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OPERATION GAMETHIEF

Operation Game Thief (OGT) is ..} _YOU CAN HELP
non-profit organization working Pl ™ a{}ivetwsese
with the DOW's law enforcement g

program. It pays rewards to citi-

zens who report poachers or resource violations. Calle
don’t have to reveal their names, testify in court or sigr|
deposition. Rewards are paid if the information leads t¢
the arrest of a poacher or a citation is issued. Rewards
not depend on a conviction but must be requested whe
violation is reported. Calll-877-COLOOGT toll-free.
The number should not be used for information reques
or emergencies.

NOTICE
This brochure is not a legal notice nor a complete collection of hunting
regulations and laws. It is a condensed guide issued for hunters’ conve-
nience. Copies of wildlife statutes and regulations can be obtained from a
DOW office and are available on our website. For information, call the
DOW, (303) 297-1192.



2008 WATERFOWL HUNTING

WH AT’ S N EW FOR 2008_ 2009 year is considered natural vegetation.

Normal agricultural operation: Planting, harvesting, post-harvest

License Year ChangeStarting April 1, 2009, the license year will - manipulation or agricultural practice conducted according to 50 CFR
change for annual small game licenses, fishing licenses, senior fish-20 11 (US Fish and Wildlife Service).

ing licenses, combination small game and fishing licenses, furbeareryjma agricultural planting, harvesting or post-harvest manipula-

licenses, habitat stamps, Colorado waterfowl stamps and walk-in -~ . : . ; .
access permits. See “License Requirements.” tion: planting or harvesting to produce and gather crops or manipulation

Pacific Flyway Ducks: The canvashack season is closed in this fly- after harvest and removal of grain, conducted according to 50 CFR 20.11
way. Scaup bag limit has changed. See ‘Bag Limits.” (US Fish and Wildiife Service). _ _ o

Light Geese:The daily bag limit is now 10 in the Pacific Flyway. Normal soil stabilization practice: Planting for agricultural soil erosion
Property Restrictions: Several state wildlife areas have new regu-  control or post-mining reclamation conducted according to 50 CFR
lations to help the DOW evaluate whether they help improve hunt- 20.11 (US Fish and Wildlife Service).

ing success: Atwood, Bravo, Brush, Jackson Lake, Jean K. Tool,  Pacific Flyway: West of the Continental Divide.

Jumbo, Overland Trail and Red Lion. Possession limitMax. number of birds allowed at any time.

Walk-In Access: The program now offers an extended season. See  ginkhox: Raft or low-floating device with a depression concealing

“Walk-In Access.” people below water.

DEFINITIONS HABITAT STAMP

Aggregate: Total number of - License BuyersA Colorado Wildlife Habitat Stamp is required of
animals allowed in a bag limit people ages 19-64 who buy hunting or fishing licenses. With a license
regardless of species.

purchase, the stamp is $5 and required on each of the first 2 licenses
bought per year ($10 total). The stamp also allows access to state
wildlife areas or state trust lands leased by the DOW.

> Wildlife and Outdoor Enthusiasts: A Colorado Wildlife Habitat

the day you killed them. Mo L. Stamp is required of people ages 19-64 who visit a state wildlife area
Central Flyway: East of the Continental Divide. or state trust land leased by the DOW, such as non-hunting members
GeeseAll species of geese and brant. Dark geese means Canada geesgf your party, wildlife viewers or hikers. This stamp costs $10.25 (25-
white-fronted geese, brant and all other species of geese exceptlight  cent search and rescue fee).

geese. Light geese means lesser snow geese (including blue), greater | ifetime Stamp: Anyone can buy a lifetime stamp for $200. This

snow geese and Ross' geese. . _ stamp satisfies either of the above requirements.
Manipulation: Alteration of natural vegetation or agricultural crops by

activities that include, but are not limited to, mowing, shredding, discing,
rolling, chopping, trampling, flattening, burning or herbicide treatments.

Daily bag limit: Max. number
of birds you can kill daily,
including birds eaten or donatg

Manipulation does not include distributing or scattering grain, seed or

other feed after removal from or storage on the field where grown. 2008-09 LICENSE FEES

Migratory game birds: Migratory birds included in conventions Resident Nonresident
between U.S. and foreign countries to protect birds for which seasons arn §mall Game $21 $56
established. They are: waterfowl (ducks, including mergansers, and Small Game (one-day) $11 $11
geese, including brant); mourning and white-winged doves; sandhill Comb. Small Game & Fishing $41

cranes; American coots; sora; Virginia rail; Wilson's snipe; band-tailed [ Military w/60% or more disability free

PIGEONS, CIOWS. Youth (Under 18) Small Game $1 $1
Natural vegetation: Non-agricultural, native or natural plants growing Costs include 25-cent search and rescue fee, and 75-cent surcharge for the
from planting, or existing seeds and other propagules. This does not Wildlife Management Public Education Fund.

include planted millet. However, millet growing on its own after planting
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2008 WATERFOWL HUNTING

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS the time per court order.

1. NEW FOR 2008: Beginning April 1, 2009, all annual fishing - T you have a home in Colorado and another state, call (303)
licenses, senior fishing licenses, small game licefisbsarer 297'.1192 to make sure you comply W'th Collora.\do (e5|dency
licensescombination fishing and small game licenses, Colorado requirements before obtaining a hunting or fishing license. .
waterfowl stamps, habitat stamps and walk-in access permits will 8- EXcept as in #2 and 3 above, you lose your Colorado residency
be valid from April 1, 2009, through March 31 of the following I You @pply for or obtain a hunting, fishing or trapping license as
year. If you bought one of these licenses in 2008, it is valid a resident of another state or country; register to vote outside
through March 31, 2009. If you buy one of these licenses after Colorado or get a driver’s license with an address in another state.

Jan. 1, 2009, it will be valid from the date of purchase through HARVEST INFORMATION PROGRAM

March 31, 2010. Small game, furbearers, migratory bird hunters, including falconers
2. Hunters must have a small game license, youth small game or must sign up with HIP before their license is valid. Write the HIP

combination license to hunt waterfowl number in the space provided on your license. If you signed up with
3. Hunters 16 or older also need a Federal Migratory Bird Hunting HIP for the 2008p- 09 szason and )(;u buy a sniallyameglicensepin
Stamp, or duck stamp, to hunt waterfowl, available at post offices Y y 9 :

2009, remember to transfer the HIP number to your new license. To

and DOW offices. The stamp is valid when you sign your name in sign up with HIP, call 1-866-265-6447 (1-866-COLOHIP) or go to

ink across the face of it. An electronic stamp issued at license colohip.com. You will be asked basic information, including

agents also provides a receipt as proof of purchase. This proof of ow manv birds vou harvested the previous season and species vo
purchase contains a unique code given instantly and is valid for 45! Y Dirds you > previous sea pecies you
lan to hunt this year. The phone line and website run 24 hours daily.

days. A federal stamp is not required to take light geese during th
conservation order season. For help, call 1-800-368-4683, Mon.-Sat., 6 a.m. to 4 p.m. MST.

4. Hunters 16 or older also need a Colorado waterfowl stamp,

available at license agents and DOW offices. The state stamp is YOUTH LICENSES
printed on your license. The stamp is valid when you sign your
name in ink across the face of it.

5. Licenses and stamps are not transferable.

6. Lifetime small game and fishing combination licenses pur-
chased before 1990 are valid for Colorado residents.

7.Lost or destroyed licenses can be replaced by buying a new on
or by signing an affidavit and paying a fee. Forms are available at
DOW offices and license agents.

8. You must carry your license when hunting and show it when

requested by any law enforcement officer. HUNTER EDUCATION
RESIDENCY REQUIREM ENTS Hunters born on or after Jan. 1, 1949, must have completed an approved

These are the requirements to qualify as a Colorado resident to 'UNer education course sanctioned by a state or province before apply-
buy a hunting license: ing for or purchasing a license. Colorado honors hunter education cours-

1. You must have lived continuously in Colorado at least six es from other states and provinces. You must present an original hunter
months immediately before applying for or buying a license, and safety card when buying a license. Yowst carry your hunter edu-

must intend to make Colorado home (except #2 and 3 below.) Th ation card Whi.le hunting unless “Verified” is printed by the
residence address given to purchase or apply for a license must b OW on your license.

the same address used on your Colorado income tax return. DISABLED VETERANS

2.U.S. armed services personnel and military personnel of U.S. _ . .
allies on active duty in Colorado under permanent orders and thejColorado residents who are disabled veterans can get free lifetime

dependents. This includes people who were Colorado residents comPination small game hunting and fishing licenses. They must
when they entered the armed services and maintain Colorado as have served on active (.jUty and bee.” hqporably discharged. They
their home of record, and their dependents (unless they change IS0 must prove a service-related disability rated by the Veterans
their home of record to another state.) Also included are personnef:dministration of at least 60% through disability retirement bene-
of the U.S. Diplomatic Service or diplomatic services of nations ~ 1ItS OF @ pension administered by the Dept. of Veteran Affairs or
recognized by the U.S. assigned to duty here on permanent activd €SPective service department. Contact DOW, (303) 297-1192.
duty ordersandtheir dependents. Active duty does not include

reserve status or National Guard.

3. Full-time students enrolled and attending a Colorado college,

university or trade school at least six months immediately before BUY LICENSES ONLINE

applying for or buying a license. This includes students who are
temporarily absent from Colorado but still enrolled. Colorado resi- - Buy your license online or by calling 1-800-244-5613.
dents who attend school full time out of state and pay nonresident Credit cards accepted for phone and internet purchases.

tuition still qualify for a resident license. DOW offices and license agents also sell licenses
4. Children under 18 have the same residency status as their par- 8 ’

ent, legal guardian or person with whom they live the majority of
2

Anyone under age 18 can buy a youth small game license for $1.
All youths must meet hunter education requirements. Those under
16 must be accompanied by a mentor while hunting. A mentor
must be 18 or older and must meet hunter education requirements.
Mentors aren't required to hunt. While hunting, youths and men-
tors must be able to see and hear each witheut binoculars,

Fadios or other aid&ouths under 18 also can buy an adult license

as long as they meet hunter education requirements. At age 18,
hunters must buy an adult license.



2008 WATERFOWL HUNTING

HUNTING HOURS

One-half hour before sunrise to sunset. Light Goose
Conservation Order Season: Hunting allowed 1/2 hour
before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset.

LEGAL HUNTING METHODS

1. Shotguns cannot be larger than 10 gauge. They cannot hold
more than 3 shells in Fe
magazine and chamber

fired from the shoulder. |
Toreduce capacity of |
shotguns that hold more“#8

ber and magazine com- e

ILLEGAL HUNTING METHODS
1. Baiting: (For information on federal baiting laws, go to
www.fws.gov/le/HuntFish/waterfowl_baiting.htm)

a. ltis illegal to take migratory game birds and waterfowl by
the aid of baiting, or on or over any baited area, if you know or
reasonably should know the area is baited. It is illegal to place or
direct placement of bait on or next to an area to cause, induce or
allow anyone to take or attempt to take migratory birds with the
help of bait or over a baited area.

b. Baiting means directly or indirectly placing, exposing, dis-
tributing or scattering salt, grain or other feed as an attraction for
migratory game birds to, on or over where hunters are trying to
hunt. An area is considered baited for 10 days after complete
removal of baiting material.

c. It is legal to take migratory game birds, including waterfowl,

bined, the magazine must be cut off, altered or plugged with a 1-coots and cranes, on or over the following lands not otherwise

piece filler that cannot be removed unless the gun is disassem-
bled. Slugs are illegal to hunt waterfowl.

2.Hand-held bows allowed only if the arrow or bowstring is
not held or drawn mechanically.is illegal to use bows on fir-
ing lines designated by the Wildlife Commission.

3.1t is legal to hunt waterfowl in the open, from a blind or other

baited: standing or flooded standing crops; standing flooded or
manipulated natural vegetation; flooded harvested crop lands;
where seeds or grains were scattered solely from normal agricul-
tural planting, harvesting, post-harvest manipulation or normal
soil stabilization practice; flooded, standing agricultural crops
where grain is inadvertently scattered solely by a hunter entering

concealed place except a sinkbox. When camouflaged with veg-or exiting an area, placing decoys or retrieving downed birds.

etation from agricultural crops, camouflaging cannot result in
exposing, depositing, distributing or scattering grain or other
feed.

4. Hunting allowed from vessels (except sinkboxes) with motors
or sails if the motor is off, and/or sails are furled and forward

d. It is legal to take migratory birds, except waterfowl, coots
and cranes, on or over the following lands not otherwise baited:
where grain or other feed is distributed or scattered solely from
manipulation of agricultural crops or other feed, or solely from
normal agricultural operations.

movement has stopped. Hunting is allowed from drifting vessels 2. Toxicants and explosives are illegal. _ .
and those propelled by hand. Motorized vessels only allowed to 3. Itis illegal to use any artificial ligtsts an aid in hunting or taking

pick up dead or injured birds, or to put out and retrieve decoys.
5. Hawking or falconry permitted.

6. Dogs, artificial decoys, duck calls or goose calls are legal,
except recorded or electronically amplified calls or sounds.
Recorded or electronically amplified calls are legal to hunt com-
Mmon Crows.

7.Light Goose Conservation Order Season: Recorded or elec-
tronically amplified calls are allowed.

NONTOXIC SHOT

1.ltis illegal to use or have toxic (lead) shot, either in shotshells
or as loose shot for muzzleloading, while taking or attempting to
take ducks, geese or coots in Colorado. This includes national

wildlife.

4. Traps, snares, nets, rifles, pistols, swivel guns, punt guns, bat-
tery guns, machine guns and fish hooks are illegal.

5.ltis illegal to use live, tame or captive ducks and geese as
decoys. All tame, captive ducks and geese must be removed 10
days before hunting. They must be in an enclosure that substan-
tially reduces the sound of their calls and conceals them from the
sight of waterfowl.

6. Itis illegal to discharge a firearm or release an arrow from, on or
across a public road. Hunting with rifles, handguns, shotguns firing a
single slug and archery equipment prohibited within 50 feet on each
side of the center line of any public road. On a divided road, the pro-
hibition includes the median, and the 50-foot requirement is measured

wildlife refuges open to hunting. Toxic shot, either in shotshells or from the center line of both road/aterfowl cannot be hunted

as loose shot for muzzleloading, cannot be in a hunter’s gun, on

from, on or across a highway, road, designated trail or other

his/her person or near a hunter taking or attempting to take water-fight-of-way (public or private) in national wildlife refuges.
fowl. Store lead shot in your vehicle. You can store lead shot else-7- It is illegal to carry or have a firearm (except a pistol or

where if it's not readily accessible while hunting waterfowl.

2. Nontoxic shot required in commercial wildlife parks, field trials
and dog-training while hunting captive-reared mallards.

3. Nontoxic shot is any type approved by the U.S. Fish and
Wildlife Service. Go to:
www.fws.gov/migratorybirds/issues/nontoxic_shot/nontoxic.htm.
4.1t is illegal to have or use nontoxic shot larger than size T to
hunt ducks, geese or coots.

revolver) in or on a motor vehicle unless chamber is unloaded.

8. Possession of wildlife is evidence you hunted.

9. ltis illegal to kill, capture, wound or harass wildlife from an
aircraft or motor vehicle. It is also illegal to operate aircraft, dis-
charge firearms or release arrows from aircraft or motor vehicles
with the same intent.

10.1t is illegal to waste or abandon edible portions of wildlife, or

to leave wounded wildlife without trying to track and kill it.

11.1tis illegal to leave decoys or things used as decoys in the field
or on water overnight on state wildlife areas.
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HAWKING/FALCONRY entry and someone’s home or a migratory bird facility. It is

1. Apprentices cannot hunt with more than 1 raptor at a ime.  11égal to import someone else’s birds.

2. Aresident falconry license required. 8.1t is illegal to take, have, transport, import or export

3. Nonresident falconers must buy a nonresident falconry licenseMigratory birds, their parts, nests or eggs that were taken,
from the DOW'’s special licensing section, a one-day small gamePOUght, sold, transported, possessed or exported illegally.

hunting license or a nonresident small game hunting license. 9 It iS illegal to have or transport live migratory birds,
Hunter education laws apply. including wounded birds. You must kill migratory game

4. Falconers must comply with HIP. birds immed_ia_tely aft_er you recover them.
5. Firearms prohibited while hawking. 10.No permit is required to have or transport plumage and

6. Hawking prohibited from a public road. skins of legally taken migratory birds for your own use.

7. Hawking on private property is illegal without permission 11. No permit required to have, dispose of and transport
from owner or person in charge. fe_athers from w_|ld ducl_<s and Wl!d geese tha_t were I_egally

8. Nonresidents also must obtain an import permit at least 30 killed, or from birds selze_d b_y W|I_dl|fe autho_nﬂes. It is legal
days in advance from special licensing. The permit is free, but a [© USe feathers to make fishing flies, bed pillows, mattresses
current health certificate issued within 30 days of the proposed @nd similar commercial items, except millinery or ornamen-
entry from state of origin required. Import permit applications tal use.

and import permits are available on our website. 12.1t is illegal to buy, sell, barter, or offer to buy or sell
feathers or mounted specimens of migratory game birds.

TAGGING, SHIPPING, IMPORTING

1. You must attach a carcass tag to wildlife requiring one.

DONATING WILDLIFE

2. Licensees must accompany wildlife not requiring a carcassl' You may donate edible portions of wildife not requiiring a
: pany q 9 carcass tag to a like license holdelike license is for the same

tag (except as in #4 below).  species, sex, dates and manner of take as donor’s license.
in transit until they arrive at hunter’'s home or commercial

processing facility. BANDED BIRDS
4. To ship migratory birds, packages must be marked outside \jijife managers need your help gathering information about
with name and address of sender, name and address of the status of migratory bird populations. If you kill a banded

receiver and number of birds, by species. Licenses, a photo- hird, please report it to Bird Banding Laboratory, 1-800-327-
copy of the license or carcass tag must accompany wildlife BAND.

shipped by common carrier.

5.1t is illegal to leave migratory birds anywhere other than at WEAPONS RESTRICTIONS
your home or with someone else for picking, cleaning, pro-  colorado and federal laws prohibit people convicted of certain
cessing, permanent or temporary storage or taxidermy unlesscrimes, such as domestic violence, from possessing weapons
the birds or package of birds have a tag attached. You must even for hunting. If you've been convicted of a crime, be sure
sign tags, include your address, total number and species of to check with the appropriate law enforcement authority to find
birds, date of kill and your hunting license number. out how these laws apply to you.
6. Migratory bird preservation facilities:

a. If you have someone else’s migratory birds for picking, CHILD SUPPORT DELINQUENCY
cleaning, freezing, processing, storing or shipping, you must State law requires Social Security numbers to buy all licenses. It
have records showing number of each species, date you is not displayed on the license but is provided, if requested, to
received them, date birds were disposed of, and name and Child Support Enforcement authorities. Hunting and fishing
address of who received the birds. licenses are not issued to people delinquent in child support.

b. You must keep records 1 year after the last entry.

c. You must allow people authorized to enforce this regula-
tion to enter the facilities at reasonable hours to inspect
records and premises.
7. Per week, beginning on Sunday, it is illegal to import
more than 25 doves and 10 pigeons from a foreign country;
or more than 10 ducks and 5 geese from a foreign country,
except Canada and Mexico. Doves and waterfowl imported
from Canada and Mexico cannot exceed Canadian and
Mexican export limits. One fully feathered wing must stay
attached to birds transported and shipped between ports of

4
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LAND-USE RULES

1.ltis illegal to hunt on private land without permission from
landowner or person in charg@s illegal to post or indicate that pub-
lic lands are privatdt is illegal to hunt on State Trust Lands without
permission of lessee, except lands open for wildlife recreation.

2.1t is illegal to hunt waterfowl in federal reservations; areas the ¢

U.S. government sets aside as bird, game or other wildlife rese
vations, breeding grounds or refuges; or areas closed by the
Migratory Bird Treaty Act, except as permitted. More regulation
may apply on national wildlife refuges. Contact: Alamosa and
Monte Vista, (719) 589-4021; Browns Park, (970) 365-3613;
Arapaho, (970) 723-8202.

3.In the areas bounded on N by Wyoming; E and S by I-76,
Hwy. 71, US 36 and I-70; and W by the Continental Divide and
Larimer-Jackson county line; and in Bent, Crowley, Kiowa,
Mesa, Otero and Prowers counties:

a. It is illegal to hunt waterfowl within 50 yards on either side
of center line of a public road.

b. ltis illegal to hunt waterfowl within 150 yards of a dwelling,
including directly above it, without first obtaining permission
from owner, occupant or person in charge of the dwelling.

4. Pueblo County: It is illegal to hunt waterfowl within 150 yards
of a dwelling, including directly above it, without first obtaining
permission from owner, occupant or person in charge of the
dwelling.

5. Colorado River:

a. Grand County: Closed to waterfowl hunting from Shadow
Mountain dam to Twin Creek after Nov. 13.

b. Mesa County: Closed to waterfowl hunting on Colorado
River and 200 yds. on either side of river from Grand Ave.
bridge in Grand Junction to W end of Horsethief Canyon SWA,
Wed.-Fri., except Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's Day.
Closed to waterfowl hunting on river and 200 yds. on either side
of river from Appleton Drain to Hunter Wash (W end of Walker
SWA).

SAFE HANDLING OF GAME MEAT

Concern has grown recently about diseases affecting wild
mals that could potentially make humans sick. Most of the time,
properly handled and prepared game meat poses no greatdr risk
than domestic meat of causing disease in humans. Hunters|are
encouraged to contact their local public health department dr
DOW office for information on wildlife diseases that may be
present where they plan to hunt. Public health officials recoin-
mend the following precautions when handling and prepari
game meat:

1. Do not handle animals that are obviously sick or found dgad.
Report sick or dead animals you find to a DOW office.
2.Keep game cool, clean and dry.

3. Do not eat, drink or smoke while dressing game.

4. Use disposable gloves when cleaning game.

5. Wash your hands with soap and water, or use alcohol wiges
after dressing game.
6. Clean all tools and surfaces immediately afterward. Use Hot
soapy water, then disinfect with a 10% chlorine bleach solugon.
7.Cook game meat to an internal temperature of at least 1
to kill disease organisms and parasites. Juices from adequately
cooked game meat should be clear.

8. Do not eat any raw portions of wild game.

9. Do not feed raw wild game to domestic pets.

WALK-IN ACCESS PROGRAM

The Walk-In Access (WIA) Program provides opportunities to
hunt small game, migratory game birds and furbearers.
Properties fall under 3 classifications: The (1) regular season
properties are open Sept. 1 through the end of February. The
(2) late cropland season properties are open from opening day
of pheasant season through the end of February. The (3)
extended walk-in properties are open from the start of pheasant
season through the end of March. WIA properties allow hunt-
ing small game, furbearers migratory game birds and Eurasian
collared-doves but only during established season dates.
Properties are closed to hunting Gambel’'s quail, Gunnison’s
sage grouse and greater sage grouse. Foot access only. Hunters
ages 18 and older must buy a $20 access permit to hunt WIA
lands, in addition to a small game license, and must comply
with Habitat Stamp regulations. Access permits cannot be
transferred to anyone. Hunters under age 18 must obtain a free
access permit to hunt WIA lands. Other people may accompa-
ny hunters without buying an access permit or habitat stamp if
they do not hunt. Properties enrolled are posted with Walk-In
Access signs and published in a WIA atlas. Two atlases for
2008-09 will be published. An early version will be available in
late August and includes properties open Sept. 1. A second atlas
will be available in late October and includes all properties.
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WATERFOWL RESTRICTIONS

Atwood (SWA), Bravo, Brush, Centennial, Cottonwood,
Dune Ridge, Elliott (except Union Tract), Jean K. Tool,
Julesburg leases, Knudson, Messex, Overland Trail, Pony
Express and Sedgwick Bar, Tamarack SWAs. Atwood, Red
Lion Ranch and Ford Bridge STLs:

1. All recreational activities except deer hunting prohibited
opening weekend of regular plains rifle deer season, and ¢
ing day and first weekend of late plains rifle deer season.
25, 26, Dec. 1, 6, 7)

pen-
Oct.

ARAPAHO NAT'L WILDLIFE REFUGE

1. Unit A closed to all hunting. Unit B open to migratory and
resident small game. Unit C closed to migratory bird hunting.
For information, call (970) 723-8202.

ATWOOD STATE TRUST LAND

1. Hunting prohibited except Sat., Sun., Wed., Labor Day,
Columbus Day (observed), Veterans Day (observed),
Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year’s, Martin Luther King
Day, Presidents’ Day.

2. Reservations required for hunting by calling 1-800-846-
9453. Reservations not accepted more than 14 days nor less
than 48 hours before hunt date. Failing to cancel reservations
may result in losing future reservation rights. Max. 1 reserva-

tion per day, and 1 reservation per phone call. Reservations no

transferable. People making reservations must be licensed
hunters and must be at property the day of the hunt. Check in
and check out required. Four reservations issued a day with
max. of 4 people each. Two reservations are for the general
public: 1 for mobility-impaired hunters and 1 for youth and
their mentors. General public and mobility-impaired must hunt
the up river side of Hwy. 63. Youths and mentors must hunt
down-river side of highway.

3. Hunting prohibited with centerfire rifles.

ATWOOD SWA

1. Beginning with first day of the regular duck season through
last day of regular duck season, waterfowl and small game
hunters must check out at designated check station. Access
from designated parking areas only.

BANNER LAKES SWA

1. Closed from first day of regular waterfowl season to opening

day of pheasant season, except Sat., Sun., Mon. and legal holi

days.
2. Reservations required by calling 1-800-846-9453.

Reservations not accepted more than 14 days nor less than 48

advance. Failing to cancel reservations may result in losing
future reservation rights.
BRAVO SWA
1.Access only from designated parking areas.
2. Beginning with the first day of regular duck season through
the last day of regular duck season, only hunting allowed.
Waterfowl and small game hunting by reservation by calling 1-
800-846-9453. Reservations not accepted more than 14 days
nor less than 48 hours before hunt date. Failing to cancel reser-
vations may result in losing future reservation rights. Max. 4
people per reservation. Max. 1 reservation per day, and 1 reser-
vation per phone call. Reservations not transferable. People
making reservations must be licensed hunters and must be at
property the day of hunt.
3. Reservations limited to:

a. 1 waterfowl, 1 small game reservation daily each for CR 34
parking lot, CR 36 parking lot and CR 370 parking lot 2.

b. 2 waterfowl, 2 small game reservations daily for CR 370
parking lot 1.

c. 1 waterfowl reservation daily for Youth/Mentor Parking
Lot. No more than 2 mentors, at least 1 youth per reservation.
Mentors not required to hunt.
4. Waterfowl and small game hunting allowed only Sat., Sun.,
Wed., Columbus Day (observed), Veterans Day (observed),
Thanksgiving Day, Christmas, New Year’s Day and Martin
L uther King Day.
5. Hunters must check out at designated check station by 2

.m.
BRAVO SWA, SCALVA PARCEL
1. Sept. 1-May 31, only hunting allowed. Hunting limited to
archery, muzzleloading and shotgun during established seasons
and only on Sat., Sun., Wed., Labor Day, Columbus Day
(observed), Veterans Day (observed), Thanksgiving, Christmas,
New Year’s, Martin Luther King Day, Presidents’ Day.
2. Reservations required by calling 1-800-846-9453, Sept.
through Feb. From March through August, reservations by call-
ing 970-842-6300. Reservations not accepted more than 14
days nor less than 48 hours before use date.
3. Access through designated parking area and mandatory
check station. Access allowed 4 a.m. to 9 p.m.
4. Foot access only.
BRUSH SWA
1. Beginning with the first day of regular duck season through
last day of regular duck season, waterfowl and small game
hunters must check out at designated check station. Access
from designated parking areas only.

hours before hunt date. To cancel, call the same number or yougr(ySH PRAIRIE PONDS SWA

may forfeit reservation rights. Max. 1 reservation per day,
1 reservation per phone call. Resenratinot transferable.
Whoever makes a reservation must be a licensed hunter and
must be at property the day of the hunt. Check in and check out
required. Access only through designated parking areas.

3. Foot access only.

BARR LAKE STATE PARK

1. Waterfowl hunting only, restricted to Sat. and Wed.

2. Hunting from designated blinds only. Max. of 3 hunters per
blind. Unreserved blinds will be first come, first served after 5
a.m. each day. Reserved blinds unoccupied by 7 a.m. are first

come, first served. Users must register at check-in point before

hunting. For reservations call 1-800-846-9453. Reservations
not accepted more than 14 days nor less than 2 days in

6

and 1 From Feb. 1 until opening day of first waterfow season, open

only for wildlife viewing.

2. From opening day of first waterfowl season through Nov. 30,
only migratory bird hunting allowed on waterfowl season dates

and only orSat., Sun., Wed. and Columbus Day (observed),
Veteran’s Day (observed), Thanksgiving Day. Hunters must use
designated ponds. Reservations required for hunting by calling
1-800-846-9453. Reservations not accepted more than 14 days
nor less than 48 hours before hunt date. Failing to cancel reser-
vations may result in losing future reservation rights. Max. 1
reservation per day, and 1 reservation per phone call. Max.
hunters per group is 4. Reservations not transferable. People
making reservations must be licensed hunters and be at proper-
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ty day of hunt. Mandatory check in and check out. hunters and must be at property the day of the hunt. Mandatory
3. Reservations required on Dec. 1. From Dec. 2 through Jan. check in and check out as posted.
31, only hunting allowed, user numbers regulated by mandato- 2. Waterfowl hunting allowed in established hunt zones only.

ry check station and no reservations required. 3. Habitat stamps not required for people who stay on bike

4. Mandatory check in and out at Brush Memorial Park. path.

During waterfowl season, hunters must check out by 3 p.m. if GRAND LAKE, WINDY GAP RES.

property is open the next day. 1. Closed to goose hunting on lakes and within 100 yds. of
CENTENNIAL VALLEY SWA high-water lines.

1. During waterfowl season, small game and waterfowl hunting HIGEL SWA

only in designated zones. 1. Closed Sept. 1-Feb. 14, except Sat., Sun., Wed. and legal

2. Hunting with centerfire rifles prohibited. holidays. Closed Feb. 15-July 15 to protect nesting water birds.
3. Reservations required by calling 1-800-846-9453. 2. Permits required. Max. 25 permits daily. Contact DOW in

Reservations not accepted more than 14 days nor less than 48Monte Vista for free permit. Call (719) 587-6923.

hours before hunt date. Failing to cancel reservations may HIGHLINE LAKE STATE REC. AREA

result in losing future reservation rights. Max. 1 reservation per 1. Closed to waterfowl hunting Sat., Sun.

day, and 1 reservation per phone call. Reservations not transfer2. Waterfowl hunting limited to designated blinds. Max. 4

able. People making reservations must be licensed hunters anchunters per blind. Hunters must check in and out at W entrance
must be at property the day of hunt. Mandatory check in and  station.

check out as posted. HORSETHIEF CANYON SWA

4. Closed during regular waterfowl seasons except Sat., Sun., 1.0n Sat., waterfowl hunting restricted to youth mentor hunt-
Mon., holidays. Closed March 1-Aug. 31 except on designated ing only. No more than 1 mentor per youth.

trail for wildlife viewing and for hunters with spring turkey 2. To hunt waterfowl on west end, reservations for specific
licenses. blind required. Hunting restricted from blind or within 100
CHUCK LEWIS SWA yards of it. Max. 4 hunters per blind. Reservations on first-

1. Waterfowl hunting permitted except within 50 yds. of CR come basis, from check-in station. Permits not required east of
14F bridge. diversion structure.

2.Closed 10 p.m.-4 a.m. Overnight parking prohibited. 3. Waterfowl hunting prohibited Wed.-Fri., except

3. Dogs permitted as an aid to waterfowl hunting. Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's Day.

CRAWFORD STATE REC. AREA 4. Habitat stamp not required.

1. Hunting prohibited as posted. JACKSON LAKE SWA

DILLON RES. 1.Access only from designated parking areas.

1. Waterfowl hunting prohibited on Labor Day and the Sat. and 2. Beginning with first day of regular duck season through the
Sun. before Labor Day. last day of regular duck season, only hunting allowed.

2. Denver Water Board restricts hunting to designated areas  Waterfowl and small game hunting by reservation by calling 1-
only. For map, go to 800-846-9453. Reservations not accepted more than 14 days
WWW.CO0.summit.co.us/OpenSpace/drrec.htm. nor less than 48 hours before hunt date. Failing to cancel reser-
ELLIOTT SWA (Except Union Tract) vations may result in losing future reservation rights. Max. 4

1. West Elliott Closure: Closed as posted in 80-acre part N of people per reservation. Max. 1 reservation per day, and 1 reser-
S. Platte River, S of CR W 7 and W of railroad. vation per phone call. Reservations not transferable. People
EMPIRE RES. making reservations must be licensed hunters and must be at

1. Goose hunting prohibited below historical and recorded high-  property the day of hunt.

water line. Hunting also prohibited N of res. 20 yards above high- 3. Reservations regulated by hunt zones. One zone reserved for
water line from the inlet structure, N and E to E end of dike. youth mentor hunting. No more than 2 mentors and at least 1
FLAGLER RES. SWA youth per reservation. Three reservations available for water-

1. Boating prohibited during waterfowl season, exceptcrafts fowl hunting from vessels on lake.

propelled by hand, wind or electric motor. Boating also prohib- 4. Boat hunting reservations are cancelled if ice is unsafe.

ited if it creates a whitewater wake, except water skiing Hunters with boat reservations must call reservation line 2 days
allowed Sun., and Mon., June 1-Aug. 31. before scheduled hunt to confirm ice conditions. Only boat

2. Hunting limited to youth mentor hunting only. No more than hunters with reservations are exempt from Nov. 1 boat closure.

1 mentor per youth. 5. Mandatory check out station at parking lot 1/2 mile S of CR
FOSSIL CREEK RES. CC and CR 4 by 2 p.m. Waterfowl hunters with boat reservation
1. Closed to goose hunting as posted. exempt from check out station.

FRANK SWA 6. Hunters and vessels must stay in designated hunt zone.

1. Reservations required for hunting by calling 1-800-846- Hunting prohibited within 150 yards of shore and other vessels.

9453. Reservations not accepted more than 14 days nor less Vessels launched from Jackson Lake State Park must have state
than 48 hours before hunt date. Failing to cancel reservations parks pass.

may result in losing future reservation rights. Max. 1 reserva- 7. Waterfowl and small game hunting permitted only Sat., Sun.,
tion per day, and 1 reservation per phone call. Reservations noWWed., Columbus Day (observed), Veterans Day (observed),
transferable. People making reservations must be licensed

7
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Thanksgiving Day, Christmas, New Year’s Day and Martin 3. Closed to waterfowl hunting 150 yds. of Colo. 257 center line
Luther King Day. between CRs 78 and 74; CR 74 between Colo. 257 and CR 21.
JEAN K. TOOL SWA NORTH STERLING RES.

1. Beginning with the first day of regular duck season through 1. Hunting prohibited from dam.

last day of regular duck season, waterfowl and small game 2. Boating prohibited, except hand-propelled crafts used in
hunters must check out at designated check station. Access fromwaterfowl hunting (putting out, picking up decoys, retrieving
designated parking areas only. downed waterfowl), Nov. 1 through last day of regular goose
JOHN MARTIN RES. season.

1. Closed, except to retrieve downed waterfowl, Nov. 1 through NORTH TRACT, ELLIOTT SWA

last day of waterfowl season as posted on US Army Corps of  1.From Aug. 1-March 31, hunting allowed ori#at., Sun., Wed.,
Engineers property leased by DOW or State Parks to provide forLabor Day, Columbus Day (observed), Veterans Day (observed),
resting waterfowl, depending on water levels, weather and pres- Thanksgiving Day, Christmas, New Year's, Martin Luther King
ence of birds. Day, Presidents’ Day and opening day of plains rifle and late
JUMBO RES. SWA rifle deer season.

1. Closed to goose hunting in parts of Logan and Sedgwick 2. Reservations required for hunting by calling 1-800-846-9453.
counties bounded on N by Logan CR 70 and Sedgwick CR 3; orReservations not accepted more than 14 days nor less than 48
E by Sedgwick CR 3; on S by Logan CR 970 and on W by hours before hunt date. Failing to cancel reservations may result
Logan CR 95, except for Red Lion SWA as posted. in losing future reservation rights. Max. 1 reservation per day,
2.Except as allowed below, boating prohibited Oct. 1 through  and 1 reservation per phone call. Reservations not transferable.
last day of regular goose season. Hand-propelled craft may be People making reservations must be licensed hunters and must
used to set and pick up decoys and to retrieve downed water-  be at property the day of the hunt. Mandatory check in and check

fowl. Boats prohibited within 50 feet of outlet structure. out as postednly 2 parties or vehicles with max. of 4 people per
3. Hunting prohibited from frozen surface of lake. party can hunt per day.
4. Vehicles limited to 250. ORCHARD MESA SWA

5. Hunting from floating devices by reservation from opening 1. Access only from parking area on C Rd between Rds 30 and
day of regular duck season until opening day of dark goose sea-31.

son. Reservations by calling 1-800-846-9453. Reservations not 2. Camping, fires, horses prohibited. Vehicles prohibited beyond
accepted more than 14 days nor less than 48 hours before hunt parking area.

date. Failing to cancel reservations may result in losing future 3. Closed March 15 to July 14 to protect nesting migratory birds.
reservation rights. Max. 1 reservation per day, and 1 reservation 4. Waterfowl hunters must hunt from designated blinds or zones
per phone call. Reservations not transferable. People making identified for each blind. Blinds assigned at entrance station,
reservations must be licensed hunters and be at property the dayavailable daily, first come, first served. Max. 4 hunters per blind.
of hunt. Three reservations available for waterfowl hunting from 5. Hunting restricted to bows and shotguns with shotshells.
vessels on res. Boat hunting reservations will be cancelled if ice 6. Dogs prohibited except as hunting aid.

is unsafe. Hunters with boat reservations must call reservation OVERLAND TRAIL SWA

line 2 days before scheduled hunt to confirm ice conditions. 1. Reservations required by calling 1-800-846-9453.

Only boat hunters with reservations are exempt from Oct. 1 boat Reservations not accepted more than 14 days nor less than 48
closure. hours before hunt date. Failing to cancel reservations may result
6. Hunting from floating devices permitted only Sat., Sun., Wed., in losing future reservation rights. Max. 1 reservation per day,
Columbus Day (observed), Veterans Day (observed), and 1 reservation per phone call. Max. hunters per group is 4.
Thanksgiving Day, Christmas, New Year’s Day and Martin Reservations not transferable. People making reservations must
Luther King Day. Hunters must leave res. by 2 p.m. Hunting be licensed hunters and be at property day of hunt. Mandatory
prohibited within 150 yards of shore and other vessels. check in and check out as posted.

LOWER LATHAM RES. 2. Foot access only via designated parking area.

1. Hunting prohibited as posted. 3. From Sept. 1 through May 31, hunting permitted @dy., Sun.,
MACK MESA STATE REC. AREA Wed., Columbus Day (observed), Veterans Day (observed),

1. Hunting prohibited. Thanksgiving Day, Christmas, New Year's Day, Martin Luther
MEREDITH RES. King Day and opening day of plains rifle and late rifle deer sea-
1. Hunting prohibited as posted. sons.

MONTE VISTA & ALAMOSA NAT'L WILDLIFE REF. 4. Beginning with first day of regular duck season through last

1. Nontoxic shot required for shotgun hunting. For information, day of regular duck seasamly hunting allowedWaterfowl and

call (719) 589-4021. small game hunters must check out at designated check station
NEW WINDSOR RES. by 2 p.m. Small game and waterfowl huntaigwed onlySat.,

1. Hunting prohibited as posted. Sun., Wed., Columbus Day (observed), Veterans Day (observed),
2. Closed to waterfowl hunting within 400 yds. of occupied Thanksgiving Day, Christmas, New Year's Day, Martin Luther

dwelling, without first obtaining permission from owner or per-  King Day.
son in charge, or within 1/4 mile from center line of these roads:

from CR 74 and Colo. 257, Nto CR 78; Eto CR 21; Sto CR

74; then W to Colo. 257, including area formed by these roads.

8



2008 WATERFOWL HUNTING

PONY EXPRESS (JOHNSON POND) SWA 3. Lower Queens:

1. Closed to goose hunting in part of Sedgwick County S of US  a. Boating prohibited if it creates whitewater wake from

138, W of US 385, N of I-76 and E of CR 29. opening day of waterfowl season through Dec. 1.

2. Light goose hunting allowed during special control season and b. Hunters must check in and out at check station when open.
any conservation order for light geese. c. Closed Dec. 1 through last day of waterfowl season as post-
PREWITT RES. SWA ed except to retrieve downed waterfowl.

1. Waterfowl hunting prohibited as posted to provide for water- 4. Nee So Pah:

fowl resting depending on water levels, weather and presence of a. Closed Nov. 1 through last day of waterfowl season except
birds. to retrieve downed waterfowl.

2.Boating prohibited, except hand-propelled crafts used in RAMAH RES. SWA

waterfowl hunting (putting out, picking up decoys, retrieving 1. Boating prohibited Nov. 1 through the last day of waterfowl
downed waterfowl), Oct. 1 through last day of regular goose sea-season except float tubes or crafts propelled by hand, wind or

son. Boating prohibited if it creates white-water wake. electric motor.
3. Hunting prohibited from floating device. 2. Discharging firearms or bows prohibited except shotguns or
QUEENS SWA bows for hunting. Discharging archery equipment allowed on

1. Boating prohibited if it creates a whitewater wake in channel established archery range.
between Lower and Upper Queens reservoirs.
2. Upper Queens (including channel), Nee Noshe, Nee Gronda:
a. Hunters must check in and out at check station when open.
b. Closed Nov. 1 through last day of waterfowl season as post-
ed, except to retrieve downed waterfowl.

2008-2009 SUNRISE/SUNSET TABLE

SEPT. OCT. NOV. DEC. JAN. FEB. MAR.
(DST) (DST)
Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set

GUIDE TO LEGAL AM.PM. AM.PM. AM.PM. A.M.PM. A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M.

DAY
HUNTING HOURS 1 6:27 7:31 6:556:42 7:285:58  7:01 4:35  7:20 4:45 _ 7:08 5:20 6:33 5:52
2 6:28 7:30 6:56 6:41 6:294:56  7:02 4:35 7:21 4:45 7:07 5:21 6:31 5:53

. . . 3 6:297:28 6:576:39 6:304:55  7:03 4:35  7:21 4:46 _ 7:06 5:22  6:30 5:54
This table is valid for 4 630727 658638 6:314:54 7.04 4:34 721 447  7:05 524 628 5:56
Denver, CO. SUBTRACT 5 6:317:25 6:596:36 6:324:53 7:05 4:34  7:21 4:48 7:04 5:25 6:27 5:57
. . 6 6:327:23 7:006:34 6:334:52  7:06 4:34  7:21 449  7:03 526 6:25 5:58

one minute from opening 7 633722 7.016:33 6:354:51 7:07 4:34 _ 7:21 4:50 _ 7:02 5:27 __ 6:24 5:59
and closing time for each 12 | 8 6:347:20 7:026:31 6:364:50 7:08 4:34  7:20 4:51  7:00 5:28  6:22 6:00
; 9 6:34 7:18 7:036:30 6:374:49 7:09 4:34 7:20 452  6:59 5:30  6:20 6:01

1/2 miles eqst of Denver.. 10 6:357:17 7:046:28 6:384:48 7.09 4:34 7:204:53 658 531  6:19 6:02
ADD one minute to opening | 11 6:37 7:15  7:056:27 6:394:47  7:10 4:34  7:20 454 657 5:32  7:17 7:03
6:38 7:14 7:066:25 6:404:46 7:11 4:35 7:20 4:55 6:56 5:33 7:16 7:04

and closing time for each 12\ 12 833705 700027 Biaraae 712 438 71045 686 533 716 708
1/2 miles west of Denver. 14 6397:10 7:086:22 6:434:44  7:12 4:35 53 5: 137

7:10 457 653 535 7:13 7:06

The above changes are 15 6:407:09 7:006:20 6:444:44  7:13 4:36  7:10 458 652 5:37  7:11 7:07
. 16 6:417:07 7:106:19 6:454:43 7:14 4:36  7:18 459  6:51 5:38  7:09 7:08

based on the assumption 17 642705 7.16:18 6:464:42 7:14 4:36 _ 7.18 5:00 _ 6:50 5:30 __ 7:08 7:09
that each degree of longi- 18  6:437:04 7:126:16 6:474:41 7:15 4:36  7:17 501 6:48 540  7:06 7:10
tude equals 50 miles and 19 6447:02 7:146:15 648441 7:16 437 7:17502 647 541 7:05 7:11
20 6:457:00 7:156:13 6:494:40 7:16 4:37  7:16 504 6:46 542  7:03 7:12

that a change of 1 degree of | 21 646659 7:166:11 6:504:39 717 437  7:16 5:05 _ 6:44 543 _ 7:01 7:13
longitude equals 4 minutes 22 6147657 7:176:10 6:524:39  7:17 4:38  7:15 5:07 _ 6:43 545  7:00 7:14
. . 23 648655 7:186:09 6:534:38  7:18 4:38  7:15508  6:41 546  6:58 7:15

change in sunrise and sun- 24 649654 7:196:08 6:544:38  7:18 4:39  7:14 5:08  6:40 547 _ 6:57 7:16
set times. 25 649 6:52 7:206:06 6:554:38  7:19 4:40  7:13 500  6:39 548  6:55 7:17
26 6:50 6:50 7:216:05 6:564:37 7:19 4:40 7:13 5:11 6:37 5:49 6:53 7:18

27 6516149 7:226:04 6:574:37 7:20 4:41  7:12 512 6:36 550 6:52 7:19

28 652 6:47 7:236:03 6:584:36  7:20 4:42  7:11 513 6:34 551 6:50 7:20

29 6:536:46 7:246:01 6:594:36  7:20 4:42 7:10 5:14 6:49 7:21

30 654 6:44 7:266:00 7:004:35 7:20 4:43  7:09 5:15 6:47 7:22

31 7:275:59 7.20 444 7.08 5:17 6:45 7:23




2008 WATERFOWL HUNTING

RED LION SWA UNION TRACT, ELLIOTT SWA
1. Boating prohibited, except float tubes or craft propelled by 1. Closed, except for limited waterfowl hunting. Waterfowl hunt-
hand. ing permitted first come, first served from Sept. 13 through Oct.

2. During special control season and conservation orders for light20. Limited to 4 hunting areas from beginning of teal season
geese, light goose hunting allowed in the area bounded by N by through the end of first waterfowl season. Limited to 2 hunting
CR 970, on E by CR 97 (Sedgwick CR 1), on S by US 138 and areas by reservation during the remainder of duck seasons.

on W by CR 95. Hunting area reservations by lottery. Reservation dates: Nov. 8,

3. Closed to goose hunting in parts of Logan and Sedgwick 9, 11, 27, 29, 30; Dec. 17, 20, 21, 25, 31; Jan. 1, 10, 24, 25. To
counties bounded on N by Logan CR 70 and Sedgwick CR 3, orreserve a hunting area, send postcard with name, address, phone
E by Sedgwick CR 3, on S by Sedgwick CR 24.8 and across  number, dates and hunting area number (#1-south or #2-north) to
Red Lion SWA as posted, and on W by Logan CR 95, except for DOW, Union Tract Drawing, Box 801, Brush, 80723. Max. 4

Red Lion SWA as posted. hunters per blind. Hunters can apply only for 1 blind per day. All
4. Beginning with first day of regular duck season through last  dates hunters want to apply for can be put on 1 postcard.

day of regular duck season, waterfowl and small game hunters Individuals can draw only 1 hunting area per season. Postcards
must check out at designated check station. Access from desig- must be postmarked by Oct. 3. Drawing is Oct. 10. Successful

nated parking areas only. applicants notified by Oct. 24. Reservations for licensed hunters
RIVERSIDE RES. only. Person holding reservation must be at property on day of
1. Closed to goose hunting as posted. hunt. Reservations not transferable. Mandatory check in before
RUSSELL LAKES SWA hunting; mandatory check out at check station near parking lot.
1. Parking only in established areas. VANCIL RES.

2. Closed as posted to protect wintering and nesting waterfowl 1. Waterfowl hunting prohibited as posted to provide for waterfowl
and to protect administrative areas. Sect. 29 closed during water+esting as necessary depending on water levels and presence of

fowl seasons. birds.

3.Closes at 1 p.m. during first waterfowl season. WELLINGTON SWA

SOUTH REPUBLICAN SWA 1. Boating prohibited except hand-propelled crafts used in hunt-
1. Parking only in designated areas. Access prohibited on down- ing waterfowl.

stream face of dam. 2. Closed from first day of regular waterfowl season to first day
2. Waterfowl hunting prohibited as posted. of pheasant season except Sat., Sun., Mon. and legal
SWEITZER LAKE holidays.

1. Hunting waterfowl permitted on opening day and Sat., Sun.,

Wed., legal holidays. Note: Additional restrictions may apply on some state wildlife
TAMARACK RANCH SWA areas. Consult the DOW'’s State Wildlife Area brochure for

1. Phone reservations available for hunting small game, water-  jetails.
fowl weekends and holidays Nov. 1 through last day of regular
waterfowl season. Reservations required for hunting by calling
1-800-846-9453. Reservations not accepted more than 14 days
nor less than 48 hours before hunt date. Failing to cancel reserva-
tions may result in losing future reservation rights. Max. 1 reser-
vation per day, and 1 reservation per phone call. Reservations not
transferable. People making reservations must be licensed
hunters and must be at property the day of the hunt. Mandatory
check in and check out as posted.
TRINIDAD STATE REC. AREA
1. Waterfowl hunting prohibited as posted.
TURK'S POND
1. From beginning of first split of waterfowl seasons through last
day of waterfowl seasons, the following regulations are in effect
in sections 20, 21, 28, 29, 32 & 33 in Township 29 South, Range
44 West, 6th P.M.:

a. On all land in SWA within 1/4 mile of ordinary high-water
line, hunting prohibited as posted. CALL BEFORE DIGGING

b. It is illegal to discharge firearms or arrows from, on or
across 50 yds. on each side of center line of public roads.

Colorado law requires waterfowl hunters to

TURK’S POND SWA call the Utility Notification Center of

1. Boating prohibited except float tubes or crafts propelled by Colorado before digging hunting pits. By
hand, wind or electric motor. doing so, hunters can avoid accidentally hit-
2. Closed near pond and administrative building, except to ting electric, gas, water and other utility

retrieve downed waterfowl from opening day of waterfowl sea- | lines. Call 1-800-922-1987.
son through Feb. 28.
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GOOSE SEASONS

CENTRAL FLYWAY
REGULAR SEASON

East of Continental Divide, except :
Northern Front Range, North Park, Sop
Park/San Luis Valley seasons, and the
Light Goose Conservation Order Seas
Nov. 15-Feb. 15, 2009, dark geese;
Nov. 1-Feb. 15, 2009, light geese
Daily bag limit: 4 dark geese; 20 light geese
Possession limit8 dark geese; unlimited for light geese

PACIFIC FLYWAY REGULAR SEASON
West of Continental Divide.

Sept. 27-Oct. 3;

Oct. 29-Jan. 25, 2009

NEW FOR 2008-09

Daily bag limit: 3 dark geese; 10 light geese
Possession limit6 dark geese; 20 light geese

NORTH PARK SEASON
Jackson County (Central Flyway).
Dark Geese:

Oct. 4-15;

Nov. 15-Feb. 15, 2009

Daily bag limit: 4 dark geese
Possession limit8 dark geese

Light Geese:

Nov. 1-Feb. 15, 2009
Daily bag limit: 20
Possession limitUnlimited

SOUTH PARK, SAN LUIS VALLEY SEASON

Light Geese:

Nov. 1-Feb. 15, 2009
Daily bag limit: 20
Possession limitUnlimited

EARLY CANADA GOOSE SEASON
All areas in Pacific Flyway.

Sept. 1-9

Daily bag limit: 3 dark geese

Possession limit6 dark geese

LIGHT GOOSE CONSERVATION ORDER SEASON
All areas east of 1-25.

Feb. 16-April 30, 2009

Daily bag limit: Unlimited

Possession limitUnlimited

DUCK, COOT SEASONS

SEPTEMBER TEAL

Lake and Chaffee counties and all areas east of I-25.
Sept. 13-21

Daily bag limit: 4

Possession limit8

CENTRAL FLYWAY .
Eastern Plains Zone East of 1-25 and
all of El Paso, Pueblo, Huerfano and
Animas counties.

Oct. 4-20;
Nov. 8-Jan. 25, 2009
Daily bag limit:

Ducks: 6, excluding mergansers. Of these, up to 5 can be mal-
lards, but no more than 2 can be female. Included in the daily
bag limit of 6, you can have no more than 1 pintail, 1 canvas-

Alamosa, Chaffee, Conejos, Costilla, Custer, Fremont, Lake, Parkback, 2 redheads, 1 mottled duck, 2 wood ducks and 2 scaup.

Rio Grande and Teller counties. And, parts of Hinsdale, Mineral
and Saguache counties east of Continental Divide.

Dark Geese:

Oct. 4-15;

Nov. 15-Feb. 15, 2009

Daily bag limit: 4 dark geese

Possession limit8 dark geese

Light Geese:

Nov. 1-Feb. 15, 2009
Daily bag limit: 20
Possession limitUnlimited

NORTHERN FRONT RANGE SEASON

Boulder, Larimer and Weld counties from the Continental Divide
E along the Wyoming border to Hwy. 85, S on Hwy. 85 to Adams
Co line. And, all of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek,
Denver, Douglas, Gilpin and Jefferson counties.

Dark Geese:

Oct. 4-15;

Nov. 15-Feb. 15, 2009

Daily bag limit: 4 dark geese

Possession limit8 dark geese

11

No canvasbacks or pintails can be taken after Nov. 29.
Coots: 15

Mergansers:5; only 2 can be hooded mergansers.
Possession limit2 daily bag limits

Mountain/Foothills Zone: West of I-25, east of Continental
Divide, except El Paso, Pueblo, Huerfano and Las Animas
counties.

Oct. 4-Nov. 30;

Dec. 19-Jan. 25, 2009

Daily bag limit:

Ducks: 6, excluding mergansers. Of these, up to 5 can be mal-
lards, but no more than 2 can be female. Included indlalig

bag limit of 6, you can have no more than 1 pintail, 1 can-
vasback, 2 redheads, 1 mottled duck, 2 wood ducks and 2
scaup. No carasbacks or pintails can be taken after Nov. 11.
Coots: 15

Mergansers:5; only 2 can be hooded mergansers.
Possession limit2 daily bag limits



2008 WATERFOWL HUNTING

PACIFIC FLYWAY

West of Continental Divide.

Sept. 27-Oct. 12;

Oct. 29-Jan. 25, 2009

NEW FOR 2008-09

Daily bag limit: Ducks, mergansers in the aggregate. Of
these, no more than 2 can be female mallards, 1 pintail, 2 red-
heads and 2 scaup. No scaup can be taken after Jan. 6. Seaso
closed on canvasbacks.

Possession limit2 daily bag limits

Coots: Daily bag and possession limit is 25.

YOUTH WATERFOWL

CENTRAL FLYWAY

Eastern Plains Zone East of 1-25 and all of El Paso, Pueblo,
Huerfano and Las Animas counti&ept. 27-28
Mountain/Foothills Zone: West of I-25, east of Continental
Divide, except El Paso, Pueblo, Huerfano and Las Animas
counties.Sept. 27-28

Ducks, coot, mergansers:

Daily bag and possession limitSee regular Central Flyway.
Geese:

Daily bag limit: 4 dark geese

Possession limit8 dark geese

Pacific Flyway: West of Continental Div

PACIFIC FLYWAY

Oct. 18-19

Ducks, coots, mergansers:

Daily bag and possession limit:

Same as regular Pacific Flyway.

Geese:
nDaily bag limit: 3 dark geese, 10 light geese
Possession limit2 daily bag limits

Note: Hunting restricted to youths under age 18. Mentors can-
not hunt during youth seasons. Other mentor rules apply. See

“Youth Licenses.”
FALCONRY

CENTRAL AND PACIFIC FLYWAYS

Dates coincide with regular seasoNste: Falconry bag and pos-
session limits are not in addition to gun bag limits.

Daily bag limit: 3 singly or in aggregate
Possession limit6 singly or in aggregate

i decentral Fl yway: East of Continental Di
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GOOSE SEASONS MAP
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