game Management 
Unit (GMU) in which the 

Walk-In Access property lies. 
All normal WIA regulations 

apply. All big-game hunting 
regulations apply. 

WALK-IN PROPERTY SIGNS
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SEASON DATES LEGAL HUNTING HOURS

▶ PHEASANT
SEASON 1: Nov. 9−Jan. 31, 2020
AREA: East of I-25

SEASON 2: Nov. 9−Jan. 5, 2020
AREA: West of I-25

DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3 cocks 
POSSESSION LIMIT: 9 cocks

▶ QUAIL: NORTHERN BOBWHITE, 
      SCALED, GAMBEL’S

SEASON 1: Nov. 9–Jan. 31, 2020
AREA: East of I-25 and south of 
I-70 from I-25 to Byers and Hwy. 
36 from Byers to Kansas, and the 
parts of the following counties 
that are west of I-25: Pueblo, 
Fremont, Huerfano, El Paso and 
Las Animas counties.

▶ QUAIL: NORTHERN BOBWHITE, 
      SCALED, GAMBEL’S

SEASON 2: Nov. 9–Jan. 5, 2020
AREA: East of I-25 and north of 
I-70 from I-25 east to Byers and 
Hwy. 36 from Byers to Kansas.

SEASON 3: Nov. 9–Jan. 5, 2020
AREA: West of I-25 except those 
areas west of  I-25 in Pueblo, 
Fremont, Huerfano, El Paso and 
Las Animas counties.

DAILY BAG LIMIT: 8 of each species
POSSESSION LIMIT: 24 each species

▶ COTTONTAIL
▶ SNOWSHOE HARE,
▶ JACKRABBIT: WHITE-TAILED, 
     BLACK-TAILED

SEASON: Oct. 1− Feb. 29, 2020   
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 10 of each species
POSSESSION LIMIT: 20 of each 
species

HUNTING LAWS

© Wayne Lewis/CPW

Legal hunting times for big game are one-half hour before sunrise to 
one-half hour after sunset, unless specifically restricted. Legal times to 
hunt small game are one-half hour before sunrise to sunset. An exception 
is made for furbearers, which can be hunted from one-half hour before 
sunrise to one-half hour after sunset. 
     The sunrise/sunset chart below lists time in Denver. Subtract 1 minute 
from opening and closing time for each 12 1/2 miles east of Denver. Add 1 
minute to opening and closing time for each 12 1/2 miles west of Denver. 
     (These changes assume that each degree of longitude equals 50 miles and 
a change of 1 degree of longitude equals a 4-minute change in sunrise and 
sunset times.)

Source: www.usno.navy.mil

2019–2020 SUNRISE/SUNSET TABLE (DENVER)

SEPT.(DST)* OCT. (DST)* NOV. DEC. JAN. 2020 FEB. 2020
RISE   SET RISE   SET RISE   SET RISE   SET RISE   SET RISE   SET
A.M.   P.M. A.M.   P.M. A.M.   P.M. A.M.   P.M. A.M.   P.M. A.M.   P.M.

DAY
1 6:28   7:31 6:56   6:43 7:28   5:58 7:02   4:36 7:21   4:46 7:08   5:19
2 6:29   7:30 6:57   6:41 7:29   5:57 7:03   4:36 7:21   4:47 7:07   5:20
3 6:30   7:28 6:58   6:39 6:31   4:56 7:04   4:36 7:21   4:48 7:06   5:22
4 6:31   7:27 6:59   6:38 6:32   4:55 7:04   4:36 7:21   4:49 7:05   5:23
5 6:32   7:25 7:00   6:36 6:33   4:53 7:05   4:35 7:21   4:49 7:04   5:24
6 6:33   7:23 7:01   6:35 6:34   4:53 7:06   4:35 7:21   4:50 7:03   5:25
7 6:33   7:22 7:02   6:33 6:35   4:52 7:07   4:35 7:21   4:51 7:02   5:26
8 6:34   7:20 7:03   6:31 6:36   4:51 7:08   4:35 7:21   4:52 7:01   5:28
9 6:35   7:19 7:04   6:30 6:37   4:50 7:09   4:35 7:21   4:53 7:00   5:29
10 6:36   7:17 7:05   6:28 6:39   4:49 7:10   4:35 7:21   4:54 6:59   5:30
11 6:37   7:15 7:06   6:27 6:40   4:48 7:11   4:36 7:20   4:55 6:58   5:31
12 6:38   7:14 7:07   6:25 6:41   4:47 7:11   4:36 7:20   4:56 6:57   5:32
13 6:39   7:12 7:08   6:24 6:42   4:46 7:12   4:36 7:20   4:57 6:55   5:33
14 6:40   7:10 7:09   6:22 6:43   4:45 7:13   4:36 7:20   4:58 6:54   5:35
15 6:41   7:09 7:10   6:21 6:44   4:44 7:14   4:36 7:19   5:00 6:53   5:36
16 6:42   7:07 7:11   6:19 6:45   4:44 7:14   4:37 7:19   5:01 6:52   5:37
17 6:43   7:05 7:12   6:18 6:47   4:43 7:15   4:37 7:18   5:02 6:50   5:38
18 6:44   7:04 7:13   6:16 6:48   4:42 7:16   4:37 7:18   5:03 6:49   5:39
19 6:45   7:02 7:14   6:15 6:49   4:41 7:16   4:38 7:17   5:04 6:48   5:40
20 6:46   7:01 7:15   6:14 6:50   4:41 7:17   4:38 7:17   5:05 6:46   5:42
21 6:46   6:59 7:16   6:12 6:51   4:40 7:17   4:39 7:16   5:06 6:45   5:43
22 6:47   6:57 7:17   6:11 6:52   4:40 7:18   4:39 7:16   5:07 6:44   5:44
23 6:48   6:56 7:18   6:09 6:53   4:39 7:18   4:40 7:15   5:09 6:42   5:45
24 6:49   6:54 7:19   6:08 6:54   4:39 7:19   4:40 7:15   5:10 6:41   5:46
25 6:50   6:52 7:21   6:07 6:55   4:38 7:19   4:41 7:14   5:11 6:39   5:47
26 6:51   6:51 7:22   6:06 6:56   4:38 7:19   4:42 7:13   5:12 6:38   5:48
27 6:52   6:49 7:23   6:04 6:57   4:37 7:20   4:42 7:12   5:13 6:37   5:49
28 6:53   6:47 7:24   6:03 6:59   4:37 7:20   4:43 7:12   5:14 6:35   5:51
29 6:54   6:46 7:25   6:02 7:00   4:37 7:20   4:44 7:11   5:16 6:34   5:52
30 6:55   6:44 7:26   6:01 7:01   4:36 7:21   4:44 7:10   5:17
31 7:27   5:59 7:21   4:45 7:09   5:18

DST end

TIME ADJUSTMENT 
FOR OTHER COLORADO CITIES

This table reflects the minutes to add/subtract to the chart above 
for select towns. These are approximate; use only as a reference. 

Consult a state map for more details.

Alamosa	 +3
Buena Vista	 +5
Burlington	 -10
Craig	 +9
Durango	 +11
Fort Morgan	 -4

Gr. Junction	 +13
Gunnison	 +7
La Junta	 -6
Lamar	 -9
Sterling	 -6
Walden	 +5

*DST=(Daylight saving time)

Select big-and small-game season dates are included within this atlas for 
your convenience; however, all season dates are not listed.  
     A complete synopsis of the big-game hunting season dates can be found 
in the 2019 Colorado Big Game brochure, while the complete small-game 
hunting season dates can be found in the 2019 Small Game & Waterfowl 
brochure. These brochures are available at license agents, CPW offices and 
online in downloadable PDF and interactive, searchable formats at cpw.
state.co.us/bg/brochure and cpw.state.co.us/sgwf/brochure.

SMALL-GAME SEASON DATES AND BAG LIMITS

BIG-GAME SEASON DATES
▶ DEER

PLAINS ARCHERY
SEASON: Oct. 1–25, Nov. 6–30, 
Dec. 15–31*
*Unless otherwise noted in the 
2019 Big Game brochure tables. 
Please refer to the 2019 Big Game 
brochure for a detailed listing of 
all dates.

PLAINS MUZZLELOADER 
SEASON: Oct. 12–20

PLAINS RIFLE
SEASON: Oct. 26–Nov. 5

LATE PLAINS RIFLE
SEASON: Dec. 1–14

▶ ELK
PLAINS RIFLE
SEASON: Sept. 1–Jan. 31*
*Unless otherwise noted in the 
2019 Big Game brochure tables. 
Please refer to the 2019 Big 
Game brochure for a detailed 
listing of all dates.

▶ PRONGHORN
PLAINS RIFLE
SEASON: Oct. 5–11**
*Unless otherwise noted in the 
2019 Big Game brochure tables.
**Check hunt code tables in the 
2019 Big Game brochure for 
early and late rifle season dates 
for certain hunts, pages 51–52.

In most cases, properly handled and prepared game meat is healthy and 
safe to consume. Hunters are encouraged to contact their local public health 
department or CPW office for information on wildlife diseases that may be 
present where they plan to hunt. Public health officials recommend the fol-
lowing precautions when handling and preparing game meat:
1. Do not handle animals that are obviously sick or found dead. Report sick 

or dead animals you find to a CPW office.
2. Keep game cool, clean and dry.
3. Do not eat, drink or smoke while dressing game.
4. Use disposable gloves when cleaning game.
5. Wash hands with soap and water, or use alcohol wipes after dressing game.
6. Clean all tools and surfaces immediately afterward. Use hot, soapy water, 

then disinfect with a 10 percent chlorine bleach solution.
7. Cook game meat to an internal temperature of at least 165 degrees F to kill dis-

ease organisms and parasites. Juices from cooked game meat should be clear.
8. Do not eat any raw portions of wild game.
9. Do not feed raw wild game to domestic pets.

SAFE HANDLING OF GAME MEAT

© Jerry Neal/CPW
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TIPS AND TACTICS FOR A SUCCESSFUL COLORADO QUAIL HUNT
QUAIL HUNTING TIPS
Southeast Colorado was fairly wet this year, so things should be looking up 
for bobwhite quail, although not to the degree of 3 to 4 years ago when 
populations were booming. Populations should be close to average or a lit-
tle better than average in 2019 while scaled quail are expected to be a bit 
below average this year. Quail are most likely doing better than pheasants 
in the southeast, but a slight increase in pheasants is expected in 2019 due 
to favorable weather.  

SCOUT BEFORE THE SEASON AND DEVELOP A PLAN

CONSIDER THE HABITAT

Preseason scouting, especially in mid- to late October, can considerably 
shorten the task of finding game birds. Go early morning or evening when 
quail are most active. Take a good map (or this atlas) to mark your sight-
ings. And when you spot birds, observe nearby fields, where the birds are 
feeding, how they move between fields and where they are taking cover. 
Think about how the birds will react to hunters, how they will escape and 
which fields will swing the odds in your favor. Consider your hunting pref-
erences and focus on the fields or cover types where your personal hunting 
style will allow you to be successful. Develop a hunt plan based on the in-
formation you’ve gathered. 

Scaled quail are most numerous in areas that are relatively open at ground 
level, so focus on areas with a good percentage of bare ground. Scaled quail 
depend on winter food sources such as sunflowers, western ragweed, buf-
falo bur and occasionally cultivated milo. Stay away from heavy grass 
cover, as these areas tend to choke out the food sources that quail depend 
upon. In most cases, Conservation Reserve Program (CRP) cropland is too 
dense for scaled quail, although they thrive in disturbed, weedy areas or 
thin strands of CRP bunchgrass. Scaled quail are often found near or in 
structures, natural or manmade. Think cholla cactus, weedy or brushy ra-
vines, shrub thickets, junk piles, abandoned farm machinery, wildlife wa-
tering systems and old farmsteads. Any natural or artificial structural 
component warrants exploration.

     In some situations, bobwhites can be found in the same fields as scaled 
quail in southeastern Colorado; however bobwhite quail range is signifi-
cantly smaller. Bobwhites are primarily limited to riparian areas in north-
eastern and east-central Colorado, and riparian areas, sandsage rangeland 
and occasionally CRP lands in southeast Colorado. Isolated populations of 
bobwhites occur in sandsage communities in the northeast counties of 
Phillips and Yuma, although their numbers vary from year to year.

     In fields, bobwhites are normally found near areas with significant 
shrub development: sandsage rangeland, drainages lined with skunkbush 
sumac, native plum or chokecherry thickets, willow and snowberry ripar-
ian zones and warm season CRP grass fields that have a good shrub com-
ponent intermixed with the grasses. Look for CRP grass fields that provide 
tall overhead cover with a high percentage of bare ground. Pay attention to 
areas with sunflowers, western and giant ragweed, kochia plants, and fields 
composed of little bluestem, big bluestem, sand bluestem, switchgrass and 
yellow indiangrass. In extreme southeast Colorado, it’s not unusual to find 
bobwhites around large CRP fields that are adjacent to other habitats like 
sandsage. In the northeast, where quail habitat is more restricted, look for 
them in CRP sprinkler corners adjacent to irrigated corn fields, in CRP 
plantings along creek bottoms or field edges, and grass fields along the 
sandsage-cropland transition zone. You can also find them foraging or tak-
ing cover in weedy fencerows, abandoned farmsteads, old livestock corrals 
and other areas that provide standing weed cover. Once you have found an 
area that holds quail, take note of the important habitat types, and try to 
find other areas that replicate those habitats. 

SCALED QUAIL: 

BOBWHITE QUAIL:

© Ed Gorman/CPW

HUNTING TIPS

WALK-IN ACCESS PROGRAM EXPANDED TO INCLUDE BIG-GAME
BIG-GAME HUNTING TIPS

Articles by Colorado Parks and Wildlife Small Game Manager, Ed Gorman.
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HUNTING TIPS

WALK-IN ACCESS PROGRAM EXPANDED TO INCLUDE BIG-GAME
BIG-GAME HUNTING TIPS

CPW expanded its Walk-in Access Program to include the entire eastern 
plains, totaling approximately 88,000 acres for big-game hunting in 2019. 
The big-game program will allow public access to specified Walk-in Access 
(WIA) properties for deer, elk and pronghorn, within specified big-game 
season dates from Sept. 1 to Dec. 31, 2019. Following are some tips to help 
make for a successful big-game WIA hunt:

Few big-game hunters get out in the field without doing a bit of preseason 
scouting. This preseason work is also important for small-game species, if 
for no other reason than to figure out which is the right field on opening 
day. Frequently, scouting game birds isn’t as much about seeing birds as it 
is about seeing how accessible fields relate to each other and how birds will 
move between them, what the habitat is like and, hopefully, observation of 
tracks or birds in roads. When you find birds, there is little reason to dis-
turb or flush them while scouting.

     Most of this also applies for big game. Most big-game hunters under-
stand scouting is particularly important when you might spend most of 
your time hunting on public WIA areas. Finding which fields hold big 
game consistently is the key, although hunters who recognize important 
habitat characteristics can do well.  

HUNT PLANNING FOR BIG-GAME

Things to consider include habitat characteristics and how they attract 
deer, disturbance and competing uses, surrounding habitat, and food 
sources. Deer use of WIA areas generally declines over the season, simply 
due to the number of bird hunters accessing the fields; however, some 
fields are large enough and have enough good habitat surrounding them 
that they can hold deer throughout the season. Before the pheasant season 
begins, deer tend to congregate in the same fields that hold large numbers 
of pheasants, but they probably won’t stay long after opening day of pheas-
ant season. This is where scouting and getting permission play a huge role 
because you get a good idea where to start looking when the deer leave a 
certain area.
     It goes without saying that game birds are heavily dependent on habitat 
in a relatively small area because they are not tremendously mobile. Deer 
are also heavily dependent on habitat, but, because they are more mobile, 
they depend on habitat on a larger scale. But what kinds of habitat are im-
portant for deer across the WIA range? CRP land would probably rank 
most important, followed closely by sand-sage rangeland. In terms of CRP, 
look for fields that offer security cover in the form of tall, concealing vege-
tation. Tall grass or weedy cover does not seem to matter much, as long as 
deer have a chance to hide in it. Topography can be important too — par-
ticularly a field that offers good security cover and contains a nook or a ra-
vine not easily visible from a road. Deer generally don't use CRP to forage, 
although there are some exceptions to this. Think about where they are 
moving daily to find preferred foods. Generally, deer can be seen in fields 
or are moving to and from bedding areas early and late in the day. Range-
land, like CRP, varies in attractiveness to deer. Experience has shown that 
blocks of rangeland that offer concealment, either in the form of vegetation 
or topography, are most attractive to deer. Proximity to food can be impor-
tant, but deer appear to show little concern about traveling to find food 
when the cover in a distant pasture is greatly valuable. 

CONSIDER THE HABITAT

BE PREPARED
Many WIA properties will be open for both small-game and big-game 
hunting, while other properties remain small-game only. Small-/big-game 
combo properties will be shown as yellow polygons on printed and mobile 
maps, and marked in the field with yellow boundary signs. Small-game-
only signs will be depicted as white polygons on maps and will be marked 
with white boundary signs. Please see the Regular Walk-In Access bro-
chure for additional details about the program and properties.

© Ed Gorman/CPW

©Wayne Lewis/CPW
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PHEASANT HUNTING TIPS
TIPS FOR A SUCCESSFUL COLORADO PHEASANT HUNT

On Nov. 9, hunters and bird dogs alike will celebrate as Colorado’s 2019–20 pheas-
ant season opens statewide. According to wildlife managers, pheasant populations 
are average to above average this year. Precipitation returned to much of the core 
pheasant range in the last several years, helping to improve nesting conditions and 
rebuild Colorado’s pheasant crop. Serious hailstorms occurred across some of the 
better pheasant range in the southeast, which is expected to impact populations in 
these areas. Although pheasant populations remain below the peak numbers that 
hunters enjoyed several years ago, there are enough roosters to keep things exciting 
and plenty of additional reasons to lace up your hunting boots and explore Colora-
do’s Eastern Plains this fall. These tips will help you get the most out of your hunt:

1. SCOUT FOR SUCCESS
Scouting is always important but it’s even more critical when there are fewer birds 
afield. Colorado’s core pheasant habitat lies in the vast, cultivated farmlands and 
Conservation Reserve Program (CRP) fields of Yuma, Logan, Washington, Sedgwick 
and Phillips counties. However, pheasant populations are localized based on the hab-
itat that’s available in these areas. Locating “birdy” spots prior to your actual hunt 
will make time spent in the field much more productive.

3. UNDERSTAND PHEASANT BEHAVIOR
Pheasants follow a routine that’s predictable. Understanding pheasant behavior can 
ensure you’re in the right place at the right time and help you to locate more birds. In 
early morning, pheasants leave the thick cover of their roosting sites and move into 
open croplands (corn, milo or winter wheat) to feed. Depending on weather condi-
tions and hunting pressure, birds typically feed for an hour or two and then seek shel-
ter in grassy fringes (loafing cover) adjacent to feeding sites, where they will remain 
for the remainder of midday. Pheasants return to open fields to feed about an hour 
before sunset. This behavior pattern remains consistent except during periods of ex-
treme cold or wind or when heavy snow forces birds to seek shelter in dense roosting 
cover throughout most of the day.

4. HUNT SMART
Pheasants hear extremely well and quickly become savvy to boisterous hunters. 
Slamming your truck door, yelling at untrained dogs or chit-chatting too loudly with 
other members in your hunting party is a surefire way to return home empty 
handed. Pheasants often flush in response to shutting off a car engine, so be sure to 
park away from your hunting area. Lastly, be mindful of wind direction. Hunt into 
the wind whenever possible. Walking upwind makes it harder for pheasants to hear 
approaching footsteps and also makes it much easier for dogs to detect scent.

Hunting gets better later in the season. Not only have the crowds of early season 
hunters thinned out, but the hunting conditions have improved as well. By 
December, corn fields and other croplands have all been cut and harvested, forcing 
pheasants to seek refuge in narrow draws, sloughs, shelter belts and grassy pockets 
— areas much more accessible to hunters. 

6. REFER TO THE SMALL GAME & WATERFOWL BROCHURE
A small-game license, habitat stamp and a Harvest Information Program (HIP) 
number are required to hunt pheasants and to access WIA properties. For further 
information, including hunting regulations and bag and possession limits, pick up a 
copy of the 2019 Small Game & Waterfowl brochure available at statewide license 
agents, CPW offices and parks, and online at cpw.state.co.us/sgwf/brochure.

Article by Jerry Neal. Neal is a media and information specialist and senior video producer for Colorado Parks and 
Wildlife, and is the former editor of Colorado Outdoors online.

5. LATER IN THE SEASON IS BETTER

2. ASK FOR PERMISSION
Much of the land in eastern Colorado is privately owned, but don’t let that deter you. 
Although landowners typically reserve opening weekend and holidays for family and 
friends, most are open to granting hunting access to strangers at other times of the 
season. Be courteous and don’t be afraid to knock on a few doors until you get a “yes.” 
Some of the best pheasant hunting is located on private property. And if you’re 
granted access, a thoughtful “thank you” can go a long way toward future permission.

HUNTING TIPS

Photos this page © Jerry Neal/CPW
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MAPS

Photos this page © Jerry Neal/CPW
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MAPS
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Printed for free distribution by: 
COLORADO PARKS AND WILDLIFE 

6060 Broadway, Denver, CO 80216
303-297-1192 

cpw.state.co.us

NOTICE ABOUT THIS GUIDE 
This brochure is not a legal notice nor a complete collection of hunting regulations and laws. Copies of statutes and regulations can be obtained from a CPW office or at 
cpw.state.co.us/regulations. For questions, call CPW at 303-297-1192.


