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noTe: Laws and regulations in this brochure are paraphrased for easier understanding and 
are intended only as a guide. Colorado statutes and regulations are available for viewing at 
CPW offices and online at cpw.state.co.us/aboutus/Pages/Regulations.aspx.

aboUT THe CoveR:  Richard Clifton of Milford, Del., 
is the 2014 Colorado Waterfowl Stamp Art contest 
winner with his painting, “Sunset Marsh - Cackling 
Canadas.”   

     The Colorado Wildlife Heritage Foundation sells 
prints and stamps of the 2014 artwork.  If interested 
please contact the foundation at (303) 291-7212 or 
www.cwhf.us.  Proceeds from the sale of waterfowl 
stamps and prints support wetlands that benefit 
Colorado’s waterfowl species.
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2014WHAT’S NEW

 
    

                                  ResIDenT         nonResIDenT
» Habitat Stamp (required) .............................$10 ......................... $10
» Small Game ......................................................$21 ......................... $56
» Colorado Waterfowl Stamp ........................$5 ............................... $5
» Federal Migratory Bird
   Hunting Stamp (Duck Stamp) ....................$15 ......................... $15

» Small Game (one-day) ..................................$11 ......................... $11
» Small Game (additional day) .......................$5 ............................... $5
» Youth Small Game (Under 18)  ...................$1.75 ................. $1.75
» Small Game & Fishing Combo...................$41 ...........................n/a

» Military (60 percent or more 
    disability, see details below) .........................free ...........................n/a
Prices include 25-cent search-and-rescue fee and 75-cent surcharge for 
the Wildlife Management Public Education Fund. 

wHaT YoU neeD To bUY a lICense anD HUnT
1.  ID. Secure and verifi able ID. (See page 2) A Social Security Number is 
     required for new hunters age 12 and older.
2.  PRoof of residency. (See page 2)
3.  PRoof of hunter education. (See requirements below)
4.  lICense. All hunters must buy a small-game license to hunt waterfowl. 
5.  sTaMPs. A Habitat Stamp is required (see page 2).  For waterfowl, 
     all hunters age 16 and older must have a Colorado Waterfowl Stamp 
     and federal migratory bird stamp prior to hunting. 

 HUnTeR eDUCaTIon (safeTY) ReQUIReMenTs 
Hunters born on or aft er Jan. 1, 1949, must have completed an approved 
hunter education course sanctioned by a state or province before purchas-
ing a license. Colorado honors hunter education courses from other states 
and provinces. You must present an original hunter safety card when buy-
ing a license (unless previously verifi ed) or enter the required information 
when applying by mail or online. You must carry your hunter education 
card while hunting unless a “V” is printed on the license, which indicates 
hunter education has been verifi ed at a CPW offi  ce. Hunter education 
courses can be found online at cpw.state.co.us/learn/Pages/HE-Courses.aspx.  

YoUTH lICenses anD MenToR HUnTInG
People under age 18 must have a license to hunt waterfowl. A youth small-
game license is $1, plus surcharge. All youths must meet hunter education 
requirements. Th ose under 16 must be accompanied by a mentor while 
hunting. A mentor must be 18 or older and must meet hunter education 
requirements. Mentors aren’t required to hunt. While hunting, youths and 
mentors must be able to see and hear each other without binoculars, radios 
or other aids. Youths can buy an adult license as long as they meet hunter 
education requirements. At age 18, hunters must buy an adult license.

DIsableD veTeRans
Colorado residents who are disabled veterans or Purple Heart recipi-
ents can get free lifetime combination small-game hunting and fi shing 
licenses. You must have served on active duty and have been honorably 
discharged. Proof is required of a service-related disability rated by the 
Veterans Administration of at least 60 percent through disability retire-
ment benefi ts or a pension administered by the Department of Veteran 
Aff airs or respective service department.

lICense fees

lICense InfoRMaTIonlICense InfoRMaTIon

 save TIMe:  bUY onlIne oR bY PHone
Go to www.bit.ly/cpwlicensesales or call 1-800-244-5613. 
CPW offi  ces and license agents also sell licenses.

» CanvasbaCK lIMIT CHanGes... Th e daily bag 
limit for canvasback ducks has been changed from two 
last year to one this year. See page 8 for details.

» new PonDs, new HUnTs aT TaMaRaCK... 
CPW staff  has established a new system for hunting 
Tamarack SWA. To increase the quality of hunts and 
better manage the duck population and conservation, 
seven ponds that will be open on a rotating basis each 
day. Th ese will be available to hunt through a new lot-
tery reservation system. See page 17 for details.         

» HUnTInG ReseRvaTIon CHanGes... Th ere are 
many changes for reserving waterfowl and small-game 
hunting spots on properties in Morgan and Logan 
counties. If you plan on making a reservation, check 
this brochure fi rst to ensure you follow correct pro-
cedures. Properties aff ected include: Andrick Ponds, 
Atwood, Brush, Brush Prairie Ponds, Elliott, Jackson 
Lake, Jean K. Tool, Red Lion and Tamarack Ranch.  

» swa CloseD To HUnTInG... Frank State Wild-
life Area, which includes land in both Larimer and 
Weld counties, has been closed to all hunting. Public 
access is limited to south of the river on the east and 
west sides of the county line for fi shing and wildlife-
related recreation only. See page 15 for details. 

» YoUR waTeRfowl sTaMP DollaRs aT 
woRK... CPW along with with Ducks Unlimited, the 
Colorado Wildlife Heritage Foundation, and the U. S. 
Fish and Wildlife Service is currently working on 17 
stamp-funded projects through the Colorado Wetlands 
for Wildlife Program (a partnership that combines 
Waterfowl Stamp funds with Great Outdoors Colorado 
funds).  Th ese projects will restore, enhance, and create 
wetland habitat for the benefi t waterfowl and other 
wildlife.  Project sites include state wildlife areas, state 
parks, and state trust lands open to public hunting.

» YoUR HabITaT sTaMP DollaRs aT woRK... 
Colorado Parks and Wildlife is currently working on 
12 land projects  funded through the Colorado Wildlife 
Habitat Protection Program (a partnership that com-
bines hunter and angler Habitat Stamp funds and Great 
Outdoors Colorado funds). When completed, these 
acquisitions will protect 54,000 acres of wildlife habitat 
and provide 49,278 acres of new public access for hunt-
ing, fi shing and wildlife-related recreation activities. 

» CoVeR PHotoS... Waterfowl Stamp artwork by 
Richard Clift on. Inset photos provided by Ducks Unlim-
ited, except for far right image of 11-year-old with fi rst 
archery goose, by Ruth Chatten, CPW.

http://bit.ly/cpwlicensesales
http://cpw.state.co.us/learn/Pages/HE-Courses.aspx
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PURCHasInG a lICense
 lICense ReQUIReMenTs
1. Hunters must have a small-game license, youth small-game or combina-

tion fi shing/small-game license to hunt waterfowl. Hunters must carry 
their license when hunting and show it when requested by law enforce-
ment offi  cers.

2. Hunters age 16 or older must have a $15 Federal Migratory Bird Hunting 
and Conservation Stamp (Duck Stamp) and a $5 Colorado State Water-
fowl Stamp to hunt waterfowl. 
ColoRaDo waTeRfowl sTaMP: Th e state stamp is printed on your 
hunting license and validated by signing your name in ink across the 
imprint. Th e gum-backed state stamp is available for an extra $2.50, if 
desired, and is mailed aft er July 1. 
feDeRal DUCK sTaMP: Th e federal stamp is available aft er July 1 online, 
by phone and at select post offi  ces (www.fws.gov/duckstamps/stamps.htm). 
It is valid when you sign your name in ink across the face of the stamp. It is 
also available at CPW offi  ces and license agents. When purchased at state 
outlets, an electronic stamp is issued. Th is instantly gives you a unique code 
that is valid for 45 days from the date of issue, suffi  cient time for the gum-
backed stamp to arrive in the mail. A federal stamp is not required to take 
light geese during the conservation order season.  

3. Annual fi shing, small-game and furbearer licenses, as well as Colorado 
waterfowl stamps and Habitat Stamps are valid April 1 through March 
31 of the following year. Lifetime small-game and fi shing combination 
licenses are valid as long as you are a Colorado resident.

4. If a license is restricted to a specifi c area, you can hunt only that area.
5. Licenses and stamps are not transferable.
6. False statements made in buying a license and altering a license are illegal 

and void the license.
7. Lost or destroyed licenses can be replaced by buying a new one or sign-

ing an affi  davit and paying a fee. Forms are available at CPW offi  ces 
(listed on the inside cover of this brochure) and license agents. 

HabITaT sTaMPs aRe ReQUIReD foR HUnTeRs
Habitat Stamps are $10 and only one is required per person per year for 
anyone ages 18-64. Stamps are valid April 1-March 31. 

» You must purchase a stamp before buying or applying for a preference 
point or a hunting or fi shing license. 

» A lifetime stamp is $300.25.
» Anyone buying a one-day or additional-day license for fi shing and/or 

small game is exempt from purchasing the Habitat Stamp with the fi rst 
two of these licenses. Th e habitat fee will be assessed when a third one-
day or additional-day license is purchased for fi shing or small game.

» Anyone who holds a free Lifetime Fishing License, a Veteran’s Lifetime 
Combination Small-Game Hunting/Fishing License, or are approved 
for the Big Game Mobility Impaired Hunting Program is exempt from 
the Habitat Stamp requirement. See cpw.state.co.us/aboutus/Pages/
Accessibility.aspx.

ResIDenCY ReQUIReMenTs
Th e requirements to qualify as a Colorado resident to buy a hunting license:

1. You must live in Colorado at least 6 consecutive months immediately before 
applying for or buying a license, and must intend to make Colorado home 
(except No. 3 and No. 4 below.) Th e residence address you give to buy or 
apply for a license must be the same as on your Colorado income tax return.

2. A valid Colorado driver’s license or Colorado ID is proof of residency if 
issued as least 6 months prior to buying or applying for a license. If your 
ID was issued or renewed less than 6 months prior, you must provide 
documentation that you were a resident for the required 6-month period.

3. U.S. military personnel and military personnel of U.S. allies on active duty 
in Colorado under permanent orders and their dependents. Th is includes 
people who were residents when they entered the military and maintain 
Colorado as their home of record, and their dependents (who keep Colorado 
as their home of record.) Also included are personnel of the U.S. Diplomatic 
Service or diplomatic services of nations recognized by the U.S. assigned to 
duty here on permanent active duty orders and their dependents. Active duty 
does not include reserve status, National Guard or government contractors.

4. Full-time students enrolled and attending an accredited Colorado college, 
university or trade school at least 6 months immediately before applying for 
or buying a license. Th is includes students who are temporarily absent from 
Colorado but still enrolled. Colorado residents who attend school full-time 
out of state and pay nonresident tuition still qualify for a resident license.

5. Children under 18 have the same residency status as their parent, legal guard-
ian or person with whom they live the majority of the time per court order.

6. If you have a home in Colorado and another state, call (303) 297-1192 
to make sure you comply with Colorado residency requirements before 
obtaining a hunting or fi shing license. 

7. Except as in No. 3 and No. 4 above, you lose your Colorado residency 
if you apply for, buy or accept a hunting, fi shing or trapping license as a 
resident of another state or country; register to vote outside Colorado or 
get a driver’s license with an address in another state.

seCURe anD veRIfIable IDenTIfICaTIon
As required by the state’s “Secure and Verifi able Identity Document Act,” 
residents and nonresidents buying or applying for hunting or fi shing licenses 
must show secure and verifi able ID. For a list of acceptable and unacceptable 
documentation, go to the CPW website at  cpw.state.co.us/Documents/Rules 
Regs/Brochure/SecureAndVerifiableIdentity.pdf.

CHIlD-sUPPoRT DelInQUenCY
State law requires a Social Security number to buy a license. It is not displayed 
on the license but is provided, if requested, to Child Support Enforcement au-
thorities. Hunting and fi shing licenses are not issued to people suspended for 
noncompliance with child support. In addition, any current licenses become 
invalid if held by someone noncompliant with child support.

weaPons ResTRICTIons
Colorado and federal laws prohibit people convicted of certain crimes, such 
as domestic violence, from possessing weapons even for hunting. If you’ve 
been convicted of a crime, check with the appropriate law enforcement 
authority to fi nd out how these laws apply to you.

as domestic violence, from possessing weapons even for hunting. If you’ve 
been convicted of a crime, check with the appropriate law enforcement 
authority to fi nd out how these laws apply to you.PURCHASE STAMPS

& PRINTS ONLINE
WWW.CWHF.US 
CALL TO ORDER
303.291.7212

2014Colorado Waterfowl Stamp
“Sunset Marsh - Cackling Canadas” by Richard Clifton

http://cpw.state.co.us/aboutus/Pages/Accessibility.aspx
http://www.fws.gov/duckstamps/stamps.htm
http://cpw.state.co.us/Documents/RulesRegs/Brochure/SecureAndVerifiableIdentity.pdf
www.hugahunter.com
www.cwhf.us
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Laws and legal hunting methods explained on page 11
Know befoRe YoU Go

walK-In aCCess PRoGRaM 

Th e Walk-In Access (WIA) program 
provides opportunities to hunt small 
game, migratory game birds and fur-
bearers on enrolled properties. 
    WIA properties allow hunting small 
game, furbearers, migratory game 
birds and doves, but only during 
established season dates. Properties 
are closed to hunting Gambel’s quail, 
Gunnison’s sage-grouse and greater 
sage-grouse. 
     Th e brochure includes tips on how 
to have successful dove, pheasant and 
quail hunts in Colorado.
     Th e regular season walk-in proper-
ties are open Sept. 1 through the end 
of February. 
     Th e late cropland season properties 
are open from opening day of pheasant 
season through the end of February. 
     Extended walk-in properties are 
open from the start of pheasant season 
through the end of March. 
     Properties are open to foot access 
only, from one hour before sunrise 
until one hour aft er sunset. Th ey are 
open two hours before sunrise until 
two hours aft er sunset for waterfowl 
hunting. 
     Hunters must have a small-game 
license and Habitat Stamp to hunt on 
WIA lands. Properties enrolled are 
posted with Walk-In Access signs and 
published in the WIA atlas. Access is 
prohibited as posted when the land-
owner is actively harvesting crops. 
     Two atlases for 2014-15 will be 
published. Th e early version, the 2014 
Small Game Walk-In Atlas is available 
in mid-August and includes properties 
open Sept. 1. Th e 2014 Late Cropland 
Atlas will be available in late October 
and includes an updated property list. 

 

cpw.state.co.us  

C O L O R A D O  P A R K S  &  W I L D L I F E

2014 Small Game  Walk-In Atlas

online brochure

ACCESS TO PROPERTIES STARTS SEPT. 1, 2014
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HOW TO HAVE A BETTER

DOVE HUNT

WHERE IS A GOOD HUNTING SPOT?

OTHER FACTORS TO CONSIDER

Doves were harvested in 50 Colorado counties 

during the last harvest survey period.

     So what makes a good dove hunting location?  

     There are some general things hunters should 

pay attention to when looking for a place to hunt.  

      For a lone hunter, 50 doves in a specific area 

might be enough to enjoy a good hunt, while a 

small group of hunters will require more doves.  

But find a concentration of several hundred or a 

thousand doves, and a great hunt should ensue.  

     Generally, doves concentrate around three 

primary features: roosting areas, a convenient 

food source and water sources.  

     Find any of these alone and you should find 

some doves – finding two or three together can 

mean a large number of doves and the potential 

for some great action.  

     Studying these three primary features and 

understanding how doves relate to them is help-

ful in making a list of potential dove hunting 

spots.

MMourning doves are the most widespread game bird in Colo-

rado, occurring in all of Colorado’s counties. With such a wide 

distribution, the trick to successful dove hunting becomes find-

ing concentrations of doves during the season.

      In most cases, the best dove hunting occurs on both pub-

lic and private land, and the Walk-In Access program offers a 

great opportunity for a hunter to get started.   

      While some areas may consistently provide better dove 

hunting than others, harvest numbers are influenced by 

hunter numbers as much as dove abundance, and 

hunters who are willing to seek out less popular 

areas should find excellent  

action and less  
hunting pressure.   

HABITAT - LOOK FOR WHAT'S MISSING

WEATHER EFFECTS

Preparation plays 

an important role 

in a successful 
dove hunt.   

     Scouting, watch-

ing the weather 
forecast and know-

ing how doves 
react to weather 

patterns are im-
portant concepts 

to master for a suc-

cessful hunt.  Here 

are some concepts 

worth considering 

before a dove hunt.

Mourning dove ©  Wayne Lewis, CPW

Determine which of the 

three primary habitat 

requirements is in the 

least supply in a given 

area and focus hunting 

efforts on the few areas 

that offer it.  
     These factors change, 

but figuring out which 

habitat requirement is 

most limited across the 

landscape is paramount 

to a good hunt.  
     In an arid climate like 

eastern Colorado, water 

is not very prevalent in 

a normal year and often 

provides a good focal 

point for doves.  
     Yet, if an area happens 

to be  unusually wet, 

each individual water 

source is less attractive 

to doves because they 

can find water in multiple 

locations.       Wise hunters focus 

on the habitat require-

ment that is most limited 

within their hunting area.

Weather is the most 

significant factor in dove 

hunting.       COLD FRONTS in 

August can impact dove 

numbers in northern 

Colorado.  But even a 

mild front can hurry the 

migration.  In southern 

Colorado, severe cold 

fronts are less common 

until October.  
     EVERYDAY WEATHER 

EVENTS can significantly 

effect how doves use the 

land and, in turn, what 

hunters find in the field.  

     EXTREMELY DRY 

seasons can reduce dove 

numbers in rangeland 

settings because forage 

is not as plentiful. In dry 

years, forage is much 

more predictable in culti-

vated crop fields.  

     Food sources often 

include broadleaf forb 

seeds that grow in road  

ditches, fence rows and 

abandoned farmsteads. 

8

 2014 Colorado Walk-In Atlas  

©  CPW

HOW TO HAVE BETTER

TIPS AND TACTICS  FOR A SUCCESSFUL HUNT

First, make sure you are hunting where there are pheasants and quail!  The 

maps below show shaded regions of Colorado where there are populations 

of pheasants and quail.  See the following pages for more advice on hunting 

each species.

PHEASANT

AND QUAIL 

HUNTS

PHEASANT:

SCALED QUAIL: 

BOBWHITE QUAIL:

If you hunt small game, furbearers, or migratory 
birds in Colorado, including by falconry, you must 
sign up with HIP before your license is valid.  
     Hunters must write their HIP number in the 
space provided on the license.  Hunters will be 
asked basic questions about their hunting, includ-
ing how many birds they harvested the previous 

season and what species they plan to hunt this year.  
A season means Sept. 1-March 15 of the next year.
     Both the phone line and website run 24 hours 
a day, every day, and the process takes about 5 
minutes.  To sign up for HIP, hunters need to call 
1-866-265-6447  or go online to www.colohip.com.  

HaRvesT InfoRMaTIon PRoGRaM (HIP)  1-866-265-6447 (1-866-CoLoHIP)

Legal times to hunt waterfowl are one-half hour 
before sunrise to sunset. 
     In light goose conservation season, hunting is 
allowed one-half hour before sunrise to one-half 
hour aft er sunset.  
     Th e sunrise/sunset chart below lists time in 
Denver. Subtract 1 minute from opening and 

closing time for each 12 1/2 miles east of Denver. 
Add 1 minute to opening and closing time for 
each 12 1/2 miles west of Denver. 
     (Th ese changes assume that each degree of lon-
gitude equals 50 miles and a change of 1 degree of 
longitude equals a 4-minute change in sunrise and 
sunset times.) 

 leGal HUnTInG HoURs

2014-2015 sUnRIse/sUnseT Table (DenveR)

        sePT.       oCT.        nov.        DeC.   jan. 2015 feb. 2015 MaRCH 2015 
 RIse   seT   RIse  seT   RIse  seT   RIse   seT RIse   seT   RIse   seT  RIse   seT 
 a.M.   P.M. a.M.  P.M. a.M.  P.M. a.M.   P.M. a.M.   P.M. a.M.   P.M. a.M.   P.M.
DaY (DsT)  (DsT)  (Daylight saving time)       (DsT)
1  6:28  7:31 6:56 6:42 7:29 5:58 7:02  4:36 7:21 4:46 7:08 5:19 6:33 5:52 
2   6:29  7:29  6:57  6:41 6:30  4:57 7:03  4:36 7:21  4:47 7:07 5:21 6:32 5:53
3   6:30  7:28   6:58  6:39 6:31  4:56 7:04  4:36 7:21  4:48 7:06 5:22 6:30 5:54
4   6:31  7:26 6:59  6:37 6:32  4:55 7:05  4:35 7:21  4:49 7:05 5:23 6:29 5:55
5   6:32  7:25 7:00  6:36 6:33  4:53 7:06  4:35 7:21  4:50 7:04 5:24 6:27 5:56
6   6:33  7:23 7:01  6:34 6:34  4:52 7:07  4:35 7:21  4:51 7:03 5:25 6:26 5:57
7   6:34  7:21 7:02  6:33 6:35  4:51 7:07  4:35 7:21  4:52 7:02 5:27 6:24 5:58
8   6:35  7:20 7:03  6:31 6:37  4:50 7:08  4:35 7:21  4:53 7:01 5:28 7:23 6:59
9  6:36  7:18 7:04  6:30 6:38  4:49 7:09  4:35 7:21  4:53 7:00 5:29 7:21 7:00
10  6:36  7:17 7:05  6:28 6:39  4:48 7:10  4:35 7:21  4:55 6:59 5:30 7:20 7:01
11  6:37 7:15 7:06  6:27 6:40  4:48 7:11  4:36 7:20  4:56 6:57 5:31 7:18 7:02
12  6:38  7:13 7:07  6:25 6:41  4:47 7:12  4:36 7:20  4:57 6:56 5:33 7:16 7:04
13  6:39  7:12 7:08 6:23 6:42  4:46 7:12  4:36 7:20  4:58 6:55 5:34 7:15 7:05
14  6:40  7:10 7:09  6:22 6:43  4:45 7:13  4:36 7:20  4:59 6:54 5:35 7:13 7:06
15 6:41  7:08 7:10  6:21 6:45  4:44 7:14  4:36 7:19  5:00 6:53 5:36 7:12 7:07
16  6:42  7:07 7:11  6:19 6:46  4:43 7:14  4:37 7:19  5:01 6:51 5:37 7:10 7:08
17  6:43  7:05 7:12  6:18 6:47  4:43 7:15  4:37 7:18  5:02 6:50 5:38 7:08 7:09
18   6:44  7:03 7:13  6:16 6:48  4:42 7:16  4:37 7:18  5:03 6:49 5:40 7:07 7:10
19   6:45  7:02 7:14  6:15 6:49  4:41 7:16  4:38 7:17  5:04 6:47 5:41 7:05 7:11
20   6:46  7:00 7:15  6:13 6:50  4:41 7:17  4:38 7:17  5:05 6:46 5:42 7:04 7:12
21  6:47  6:59 7:17  6:12 6:51  4:40 7:17  4:39 7:16  5:06 6:45 5:43 7:02 7:13
22   6:48  6:57 7:18  6:11 6:52  4:40 7:18  4:39 7:16  5:08 6:43 5:44 7:00 7:14
23  6:49  6:55 7:19  6:09 6:53  4:39 7:18  4:40 7:15  5:09 6:42 5:45 6:59 7:15
24   6:50  6:54 7:20  6:08 6:55  4:39 7:19  4:40 7:14  5:10 6:41 5:46 6:57 7:16
25   6:50  6:52 7:21  6:07 6:56  4:38 7:19  4:41 7:14  5:11 6:39 5:47 6:56 7:17
26   6:51  6:50 7:22  6:05 6:57  4:38 7:20  4:42 7:13  5:12 6:38 5:49 6:54 7:18
27   6:52  6:49 7:23  6:04 6:58  4:37 7:20  4:42 7:12  5:14 6:36 5:50 6:52 7:19
28   6:53  6:47 7:24  6:03 6:59  4:37 7:20  4:43 7:11  5:15 6:35 5:51 6:51 7:20
29   6:54  6:45 7:25  6:02 7:00  4:37 7:20  4:44 7:11  5:16     6:49 7:21
30   6:55  6:44 7:26  6:00 7:01  4:36 7:21  4:45 7:10  5:17   6:48 7:22
31     7:27  5:59         7:21  4:45 7:09  5:18   6:46 7:23
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foR oTHeR ColoRaDo CITIes

This table refl ects the minutes to add/subtract to the 
chart above for select towns. These are approximate, use 
only as a reference. Consult a state map for more details.

alamosa +3
buena vista +5
burlington -10
Craig +9
Durango +11
fort Morgan -4

Gr. junction +13
Gunnison +7
la junta -6
lamar -9
sterling -6
walden +5

DST 
start

http://bit.ly/coloradowalkinatlas
http://bit.ly/coloradolatecroplandatlas
http://www.colohip.com
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The
Corner Store,
Colorado
Style
 

With your mobile device, you can shop whenever and wherever you like. 
Whether you are looking for books, hats, DVDs and more, or are wishing to 
purchase your yearly hunting and fishing licenses or state parks pass, Colorado Parks 
and Wildlife makes it easy for you. If you need to purchase a hunting or fishing license, 
you’ll find just what you’re looking for at www.co.wildlifelicense.com. Need to buy your 
annual state park pass? You’ll find it at parksstore.state.co.us. And if you are looking for 
outdoor-related books, hats, DVDs, or the perfect gift for your favorite outdoor 
enthusiast, you’ll find everything you need and more at wildlifestore.state.co.us.  
You can also call (303) 291-7469 and we’ll help you place your order today.

©
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http://www.co.wildlifelicense.com
http://parksstore.state.co.us
http://wildlifestore.state.co.us
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 2014 Colorado Waterfowl Hunting  

If you removed the plug from your shotgun during the 2014 Light Goose  
Conservation order season, remember to replace the plug in your gun before 

hunting in the fall small-game and waterfowl seasons.

 attention: snow goose hunters

 TaGGInG, sHIPPInG, IMPoRTInG
1. A carcass tag must be attached to wildlife 
requiring one.
2. Licensees must accompany wildlife not 
requiring a carcass tag (except as in No. 4).
3. One fully feathered wing or head must be 
attached to birds in transit until they arrive 
at hunter’s home or commercial processing 
facility.
4. To ship migratory birds, packages must 
be marked outside with name and address 
of sender, name and address of receiver and 
number of birds, by species. Licenses, a pho-
tocopy of the license or carcass tag must ac-
company wildlife shipped by common carrier.
5. It is illegal to leave migratory birds 
anywhere other than at your home or with 
someone else for picking, cleaning, process-
ing, permanent or temporary storage or 
taxidermy unless the birds or package of birds 
have a tag attached. You must sign tags, in-
clude your address, total number and species 
of birds, date of kill and your hunting license 
number.
6. Migratory bird preservation facilities:

a. If you have someone else’s migra-
tory birds for picking, cleaning, freezing, 
processing, storing or shipping, you must 
have records showing the number of each 
species, date you received them, date birds 
were disposed of, and name and address of 
who received the birds.
b. You must keep records 1 year aft er the 
last entry.
c. You must allow people authorized to 
enforce this regulation to enter the facilities 
at reasonable hours to inspect records and 
premises.

7. Per week, beginning on Sunday, it is illegal 
to import more than 25 doves and 10 pigeons 
from a foreign country; or more than 10 

ducks and 5 geese from a foreign country, 
except Canada and Mexico. Doves and wa-
terfowl imported from Canada and Mexico 
cannot exceed Canadian and Mexican export 
limits. One fully feathered wing must stay 
attached to birds transported and shipped be-
tween ports of entry and someone’s home or 
a migratory bird facility. It is illegal to import 
someone else’s birds.
8. It is illegal to take, have, transport, import 
or export migratory birds, their parts, nests 
or eggs that were taken, bought, sold, trans-
ported, possessed or exported illegally. 
9. It is illegal to have or transport live migra-
tory birds, including wounded birds. You 
must kill migratory game birds immediately 
aft er recovering them. 
10. No permit is required to have or transport 
plumage and skins of legally taken migratory 
birds for your own use.
11. No permit required to have, dispose of 
and transport feathers of wild ducks and wild 
geese legally killed, or of birds seized by wild-
life authorities. It is legal to use feathers to 
make fi shing fl ies, bed pillows, mattresses and 
similar commercial items, except millinery or 
ornamental use. 
12. It is illegal to buy, sell, barter, or off er to 
buy or sell feathers or mounted specimens of 
migratory game birds.

 Call befoRe DIGGInG
1-800-922-1987
Colorado law requires waterfowl hunters to 
call the Utility Notifi cation Center of Colo-
rado before digging hunting pits.  By doing 
so, hunters can avoid accidentally hitting 
electric, gas, water and other utility lines.

DonaTInG wIlDlIfe
You can donate edible parts of wildlife to a 
like-license holder anywhere or to anyone at 

the recipient’s home. A like-license is for the 
same species, sex, dates and manner of take 
as the donor’s license. Bag and possession 
limits apply to donors and recipients and 
birds must be properly tagged. See “Tagging, 
Shipping, Importing,” above. 

wIlDlIfe CaUsInG DaMaGe
Colorado law allows landowners to protect 
private property from most wildlife dam-
age. For information, call the CPW at (303) 
297-1192. 

Wildlife managers need help gathering 
information about the migratory bird 
populations. If you kill a banded bird, 
please report it to the uSGS Bird 
Banding Lab, www.reportband.gov or 
call 1-800-327-BAND.

waTCH foR banDeD bIRDs

aGGReGaTe: Total number of animals allowed 
to be taken in one day, by one person. Th is is 
equal to the largest daily bag limit. 

DaIlY baG lIMIT: Maximum number of birds 
you can kill daily, including birds eaten or do-
nated the day you killed them.

CenTRal flYwaY: East of the Continental 
Divide.

Geese: All species of geese and brant. Light 
geese means lesser snow geese (including blue), 
greater snow geese and Ross’ geese. Dark geese 
means Canada geese, white-fronted geese, brant 
and all other species of geese except light geese. 

ManIPUlaTIon: Alteration of natural vegeta-
tion or agricultural crops by activities that in-
clude, but are not limited to, mowing, shredding, 
discing, rolling, chopping, trampling, fl attening, 
burning or herbicide treatments. Manipulation 
does not include distributing or scattering grain, 
seed or other feed aft er removal from or storage 
on the fi eld where grown.

MIGRaToRY GaMe bIRDs: Migratory birds in-
cluded in conventions between U.S. and foreign 
countries to protect birds for which seasons are 
established. Th ey are: waterfowl (ducks, includ-
ing mergansers; and geese, including brant), 
mourning and white-winged doves, sandhill 
cranes, American coots, sora, Virginia rail, Wil-
son’s snipe, band-tailed pigeons, crows.

naTURal veGeTaTIon: Non-agricultural, 
native or natural plants growing from planting, 
or existing seeds and other propagules. Th is 
does not include planted millet. However, millet 
growing on its own aft er planting year is consid-
ered natural vegetation.

non-ToxIC sHoT: Any shot type approved to 
take migratory game birds according to 50 CFR 
20.21 (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service). See page 10 
for table and details.

noRMal aGRICUlTURal oPeRaTIon: Plant-
ing, harvesting, post-harvest manipulation or 
agricultural practice conducted according to 50 
CFR 20.11 (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service).

noRMal aGRICUlTURal PlanTInG, HaR-
vesTInG oR PosT-HaRvesT ManIPUlaTIon: 
planting or harvesting to produce and gather 
crops or manipulation aft er harvest and removal 
of grain, conducted according to 50 CFR 20.11 
(U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service).

noRMal soIl sTabIlIzaTIon PRaCTICe: 
Planting for agricultural soil erosion control or 
post-mining reclamation conducted according to 
50 CFR 20.11 (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service).

PaCIfIC flYwaY: West of the Continental 
Divide. 

PossessIon lIMIT: Maximum number of birds 
allowed at any time.

sInKbox: Raft  or low-fl oating device with a de-
pression concealing a person below the surface 
of the water.

HUnTInG DefInITIons

http://www.reportband.gov
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Goose season ReGUlaTIons, baG lIMITs

 Photo by © Ducks Unlimited

CenTRal flYwaY
ReGUlaR season

aReas: East of Continental Divide, except ar-
eas designated as part of special seasons below 
that include: Northern Front Range, North 
Park and South Park/San Luis Valley

DaRK Geese —
DaTes: Nov. 22-Feb. 15, 2015
DaIlY baG lIMIT: 5 
PossessIon lIMIT: 15 

lIGHT Geese —
DaTes: Nov. 1-Feb. 15, 2015
DaIlY baG lIMIT: 50 
PossessIon lIMIT: Unlimited

lIGHT Goose ConseRvaTIon  
oRDeR season

aReas: East of I-25
DaTes: Feb. 16-April 30, 2015

DaIlY baG lIMIT: Unlimited
PossessIon lIMIT: Unlimited
Note: See page 11, No. 8 of “Legal Hunting 
Methods” section for special season rules.

noRTHeRn fRonT RanGe season
aReas: Boulder, Larimer and Weld counties 
from the Continental Divide east along the 
Wyoming border to Hwy. 85, south on Hwy. 85 
to Adams Co. line, and all of Adams, Arapahoe, 
Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, 
Gilpin and Jefferson counties. 

DaRK Geese —
DaTes: Oct. 4-22; Nov. 22-Feb. 15, 2015
DaIlY baG lIMIT: 5
PossessIon lIMIT: 15 

lIGHT Geese —
DaTes: Nov. 1-Feb. 15, 2015
DaIlY baG lIMIT: 50
PossessIon lIMIT: Unlimited

noRTH PaRK season
aReas: Jackson County 

DaRK Geese —
DaTes: Oct. 4-22; Nov. 22-Feb. 15, 2015
DaIlY baG lIMIT: 5 
PossessIon lIMIT: 15 

lIGHT Geese —
DaTes: Nov. 1-Feb. 15, 2015
DaIlY baG lIMIT: 50
PossessIon lIMIT: Unlimited

soUTH PaRK/san lUIs valleY
aReas: Alamosa, Chaffee, Conejos, Costilla, 
Custer, Fremont, Lake, Park, Rio Grande and 
Teller counties. And the parts of Hinsdale, 
Mineral and Saguache counties east of the 
Continental Divide. 

DaRK Geese —
DaTes: Oct. 4-22; Nov. 22-Feb. 15, 2015
DaIlY baG lIMIT: 5 
PossessIon lIMIT: 15

lIGHT Geese —
DaTes: Nov. 1-Feb. 15, 2015
DaIlY baG lIMIT: 50
PossessIon lIMIT: Unlimited

PaCIfIC flYwaY
ReGUlaR season

aReas: West of Continental Divide
DaTes: Sept. 27-Oct. 6; Nov. 1-Jan. 25, 2015

DaRK Geese —
DaIlY baG lIMIT: 4 
PossessIon lIMIT: 12 

lIGHT Geese —
DaIlY baG lIMIT: 10 
PossessIon lIMIT: 30

eaRlY CanaDa Goose  season
aReas: West of Continental Divide
DaTes: Sept. 1-9
DaIlY baG lIMIT: 4 Canada geese
PossessIon lIMIT: 12 Canada geese
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Goose seasons In ColoRaDo
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 CenTRal flYwaY
noRTHeasT zone

aRea: East of I-25 and north of I-70
DaTes: Oct. 11-Dec. 1; Dec. 13-Jan. 25, 2015
DaIlY baG lIMIT —
DUCKs: 6, excluding mergansers. Up to 5 can 
be mallards, but no more than 2 can be female 
mallards. Included in the daily bag limit of 6, 
you can have no more than 2 pintails, 1 canvas-
back, 2 redheads, 3 wood ducks and 3 scaup. 
CooTs: 15 
MeRGanseRs: 5; only 2 can be hooded 
mergansers
PossessIon lIMIT: 3 daily bag limits 

soUTHeasT zone
aRea: East of I-25 and south of I-70, and all 
of El Paso, Pueblo, Huerfano and Las Animas 
counties
DaTes: Oct. 22-Jan. 25, 2015

DaIlY baG lIMIT —
DUCKs: 6, excluding mergansers. Up to 
5 can be mallards, but no more than 2 
can be female mallards. Included in the 
daily bag limit of 6, you can have no more than 
2 pintails, 1 canvasback, 2 redheads, 3 wood 
ducks and 3 scaup. 
CooTs: 15 
MeRGanseRs: 5; only 2 can be hooded 
mergansers
PossessIon lIMIT: 3 daily bag limits

MoUnTaIn/fooTHIlls zone
aRea: West of I-25 and east of Continental 
Divide, except El Paso, Pueblo, Huerfano and 
Las Animas counties
DaTes: Oct. 4-Dec. 1; Dec. 20-Jan. 25, 2015
DaIlY baG lIMIT —
DUCKs: 6, excluding mergansers. Up to 5 can 
be mallards, but no more than 2 can be female 
mallards. Included in the daily bag limit of 6, 
you can have no more than 2 pintails, 1 canvas-
back, 2 redheads, 3 wood ducks and 3 scaup. 

CooTs: 15 
MeRGanseRs: 5; only 2 can be hooded 
mergansers. 
PossessIon lIMIT: 3 daily bag limits 

PaCIfIC flYwaY
aRea: West of Continental Divide
DaTes: Sept. 27-Oct. 15; Nov. 1-Jan. 25, 2015

DaIlY baG lIMIT —
DUCKs & MeRGanseRs: 7 in aggregate. Of 
these, no more than 2 can be female mallards, 2 
pintails, 1 canvasback, 2 redheads, and 3 scaup.  
No scaup can be taken aft er Jan. 6, 2015.
CooTs: 25
PossessIon lIMIT: 3 daily bag limits

aReas: Lake and Chaff ee counties and all 
areas east of I-25.

DaTes: Sept. 13-21
DaIlY baG lIMIT: 6
PossessIon lIMIT: 18

sePTeMbeR Teal season

DUCKs of ColoRaDo
 The winter male plumage of 
some commonly encountered 
ducks are depicted here.   

For more on identifying 
waterfowl, go to www.npwrc.
usgs.gov/resource/birds/
waterfwl/index.htm. 

Mallard Redhead american wigeon

wood duck Hooded merganser Green-winged teal

Pintail lesser scaup blue-winged teal

Gadwall

Canvasback

DUCK & CooT season 
ReGUlaTIons, baG lIMITs

www.npwrc.usgs.gov/resource/birds/waterfwl/index.htm
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DUCK season flYwaYs anD zones
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nonToxIC sHoT 
ReGUlaTIons
1. It is illegal to use or have 

toxic (lead) shot, either 
in shotshells or as loose 
shot for muzzleloading, 
while taking or attempt-
ing to take ducks, geese 
or coots in Colorado. This 
includes national wildlife 
refuges open to hunt-
ing. Toxic shot, either in 
shotshells or as loose shot 
for muzzleloading, cannot 
be in a hunter’s gun, on 
his/her person or near a 
hunter taking or attempt-
ing to take waterfowl. 
Store lead shot in your 
vehicle. You can store lead 
shot elsewhere if it’s not 
readily accessible while 
hunting waterfowl. 

2. Nontoxic shot is required 
in commercial wildlife 
parks, field trials and dog-
training while hunting 
captive-reared mallards.

3. Nontoxic shot is any type 
approved by the U.S. Fish 
and Wildlife Service. Go 
to: www.fws.gov/
migratorybirds/Current 
BirdIssues/nontoxic.htm.

4. It is illegal to have or use 
nontoxic shot larger than 
size T to hunt ducks, 
geese or coots.

CenTRal flYwaY
baG anD PossessIon lIMITs foR all 
zones In CenTRal flYwaY — 

DUCKs, CooT, MeRGanseRs:  Daily bag 
and possession limits are the same as regular 
Central Flyway regulations, see page 8. 
Geese — DaIlY baG lIMIT:  5 dark geese 
PossessIon lIMIT: 15

noRTHeasT zone
aRea: East of I-25 and north of I-70
DaTes: Oct. 4-5

soUTHeasT zone
aRea: East of I-25 and south of I-70, and 
all of El Paso, Pueblo, Huerfano and Las 
Animas counties
DaTes: Oct. 18-19

MoUnTaIn/fooTHIlls zone
aRea: West of I-25 and east of the Con-
tinental Divide, except El Paso, Pueblo, 
Huerfano and Las Animas counties
DaTes: Sept. 27-28

PaCIfIC flYwaY
aRea: West of Continental Divide
DaTes: Oct. 18-19
baG anD PossessIon lIMITs — 
DUCKs, CooTs, MeRGanseRs:
Daily bag and possession limit is same as 
regular Pacific Flyway regulations, see page 8.
Geese — DaIlY baG lIMIT:  
4 dark geese, 10 light geese
PossessIon lIMIT: 3 daily bag limits 

noTe: Hunting in youth seasons is restricted to 
youths age 17 and younger with a mentor. Men-
tors cannot hunt during youth seasons. Other  
rules apply. See “Youth Licenses,” page 1.

CenTRal anD 
PaCIfIC flYwaYs

DaTes:  Coincide with regular seasons in this 
brochure 
DaIlY baG lIMIT: 3 singly or in aggregate
PossessIon lIMIT: 9 singly or in aggregate

Note: The falconry bag and possession limit is 
not in addition to the gun bag and possession 
limit.

HAWkING & 
FALCoNRY 
REGuLATIoNS:

YoUTH HUnT
ReGUlaTIons

http://www.fws.gov/migratorybirds/CurrentBirdIssues/nontoxic.htm
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HUnTInG laws & leGal MeTHoDs of TaKe
Safe handling  
of game meat
Concern has grown about 
diseases affecting wild 
animals that could poten-
tially make humans sick. 
Most of the time, properly 
handled and prepared 
game meat poses no 
greater risk than domestic 
meat of causing disease 
in humans. Hunters are 
encouraged to contact 
their local public health 
department or CPW office 
for information on wildlife 
diseases that may be 
present where they plan 
to hunt.  Public health of-
ficials recommend the fol-
lowing precautions when 
handling and preparing 
game meat: 

1. Do not handle animals 
that are obviously sick 
or found dead.  Report 
sick or dead animals 
you find to a CPW office  
near you.

2. keep game cool, clean 
and dry.

3. Do not eat, drink or 
smoke while dressing 
game. 

4. use disposable gloves 
when cleaning game.

5. Wash your hands with 
soap and water or use 
alcohol wipes after  
dressing game.

6. Clean all tools and sur-
faces immediately af-
terward. use hot soapy 
water, then disinfect 
with a 10 percent chlo-
rine bleach solution. 

7. Cook game meat to an 
internal temperature 
of at least 165° F to kill 
disease organisms and 
parasites.  Juices from 
adequately cooked 
game meat should be 
clear. 

8. Do not eat any raw por-
tions of wild game.

9. Do not feed raw wild 
game to domestic pets.

leGal HUnTInG MeTHoDs
1. Shotguns cannot be larger than 10 gauge. They cannot 

hold more than 3 shells in magazine and chamber com-
bined (except during Light Goose Conservation Order 
Season, see No. 8 below). Shotguns must be fired from 
the shoulder. To reduce capacity of shotguns that hold 
more than 3 shells in the chamber and magazine com-
bined, the magazine must be cut off, altered or plugged 
with a 1-piece filler that cannot be removed unless the 
gun is disassembled. Slugs are illegal to hunt waterfowl. 

2. Hand-held bows allowed only if the arrow or bow-
string is not held or drawn mechanically. It is illegal to 
use bows on firing lines designated by the Colorado 
Parks and Wildlife Commission.

3. It is legal to hunt waterfowl in the open, from a blind 
or other concealed place except a sinkbox. When 
camouflaged with vegetation from agricultural crops, 
camouflaging cannot result in exposing, depositing, 
distributing or scattering grain or other feed.

4. Hunting allowed from vessels (except sinkboxes) with 
motors or sails if the motor is off, and/or sails are 
furled and forward movement has stopped. Hunting 
is allowed from drifting vessels and those propelled by 
hand. Use of motorized vessels only allowed to pick up 
dead or injured birds.

5. Hawking or falconry is permitted.
6. Dogs, artificial decoys, duck calls or goose calls are 

legal, except recorded or electronically amplified calls 
or sounds. Recorded or electronically amplified calls 
are legal to hunt common crows.

7. The most restrictive state or federal laws apply. See 
cpw.state.co.us/thingstodo/Pages/waterfowl.aspx   
or  www.fws.gov/hunting/whatres.html for a detailed 
summary of federal regulations on migratory bird 
hunting. More regulations also may apply to National 
Wildlife Refuges opened to hunting, go to www.fws.
gov/refuges for details.  

8. In lIGHT Goose ConseRvaTIon oRDeR season: 
Recorded or electronically amplified calls are allowed. 
Shotguns that hold more than 3 rounds in the chamber 
and magazine may be used in this season only.  Hunt-
ing is allowed one-half hour before sunrise to one-half 
hour after sunset. A federal migratory bird stamp is not 
required, but a Colorado waterfowl stamp is. (See page 6 
for season dates.)

IlleGal HUnTInG MeTHoDs
1. Baiting. For information on federal baiting laws, go to 

www.fws.gov/le/HuntFish/waterfowl_baiting.htm.
 a. It is illegal to take migratory game birds and wa-

terfowl by the aid of baiting, or on or over any baited 
area, if you know or reasonably should know the area 
is baited. It is illegal to place or direct placement of bait 
on or next to an area to cause, induce or allow anyone 
to take or attempt to take migratory birds with the help 
of bait or over a baited area.

 b. Baiting means directly or indirectly placing, expos-
ing, distributing or scattering salt, grain or other feed 
as an attraction for migratory game birds to, on or over 
where hunters are trying to hunt. An area is considered 
baited for 10 days after complete removal of baiting 
material.

 c. It is legal to take migratory game birds, including 
waterfowl, coots and cranes, on or over the following 
lands not otherwise baited: standing or flooded stand-

ing crops; standing flooded or manipulated natural 
vegetation; flooded harvested crop lands; where seeds 
or grains were scattered solely from normal agricul-
tural planting, harvesting, post-harvest manipulation 
or normal soil stabilization practice; flooded, stand-
ing agricultural crops where grain is inadvertently 
scattered solely by a hunter entering or exiting an area, 
placing decoys or retrieving downed birds.

 d. It is legal to take migratory game birds, except 
waterfowl, coots and cranes, on or over the following 
lands not otherwise baited: where grain or other feed 
is distributed or scattered solely from manipulation of 
agricultural crops or other feed, or solely from normal 
agricultural operations.

2. It is illegal to use any artificial light as an aid in hunting 
or taking wildlife.

3. Traps, snares, nets, rifles, pistols, swivel guns, punt guns, 
battery guns, machine guns and fish hooks, poisons, 
toxicants, explosives or stupefying substances are illegal.

4. It is illegal to use live, tame or captive ducks and geese 
as decoys. All tame, captive ducks and geese must be 
removed 10 days before hunting. They must be in an 
enclosure that substantially reduces the sound of their 
calls and conceals them from the sight of waterfowl.

5. It is illegal to discharge a firearm or release an arrow 
from, on or across a public road. Hunting with rifles, 
handguns, shotguns firing a single slug and archery 
equipment prohibited within 50 feet on each side of 
the center line of any public road. On a divided road, 
the prohibition includes the median, and the 50-foot 
requirement is measured from the center line of both 
roads. Waterfowl cannot be hunted from, on or across 
a highway, road, designated trail or other right-of-way 
(public or private) in national wildlife refuges.

6. It is illegal to carry or have a firearm (except a pistol or 
revolver) in a motor vehicle unless chamber is unloaded.

7. Possession of wildlife is evidence you hunted.
8. It is illegal to kill, capture, wound or harass wildlife 

from an aircraft or motor vehicle. It is also illegal to 
operate aircraft, discharge firearms or release arrows 
from aircraft or motor vehicles with the same intent.

9. It is illegal to waste or abandon edible portions of 
wildlife, or to leave wounded wildlife without trying to 
track and kill it.

10. It is illegal to leave decoys or things used as decoys in 
the field or on water overnight on state wildlife areas.

HawKInG anD falConRY
1. Apprentices may hunt with only one raptor at a time.
2. A resident falconry license required.
3. Nonresident falconers must buy a nonresident falconry 

license from the CPW’s special licensing section, a one-
day small-game hunting license or a nonresident small-
game hunting license. Hunter education laws apply.

4. Falconers must comply with HIP. 
5. Firearms prohibited while hawking.
6. Hawking prohibited from a public road.
7. Hawking on private property is illegal without permis-

sion from owner or person in charge.
8. Nonresidents also must obtain an import permit at least 

30 days in advance from special licensing. It is free, but 
a current health certificate issued within 30 days of the 
proposed entry from state of origin required. Import 
permit applications and import permits are available on 
the CPW website at cpw.state.co.us.

http://cpw.state.co.us/thingstodo/Pages/waterfowl.aspx
www.fws.gov/hunting/whatres.html
www.fws.gov/refuges
www.fws.gov/le/HuntFish/waterfowl_baiting.htm
http://cpw.state.co.us
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 lanD ResTRICTIons 
anD Use RUles
1. It is illegal to hunt on private land 

without permission from landown-
er or person in charge. It is illegal 
to post or indicate that public lands 
are private. It is illegal to hunt on 
State Trust Lands without permis-
sion of lessee, except on lands open 
for wildlife recreation. 

2. It is illegal to hunt waterfowl in 
federal reservations; areas the U.S. 
government sets aside as bird, game 
or other wildlife reservations, breed-
ing grounds or refuges; or areas 
closed by the Migratory Bird Treaty 
Act, except as permitted. More 
regulations may apply on national 
wildlife refuges. Contact: Alamosa 
and Monte Vista, (719) 589-4021; 
Browns Park, (970) 365-3613; 
Arapaho, (970) 723-8202.

3. In THe aReas boUnDeD on N by 
Wyoming; E and S by I-76, Hwy. 
71, U.S. 36 and I-70; and W by the 
Continental Divide and Larimer- 
Jackson county line; and in Bent, 
Crowley, Kiowa, Mesa, Otero and 
Prowers counties:
a. It is illegal to hunt waterfowl 

within 50 yards on either side of 
center line of a public road.

b. It is illegal to hunt waterfowl 
within 150 yards of a dwelling, 
including directly above it, with-
out fi rst obtaining permission 
from owner, occupant or person 
in charge of the dwelling. 

4. PUeblo CoUnTY: It is illegal to 
hunt waterfowl within 150 yards of 
a dwelling, including directly above 
it, without fi rst obtaining permis-
sion from owner, occupant or 
person in charge of dwelling. 

5. alonG THe ColoRaDo RIveR: 
a. In GRanD CoUnTY: Closed to 

waterfowl hunting from Shadow 
Mountain dam to Twin Creek 
aft er Nov. 13.

b. In Mesa CoUnTY: Closed to 
waterfowl hunting on Colorado 
River and 200 yards on either 
side of river from Grand Avenue  
bridge in Grand Junction to west 
end of Horsethief Canyon SWA 
from Wed.-Fri., except Th anks-
giving, Christmas and New Year’s 
Day. 

      Also, the river and 200 yards 
on either side of it are closed to 
waterfowl hunting from Apple-
ton Drain to Hunter Wash (at the 
west end of Walker SWA).

lanDs wITH sPeCIal 
waTeRfowl ReGUlaTIons

 noTe: Th is list includes some regulations for waterfowl hunters. It is not a complete list of regulations for these properties. See the 2014 Colorado Recre-
ational Lands brochure for complete regulations.  DRoUGHT ConDITIons exist throughout portions of the state. Please check water levels at Eastern 
Plains reservoirs before your hunting trip, as some may be dry or at extremely low levels. 

» ReseRvaTIons noT aCCePTeD MoRe 
THan 14 DaYs In aDvanCe of hunt date 
nor after noon the day before the hunt date 
or noon Friday for hunts on Sunday and 
holidays falling on Monday.

» To CanCel, hunters must do so by noon the 
day before the hunt date. Failing to cancel 
reservations or follow check-station proce-
dures may result in losing future reservation 
rights for the rest of the hunting season.

» MaxIMUM 1 ReseRvaTIon PeR HUnT DaTe 
and 1 reservation per phone call. Reserva-
tions are not transferable. To make the res-
ervation, a person must have a valid license 
for the species to be hunted and must be at 
the property the day of the hunt.

» HUnTeRs MaY onlY HUnT the area 
specifi ed on the reservation, unless stated 
otherwise in the following listings.

ReseRvaTIon PRoCeDURes
For properties that specify reservations are available or required, 

call 1-800-846-9453 (1-800-UGo-WILD)

         Reservations must be made  
         on these Grand  valley 
         properties below by calling 
         (970) 255-6161.  all other 
         reservation rules apply.

» Colorado River Island swa
» franklin Island swa
» Highline lake state Park
» Horsethief Canyon swa
» james M. Robb 
   Colorado River state Park
» orchard Mesa swa
» Tilman bishop swa

         Reservations must be made  
         on these Grand  valley 
         properties below by calling 
         (970) 255-6161.  all other 
         reservation rules apply.! In GRanD valleY: 

anDRICK PonDs swa, MoRGAN Co.
1. Public access is limited to 3 a.m.-9 p.m. Sat., Sun., 

Wed. and legal holidays only. Access is by foot only, 
through designated parking areas. Night hunting is 
prohibited.

2. new! From Sept. 1-end of regular dark goose sea-
son, only open for migratory bird hunting within 
designated hunting areas.

3. new! Hunting reservations required, see “Reserva-
tion Procedures” (below) for details. Maximum 4 
hunters per area at any time. Hunters must follow 
check-in and check-out procedures as posted. 
    Hunters with reservations may not check in 
until 3 a.m. before the hunt, and may only hunt the 
area specifi ed on the reservation or for which they 
check into. 
     Reservations valid until sunrise. Hunters may 
check in on a fi rst-come, fi rst-served basis aft er 
a hunter with a reservation checks out, or aft er 
sunrise, if there is no check-in card in the check 
station. 
     From Sept. 1 through end of goose season, 
maximum of three reservations per hunter each 
year. 

4. new! From the Th urs. before Sept. 1 through the 
end of spring turkey season, scouting permitted 
from 10 a.m.-2 p.m. on Th urs. that are not open 
to hunting in and prior to waterfowl and turkey 

seasons. All people scouting must check in and out 
at check station. Firearms, dogs not allowed during 
scouting.  

5. No hunting on Clark Lake.
6. Hunting prohibited with centerfi re rifl es.  

aRaPaHo naTIonal wIlDlIfe RefUGe, 
JACkSoN Co.

1. Units A and D closed to all hunting. Unit B open to 
migratory bird, small-game hunting through Dec. 
31. Unit C closed to migratory bird hunting. For 
information, call (970) 723-8202.

aTwooD sTl, LoGAN Co.
1. Open to public Sept. 1-May 31. 
2. Hunting only on Sat., Sun., Wed., Labor Day, Co-

lumbus Day (observed), Veterans Day, Th anksgiv-
ing Day, Christmas Day, New Year’s Day, Martin 
Luther King Jr. Day and Presidents Day. 

3. Reservations are required for small-game and 
waterfowl hunting. See “Reservation Procedures” 
(below) for details. Hunters may hunt only area 
specifi ed on reservation. Mandatory check in and 
check out as posted.

4. new! Th ree reservations may be issued per day on 
the up-river west side of Hwy. 63; two for the gen-
eral public; one for hunters with mobility impair-

http://bit.ly/coloradolands
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ments. No more than four people per reservation. 
5. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited from 

first day of teal season through dark goose season.
6. Hunting prohibited with centerfire rifles. 

aTwooD swa, LoGAN Co.
1. Public access by foot, through designated parking 

areas. 
2. new! No reservations needed for waterfowl or 

small-game hunting.
3. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited from 

first day of teal season through dark goose season. 

banneR laKes swa, WELD Co.
1. Access by foot only, through designated parking 

areas.
2. Open for waterfowl hunting only from the first 

day of regular waterfowl season to the day before 
opening of pheasant season. Hunting only on Sat., 
Sun., Mon. and legal holidays. 
a. Reservations available for waterfowl, but not 

required. See “Reservation Procedures” (page 
12) for details. Hunters can only hunt the area 
specified on the reservation. Maximum 4 hunt-
ers per reservation.

b. Reservations valid during reserved day until 
hunter with reservation checks out. Hunters 
may check in on first-come, first-served basis 

after a hunter with a reservation checks out. If 
a reserved area is not claimed by legal sunrise, 
or if no reservation exists for a hunt area, hunt-
ers may check in after midnight the morning 
before the hunt. 

3. Waterfowl hunters must follow check-in and 
check-out procedures as posted.

4. From the Thurs. before Sept. 1 through the end 
of dark goose season, scouting permitted from 10 
a.m.-2 p.m. on Thurs. that are not open to hunt-
ing in and prior to waterfowl seasons. Must have 
reservation or letter from CPW. All people must 
check in and out at check station. Firearms, dogs 
not allowed during scouting.

baRR laKe sTaTe PaRK, ADAMS Co.
1. Waterfowl hunting only, and only on Sat. and 

Wed.
3. Hunting by reservation only. See “Reservation 

Procedures” (page 12)  for details. Mandatory 
check in and check out as posted. 

2. Hunting is from designated blinds only. Maxi-
mum 3 hunters per blind. Unreserved blinds will 
be available on first-come, first-served basis after 
5 a.m. each day. Reserved blinds unoccupied by 7 
a.m. are first come, first served.

bRavo sTl, LoGAN Co. 
1. Access from designated parking at Bravo SWA only.
2. Waterfowl and small-game hunters on the trust 

land must check out at the SWA check station 
before leaving property. 

3. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited from 
first day of teal season through dark goose season. 

bRavo swa, LoGAN Co.
1. Access from designated parking only.
2. During regular duck season, waterfowl and small-

game hunters must check out at mandatory check 
station.

3. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited from 
first day of teal season through dark goose season. 

on sCalva PaRCel:  All public access requires a 
reservation. See “Reservation Procedures” (page 
12) for details.  Limited to 3 groups of 4 hunters 
each per day.   
a.  Access by foot only 4 a.m.-9 p.m. through des-

ignated parking and mandatory check station.
b.  From Sept. 1-May 31, only hunting is allowed 

and is limited to archery, muzzleloading and 
shotgun during established seasons. Hunting is 
only on Sat., Sun., Wed., Labor Day, Columbus 
Day (observed), Veterans Day, Thanksgiving 
Day, Christmas Day, New Year’s Day, Martin 
Luther King Jr. Day and Presidents Day.
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Waterfowl hunting and all other 
recreational activities except deer 
hunting are prohibited on the follow-
ing lands during opening weekend of 
regular plains rifl e deer season and on 
opening day and fi rst weekend of late 
plains rifl e deer season: 

» sTaTe wIlDlIfe aReas: At-
wood, Bravo (and Scalva parcel), 
Brush,  Centennial Valley, Cot-
tonwood, Dune Ridge, Elliott, 
Jean k. Tool, knudson, Messex,  
overland  Trail, Pony Express, 
Sedgwick Bar and Tamarack 
Ranch

» sTaTe TRUsT lanDs: Atwood, 
Ford Bridge and Red Lion Ranch

HUnTInG ClosURes 
DURInG DeeR season  

Launching or taking out vessels 
from the water is prohibited from 
the fi rst day of Sept. teal season 
until the last day of dark goose 
season on these properties: 

» sTaTe wIlDlIfe aReas: 
Atwood, Boyd Ponds, Bravo, 
Brower, Brush, Centennial 
Valley,  Cottonwood, Dune 
Ridge, Elliott, Jean k. Tool, 
Julesburg, knudson, Messex, 
Mitani-Tokuyasu, overland 
Trail, Pony Express, Sedgwick 
Bar and Tamarack Ranch 

» sTaTe TRUsT lanDs: 
Atwood, Bravo, Ford Bridge 
and Red Lion Ranch 

laUnCHInG vessels

bRowns PaRK naTIonal wIlDlIfe 
RefUGe, MoFFAT Co.

1.  Butch Cassidy Lake, Hog Lake and the river corridor 
are open to waterfowl hunting. All other units are 
closed. For information, call (970) 365-3613.

bRUsH swa, MoRGAN Co.
1.  Public access only from 3 a.m.-9 p.m., except with 

night-hunting permit. Access from designated parking 
only.

2. new! No reservations needed for waterfowl or small-
game hunting. 

3. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited from fi rst 
day of teal season through dark goose season. 

bRUsH PRaIRIe PonDs swa, MoRGAN Co.
1.  Public access only from 3 a.m.-9 p.m., except with 

night-hunting permit. Parking in designated areas 
only.

2.  All land users must check in and check out at the 
designated check station at Brush Memorial Park. 
Maximum 4 hunters allowed in each area.

3. new! When open to hunting, only one vehicle allowed 
for each group. Before Dec. 1, hunters must park in the 
area they check into. 

4. new! From Sept. 1-Nov. 30, only migratory-bird 
hunting allowed and only  on Sat., Sun., Wed., Colum-
bus Day (observed), Veterans Day, and Th anksgiving 
Day.

5. new! From Sept. 1-Dec. 1, reservations required until 
sunrise. See “Reservation Procedures” (page 12) for 
details. Maximum 3 reservations per hunter annually. 
Reservations valid until sunrise, hunters may only 
hunt area specifi ed on reservation or where they check 
into. Hunters with reservations may not check in until 
midnight the morning before the hunt.

      Hunters may check in on fi rst-come, fi rst-served ba-
sis aft er a hunter with a reservation checks out, or aft er 
sunrise if there is no check-in card in the check station. 

6.  new! From Dec. 1 through the last day of regular 
goose season, only hunting is allowed. Reservations 
required until sunrise to hunt on Dec. 1 (fi rst day for 
small-game and big-game hunting). Reservations not 
available from Dec. 2-end of dark goose season. Hunt-
ers may check in at one of fi ve hunting areas on a fi rst-
come, fi rst-served basis, aft er midnight the morning 
before the hunt. Hunters properly checked in to any of 
these areas may hunt anywhere on the property. 

7. Two hunting areas are reserved for residents of the city 
of Brush and are awarded through lottery system. Ap-
plications to enter lottery available at the CPW offi  ce 
in Brush aft er the August Commission meeting. Hunt-
ers must have valid license for species to be hunted to 
enter the drawing. For complete application and hunt 
reservation details, call the Brush CPW offi  ce, (970) 
842-6300. 

8. From the Th urs. before opening of teal season until 
Nov. 30, scouting permitted from 10 a.m.-2 p.m. on 
Th urs. that are not open to hunting in and prior to 
waterfowl seasons. Must have reservation or letter 
from CPW. All people must check in and out at check 
station. Firearms, dogs not allowed during scouting.

CenTennIal valleY swa, WELD Co.
1. During waterfowl season, small-game and waterfowl 

hunting is only in designated zones.

2. Parking only in designated areas. No vehicle access 
outside of parking area.  

3. During regular duck seasons, open only Sat., Sun., 
Mon. and legal holidays. 

4. During regular duck seasons, reservations are required 
for waterfowl and small-game hunting. See “Reserva-
tion Procedures” (page 12) for details. Hunters with 
reservations can only hunt the area specifi ed on the 
reservation. Maximum 4 hunters per reservation. 
Mandatory check in and check out as posted at station 
for all small-game and waterfowl hunters.

5. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited from fi rst 
day of teal season through dark goose season. 

6. Dogs allowed only as aid to hunting.

CHUCK lewIs swa, RouTT Co.
1. Open 4 a.m.-10 p.m. only, no overnight parking.
2. Waterfowl hunting permitted, except within 50 yards 

of CR 14F bridge.
3. Dogs allowed only as aid to waterfowl hunting or aid 

to a person with disabilities.
4. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited except 

when used for fi shing.

ColoRaDo RIveR IslanD swa, MESA Co. 
1. Only waterfowl hunting, and only from designated 

blinds.
2. Typically accessed through the “wildlife area” between 

31 and 30 Roads in Grand Junction. Waterfowl hunters 
are asked to park at the waterfowl information sign. 
Two vehicles are allowed to park without purchasing 
the required State Park Pass. 

3. Hunting by reservation only. See “Reservation Proce-
dures” (page 12) for details. Hunters with reservations 
may only hunt the area specifi ed on reservation. Man-
datory check-in and check-out procedures as posted.  

4. If no reservation exists for a hunt area, hunters may 
check in on a fi rst-come, fi rst-served basis aft er 5 a.m. 
the day of the hunt. Reserved areas not claimed by 7 
a.m. will be available on a fi rst-come, fi rst-served basis. 
But, any area must be yielded upon request of the 
hunter holding a valid and active reservation for that 
area. 

5. Dogs allowed only as aid to hunting.

CRawfoRD sTaTe ReCReaTIon aRea, 
DELTA Co.

1. Hunting prohibited as posted.

DIllon ReseRvoIR, SuMMIT Co.
1. Waterfowl hunting prohibited on Labor Day and the 

Sat. and Sun. before Labor Day.
2. Denver Water restricts hunting to designated areas 

only. For details, go to www.co.summit.co.us/Doc
umentview.aspx?DID=327.

DoMe laKes swa, SAGuACHE Co.
1. Access by foot or horseback only from designated 

parking. Parking allowed only in parking areas.
2. Camping allowed during waterfowl seasons only in 

designated areas.
3. Dogs allowed only as aid to hunting.

ellIoTT swa, MoRGAN Co.
1. Open to public 3 a.m.-9 p.m. daily. Open other hours 

only for hunters with night-hunting permit.
2. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited from fi rst 
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day of teal season through dark goose season. 

on UnIon TRaCT:  
1. Open only for waterfowl hunting from designated 

blinds or as posted. Maximum 4 hunters per area.
2. Access from designated parking area only. 
3. new! From teal season through end of regular 

duck season, waterfowl hunting allowed on Sat., 
Sun., Weds., Columbus Day (observed), Thanks-
giving Day, Christmas Day, New Year’s Day. 

4. new! Hunting reservations are required until 
sunrise, see “Reservation Procedures” (page 12) 
for details. Only three reservations per hunter each 
year.  All hunters must check in and out as posted.

      Hunters with reservations may not check in 
until 3 a.m. before the hunt, and may only hunt 
the area specified on the reservation or for which 
they check into. 

      Reservations are valid until sunrise. Hunters 
may check in on a first-come, first-served basis 
after a hunter with a reservation checks out, or 
after sunrise, if there is no check-in card in the 
check station. Reservations will not be posted at 
the check station.  

5. new! Scouting permitted from the Thurs. before 
opening of teal season until the end of regular 
duck season on Union Tract only. Scouting 
permitted from 10 a.m.-2 p.m. on Thurs. that are 
not open to hunting in and prior to duck seasons. 
Must have reservation number or letter from 
CPW. All people must check in and out at check 
station. Firearms and dogs not allowed during 
scouting.

on HaMlIn TRaCTs (n anD s): 
1. Hunting is allowed every day for all game species 

that are in season.
2. new! From teal season through end of regular 

duck season, hunters must check in and out 
of check station and may only hunt the area 
which they check into. Maximum 4 hunters per 
area at any one time. Hunters may check in on 
first-come, first-served basis after 3 a.m. or after 
another hunter checks out. 

3. On Hamlin South Tract, hunters must comply 
with youth-mentor only restrictions as posted.

4. new!  Outside of teal season and regular duck 
seasons, hunting is allowed without check in and 
check out requirements.

eMPIRe ReseRvoIR, WELD & MoRGAN 
Cos.

1. Goose hunting prohibited below historical and 
recorded high-water line. Hunting also prohibited 
north of reservoir 20 yards above high- 
water line from the inlet structure, north and east 
to easternmost end of dike.

flaGleR ReseRvoIR swa, kIT CARSoN 
Co.

1. Boating prohibited during waterfowl season, 
except crafts propelled by hand, wind or electric 
motor. 

2. Youth mentor hunting only. Only one mentor per 
youth may hunt. 

fossIl CReeK ReseRvoIR, LARIMER Co.
1. Closed to goose hunting as posted.

fRanK swa, WELD & LARIMER Cos.
1. new! Property closed to hunting. 
2. new! No public access north of Poudre River.

fRanKlIn IslanD swa, MESA Co.
1. Only waterfowl hunting, and only from desig-

nated blinds.
2. Typically accessed from Corn Lake. A valid State 

Park Pass is required to enter Corn Lake. 
3. Hunting by reservation only. See “Reservation 

Procedures” (page 12) for details. Hunters may 
only hunt the area specified on the reservation. 
Mandatory check-in and check-out procedures 
as posted. 

4. If no reservation exists for a hunt area, hunters 
may check in on a first-come, first-served basis 
after 5 a.m. the day of the hunt. Reserved areas 
not claimed by 7 a.m. will be available on a first-
come, first-served basis. But, any area must be 
yielded upon request of the hunter holding a valid 
and active reservation for that area. 

5. Dogs allowed only as aid to hunting.

GRanD laKe, wInDY GaP ReseRvoIR, 
GRAND Co.

1. Closed to goose hunting on lakes and within 100 
yards of high-water lines.

GUnnIson RIveR swa, GuNNISoN Co.
1. Access is by foot only.
2. Only waterfowl hunting with shotguns allowed.

GYPsUM PonDs swa, EAGLE Co.
1. Dogs are prohibited on the eastern ponds, except 

when used for waterfowl hunting. 
2. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited. 

HIGel swa, ALAMoSA Co.
1. Open only Sat., Sun., Weds. and legal holidays 

from Sept. 1-Feb. 14, and only with permit.  
2. Maximum 25 permits issued free daily on first-

come, first-served basis. From Sept. 1-30 and Nov. 
11-Feb. 14, get free permits at the CPW office in 
Monte Vista, or through reservation system by 
calling (719) 587-6923. From Oct. 1-Nov. 10, per-
mits available by phone reservations only. Contact 
the Monte Vista CPW office for details.

HIGHlIne laKe sTaTe PaRK, MESA Co. 
1. Waterfowl hunting only Mon.-Fri. and only in 

designated blinds. Maximum 4 hunters per blind.
2. Hunting by reservation only. See “Reservation 

Procedures” (page 12) for details. Mandatory 
check-in and check-out procedures as posted. 

3. If no reservation exists for a hunt area, hunters 
may check in on a first-come, first-served basis  
after 5 a.m. the day of the hunt. Reserved areas 
not claimed by 7 a.m. will be available on a first-
come, first-served basis. But, any area must be 
yielded upon request of the hunter holding a valid 

Photo by © Ducks Unlimited
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and active reservation for that area. 

HoRseTHIef CanYon swa, MESA Co. 
1. Open to public 5 a.m.-9 p.m. Open 24 hours for 

fishing only.
2. Waterfowl hunting is prohibited Weds.-Fri., 

except on Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day and 
New Year’s Day.

3. Hunting with shotguns, hand-held bows and 
muzzleloaders only.

4. Quail hunting is prohibited.
5. Reservations not required for waterfowl hunting 

100 yards east of Blind No. 1 to the eastern prop-
erty boundary, including Skipper’s Island.

6. From 100 yards east of Blind No. 1 to western 
boundary of the property, waterfowl hunting on 
Sat. is youth/mentor hunting only.

7. Waterfowl hunters on west end of property must 
reserve a blind and must hunt from or within 
100 yards of that blind. Maximum 4 hunters per 
blind. See “Reservation Procedures” (page 12) for 
details. Hunters may only hunt area specified on 
the reservation. Mandatory check-in and check-
out procedures as posted. 

8. If no reservation exists for a hunt area, hunters 
may check in on a first-come, first-served basis af-
ter 5 a.m. the day of the hunt. Reserved areas not 
claimed by 7 a.m. will be available on a first-come, 
first-served basis. But any area must be yielded 
upon request of the hunter holding a valid, active 
reservation for that area. 

jaCKson laKe swa, MoRGAN Co.
1. Access only from designated parking areas. 
2. new! During regular duck season, all hunters 

must check in and check out at check station. 
3. new! Hunters may only hunt the area they check 

into. Hunters may check in on a first-come, first-
served basis after 3 a.m. or after another hunter 
checks out of an area.

4. new! During regular duck season, small-game 
hunters are not allowed to hunt around ponds 
occupied by waterfowl hunters.

5. Waterfowl hunting boat reservations are no longer 
in place. Hunting is still allowed from boats until 
Nov. 1.  

jaMes M. Robb ColoRaDo RIveR 
sTaTe PaRK, MESA Co.  

IslanD aCRes seCTIon onlY:
1. Park in designated parking areas only. A State 

Parks Pass is required on all motor vehicles.
2. Waterfowl hunting only, and only from designated 

blinds. Maximum 4 hunters per blind. 
3. Hunting by reservation only. See “Reservation 

Procedures” (page 12) for details. Mandatory 
check-in and check-out procedures as posted. 

4. If no reservation exists for a hunt area, hunters 
may check in on a first-come, first-served basis af-
ter 5 a.m. the day of the hunt. Reserved areas not 
claimed by 7 a.m. will be available on a first-come, 
first-served basis. But, any area must be yielded 
upon request of the hunter holding a valid and 
active reservation for that area. 

jean K. Tool swa, MoRGAN Co.
1. Access through designated parking areas only, 

from 3 a.m.-9 p.m., except with night-hunting 
permit. 

2. new! No reservations needed for waterfowl or 
small-game hunting. 

3. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited from 
first day of teal season through dark goose season. 

joHn MaRTIn ReseRvoIR swa, BENT Co. 
1. Open only to retrieve downed waterfowl from 

Nov. 1 through last day of waterfowl season as 
posted on U.S. Army Corps of Engineers property 
leased by CPW to provide for resting waterfowl, 
depending on water levels, weather and presence 
of birds.

joHnson PonD, SEDGWICk Co. 
1. Goose hunting prohibited in area of Sedgwick Co. 

including: Hwy. 138 on N, Hwy. 385 on E, I-76 on 
S and CR 29 on W.

2. Light goose hunting is allowed within the Johnson 
Pond Special Goose Closure only during special 
late light goose season and Light Goose Conser-
vation Order.

jUMbo ReseRvoIR swa, LoGAN & 
SEDGWICk Cos. 

1. Closed to goose hunting in parts of Logan and 
Sedgwick counties bounded on N by Logan CR 
70 and Sedgwick CR 3; on E by Sedgwick CR 3; 
on S by Logan CR 970 and Sedgwick CR 24.8, and 
on W by Logan CR 95, except for Red Lion SWA 
as posted.

2. Boating prohibited Oct. 1 through last day of 
regular goose season. Hand-propelled craft may 
be used to set and pick up decoys and to retrieve 
downed waterfowl. Boats prohibited within 50 
feet of outlet structure.

3. No hunting on frozen surface of lake.
4. Vessels (other than those launched by hand) must 

undergo required inspection for invasive species.  

loweR laTHaM ReseRvoIR, WELD Co. 
1. Hunting prohibited as posted.

MaCK Mesa sTaTe ReCReaTIon aRea, 
MESA Co.  

1. Hunting, trapping prohibited.

MaCfaRlane ReseRvoIR sTl, 
JACkSoN Co.

1. Open Aug. 15-end of Feb.
2. Motorized travel to the reservoir to access water-

fowl hunting allowed at all times on designated 
routes only.

MeReDITH ReseRvoIR, CRoWLEY Co.
1. Hunting prohibited as posted.

MITanI-ToKUYasU swa, WELD Co.
1. During duck season, parking area open only 4 

a.m. until one hour after sunset. Parking in desig-
nated spaces in parking areas only.

2. Waterfowl hunting access limited to occupants of 
vehicles legally parked in designated parking area. 
Reservation required to get parking space from 
4 a.m.-noon. See “Reservation Procedures” (page 
12). After noon, all parking spaces are on first-

come, first-served basis.
3. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited from 

first day of teal season through dark goose season. 

MoGensen PonDs swa, MESA Co.
1. Waterfowl hunting only and only from designated 

blinds.

MonTe vIsTa & alaMosa naTIonal 
wIlDlIfe RefUGes,  ALAMoSA & 
RIo GRANDE Cos.

1. Hunting in designated areas only, access through 
posted parking areas only.

2. Two blinds available on first-come, first-served 
basis.

3. Nontoxic shot required for shotgun hunting. For 
information, call (719) 589-4021.

4. Decoys cannot be left unattended and blinds must 
be removed daily.

5. Dogs allowed as an aid to hunting.

new wInDsoR ReseRvoIR, WELD Co.
1. Hunting prohibited as posted.
2. Closed to waterfowl hunting within 400 yards 

of occupied dwelling, without first obtaining 
permission from owner or person in charge, or 
within 0.25 of a mile from center line of these 
roads: from CR 74 and Colo. 257, north to CR 78; 
east to CR 21; south to CR 74; then west to Colo. 
257, including the area within shape formed by 
these roads.

3. Closed to waterfowl hunting within 150 yards of 
center line of Colo. 257 between CRs 78 and 74; 
CR 74 between Colo. 257 and CR 21.

oRCHaRD Mesa swa, MESA Co. 
1. Open for public access July 15-March 14. Water-

fowl hunting only, no small-game hunting.
2. Only access is from parking area on “C” Rd., 

between roads 30 and 31. Vehicles prohibited 
beyond parking area.

3. Waterfowl hunters must hunt from designated 
blinds or in the zone identified for each blind. 
Maximum 4 hunters per blind.

4. Must hunt with bows and/or shotguns with 
shotshells only.

5. Dogs allowed only as an aid to hunting.
6. Waterfowl hunting by reservation only. See 

“Reservation Procedures”  (page 12) for details. 
Hunters may only hunt the area specified on the 
reservation. Mandatory check-in and check-out 
procedures as posted. 

7. If no reservation exists for a hunt area, hunters 
may check in on a first-come, first-served basis af-
ter 5 a.m. the day of the hunt. Reserved areas not 
claimed by 7 a.m. will be available on a first-come, 
first-served basis. But, any area must be yielded 
upon request of the hunter holding a valid and 
active reservation for that area.

oveRlanD TRaIl swa, LoGAN Co. 
1. Foot access only, from designated parking area. 
2. During regular duck season, waterfowl and small-game 

hunters must check out at designated check station. 
3. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited from 

first day of teal season through dark goose season. 
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PonY exPRess swa, SEDGWICk Co. 
1. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited from 

first day of teal season through dark goose season. 
2. Goose hunting prohibited in area of Sedgwick Co. 

including: Hwy. 138 on N, Hwy. 385 on E, I-76 on 
S and CR 29 on W.

PRewITT ReseRvoIR swa, LoGAN & 
WASHINGToN Cos.

1. Waterfowl hunting prohibited as posted to 
provide for waterfowl resting depending on water 
levels, weather and presence of birds.

2. Boating prohibited from Oct. 1 through last day 
of regular goose season, except hand-propelled 
crafts used in waterfowl hunting for putting out, 
picking up decoys, retrieving downed waterfowl. 

3. Hunting prohibited from any floating device.

QUeens swa, kIoWA Co. 
1. Boating prohibited if it creates a whitewater wake 

in channel between Lower and Upper Queens 
reservoirs.  

on UPPeR QUeens (including the  
channel), nee nosHe, nee GRonDa:
 a. Mandatory check in and check out when check 

station is open.
 b. Open only to retrieve downed waterfowl Nov. 1 

through  last day of waterfowl season as posted.
on loweR QUeens:
 a. Boating prohibited if it creates whitewater wake 

from opening day of waterfowl season until Dec. 1. 
 b. Mandatory check in and check out when check 

station is open.
 c. Open only to retrieve downed waterfowl Dec. 1 

through last day of waterfowl season as posted.
on nee so PaH:  
 a. Open only to retrieve downed waterfowl from 

Nov. 1 through last day of waterfowl season.

RaMaH swa, EL PASo Co.
1. Only float tubes or crafts propelled by hand, wind 

or electric motor are allowed from Nov. 1 through 
the last day of waterfowl season.

2. Shotguns or bows allowed for hunting. 

ReD lIon swa, LoGAN Co.
1. Access from parking areas only. 
2. new! Reservations no longer required to hunt.
3. Only float-tubes or carry-on crafts propelled by 

hand allowed for hunting or fishing purposes 
only. Hunting from any vessel or floating device 
is prohibited. From Oct. 1-March 31, only boats 
allowed are hand-propelled crafts used to place or 
retrieve decoys or retrieve downed waterfowl. 

RIveRsIDe ReseRvoIR, WELD Co.
1. Goose hunting prohibited as posted.

RUssell laKes swa, SAGuACHE Co.
1. Parking only in established areas.
2. Closes at 1 p.m. during first split waterfowl season.
3. Closed as posted to protect wintering and nesting 

waterfowl and to protect administrative areas. 
Sect. 29 closed during waterfowl seasons.

soUTH RePUblICan swa, YuMA Co. 
1. Parking only in designated areas. Waterfowl hunt-

ing access prohibited on downstream face of dam.
2. Waterfowl hunting prohibited as posted to pro-

vide resting areas for wintering waterfowl.

sweITzeR laKe, DELTA Co. 
1. Hunting waterfowl allowed on opening day and 

thereafter on Sat., Sun., Wed. and legal holidays.

TaMaRaCK RanCH swa,  LoGAN Co.
1. Hunters must park vehicle at parking area they 

are checked into and are restricted to that area 
until 9 a.m., at which time they may walk into and 
hunt adjacent areas. 

2. Reservations are available but not required. See 
“Reservation Procedures” (page 12) for details.  
Reservations available for weekends and Colum-
bus Day (observed), Veterans Day, Thanksgiving 
Day, Christmas Day, New Year’s Day, Martin 
Luther King Jr. Day and Presidents Day.  

3. The first hunt date available for reservations is the 
Sat. after Oct. 24 and the last date available is the 
last Sun. of regular duck season. Weekdays, week-
ends and holidays outside the reservation period 
and any unreserved or open units are available for 
hunting without reservations and are regulated 
through check station. Hunters with reservations 
can only hunt area specified on reservation. Man-
datory check in and check out as posted at station. 

4. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited from 
first day of teal season through dark goose season. 

5. new! on aUGMenTaTIon PonDs:
a. Waterfowl hunting is by a limited draw lottery 

reservation system from the opening day of 
second duck season through the end of regular 
dark goose season.  

b. Hunting allowed only on a specific pond/hunt 
areas on specific days. If a blind is provided, 
hunters must hunt from the blind. Shooting 
out of rear of the blind  is prohibited. 
     Hunters must park in designated parking 
areas but may drop off and pick up decoys via 
existing 4-wheel-drive roads as posted. Hunters 
must stay on roads. 

c. Maximum 4 hunters per group per hunt day. 
No hunters may fill a spot if a reservation 
holder does not use the reservation. No ad-
ditional parties are allowed to hunt after the 
lottery hunter has completed their hunt for 
the day. The hunter drawing the access permit 
must be present for the hunt. All hunters must 
check in at the existing check station.

d. To enter drawing, send a postcard or letter with 
name, address, phone number, CID number 
and desired reservation dates to:  CPW, Tama-
rack Ranch drawing, 122 E. Edison St., Brush, 
CO 80723.  Must be postmarked by Sept. 30. 
Successful applicants notified by Oct. 21.   
     Hunters must possess a valid license for the 
species to be hunted to enter a drawing. Hunt-
ers may apply for multiple hunt dates on one 
postcard.  
     Failure to hunt a reserved area without prior 
cancellation, or to follow check station proce-
dures, may disqualify a person from making 
reservations for the remainder of the hunting 
season.

e. Ponds open to hunting without a reservation 

during the spring light goose conservation 
order season. All hunters must follow check-in 
and check-out procedures as posted. 

TIlMan bIsHoP swa, MESA Co.
1. Open for public access July 15-March 14.
2. Mandatory check-in and check-out procedures 

for hunters at entrance station. 
3. Hunting with bows and/or shotguns with shot-

shells only.
4. Dogs allowed only as aid to hunting.
5. Waterfowl hunting by reservation only. See “Res-

ervation Procedures” (page 12) for details. 
6. Waterfowl hunters must hunt from designated 

blinds or in the zone identified for each blind. 
Maximum 4 hunters per blind.

7. If no reservation exists for a hunt area, hunters 
may check in on a first-come, first-served basis af-
ter 5 a.m. the day of the hunt. Reserved areas not 
claimed by 7 a.m. will be available on a first-come, 
first-served basis. But, any area must be yielded 
upon request of the hunter holding a valid and 
active reservation for that area. 

TRInIDaD sTaTe PaRK, LAS ANIMAS Co. 
1. Waterfowl hunting prohibited as posted.

TURK’s PonD swa, BACA Co. 
1. From the first split of waterfowl seasons through 

last day of waterfowl seasons, the following regula-
tions are in effect in sections 20, 21, 28, 29, 32 & 33 
in Township 29 South, Range 44 West, 6th P.M.:

 a. On SWA land within 0.25 of a mile of ordinary 
high-water line, hunting prohibited as posted.

 b. It is illegal to discharge firearms or arrows 
from, on or across 50 yards on each side of center 
line of public roads. 

2. Boating prohibited except float tubes or crafts 
propelled by hand, wind or electric motor.

3. Open near pond and administrative building only 
to retrieve downed waterfowl from opening day 
of waterfowl season through end of February.

vanCIl ReseRvoIR, MoRGAN Co.
1. Waterfowl hunting prohibited as posted to pro-

vide for waterfowl resting as necessary depending 
on water levels, weather and presence of birds.

wellInGTon swa, LARIMER & WELD Cos.
1. From first day of regular waterfowl season to first 

day of pheasant season Wellington Unit open 
only on Sat., Sun., Mon. and Columbus Day 
(observed).  

2. Only hand-propelled vessels may be used, and 
only when hunting waterfowl.

wHITeHoRse swa, ADAMS Co.
1. Closed except for youth/mentor waterfowl hunt-

ing when authorized by area wildlife manager as 
participants in CPW youth hunter program.

2. Reservations required. See “Reservation Proce-
dures” (page 12) for details. Hunters with reserva-
tions can only hunt area specified on reserva-
tion, except in areas where reservations are not 
required or are unreserved and unoccupied. 

3. Mandatory check in and check out as posted at 
check station.
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