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PLEASE SEE CORRECTIONS, PAGE 21

ABOUT THE COVER: The winning entry of the 2011
Colorado Waterfowl Stamp Art contest “Green Wing
Trio”was created by Richard Clifton, a hunter and self-
taught artist who has won the Colorado Waterfowl
art contest two years in a row.

The Colorado Wildlife Heritage Foundation sells
the prints and stamps of the 2011 stamp. If interested
please contact the foundation at (303) 291-7212 or
www.cwhf.info/shoponline. Proceeds for the sale of
the waterfowl stamps and prints support wetlands
that benefit Colorado’s waterfowl species.
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The Colorado Wildlife Commission set waterfowl regulations in July and August. The Colorado
Parks and Wildlife Commission (as of Aug. 2011): Tim Glenn, chair « Gary Butterworth, vice
chair « Mark Smith, secretary « David R. Brougham, member ¢ Chris Castilian, member
Dorothea Farris, member « Allan Jones, member o Bill Kane, member « Gaspar Perricone,
member o James C. Pribyl, member o John Singletary, member « Robert Streeter, member o
Lenna Watson, member « Dean Wingfield, member « Mike King, ex officio member « John
Salazar, ex officio member

Colorado Parks and Wildlife Director: Rick D. Cables

The CPW receives federal financial assistance from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. In ac-
cordance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of
1973, Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975
and Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, the U.S. Department of the Interior and its
bureaus prohibit discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability or sex.

NOTE: Laws and regulations in this brochure are paraphrased for easier understanding and are in-
tended only as a guide. Colorado wildlife statutes and regulations are available for viewing at CPW
offices and online at www.wildlife.state.co.us/RulesRegs.
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WHAT'S NEW

» NEW DUCK SEASON ZONES 1n the Central Flyway

portion of Colorado, there are now three duck season zones. Hunters
should pay close attention to hunting dates, as they can be different in
each zone in the regular season for ducks, coots and mergansers, as
well as the youth waterfowl weekend. See pages 8-9 for details.

» NEW GOOSE BAG LIMIT 'The new bag limit for Canada

geese in the Pacific Flyway has been raised from 3 to 4 after three years
of stable goose counts in the area.

This makes it easier for hunters to remember, as the dark-goose bag
limit is now the same in all seasons throughout Colorado.

See pages 6-7 for details.

» NEW LAND TO HUNT The James M. Robb Colorado River
State Park in Mesa County is now open for waterfowl hunting in des-
ignated blinds. Hunt spots are available through a reservation system.
Hunting on Highline Lake State Park is also now by reservation
only. Land regulations that have changed from last year are highlighted
with NEW! Please review these regulations before your hunting trip.
See pages 12-17 for details about land reservations and restrictions.

» HABITAT STAMPS ARE $10 and only one is required per

person per year. Stamps are valid April 1-March 31.

« Anyone 18-64 must purchase a stamp before buying or applying for
a preference point or a hunting or fishing license.

o A lifetime stamp is $300.25.

« Anyone buying a one-day or additional-day license for fishing and/
or small game is exempt from purchasing the Habitat Stamp with
the first two of these licenses. The habitat fee will be assessed when
a third one-day or additional-day license is purchased for fishing or
small game.

» Anyone who holds a free Lifetime Fishing License, a Veteran’s
Lifetime Combination Small-Game Hunting/Fishing License, or are
approved for the Big Game Mobility Impaired Hunting Program
is exempt from the Habitat Stamp requirement. See www.wildlife.
state.co.us/Hunting/DisabledAccessibility for details.

2011 Colorado Waterfowl Hunting

LICENSE FEES

RESIDENT NONRESIDENT

» Small Game $21 $56
» Small Game (one-day) $11 $11
» Small Game (additional day) $5 $5
» Youth Small Game (Under 18) $1.75 $1.75
» Small Game & Fishing Combo $41 n/a
» Habitat Stamp (required) $10 $10
» Colorado Waterfowl Stamp $5 $5
» Federal Migratory Bird

Hunting Stamp (Duck Stamp) $15 $15
» Military disability (60 percent or

more disability, see details below).....free............... n/a

Prices include 25-cent search-and-rescue fee and 75-cent surcharge for
the Wildlife Management Public Education Fund.

SAVE TIME: BUY ONLINE OR BY PHONE
Buy your license through the CPW's website

or by calling 1-800-244-5613. Credit cards are
accepted for phone and Internet purchases.
CPW offices and license agents also sell licenses.

LICENSE INFORMATION

HUNTER EDUCATION (SAFETY) REQUIREMENTS
Hunters born on or after Jan. 1, 1949, must have completed an ap-
proved hunter education course sanctioned by a state or province be-
fore purchasing a license. Colorado honors hunter education courses
from other states and provinces. You must present an original hunter
safety card when buying a license (unless previously verified) or enter
the required information when applying by mail or online. You must
carry your hunter education card while hunting unless a “V” is printed
on the license, which indicates hunter education has been verified at a
Wildlife Service Center.

Hunter education courses can be found online at www.wildlife.
state.co.us/Hunting/HunterEducation/CourseCalendar.

Details on seminars/clinics: www.wildlife.state.co.us/Hunting/
HunterOutreach/ClinicsAndSeminars.

YOUTH LICENSES AND MENTOR HUNTING

People under age 18 must have a license to hunt small game. A youth
small-game license is $1, plus surcharge. All youths must meet hunter
education requirements. Those under 16 must be accompanied by a
mentor while hunting. A mentor must be 18 or older and must meet
hunter education requirements. Mentors aren’t required to hunt.
While hunting, youths and mentors must be able to see and hear
each other without binoculars, radios or other aids. Youths under 18
also can buy an adult license as long as they meet hunter education
requirements. At age 18, hunters must buy an adult license.

DISABLED VETERANS

Colorado residents who are disabled veterans or Purple Heart re-
cipients can get free lifetime combination small-game-hunting and
fishing licenses. They must have served on active duty and have been
honorably discharged. Proof is required of a service-related disability
rated by the Veterans Administration of at least 60 percent through
disability retirement benefits or a pension administered by the Depart-
ment of Veteran Affairs or respective service department.
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PURCHASING A LICENSE

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

1.Hunters must have a small-game license, youth small-game or combina-
tion fishing/small-game license to hunt waterfowl. Hunters must carry
their license when hunting and show it when requested by law enforce-
ment officers.

2. Hunters 16 or older must have a $15 Federal Migratory Bird Hunting and
Conservation Stamp (Duck Stamp) and a $5 Colorado State Waterfowl
Stamp to hunt waterfowl.

WATERFOWL STAMP: The state stamp is printed on your hunting license
and validated by signing your name in ink across the imprint. The gum-
backed state stamp is available for an extra $2.50, if desired, and is mailed
after July 1.

FEDERAL DUCK STAMP: The federal stamp is available after July 1 online,
by phone and at select post offices (www.fws.gov/duckstamps/stamps.
htm). It is valid when you sign your name in ink across the face of the
stamp. It is also available at Wildlife Service Centers and license agents.
When purchased at state outlets, an electronic stamp is issued. This
instantly gives you a unique code that is valid for 45 days from the date
of issue, sufficient time for the gum-backed stamp to arrive in the mail. A
federal stamp is not required to take light geese during the conservation
order season.

3. Annual fishing, small-game and furbearer licenses, as well as Colorado
waterfowl] stamps and habitat stamps are valid April 1 through March
31 of the following year. Licenses expire on the date printed on them.
Lifetime small-game and fishing combination licenses are valid as long as
you are a Colorado resident.

4.1f a license is restricted to a specific area, you can hunt only that area.

5.Licenses and stamps are not transferable.

6. False statements made in buying a license and altering a license are illegal
and void the license.

7.Lost or destroyed licenses can be replaced by buying a new one or sign-
ing an affidavit and paying a fee. Forms are available at Wildlife Service
Centers and license agents.

HARVEST INFORMATION PROGRAM (HIP)
1-866-265-6447 (1-866-COLOHIP)
If you hunt small game, furbearers, or migratory birds in Colorado, includ-
ing by falconry, you must sign up with HIP before your license is valid.
Hunters must write their HIP number in the space provided on the li-
cense. Hunters will be asked basic questions about their hunting, including
how many birds they harvested the previous season and what species they
plan to hunt this year.
Both the phone line and website run 24 hours a day, every day, and the
process takes about 5 minutes. To sign up for HIP, hunters need to call
1-866-265-6447 (1-866-COLOHIP) or go online to www.colohip.com.
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RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS

The requirements to qualify as a Colorado resident to buy a hunting license:

1. You must have lived continuously in Colorado at least six months im-
mediately before applying for or buying a license, and must intend to make
Colorado home (except No. 2 and No. 3 below.) The residence address
given to purchase or apply for a license must be the same address used on
your Colorado income tax return.

2. U.S. armed services personnel and military personnel of U.S. allies on
active duty in Colorado under permanent orders and their dependents.
This includes people who were Colorado residents when they entered the
armed services and maintain Colorado as their home of record, and their
dependents (unless they change their home of record to another state.) Also
included are personnel of the U.S. Diplomatic Service or diplomatic services
of nations recognized by the U.S. assigned to duty here on permanent active
duty orders and their dependents. Active duty does not include reserve
status or National Guard.

3. Full-time students enrolled and attending a Colorado college, univer-
sity or trade school at least six months immediately before applying for or
buying a license. This includes students who are temporarily absent from
Colorado but still enrolled. Colorado residents who attend school full-time
out of state and pay nonresident tuition still qualify for a resident license.

4. Children under 18 have the same residency status as their parent, legal guard-
ian or person with whom they live the majority of the time per court order.

5.1f you have a home in Colorado and another state, call (303) 297-1192
to make sure you comply with Colorado residency requirements before
obtaining a hunting or fishing license.

6.Except as in No. 2 and No. 3 above, you lose your Colorado residency

if you apply for, buy or accept a hunting, fishing or trapping license as a
resident of another state or country; register to vote outside Colorado or get
a driver’s license with an address in another state.

CHILD-SUPPORT DELINQUENCY

State law requires Social Security numbers for all licenses purchased. It is
not displayed on the license but may be provided, if requested, to Child
Support Enforcement authorities. Hunting and fishing licenses are not is-
sued to people delinquent in child support.

WEAPONS RESTRICTIONS

Colorado and federal laws prohibit people convicted of certain crimes, such
as domestic violence, from possessing weapons even for hunting. If you've
been convicted of a crime, check with the appropriate law enforcement
authority to find out how these laws apply to you.

OPERATION GAME THIEF

CALL TOLL-FREE: 1-877-COLOOGT
EMAIL: GAME.THIEF@STATE.CO.US

Earn a reward payment for reporting poachers or resource violations.
Callers don't have to reveal their names, testify in court or sign a depo-
sition. Email for details. Do not call for information requests or emergencies.

) YOU CAN HELP
STOP POACHING!

) 1-877-COLO-0GT
£ 1-877-265-6648
game.thief@state.co.us
Your Wildlife...Your Loss
Turn In A Poacher!




KNOW BEFORE YOU GO

More laws and legal hunting methods explained on page 11

Attention:
Snow goose hunters

If you removed the plug from your shotgun during
the 2011 Light Goose Conservation Order season,
remember to replace the plug in your gun before
hunting in the fall small-game and waterfowl seasons.

TAGGING, SHIPPING, IMPORTING

1. A carcass tag must be attached to wild-
life requiring one.

2. Licensees must accompany wildlife not
requiring a carcass tag (except as in No. 4).

3.One fully feathered wing or head must
be attached to birds in transit until they
arrive at hunter’s home or commercial
processing facility.

4.To ship migratory birds, packages
must be marked outside with name and
address of sender, name and address of
receiver and number of birds, by species.
Licenses, a photocopy of the license or
carcass tag must accompany wildlife
shipped by common carrier.

5.1t is illegal to leave migratory birds
anywhere other than at your home or
with someone else for picking, cleaning,
processing, permanent or temporary
storage or taxidermy unless the birds or
package of birds have a tag attached. You
must sign tags, include your address, total
number and species of birds, date of kill
and your hunting license number.

6. Migratory bird preservation facilities:

a.If you have someone else’s migratory
birds for picking, cleaning, freezing,
processing, storing or shipping, you
must have records showing the number
of each species, date you received them,
date birds were disposed of, and name
and address of who received the birds.

b. You must keep records 1 year after
the last entry.

¢. You must allow people authorized
to enforce this regulation to enter the
facilities at reasonable hours to inspect
records and premises.

7.Per week, beginning on Sunday; it is
illegal to import more than 25 doves and
10 pigeons from a foreign country; or
more than 10 ducks and 5 geese from

WATCH FOR

BANDED BIRDS

Wildlife managers need help
gathering information about
the migratory bird populations.
If you kill a banded bird, please
report it to the USGS Bird Band-
ing Lab, www. reportband.gov
or call 1-800-327-BAND.

a foreign country, except Canada and
Mexico. Doves and waterfowl imported
from Canada and Mexico cannot exceed
Canadian and Mexican export limits. One
fully feathered wing must stay attached to
birds transported and shipped between
ports of entry and someone’s home or

a migratory bird facility. It is illegal to
import someone else’s birds.

8.1t is illegal to take, have, transport,
import or export migratory birds, their
parts, nests or eggs that were taken,
bought, sold, transported, possessed or
exported illegally.

9.1t is illegal to have or transport live
migratory birds, including wounded
birds. You must kill migratory game birds
immediately after recovering them.

10.No permit is required to have or
transport plumage and skins of legally
taken migratory birds for your own use.

11.No permit required to have, dispose of
and transport feathers of wild ducks and
wild geese legally killed, or of birds seized
by wildlife authorities. It is legal to use
feathers to make fishing flies, bed pillows,
mattresses and similar commercial items,
except millinery or ornamental use.

12.1t is illegal to buy, sell, barter, or offer
to buy or sell feathers or mounted speci-
mens of migratory game birds.

CALL BEFORE DIGGING

1-800-922-1987

Colorado law requires waterfowl hunt-
ers to call the Utility Notification Center
of Colorado before digging hunting pits.
By doing so, hunters can avoid acciden-
tally hitting electric, gas, water and other
utility lines.

DONATING WILDLIFE
You can donate edible parts of wildlife
to a like-license holder anywhere or

to anyone at the recipient’s home. A
like-license is for the same species, sex,
dates and manner of take as the donor’s
license. Bag and possession limits apply
to donors and recipients and birds must
be properly tagged. See “Tagging, Ship-
ping, Importing,” above.

WILDLIFE CAUSING DAMAGE
Colorado law allows landowners to pro-
tect private property from most wildlife
damage. For information, call the CPW
at (303) 297-1192.

HUNTING TERMS
& DEFINITIONS

AGGREGATE: Total number of animals allowed to be taken in
one day, by one person. This is equal to the largest daily bag
limit.

DAILY BAG LIMIT: Maximum number of birds you can kill dai-
ly, including birds eaten or donated the day you killed them.

CENTRAL FLYWAY: East of the Continental Divide.

GEESE: All species of geese and brant. Light geese means
lesser snow geese (including blue), greater snow geese and
Ross’ geese. Dark geese means Canada geese, white-fronted
geese, brant and all other species of geese except light geese.

MANIPULATION: Alteration of natural vegetation or agricul-
tural crops by activities that include, but are not limited to,
mowing, shredding, discing, rolling, chopping, trampling,
flattening, burning or herbicide treatments. Manipulation
does not include distributing or scattering grain, seed or other
feed after removal from or storage on the field where grown.

MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS: Migratory birds included in con-
ventions between U.S. and foreign countries to protect birds
for which seasons are established. They are: waterfowl (ducks,
including mergansers; and geese, including brant), mourning
and white-winged doves, sandhill cranes, American coots,
sora, Virginia rail, Wilson’s snipe, band-tailed pigeons, crows.

NATURAL VEGETATION: Non-agricultural, native or natural
plants growing from planting, or existing seeds and other
propagules. This does not include planted millet. However,
millet growing on its own after planting year is considered
natural vegetation.

NON-TOXIC SHOT: Any shot type approved to take migratory
game birds according to 50 CFR 20.21 (U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Service). See page 10 for table and details.

NORMAL AGRICULTURAL OPERATION: Planting, harvesting,
post-harvest manipulation or agricultural practice conducted
according to 50 CFR 20.11 (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service).

NORMAL AGRICULTURAL PLANTING, HARVESTING OR
POST-HARVEST MANIPULATION: planting or harvesting to
produce and gather crops or manipulation after harvest and
removal of grain, conducted according to 50 CFR 20.11 (U.S.
Fish and Wildlife Service).

NORMAL SOIL STABILIZATION PRACTICE: Planting for
agricultural soil erosion control or post-mining reclamation
conducted according to 50 CFR 20.11 (U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Service).

PACIFIC FLYWAY: West of the Continental Divide.

POSSESSION LIMIT: Maximum number of birds allowed at
any time.

SINKBOX: Raft or low-floating device with a depression con-
cealing a person below the surface of the water.
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WALK-IN ACCESS PROGRAM

The Walk-In Access (WIA) program
provides opportunities to hunt small
game, migratory game birds and fur-
bearers on enrolled properties.

This year, the brochure has been
redesigned and includes tips on how
to have successful dove, pheasant and
quail hunts in Colorado.

The regular season walk-in proper-
ties are open Sept. 1 through the end
of February.

The late cropland season properties
are open from opening day of pheasant
season through the end of February.

Extended walk-in properties are
open from the start of pheasant season
through the end of March.

WIA properties allow hunting small
game, furbearers, migratory game
birds and Eurasian collared-doves but
only during established season dates.
Properties are closed to hunting Gam-
bel’s quail, Gunnison’s sage-grouse and
greater sage-grouse.

Properties are open to foot access
only, from one hour before sunrise
until one hour after sunset. Lands are
open two hours before sunrise until
two hours after sunset for waterfowl
hunting.

A WIA permit is no longer required
to hunt WIA lands, but hunters must
have a small-game license. Properties
enrolled are posted with Walk-In Ac-
cess signs and published in WIA atlas.
Access is prohibited as posted when the
landowner is actively harvesting crops.

Two atlases for 2011-12 will be
published. The early version, the rede-
signed 2011 Walk-In Atlas is available
in mid-August and includes properties
open Sept. 1. The 2011 Late Cropland
Atlas will be available in late October
and includes all properties.

LEGAL HUNTING HOURS

Legal times to hunt waterfowl are one-half hour

before sunrise to sunset.

In light goose conservation season, hunting is
allowed one-half hour before sunrise to one-half

hour after sunset.
The sunrise/sunset chart below lists time in
Denver. Subtract 1 minute from opening and

closing time for each 12 1/2 miles east of Denver.

Add 1 minute to opening and closing time for

each 12 1/2 miles west of Denver.
(These changes assume that each degree of lon-

gitude equals 50 miles and a change of 1 degree of
longitude equals a 4-minute change in sunrise and
sunset times.)

2011-2012 SUNRISE/SUNSET TABLE (penver)
SEPT. OCT. NOV. DEC. JAN.2012 FEB.2012 MARCH 2012
RISE SET RISE SET RISE SET RISE SET RISE SET RISE SET RISE SET
A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M. A.M. PM. A.M. PM. A.M. PM. A.M. P.M.
DAY (DST)(DST)
1 6:28 7:31 6:56 6:43 7:28 5:58 7:02 4:36 7:21 446 7:08 5:19 6:32 5:53
2 6:29 7:30 6:57  6:41 7:29 5:57 7:03 4:36 7:21 447 7:07 5:20 6:31 5:54
3 6:30  7:28 6:58 6:39 7:31 5:56 7:04 4:36 7:21 4:48 7:06 5:22 6:29 5:55
4 6:31  7:27 6:59 6:38 7:32 5:55 7:04 4:36 7:21 449 7:05 5:23 6:28 5:56
5 6:32 7:25 7:00 6:36 7:33 5:54 7:05 4:35 7:21 _4:49 7:04 5:24 6:26 5:57
6 6:32  7:23 7:01 _6:35 6:34 4:53 53 7:06 4:35 7:21 _4:50 7:03 5:25 6:25 5:58
7 6:33  7:22 7:02 6:33 6:35 4:52 7:07 _4:35 7:21 _4:51 7:02 5:26 6:23 5:59
8 6:34 7:20 7:03 6:32 6:36 4:51 7:08 4:35 7:21 _4:52 7:01_5:28 6:22 6:00
9 6:35  7:19 7:04 _6:30 6:37 _4:50 7:09 4:35 7:21 4:53 7:00 5:29 6:20 6:01
10 6:36  7:17 7:05 6:28 6:39 4:49 7:10 4:35 7:21 _4:54 6:59 5:30 6:18 6:02
11 6:37 7:15 7:06 6:27 6:40 4:48 711 4:36 7:20 4:55 6:58 5:31 6:17 6:03
12 6:38  7:14 7:07 _6:25 6:41 _4:47 7:11 436 7:20 4:56 6:57 5:32 6:15 6:04
13 6:39 7:12 7:08 6:24 6:42 4:46 712 4:36 7:20 4:57 6:55 5:33 7:14 7:05 ?éﬁ
14 6:40 7:10 7:09 6:22 6:43 4:45 713 4:36 7:20 4:58 6:54 5:35 7:12 7:06
15 6:41 _7:09 7:10 _6:21 6:44 4:44 7:14 _4:36 7:19 _4:59 6:53 5:36 7:10 _7:07
16 6:42 7:07 711 _6:19 6:45 4:44 7:14 4:37 7:19 5:01 6:52 5:37 7:09 7:08
17 6:43 7:06 712 6:18 6:46 4:43 7:15 4:37 7:18 5:02 6:50 5:38 7:07 7:09
18 6:44 7:04 7:13 617 6:48 4:42 7:16 _4:37 7:18 5:03 6:49 5:39 7:06 _7:10
19 6:45 7:02 7:14 _6:15 6:49 4:42 7:16 _4:38 7:18 5:04 6:48 5:40 7:04 7:11
20 6:45 7:01 7:15__6:14 6:50 4:41 7:17 _4:38 7:17 _5:05 6:46 5:41 7:02 7:13
21 6:46  6:59 716 6:12 6:51 4:40 717 _4:39 7:16 5:06 6:45 5:43 7:01_7:14
22 6:47 6:57 717 6:11 6:52 4:40 7:18 4:39 7:16 5:07 6:44 5:44 6:59 7:15
23 6:48 6:56 7:18 _6:10 6:53 4:39 7:18 4:40 7:15 5:09 6:42 5:45 6:58 7:16
24 6:49 6:54 7:19 6:08 6:54 4:39 7:19 4:40 7:15_5:10 6:41 5:46 6:56 7:17
25 6:50 6:52 7:21 _6:07 6:55 4:38 7:19 441 7:14 5:11 6:39 5:47 6:54 7:18 -
26 6:51 6:51 7:22 _6:06 6:56 4:38 7:19 _4:42 7:13 5:12 6:38 5:48 6:53 7:19 §
27 6:52  6:49 7:23 6:04 6:57 4:37 7:20 4:42 7:12 5:13 6:37 5:49 6:51 7:20 §
28 6:53 6:48 7:24 6:03 6:59 4:37 7:20 4:43 7:12 5:14 6:35 5:50 6:50 7:21 &
29 6:54 6:46 7:25 6:02 7:00 4:37 7:20 444  7:11 5:16 6:34 5:52 6:48 7:22 §
30 6:55 6:44 7:26 _6:01 7:01 _4:36 7:21 444 7:10 5:17 6:46 7:23 ;
31 7:27 5:59 721 445 7:09 5:18 6:45 7:24 §
TIME ADJUSTMENT Alamosa +3 Gr.Junction +13
FOR OTHER COLORADO CITIES BuenaVista +5  Gunnison 47
Burlington  -10 La Junta -6
This table reflects the minutes to add to the chart above Craig +9 Lamar -9
for select towns. These are approximate, use only as a Durango +11  Sterling 6
general reference. Consult a state map for more details. Fort Morgan -4 Walden 45

hunting and

in Colorado.

fishing privileges

MONLEY WELL SPENT.

When you purchase a hunting or

fishing license, 75¢ goes to the
Wildlife Management Education
Fund, which helps preserve your

Wil

- e

eepingcoloradowild.org COU NCIL i
o



ShopQutdoors

Colorado Outdoors Big Game CD The Wild Fish and Wild Game cookbooks each bring you over 80 Elk Hunting Colorado DVD

7.0 by HuntData recipes from the chefs and owners of some of North America’s most will improve your chances of
New features! wonderful lodges, resorts and inns. You will find a wide range of bagging a Rocky Mountain elk.
The 7.0 version of the Big Game CD cooking techniques and tips, as well as recipes like Smoked Trout In this DVD you will learn about
includes: Cakes and Spicy Elk Lentil Stew. Each cookbook is packed with beau-  all the big game seasons and will
- Extensive data analysis tools tiful full-color photographs. 128 pages. $23.95 each find the one that is right for you.
- Concentration overlays for all big Learn about elk habitats, DAUs,
game species how biologists manage the

herds, calling tips, hunting strat-
egies and more. See what tips a
professional butcher recom-
mends for processing elk meat.

« Big game migration routes and mi-
gration corridors

= Sheep, goat and moose kill sites

+ 1:500,000 BLM land ownership,

USGS topo and USGS shaded $17.95
relief maps
« Annual free Internet upgrades Fly Fishing Colorado DVD Fly

fishers of all skill levels will bene-
fit from this comprehensive look
at year-round fly fishing oppor-
tunities in Colorado. This
DVD is packed with action

And many, many more features!
Windows 95, 98, 2000 and XP
$49.95

Down to the Bone is a quick
and easy method for and spectacular scenery. Each
deboning an elkin the ) i 8 —B d monthly entry showcases rec-
field. With this highly ac- e\l ommended destinations, spe-
claimed instructional DVD, | : \ cific fishing techniques and
hunters will learn a simple proven fly patterns. $22.00

and legal method of remov-

ing the inedible portions of Wildlife Series Embroidered

meat from an elk where it falls. Caps Choose from seven de-

By removing the bones and other signs, each embroidered with
the Colorado Division of Wildlife

inedible portions of the animal,
hunters can reduce the weight by Logo and the slogan "Keeping
Colorado Wild! Choose from:

more than 50 percent. No more
sawing and quartering. Learn how Black Lab (top) and below from
left: Pheasant, elk, mallards,

aquatic scene, mallards on mesh
and mule deer on mesh. $22.00

More items

to identify the best cuts for steaks, can be fou nd
online at

wildlife.state.co.us/

wildlifestore

roasts and hamburger. $17.95

ORDER FORM picesini Gide hipgiog and hariding SHOP ONLINE AT wildlife.state.co.us/wildlifestore
Price Qty. | Total
Down to the Bone DVD $1795 RewiE.
Big Game CD 7.0 (No Online Sales) $49.95 Address
The Wild Game Cookbook $2395 G s 7i
The Wild Fish Cookbook §2395 id e "
Fly Fishing Colorado DVD $22.00 Daytime phone
Elk Hunting Colorado DVD $17.95
Embroidered Pheasant Cap $22.00 METHOD OF PAYMENT
Embroidered Elk Cap $22.00 Chargemy _ Visa __ MasterCard
Embroidered Mallard Cap $22.00
Embroidered Aquatic Scene Cap $22.00 Account No. Exp. Date
Embroidered Black Lab Cap $22.00 Signature
Embroidered Mallards on Mesh Cap $22.00
Embroidered Mule DeeronMeshCap ~ $22.00 6060 Broadwa
Order any two DVDs for $30.00 Denver, CO 80;’1 6 53
Order any three DVDs for $43.50 U’I‘DOO ’
TOTAL RS (303) 297-1192




2011 Colorado Waterfowl Hunting

CENTRAL FLYWAY

REGULAR SEASON

AREAS: East of Continental Divide, except
areas in the following seasons: Northern Front
Range, North Park and South Park/San Luis
Valley

DARK GEESE —

DATES: Nov. 19-Feb. 12, 2012
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 4
POSSESSION LIMIT: 8

LIGHT GEESE —

DATES: Oct. 29-Feb. 12,2012
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 20
POSSESSION LIMIT: Unlimited

NORTHERN FRONT RANGE SEASON
AREAS: Boulder, Larimer and Weld counties
from the Continental Divide east along the
Wyoming border to Hwy. 85, south on Hwy. 85
to Adams Co. line, and all of Adams, Arapahoe,
Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas,
Gilpin and Jefferson counties.

DARK GEESE —

DATES: Oct. 1-15; Nov. 19-Feb. 12, 2012
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 4

POSSESSION LIMIT: 8

GOOSE SEASON REGULATIONS:

LIGHT GEESE —

DATES: Oct. 29-Feb. 12, 2012
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 20
POSSESSION LIMIT: Unlimited

SOUTH PARK/SAN LUIS VALLEY
SEASON
AREAS: Alamosa, Chaffee, Conejos, Costilla,
Custer, Fremont, Lake, Park, Rio Grande and
Teller counties. And the parts of Hinsdale,
Mineral and Saguache counties east of Conti-
nental Divide.

DARK GEESE —

DATES: Oct. 1-15; Nov. 19-Feb. 12, 2012
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 4

POSSESSION LIMIT: 8

LIGHT GEESE —

DATES: Oct. 29-Feb. 12, 2012
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 20
POSSESSION LIMIT: Unlimited

NORTH PARK SEASON
AREAS: Jackson County

DARK GEESE —

DATES: Oct. 1-15; Nov. 19-Feb. 12, 2012
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 4

POSSESSION LIMIT: 8

LIGHT GEESE —

DATES: Oct. 29-Feb. 12, 2012
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 20
POSSESSION LIMIT: Unlimited

LIGHT GOOSE CONSERVATION
ORDER SEASON

AREAS: East of I-25

DATES: Feb. 13-April 30, 2012

DAILY BAG LIMIT: Unlimited
POSSESSION LIMIT: Unlimited

NOTE: See page 11, No. 7 of “Legal Hunting
Methods” section for special conditions.

PACIFIC FLYWAY

EARLY CANADA GOOSE SEASON
AREAS: West of Continental Divide
DATES: Sept. 1-9

DAILY BAG LIMIT: 4 Canada geese
POSSESSION LIMIT: 8 Canada geese

REGULAR SEASON
AREAS: West of Continental Divide
DATES: Sept. 25-Oct. 2; Nov. 4-Jan. 30, 2012

DAILY BAG LIMIT: 4 dark geese; 10 light geese
POSSESSION LIMIT: 8 dark geese; 20 light
geese

Goose hunt near Greeley © Jim Bulger, CPW




2011 Colorado Waterfowl Hunting

GOOSE SEASONS IN COLORADO
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2011 Colorado Waterfowl Hunting

DUCK & COOT SEASON SEPTEMBER TEAL SEASON

REGULATIONS:

CENTRAL FLYWAY

NORTHEAST ZONE
AREA: East of I-25 and north of I-70
DATES: Oct. 8-Dec. 4; Dec. 23-Jan. 29, 2012

DAILY BAG LIMIT —

DUCKS: 6, excluding mergansers. Of these, up
to 5 can be mallards, but no more than 2 can
be female mallards. Included in the daily bag
limit of 6, you can have no more than 2 pintails,
1 canvasback, 2 redheads, 3 wood ducks and 2
scaup.

COOTS: 15

MERGANSERS: 5; only 2 can be hooded mer-
gansers

POSSESSION LIMIT: 2 daily bag limits

SOUTHEAST ZONE
AREA: East of I-25 and south of I-70, and all
of El Paso, Pueblo, Huerfano and Las Animas
counties
DATES: Oct. 26-Jan. 29, 2012

DUCKS OF COLORADO

DAILY BAG LIMIT —

DUCKS: 6, excluding mergansers. Up to 5
can be mallards, no more than 2 can be
female mallards. Included in the daily

bag limit of 6, you can have no more than

2 pintails, 1 canvasback, 2 redheads, 3 wood
ducks and 2 scaup.

COOTSs: 15

MERGANSERS: 5; only 2 can be hooded mer-
gansers

POSSESSION LIMIT: 2 daily bag limits

MOUNTAIN/FOOTHILLS ZONE
AREA: West of I-25 and east of Continental
Divide, except El Paso, Pueblo, Huerfano and
Las Animas counties
DATES: Oct. 1-Nov. 27; Dec. 23-Jan. 29, 2012

DAILY BAG LIMIT —

DUCKS: 6, excluding mergansers. Of these, up

to 5 can be mallards, but no more than 2 can be
female mallards. Included in the daily bag limit
of 6, you can have no more than 2 pintails, 1 can-
vasback, 2 redheads, 3 wood ducks and 2 scaup.
COOTs: 15

AREAS: Lake and Chaffee counties and all
areas east of |-25.

DATES: Sept. 10-18
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 4
POSSESSION LIMIT: 8

MERGANSERS: 5; only 2 can be hooded
mergansers.

POSSESSION LIMIT: 2 daily bag limits

PACIFIC FLYWAY

AREA: West of Continental Divide
DATES: Sept. 24-Oct. 10; Nov. 3-Jan. 29, 2012

DAILY BAG LIMIT —

DUCKS, MERGANSERS: 7 in the aggregate. Of
these, no more than 2 can be female mallards, 2
pintails, 1 canvasback, 2 redheads and 3 scaup.
No scaup can be taken after Jan. 10, 2012.
POSSESSION LIMIT: 2 daily bag limits

COOTS: Daily bag and possession limit is 25

The winter male plumage of
some commonly encountered
ducks, and duck species with
bag limit restrictions, are
depicted. For more on
identifying waterfowl, go to
Www.npwrc.usgs.gov/
resource/birds/waterfwl/

index.htm.

American wigeon

Canvasback Pintail

Lesser scaup

Blue-winged teal




2011 Colorado Waterfowl Hunting

DUCK SEASON FLYWAYS AND ZONES
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2011 Colorado Waterfowl Hunting

CENTRAL FLYWAY

NORTHEAST ZONE

AREA: East of I-25 and north of I-70

DATES: Sept. 24-25

SOUTHEAST ZONE

AREA: East of [-25 and south of [-70, and
all of El Paso, Pueblo, Huerfano and Las

Animas counties
DATES: Oct. 22-23

MOUNTAIN/FOOTHILLS ZONE
AREA: West of I-25 and east of the Con-
tinental Divide, except El Paso, Pueblo,
Huerfano and Las Animas counties

DATES: Sept. 24-25

BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS FOR ALL
ZONES IN CENTRAL FLYWAY —
DUCKS, COOT, MERGANSERS: Daily bag

YOUTH HUNT REGULATIONS:

. -gﬁ' HAWKING &
FALCONRY
REGULATIONS:

CENTRAL AND
PACIFIC FLYWAYS

DATES: Coincide with regular seasons

DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3 singly or in aggregate
POSSESSION LIMIT: 6 singly or in aggregate
NOTE: Falconry bag and possession limits are not
in addition to gun bag limits.

NOTE: Hunting in youth seasons is restricted to
youths under age 18 with a mentor. Mentors can-
not hunt during youth seasons. Other rules apply.
See “Youth Licenses,” page 1.

and possession limits are the same as regular
Central Flyway regulations, see page 8.
GEESE: Daily bag limit: 4 dark geese
POSSESSION LIMIT: 8 dark geese

PACIFIC FLYWAY

AREA: West of Continental Divide

DATES: Oct. 15-16

BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS —

DUCKS, COOTS, MERGANSERS:

Daily bag and possession limit is same as
regular Pacific Flyway regulations, see page 8.
GEESE — DAILY BAG LIMIT: 4 dark geese,
10 light geese. POSSESSION LIMIT: 2 daily
bag limits

NONTOXIC SHOT
REGULATIONS

1.1t is illegal to use or have
toxic (lead) shot, either
in shotshells or as loose
shot for muzzleloading,
while taking or attempt-
ing to take ducks, geese
or coots in Colorado. This
includes national wildlife
refuges open to hunt-
ing. Toxic shot, either in
shotshells or as loose shot
for muzzleloading, cannot
be in a hunter’s gun, on
his/her person or near a
hunter taking or attempt-
ing to take waterfowl.
Store lead shot in your
vehicle. You can store lead
shot elsewhere if it’s not
readily accessible while
hunting waterfowl.

2. Nontoxic shot is required
in commercial wildlife
parks, field trials and dog-
training while hunting
captive-reared mallards.

3. Nontoxic shot is any type
approved by the U.S. Fish
and Wildlife Service. Go
to: www.fws.gov/
migratorybirds/Current
BirdIssues/nontoxic.htm.

4.1t is illegal to have or use
nontoxic shot larger than
size T to hunt ducks,
geese or coots.

10

CONSEP* 2006 NONTOXIC SHOT LETHALITY TABLE®

. > B 2 '_g £ =F
Proven Nontoxic Shot | o= 3 TITEZ | Ensei| 252 ){
Loads For Waterfowl | §3 | £23 HHEE i Bl
spmdomesiss | 50| G| Wi HIE 4 e
o . L2 op a— @ = | = = >
Load Velocity: 1,225 - 1,450 FPS 34 F g £ =S §§§ §§5§E 3 Qg '
ACTIVITY
Large Geese At Long Ranggz 50-65 Steel BEBto T 11/4 | 1-2 50-55 Improved Modified
Giant, Westem, Aliantic and Interior Canadas | 50-70 | HEVI-Shot2to BB | 1-1/4 | 1-2 50-55 Full, Improved Modified
Large Geese Over Decoys> 40-50 | SteelBBtoBBB | 1-1/8 | 1-2 50-55 | Modified (Mod. or M.)
40-50 HEVIShot4to2 | 1-1/4| 1-2 50-55 I.C., Modified
Medium/Small Geese Long Range? | 50-65 | SteelBBtoBBB |1-1/4| 12 6065 | Improved Modified
Snow, White-front, Lesser Canadas
Medium/Small Gease Over Deooysz 40-50 Steel 2 to BB 14/8 | 12 60-65 Modified (Mod. or M.)
Large Ducks At Long Range 4565 Steel 2to 1 1118 | 1-2 85-90 Full
Large Ducks Over Decoys® 20-45 Steel 6to 2 Ya-1| 1-2 85-90 I.C. (20-35 Yds), M. (3545 Yds)
Medium Ducks Over DBCO)'ES 30-45 Steel 6to 3 1 1-2 115120 I.C. (20-35 Yards), Modified
Wigeon, Scaup, Shoveler (35-45 Yards)
Small Ducks Over Decoys® 3045 Steel 6to 4 1 12 | 135145 | Modified (20-35 Yards),
Teal, Ruddy, Buffiehead Full (35-45 Yards)
Ring-Necked Pheasants 20-50 Steel 3to 2 1 23 90-95 1.C. (20-30 Yds), M. (30-50 Yds)
Turkeys (Head and Neck Shots) 2040 Steel 4 1-1/4 | 34 210-230 | Full or Extra Full
Swatter Load For Wounded Birds 20-35 Steel 7to 5 1 1 175 Mod. or Full (7 or 6), Full (5's) |

This table summarizes analysis to date of the waterfowl and upland game bird lethality data base of the Cooperative Morth American Shotgunning Education Program (CONSEP).
Responsible shotgun hunters not only engage in thorough pattern testing and ample target practice, but also restrict shooting to ranges less than 45 yards.
Note: To date, steel #8BB (.190") and HEVI-Shot #2 (.150") have exhibited the best all-around performance for taking geese; steel #3 (.140") the best all-around

performance for taking ducks. s
1 These findings are derived from testing 3" 20-gauge; 2)4", 3" and 34" 12-gauge; and 314" 10 gauge steel loads and 2%" and 3" 12 gauge HEVI-Shot loads. As additional
peliet sizes and types, load configurations, and gauges are tested and data bases c gs will be and may change.

2 Steel #F (.220") in all 12-gauge load configurations has exhibited the highest crippling rate on geese of all steel peilet sizes tested. Due to inadequale pattern density,
steel #F has not proven lethal on geese beyond 55 yards.
3 Steel #4 (.130") has exhibited good all-around performance for taking small and medium-sized ducks, but has not proven lethal on large ducks beyond 45 yards.
This inal ballistics infs ion is provided courtesy of the members of CONSEP. CONSEP is a research and information service currently funded jointly by 18 U.S.
state fish and wildlife agencies, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, the Inter. Hunter Educ. Assoc., r.he British Assoc. for Shmung and Conservation (BASC), the Danish

Hunters' Assoc.-Denmark, Field & Game A lia, Sporting Sh Assnc of ia, the Dept. of S bility and Environ.-Australia, Metal, Inc.,
Remington Arms Co., and Winchester Div./Olin Corp. € ibuti i de Larry Gore's Katy Prairie Outfitters, Briley Mfg. Co., and Oregon DFA&W.
4 This table is NOT a CONSEP product. Table created and @ Copyright 2006 by Tom Roster. Reprint rights and/or permi to g ions of

this table granted only by written permission of Tom Roster, 1190 Lynnewood Bivd., Klamath Falls, OR, USA 97601, 541/884-2974, mmrom&hmr net




2011 Colorado Waterfowl Hunting

HUNTING LAWS & LEGAL METHODS OF TAKE

LEGAL HUNTING METHODS

Safe handling
of game meat

Concern has grown about
diseases affecting wild
animals that could poten-
tially make humans sick.
Most of the time, properly
handled and prepared
game meat poses no
greater risk than domestic
meat of causing disease
in humans. Hunters are
encouraged to contact
their local public health
department or CPW office
for information on wildlife
diseases that may be
present where they plan
to hunt. Public health of-
ficials recommend the fol-
lowing precautions when
handling and preparing
game meat:

1.Do not handle animals
that are obviously sick
or found dead. Report
sick or dead animals
you find to a Wildlife

Service Center near you.

2.Keep game cool, clean
and dry.

3.Do not eat, drink or
smoke while dressing
game.

4. Use disposable gloves
when cleaning game.

5.Wash your hands with
soap and water or use
alcohol wipes after
dressing game.

6.Clean all tools and sur-
faces immediately af-
terward. Use hot soapy
water, then disinfect
with a 10 percent chlo-
rine bleach solution.

7.Cook game meat to an
internal temperature
of at least 165° F to kill
disease organisms and
parasites. Juices from
adequately cooked
game meat should be
clear.

8.Do not eat any raw por-
tions of wild game.

9.Do not feed raw wild
game to domestic pets.

1

.Shotguns cannot be larger than 10 gauge. They cannot

hold more than 3 shells in magazine and chamber com-
bined (except during Light Goose Conservation Order
Season, see No. 7 below). Shotguns must be fired from
the shoulder. To reduce capacity of shotguns that hold
more than 3 shells in the chamber and magazine com-
bined, the magazine must be cut off, altered or plugged
with a 1-piece filler that cannot be removed unless the
gun is disassembled. Slugs are illegal to hunt waterfowl.

.Hand-held bows allowed only if the arrow or bowstring

is not held or drawn mechanically. It is illegal to use
bows on firing lines designated by the Colorado Parks
and Wildlife Board.

.It is legal to hunt waterfowl in the open, from a blind

or other concealed place except a sinkbox. When
camouflaged with vegetation from agricultural crops,
camouflaging cannot result in exposing, depositing,
distributing or scattering grain or other feed.

Hunting allowed from vessels (except sinkboxes) with
motors or sails if the motor is off, and/or sails are
furled and forward movement has stopped. Hunting

is allowed from drifting vessels and those propelled by
hand. Use of motorized vessels only allowed to pick up
dead or injured birds.

.Hawking or falconry permitted.
.Dogs, artificial decoys, duck calls or goose calls are

legal, except recorded or electronically amplified calls
or sounds. Recorded or electronically amplified calls
are legal to hunt common crows.

7.IN LIGHT GOOSE CONSERVATION ORDER SEASON:

Recorded or electronically amplified calls are allowed.
Shotguns that hold more than 3 rounds in the chamber
may be used during this season only. Hunting is allowed
one-half hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sun-
set. A federal migratory bird and conservation stamp are
not required for this season. (See page 6 for season dates.)

8.The most restrictive state or federal laws apply. See

www.wildlife.state.co.us/Hunting/Waterfowl or
www.fws.gov/hunting/whatres.html for a detailed
summary of federal regulations on migratory bird
hunting. More regulations also may apply to National
Wildlife Refuges opened to hunting, go to www.fws.
gov/refuges for details.

ILLEGAL HUNTING METHODS

1.

Baiting. For information on federal baiting laws, go to
www.fws.gov/le/HuntFish/waterfowl_baiting.htm.
a.It is illegal to take migratory game birds and wa-
terfowl by the aid of baiting, or on or over any baited
area, if you know or reasonably should know the area
is baited. It is illegal to place or direct placement of bait
on or next to an area to cause, induce or allow anyone
to take or attempt to take migratory birds with the help
of bait or over a baited area.

b. Baiting means directly or indirectly placing, exposing,
distributing or scattering salt, grain or other feed as an
attraction for migratory game birds to, on or over where
hunters are trying to hunt. An area is considered baited
for 10 days after complete removal of baiting material.
c.It is legal to take migratory game birds, including
waterfowl, coots and cranes, on or over the following
lands not otherwise baited: standing or flooded stand-
ing crops; standing flooded or manipulated natural
vegetation; flooded harvested crop lands; where seeds

or grains were scattered solely from normal agricul-
tural planting, harvesting, post-harvest manipulation
or normal soil stabilization practice; flooded, stand-
ing agricultural crops where grain is inadvertently
scattered solely by a hunter entering or exiting an area,
placing decoys or retrieving downed birds.

d. It is legal to take migratory birds, except waterfowl,
coots and cranes, on or over the following lands not
otherwise baited: where grain or other feed is distribut-
ed or scattered solely from manipulation of agricultural
crops or other feed, or solely from normal agricultural
operations.

2.1t is illegal to use any artificial light as an aid in hunting
or taking wildlife.

3. Traps, snares, nets, rifles, pistols, swivel guns, punt guns,
battery guns, machine guns and fish hooks, poisons,
toxicants, explosives or stupefying substances are illegal.

4.1t is illegal to use live, tame or captive ducks and geese
as decoys. All tame, captive ducks and geese must be
removed 10 days before hunting. They must be in an
enclosure that substantially reduces the sound of their
calls and conceals them from the sight of waterfowl.

5.1t is illegal to discharge a firearm or release an arrow
from, on or across a public road. Hunting with rifles,
handguns, shotguns firing a single slug and archery
equipment prohibited within 50 feet on each side of
the center line of any public road. On a divided road,
the prohibition includes the median, and the 50-foot
requirement is measured from the center line of both
roads. Waterfowl cannot be hunted from, on or across
a highway, road, designated trail or other right-of-way
(public or private) in national wildlife refuges.

6.1t is illegal to carry or have a firearm (except a pistol or
revolver) in or on a motor vehicle unless chamber is
unloaded.

7. Possession of wildlife is evidence you hunted.

8.1t is illegal to kill, capture, wound or harass wildlife
from an aircraft or motor vehicle. It is also illegal to
operate aircraft, discharge firearms or release arrows
from aircraft or motor vehicles with the same intent.

9.1t is illegal to waste or abandon edible portions of
wildlife, or to leave wounded wildlife without trying to
track and kill it.

10. 1t is illegal to leave decoys or things used as decoys in
the field or on water overnight on state wildlife areas.

HAWKING AND FALCONRY

1. Apprentices may hunt with only 1 raptor at a time.

2. A resident falconry license required.

3. Nonresident falconers must buy a nonresident falconry
license from the CPW’s special licensing section, a one-
day small-game hunting license or a nonresident small-
game hunting license. Hunter education laws apply.

4. Falconers must comply with HIP.

5.Firearms prohibited while hawking.

6. Hawking prohibited from a public road.

7.Hawking on private property is illegal without permis-
sion from owner or person in charge.

8. Nonresidents also must obtain an import permit at
least 30 days in advance from special licensing. The
permit is free, but a current health certificate issued
within 30 days of the proposed entry from state of ori-
gin required. Import permit applications and import
permits are available on the CPW website at
www.state.co.us.
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LANDS WITH SPECIAL WATERFOWL REGULATIONS

For land requiring reservations, call 1-800-846-9453 (1-800-uGo-wiLD)

LAND RESTRICTIONS
AND USE RULES

NOTE: Additional restrictions may
apply on some properties. Consult the
CPW’s State Wildlife Area brochure
for details.

-

It is illegal to hunt on private land
without permission from landowner
or person in charge. It is illegal to
post or indicate that public lands are
private. It is illegal to hunt on State
Trust Lands without permission of
lessee, except lands open for wildlife
recreation.

2.1t is illegal to hunt waterfowl in fed-

eral reservations; areas the U.S. gov-

ernment sets aside as bird, game or
other wildlife reservations, breeding
grounds or refuges; or areas closed by
the Migratory Bird Treaty Act, except
as permitted. More regulations may
apply on national wildlife refuges.

Contact: Alamosa and Monte Vista,

(719) 589-4021; Browns Park, (970)

365-3613; Arapaho, (970) 723-8202.

3.INTHE AREAS BOUNDED on N by

Wyoming; E and S by I-76, Hwy.

71, US. 36 and I-70; and W by the

Continental Divide and Larimer-

Jackson county line; and in Bent,

Crowley, Kiowa, Mesa, Otero and

Prowers counties:

a.lt is illegal to hunt waterfowl
within 50 yards on either side of
center line of a public road.

b. It is illegal to hunt waterfowl
within 150 yards of a dwelling, in-
cluding directly above it, without
first obtaining permission from
owner, occupant or person in
charge of the dwelling.

4.PUEBLO COUNTY: It is illegal to

hunt waterfowl within 150 yards of a

dwelling, including directly above it,

without first obtaining permission
from owner, occupant or person in
charge of dwelling.

5.ALONG THE COLORADO RIVER:

a.IN GRAND COUNTY: Closed to

waterfowl hunting from Shadow

Mountain dam to Twin Creek

after Nov. 13.

b.IN MESA COUNTY: Closed to

waterfowl hunting on Colorado

River and 200 yards on either

side of river from Grand Avenue

bridge in Grand Junction to W

end of Horsethief Canyon SWA

from Wed.-Fri., except Thanksgiv-
ing, Christmas and New Year’s

Day. Closed to waterfowl hunting

on river and 200 yards on either

side of river from Appleton Drain
to Hunter Wash (at the W end of

Walker SWA).

» RESERVATIONS NOT ACCEPTED MORE THAN 14
DAYS IN ADVANCE of hunt date nor after noon
the day before the hunt date or noon Friday for
hunts on Sunday and holidays falling on Monday.

» TO CANCEL, hunters must do so by noon the

» MAXIMUM 1 RESERVATION PER HUNT DATE
and 1 reservation per phone call. Reservations
are not transferable.The person making the
reservation must be a licensed hunter for the

species to be hunted and must be at the prop-

day before the hunt date. Failing to cancel

reservations or follow check-station procedures
may result in losing future reservation rights for
the rest of the hunting season.

erty the day of the hunt.

» HUNTERS MAY ONLY HUNT the area specified
on the reservation, unless stated otherwise in

the following listings.

NEW! Look for this marker in the list below that indicates regulations for this property have changed since last year.

NOTE: These lands have special
waterfowl regulations. Additional
rules apply on some properties. Con-
sult the CPW's State Wildlife Area
brochure for details.

ANDRICK PONDS SWA

1. Public access limited to Sat., Sun.,
Wed. and legal holidays. During
these days, property is only open
from 3 a.m.-9 p.m. Access is by
foot only, through designated
parking areas. Night hunting is
prohibited.

2. Hunting by reservation only. See
“Reservation Procedures” (top
of page) for details. Maximum 4
hunters allowed in each area at
any time. From Sept. 1 through
end of regular goose season, only
3 reservations allowed per hunter
annually. Hunting not allowed on
Clark Lake.

3.From Sept. 1-Nov. 30, all public
use prohibited except migratory
bird hunting within designated
hunting areas.

4. NEW! From Dec. 1 through end
of regular goose season, hunting
is permitted for migratory birds
and small game. During this
time, hunt days will be estab-
lished as small-game hunting or
migratory bird hunting only to
minimize conflicts.

a. SMALL GAME — Small-game
hunting restricted to Decem-
ber and January, Sundays only.
Dec. 4 and Jan. 15 are limited
to youth/mentor small-game
hunting. On these dates,
at least one member of the
hunting party must be a youth
under 18 years old, and hunt-
ers age 15 younger must be
accompanied by a mentor.
Three hunting areas are desig-

nated, named: northwest area,
southwest area and east area.
Reservations taken by calling
1-800-846-9453, following nor-
mal reservations procedures.

b. MIGRATORY BIRD — Migra-
tory bird hunting only on Sat.,
Wed. and legal holidays from
Dec. 1 through end of dark
goose season. Hunting areas
same as from Sept. 1-Nov. 30.
Reservations taken by calling
1-800-846-9453, following nor-
mal reservations procedures.

5.From end of dark goose season
through the Fri. prior to Memo-
rial Day, only spring turkey hunt-
ing allowed.

6.Mandatory check in and check
out as posted.

7.NEW! From the Thurs. before

Sept. 1 through the end of dark

goose season, scouting permitted

from 10 a.m.-2 p.m. on Thurs.
that are not open to hunting in
and prior to waterfowl seasons.

Must have reservation or letter

from CPW. All people must check

in and out at check station. Fire-
arms, dogs not allowed during
scouting.

ARAPAHO NATIONAL

WILDLIFE REFUGE

1. Unit A closed to all hunting. Unit
B open to migratory and resident
small game. Unit C closed to
migratory bird hunting. For
information, call (970) 723-8202.

ATWOOD STATE TRUST

LAND

1. Hunting prohibited except Sat.,
Sun., Wed., Labor Day, Columbus
Day (observed), Veterans Day,
Thanksgiving Day, Christmas
Day, New Year’s Day, Martin Lu-

ther King Day and Presidents Day.

2. Small-game and waterfowl
hunting regulated by reservation
system and mandatory check
station. See “Reservation Proce-
dures” (top of page) for details.
Mandatory check in and check
out as posted.

3. Two reservations are for the
general public, 1 for hunters with
mobility impairments and 1 for
youth/mentor. General public
and mobility-impaired must
hunt the up-river side of Hwy. 63.
Youths and mentors must hunt
down-river side of the highway.

4. Hunting prohibited with center-
fire rifles.

ATWOOD SWA

1. Public access by foot, through
designated parking areas. Max.
4 groups or vehicles with max. 4
people per group.

2.NEW! Beginning with first day of
the regular duck season through
last day of regular duck season,
hunting is by reservation only.
See “Reservation Procedures”
(top of page) for details. Max.
4 per reservation. Hunters may
only hunt area specified on
reservation and must check out at
mandatory station by 2 p.m.

3.NEW! Waterfowl and small-game
hunting permitted only on Sat.,
Sun., Wed., Columbus Day (ob-
served), Veterans Day, Thanks-
giving Day, Christmas Day, New
Year’s Day, Martin Luther King
Jr. Day.

BANNER LAKES SWA

1. Access only through designated
parking areas. Waterfowl hunting
only from first day of regular
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© Jennifer Jespersen, CPW

Tilman Bishop State Wildlife Area is one of many scenic destinations in Colorado for waterfowl hunting. Reservations are required for hunting Tilman Bishop, check the
brochure listing on page 17 for details on how to reserve your waterfowl hunt here.

LAND CLOSURES
DURING DEER SEASON

(OPENING WEEKENDS)

All recreational activities except deer
hunting prohibited on the following
lands during opening weekend of
regular plains rifle deer season and on
opening day and first weekend of late
plains rifle deer season:

» STATE WILDLIFE AREAS:
Atwood, Bravo (and Scalva
parcel), Brush, Centennial Valley,
Cottonwood, Dune Ridge, Elliott,
Jean K.Tool, Julesburg leases,
Knudson, Messex, Overland
Trail, Pony Express, Sedgwick
Bar and Tamarack Ranch

» STATE TRUST LANDS: Atwood,
Ford Bridge and Red Lion Ranch

waterfowl season to the day before
the first day of pheasant season.
Property open only on Sat., Sun.,
Mon. and legal holidays.

2. Waterfowl reservations available

but not required. See “Reservation
Procedures” (page 12) for details.
Max. 4 hunters per reservation.

3.Reservations valid during reserved

day until hunter with reservation
checks out. Hunters may check in
on first-come, first-served basis
after a hunter with a reservation
checks out. If a reserved area is
not claimed by legal sunrise, or

if no reservation exists for a hunt
area, hunters may check in after
midnight the morning before the
hunt.

4, Waterfowl hunters must follow

check-in and check-out proce-
dures as posted.

5. NEW! From the Thurs. before Sept.

1 through the end of dark goose
season, scouting permitted from
10 a.m.-2 p.m. on Thurs. that are
not open to hunting in and prior
to waterfowl seasons. Must have

reservation or letter from CPW. All
people must check in and out at
check station. Firearms, dogs not
allowed during scouting.

BARR LAKE STATE PARK

1. Waterfowl hunting only, restricted
to Sat. and Wed.

2.Hunting from designated blinds
only. Max. of 3 hunters per blind.
Unreserved blinds will be available
on first-come, first-served basis
after 5 a.m. each day. Reserved
blinds unoccupied by 7 a.m. are
first come, first served.

3. Hunting by reservation only. See
“Reservation Procedures” (page
12) for details. Mandatory check
in and check out as posted.

BRAVO SWA

1. NEW! From the first day of the
regular duck season through the
last day of the regular duck season,
waterfowl and small-game hunt-
ers must check out at mandatory
check station.

UNCHING VESSELS

Launching or taking out vessels
from the water is prohibited from
the first day of Sept. teal season
until the last day of dark goose
season on these properties:

» STATE WILDLIFE AREAS:
Atwood, Boyd Ponds, Bravo,
Brower, Brush, Centennial
Valley, Cottonwood, Dune
Ridge, Elliott, Jean K.Tool,
Julesburg, Knudson, Messex,
Mitani-Tokuyasu, Overland
Trail, Pony Express, Sedgwick
Bar, Tamarack Ranch

» STATE TRUST LANDS:
Atwood, Bravo, Ford Bridge,
Red Lion Ranch
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2. Access from designated parking
areas only.

3.SCALVA PARCEL: All public
access requires a reservation. See
“Reservation Procedures” (page
12) for details. From June through
August, reservations available by
calling (970) 842-6300.

a. From Sept. 1-May 31, only
hunting is allowed and is lim-
ited to archery, muzzleloading
and shotgun during established
seasons. Hunting is only on
Sat., Sun., Wed., Labor Day;,
Columbus Day (observed), Vet-
erans Day, Thanksgiving Day,
Christmas Day, New Year’s Day,
Martin Luther King Jr. Day and
Presidents Day.

b. Access by foot only 4 a.m.-9
p-m. through designated
parking and mandatory check
station.

BROWNS PARK NATIONAL

WILDLIFE REFUGE

1. Butch Cassidy Lake, Hog Lake
and the river corridor are open to
waterfow] hunting. All other units

are closed. For information, call
(970) 365-3613.

BRUSH SWA

1.NEW! Public access only from
3 a.m.-9 p.m., except with night
hunting permit. Access from desig-
nated parking areas only.

2.NEW! Beginning with the first day
of regular duck season through
last day of regular duck season,
waterfowl and small-game hunting
is by reservation only. Call 1-800-
846-9553 for reservations. Two
waterfowl and two small-game
reservations are available in des-
ignated areas. Max. 4 people per
reservation. There is one youth/
mentor area available. No more
than two mentors and at least one
youth per youth/mentor reserva-
tion. Mentors must be 18 and have
hunter education certificate.

3.NEW! Hunters must check out
at designated check station by 2
p-m. Hunting permitted only on
Sat., Sun., Wed., Columbus Day
(observed), Veterans Day, and
Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day,
New Year's Day and Martin Luther
King Jr. Day.

BRUSH PRAIRIE PONDS
SWA

1. Public access only from 3 a.m.-9
p.m., except with night hunting
permit.

2. Allland users must check in and

14

check out at the designated check
station at Brush Memorial Park.
Access is regulated through the
check station, max. 4 hunters al-
lowed in each area.

3. From the last day of regular
goose season until opening of first
waterfowl season, only wildlife ob-
servation is permitted with access
to areas as posted. Public access by
foot only.

4.From opening of teal season
through Nov. 30, only migratory-
bird hunting allowed and only on
Sat., Sun., Wed., Columbus Day
(observed), Veterans Day, and
Thanksgiving Day during estab-
lished waterfowl seasons.

5. From the September teal season
through Dec. 1, reservations are
available, but not required. See
“Reservation Procedures” (page 12)
for details. Max. 3 reservations per
hunter annually. Reservations valid
until 9 a.m., hunters may only hunt

the area specified on the reservation

or which they check into. Hunters
may check in on first-come, first-
served basis after a hunter with a
reservation checks out. If no reser-
vation exists for a hunt area, hunt-
ers may check in after midnight the
morning before the hunt.

6. From Dec. 1 through the last day
of regular goose season, only hunt-
ing is allowed. Reservations avail-
able to hunt on Dec. 1 (first day for
small-game and big-game hunt-
ing). Reservations not available
from Dec. 2-Jan. 31. Hunters may

check in at one of five hunting areas

on a first-come, first-served basis,
after midnight the morning before

the hunt. Hunters properly checked

in to any of these areas may hunt
anywhere on the property.

7.NEW! From the Thurs. before
opening of teal season until Nov.
30, scouting permitted from 10
a.m.-2 p.m. on Thurs. that are
not open to hunting in and prior
to waterfowl seasons. Must have
reservation or letter from CPW. All
people must check in and out at
check station. Firearms, dogs not
allowed during scouting.

CENTENNIAL VALLEY SWA

1. During waterfowl season, small-
game and waterfowl hunting is
only in designated areas.

2. During regular duck seasons, res-
ervations are required for water-
fowl and small-game hunting. See
“Reservation Procedures” (page
12) for details. Max. 4 hunters al-
lowed per reservation. Mandatory

check in and check out as posted at

designated station.

3. Closed during regular waterfowl
seasons except Sat., Sun., Mon.
and legal holidays. Closed March
1-Aug. 31 except on designated
trail for wildlife viewing and
for hunters with spring turkey
licenses.

CHUCKLEWIS SWA

1. Waterfowl hunting prohibited
within 50 yards of CR 14F bridge.

2.0pen 4 a.m.-10 p.m. only, no
overnight parking.

3.Dogs permitted as an aid to wa-
terfowl hunting or aid to a person
with disabilities.

COLORADO RIVER ISLAND

SWA NEW!

1. Only waterfowl hunting, and only
from designated blinds.

2. Hunting by reservation only. See
“Reservation Procedures” (page
12) for details. Mandatory check-
in and check-out procedures as
posted.

3.If no reservation exists for a hunt
area, hunters may check in on a
first-come, first-served basis after 5
a.m. the day of the hunt. Reserved
areas not claimed by 7 a.m. will be
available on a first-come, first-
served basis. An area must be
yielded upon request of the hunter
holding a valid and active reserva-
tion for that area.

CRAWFORD STATE
RECREATION AREA
1. Hunting prohibited as posted.

DILLON RESERVOIR

1. Waterfowl hunting prohibited on
Labor Day and the Sat. and Sun.
before Labor Day.

2. Denver Water Board restricts
hunting to designated areas only.
For more property information, go
to www.co.summit.co.us/open
space/drrec.html.

DOME LAKES SWA

1. Camping during waterfowl seasons

allowed only in designated areas.

ELLIOTT SWA

1.Open to public 3 a.m.-9 p.m. daily,
except with night hunting permit.

2.NEW! Scouting permitted from
the Thurs. before opening of teal
season until Nov. 30 on Hamlin
Tracts, and from the Thurs. before
opening of teal season until the
first segment of the regular duck
season on Union Tract. Scouting
permitted from 10 a.m.-2 p.m. on

Thurs. that are not open to hunting
in and prior to waterfowl seasons.
Must have reservation or letter
from CPW. All people must check
in and out at check station. Fire-
arms and dogs not allowed during
scouting.

3.UNION TRACT: Open only for wa-

terfowl hunting, access from desig-
nated parking areas only. Reserva-
tions available but not required,
see “Reservation Procedures” (page
12) for details. Mandatory check
station. Hunting allowed only from
designated blinds or as posted.
Max. 4 hunters per area.

a. From Sept. teal season through
the first segment of regular wa-
terfowl season, waterfowl hunting
allowed only Sat., Sun., Wed. and
Columbus Day (observed). Reser-
vations available but not required.
Max. 2 reservations annually per
hunter. Reservations valid until

9 a.m. Hunters may check in on
first-come, first-served basis after
a hunter with a reservation checks
out or if no reservation exists for a
hunt area after 3 a.m. immediately
before the hunt.

b. During subsequent segments of
regular waterfowl season, CPW
may establish max. 15 days of
waterfowl] hunting to be consistent
with management objectives or
restrictions, including weather,
water levels, presence of waterfowl,
need for waterfowl resting areas,
the need to maximize public hunt-
ing and youth hunting opportuni-
ties. To enter a drawing for an area,
send a postcard with name, ad-
dress, phone number, desired dates
and hunting area (Area 1 or Area
2) to CPW, Union Tract Draw-
ing, 122 E. Edison St., Brush, CO
80723. Cards must be postmarked
by Sept. 30. Successful applicants
notified by Oct. 21. Hunters can
apply for 1 area daily, but can list
multiple requests on 1 postcard.
Reservations limited to 1 drawing
per hunter annually. Reservations
valid until 9 a.m. Hunters check

in on first-come, first-served

basis after a hunter with a lottery
reservation checks out, or if no
reservation exists for an area after
3 a.m. the day of the hunt. Dates
available for reservations are Dec.
24,25,28,31and Jan. 1,7, 8, 14,
15, 21, 22, 28, 29.

4.HAMLIN TRACTS (NAND S):

From teal season until Nov. 30,
waterfowl and migratory bird hunt-
ing only.

a.Max. 4 hunters per area. Manda-
tory check in and check out as



posted.

b. Reservations are available but
not required. See “Reservation
Procedures” (page 12) for details.
Max. 3 reservations per hunter
annually.

c.Reservations valid until 9 a.m.
Hunters may check in on first-
come, first-served basis after a
hunter with a reservation checks
out or if no reservation exists for a
hunt area after 3 a.m. immediately
before the hunt.

d. Hunters must comply with
youth/mentor restrictions as
posted on S Hamlin Tract.
e.From Dec. 1 through March 31,
reservations not available. Hunt-
ers may check in on first-come,
first-served basis but not until 3
a.m. immediately before hunt. Two
areas available on both N and S
tracts. Hunters properly checked
in for one of these areas may hunt
anywhere within that area.

EMPIRE RESERVOIR

1. Goose hunting prohibited below
historical and recorded high-water
line. Hunting also prohibited N of
reservoir 20 yards above high-
water line from the inlet structure,

N and E to easternmost end of
dike.

FLAGLER RESERVOIR SWA

1. Boating prohibited during
waterfowl season, except crafts
propelled by hand, wind or electric
motor.

2. Hunting limited to youth mentor
hunting only. Max. 1 mentor per
youth may hunt.

FOSSIL CREEK RESERVOIR
1. Closed to goose hunting as posted.

FRANK SWA

1. During regular duck season, all
waterfowl and small-game hunting
is limited to Sat., Sun., Mon. and
legal holidays.

2. A reservation is required. See “Res-
ervation Procedures” (page 12) for
details. Max. 4 hunters allowed
per reservation. Mandatory check
out as posted at designated check
station.

3. Hunting prohibited west of CR 13
and in the posted safety zone in
the NE corner of the property.

FRANKLIN ISLAND SWA

NEW!

1. Only waterfowl hunting, and only
from designated blinds.

2. Dogs prohibited, except as an aid
to hunting.

© Ralph Pinney, CPW
A Youth Waterfowl Weekend hunt at Kennecott Duck Club at Empire Reservoir near
Orchard. For details about youth waterfowl hunts, go to the CPW website at www.
wildlife.state.co.us/Hunting/HunterOutreach/YouthHuntingBirds.

3.Hunting by reservation only. See
“Reservation Procedures” (page 12)
for details. Mandatory check-in and
check-out procedures as posted.

4.1f no reservation exists for a hunt
area, hunters may check in on a
first-come, first-served basis after 5
a.m. the day of the hunt. Reserved
areas not claimed by 7 a.m. will be
available on a first-come, first-
served basis. Any area must be
yielded upon request of the hunter
holding a valid and active reserva-
tion for that area.

GRAND LAKE, WINDY GAP

RESERVOIR

1. Closed to goose hunting on lakes
and within 100 yards of high-water
lines.

GUNNISON RIVER SWA

1. Public access is by foot only.

2. Only waterfow] hunting with
shotguns allowed.

GYPSUM PONDS SWA

1.Dogs are prohibited on the eastern
ponds, except when used for
waterfow] hunting.

HIGEL SWA

1.Closed Sept. 1-Feb. 14, except by
permit Sat., Sun., Wed. and legal
holidays. Closed Feb. 15-July 15 to
protect nesting water birds.

2. Permits required for access Sept.
1-Feb. 14. Max. 25 permits daily.
Get free permits through the Wild-
life Service Center in Monte Vista,
or through reservation system
by calling (719) 587-6923. Phone
reservations only Oct. 1-Nov. 10.

HIGHLINE LAKE

STATE PARK

1.Closed to waterfowl hunting Sat.
and Sun.

2. Waterfowl hunting limited to
designated blinds. Max. 4 hunters
per blind. Mandatory check in and
check out.

3.NEW! Hunting is by reservation
only. See “Reservation Procedures”
(page 12) for details.

4.NEW! Unreserved blinds will be
available on first-come, first-served
basis after 5 a.m. each day. Re-
served blinds unoccupied by 7 a.m.
are first come, first served. Hunt
areas must be yielded at any time
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upon request of a hunter holding a
valid reservation for that area.

HORSETHIEF CANYON SWA
1.Open to public 5 a.m.-9 p.m. Open
24 hours for fishing only.

2. Hunting with shotguns, hand-held
bows and muzzleloaders only.

4. Permits are not required for wa-
terfowl hunting 100 yards east of
Blind No. 1 to the eastern property
boundary, including Skipper’s
Island.

5. Waterfowl hunting is prohibited
Weds.-Fri., except on Thanksgiv-
ing Day, Christmas Day and New
Year’s Day.

6.From 100 yards east of Blind No.
1 to the western boundary of the
property, waterfow] hunting on
Sat. restricted to youth/mentor
hunting only.

7. Waterfowl] hunters on west end
of property must reserve a blind
and must hunt from or within 100
yards of that blind. Max. 4 hunters
per blind.

8.NEW! Hunting by reservation
only. See “Reservation Procedures”
(page 12) for details. Mandatory
check-in and check-out procedures
as posted.

9.NEW! If no reservation exists for
a hunt area, hunters may check in
on a first-come, first-served basis
after 5 a.m. the day of the hunt. Re-
served areas not claimed by 7 a.m.
will be available on a first-come,
first-served basis. Any area must be
yielded upon request of the hunter
holding a valid and active reserva-
tion for that area.

JACKSON LAKE SWA

1.NEW! From the first day of regular
duck season through the last day of
regular duck season, all waterfowl
and small-game hunters must check
out at mandatory check station.

2.Boat hunting prohibited beginning
Nov. 1 except for hunters with boat
reservation. See “Reservation Pro-
cedures” (page 12) for details. Max.
4 people per reservation. Hunters
with boat reservations must call
reservation line two days before
hunt to confirm ice conditions.
Only boat hunters with reserva-
tions are exempt from Nov. 1 boat
closure. Boats prohibited on frozen
surface of lake.

3. Hunters and vessels must stay
in designated hunt zone. Hunt-
ing prohibited within 150 yards
of shore, other vessels. Vessels
launched from Jackson Lake State

15
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Park must have state parks pass.

4. Waterfowl hunting from ves-
sels permitted only Sat., Sun.,
Wed., Columbus Day (observed),
Veterans Day, Thanksgiving Day,
Christmas Day, New Year’s Day
and Martin Luther King Jr. Day.

5. Vessels need to be pre-inspected
and sealed with an inspection
receipt in accordance with state
boating regulations.

JAMES M.ROBB

COLORADO RIVER

STATE PARK NEW!

1. Parking in designated areas only.

2. Waterfowl hunting in designated
blinds only, max. 4 hunters per
blind. Hunters must check in and
out as posted.

3. Hunting is by reservation only. See
“Reservation Procedures” (page
12) for details.

4. Unreserved blinds will be available
on first-come, first-served basis
after 5 a.m. each day. Reserved
blinds unoccupied by 7 a.m. are
first come, first served. Hunt areas
must be yielded at any time upon
request of a hunter holding a valid
reservation for that area.

JEAN K. TOOL SWA

1. Access from 3 a.m.-9 p.m., through
designated parking areas only.
Except with night hunting permit.

2.Beginning with the first day of regu-
lar duck season through last day of
regular duck season, waterfowl and
small-game hunters must check out
at designated check station by 2 p.m.

3.NEW! Hunting is by reservation
only. See “Reservation Proce-
dures” (page 12) for details. Three
waterfowl and three small-game
reservations per day, max. 4 people
per reservation.

4.NEW! Hunting allowed only on Sat.,
Sun., Wed., Columbus Day (ob-
served), Veterans Day, Thanksgiv-
ing Day, Christmas Day, New Year’s
Day, Martin Luther King Jr. Day.

JOHN MARTIN RESERVOIR
1. Closed, except to retrieve downed
waterfowl, Nov. 1 through last
day of waterfowl season as posted
on U.S. Army Corps of Engi-
neers property leased by CPW
to provide for resting waterfowl,
depending on water levels, weather
and presence of birds.

JOHNSON POND

(SEDGWICK CO.)

1.Goose hunting prohibited in area
of Sedgwick Co. including: Hwy.
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138 on N, Hwy. 385 0on E, I-76 on §

and CR 29 on W.

2. Light goose hunting is allowed
within the Johnson Pond Special
Goose Closure only during special
late light goose season and Light
Goose Conservation Order.

JUMBO RESERVOIR

(JULESBURG) SWA

1. Closed to goose hunting in parts
of Logan and Sedgwick coun-
ties bounded on N by Logan CR
70 and Sedgwick CR 3; on E by
Sedgwick CR 3; on S by Logan
CR 970 and on W by Logan CR
95, except for Red Lion SWA as
posted.

2.Except as allowed below, boating
prohibited Oct. 1 through last day
of regular goose season. Hand-
propelled craft may be used to set
and pick up decoys and to retrieve
downed waterfowl. Boats prohibit-

ed within 50 feet of outlet structure.

3.No hunting from frozen surface
of lake.

4. Vehicles limited to 250.

5. Hunting from floating devices
allowed from opening day of
regular Eastern Plains duck
season until opening day of
dark goose season. Reserva-
tions required. See “Reservation
Procedures”(page 12) for details.
Three reservations available for
waterfowl hunting from vessels
on res. Boat hunting reservations
will be cancelled if ice is unsafe.
Hunters with boat reservations
must call reservation line 2 days
before scheduled hunt to confirm
ice conditions. Only boat hunters
with reservations are exempt
from boat closure.

6. Hunting from floating devices
permitted only Sat., Sun., Wed.,
Columbus Day (observed) and
Veterans Day. Hunters must leave
reservoir by 2 p.m. Hunting pro-
hibited within 150 yards of shore
and other vessels.

7. Vessels (other than those launched
by hand) must undergo required
inspection for invasive species.

LOWER LATHAM

RESERVOIR
1. Hunting prohibited as posted.

MACK MESA STATE
RECREATION AREA

1. Hunting, trapping prohibited.

MACFARLANE RESERVOIR

STL

1. Motorized travel for waterfowl
hunting access to the reservoir is
allowed on designated routes only.

MEREDITH RESERVOIR
1. Hunting prohibited as posted.

MITANI-TOKUYASU SWA

1.During waterfowl season, parking
area open only 4 a.m. until one
hour after sunset.

2. Waterfowl hunting access limited
to occupants of vehicles legally
parked in designated parking area.

MOGENSEN PONDS SWA
1. Waterfowl hunting only and only
from designated blinds.

MONTE VISTA & ALAMOSA

NATIONAL WILDLIFE

REFUGES

1. Nontoxic shot required for shot-
gun hunting. For information, call
(719) 589-4021.

NEW WINDSOR RESERVOIR

1. Hunting prohibited as posted.

2. Closed to waterfowl hunting with-
in 400 yards of occupied dwelling,
without first obtaining permission

from owner or person in charge, or

within a quarter-mile from center
line of these roads: from CR 74
and Colo. 257, N to CR 78; E to

CR 21; S to CR 74; then W to Colo.

257, including the area within
shape formed by these roads.

3. Closed to waterfowl hunting with-
in 150 yards of Colo. 257 center

line between CRs 78 and 74; CR 74

between Colo. 257 and CR 21.

ORCHARD MESA SWA

1. Access only from parking area on
C Road between roads 30 and 31.

2. Waterfowl hunters must hunt from
designated blinds or zones identi-
fied for each blind. Max. 4 hunters
per blind.

3. NEW! Waterfowl hunting by
reservation only. See “Reservation
Procedures” (page 12) for details.

Mandatory check-in and check-out

procedures as posted.

4,NEW! If no reservation exists for
a hunt area, hunters may check in
on a first-come, first-served basis
after 5 a.m. the day of the hunt. Re-
served areas not claimed by 7 a.m.
will be available on a first-come,

first-served basis. Any area must be

yielded upon request of the hunter
holding a valid and active reserva-
tion for that area.

5.Hunting restricted to bows and
shotguns with shotshells.

6.Dogs prohibited except as hunting
aid.

OVERLAND TRAIL SWA

1.Foot access only, from designated

parking area.

2.NEW! From first day of regular
duck season through last day of
regular duck season, waterfowl and
small-game hunters must check
out at designated check station.

PONY EXPRESS SWA

1. Closed to goose hunting in part
of Sedgwick County S of US 138,
W of US 385, N of I-76 and E of
CR29.

2. Light goose hunting allowed dur-
ing special control season and any
conservation order for light geese.

PREWITT RESERVOIR SWA

1. Waterfowl hunting prohibited as
posted to provide for waterfowl
resting depending on water levels,
weather and presence of birds.

2. Boating prohibited, except hand-
propelled crafts used in waterfowl
hunting (putting out, picking
up decoys, retrieving downed
waterfowl), Oct. 1 through last day
of regular goose season. Boating
prohibited if it creates whitewater
wake.

3. Hunting prohibited from floating
device.

QUEENS SWA

1.Boating prohibited if it creates
a whitewater wake in channel
between Lower and Upper Queens
reservoirs.
2.UPPER QUEENS (INCLUDING
CHANNEL), NEE NOSHE, NEE
GRONDA:
a. Mandatory check in and check
out at check station when open.
b. Closed Nov. 1 through last day
of waterfowl season as posted,
except to retrieve downed
waterfowl.
3.LOWER QUEENS:
a. Boating prohibited if it creates
whitewater wake from
opening day of waterfowl season
until Dec. 1.
b. Mandatory check in and check
out at check station when open.
c. Closed Dec. 1 through last day
of waterfowl season as posted
except to retrieve downed
waterfowl.
4.NEE SO PAH: Closed Nov. 1
through last day of waterfowl
season except to retrieve downed
waterfowl.

RAMAH SWA

1. Boating prohibited Nov. 1 through
the last day of waterfowl season ex-
cept float tubes or crafts propelled
by hand, wind or electric motor.

2. Discharging firearms or bows pro-
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hibited except shotguns or bows
for hunting. Discharging archery
equipment allowed on established
archery range.

RED LION SWA

1. Access from parking areas only.

2.NEW! From the first day of regular
duck season to last day of regular
duck season, waterfowl and small-
game hunting is by reservation
only. See “Reservation Procedures”
(page 12) for details. Hunters must
follow check-in and check-out
procedures. Must check out by 2
p.m.

3.NEW! Nine waterfowl and three

small-game reservations are avail-
able in designated areas. There is
one youth/mentor area available.
Max. 4 people per reservation. No
more than two mentors and at least
one youth per youth/mentor res-
ervation. Mentors must be 18 and
have hunter education certificate.

4.NEW! Waterfowl and small-
game hunting only on Sat., Sun.,
Wed., Columbus Day (observed),
Veterans Day, Thanksgiving Day,
Christmas Day, New Year's Day
and Martin Luther King Jr. Day.

RIVERSIDE RESERVOIR
1. Goose hunting prohibited as
posted.

RUSSELL LAKES SWA

1. Parking only in established areas.

2.Closed as posted to protect winter-
ing and nesting waterfowl and
to protect administrative areas.
Sect. 29 closed during waterfowl
seasons.

3.Closes at 1 p.m. during first water-
fowl season.

SOUTH REPUBLICAN SWA

1. Parking only in designated areas.
Access prohibited on downstream
face of dam.

2. Waterfowl hunting prohibited as
posted.

SWEITZER LAKE

1. Hunting waterfowl permitted on
opening day and thereafter on Sat.,
Sun., Wed. and legal holidays.

TAMARACK RANCH SWA

1. Reservations are available but
not required. See “Reservation
Procedures” (page 12) for details.
Mandatory check in and check
out as posted at designated sta-
tion. Reservations are available
for weekends and Columbus Day
(observed), Veterans Day, Thanks-
giving Day, Christmas, New Year’s

Higel State Wildlife Area.

Day, Martin Luther King Jr. Day
and Presidents Day.

2. The first hunt date available for
reservations is the Sat. after Oct.
24 and the last date available
is the last Sun. of regular duck
season. Weekdays, weekends and
holidays outside the reservation
period — and any unreserved
or open units — are available
for hunting without reservations
and are regulated through check
station.

3. Hunters must park vehicles at
parking area they are checked into
and are restricted to that area until
9 a.m., at which time they may
walk into and hunt adjacent areas.

TILMAN BISHOP SWA
1.Open for public access July
15-March 14.

2. Mandatory check-in and check-out
procedures for hunters at entrance
station.

3. Must hunt with bows and/or shot-
guns with shotshells only.

4.Dogs prohibited, except as an aid
to hunting.

5. Waterfowl hunters must hunt from
designated blinds or in the zone
identified for each blind. Maxi-
mum 4 hunters per blind.

6. NEW! Waterfowl] hunting by
reservation only. See “Reservation
Procedures” (page 12) for details.

7.NEW!If no reservation exists for
a hunt area, hunters may check in
on a first-come, first-served basis
after 5 a.m. the day of the hunt. Re-
served areas not claimed by 7 a.m.
will be available on a first-come,
first-served basis. Any area must be
yielded upon request of the hunter
holding a valid and active reserva-
tion for that area.

TRINIDAD STATE PARK
1. Waterfowl hunting prohibited as

posted.
TURK’S POND

1. From the first split of waterfowl
seasons through the last day of
waterfowl seasons, the following
regulations are in effect in sections
20,21, 28, 29,32 & 33 in Township
29 South, Range 44 West, 6th P.M.:
a. On SWA land within .25 of a

mile of ordinary high-water
line, hunting prohibited as
posted.
b. It is illegal to discharge firearms
or arrows from, on or across 50
yards on each side of center line of
public roads.

TURK'S POND SWA

1. Boating prohibited except float
tubes or crafts propelled by hand,
wind or electric motor.

2.Closed near pond and administra-
tive building, except to retrieve
downed waterfowl from opening

© Jennifer Kleffner, CPW

day of waterfowl season through
end of February.

VANCIL RESERVOIR

1. Waterfowl hunting prohibited as
posted to provide for waterfowl
resting as necessary depending on

water levels, weather and presence
of birds.

WELLINGTON SWA

1. Boating prohibited except hand-
propelled crafts used in hunting
waterfowl.

2. Closed on Wellington Unit from
first day of regular waterfowl sea-
son to first day of pheasant season
except Sat., Sun., Mon. and legal
holidays.

WHITEHORSE SWA

1. Closed except for youth/mentor
waterfowl hunting when autho-
rized by area wildlife manager as
participants in CPW youth hunter
program.

2.Reservations required for water-
fowl hunting. See “Reservation
Procedures” (page 12) for details.
Hunters with reservations can only
hunt area specified on reservation
except in areas where reservations
are not required or are unreserved
and unoccupied.

3.Mandatory check in and check
out as posted at designated check
station.
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Colorado Parks and Wildlife
6060 Broadway, Denver, CO 80216
(303) 297-1192

Subscribe to Colorado Qutdoors

Did you know Colorado has the largest elk herd in the world? Did
you know Colorado is the only state where you can buy an over-the-
counter bull elk license? Colorado Outdoors magazine will keep you
up-to-date on all the opportunities available to you and your hunting
buddies. Don't flounder around looking for the best spots to fish.
Colorado Outdoors is a must-read if you're seeking a high-country
angling experience or fishing the state’s plains reservoirs.

For over 70 years, Colorado Outdoors has been the official publica-
tion of Colorado Parks and Wildlife (CPW) and the only magazine
dedicated to Colorado’s wildlife. And now when you subscribe, you
get your choice of either a free hunting guide or fishing guide. These
special annual editions are packed with a wealth of information you
need to know to be a more successful hunter or angler.

We offer insight into our wildlife resources as well as providing
up-to-date coverage of hunting, ﬁshing and wildlife management.
You get valuable advice from CPW experts, information that you
can't get anywhere else. You'll read about recovery efforts of some
of our endangered species. Plus you'll learn about environmental
news, watchable wildlife events, volunteer opportunities, state fishing
records and much more.

NOTICE: ABOUT THIS GUIDE & SPECIES INCLUDED

10 Reasons to subscribe to
Colorado Qutdoors

« Each one-year subscription entitles you to six issues.

« Subscribers get their choice of either the Fishing Guide or the Hunt-
ing Guide. These 40-page special editions sell for $5 on the newsstand
and you get your choice of one absolutely free.

« Learn high-performance hunting tips for a more successful hunt.

« Annual Preference Point issue is a must-have tool in planning your
big game hunt.

« Expert advice on cold- and warm-water fishing.

« Award-winning wildlife photography, including annual photogra-
phy issue.

« A great way to introduce your children to wildlife and the outdoors.

« A valuable reference guide for classrooms and libraries.

« Makes a great gift

« Never any advertising

To order your subscription online visit the Colorado Parks and
Wildlife website at http://wildlife.state.co.us/wildlifestore and
click on the link to Colorado Outdoors magazine

This brochure includes information on ducks, coots, mergansers, migratory birds and other waterfowl. This brochure is not a legal notice nor a
complete collection of hunting regulations and laws. Copies of statutes and regulations can be obtained from a CPW office or at www.wildlife.state.

co.us/RulesRegs. For questions, call the CPW at (303) 297-1192.
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UPDATED: SEPT.28, 2011

Please see the Colorado Parks and Wildlife website at www.wildlife.state.co.us/RulesRegs for Chilorads Stats Priks
additional information.

COLORADO PARKS AND WILDLIFE CORRECTION AS PRINTED IN BROCHURE
2011 Colorado Dates for the regular goose season Dates for the regular goose season
wl 6 in the Pacific Flyway are Sept.25-Oct.2 in the Pacific Flyway are Sept.25-Oct.2

and Nov.4-JAN.29,2012. and Nov.4-Jan.30,2012.
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