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A% SAVE TIME:

CPW offices and license agents also sell licenses.
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SMALL THINGS CAN MAKE A BIG DIFFERENCE.

When you purchase a hunting license,
75¢ goes to educate the public on the role
sportsmen play in wildlife management.

HUG AN ANGLER...

Colorado Parks and Wildlife Director: Robert Broscheid

The Colorado Parks and Wildlife Commission members are (as of July 2016): Chris Castilian,
Chair « Jeanne Horne, Vice Chair « James Pribyl, Secretary « Robert W. Bray « John Howard, Jr. «
Bill Kane « Dale Pizel « James Vigil « Dean Wingfield « Michelle Zimmerman « Alex Zipp « Bob
Randall, ex-officio member « Don Brown, ex-officio member

CPW receives federal financial assistance from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. In accordance
with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Title
IT of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975 and Title
IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, the U.S. Department of the Interior and its bureaus
prohibit discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability or sex.

NOTE: Laws and regulations in this brochure are paraphrased for easier understanding and are
intended only as a guide. Colorado statutes and regulations are available for viewing at
CPW offices and online at cpw.state.co.us/regulations



WHAT’S NEW2016

» CHANGES TO HUNTER EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS. . . These program changes
only apply to individuals born on or after 1/1/49 who do not have a hunter education
card. Hunters age 50 or older or U.S. military personnel have the option to test out of
the hunter education requirements by scoring a 90% or better on an online test, which
can only be taken once. Please see the website for the most up-to-date information on

hunter education, cpw.state.co.us/HunterEd
The free Apprentice Hunter Certificate is a one-year waiver of hunter education

requirement with the aim of getting new hunters in the field. The apprentice hunter

certificate can only be obtained once and is valid from April 1 to March 31. The ap-

prentice certificate holder must be at least 10 years old and must be accompanied by

amentor at all times in the field. A mentor is someone at least 18 years old who has
a hunter education certificate or was born before 1/1/1949. The mentor must carry
proof of age and their hunter education certificate when in the field. A mentor can

accompany up to two apprentices in the field. Please see the website for the most up-

to-date information on hunter education, cpw.state.co.us/HunterEd
» BAND-TAILED PIGEON NEWS... Due to concerns about the population status of

band-tailed pigeons, regulations in 2015 became more restrictive. Beginning in 2016,
those wishing to hunt band-tailed pigeons must carry a band-tailed pigeon permit in
addition to their small-game license. The permit can be purchased for $5.00. See pages

2 and 4 for details.

» SMALL-GAME HUNTING... is now permitted on Highline Lake State Park. See page

11 for details.
» UNIT 201... has been opened to greater sage-grouse hunting. See pages 4 and 5.
» CHUKAR... may now be hunted in GMUs 9, 19 and 191. See page 4 for details.

» MANDATORY CHECK-OUT PROCEDURE REMOVED... on Bravo State Wildlife Area

and Bravo State Trust Land. See page 10 for details.

» JUMPING COW SWA... The Woodard Unit has new regulations. See page 12.

» BOATING RESTRICTIONS REVISED... on Red Lion State Wildlife Area. See page 12.
» HARVEST INFORMATION PROGRAM (HIP)... will become part of the new licens-
ing system this December. Hunters will do the HIP registration when they buy a

small-game license from that point forward. Until then, the HIP registrations will be
done in the traditional manner, either online or via live operator. The HIP registration
numbers that have been given through the existing system up until that point will be
“validy but a person purchasing a license after the new license system is operating will

do the HIP through the license-purchase process only.
» DRY FORK STATE TRUST HUNTING LEASE... Sharp-tailed grouse hunting on
weekends and Labor Day by permit only. Permits issued by drawing at CPW office

in Steamboat Springs. Applications available from CPW, PO Box 775777, Steamboat
Springs, CO 80477, (970) 871-2855; Group applications accepted; max. 4 per group.

Successful applicants notified by mail. See cpw.state.co.us for more information.

: FURBEARER HARVEST :
I LOG INFORMATION I
| |
I SPECIES: I
| HARVEST DATE: 1
I sex: M/ F AGE: MATURE / SUB-ADULT |l
: METHOD: HUNT / TRAP / ROAD KILL :
I LOCATION: (drainage) I
| COUNTY: GMU: |
I TRAP NIGHTS: (No. of nights trap was set) i
: HUNT DAYS: (No. of days or part days hunted) :
| |
I BOBCAT HARVEST I
| LOCATION: |
| |
| SECTION: 1/4 SECTION: 1
I TOWNSHIP: RANGE: |
I OR UTM EASTING: NORTHING: 1
L N I I BN BEE DI BEE BEE DD BEE BN B BN BN B . ‘
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LICENSE FEES

RESIDENT NONRESIDENT

» Habitat Stamp (required) $10 $10
» Small Game (includes furbearers) $21 $56
» Small Game (one-day) $11 $11
» Small Game (additional day) $5 $5
» Youth Small Game (Under 18) $1.75 $1.75
» Small Game & Fishing Combo $41 n/a
» Furbearer only $21 $56
» Military (60 percent or more

disability, see details below) free n/a

» Band-tailed Pigeon Permit $5 $5

Prices include 25-cent search-and-rescue fee and 75-cent surcharge for the
Wildlife Management Public Education Fund.

LICENSE INFORMATION

WHAT YOU NEED TO BUY A LICENSE

1. Current and valid photo ID (Colorado identification must be
issued at least 6 months prior to applying as a resident, see page 2)

2. Proof of hunter education (see requirements below)

3. Habitat Stamp (see page 2)

4. For residents, proof of residency (see page 2)

HUNTER EDUCATION (SAFETY) REQUIREMENTS

Anyone born on or after January 1, 1949, must have hunter education
certification. They must carry their card when buying or applying for their
license and while hunting (unless previously veri- T —
fied — marked with a “V” as shown at the right). Tt Tirze
Hunter Education Options Include: “CiD; 000012048
1. Certification from a state-sponsored hunter SoERGHDAY 11257 A1 5
education course. The course does not have to be 385 e

a Colorado course.

NEW! 2. A one-time Colorado Hunter '

Education Apprentice Certificate is Firearm CO 123456 V
available free of charge. This is a one year O
exemption from hunter education (valid April 1-March 31). The hunter

must purchase all required licenses. The apprentice hunter must be within
voice and visual command of a mentor who is hunter education certified

and at least 18 years of age. Apprentice certification from another state is

not accepted.

NEW! 3. A Colorado online test-out option with a $25 fee is available for
hunters 50 years of age and older.

NEW! 4. A Colorado online test-out option with a $25 fee is available for U.S.
military (active-duty, veteran, reserve and National Guard). An approved
military ID must be presented at a CPW office to complete certification.

For additional information, or for a schedule of Colorado hunter
education courses, go to: cpw.state.co.us/HunterEd.

YOUTH LICENSES AND MENTOR HUNTING

People under age 18 must have a license to hunt small game. A youth small-
game license is $1, plus surcharge. All youths must meet hunter education
requirements. Those under 16 must be accompanied by a mentor while
hunting. A mentor must be 18 or older and must meet hunter education
requirements. Mentors aren't required to hunt. While hunting, youths and
mentors must be able to see and hear each other without binoculars, radios
or other aids. Youths can buy an adult license as long as they meet hunter
education requirements. At age 18, hunters must buy an adult license.

DISABLED VETERANS

Colorado residents who are disabled veterans or Purple Heart recipients can
get free lifetime combination small-game hunting and fishing licenses. You
must have served on active duty and have been honorably discharged. Proof
is required of a service-related disability rated by the Veterans Administra-
tion of at least 60 percent through disability retirement benefits or a pension
administered by the Department of Veteran Affairs or respective service
department.
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PURCHASING A LICENSE

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

1. You must carry your license when hunting and show it when requested by law
enforcement officers.

2. Annual fishing, small-game and furbearer licenses, as well as Colorado wa-
terfowl stamps and habitat stamps, are valid April 1 through March 31 of the
following year. Lifetime small-game and fishing combination licenses are valid
as long as you are a Colorado resident.

3. In order to hunt in any seasons that continue beyond March 31, 2017, (see
dates listed on pages 3-5), you must purchase a 2017 small-game license.

4. TO HUNT AND TAKE SMALL GAME, you need a small-game license, a combina-
tion small-game and fishing or a lifetime small-game and fishing license.
Small-game hunters must register with HIP before their first hunt. See details
in the “Harvest Information Program” section below.

5.TO HUNT EURASIAN COLLARED-DOVES, and other invasive species, you must
have a hunter education card. A license and Habitat Stamp will not be required
after Sept. 1,2014.

6. TO HUNT FURBEARERS, you must have a small-game or furbearer license.

7.TO HUNT COMMON SNAPPING TURTLES, you need a small-game license or
fishing license.

8.YOU CAN HUNT COYOTES without a small-game license during big-game sea-
sons if you have an unfilled big-game license for the same season and unit. You
must use the same method of take for coyotes as your big-game license allows.
Once the big-game license has been filled, hunters must purchase a small-
game license to continue hunting coyotes. If youre not hunting big game, a
small-game license is required to hunt coyotes.

9.TO HUNT WATERFOWL, you need a small-game hunting license. If you are 16
or older, you also need a Federal Migratory Bird Hunting Stamp (Duck Stamp)
and a Colorado Waterfowl Stamp.

10.TO HUNT SANDHILL CRANES, a separate federal permit number, available
through HIP, is required. Beginning in 2016, a BAND-TAILED PIGEON permit
will be required in addition to the small-game license. The permit is available
at CPW offices.

11.If a license is restricted to a specific area, you can hunt only that area.
12. Licenses are not transferable.

13. False statements made in buying a license and altering a license are illegal and
void the license.

14. Lost or destroyed licenses can be replaced by buying a new one or signing an
affidavit and paying half the license fee not to exceed $25.00. Forms are avail-
able at CPW offices, state parks, online and license agents.

HABITAT STAMPS ARE REQUIRED FOR HUNTERS

Habitat Stamps are $10 and only one is required per person per year for anyone
ages 18-64. Stamps are valid April 1-March 31.

» You must purchase a stamp before buying or applying for a preference point
or a hunting or fishing license.

» A lifetime stamp is $300.25.

» Anyone buying a one-day or additional-day license for fishing and/or small
game is exempt from purchasing the Habitat Stamp with the first two of
these licenses. The habitat fee will be assessed when a third one-day or
additional-day license is purchased for fishing or small game.

» Anyone who holds a free Lifetime Fishing License, a Veteran’s Lifetime
Combination Small-Game Hunting/Fishing License, or are approved for
the Big Game Mobility Impaired Hunting Program is exempt from the
Habitat Stamp requirement. See cpw.state.co.us/aboutus/Pages/
Accessibility.aspx.

HARVEST INFORMATION PROGRAM (HIP)

Small-game, furbearer and migratory bird hunters, including falconers, must sign
up with HIP each year before their license is valid. Write the new HIP number on
your license. To sign up with HIP, call 1-866-265-6447 (1-866-COLOHIP) or go
to www.colohip.com. You will be asked for basic information, including how
many birds you harvested the previous season and species you plan to hunt

this year. The HIP phone line and website run 24 hours daily. When Colorado
Parks and Wildlife completes the transition to the licensing system in December
2016, HIP registration will be done as part of the license purchase process from
that point forward.

Attention: Snow goose hunters

If you removed the plug from your shotgun to
hunt during the 2016 Spring Conservation Action,
remember to replace the plug before hunting in
the fall small-game and waterfowl seasons.

CHILD-SUPPORT DELINQUENCY

State law requires a Social Security number to buy a license. It is not displayed on
the license but is provided, if requested, to Child Support Enforcement authori-
ties. Hunting and fishing licenses are not issued to people suspended for non-
compliance with child support. In addition, any current licenses become invalid if
held by someone noncompliant with child support.

WEAPONS RESTRICTIONS

Colorado and federal laws prohibit people convicted of certain crimes, such as
domestic violence, from possessing weapons, even for hunting. If you've been

convicted of a crime, check with the appropriate law enforcement authority to
find out how these laws apply to you.

WALK-IN ACCESS PROGRAM (WIA)

The Walk-In Access Program provides opportunities to hunt small game,
migratory game birds and furbearers on enrolled properties. The regular season
properties are open Sept. 1 through the end of February. The late cropland season
properties are open from opening day of pheasant season through the end of
February. The extended walk-in properties are open from the start of pheasant
season through the end of March.

WIA properties allow hunting small game, furbearers and migratory game
birds but only during established season dates. Properties are closed to hunting
Gambels quail, Gunnison’s sage-grouse and greater sage-grouse.

Properties are open to foot access only. For small-game hunting, lands are
open one hour before sunrise until one hour after sunset. A WIA permit is no
longer required to hunt WIA lands, but hunters must have a small-game license.
Properties enrolled are posted with Walk-In Access signs and published in a WIA
atlas. Access is prohibited as posted when the landowner is actively harvesting
crops.

Two atlases for 2016-17 will be published. An early version will be available in
late August and includes properties open Sept. 1. A second atlas will be available
in late October and includes all properties.

RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS

The requirements to qualify as a Colorado resident to buy a hunting license:

1. You must live in Colorado at least 6 consecutive months immediately before
applying for or buying a license, and must intend to make Colorado home
(except No. 3 and No. 4 below.) The residence address you give to buy or apply
for a license must be the same as on your Colorado income tax return.

2. A valid Colorado drivers license or Colorado ID is proof of residency if issued
at least 6 months prior to buying or applying for a license. If your ID or driver’s
license was issued or renewed less than 6 months prior, you must provide
documentation that proves you have been a resident for the required 6-month
period.

3. US. military personnel and military personnel of U.S. allies on active duty in
Colorado under permanent orders and their dependents. This includes people
who were Colorado residents when they entered the military and maintain
Colorado as their home of record, and their dependents (who keep Colorado
as their home of record.) Also included are personnel of the U.S. Diplomatic
Service or diplomatic services of nations recognized by the U.S. assigned to
duty here on permanent active duty orders and their dependents. Active duty
does not include reserve status, National Guard or government contractors.

4. Full-time students enrolled and attending an accredited Colorado college,
university or trade school at least 6 months immediately before applying for
or buying a license. This includes students who are temporarily absent from
Colorado but still enrolled. Colorado residents who attend school full-time out
of state and pay nonresident tuition still qualify for a resident license.

5. Children under 18 have the same residency status as their parent, legal guard-
ian or person with whom they live the majority of the time per court order.

6. If you have a home in Colorado and another state, call (303) 297-1192 to make
sure you comply with Colorado residency requirements before obtaining a
hunting or fishing license.

7. Except as in No. 3 and No. 4 above, you lose your Colorado residency if you
apply for, buy or accept a hunting, fishing or trapping license as a resident of
another state or country; register to vote outside Colorado or get a driver’s
license with an address in another state.
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Black-tailed jackrabbit by © Pete Walker, CPW

ABERT’S SQUIRREL
SEASON: Nov. 15-Jan. 15, 2017
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 2
POSSESSION LIMIT: 4

BEAVER
SEASON: Oct. 1-April 30, 2017
BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS: Unlimited

BOBCAT
SEASON: Dec. 1-end of Feb. 2017
BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS: Unlimited
NOTE: See “Bobcat Seals,” page 6.

COMMON SNAPPING TURTLE
SEASONS: April 1-Oct. 31
BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS: Unlimited

COTTONTAIL, SNOWSHOE HARE,
WHITE-TAILED & BLACK-TAILED
JACKRABBIT
SEASON: Oct. 1-end of Feb. 2017
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 10 of each species
POSSESSION LIMIT: 20 of each species

STATEWIDE REGULATIONS

COYOTE
SEASON: Year-round
BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS: Unlimited

FOX & PINE SQUIRRELS
SEASON: Oct. 1-end of Feb. 2017
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 5 of each species
POSSESSION LIMIT: 10 of each species

MARMOT
SEASON: Aug. 10-Oct. 15
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 2
POSSESSION LIMIT: 4

PRAIRIE DOGS: WHITE-TAILED,

BLACK-TAILED, GUNNISON’S
PUBLIC LAND SEASON: June 15-end of
Feb. 2017
PRIVATE LAND SEASON: Year-round
BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS: Unlimited

PRAIRIE RATTLESNAKE
SEASON: June 15-Aug. 15
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3
POSSESSION LIMIT: 6

SMALL-GAME ANIMALS

WYOMING (RICHARDSON'S)

GROUND SQUIRREL
SEASON: Year-round
BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS: Unlimited

BADGER, MINK, PINE MARTEN,

GRAY FOX, RED FOX, SWIFT FOX,
RACCOON, RING-TAILED CAT, STRIPED
SKUNK, WESTERN SPOTTED SKUNK,
LONG-TAILED WEASEL, SHORT-TAILED

WEASEL, OPOSSUM, MUSKRAT
SEASON: Nov. 1-end of Feb. 2017
BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS: Unlimited

HUNTING WITH HAWKS & FALCONS

» REGULATIONS FOR USING HAWKS AND FALCONS TO HUNT SMALL GAME, see pages 8-9.

COTTONTAIL, SNOWSHOE HARE,
WHITE-TAILED & BLACK-TAILED

JACKRABBIT
SEASON: Sept. 1-March 31, 2017
AREA: Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 10 of each species
POSSESSION LIMIT: 20 of each species

CHUKAR
SEASON: Sept. 1-March 31, 2017
AREA: Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 4
POSSESSION LIMIT: 12

DUCKS, GEESE, MERGANSER, COOTS,
SORA, VIRGINIA RAIL, BAND-TAILED PI-

GEON, DOVES, WILSON'’S SNIPE, CROW
SEASON: Dates coincide with established
seasons
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3 singly or in the aggregate
for species with an open hunting season or
special falconry season
POSSESSION LIMIT: 9 singly or in aggregate
NOTE: Falconry bag and possession limits are
not in addition to gun bag limits.

EUROPEAN STARLING, ENGLISH

OR HOUSE SPARROW
SEASON: Year-round
AREA: Statewide
BAG, POSSESSION LIMITS: Unlimited

FOX & PINE SQUIRRELS
SEASON: Sept. 1-March 31, 2017
AREA: Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 5 of each species
POSSESSION LIMIT: 10 of each species

FURBEARERS
SEASON: Dates coincide with established seasons
AREA: Statewide
BAG, POSSESSION LIMITS: Unlimited

GROUSE: DUSKY
SEASON: Sept. 1-March 31, 2017
AREA: West of I-25
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3
POSSESSION LIMIT: 9

GROUSE: GREATER SAGE-GROUSE
SEASON: Sept. 1-Jan. 31, 2017
AREA: GMUs 2, 3, 4, 5, 10, 11, 13, 18 except that
portion of unit 18 east of Colo. 125 in Grand
County, 27, 28 except that portion of GMU 28
north and east of Grand CR 50 (Church Park
Rd.), 37,181,201, 211, 301 and 441.

DAILY BAG LIMIT: 2
POSSESSION LIMIT: 2 birds only in GMUs 6,
16,17, 161, 171; 4 birds in all other GMUs

GROUSE: MOUNTAIN SHARP-TAILED
SEASON: Sept. 1-Jan. 31, 2017
AREA: GMUs 4, 5, 12, 13, 14, 131, 211, 214,
441
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 2 birds
POSSESSION LIMIT: 4 birds

PHEASANT
SEASON: Sept. 1-March 31, 2017
AREA: Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3 birds
POSSESSION LIMIT: 9 birds

QUAIL: NORTHERN BOBWHITE,

SCALED, GAMBEL'S
SEASON 1: Sept. 1-March 31, 2017
AREA: Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 8 of each species
POSSESSION LIMIT: 24 of each species

WHITE-TAILED PTARMIGAN
SEASON: Sept. 1-March 31, 2017
AREA: Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3
POSSESSION LIMIT: 6



HABITAT RANGES

OF COMMON SMALL-GAME BIRDS

The ranges of popular Colorado birds to
hunt are shaded in orange below. The red
lines through the state indicate |-70 east
and west, 1-25 north and south and I-76
northeast from Denver.

SCALED QUAIL:
(= T T,,

‘ )

BOBWHITE QUAIL:

| s
i s e |
‘ 2

BAND-TAILED PIGEON
SEASON: Sept. 1-14
AREA: Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 2
POSSESSION LIMIT: 6
NOTE: Permit required through HIP. See
“License Requirements,” page 2, for more.
Beginning in the 2016 hunting season, a
band-tailed pigeon permit will be required in
addition to the small-game license.

CHUKAR
SEASON: Sept. 1-Nov. 30
AREA: Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 4
POSSESSION LIMIT: 12

CROW
SEASON: Nov. 1-end of Feb. 2017
AREA: Statewide
BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS: Unlimited

NOTE: Recorded or electronically amplified calls

may be used during this season.

DOVES: MOURNING, WHITE-WINGED
SEASON: Sept. 1-Nov. 9
AREA: Statewide

DAILY BAG LIMIT: 15 singly or in aggregate for

either species

POSSESSION LIMIT: 45 of either species
NOTE: See “Species Identification” on page 6 for
transit requirements. See Eurasian note on this

GREATER SAGE-GROUSE HUNTING

The areas of
the state open
to greater
sage-grouse
hunting were
recently modi-
fied based
on grouse
populations.
Units open
to greater
sage-grouse

ge-grouse by © Kathleen Tadvick, CPW

page for influence on bag limits.

DOVES: EURASIAN COLLARED
SEASON: Year-round
AREA: Statewide
DAILY BAG, POSSESSION LIMITS: Unlimited
NOTE: Eurasians must be fully feathered
while in the field and during transport, unless
counted as part of the mourning and/or white-
winged dove bag limits. See page 6.
NOTE: A license is not required, these are con-
sidered an invasive species. See page 6.

EUROPEAN STARLING,

HOUSE (ENGLISH) SPARROW
SEASON: Year-round
AREA: Statewide
BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS: Unlimited
NOTE: A license is not required, these are con-
sidered an invasive species. See page 6.

GREATER PRAIRIE-CHICKEN
SEASON: Oct. 1-Jan. 1, 2017
AREA: Only GMUs 93, 97, 98, 100, 101, 102
BAG AND POSSESSION LIMIT: 2 birds per year

GROUSE: DUSKY
SEASON: Sept. 1-Nov. 20
AREA: West of I-25
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3
POSSESSION LIMIT: 9

hunting in-
clude GMUs 2,
3,4,5,10, 11,
13, part of 18,
27, part of 28,
37,181, 201,
211,301 and
441,

Also, the
North Park sea-
son is open in
units 6, 16, 17,
161 and 171.

OPEN FOR
HUNTING

North Park season
units open Sept.
10-11

- Regular season
units open Sept.
10-16

Greater sage-
grouse habitat
range



€| MIGRATORY & OTHER BIRDS

REGULATIONS

GROUSE: GREATER SAGE-GROUSE
SEASON 1: Sept. 10-11
AREA: Only GMUs 6, 16, 17, 161, 171
(North Park)
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 2
POSSESSION LIMIT: 2

SEASON 2: Sept. 10-16
AREA: GMUs 2, 3, 4, 5, 10, 11, 13, 18 except east

of Colo. 125 in Grand County, 27, 28 except north

and east of Grand CR 50 (Church Park Rd.), 37,
181,201, 211, 301 and 441.

DAILY BAG LIMIT: 2

POSSESSION LIMIT: 4

See map, page 4.

GROUSE: MOUNTAIN SHARP-TAILED
SEASON: Sept. 1-18
AREA: Only GMUs 4, 5, 12, 13, 14, 131, 211,
214, 441
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 2
POSSESSION LIMIT: 4

PHEASANT

SEASON 1: Nov. 12-Jan. 31, 2017
AREA: East of I-25

SEASON 2: Nov. 12-Jan. 1, 2017
AREA: West of I-25

DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3 cocks
POSSESSION LIMIT: 9 cocks

COLORADO DOVE IDENTIFICATION

There are three types
of doves in Colorado.

Knowing how to identify each
is important to avoid violating
the law while hunting.
White-winged doves are not
common in Colorado and live
mostly along the Front Range.
The white-winged dove is
pioneering new habitats
north of its historic range in
the southwest U.S. Eurasian
collared-doves are sporadic
throughout the state. Itis an
exotic introduced into the
United States and is consid-
ered an invasive species.

DOVE BANDING
Mourning doves are banded in
Colorado and other states as
part of a program to monitor
their status. Hunters should
report banded mourning doves
to the USGS Bird Banding Lab,
www.reportband.gov
or call 1-800-327-BAND.

"o Wayne Lewis, CPW

| © Wayne Lewis, CPW.

George Andrejko,
riz. Game & Fish

W

QUAIL: NORTHERN BOBWHITE,
SCALED, GAMBEL'S

SEASON 1: Nov. 12-Jan. 1, 2017
AREA: East of I-25 and north of I-70 from 1-25
east to Byers and Hwy. 36 from Byers to Kansas.

SEASON 2: Nov. 12-Jan. 1, 2017

AREA: West of I-25 except those areas west of
1-25 in Pueblo, Fremont, Huerfano and Las
Animas counties.

SEASON 3: Nov. 12-Jan. 31, 2017

AREA: East of I-25 and south of I-70 from I-25
to Byers and Hwy. 36 from Byers to Kansas, and
parts of the following counties that are west of
I-25: Pueblo, Fremont, Huerfano, Las Animas

DAILY BAG LIMIT: 8 of each species
POSSESSION LIMIT: 24 of each species

SANDHILL CRANE

SEASON: Oct. 1-Nov. 27

AREA: East of the Continental Divide except
North Park (Jackson County) and San Luis
Valley.

DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3

POSSESSION LIMIT: 9

NOTE: Permit required through HIP. See “License
Requirements,” page 2, for more information.

MOURNING DOVE

» 12 inches long from
tip of beak to end of tail

» Grayish-brown color
» Long, pointed tail

EURASIAN COLLARED-DOVE

» 15 inches from tip of beak
to end of tail

» Larger, heavier than
mourning dove

» Dark grayish-brown
» Long, squared tail

WHITE-WINGED DOVE

» Slightly larger than
mourning dove

» Gray-brown color

» Long, moderately
rounded tail

» Rapid wing beat, erratic
flight path

» Soft call, “cooAHoo,”
followed by several coos

» Thin black band on neck
with white upper border

» Gray belly and undertail
coverts with black on tail

» Coarse, rapid, three-part
cooing, “c0o-c00-coo,’
middle coo is longest

» White bar on

upper wing surface
» Soft call,“hoohoo
hoohoo,” with the
last note descending

SORA AND VIRGINIA RAIL

SEASON: Sept. 1-Nov. 9

AREA: Statewide

DAILY BAG LIMIT: 25 singly or aggregate
POSSESSION LIMIT: 75 singly or aggregate

TEAL

SEASON: Sept. 10-18

AREAS: In Lake and Chaffee counties and all
areas east of [-25.

DAILY BAG LIMIT: 6

POSSESSION LIMIT: 18

WHITE-TAILED PTARMIGAN

SEASON 1: Sept. 10-Oct. 2

AREA: Statewide except GMUs 44, 45, 53, 54,
66, 67, 68, 70, 71, 74-81, 444, 751

SEASON 2: Sept. 10-Nov. 20

AREA: Only GMUs 44, 45, 53, 54, 66, 67, 68, 70,
71, 74-81, 444, 751

DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3

POSSESSION LIMIT: 6

WILSON’S SNIPE

SEASON: Sept. 1-Dec. 16
AREA: Statewide

DAILY BAG LIMIT: 8
POSSESSION LIMIT: 24

\\\\&
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KNOW BEFORE YOU GO

SMALL-GAME SURVEYS

Colorado Parks and Wildlife conducts several small-game harvest surveys
annually to estimate harvest, hunter numbers and recreation days, in
addition to assessing satisfaction and crowding. In many cases, surveys
represent the primary means of monitoring populations of several spe-
cies, especially those difficult to survey by observation. Harvest surveys
also are valuable to hunters wanting to learn more about small game in
Colorado.

Past surveys are available on the CPW website at cpw.state.co.us/thing-
stodo/Pages/SmallGameStatistics.aspx and updated reports are available
after annual surveys conclude. Hunters are selected randomly to partici-
pate. Small-game surveys are by telephone or by e-mail. If contacted, your
participation is not required, but responding — even if you did not hunt
or harvest an animal — helps CPW manage small game.

SPECIES IDENTIFICATION

A fully feathered wing or head must be attached to all birds, except
turkeys, doves and band-tailed pigeons, in transit to hunter’s home or
commercial processor. For pheasants, a foot with visible spur can be
substituted. NOTE: While in the field or during transport, all dressed (not
fully feathered) doves count against the daily bag and possession limit for
mourning and white-winged doves during the Sept. 1-Nov. 9 dove season.
Eurasian collared-doves must be fully feathered while in the field or during
transport at all other times.

HUNTING INVASIVE SPECIES

As of Sept. 1, 2014, Eurasian collared-doves, European starlings and house
(English) sparrows are considered invasive species in Colorado. Because
of this designation, these species may be hunted year-round. No license or
Habitat Stamp is required to hunt invasive species, however hunters must
have and carry with them a hunter education card.

Hunters may harvest any number of each of these species and by any
method of take approved for big- or small-game hunting. These spe-
cies may be taken at night with the use of artificial light and night vision
equipment.

Commercial hunting of invasive species is prohibited, as is receiving or
attempting to receive compensation by hunting these species.

Eurasian collared-doves must remain fully feathered while in the field
or during transport, except when counted as part of the mourning or
white-winged dove bag and possession limit during the dove season that
runs from Sept. 1-Nov. 9.

BOBCAT SEALS

All bobcats or their pelts must be personally presented by the hunter for
inspection and sealing by CPW within 30 days after take or within five
days after the season closes, whichever is sooner. Any bobcat hide/pelt
without a seal within five days after the season closes is illegal and be-
comes the property of the state. Seals will be placed only on bobcats taken
legally in Colorado. Inspection and sealing is free, and seals must stay at-
tached to hide until processed. Bobcat hides/pelts cannot be transported,
shipped or otherwise taken from Colorado until inspected and sealed. It
is illegal to buy, sell, trade or barter an untanned bobcat hide/pelt without
a seal. One seal per hide/pelt. Contact a nearby CPW office for details.

NONTOXIC SHOT

1. It is illegal to use or have toxic (lead) shot, either in shotshells or as
loose shot for muzzleloading, while taking or attempting to take ducks,
geese or coots in Colorado. This includes national wildlife refuges open
to hunting. Toxic shot, either in shotshells or as loose shot for muzzle-
loading, cannot be in a hunter’s gun, on his/her person or near a hunter
taking or attempting to take waterfowl. Store lead shot in your vehicle.
You can store lead shot elsewhere if it’s not readily accessible while
hunting waterfowl.

2. Nontoxic shot is required in commercial wildlife parks, field trials and
dog-training while hunting captive-reared mallards.

3. Nontoxic shot is any type approved by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Ser-
vice. Go to: /www.fws.gov/birds/bird-enthusiasts/hunting/nontoxic.php.
4.1t is illegal to have or use nontoxic shot larger than size T to hunt ducks,

geese or coots.

HUNTING TERMS AND DEFINITIONS

AGGREGATE: total number of animals allowed in a bag limit
regardless of species.

CANADA LYNX RECOVERY AREA: in San Juan and Rio Grande
national forests, and associated land above 9,000 feet, west from
a north-south line passing through Del Norte and east from a
north-south line passing through Dolores; and from New Mexico
north to the Gunnison basin, including Taylor Park east to the
Collegiate Range. The recovery area includes Game Management
Units 55, 65-68, 70, 71, 74-81, 551, 681, 711 and 751.

CROSSBOW: bow fired from the shoulder, attached perpendicu-
larly to its stock. Has mechanical device to hold string cocked.

DAILY BAG LIMIT: maximum number of wildlife you can take in a
day, including any consumed or donated during day taken.

FALCONRY (OR HAWKING): hunting with a trained raptor.

FURBEARERS: mink, pine marten, badger, red fox, gray fox, swift
fox, striped skunk, western spotted skunk, beaver, muskrat,
long-tailed weasel, short-tailed weasel, coyote, bobcat, opossum,
ring-tailed cat, raccoon.

HAND-HELD BOW: long bow or compound bow with a manually
held or drawn string.

HANDGUN: pistol, revolver, without shoulder stock or attachment.

LIKE LICENSE: license to take the same wildlife in same manner at
same time.

LIVE TRAPS: “Traps specifically designed not to kill” meaning pad-
ded steel jawed leghold traps, box traps and cage traps.

MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS: migratory birds included in conven-
tions between U.S. and foreign countries to protect birds for
which seasons are offered. They are: waterfowl (ducks, including
mergansers, and geese, including brant), mourning and white-
winged doves, band-tailed pigeons, sandhill cranes, American
coots, sora, Virginia rail, Wilson’ snipe, crows.

PELLET GUN: handgun or rifle powered by compressed air or gas
that is .177 caliber or larger and fires pellets.

PELT: skin of a furbearer with hair intact.

POSSESSION LIMIT: maximum number of wildlife you can have at
any time, including in the field, in transport, at home or in storage.

RELOCATION: moving live wildlife to a site not contiguous to the
capture site.

RIFLE: firearm fired from the shoulder with a rifled bore, 16-inch
or longer barrel, at least 26 inches in overall length.

SHOTGUN: firearm fired from the shoulder with a smooth bore, at
least an 18-inch barrel and at least 26 inches in overall length.

SLINGSHOT: hand-held device manually drawn or held with
elastic band attached to arms or attachment points for propelling
stones or metal projectiles. Wrist-brace attachments and non-
elastic projectile pouches are normal parts of a slingshot.

SMALL-GAME BIRDS: grouse, ptarmigan, pheasant, quail, par-
tridge, greater prairie-chicken, chukar.

SMALL-GAME MAMMALS: cottontail rabbit, snowshoe hare, jack-
rabbit, marmot, fox squirrel, pine squirrel, Abert’s squirrel, prairie
dog, Wyoming (Richardson’s) ground squirrel.

OTHER SMALL GAME: prairie rattlesnake, common snapping
turtle.

TRAPPING: taking or attempting to take wildlife with a trap.
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LEGAL HUNTING HOURS

Legal times to hunt small game are one-half hour before sunrise to sunset. An
exception is made for furbearers, which can be hunted from one-half hour before
sunrise to one-half hour after sunset.

Raccoons, coyotes, bobcats, striped skunks, beavers and red, gray and swift
foxes can be hunted at night. See “Furbearers: Legal Hunting Methods” on page 8
for details.

The sunrise/sunset chart below lists time in Denver. Subtract 1 minute from
opening and closing time for each 12 1/2 miles east of Denver. Add 1 minute
for each 12 1/2 miles west of Denver. (These changes assume that each degree of
longitude equals 50 miles and a change of 1 degree of longitude equals a 4-minute
change in sunrise and sunset times.)

2016 SUNRISE/SUNSET TABLE (penver)
SEPT. OCT. NOV. DEC. JAN. 2017
RISE SET RISE SET RISE SET RISE SET RISE SET
A.M. PM. A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M. AM. PM. A.M. PM.
DAY (DST) (DST)
1 6:29 7:30 6:57 6:41 7:29 5:57 7:02 4:36 7:21 447
2 6:29 7:29 6:58 6:40 7:30 5:56 7:03 4:36 7:21 447
3 6:30 7:27 6:59 6:38 7:31 _5:55 7:04 4:36 7:21  4:48
4 6:31 7:25 7:00 6:37 7:33 5:54 7:05 4:35 7:21 449
5 6:32 7:24 7:01 6:35 7:34 5:53 7:06 4:35 7:21 _4:50
6 633 722  7:02 633 635 452 onds 7:07 435 721 451
7 6:34 7:21 7:03 6:32 6:364:51 7:08 4:35 7:21 _4:52
8 6:35 7:19 7:04 6:30 6:37 4:50 7:09 4:35 7:21 _4:53
9 6:36 7:17 7:05 6:29 6:38 4:49 7:10 _4:35 7:21 _4:54
10 637 7:16 7:06 6:27 6:39 4:48 7:10 4:36 7:21 455
11 6:38 7:14 7:07 6:26 6:41 4:47 7:11 _4:36 7:20 4:56
12 6:39 7:12 7:08 6:24 6:42 4:46 7:12  4:36 7:20 4:57
13 6140 7:11 7:09 6:23 6:43  4:45 7:13  4:36 7:20 4:58
14 641 7:09 7:10 _6:21 6:44 4:45 7:13 _4:36 7:20 _4:59
15  6:42 7.08 7:11__6:20 6:45 4:44 7:14 4:37 7:19 5:00
16 6142 7:06 7:12 _6:18 6:46 4:43 7:15  4:37 7:19 5:01
17 643 7:04 713 6:17 6:47 4:42 7:15  4:37 7:18 5:03
18 6:44 7:03 7:14 6:15 6:48 4:42 7:16 4:38 7:18 5:04
19 645 7:.01 7:15 _6:14 6:50 4:41 7:17 _4:38 7:18 5:05
20 6146 6:59 7:16 _6:13 6:51 4:40 7:17 _4:39 7:17__5:06
21 6:47 6:58 717 6:11 6:52 4:40 7:18 4:39 7:16 5:07
22 648 6:56 7:18 6:10 6:53 4:39 7:18  4:40 7:15 5:08
23 649 6:54 7:19 6:09 6:54 4:39 7:19 4:40 7:15 5:09
24  6:50 6:53 7:20 6:07 6:55 4:38 7:19 441 7:14 5:11
25 6:51 6:51 7:21 6:06 6:56 4:38 7:19 441 7:13 5:12
26 652 6:49 7:22 6:05 6:57 4:37 7:20 4:42 7:13 5:13
27 653 6:48 7:24 6:03 6:58 4:37 7:20 443 712 5:14
28 654 646 7:25 6:02 6:59 4:37 7:20 4:43 711 5:15
29 6:55 645 7:26 _6:01 7:00 4:36 721 444 710 5:17
30 656 643 7:27 6:00 7:01 4:35 7:21 444 7:09 5:18
31 7:28 5:59 7:22 445 7:08 5:19
DST - Daylight Saving Time Source: www.usno.navy.mil
TIME ADJUSTMENT FOR OTHER COLORADO CITIES
This table reflects the minutes ~ Alamosa +3  GrJunction +13
to add/subtract from the chart BuenaVista  +5 Gunnison +7
above for select towns. These ~ Burlington  -10  LalJunta -6
are approximate, useonlyas ~ Craig +9 Lamar -9
a general reference. Consulta ~ Durango +11  Sterling 6
state map for more details. Fort Morgan -4 Walden +5

ATTENTION HUNTERS!

CPW has released Canada lynx in southwest Colorado, which
may be found elsewhere in the state. If you see one, please report
it to a CPW office. Bobcat hunters should make sure they don’t
shoot a lynx. Lynx differ from bobcats in several ways:
« THE TIP OF A LYNX TAIL is black all around. On a bobcat,
the underside of the tip of its tail is white.

« THE EARTUFTS of lynx are more than 1 inch long.
« THE BELLY FUR on a lynx is tawny colored. On a bobcat,
it is white.

o LYNX TRACKS are 3 1/2 to 4 1/2 inches wide. Bobcat
tracks are smaller than 2 1/2 inches wide.

SAFE HANDLING OF GAME MEAT

Concern has grown about diseases affecting wild animals that could
potentially make humans sick. Most of the time, properly handled
and prepared game meat poses no greater risk than domestic meat of
causing disease in humans.

Hunters are encouraged to contact their local public health depart-
ment or CPW office for information on wildlife diseases that may be
present where they plan to hunt.

Public health officials recommend the following precautions when
handling and preparing game meat:

1. Do not handle animals that are obviously sick or found dead. Re-
port sick or dead animals you find to a CPW office.

2. Keep game cool, clean and dry.

3. Do not eat, drink or smoke while dressing game.

4. Use disposable gloves when cleaning game.

5. Wash your hands with soap and water or use alcohol wipes after
dressing game.

6. Clean all tools and surfaces immediately afterward. Use hot soapy
water, then disinfect with a 10 percent chlorine bleach solution.

7. Cook game meat to an internal temperature of at least 165° F to kill
disease organisms and parasites. Juices from adequately cooked
game meat should be clear.

8. Do not eat any raw portions of wild game.

9. Do not feed raw wild game to domestic pets.

DONATING WILDLIFE

You can donate edible parts of wildlife to a like-license holder any-
where or to anyone at the recipient’s home. Bag and possession limits
apply to donors and recipients and birds must be properly tagged. See
“Migratory Bird Transporting, Shipping” on page 9.

WILDLIFE CAUSING DAMAGE
Colorado law allows landowners to protect private property from most
wildlife damage. For information, call (303) 297-1192.
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GENERAL HUNTING LAWS

1. Colorado Parks and Wildlife can post firing
lines at its properties.

2. It is illegal to kill, capture, injure or harass
wildlife from an aircraft or motor vehicle. It
is also illegal to operate aircraft with intent to
injure, harass, drive or rally wildlife. It is illegal
to discharge a firearm or release an arrow from
an aircraft or motor vehicle.

3.1t is illegal to discharge a firearm or release
an arrow from, on, or across a public road.
Hunting with rifles, handguns, shotguns firing
a single slug and archery equipment prohibited
within 50 feet on each side of the center line of
any public road. On a divided road, the pro-
hibition includes the median, and the 50-foot
requirement is measured from the center line of
both roads.

4.1t is illegal to carry or have a firearm, except
a pistol or revolver, in or on a motor vehicle
unless the chamber is unloaded. While using
artificial light from a vehicle, it is illegal to have
a firearm with cartridges in the chamber or
magazine, or possess a strung bow unless the
bow is cased.

5. You must take

edible parts of
CALIBER game meat home
RESTRICTION to eat or provide

. it for human
|t.IS illegal to hunt game consumption. Do
birds, small-game mammals not leave wounded
or furbearers with a centerfire  wildlife (or pos-

rifle larger than .23 caliber sibly wounded
in regular rifle deer and elk wildlife) without
seasons west of I-25, unless attempting to

you have an unfilled deeror ~ track and kill i}'
elk license for the season you 6',%’1?6?51095’
are hunting. A small-game wudule 15 evidence

. ) . you hunted.
license is required. 7. Small-game and

migratory bird

hunters are not
required to wear solid daylight, fluorescent
orange clothes. However, CPW encourages you
to wear fluorescent orange clothes for safety.

8. You must stop at CPW check stations when
told to do so.

9. Violations of Colorado wildlife laws carry
point values. You can face suspension of license
privileges for up to five years or more if you ac-
cumulate 20 or more points in five years.

10. It is illegal to promote, conduct, offer to conduct
or participate in a competitive event that involves
killing small game or furbearers for which there
is no bag and possession limit (including coyotes
and prairie dogs). Contests are allowed if no
more than 5 of each species are killed by each
participant during the event. Contests of marked
or tagged small game and game birds for money
or valuable prizes also are illegal. Tokens of recog-
nition without significant monetary value are not
considered valuable prizes. This does not apply to
wildlife parks and field trials licensed by CPW.

11. During deer, elk, pronghorn and bear seasons,
firearms (except handguns) must be unloaded
in the chamber and magazine when carried
on an off-highway vehicle (OHV). Firearms
(except handguns) and bows carried on an
OHYV must be fully enclosed in a hard or soft
case. Scabbards or cases with open ends or sides
are prohibited. This regulation does not apply to
landowners or their agents carrying a firearm on
an OHYV for the purpose of taking depredating
wildlife on property owned or leased %y them.

FOR GAME MAMMALS

1. Rifles or handguns.

2. Shotguns cannot be larger than 10 gauge.
Shotguns cannot be capable of holding more
than 3 shells in magazine and chamber
combined.

3. Hand-held bows and crossbows.

4. Pellet guns and slingshots.

5. Hawking.

FOR GAME BIRDS (EXCEPT MIGRATORY BIRDS)

1. Rifles or handguns allowed for dusky grouse
and ptarmigan.

2. Shotguns cannot be larger than 10 gauge
not firing a single slug. Shotguns cannot be
capable of holding more than 3 shells in maga-
zine and chamber combined.

3. Hand-held bows and crossbows.

4. Pellet guns and slingshots allowed for dusky
grouse and ptarmigan.

5. Hawking.

FOR FURBEARERS

1. Any rifle, handgun, shotgun, handheld bow
or crossbow or live traps — limited to cage or
box traps.

2. Use of bait. It must be made solely of plants
or animals. Bait cannot contain metal, glass,
porcelain, plastic, cardboard or paper. Wild-
life used as bait can be carcasses or parts of
legally taken furbearers, carp, shad, white and
longnose suckers, and inedible parts of legally
obtained game mammals, birds or game fish.

3. Use of electronic calls.

. You must check traps in person, at least daily.
In lynx recovery areas, or where lynx are, you
must check traps every 24 hours. More on
lynx: cpw.state.co.us/learn/Pages/SOC-LynxRe-
search.aspx.

5. Any accidentally captured live animals for

which trapping season is open must be killed or
released immediately upon checking the trap.

6. If wildlife (except Canada lynx, see No. 7 in
this list) is accidentally captured alive when
trapping season is closed or is illegal for
that species, you must release the animal
immediately. You cannot kill it. If you find
a dead animal in your trap, you must bring
its carcass to a CPW officer or office within
5 days. Failing to do so is evidence of illegal
possession of wildlife. Trappers who comply
will not be charged with illegal possession.

»

7.If you accidentally capture a Canada lynx

but it’s not injured, you must release it im-
mediately and report it to CPW within 24
hours. If a lynx is accidentally injured, but
not in your possession, you must report it to
CPW within 24 hours. If you capture a lynx
accidentally and injure it, take the lynx to
CPW or licensed veterinarian and report it
to CPW within 24 hours. If you accidentally
kill a lynx, you must report it to CPW within
24 hours and take the carcass to CPW within
3 days after the report. Failing to follow these
rules is considered unlawful take and posses-
sion. You will not be charged if you comply
with these requirements or use the plan’s best
management practices to avoid accidentally
taking a lynx. Guidelines available on the
CPW website, search for “Avoid Lynx Take”

. On private land, artificial light is allowed

at night to hunt beavers, raccoons, coyotes,
bobcats, striped skunks and red, gray or swift
foxes with permission of landowner or agent.

. On public land, artificial light is allowed at

night with permit from local district or area

wildlife manager, to hunt raccoons, coyotes,

bobcats, striped skunks, beavers and red, gray
or swift foxes. Permits are valid for time and
place specified.

a. Permits are not valid 24 hours before
or during deer, elk or pronghorn rifle
seasons, nor opening weekend of grouse,
pheasant, quail and waterfowl seasons.

b. It is illegal to hunt with a light permanently
attached to a vehicle or to project light
from inside a vehicle.

c. It is illegal to take furbearers within 500
yards of a dwelling, building, campground
or other structure, or in areas that jeopar-
dize human safety.

d. You must carry and show the permit while
hunting if requested by a law enforcement
officer.

e. CPW can deny a permit for management
purposes.

f. Night-hunting permits are not issued for
bobcat on public land in Canada lynx re-
covery areas or where lynx are. If a bobcat
hunter kills a Canada lynx during bobcat
hunting season, CPW will not issue any
more night-hunting permits for bobcat
for the rest of the calendar year in the re-
covery areas or where the lynx was killed.
CPW also will revoke all night-hunting
permits previously issued for bobcats.

ILLEGAL SMALL-GAME HUNTING METHODS:

(INCLUDES FURBEARERS)

1. The use of toxicants, drugs, explosives, stupe-
fying substances or leghold traps, instant kill
body-gripping design traps or snares to hunt,
kill, capture, injure or harass wildlife are il-
legal, except with permits issued by CPW or
the Colorado Department of Agriculture.

2. Use of electronic calls is not allowed to hunt
small game.
(Electronic calls are legal to hunt furbearers.)

3. Use of any artificial light as an aid in hunting
wildlife, except as in “Legal Hunting Meth-
ods,” (above) is not allowed.

4. Use of bait to hunt small-game mammals,

game birds and migratory birds is not allowed.

5. Use of visual lures, fresh meat baits, fish oil

and anise oil lures to attract felids in lynx re-
covery areas or where lynx are is not allowed.

6. Except when legally placed on private

property by permit, it is illegal to set traps
or snares within 50 feet of either side of the
travelled part of state or federal highways or
county roads.

7.1t is illegal to destroy or damage beaver or

muskrat houses, dens or dams, except to main-
tain water flow or prevent property damage.
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AIDS IN HUNTING SMALL GAME

1. Dogs are allowed to hunt small game, waterfowl
and furbearers but only to pursue, bring to bay,
retrieve, flush or point. It is illegal to use dogs to
hunt cottontail rabbits, snowshoe hares and tree
squirrels on land where any regular deer, elk,
pronghorn or moose season is in progress.

2. Artificial decoys are permitted.

3. European ferrets are permitted for hawking.
Ferrets must be neutered, tattooed on left
inguinal area and dyed along one-fourth of their
body for easy field identification.

4. Mechanical devices designed to call wildlife
are allowed. Electronic calls can be used to hunt
furbearers.

5. You can hunt migratory game birds over stand-
ing crops or feed used in the course of agri-
cultural planting, harvesting or other normal
agricultural practices.

GENERAL HUNTING LAWS
FOR HAWKING & FALCONRY

1. Apprentices cannot hunt with more than one
raptor at a time.

2. A falconry license is required for residents.
3. Nonresident falconers must buy either:

a. A nonresident annual falconry license from
CPW?’s Special Licensing section or,

b. A nonresident small-game license and have
proof that they possess a valid falconry license
in their home state.

4. Hunter education certificate is not necessary
with a resident 3-year falconry license or a
nonresident annual raptor license. State and
federal Migratory Bird Hunting Stamps are

required for hunting migratory waterfowl.
5. Falconers must comply with HIP.
6. Firearms prohibited while hawking.
7. Hawking prohibited from a public road.

8. Hawking on private property is illegal without
permission from owner or person in charge.

9. Nonresidents bringing birds into the state must
obtain an import permit at least 30 days in advance
from Special Licensing. The permit is free, but a
current health certificate issued within 30 days of
the proposed entry from state of origin is required.

10. Import permit applications and permits are
available on the CPW website.

MIGRATORY BIRD HUNTING LAWS

LEGAL HUNTING METHODS

1. Shotguns cannot be larger than 10 gauge. They can-
not be capable of holding more than three shells in
magazine and chamber combined. They must be fired
from the shoulder. To reduce capacity of shotguns
that hold more than three shells in the chamber and
magazine combined, the magazine must be cut off,
altered or plugged with a one-piece filler that cannot
be removed unless the gun is disassembled. Slugs are
illegal to hunt waterfowl.

2. Hand-held bows are allowed only if the arrow or
bowstring is not held or drawn mechanically. It is
illegal to use bows on firing lines designated by the
Parks and Wildlife Commission.

3. It is legal to hunt waterfowl in the open, from a blind
or other concealed place except a sink box. When
camouflaged with vegetation from agricultural crops,
camouflaging cannot result in exposing, depositing,
distributing or scattering grain or other feed.

4. a. It is illegal to take migratory birds and waterfowl
by the aid of baiting, or on or over any baited area,
if you know or reasonably should know the area is
baited. It is illegal to place or direct placement of
bait on or next to an area to cause, induce or allow
anyone to take or attempt to take migratory birds
with the help of bait or over a baited area.

b. Baiting means directly or indirectly placing,
exposing, distributing or scattering salt, grain or
other feed as an attraction for migratory game
birds to, on or over where hunters are trying to
hunt.

c. It is legal to take migratory birds, including wa-
terfowl, coots and cranes, on or over the following
lands not otherwise baited: standing or flooded
standing crops; standing flooded or manipulated
natural vegetation; flooded harvested crop lands;
where seeds or grains were scattered solely from
normal agricultural planting, harvesting, post-
harvest manipulation or normal soil stabilization
practice; flooded, standing agricultural crops where
grain is inadvertently scattered solely by a hunter
entering or exiting an area, placing decoys or
retrieving downed birds.

d. It is legal to take migratory birds, except water-
fowl, coots and cranes, on or over the following
lands not otherwise baited: where grain or other
feed is distributed or scattered solely from manipu-
lation of agricultural crops or other feed, or solely
from normal agricultural operations.

5. Hunting is allowed from vessels (except sink boxes)

with motors or sails if motor is off, and/or sails furled
and forward movement has stopped. Hunting is
allowed from drifting vessels and those propelled

by hand. Motorized vessels are only allowed to pick
up dead or injured birds, or to put out and retrieve
decoys.

6. Hawking or falconry permitted.

7. Dogs, artificial decoys, duck calls or goose calls are
legal, except recorded or electronically amplified
calls or sounds. Recorded or electronically amplified
calls are legal to hunt common crows.

GENERAL HUNTING LAWS

In Colorado, the Pacific Flyway is west of the Conti-

nental Divide, and the Central Flyway is east of the

Continental Divide. Federal and state laws apply.

1. The Colorado Parks and Wildlife Commission sets
waterfowl seasons in March. See the 2016 Waterfowl
brochure, available in September.

2. You cannot hunt migratory birds on a federal reser-
vation, federal land set aside as a wildlife reservation,
breeding ground or refuge or federal land closed by
the Migratory Bird Treaty Act, except as permitted.

3. It is illegal to hunt migratory birds from, on or across
a highway, road, trail, public or private right-of-way
in national wildlife refuges. Stricter regulations
may apply on wildlife refuges. Contact: Alamosa
and Monte Vista NWR, (719) 589-4021; Browns
Park NWR, (970) 365-3613; Arapaho NWR, (970)
723-8202.

4. In the areas bounded on north by Wyoming; east and
south by I-76, Hwy. 71, U.S. 36 and I-70; and west by
the Continental Divide and Larimer-Jackson county
line; and in Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Mesa, Otero and
Prowers counties:

a. It’s illegal to hunt waterfowl within 50 yards on
either side of center line of a public road.

b. It is illegal to hunt waterfowl within 150 yards of a
dwelling, including directly above it, without first
obtaining permission from owner, occupant or
person in charge of the dwelling.

5. The most restrictive state or federal laws apply. See
www.fws.gov/hunting/whatres.html for more.

6. You cannot kill, have, transport, import or export
migratory birds, their parts, nests or eggs that were
taken, bought, sold, transported, possessed or
exported illegally.

7.1t is illegal to have or transport live migratory birds
or waterfowl, including wounded birds. You must
kill migratory birds immediately after you injure

them, and they become part of your bag limit.

8. You don't need a permit to have and transport plumage
or skins of legally taken migratory birds for your use.

9. You don’t need a permit to have, dispose and
transport feathers from wild ducks and wild geese
legally killed, or from birds seized and condemned
by wildlife authorities. It is legal to use feathers
to make fishing flies, bed pillows, mattresses and
similar commercial items, except for millinery or
ornamental use.

10. It is illegal to buy, sell, barter or offer to buy or sell
feathers or mounted specimens of migratory birds.

11. It is illegal to receive or have someone else’s migra-
tory birds unless they are tagged as required.

12. SANDHILL CRANE HUNTERS: Whooping cranes
are federally endangered and illegal to hunt. They
may be in Colorado during sandhill crane season.

TRANSPORTING, SHIPPING

You must tag migratory birds or packages of birds
before transporting them, including to a taxidermist

or someone else for picking, cleaning, processing and
storage. You must sign the tag and include your address,
number and species of birds, harvest date and license
number. You don’t need to tag birds you have at home.
You can ship migratory birds only if you mark the pack-
age outside with name and address of sender, name and
address of recipient, and number of birds by species.

IMPORTING (HARVESTED BIRDS)

In a week (beginning on Sunday), you cannot import
more than 25 doves and 10 pigeons from a foreign
country. You also cannot import more than 10 ducks
and 5 geese from a foreign country, except Canada and
Mexico. Doves and waterfowl imported from Canada
and Mexico cannot exceed Canadian and Mexican
export limits. Export limits vary among provinces and
states. One fully feathered wing must stay attached to
migratory game birds transported between ports of
entry and a person’s home or game-bird facility. It is
illegal to import someone else’s migratory game birds.

PRESERVATION FACILITIES

It is illegal to receive or have someone else’s migratory
birds to pick, clean, freeze, process, store or ship with-
out records showing number of each species, date birds
were received, date birds were disposed, name and
address of person receiving the birds. You must keep
records for 1 year after the last entry on them. Officers
authorized to enforce this regulation can enter facilities
at reasonable hours to inspect records and premises.
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LAND-USE RULES

ANDRICK PONDS SWA, MORGAN CO.

1. Public access is limited to 3 a.m.-9 p.m. Sat., Sun., Wed. and
legal holidays only. Access is by foot only, through desig-
nated parking areas. Night hunting is prohibited.

2. Hunting reservations required, see “Reservation Proce-
dures” (at right) for details. Maximum 4 hunters per area
at any time. Hunters must follow check-in and check-out
procedures as posted.

Hunters with reservations may not check in until 3 a.m.
before the hunt, and may only hunt the area specified on the
reservation or for which they check into.

Reservations valid until sunrise. Hunters may check in on
a first-come, first-served basis after a hunter with a reserva-
tion checks out, or after sunrise, if there is no check-in card
in the check station.

From Sept. 1 through end of goose season, maximum of
three reservations per hunter each year.

3. From the Thurs. before Sept. 1 through the end of spring
turkey season, scouting permitted from 10 a.m.-2 p.m. on
Thurs. that are not open to hunting in and prior to water-
fowl and turkey seasons. All people scouting must check in
and out at check station. Firearms, dogs not allowed during
scouting.

4. From Sept. 1-end of regular dark goose season, only open for
migratory bird hunting within designated hunting areas.

5. No hunting on Clark Lake.

6. Mandatory check in and check out as posted.

ATWOOD STL, LOGAN CO.

1. Open to public Sept. 1-May 31.

2. Hunting only on Sat., Sun., Wed., Labor Day, Columbus Day
(observed), Veterans Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas
Day, New Year’s Day, Martin Luther King Jr. Day and
Presidents Day.

3. Reservations are required for small-game and waterfowl
hunting. See “Reservation Procedures” (this page) for details.
Hunters may hunt only area specified on reservation. Man-
datory check in and check out as posted.

4. Three reservations may be issued per day on the up-river
west side of Hwy. 63; two for the general public; one for
hunters with mobility impairments. No more than four
people per reservation.

5. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited from first day of
teal season through dark goose season.

ATWOOD SWA, LOGAN CO.

1. Public access by foot only, through designated parking.

2. No reservations needed for small-game or waterfowl hunt-
ing.

3. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited from first day of
teal season through dark goose season.

BANNER LAKES SWA, WELD CO.

1. Access by foot only, through designated parking areas.

2. Open for waterfowl hunting only from the first day of regu-
lar waterfowl season to the day before opening of pheasant
season. Hunting only on Sat., Sun., Mon. and legal holidays.
a. Reservations available for waterfowl, not required. See

“Reservation Procedures” (this page) for details. Hunters
can only hunt the area specified on the reservation.
Maximum 4 hunters per reservation.

b. Reservations valid all of reserved day until hunter with
reservation checks out. Hunters may check in on first-
come, first-served basis after a hunter with a reservation
checks out. If a reserved area is not claimed by legal
sunrise, or if no reservation exists for a hunt area, hunters

NOTE: This list includes special regulations for small-game hunters. It is not a complete list of land regula-
tions for these properties. See the 2016 State Recreational Lands brochure for complete regulations.

may check in after midnight the morning before the
hunt.

3. Waterfowl hunters must follow check-in and check-out
procedures as posted.

4. From the Thurs. before Sept. 1 through the end of dark
goose season, scouting permitted from 10 a.m.-2 p.m. on
Thurs. that are not open to hunting in and prior to water-
fowl seasons. Must have reservation confirmation number
or letter from CPW. All people must check in and out at
check station. Firearms, dogs not allowed during scouting.

BRAVO STL, LOGAN CO.

1. Access from designated parking at Bravo SWA only.

2. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited from first day of
teal season through dark goose season.

BRAVO SWA, LOGAN CO.

1. Access from designated parking only.

2. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited from first day of
teal season through dark goose season.

SCALVA PARCEL: All public access requires a reservation. See

“Reservation Procedures” (this page) for details. Limited to

3 groups of 4 hunters each per day.

a. Access by foot only 4 a.m.-9 p.m. through designated
parking and mandatory check station.

b. From Sept. 1-May 31, only hunting is allowed and is
limited to archery, muzzleloading and shotgun during
established seasons. Hunting is only on Sat., Sun., Wed.,
Labor Day, Columbus Day (observed), Veterans Day,
Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Year’s Day, Mar-
tin Luther King Jr. Day and Presidents Day.

BRUSH SWA, MORGAN CO.

1. Public access only from 3 a.m.-9 p.m., except with night-
hunting permit.

2. No reservations needed for small-game or waterfowl hunt-
ing.

3. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited from first day of
teal season through dark goose season.

BRUSH PRAIRIE PONDS SWA, MORGAN CO.

1. Public access only from 3 a.m.-9 p.m., except with night-
hunting permit. Parking in designated areas only.

RESERVATION PROCEDURES

2. Allland users must check in and check out at the designated

check station at Brush Memorial Park. Maximum 4 hunters
allowed in each area.

3. When open to hunting, no more than two vehicles are

allowed on the property per group. Before Dec. 1, hunters
must park in the area they check into.

4. One hunting area is reserved for residents of the city of

Brush and is awarded through lottery system. Applications
to enter lottery available at the CPW office in Brush after
the August Commission meeting. Hunters must have valid
license for species to be hunted to enter the drawing. For
complete application and hunt reservation details, call the
CPW office in Brush, (970) 842-6300.

5. From Sept. 1-Nov. 30, only migratory-bird hunting allowed

and only on Sat., Sun., Wed., Columbus Day (observed),
Veterans Day, and Thanksgiving Day. Some dates are chang-
ing, see website.

. From Sept. 1-Dec. 1, reservations required until sunrise. See

“Reservation Procedures” (above) for details. Maximum 3
reservations per hunter annually. Reservations valid until
sunrise, hunters may only hunt area specified on reservation
or where they check into. Hunters with reservations may
not check in until midnight the morning before the hunt.

Hunters may check in on first-come, first-served basis
after a hunter with a reservation checks out, or after sunrise
if there is no check-in card in the check station.

. From Dec. 1 through the last day of regular goose season,

only hunting is allowed. Reservations required until sunrise
to hunt on Dec. 1 (first day for small-game and big-game
hunting). Reservations not available from Dec. 2-end of
dark goose season. Hunters may check in at one of five
hunting areas on a first-come, first-served basis, after
midnight the morning before the hunt. Hunters properly
checked in to any of these areas may hunt anywhere on the

property.

8. From the Thurs. before opening of teal season until Nov. 30,

scouting permitted from 10 a.m.-2 p.m. on Thurs. that are
not open to hunting in and prior to waterfowl seasons. Must
have reservation number or letter from CPW. All people
must check in and out at check station. Firearms, dogs not
allowed during scouting.

For properties that specify reservations are available or required,

call 1-800-846-9453 (1-800-UGO-WILD)

» RESERVATIONS NOT ACCEPTED MORE
THAN 14 DAYS IN ADVANCE of hunt date
nor after noon the day before the hunt date, or
noon Friday for hunts on Sunday and holidays
falling on Monday.

» TO CANCEL, hunters must do so by noon

the day before the hunt date. Failing to cancel
reservations or follow check-station procedures
may result in losing future reservation rights for
the rest of the hunting season.

» MAXIMUM 1 RESERVATION PER HUNT
DATE and 1 reservation per phone call. Res-
ervations are not transferable. To make the
reservation, a person must have a valid license
for the species to be hunted and must be at
the property the day of the hunt. Hunters with
reservations may only hunt the area specified
on the reservation.

Reservations must be made
on the properties listed
below by calling (970)
255-6161. All other
reservation rules apply.

» Colorado River Island SWA
» Franklin Island SWA
» Highline Lake State Park
» Horsethief Canyon SWA
» James M. Robb
Colorado River State Park
» Orchard Mesa SWA
» Tilman Bishop SWA
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CENTENNIALVALLEY SWA, WELD CO.

1. During waterfowl season, small-game and waterfowl hunt-
ing is only in designated zones.

2. Parking only in designated areas. No motor vehicle access
outside of parking area.

3. During regular duck seasons, open only Sat., Sun., Mon. and
legal holidays.

4. During regular duck seasons, reservations are required for
waterfowl and small-game hunting. See “Reservation Pro-
cedures” (at left) for details. Hunters with reservations can
only hunt the area specified on the reservation. Maximum
4 hunters per reservation. Mandatory check in and check
out as posted at station for all small-game and waterfowl
hunters.

5. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited from first day of
teal season through dark goose season.

6. Dogs allowed only as aid to hunting.

COLORADO RIVER ISLAND SWA, MESA CO.

1. Only waterfowl hunting, and only from designated blinds.

2. Hunting by reservation only. See “Reservation Procedures”
(at left) for details. Hunters may only hunt the area specified
on the reservation. Mandatory check-in and check-out
procedures as posted.

3. If no reservation exists for a hunt area, hunters may check in
on a first-come, first-served basis after 5 a.m. the day of the
hunt. Reserved areas not claimed by 7 a.m. will be available
on a first-come, first-served basis. But, any area must be
yielded upon request of the hunter holding a valid and ac-
tive reservation for that area.

4. Dogs allowed only as aid to hunting,

DRY FORK STL, ROUTT CO.

1. Open for public access from September 1 through Sep-
tember 16. Public access is limited to sharp-tailed grouse
hunting only. Sharp-tailed grouse hunting on weekends and
Labor Day by permit only. On those days a maximum of
four hunters will be allowed per day by permit only.

2. Permits are free and may be applied for by contacting the
Steamboat Springs Service Center at PO Box 775777,
Steamboat Springs, CO 80477 or by calling 970-871-2855.
Permit application deadline is July 1 annually. Permits will
be issued by drawing, and successful applicants will be
notified by mail.

ELLIOTT SWA, MORGAN CO.

1. Open to public 3 a.m.-9 p.m. daily. Open other hours only
for hunters with night-hunting permit.

2. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited from first day of
teal season through dark goose season.

ON UNION TRACT:

1. Open only for waterfowl hunting from designated blinds or
as posted. Maximum 4 hunters per area.

2. Access from designated parking area only.

3. From teal season through end of regular duck season,
waterfow] hunting allowed on Sat., Sun., Weds., Columbus
Day (observed), Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New
Year’s Day.

4. Hunting reservations are required until sunrise, see
“Reservation Procedures” (at left) for details. Only three
reservations per hunter each year. All hunters must check
in and out as posted.

Hunters with reservations may not check in until 3 a.m.
before the hunt, and may only hunt the area specified on
the reservation or for which they check into.

Reservations are valid until sunrise. Hunters may check
in on a first-come, first-served basis after a hunter with a
reservation checks out, or after sunrise, if there is no check-

in card in the check station. Reservations will not be posted
at the check station.

4. Scouting permitted from the Thurs. before opening of teal
season until the end of regular duck season on Union Tract
only. Scouting permitted from 10 a.m.-2 p.m. on Thurs. that
are not open to hunting in and prior to duck seasons. Must
have reservation number or letter from CPW. All people
must check in and out at check station. Firearms and dogs
not allowed during scouting.

ON HAMLIN TRACTS (N AND S):

1. Hunting is allowed every day for all game species that are
in season.

2. From teal season through end of regular duck season,
hunters must check in and out of check station and may
only hunt the area which they check into. Maximum 4
hunters per area at any one time. Hunters may check in on
first-come, first-served basis after 3 a.m. or after another
hunter checks out.

3. On Hamlin South Tract, hunters must comply with youth-
mentor only restrictions as posted.

4. Outside of teal season and regular duck seasons, hunting is
allowed without check in and check out requirements.

FRANK SWA, WELD/LARIMER COs.
1. Property closed to hunting.
2. No public access north of Poudre River.

FRANKLIN ISLAND SWA, MESA CO.

1. Only waterfowl hunting, and only from designated blinds.

2. Hunting by reservation only. See “Reservation Procedures”
(at left) for details. Hunters may only hunt the area specified
on the reservation. Mandatory check-in and check-out
procedures as posted.

3.If no reservation exists for a hunt area, hunters may check in
on a first-come, first-served basis after 5 a.m. the day of the
hunt. Reserved areas not claimed by 7 a.m. will be available
on a first-come, first-served basis. But, any area must be
yielded upon request of the hunter holding a valid and ac-
tive reservation for that area.

4. Dogs allowed only as aid to hunting.

HIGHLINE LAKE STATE PARK, MESA CO.

1. Waterfowl and small-game hunting Mon.-Fri. and only in
designated blinds. Maximum 4 hunters per blind.

2. Waterfowl hunting by reservation only. See “Reservation
Procedures” (at left) for details. Hunters may only hunt the
area specified on the reservation. Mandatory check-in and
check-out procedures as posted.

3.If no reservation exists for a waterfowl hunt area, hunters
may check in on a first-come, first-served basis after 5 a.m.
the day of the hunt. Reserved areas not claimed by 7 a.m.
will be available on a first-come, first-served basis. But, any
area must be yielded upon request of the hunter holding a
valid and active reservation for that area.

4. Other small-game hunting limited to state park on the north
and east by the park boundary; on the south by the no-
wake buoy line; on the west by Mack Mesa Reservoir.

HORSETHIEF CANYON SWA, MESA CO.

1. Open to public 5 a.m.-9 p.m. Open 24 hours for fishing only.

2. Waterfowl hunting is prohibited Weds.-Fri., except on
Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day and New Year’s Day.

3. Hunting with shotguns, hand-held bows and muzzleloaders
only.

4. Quail hunting is prohibited.

5. Reservations not required for waterfowl hunting 100 yards
east of Blind No. 1 to the eastern property boundary,
including Skipper’s Island.

6. Waterfowl hunting on Sat. for youth/mentor hunting only

LAND CLOSURES IN DEER

SEASON (OPENING WEEKEND)

All recreational activities except deer hunt-
ing prohibited on the following lands during
opening weekend of regular plains rifle deer
season and on opening day and first week-
end of late plains rifle deer season:

» STATE TRUST LANDS (STL): Atwood,
Ford Bridge, Overland Trail and Red Lion
Ranch

» STATE WILDLIFE AREAS (SWA): At-
wood, Bravo (and Scalva parcel), Brush,
Centennial Valley, Cottonwood, Dune
Ridge, Elliott, Jean K. Tool, Knudson,
Messex, Overland Trail, Pony Express,
Sedgwick Bar and Tamarack Ranch.

from 100 yards east of Blind No. 1 to the western boundary
of the property.

7. Waterfowl hunters on west end of property must reserve
a blind and must hunt from or within 100 yards of that
blind. Maximum 4 hunters per blind. See “Reservation
Procedures” (at left) for details. Hunters may only hunt the
area specified on the reservation. Mandatory check-in and
check-out procedures as posted.

8.1f no reservation exists for a hunt area, hunters may check in
on a first-come, first-served basis after 5 a.m. the day of the
hunt. Reserved areas not claimed by 7 a.m. will be available
on a first-come, first-served basis. But any area must be
yielded upon request of the hunter holding a valid, active
reservation for that area.

JACKSON LAKE SWA, MORGAN CO.

1. Access only from designated parking areas.

2. During regular duck season, all hunters must check in and
check out at check station.

3. Hunters may only hunt the area they check into. Hunters
may check in on a first-come, first-served basis after 3 a.m.
or after another hunter checks out of an area.

4. During regular duck season, small-game hunters are not
allowed to hunt around ponds occupied by waterfowl
hunters.

5. Waterfowl hunting boat reservations are no longer in place.
Hunting is still allowed from boats until Nov. 1.

JAMES. M. ROBB COLORADO RIVER

STATE PARK, MESA CO.

1. Park in designated parking areas only.

2. Waterfowl hunting only, and limited to designated blinds,
maximum 4 hunters per blind.

3. Hunting by reservation only. See “Reservation Procedures”
(at left) for details. Hunters may only hunt the area specified
on the reservation. Mandatory check-in and check-out
procedures as posted.

4.1f no reservation exists for a hunt area, hunters may check in
on a first-come, first-served basis after 5 a.m. the day of the
hunt. Reserved areas not claimed by 7 a.m. will be available
on a first-come, first-served basis. But, any area must be
yielded upon request of the hunter holding a valid and ac-
tive reservation for that area.

JEAN K. TOOL SWA, MORGAN CO.
1. Open from 3 a.m.-9 p.m., open later only with night-
hunting permit.
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2. Reservations no longer required to hunt.
3. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited from first day of
teal season through dark goose season.

JUMPING COW SWA, ELBERT CO.

1. Dove hunting allowed by permit only. Permits issued free
in a drawing process. Details and applications available
at CPW; (303) 291-7227. Application due third Mon. in
August.

2. Vehicle use only on marked roads that lead to parking. All
other access by foot or horseback. Leave property gates as
found.

3. Open to hunting two hours before sunrise to one hour after
sunset.

4.ONWOODARD UNIT:

a. Hunting restricted to waterfowl, small game (except
dove, turkey and coyote).

b. Permits issued with priority to mobility-impaired hunt-
ers and youth. Mobility-impaired hunters may bring two
nonhunting companions and may use OHV for hunting
and game retrieval as specified.

c. Dogs are prohibited.

LAKE DOROTHEY, WALKER AND
WINDY GAP SWAs

1. Access Lake Dorothey SWA by foot or horseback from
established parking areas.

2. Trapping prohibited at all three SWAs.

3. Hunting prohibited at Walker and Windy Gap SWAs.

Mt. Evans Hwy:. is closed to vehicles at the intersection
with Colo. 103, the hunting closure is lifted and hunting is
permitted within half-mile of highway, with the exception
of white-tailed ptarmigan hunting,

ORCHARD MESA SWA, MESA CO.

1. Open for public access July 15-March 14.

2. Only access from parking area on “C” Rd., between roads 30
and 31. Vehicles prohibited beyond parking area.

3. Waterfowl hunting only. Hunters must hunt from designat-
ed blinds or in the zone identified for each blind. Maximum
4 hunters per blind.

4. Must hunt with bows and/or shotguns with shotshells only.

5. Dogs allowed only as an aid to hunting.

6. Waterfowl hunting by reservation only. See “Reservation
Procedures” (page 10) for details. Hunters may only hunt
the area specified on the reservation. Mandatory check-in
and check-out procedures as posted.

7. If no reservation exists for a hunt area, hunters may check in
on a first-come, first-served basis after 5 a.m. the day of the
hunt. Reserved areas not claimed by 7 a.m. will be available
on a first-come, first-served basis. But, any area must be
yielded upon request of the hunter holding a valid and ac-
tive reservation for that area.

OVERLAND TRAIL SWA, LOGAN CO.

1. Access from parking areas only.

2. During regular duck season, waterfowl and small-game
hunters must check out at designated check station.

3. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited from first day of
teal season through dark goose season.

MT. EVANS HIGHWAY, CLEAR CREEK CO.

1. Hunting prohibited on Mt. Evans Summit Lake Cirque and
within a half-mile of either side of the centerline of Mt. Ev-
ans Hwy. (Colo. 5) while the road is open to vehicle traffic
from the intersection with Colo. 103 to the summit. When

cpw.state.co.us/Documents/Hunting/
LeadExposureRecommendations.pdf

From the field to the table, SO,
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safe for your family is important. ¥ it’i“
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Switching from lead bullets may QA

be an option that's right for you. For
more, go to the CPW website link above.

Science tells us ingesting lead can cause
potential health problems. Risks are low for
most people, however, you can also:

1. Use lead-free shot or bullets.

2. Liberally trim and discard meat damaged
by the bullet when you process an animal.
Fragments can scatter far from the wound.

3. Clean your meat grinder between each
animal. Lead is soft and can go through
your grinder, contaminating an entire
batch of ground meat.

g EE

4. Avoid eating game meat from | &
. . a
animals harvested with lead
bullets if you are pregnant.
Children younger than 6 should
also avoid it.

Lead Safety

Colorado Department of
Public Health and Environment
and Colorado Parks
and Wildlife

RED LION SWA, LOGAN CO.

1. Access from parking areas only.

2. Reservations no longer required to hunt.

3. Float tubes or carry-on craft propelled by hand allowed for
fishing or hunting only. From Oct. 1-March 31, only boats
allowed are hand-propelled crafts used to place or retrieve
decoys or retrieve downed waterfowl.

TAMARACKRANCH SWA, LOGAN CO.

1. Hunters must park vehicle at parking area they are checked
into and are restricted to that area until 9 a.m., at which
time they may walk into and hunt adjacent areas.

2. Reservations are available but not required. See “Reservation
Procedures” (page 10) for details. Reservations available for
weekends and Columbus Day (observed), Veterans Day,
Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Year’s Day, Martin
Luther King Jr. Day and Presidents Day.

3. The first hunt date available for reservations is the Sat. after
Oct. 24 and the last date available is the last Sun. of regular
duck season. Weekdays, weekends and holidays outside the
reservation period and any unreserved or open units are
available for hunting without reservations and are regulated
through check station. Hunters with reservations can only
hunt area specified on reservation. Mandatory check in and
check out as posted at station.

4. Launching or take out of vessels prohibited from first day of
teal season through dark goose season.

5.ON AUGMENTATION PONDS:

a. Waterfowl hunting is by a limited draw lottery reserva-
tion system from the opening day of second duck season
through the end of regular dark goose season.

b. Hunting allowed only on a specific pond/hunt areas
on specific days. If a blind is provided, hunters must
hunt from the blind. Shooting out of rear of the blind is
prohibited. Hunters must park in designated parking
areas but may drop off and pick up decoys via existing
4-wheel-drive roads as posted. Hunters must stay on
roads.

¢. Maximum 4 hunters per group per hunt day. No hunters

may fill a spot if a reservation holder does not use the
reservation. No additional parties are allowed to hunt
after the lottery hunter has completed their hunt for the
day. The hunter drawing the access permit must be pres-
ent for the hunt. All hunters must check in at the existing
check station.

d. To enter drawing, send a postcard or letter with name,
address, phone number, CID number and desired res-
ervation dates to: CPW, Tamarack Ranch drawing, 122
E. Edison St., Brush, CO 80723. Must be postmarked by
Sept. 30. Successful applicants notified by Oct. 21.

Hunters must possess a valid license for the species
to be hunted to enter a drawing. Hunters may apply for
multiple hunt dates on one postcard.

Failure to hunt a reserved area without prior cancella-
tion, or to follow check station procedures, may disquali-
fy a person from making reservations for the remainder
of the hunting season.

e. Ponds open to hunting without a reservation during the
spring light goose conservation order season. All hunt-
ers must follow check-in and check-out procedures as
posted.

TILMAN BISHOP SWA, MESA CO.

1. Open for public access July 15-March 14.

2. Mandatory check-in and check-out procedures for hunters
at entrance station.

3. Hunting with bows and/or shotguns with shotshells only.

4. Dogs allowed only as aid to hunting.

5. Waterfowl hunters must hunt from designated blinds or in
the zone identified for each blind. Maximum 4 hunters per
blind.

6. Waterfowl hunting by reservation only. See “Reservation
Procedures” (page 10) for details. Hunters may only hunt
the area specified on the reservation.

7.If no reservation exists for a hunt area, hunters may check in
on a first-come, first-served basis after 5 a.m. the day of the
hunt. Reserved areas not claimed by 7 a.m. will be available
on a first-come, first-served basis. But, any area must be
yielded upon request of the hunter holding a valid and ac-
tive reservation for that area.

TWENTY MILE/ GRASSY CREEK STLs, ROUTT

CO.

1. Open for small-game hunting Aug. 15-end of February.
During mountain sharp-tailed grouse season, hunting on
weekends and Labor Day by permit only. On those days,
maximum of 8 hunters allowed daily. Maximum 4 hunters
allowed per permit. No limit on hunters on weekdays.

2, Permits are free. Apply by contacting Steamboat Springs
CPW office, Box 775777, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477 or
by calling (970) 871-2855. Permit deadline July 1. Permits
issued by drawing. Successful applicants notified by mail.

WELLINGTON SWA, WELLINGTON UNIT,
LARIMER/WELD COs.

1. From first day of regular waterfowl season to first day of
pheasant season open only on Sat., Sun., Mon. and legal
holidays.

WHITEHORSE SWA, ADAMS CO.

1. Open only for youth/mentor waterfow] hunting when
authorized by area wildlife manager as participants in CPW
youth hunter program.

2. Reservations required. See “Reservation Procedures” (page
10) for details. Hunters with reservations can only hunt area
specified on reservation except in areas where reserva-
tions are not required or are unreserved and unoccupied.
Mandatory check in and check out as posted at designated
check station.
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NOTICE ABOUT THIS GUIDE & SPECIES INCLUDED
This brochure includes information on furbearers, pheasant, quail,
doves, band-tailed pigeon, sora, Virginia rail, Wil-
son’s snipe, ptarmigan, dusky (blue), mountain
sharp-tailed and greater sage-grouse, chukar,
crow, sandhill crane, greater prairie-chicken, rab-
bit, snowshoe hare, squirrel, coyote and other
] small game. (Ducks and geese are in the waterfow!
online brochur brochure, available in September.) This brochure
is not a legal notice nor a complete collection of
hunting regulations and laws. Copies of statutes
and regulations can be obtained from a CPW office or at cpw.state.
co.us/aboutus/Pages/Regulations.aspx. For questions, call CPW at
(303) 297-1192.
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HUNTING AND FISHING FUND CONSERVATION

Show Your Pride,
Colorado Style

Now you can unite with other hunters and anglers in a g.u PS c"dbe(;o td
display of pride and support by purchasing a Colorado oioraao vutaoors

Sportsmen’s License Plate for your vehicle. For further Colorado Outdoors is the
information, visit: cpw.state.co.us/Sportsmen-Plate official magazine for

Colorado Parks and Wildlife.
For more than 75 years it has been a valued
resource for hunters and anglers. The annual
Preference Point issue is a major asset for
planning your hunt and the annual hunting
and fishing guides offers a wide variety of
how-to and where-to advice.

To subscribe call 1-800-417-8986.

EMAIL: GAME.THIEF@STATE.CO.US

Earn a reward payment for reporting
poachers or resource violations by
calling Operation Game Thief. Callers
don't have to reveal their name, testify
in court or sign a deposition. Email for
details. Do not call for information requests or emergencies. )




