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BUY LICENSES ONLINE

Buy your license online or by calling 1-800-244-5613.
Credit cards accepted for phone and internet purchases.
DOW offices and license agents also sell licenses.
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OPERATION GAME THIEF
Operation Game Thief (OGT) is a| {2/ stor poacrine:
non-profit organization working
with the DOW'’s law enforcement
program. It pays rewards to citi-
zens who report poachers or resource violations. Callers
don’t have to reveal their names, testify in court or sign a
deposition. Rewards are paid if the information leads to
the arrest of a poacher or a citation is issued. Rewards do
not depend on a conviction but must be requested when a
violation is reported. Callt-877-COLOOGT toll-free.

The number should not be used for information requests
or emergencies.

NOTICE
This brochure is not a legal notice nor a complete collection of hunting
regulations and laws. It is a condensed guide issued for hunters’ conve-
nience. Copies of wildlife statutes and regulations can be obtained from a
DOW office and are available on our website. For information, call the
DOW, (303) 297-1192.



2009 WATERFOWL HUNTING

WH AT’ S N EW FO R 2009_ 20 10 ing from planting, or e?<|st|ng seeds anq other p_ropagu_les. This does
o o not include planted millet. However, millet growing on its own after

Central Flyway Bag Limits: Hunters now can take pintails and planting year is considered natural vegetation.

canvasback during the entire open season in the Central Flyway.\omal agricultural operation: Planting, harvesting, post-harvest

The bag limit fczr wood ducks has increased. See “Duck, manipulation or agricultural practice conducted according to 50 CFR

Coot Seasons.” _ 20.11 (US Fish and Wildlife Service).

Pacific Flyway Bag Limits: The season on canvasbacks is NoW  \oma] agricultural planting, harvesting or post-harvest manip-

open in the Pacific Flyway. Bag limits for pintails and scaup also jation; planting or harvesting to produce and gather crops or manip-

have increasedee “Duck, Coot Seasons.” _ ulation after harvest and removal of grain, conducted according to 50
Property Restrictions: Several state wildlife areas in northeast ~rr o0 11 (US Fish and Wildiife Service).

Colorado have new restrictions for waterfowl hunters. See
“Waterfowl Restrictions.”

DEFINITIONS
Aggregate: Total number of
animals allowed in a bag lim
regardless of species.
Daily bag limit: Max. num-
ber of birds you can kill daily,

including birds eaten or dong A Colorado Wildlife Habitat Stamp is required of people 19-
ed the day you killed them. 64 who buy hunting or fishing licenses. With a license pur-

Central Flyway: East of the Continental Divide. chase, the stamp is $5 and required with the first 2 licenses
GeeseAll species of geese and brant. Dark geese means Canada  ($10 total) bought per year. Habitat stamps are valid April 1

geese, white-fronted geese, brant and all other species of geese excifough March 31 annually. A lifetime stamp is $200.
light geese. Light geese means lesser snow geese (including blue),

greater snow geese and Ross’ geese.

Manipulation: Alteration of natural vegetation or agricultural crops

by activities that include, but are not limited to, mowing, shredding,

Normal soil stabilization practice: Planting for agricultural soil ero-
sion control or post-mining reclamation conducted according to 50
CFR 20.11 (US Fish and Wildlife Service).

Pacific Flyway: West of the Continental Divide.

Possession limitMax. number of birds allowed at any time.
Sinkbox: Raft or low-floating device with a depression conceal-
ing people below water.

HABITAT STAMP

discing, rolling, chopping, trampling, flattening, burning or herbicide _

treatments. Manipulation does not include distributing or scattering 2009-10 LICEN S E FEES .
grain, seed or other feed after removal from or storage on the field Resident Nonresident
where grown. Small Game $21 $56
Migratory game birds: Migratory birds included in conventions Small Game (one-day) $11 $11

between U.S. and foreign countries to protect birds for which season| Comb. Small Game & Fishing $41

are established. They are: waterfowl (ducks, including mergansers, | Military w/60% or more disability  free

and geese, including brant); mourning and white-winged doves; Youth (Under 18) Small Game $1 $1
sandhill cranes; American coots; sora; Virginia rail; Wilson’s snipe;
band-tailed pigeons, crows.

Natural vegetation: Non-agricultural, native or natural plants grow-

Costs include 25-cent search and rescue fee, and 75-cent surcharge for the
Wildlife Management Public Education Fund.

Printed for free distribution by the
COLORADO DIVISION OF WILDLIFE
Department of Natural Resources
6060 Broadway, Denver 80216

(303) 297-1192
www.wildlife.state.co.us

Published September 2009; 105,000 copies
Printed by Publication Printers, Denver
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The DOW receives federal financial assistance from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. In accordance with Title VI dRiblet€Adt of 1964, Section 504 of the
Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Title Il of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Age Discrimination Act of 1979aatXI @fithe Education Amendments of 1972, the U.S.
Department of the Interior and its bureaus prohibit discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, ag@rdisabllityou believe that you have been discriminated
against in any program, activity or facility as described above or for more information, write: U.S. Fish and WildlifeO8&siaoef Bird Habitat Conservation, Attn: Civil
Rights Coordinator, 4401 N Fairfax Drive, MBSP 4020, Arlington, VA 22203.

The Wildlife Commission sets waterfowl seasons in August. Wildlife Commissioners (as of August 200@p@gaahair; Tim Glenn, vice chair; Dennis
Buechler, secretary; Jeffrey A. Crawford, member; Dorothea Farris, member; Roy McAnally, member; John Singletary, merBSieithMagmber; Robert Streetef;
member Harris Sherman, ex-officio member; John Stulp, ex-officio member.
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LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

1. Annual fishing licenses, senior fishing licenses, small game
licensesfurbearer licensespombination fishing and small game
licenses, Colorado waterfowl stamps, habitat stamps and walk-in
access permits are valid April 1-March 31 the following year.

2. Hunters must have a small game license, youth small game or
combination license to hunt waterfowl.

3. Hunters 16 or older also need a Federal Migratory Bird Hunting
Stamp, or duck stamp, to hunt waterfowl, available at post offices
and DOW offices. The stamp is valid when you sign your name in
ink across the face of it. An electronic stamp issued at license
agents also provides a receipt as proof of purchase. This proof of
purchase contains a unique code given instantly and is valid for 4
days from the date of issue, sufficient time for the peel and stick
stamp to arrive in the mail. A federal stamp is not required to take
light geese during the conservation order season.

4. Hunters 16 or older also need a Colorado waterfowl stamp,
available at license agents and DOW offices. The state stamp is
printed on your license. The stamp is valid when you sign your
name in ink across the face of it.

5. Licenses and stamps are not transferable.

6. Lifetime small game and fishing combination licenses pur-
chased before 1990 are valid for Colorado residents.

6. Except as in #2 and 3 above, you lose your Colorado residency
if you apply for or obtain a hunting, fishing or trapping license as

a resident of another state or country; register to vote outside
Colorado or get a driver’s license with an address in another state.

HARVEST INFORMATION PROGRAM
Small game, furbearers, migratory bird hunters, including falconers,
must sign up with HIP before their license is valid. Write the HIP
number in the space provided on your license. If you signed up with
HIP for the 2009-10 season and you buy a small game license in
2010, remember to transfer the HIP number to your new license. To
sign up with HIP, call 1-866-265-6447 (1-866-COLOHIP) or go to
.colohip.com. You will be asked basic information, including

ow many birds you harvested the previous season and species you
plan to hunt this year. The phone line and website run 24 hours daily.
For help, call 1-800-368-4683, Mon.-Sat., 6 a.m. to 4 p.m. MST.

YOUTH LICENSES

Anyone under age 18 can buy a youth small game license for $1.
All youths must meet hunter education requirements. Those under
16 must be accompanied by a mentor while hunting. A mentor
must be 18 or older and must meet hunter education requirements.
Mentors aren't required to hunt. While hunting, youths and men-
tors must be able to see and hear each witheut binoculars,

7. Lost or destroyed licenses can be replaced by buying a new one,ios or other aidéfouths under 18 also can buy an adult license

or by signing an affidavit and paying a fee. Forms are available at
DOW offices and license agents.

8.You must carry your license when hunting and show it when
requested by any law enforcement officer.

RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS

These are the requirements to qualify as a Colorado resident to
buy a hunting license:

1. You must have lived continuously in Colorado at least six
months immediately before applying for or buying a license, and
must intend to make Colorado home (except #2 and 3 below.) Th

as long as they meet hunter education requirements. At age 18,
hunters must buy an adult license.

HUNTER EDUCATION

Hunters born on or after Jan. 1, 1949, must have completed an approved
hunter education course sanctioned by a state or province before apply-
ing for or purchasing a license. Colorado honors hunter education cours-
es from other states and provinces. You must present an original hunter
safety card when buying a license. Yowist carry your hunter edu-
cation card while hunting unless “Verified” is printed by the

$OW on your license.

residence address given to purchase or apply for a license must be

the same address used on your Colorado income tax return. DISABLED VETERANS

2.U.S. armed services personnel and military personnel of U.S.  Colorado residents who are disabled veterans can get free lifetime

allies on active duty in Colorado under permanent orders and theilcombination small game hunting and fishing licenses. They must

dependents. This includes people who were Colorado residents have served on active duty and been honorably discharged. They

when they entered the armed services and maintain Colorado as also must prove a service-related disability rated by the Veterans

their home of record, and their dependents (unless they change Administration of at least 60% through disability retirement bene-

their home of record to another state.) Also included are personnefits or a pension administered by the Dept. of Veteran Affairs or

of the U.S. Diplomatic Service or diplomatic services of nations  respective service department. Contact DOW, (303) 297-1192.

recognized by the U.S. assigned to duty here on permanent active

duty ordersandtheir dependents. Active duty does not include HUNTING HOURS

reserve status or National Guard. One-half hour before sunrise to sunset. Light Goose

3. Full-time students enrolled and attending a Colorado college, Conservation Order Season: Hunting allowed 1/2 hour

university or trade school at least six months immediately before before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset.

applying for or buying a license. This includes students who are

temporarily absent from Colorado but still enrolled. Colorado resi- LEGAL HUNTING METHODS

dents who attend school full time out of state and pay nonresidentL- Shotguns cannot be larg

tuition still qualify for a resident license. er tmar;dlo gau%e. Tge}/] Cﬁ

4. Children under 18 have the same residency status as their par- irlzo;[na% azrirrggg dacnh arib?a )

tehnet,t:(rsngeal g??:réﬂ?tno(r)crj grerson with whom they live the majority of combined. They must be
P - fired from the shoulder. To

5.1f you have a home in Colorado ano_l another state, (_:aII (303) reduce capacity of shotgui 41

297-_1192 to make sure you comply Wlth Col_orqdo (eS|dency that hold more than 3 shelf-=

requirements before obtaining a hunting or fishing license. in the chamber and maga“~
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zine combined, the magazine must be cut off, altered or pluggedor exiting an area, placing decoys or retrieving downed birds.
with a 1-piece filler that cannot be removed unless the gun is dis- d. It is legal to take migratory birds, except waterfowl, coots
assembled. Slugs are illegal to hunt waterfowl. and cranes, on or over the following lands not otherwise baited:
2.Hand-held bows allowed only if the arrow or bowstring is  where grain or other feed is distributed or scattered solely from
not held or drawn mechanically.is illegal to use bows on fir- ~ manipulation of agricultural crops or other feed, or solely from
ing lines designated by the Wildlife Commission. normal agricultural operations.

3.1t is legal to hunt waterfowl in the open, from a blind or other 2. Toxicants and explosives are illegal.

concealed place except a sinkbox. When camouflaged with veg-3. It is illegal to use any artificial lighats an aid in hunting or taking
etation from agricultural crops, camouflaging cannot result in expos- wildlife.

ing, depositing, distributing or scattering grain or other feed. 4. Traps, snares, nets, rifles, pistols, swivel guns, punt guns, bat-
4. Hunting allowed from vessels (except sinkboxes) with motors tery guns, machine guns and fish hooks are illegal.

or sails if the motor is off, and/or sails are furled and forward 5.1tis illegal to use live, tame or captive ducks and geese as
movement has stopped. Hunting is allowed from drifting vessels decoys. All tame, captive ducks and geese must be removed 10
and those propelled by hand. Uss of motorized vessels only days before hunting. They must be in an enclosure that substan-

allowed to pick up dead or injured birds. tially reduces the sound of their calls and conceals them from the
5. Hawking or falconry permitted. sight of waterfowl.
6. Dogs, artificial decoys, duck calls or goose calls are legal, 6. Itis illegal to discharge a firearm or release an arrow from, on or
except recorded or electronically amplified calls or sounds. across a public road. Hunting with rifles, handguns, shotguns firing a
Recorded or electronically amplified calls are legal to hunt com- single slug and archery equipment prohibited within 50 feet on each
mon Crows. side of the center line of any public road. On a divided road, the pro-
7.Light Goose Conservation Order Season: Recorded or elec- hibition includes the median, and the 50-foot requirement is measured
tronically amplified calls are allowed. from the center line of both road&aterfowl cannot be hunted

from, on or across a highway, road, designated trail or other
NONTOXIC SHOT right-of-way (public or private) in national wildlife refuges.

1.ltis |IIegaI to use or have toxic (Iead) shot, either in shotshells 7.1tis |||ega| to carry or have a firearm (except a pist0| or

or as loose shot for muzzleloading, while taking or attempting to  revolver) in or on a motor vehicle unless chamber is unloaded.
take ducks, geese or coots in Colorado. This includes national 8. Possession of wildlife is evidence you hunted.

wildlife refuges open to hunting. Toxic shot, either in shotshells or 9. |t is illegal to kill, capture, wound or harass wildlife from an
as loose shot for muzzleloading, cannot be in a hunter’s gun, on  ajrcraft or motor vehicle. It is also illegal to operate aircraft, dis-

his/her person or near a hunter taking or attempting to take water-charge firearms or release arrows from aircraft or motor vehicles
fowl. Store lead shot in your vehicle. You can store lead shot else-yith the same intent.

where if it's not readily accessible while hunting waterfowl. 10,1t is illegal to waste or abandon edible portions of wildlife, or

2. Nontoxic shot required in commercial wildlife parks, field trials  to leave wounded wildlife without trying to track and kill it.

and dog-training while hunting captive-reared mallards. 11.1tis illegal to leave decoys or things used as decoys in the field
3. Nontoxic shot is any type approved by the U.S. Fish and or on water overnight on state wildlife areas.

Wildlife Service. Go to:
www.fws.gov/migratorybirds/issues/nontoxic_shot/nontoxic.ntm. HAWKING/FALCONRY
4. ltis illegal to have or use nontoxic shot larger than size T to 1. Apprentices cannot hunt with more than 1 raptor at a time.

hunt ducks, geese or coots. 2.Aresident falconry license required.

3. Nonresident falconers must buy a nonresident falconry license
ILLEGAL HUNTING METHODS from the DOW’s special licensing section, a one-day small game
1. Baiting: (For information on federal baiting laws, go to hunting license or a nonresident small game hunting license.
www.fws.gov/le/HuntFish/waterfowl_baiting.htm) Hunter education laws apply.

a. It is illegal to take migratory game birds and waterfowl by 4. Falconers must comply with HIP.
the aid of baiting, or on or over any baited area, if you know or - 5. Firearms prohibited while hawking.
reasonably should know the area is baited. It is illegal to place org. Hawking prohibited from a public road.
direct placement of bait on or next to an area to cause, induce or7. Hawking on private property is illegal without permission
allow anyone to take or attempt to take migratory birds with the from owner or person in charge.
help of bait or over a baited area. _ _ _ 8. Nonresidents also must obtain an import permit at least 30

b. Baiting means directly or indirectly placing, exposing, dis-  days in advance from special licensing. The permit is free, but a
tributing or scattering salt, grain or other feed as an attraction for current health certificate issued within 30 days of the proposed
migratory game birds to, on or over where hunters are trying to  entry from state of origin required. Import permit applications
hunt. An area is considered baited for 10 days after complete  and import permits are available on our website.
removal of baiting material.

c.Itis legal to take migratory game birds, including waterfowl, TAGGING, SHIPPING, IMPORTING
coots and cranes, on or over the following lands not otherwise 1. You must attach a carcass tag to wildlife requiring one.
baited: standing or flooded standing crops; standing flooded or 2. Licensees must accompany wildlife not requiring a carcass
manipulated natural vegetation; flooded harvested crop lands; tag (except as in #4 below).
where seeds or grains were scattered solely from normal agricul-3. One fully feathered wing or head must be attached to birds
tural planting, harvesting, post-harvest manipulation or normal in transit until they arrive at hunter's home or commercial
soil stabilization practice; flooded, standing agricultural crops ~ processing facility.
where grain is inadvertently scattered solely by a hunter entering4. To ship migratory birds, packages must be marked outside

3
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with name and address of sender, name and address of receiver
and mumber of birds, by species. Licenses, a photocopy of the
license or carcass tag must accompany wildlife shipped by com-
mon carrier.

5. Itis illegal to leave migratory birds anywhere other than at
vour home or with someone else for picking, cleaning, process-
ing, permanent or temporary storage or taxidermy unless the
birds or package of birds have a tag attached. You must sign
tags, include yvour address, total number and species of birds,
date of kill and your hunting license number.

6. Migratory bird preservation facilities:

a. If you have someone else’s migratory birds for picking,
cleaning, freezing, processing, storing or shipping, you must
have records showing number of each species, date you received
them, date birds were disposed of, and name and address of who
received the birds.

b. You must keep records 1 year after the last entry.

¢. You must allow people authorized to enforce this regulation
to enter the facilities at reasonable hours to inspect records and
premises.

7. Per week, beginmng on Sunday, it is illegal to import more
than 25 doves and 10 pigeons from a foreign country;, or more
than 10 ducks and 5 geese from a foreign country, except
Canada and Mexico. Doves and waterfowl] imported from

Canada and Mexico cannot exceed Canadian and Mexican
export limits. Cne fully feathered wing must stay attached to
birds transported and shipped between ports of entry and some-
one’s home or a migratery bird facility. It i illegal to import
someone else’s birds.

8. Itis illegal to take, have, transport, import or export migratory
birds, their parts, nests or eggs that were taken, bought, sold,
transported, possessed or exported illegally.

9. Ttis illegal to have or transport live migratory birds, including
wounded birds. You must kill migratory game birds immediately
after you recover them.

10. No permit is required to have or transport plumage and skins
of legally taken migratory birds for your own use.

11. No permit required to have, dispose of and transport feathers
from wild ducks and wild geese that were legally killed, or from
birds seized by wildlife authorities. It is legal to use feathers to
make fishing flies, bed pillows, mattresses and similar commer-
cial items, except millinery or ornamental use.

12. Ttis illegal to buy, sell, barter, or offer to buy or sell feathers
or mounted specimens of migratory game birds.
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LAND-USE RULES

1.1tis illegal to hunt on private land without permission from
landowner or person in chard@s illegal to post or indicate that pub-
lic lands are privatdt is illegal to hunt on State Trust Lands without
permission of lessee, except lands open for wildlife recreation.
2.ltis illegal to hunt waterfowl in federal reservations; areas the
U.S. government sets aside as bird, game or other wildlife rese
vations, breeding grounds or refuges; or areas closed by the

Migratory Bird Treaty Act, except as permitted. More regulations :

may apply on national wildlife refuges. Contact: Alamosa and
Monte Vista, (719) 589-4021; Browns Park, (970) 365-3613;
Arapaho, (970) 723-8202.

3.In the areas bounded on N by Wyoming; E and S by I-76,
Hwy. 71, US 36 and I-70; and W by the Continental Divide and
Larimer-Jackson county line; and in Bent, Crowley, Kiowa,
Mesa, Otero and Prowers counties:

a.ltis illegal to hunt waterfowl within 50 yards on either side
of center line of a public road.

b. It is illegal to hunt waterfowl within 150 yards of a dwelling,
including directly above it, without first obtaining permission
from owner, occupant or person in charge of the dwelling.

4. Pueblo County: It is illegal to hunt waterfowl within 150 yards of a
dwelling, including directly above it, without first obtaining permis-
sion from owner, occupant or person in charge of dwelling.

5. Colorado River:

a. Grand County: Closed to waterfowl hunting from Shadow
Mountain dam to Twin Creek after Nov. 13.

b. Mesa County: Closed to waterfowl hunting on Colorado River
and 200 yds. on either side of river from Grand Ave. bridge in Grand
Junction to W end of Horsethief Canyon SWA, Wed.-Fri., except
Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's Day. Closed to waterfowl
hunting on river and 200 yds. on either side of river from Appleton
Drain to Hunter Wash (W end of Walker SWA).

SAFE HANDLING OF GAME MEAT

Concern has grown recently about diseases affecting wild
mals that could potentially make humans sick. Most of the time,
properly handled and prepared game meat poses no greater risk
than domestic meat of causing disease in humans. Hunters|are
encouraged to contact their local public health department gr
DOW office for information on wildlife diseases that may be
present where they plan to hunt. Public health officials recoin-
mend the following precautions when handling and prepari
game meat:

1. Do not handle animals that are obviously sick or found dgad.
Report sick or dead animals you find to a DOW office.
2. Keep game cool, clean and dry.

3. Do not eat, drink or smoke while dressing game.

4. Use disposable gloves when cleaning game.

5. Wash your hands with soap and water, or use alcohol wiges
after dressing game.
6. Clean all tools and surfaces immediately afterward. Use Hot
soapy water, then disinfect with a 10% chlorine bleach solujon.
7.Cook game meat to an internal temperature of at least 1
to kill disease organisms and parasites. Juices from adequately
cooked game meat should be clear.

8. Do not eat any raw portions of wild game.

9. Do not feed raw wild game to domestic pets.

WALK-IN ACCESS PROGRAM
The Walk-In Access (WIA) Program provides opportunities to
hunt small game, migratory game birds and furbearers.
Properties fall under 3 classifications: The (1) regular season
properties are open Sept. 1 through the end of February. The
(2) late cropland season properties are open from opening day
of pheasant season through the end of February. The (3)
extended walk-in properties are open from the start of pheasant
season through the end of March. WIA properties allow hunt-
ing small game, furbearers migratory game birds and Eurasian
collared-doves but only during established season dates.
Properties are closed to hunting Gambel’'s quail, Gunnison’s
sage grouse and greater sage grouse. Foot access only. Hunters
ages 18 and older must buy a $20 access permit to hunt WIA
lands, in addition to a small game license. Access permits can-
not be transferred to anyone. Hunters under age 18 must obtain
a free access permit to hunt WIA lands. Other people may
accompany hunters without buying an access permit if they do
not hunt. Properties enrolled are posted with Walk-In Access
signs and published in a WIA atlas. Two atlases for 2009-10

will be published. An early version will be available in late
August and includes properties open Sept. 1. A second atlas
will be available in late October and includes all properties.

DONATING WILDLIFE

1. You may donate edible portions of wildlife not requiring a
carcass tag to a like license holder. A like license is for the same
species, sex, dates and manner of take as donor’s license.
2.Bag and possession limits apply to donor and recipient.

BANDED BIRDS

Wildlife managers need your help gathering information about
the status of migratory bird populations. If you kill a banded
bird, please report it to Bird Banding Laboratory, 1-800-327-
BAND.

WEAPONS RESTRICTIONS

Colorado and federal laws prohibit people convicted of certain
crimes, such as domestic violence, from possessing weapons
even for hunting. If you've been convicted of a crime, be sure

to check with the appropriate law enforcement authority to find
out how these laws apply to you.

CHILD SUPPORT DELINQUENCY

State law requires Social Security numbers to buy all licenses. It
is not displayed on the license but is provided, if requested, to
Child Support Enforcement authorities. Hunting and fishing
licenses are not issued to people delinquent in child support.



2009 WATERFOWL HUNTING

WATE R FOWL R E ST R | CT | O N S the day before the hunt date. Failing to cancel reservations may result in los-

ing reservation rights for the rest of the season. Max. 1 reservation per day,

Atwood (SWA), Bravo, Brush, Centennial, Cottonwood, Dune and 1 reservation per phone call. Reservations not transferable. People mak-
Ridge, Elliott (except Union Tract), Jean K. Tool, Julesburg leases, ing reservations must be licensed hunters for the species to be hunted and
Knudson, Messex, Overland Trail, Pony Express and Sedgwick must be at property the day of hunt. Hunters can only hunt the area specified
Bar, Tamarack SWAs. Atwood, Red Lion Ranch and Ford Bridge on the reservation. Mandatory check in and check out as posted.

STLs: BRAVO SWA

All recreational activities except deer hunting prohibited opening 1. Access only from designated parking areas.

weekend of regular plains rifle deer season, and opening day and first 2. Beginning with the first day of regular duck season through the last day of
weekend of late plains rifle deer season. regular duck season, waterfowl and small game hunting by reservation by

calling 1-800-846-9453 and mandatory check station. Reservations not

ARAPAHO NAT'L WILDLIFE REFUGE accepted more than 14 days before hunt date, nor after noon the day before

1. Unit A closed to all hunting. Unit B open to migratory and resident  the hunt date, or noon Friday for Sun. and holidays on Mon. To cancel,

small game. Unit C closed to migratory bird hunting. For information,  hunters must do so by noon the day before the hunt date. Failing to cancel
call (970) 723-8202. reservations may result in losing reservation rights for the rest of the season.
ATWOOD STATE TRUST LAND Max. 4 people per reservation. Max. 1 reservation per day, and 1 reservation
1. Hunting prohibited except Sat., Sun., Wed., Labor Day, Columbus  per phone call. Reservations not transferable. People making reservations
Day (observed), Veterans Day (observed), Thanksgiving, Christmas,  must be licensed hunters for species to be hunted and must be at property the

New Year’s, Martin Luther King Day, Presidents’ Day. _ day of hunt. Mandatory check in and check out as posted. Only hunting
2. Small game and waterfowl hunting regulated by reservation system gjlowed during this time.

and mandatory check station. Reservations made by calling 1-800-846- 3. Reservations limited to:

9453. Reservations not accepted more than 14 days in advgnce of hunt 3 1 waterfowl, 1 small game reservation daily each for CR 34 parking lot,
date nor after noon the day before the hunt date or noon Fri. for Sun.  CR 36 parking lot and CR 370 parking lot 2.

and holidays falling on Mon. To cancel, hunters must do so by noon the b, 2 waterfowl, 2 small game reservations daily for CR 370 parking lot 1.
day before the hunt date. Failing to cancel reservations may resultin ¢ 1 waterfowl reservation daily for Youth/Mentor Parking Lot. No more
losing future reservation rights for the rest of the hunting season. Max. lthan 2 mentors, at least 1 youth per reservation. Mentors not required to hunt.
reservation per hunt date and 1 reservation per phone call. Reservationg;, Waterfowl and small game hunting allowed only Sat., Sun., Wed.,

not transferable. People making reservations must be licensed hunters Columbus Day (observed), Veterans Day (observed), Thanksgiving Day,

for the species to be hunted and must be at property the day of hunt.  Christmas, New Year's Day and Martin Luther King Day.
Hunters may hunt only area specified on reservation. Hunters must fol- 5 Hunters must check out by 2 p.m.

low check in and out procedures as posted. Two reservations are for theBRAVO SWA, Scalva Parcel
general public: 1 for mobility-impaired hunters and 1 for youth and their 1. Sept. 1-May 31, only hunting allowed. Hunting limited to archery, muzzle-
mentors. General public and mobility-impaired must hunt the up river side of joading and shotgun during established seasons and only Sat., Sun., Wed.,

Hwy. 63. Youths_a_nd mentors must hur_]t down river side of highway. Labor Day, Columbus Day (observed), Veterans Day (observed),
3. Hunting prohibited with centerfire rifles. Thanksgiving Day, Christmas, New Year's Day, Martin Luther King Day,
ATW OOD SWA Presidents’ Day.

1.Beginning with first day of the regular duck season through last day of 2. Reservations required by calling 1-800-846-9453, Sept. through Feb. From
regular duck season, waterfowl and small game hunters must check out at March through August, reservations by calling 970-842-6300. Reservations
designated check station. Access from designated parking areas only. not accepted more than 14 days before hunt date, nor after noon the day
BANNER LAKES SWA before the hunt date, or noon Friday for Sun. and holidays on Mon.

1. Closed first day of regular waterfowl season to day before the first day of 3 Access through designated parking area and mandatory check station.
pheasant season except for waterfowl hunting on Sat., Sun., Mon. and legal Access allowed 4 a.m. to 9 p.m. Foot access only.

holidays. During this period, waterfowl hunting regulated by reservation and BRUSH SWA

mandatory check station. Reservations available for waterfowl but not 1. Beginning with the first day of regular duck season through last day of reg-
I’equn’ed. Reservations valid throughout reserved day until hunter with reser- ular duck season, waterfowl and small game hunters must check out at desig_
vation checks out. Hunters may check in on first-come, first-served basis  nated check station. Access from designated parking areas only.

after a hunter with a reservation checks out, or if no reservation exists fora BRUSH PRAIRIE PONDS SWA

hunt area after midnight immediately preceeding the hunt. Reservations 1. From Feb. 1 until opening day of first waterfowl season, apen only for wildlife
made by calling 1-800-846-9453. Reservations not accepted more than 14 yiewing.

days before hunt date, nor after noon the day before the hunt date, or noon 2, All access by mandatory check in and check out at designated check station at
Friday for Sun. and holidays on Mon. To cancel, hunters must do so by noorBrysh Memorial Park. Max. 4 hunters per area.

the day before the hunt date. Failing to cancel reservations may result in 10s-3. During Sept. teal season, migratory bird hunting allowed daily. From first
ing reservation rights for the rest of the season. Max. 1 reservation per day, segment of regular waterfowl season through Nov. 30, only migratory bird
and 1 reservation per phone call. Reservations not transferable. People makhynting allowed, and only Sat., Sun., Wed., Columbus Day (observed),

ing reservations must be licensed hunters for the species to be hunted and veterans Day (observed), Thanksgiving Day.

must be at property the day of hunt. Hunters can only hunt the area specifiedy, Reservations available, but not required, from Sept. teal season through

on the reservation. Mandatory check in and check out as posted. Dec. 1. Reservations valid throughout reserved day until hunter with reserva-
2.Access only through designated parking areas. tion checks out. Hunters may check in on first-come, first-served basis after a
BARR LAKE STATE PARK hunter with a reservation checks out, or if no reservation exists for a hunt area
1. Waterfowl hunting only, restricted to Sat. and Wed. after midnight immediately preceeding the hunt. Reservations made by call-

2. Hunting from designated blinds only. Max. of 3 hunters per blind.  jng 1-800-846-9453. Reservations not accepted more than 14 days before
Unreserved blinds will be first come, first served after 5 a.m. each day. hunt date, nor after noon the day before the hunt date, or noon Friday for
Reserved blinds unoccupied by 7 a.m. are first come, first served. Sun. and holidays on Mon. To cancel, hunters must do so by noon the day
3.Hunting by reservation and mandatory check stafteservations before the hunt date. Failing to cancel reservations may result in losing reser-
made by Calllng 1-800-846-9453. Reservations not accepted more than 14 vation r|ghts for the rest of the season. Max. 1 reservation per day7 and 1
days before hunt date, nor after noon the day before the hunt date, or noon reservation per phone call. Max. 3 reservations per hunter annually.

Friday for Sun. and holidays on Mon. To cancel, hunters must do so by noorReservations not transferable. People making reservations must be licensed
6
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hunters for the species to be hunted and must be at property the day of hunimmediately preceeding hunt. Two areas available each on N and S
Hunters can only hunt the area specified on the reservation or which they  tracts. Hunters properly checked in for one of these areas may hunt any-
check into. where on Hamlin Tract.

5.From Dec. 1 through Jan. 31, only hunting allowed. Reservations available8. Union Tract:

to hunt on Dec. 1. From Dec. 2 through Jan. 31, reservations not available.  a. Closed, except for waterfowl hunting regulated by reservation system
Hunters may check in on first-come, first-served basis, but not until midnight and mandatory check station. Max. 4 hunters per area. Hunting allowed only
before the hunt. Five hunting areas open for check in. Hunters who check inin designated blinds as posted or within area identified for each blind. During

for one of these 5 areas may hunt anywhere on the property. Sept. teal season, migratory bird hunting available daily. During first segment
CENTENNIAL VALLEY SWA of regular waterfowl season, hunting allowed only Sat., Sun., Wed. and

1. During waterfowl season, small game and waterfowl hunting only in des- Columbus Day (observed). From Sept. teal season through end of first seg-
ignated zones. ment of regular waterfowl season, reservations available but not required.
2.Hunting with centerfire rifles prohibited. Reservations valid throughout reserved day until hunter with reservation

3. During regular waterfowl seasons, reservations required for waterfowl and checks out. Hunters may check in on first-come, first-served basis after a
small game hunting by calling 1-800-846-9453. Mandatory check station.  hunter with a reservation checks out or if no reservation exists for a hunt area
Reservations not accepted more than 14 days before hunt date, nor after noafter midnight immediately before the hunt. Reservations by calling 1-800-
the day before the hunt date, or noon Friday for Sun. and holidays on Mon. 846-9453. Mandatory check station. Reservations not accepted more than 14
To cancel, hunters must do so by noon the day before the hunt date. Failing days before hunt date, nor after noon the day before the hunt date, or noon
to cancel reservations may result in losing reservation rights for the rest of thé&riday for Sun. and holidays on Mon. To cancel, hunters must do so by noon
season. Max. 1 reservation per day, and 1 reservation per phone call. the day before the hunt date. Failing to cancel reservations may result in los-
Reservations not transferable. People making reservations must be licenseding reservation rights for the rest of the season. Max. 1 reservation per day,
hunters for the species to be hunted and must be at property the day of huntand 1 reservation per phone call. Reservations not transferable. People mak-
Hunters with reservations can only hunt area specified on reservation. ing reservations must be licensed hunters for the species to be hunted and
Mandatory check in and check out as posted at designated station. must be at property the day of hunt. Hunters with reservations can only hunt
4. Closed during regular waterfowl seasons except Sat., Sun., Mon., holidaysarea specified on reservation.

Closed March 1-Aug. 31 except on designated trail for wildlife viewing and  b. During subsequent segments of regular waterfowl season, DOW

for hunters with spring turkey licenses. may establish max. 15 days of waterfowl hunting to be consistent with
CHUCK LEWIS SWA management objectives or restrictions, including weather, water levels,
1. Waterfowl hunting permitted except within 50 yds. of CR 14F bridge. presence of waterfowl, need for waterfowl resting areas, the need to
2.Closed 10 p.m.-4 a.m. Overnight parking prohibited. maximize public hunting and youth hunting opportunities. To enter a
3. Dogs permitted as an aid to waterfowl hunting. drawing for an area, send a postcard with name, address, phone number,
CRAWFORD STATE REC. AREA desired dates and hunting area to DOW, Union Tract Drawing, Box 801,
1. Hunting prohibited as posted. Brush, CO 80723. Cards must be postmarked by Sept. 30. Successful
DILLON RES. applicants notified by Oct. 21. Hunters can apply for 1 area daily, but
1. Waterfowl hunting prohibited on Labor Day and the Sat. and Sun. can list multiple requests on 1 postcard. Reservations limited to 1 draw-
before Labor Day. ing per hunter annually. Dates available for reservations are Nov. 7, 8,
2. Denver Water Board restricts hunting to designated areas only. For 26, 28, 29, Dec. 12, 13, 19, 25, 31, Jan. 1, 9, 10, 23, 24.
map, go to www.co.summit.co.us/OpenSpace/drrec.htm. EMPIRE RES.
ELLIOTT SWA 1. Goose hunting prohibited below historical and recorded high-water
1. West Elliott Closure: Closed as posted in 80-acre part N of S. Platte line. Hunting also prohibited N of res. 20 yards above high-water line
River, S of CR W.7 and E of railroad. from the inlet structure, N and E to E end of dike.
2.Hamlin Tracts (N and S): FLAGLER RES. SWA

a. Hunting by reservation system and mandatory check station. Max. 4 1. Boating prohibited during waterfowl season, except crafts propelled
hunters per area. by hand, wind or electric motor. Boating also prohibited if it creates a

b. During Sept. teal season, migratory bird hunting available daily. whitewater wake, except water skiing allowed Sun. and Mon.

c¢. From first segment of regular waterfowl season through Nov. 30,  June 1-Aug. 31.
hunting allowed only Sat., Sun., Wed., Labor Day, Columbus Day 2. Hunting limited to youth mentor hunting only. Max. 1 mentor per youth
(observed), Veterans Day (observed), and Thanksgiving. may hunt.

d. From Sept. teal season through Nov. 30, reservations available but FOSSIL CREEK RES.
not required. Reservations valid throughout reserved day until hunter 1. Closed to goose hunting as posted.
with reservation checks out. Hunters may check in on first-come, first- FRANK SWA
served basis after a hunter with a reservation checks out or if no reservat. Reservations required during regular waterfowl seasons by calling 1-800-
tion exists for a hunt area after midnight immediately before the hunt.  846-9453. Mandatory check station. Reservations not accepted more than 14
Reservations by calling-800-846-9453. Mandatory check station. days before hunt date, nor after noon the day before the hunt date, or noon
Reservations not accepted more than 14 days before hunt date, nor after noBriday for Sun. and holidays on Mon. To cancel, hunters must do so by noon
the day before the hunt date, or noon Friday for Sun. and holidays on Mon. the day before the hunt date. Failing to cancel reservations may result in los-
To cancel, hunters must do so by noon the day before the hunt date. Failing ing reservation rights for the rest of the season. Max. 1 reservation per day,
to cancel reservations may result in losing reservation rights for the rest of thend 1 reservation per phone call. Reservations not transferable. People mak-
season. Max. 1 reservation per day, and 1 reservation per phone call. Max. 3ng reservations must be licensed hunters for the species to be hunted and
reservations per hunter annually. Reservations not transferable. People makimust be at property the day of hunt. Mandatory check in and check out as
ing reservations must be licensed hunters for the species to be hunted and posted at designated check station.

must be at property the day of hitfitinters with reservations can only 2.Waterfowl hunting allowed in established hunt zones only.
hunt area specified on reservation. Hunters must comply with GRAND LAKE, WINDY GAP RES.
youth/mentor restrictions as posted. 1. Closed to goose hunting on lakes and within 100 yds. of high-water lines.

e.From Dec. 1 through March 31, reservations not available. Hunters
may check in on first-come, first-served basis but not until midnight
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HIGEL SWA

1. Closed Sept. 1-Feb. 14, except Sat., Sun., Wed. and legal holidays.
Closed Feb. 15-July 15 to protect nesting water rdermits

required. Max. 25 permits daily. Contact DOW in Monte Vista for free
permit. Call (719) 587-6923.

HIGHLINE LAKE STATE REC. AREA

1. Closed to waterfowl hunting Sat., Sun.

2. Waterfowl hunting limited to designated blinds. Max. 4 hunters per
blind. Hunters must check in and out at W entrance station.
HORSETHIEF CANYON SWA

1.0n Sat., waterfowl hunting restricted to youth mentor hunting only.

pick up decoys and to retrieve downed waterfowl. Boats prohibited
within 50 feet of outlet structure.

3. Hunting prohibited from frozen surface of lake.

4. Vehicles limited to 250.

5. Hunting from floating devices by reservation from opening day of
regular duck season until opening day of dark goose season.
Reservations by calling 1-800-846-9453. Reservations not accepted
more than 14 days nor less than 48 hours before hunt date. Failing to
cancel reservations may result in losing future reservation rights. Max. 1
reservation per day, and 1 reservation per phone call. Reservations not
transferable. People making reservations must be licensed hunters and
No more than 1 mentor per youth may hunt. be at property the day of hunt. Three reservations available for water-
2.To hunt waterfowl on west end, reservations for specific blind fowl hunting from vessels on res. Boat hunting reservations will be can-
required. Hunting restricted to designated blind or within 100 yards of it. celled if ice is unsafe. Hunters with boat reservations must call reserva-
Max. 4 hunters per blind. Reservations on first-come basis, from check- tion line 2 days before scheduled hunt to confirm ice conditions. Only
in station. Permits not required east of diversion structure. boat hunters with reservations are exempt from Oct. 1 boat closure.

3. Waterfowl hunting prohibited Wed.-Fri., except Thanksgiving, 6. Hunting from floating devices permitted only Sat., Sun., Wed.,
Christmas, New Year’s Day. Columbus Day (observed), Veterans Day (observed). Hunters must
JACKSON LAKE SWA leave res. by 2 p.m. Hunting prohibited within 150 yards of shore and
1. Access only from designated parking areas. other vessels.

2.Beginning with first day of regular duck season through the last day of = LOWER LATHAM RES.

regular duck season, reservations required for waterfowl and small game 1. Hunting prohibited as posted.

hunting by calling 1-800-846-9453. Mandatory check station. Reservations MACK MESA STATE REC. AREA

not accepted more than 14 days before hunt date, nor after noon the day 1. Hunting, trapping prohibited.

before the hunt date, or noon Friday for Sun. and holidays on Mon. To can- MEREDITH RES.

cel, hunters must do so by noon the day before the hunt date. Failing to can-1. Hunting prohibited as posted.

cel reservations may result in losing reservation rights for the rest of the sea-MONTE VISTA & ALAMOSA NAT'L WILDLIFE REF.

son. Max. 1 reservation per day, and 1 reservation per phone call. Max. 1. Nontoxic shot required for shotgun hunting. For information, call
hunters per group is 4. Reservations not transferable. People making reservg719) 589-4021.

tions must be licensed hunters for the species to be hunted and must be at NEW WINDSOR RES.

property the day of hunt. Hunters with reservations can only hunt area speci-1. Hunting prohibited as posted.

fied on reservation. Mandatory check in and check out as posted at 2. Closed to waterfowl hunting within 400 yds. of occupied dwelling,
designated check station. Only hunting allowed during this time. without first obtaining permission from owner or person in charge, or
3.Reservations regulated by areas. One area reserved for youth mentor huntvithin 1/4 mile from center line of these roads: from CR 74 and Colo.
ing. Max. 2 mentors and at least 1 youth per reservation. Three reservations257, N to CR 78; E to CR 21; S to CR 74; then W to Colo. 257, includ-
available for waterfowl hunting from vessels on lake. ing area formed by these roads.

4.Boat hunting prohibited beginning on first day of regular dark goose 3. Closed to waterfowl hunting within 150 yds. of Colo. 257 center line
season. Hunters with boat reservations must call reservation line 2 daysbetween CRs 78 and 74; CR 74 between Colo. 257 and CR 21.
before scheduled hunt to confirm ice conditions. Only boat hunters with NORTH STERLING RES.

reservations are exempt from Nov. 1 boat closure. Boats prohibited on 1.Hunting prohibited from dam.

frozen surface of lake.
5. Check station at parking lot 1/2 mile S of CR CC and CR 4 by 2 p.m.
Waterfowl hunters with boat reservation exempt from check out station.

2. Boating prohibited, except hand-propelled crafts used in waterfowl
hunting (putting out, picking up decoys, retrieving downed waterfowl),
Nov. 1 through last day of regular goose season.

6. Hunters and vessels must stay in designated hunt zone. Hunting prohibite@RCHARD MESA SWA

within 150 yards of shore and other vessels. Viessels launched from Jacksonl. Access only from parking area on C Rd between Rds 30 and 31.

Lake State Park must have state parks pass. 2. Camping, fires, horses prohibited. Vehicles prohibited beyond

7. Waterfowl and small game hunting permitted only Sat., Sun., Wed., parking area.

Columbus Day (observed), Veterans Day (observed), Thanksgiving Day, 3. Closed March 15 to July 14 to protect nesting migratory birds.
Christmas, New Year's Day and Martin Luther King Day. 4. Waterfowl hunters must hunt from designated blinds or zones identi-
JEAN K. TOOL SWA fied for each blind. Blinds assigned at entrance station, available daily,

1. Beginning with the first day of regular duck season through last day of ~ first come, first served. Max. 4 hunters per blind.

regular duck season, waterfowl and small game hunters must check out at 5. Hunting restricted to bows and shotguns with shotshells.

designated check station. Access from designated parking areas only. 6. Dogs prohibited except as hunting aid.

JOHN MARTIN RES. OVERLAND TRAIL SWA

1. Closed, except to retrieve downed waterfowl, Nov. 1 through last day 1. Reservations required by calling 1-800-846-9453. Reservations not accept-
of waterfowl season as posted on US Army Corps of Engineers propertyed more than 14 days before hunt date, nor after noon the day before the hunt
leased by DOW or State Parks to provide for resting waterfowl, depend-date, or noon Friday for Sun. and holidays on Mon. To cancel, hunters must
ing on water levels, weather and presence of birds. do so by noon the day before the hunt date. Failing to cancel reservations
JUMBO RES. SWA may result in losing reservation rights for the rest of the season. Max. 1 reser-
1. Closed to goose hunting in parts of Logan and Sedgwick counties  vation per day, and 1 reservation per phone call. Max. hunters per group is 4.
bounded on N by Logan CR 70 and Sedgwick CR 3; on E by Sedgwick Reservations not transferable. People making reservations must be licensed
CR 3; on S by Logan CR 970 and on W by Logan CR 95, except for  hunters for the species to be hunted and must be at property the day of hunt.
Red Lion SWA as posted. Hunters with reservations can only hunt area specified on reservation.

2. Except as allowed below, boating prohibited Oct. 1 through last day Mandatory check in and check out at designated check station as posted.

of regular goose season. Hand-propelled craft may be used to set and 2.Foot access only via designated parking area.

8



2009 WATERFOWL HUNTING

3. From Sept. 1 through May 31, hunting permitted only Sat., Sun., Wed., legal QUEENS SWA

holidays and opening days of plains rifle and late rifle deer seasons. 1. Boating prohibited if it creates a whitewater wake in channel between
4. Beginning first day of regular duck season through last day of regular duck_ower and Upper Queens reservoirs.

seasorpnly hunting allowedWaterfowl and small game hunters must check 2. Upper Queens (including channel), Nee Noshe, Nee Gronda:

out at designated check station by 2 p.m. Deer and turkey hunters donot ~ a. Hunters must check in and out at check station when open.

need to check in or out, but reservations required. Max. 4 per reservation.  b. Closed Nov. 1 through last day of waterfowl season as posted,
Waterfowl, small game hunting allowed Sat., Sun., Wed., Columbus Day  except to retrieve downed waterfowl.

(observed), Veterans Day (observed), Thanksgiving Day, Christmas, New 3. Lower Queens:

Year’s Day, Martin Luther King Day. Hunters must check out at check  a. Boating prohibited if it creates whitewater wake from opening day

station by 2 p.m. of waterfowl season through Dec. 1.

PONY EXPRESS (JOHNSON POND) SWA b. Hunters must check in and out at check station when open.

1. Closed to goose hunting in part of Sedgwick County S of US 138, W c. Closed Dec. 1 through last day of waterfowl season as posted except
of US 385, N of I-76 and E of CR 29. to retrieve downed waterfowl.

2. Light goose hunting allowed during special control season and any 4.Nee So Pah:

conservation order for light geese. a. Closed Nov. 1 through last day of waterfowl season except to
PREWITT RES. SWA retrieve downed waterfowl.

1. Waterfowl! hunting prohibited as posted to provide for waterfowl rest-
ing depending on water levels, weather and presence of birds.

2. Boating prohibited, except hand-propelled crafts used in waterfowl
hunting (putting out, picking up decoys, retrieving downed waterfowl),
Oct. 1 through last day of regular goose season. Boating prohibited if it
creates white-water wake.

3. Hunting prohibited from floating device.

2009-2010 SUNRISE/SUNSET TABLE

SEPT. OCT. NOV. DEC. JAN. FEB. MAR.
(DST) (DST)
GUIDE TO LEGAL Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set
AM.PM. AM.PM. AM.PM. AM.PM. AM.PM. AM. PM. A.M. PM.
DAY

HUNTING HOURS 1 6:27 7:31 6:556:42 6:284:58 7:01 4:35 7:20 4:45 7:08 5:20 6:33 5:52
] ] ) 2 6:28 7:30 6:566:41 6:294:56  7:02 4:35  7:21 4:45  7:07 5:21 6:31 5:53
This table is valid for Denver, CO. | 3 6:29 7:28  6:576:39 6:304:55  7:03 4:35  7:21 4:46 _ 7:06 5:22 6:30 5:54
: |12 6:307:27 6:586:38 6:314:54 7.04 4:34  7:21 447  7:05 5:24 6:28 5:56
_SUBTRACT_one_mmute from open 5 6:31 7:25 6:596:36 6:324:53  7:05 4:34  7:21 4:48  7:04 5:25 6:27 5:57
ing and closing time for each 12 1/2 ¢ 6:327:23 7:006:34 6:334:52 7:06 4:34 7:21 449  7:03 5:26 6:25 5:58
miles east of Denver. ADD one 7 6:337:22 7:016:33 6:354:51  7:07 4:34 7:21 450  7:02 5:27 7:24 6:59
q q q . 8 6:34 7:20 7:026:31 6:364:50 7:08 4:34 7:20 4:51 7:00 5:28 7:22 7:00
minute to opening and closing time| g 6:347:18 7:036:30 6:374:49  7:09 4:34 7:20 452 6:59 5:30 _ 7:20 7:01

for each 12 1/2 miles west of 10 6:357:17 7:046:28 6:384:48 7:09 4:34 7:204:53  6:58 5:31 7:19 7:02
11  6:377:15 7:056:27 6:394:47 7:10 4:34  7:20 454 657 5:32 7:17 7:03
Denver. The above Ch‘?‘”ges S 12  6:387:14 7:066:25 6:404:46 7:11 4:35 7:20 455  6:56 5:33 7:16 7:04
based on the assumption that eachl 13 6:38 7:12 7:076:23 6:414:45 7:12 4:35 7:19 456 6:56 5:33 _ 7:16 7:04
degree Of |0ngitude equa|5 50 mi|e§ 14 6:397:10 7:086:22 6:434:44 7:12 4:35 7:19 457 6:53 5:35 7:13 7:06
15 6:40 7:09 7:096:20 6:444:44 7:13 4:36 7:19 4:58 6:52 5:37 7:11 7:07
and that a change of 1 degree of | 76 6.417:07 7:106:19 6:454:43 7:14 4:36 _ 7:18 459 _ 6:51 538 _ 7:09 7.08
longitude equals 4 minutes change| 17 6:427:05 7:11 6:18 6:464:42 7:14 4:36  7:185:.00  6:50 5:30  7:08 7:09
. . . 18  6:437:04 7:126:16 6:474:41 7:15 4:36  7:17 5:01 _ 6:48 5:40 7:06 7:10
in sunrise and sunset times. 19 6447:02 7:146:15 6484:41 7:16 4:37 7:17 502 6:47 541  7:05 7:11
20 6:457:00 7:156:13 6:494:40 7:16 4:37 7:16 5:04 6:46 5:42 7:03 7:12
21 6146659 7:166:11 6:504:39  7:17 4:37  7:16 5:05 _ 6:44 5:43 7:01 7:13
22 6:47 6:57 7:176:10 6:524:39 7:17 4:38 7:15 5:07 6:43 5:45 7:00 7:14
23 648655 7:186:09 6:534:38 7:18 4:38  7:155:08 _ 6:41 5:46 6:58 7:15
24 6149654 7:196:08 6:544:38  7:18 4:39  7:14 5:08  6:40 5:47 6:57 7:16
25 6:49 6:52 7:206:06 6:554:38 7:19 4:40 7:13 5:09 6:39 5:48 6:55 7:17
26 6:506:50 7:216:05 6:564:37 7:19 4:40 7:135:11  6:37 5:49 6:53 7:18
27 6:51 6:49 7:226:04 6:574:37 7:20 4:41 7:12 5:12 6:36 5:50 6:52 7:19
28 6:526:47 7:236:03 6:584:36  7:20 4:42  7:11 5:13  6:34 5:51 6:50 7:20
29 653646 7:246:01 6:594:36  7:20 4:42  7:10 5:14 6:49 7:21
30 6:546:44 7:266:00 7:004:35 7:20 4:43  7:09 5:15 6:47 7:22
31 7:27 5:59 7:20 4:44  7:08 5:17 6:45 7:23
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hunting prohibited as posted.

b. It is illegal to discharge firearms or arrows from, on or across 50
CALL BEFORE DIGGING yds. on each side of center line of public roads.
TURK'S POND SWA

Colorado law requires waterfowl hunters to call the 1. Boating prohibited except float tubes or crafts propelled by hand,

Utility Notification Center of Colorado before digging wind or electric motor.
hunting pits. By doing so, hunters can avoid acciden- 2.Closed near pond and administrative building, except to retrieve downed
tally hitting electric, gas, water and other utility lines. vtheg?‘lf’gé’gn Opening day of wailerfowl season through Feb. 28.
Call 1-800-922-1987. 1. Waterfowl hunting prohibited as posted to provide for waterfowl rest-
ing as necessary depending on water levels and presence of birds.
RAMAH RES. SWA WELLINGTON SWA

1. Boating prohibited Nov. 1 through the last day of waterfowl season 1. Boating prohibited except hand-propelled crafts used in hunting
except float tubes or crafts propelled by hand, wind or electric motor.  waterfowl.

2. Discharging firearms or bows prohibited except shotguns or bows 2. Closed from first day of regular waterfowl season to first day of
for hunting. Discharging archery equipment allowed on established  pheasant season except Sat., Sun., Mon. and legal

archery range. holidays.
RED L!ON SWA. WHITEHORSE SWA
1. Boating prohibited, except float tubes or craft propelled by hand. 1. Closed except for youth/mentor waterfowl hunting when authorized

2. During special control season and conservation orders for light geeseby area wildlife manager as participants in DOW youth hunter program.
light goose hunting allowed in the area bounded by N by CR 970, on E 2. Reservations required formterfowl hunting byalling 1-800-846-9453.

by CR 97 (Sedgwick CR 1), on S by US 138 and on W by CR 95. Mandatory check station. Reservations not accepted more than 14 days
3.Beginning with first day of regular duck season through last day of regular before hunt date, nor after noon the day before the hunt date, or noon Friday
duck season, waterfowl and small game hunters must check out at designatfor Sun. and holidays on Mon. To cancel, hunters must do so by noon the

ed check station. Access from designated parking areas only. day before the hunt date. Failing to cancel reservations may result in losing

4. Closed to goose hunting in parts of Logan and Sedgwick counties  reservation rights for the rest of the season. Max. 1 reservation per day, and 1
bounded on N by Logan CR 70 and Sedgwick CR 3, on E by Sedgwickreservation per phone call. Reservations not transferable. People making

CR 3, on S by Sedgwick CR 24.8 and across Red Lion SWA as posted, reservations must be licensed hunters for the species to be hunted and must

and on W by Logan CR 95, except for Red Lion SWA as posted. be at property the day of hunt. Hunters with reservations can only hunt area
RIVERSIDE RES. . specified on reservation except in areas where reservations are not required or
1. Closed to goose hunting as posted. are unreserved and unoccupied. Mandatory check in and check out as posted
RUSSELL LAKES SWA at designated check station.

1. Parking only in established areas.
2. Closed as posted to protect wintering and nesting waterfowl and to  Note: Additional restrictions may apply on some state wildlife areas.
protect administrative areas. Sect. 29 closed during waterfowl seasons. Consult the DOW's State Wildlife Area brochure for details.
3.Closes at 1 p.m. during first waterfowl season.

SOUTH REPUBLICAN SWA

1. Parking only in designated areas. Access prohibited on downstream

face of dam.

2. Waterfowl hunting prohibited as posted.

SWEITZER LAKE

1. Hunting waterfowl permitted on opening day and Sat., Sun., Wed.,

legal holidays.

TAMARACK RANCH SWA

1. Reservations required by calling 1-800-846-9453 for hunting on weekends

and Columbus Day (observed), Veterans Day (observed), Thanksgiving Day,

Christmas, New Year's Day, Martin Luther King Day and Presidents’ Day.

Mandatory check station. The first hunt date available for reservations is the

Sat. after Oct. 24 and the last date available is the last Sun. of regular duck

season. Weekdays, weekends and holidays outside the reservation period and

any unreserved or open units are available for hunting without reservations

and are regulated through check station. Reservations not accepted more than

14 days before hunt date, nor after noon the day before the hunt date, or noon

Friday for Sun. and holidays on Mon. To cancel, hunters must do so by noon

the day before the hunt date. Failing to cancel reservations may result in los-

ing reservation rights for the rest of the season. Max. 1 reservation per day,

and 1 reservation per phone call. Reservations not transferable. People mak-

ing reservations must be licensed hunters for the species to be hunted and

must be atﬁpré)perty the day of hunt(.j Hunterr? Wli<th res%rvar\]tiorlls can only hu(rjlt YOUR 75 CENT WILDLIFE

area specified on reservation. Mandatory check in and check out as poste

designated station. EDUCATION FEE WORKS FOR YOU

TRINIDAD STATE REC. AREA The Wildlife Management Public Education Adviso!
1. Waterfowl hunting prohibited as posted. Council uses these funds to educate the public about the importe
TURK’'S POND of wildlife management and that this management is funded prin

1. From beginning of first split of waterfowl seasons through last day of [i{el¥le[yRigIEREUNeI N VlilgleR=Talo RS gl lgleWIel=T I Mol G (o] oIV g0 5
waterfowl seasons, the following regulations are in effect in sections 20, [AAEUIRILlIEIeENe ERITolUe]y(elViNelel o] =ToloFNe IRV I ROl AN 1T S
21, 28, 29, 32 & 33 in Township 29 South, Range 44 West, 6th PM.:  [NWWIACE e[l [ Rel e

a.On all land in SWA within 1/4 mile of ordinary high-water line,
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GOOSE SEASONS

CENTRAL FLYWAY
REGULAR SEASON

East of Continental Divide, except i
Northern Front Range, North Park, So
Park/San Luis Valley seasons, and the
Light Goose Conservation Order Seas
Nov. 21-Feb. 14, 2010, dark geese
Oct. 31-Feb. 14, 2010, light geese
Daily bag limit: 4 dark geese; 20 light geese
Possession limit8 dark geese; unlimited for light geese

PACIFIC FLYWAY REGULAR SEASON
West of Continental Divide.

Sept. 26-Oct. 4;

Nov. 6-Jan. 31, 2010

Daily bag limit: 3 dark geese; 10 light geese
Possession limit6 dark geese; 20 light geese

NORTH PARK SEASON
Jackson County (Central Flyway).
Dark Geese:

Oct. 3-12;

Nov. 21-Feb. 14, 2010

Daily bag limit: 4 dark geese
Possession limit8 dark geese

Light Geese:

Oct. 31-Feb. 14, 2010
Daily bag limit: 20
Possession limitUnlimited

SOUTH PARK, SAN LUIS VALLEY SEASON

Light Geese:

Oct. 31-Feb. 14, 2010
Daily bag limit: 20
Possession limitUnlimited

EARLY CANADA GOOSE SEASON
All areas in Pacific Flyway.

Sept. 1-9

Daily bag limit: 3 dark geese

Possession limit6é dark geese

LIGHT GOOSE CONSERVATION ORDER SEASON
All areas east of 1-25.

Feb. 15-April 30, 2010

Daily bag limit: Unlimited

Possession limitUnlimited

DUCK, COOT SEASONS

SEPTEMBER TEAL

Lake and Chaffee counties and all areas east of I-25.
Sept. 12-20

Daily bag limit: 4

Possession limit8

CENTRAL FLYWAY

Eastern Plains Zone East of 1-25 and
all of El Paso, Pueblo, Huerfano and
Animas counties.

Oct. 3-19;
Nov. 7-Jan. 24, 2010
Daily bag limit:

Ducks: 6, excluding mergansers. Of these, up to 5 can be mal-
lards, but no more than 2 can be female mallards. Included in

Alamosa, Chaffee, Conejos, Costilla, Custer, Fremont, Lake, Parkthe daily bag limit of 6, you can have no more than 1 pintail, 1

Rio Grande and Teller counties. And, parts of Hinsdale, Mineral
and Saguache counties east of Continental Divide.

Dark Geese:

Oct. 3-12;

Nov. 21-Feb. 14, 2010

Daily bag limit: 4 dark geese

Possession limit8 dark geese

Light Geese:

Oct. 31-Feb. 14, 2010
Daily bag limit: 20
Possession limitUnlimited

NORTHERN FRONT RANGE SEASON

Boulder, Larimer and Weld counties from the Continental Divide
E along the Wyoming border to Hwy. 85, S on Hwy. 85 to Adams
Co line. And, all of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek,
Denver, Douglas, Gilpin and Jefferson counties.

Dark Geese:

Oct. 3-12;

Nov. 21-Feb. 14, 2010

Daily bag limit: 4 dark geese

Possession limit8 dark geese

11

canvasback, 2 redheads, 3 wood ducks and 2 scaup.
Coots: 15

Mergansers:5; only 2 can be hooded mergansers.
Possession limit2 daily bag limits

Mountain/Foothills Zone: West of |-25, east of Continental
Divide, except El Paso, Pueblo, Huerfano and Las Animas
counties.

Oct. 3-Nov. 30;

Dec. 19-Jan. 24, 2010

Daily bag limit:

Ducks: 6, excluding mergansers. Of these, up to 5 can be mal-
lards, but no more than 2 can be female mallards. Included in
thedaily bag limit of 6, you can have no more than 1 pintail,
1 canvasback, 2 redheads, 3 wood ducks and 2 scaup.
Coots: 15

Mergansers:5; only 2 can be hooded mergansers.

Possession limit2 daily bag limits
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PACIFIC FLYWAY
West of Continental Divide.
Sept. 26-Oct. 13;

Nov. 6-Jan. 31, 2010

Daily bag limit:

Ducks, mergansers in the aggregate. Of these, no more than

2 can be female mallards, 2 pintails, 1 canvasback, 2 redheads

and 3 scaup. No scaup can be taken after Jan. 12.
Possession limit2 daily bag limits
Coots: Daily bag and possession limit is 25.

YOUTH WATERFOWL

CENTRAL FLYWAY

Eastern Plains Zone East of 1-25 and all of El Paso, Pueblo,
Huerfano and Las Animas counti&ept. 26-27
Mountain/Foothills Zone: West of I-25, east of Continental
Divide, except El Paso, Pueblo, Huerfano and Las Animas
counties Sept. 26-27

Ducks, coot, mergansers:

Daily bag and possession limitSee regular Central Flyway.
Geese:

Daily bag limit: 4 dark geese

Possession limit8 dark geese

PACIFIC FLYWAY

West of Continental Divide.

Oct. 17-18

Ducks, coots, mergansers:

Daily bag and possession limit:

See regular Pacific Flyway.

Geese:

Daily bag limit: 3 dark geese, 10 light geese
Possession limit2 daily bag limits

Note: Hunting restricted to youths under age 18. Mentors
cannot hunt during youth seasons. Other mentor rules apply.
See “Youth Licenses.”

FALCONRY

CENTRAL AND PACIFIC FLYWAYS

Dates coincide with regular seasdNste: Falconry bag and pos-
session limits are not in addition to gun bag limits.

Daily bag limit: 3 singly or in aggregate
Possession limit6 singly or in aggregate

Paci fic Flyway: Wést of Continental DivideCentral Flyway: East of Continental D

K
MOFFAT ]
Vampa i T~ /4 =~ W  iakksonea» bbb\ 1 S A
40
® = T i
Morgan :
!
|
oo | S T L e S EASTERN PLAI
BLANCO 5
777777777 ! ™ ILPI ADAMS
| S0 Rives | ~ = = JEFFER nb' DENVER
1 fS ~ \k \“¢
,,,,,,,, — o N
[ - 2 Glenmood e ) N CLEAR ™\ ARAPAHOE
GARFIELD Spring : > CREEK °F N
| EAGLE oo -
o |
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, o 82 !
GO TR - N
S
< ELBERT
' MESA ) PITKIN £ Fairplay boucips
A . Leadville PARK
/ -
e R
rand Junction,~~ =" | bR s
> | NNy
- DELTA ! o L PASO
T R
I
[ GUNNISON o Buena Colorado
! < Vista. TELLER Springs
,,,,, i 2 CHAFAEE ——-—-—-—L
1 N A e JNN - —
! 6
oo, Gunnison 29| salida = Y
2 Riger FREMONT Canon — A
\\
50 BN
- - ‘\\50 77777777777777777777 —]
3 \ SAGHACHE N | Puebl
i G S— - MIN_A FOOFHILLS
7 S : ]
7 HINSDALE \ . 4
3 : TZONE - 1__J
| ~ 3
¢ | @iy ey g ]
/ N S, b
| [
csangu Al . T ' ryr o\~ s 0 ) ]
fMINERAL L —=0] 1 L o e T
i 1egr Monte Vista >~
|_JRIO GRANDE
o R — [ Ny S 91 1© CRAND A ' Springfield
! LAS ANIMAS|
Pagosa
o I springs (/5 | BACA
monTefuma (" ouan i S CONEJOS |
H I
/ | i
(160) \
LA PLRTA | ARCHULETA \ !

Cont i nent al

Di vi de

12



GOOSE SEASONS MAP
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New Deboning DVD

From the Colorado Division of Wildlife

Do to the Bone i: a quick and eagy method for deboaning an €1k in the field.

With this highly acelaimed insmuctional DV, hineers will leam a simple and Jegal merhed af vemaving the
itedible podticis af mea feam an el wheae e falls. By remcading the bones and other insdible pocticas af the
e animial, Inmters can teduce the seizhe by mede than 50 percent, Mo more sadne and quarteting, Leam hoas

i o identify the best cutz for steaks, roasez and hamburzer,

S Colorado Outdoors Big Game Deluxe CD by HuntData

Inchudes dravw trends for the past 12 vears, bervest trends for eveny season in sseny umit, rambsbiog smd ratings for each umic
and geason across the state, concemration maps for deer, elk and pronghorn, lmd vse, 11020000 topographicsl smd shaded
reli=f features, armual ioteroet updates. sheep amd zoat mnit meps, TTTM coordinete. oy stem, woeny
point crestion and export, KL site plotting for mocss, bighom shesp and mountain goets, $57.55

Diressing & Conoking Wild
e Conkhoek iz a complens
gulde to fleld dresalog smd prepardng

8 prent-taadng W e, sanall garne.
*ipland bdede snd waterto ] Wlth mors
. thary 370 color photographs, atep-be atep
. -.‘*.a,._,..- & ddiveerions and valuable nmdenal ok
J Colorads Deer Hunting Vides This videotape offers expert 8 Wiy Lnanion Hila cockibock: reachea gou b

sdudve ot tactlen thar will Tk yom & onors suecess il s, Tt e ﬁmﬁmlﬁw dishes g eneen-
tella whers B0 cotesmmate, youe S w0 gt that wophoy, ks o ;{?u “]ir 180 59 b8 oo
Fenet 1 bubting preaame apd hoo to find deer in differenn seqaona, Sk BB

8 ppeom, S0 ein 51795,
i 153

{ ].].:np RFORM ;.o i sy an bt SHOP ONLINE AT hegp.dweildfife siate co.us/chopDoW
Price [{Hy, | Total | | Ho=

Elk Hunting = Colerade T IV ol nopess som chanes:
ﬁ of bgnzlege & Beoeloy Moimtaln slk, To thdg TS T m:mwll.] karn
abcart all the blg gams seasts sl w1l fied the cne thar bz Hpbrt Fa

yioia, Leson abon sl babd tata, TIA L howe ologtan maags the
hﬂds calling dgs, ixting stategdes and ors, See whal dpe &
preteacloinl barcher recomimends for proeeadog sl meat, 51795

Drovamn 1o the Bope TV 31755 Adckess
Eig Came C0, Dehme Editicm SRS City Sy Fip
Drrecsing de Cocding Wakd e Cocdbock. 523,05 Tyt il
Ellz Hurking — Coderade TATH oWl S1785
Gk e METHOD OF PAYMENT Chagemy  OVies 2 VacberCard
Colomds Deer Hunting Viden S17.05
Fig Came Hiting in Celoradn ¥ides 317.85 Acconmt o Bxp. Diate
All Abeut Colorader's Trous Fishing Vidm $17.95 Signah e
- 22
Circher oy oo vickeos or D7 D for B30L0MK
o i VDete i3 LORADO (6 Broad way, Denver, CO 30216
Frier amy (v videces or UTDOORS (303 2071192

TOFLAL






