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New in 2010:

Enclosed in the 2010-

YOUR FREE 2 Smalcaree|

orado Division of
Wildlifes free
instructional DVD,
“Pheasant Hunting
Colorado”

More than two
years in the making, this film takes you on a journey
into the exciting world of upland hunting, featuring
the popular game bird — the ring-necked pheasant.
The DVD includes instructional tips and details to get
the most out of pheasant hunting in Colorado.

We encourage you to help preserve and protect Col-
orados hunting heritage by sharing this DVD with others.
Like it? E-mail your comments to dow.pheasantdvd@
state.co.us.

F R E E Beginning this year, small game hunters are no
longer required to purchase permits to hunt prop-
erties enrolled in the DOW’s Walk-In Access

(WIA) program. The DOW has eliminated the ac-

WA L K— I N cess fee to offer even greater opportunities for Col-

orado’s small game and waterfowl hunters.

ACC E S S The program provides more than 220,000 acres of

private-land access to small game and waterfowl
hunters. Depending on the area, these properties offer
hunting for pheasants, scaled and bobwhite quail,
doves, rabbits, furbearers and, in some cases, ducks and geese.
Properties enrolled for 2010-2011 program include Conservation Reserve Pro-
gram (CRP) grasslands, sandsage and cholla rangelands and cultivated cropland.
A WIA Atlas, showing the location of enrolled properties opening Sept. 1,
will be available at DOW offices and license agents in mid-August, or on the
DOW website: www.wildlife.state.co.us/Hunting/SmallGame/WalkInAccess.
The Late Cropland Supplemental Atlas is available in late October.

H AB |TAT STAM P There are new laws in place regarding
habitat stamps. Here's what you need to know:
C H A N G E S « Anyone 18-64 must purchase a stamp to

buy or apply for a hunting or fishing license.

« Stamps cost $5 each; no more than 2 are re-
quired per person per year, valid April 1-March 31. A lifetime stamp is $200.25.

« Hunters applying for a limited license must purchase a stamp to apply in the
drawing process.

« Anyone buying a one-day or additional-day license for fishing and/or small
game is exempt from purchasing the habitat stamp with the first two of these Li-
censes. The habitat fee will be assessed when a third one-day or additional-day li-
cense is purchased for fishing or small game.

SEASON CHANGE FOR The Greater Sage-grouse 2010 season has been
S AG E_G ROU S E reduced to 2 days in game management units
6, 16, 17, 161 and 171 (collectively known as
North Park). The North Park season begins
Sept. 11 and closes Sept. 12. The daily bag and possession limits are 2 and 2, re-
spectively. These reductions are in response to declines in the annual lek counts in
North Park and subsequent requests by the local working group to limit harvest.
In GMUs 3, 10, 11, 18 (except east of Colorado 125 in Grand County), 27, 28
(except north and east of County Road 50, Church Park Road), 37, 181, 201, 211,
the season is 7 days (Sept.11-17) with a daily bag and possession limit of 2 and 4.
The DOW actively monitors and manages sage-grouse, and this reduction in
season length will allow the Division to maintain recreational opportunity while

evaluating the bird’s status in Colorado. Sage-grouse hunting seasons will be re-
evaluated for 2011.
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LICENSE FEES

RESIDENT NONRESIDENT

» Small Game .......ccccvvvveeverreene $21 $56
“ » Small Game (one-day).......... $11 $11
» Youth Small Game

(UNEr 18) oueeureeseerrernssenssennens $1.75 $1.75
» Small Game &

Fishing Combo ......ccccoeeesssrene. $41 n/a
» FUrD@ArEr ....rrrrrrreererreeee $21 $56
» Greater Prairie-

Chicken permit (seepg.2) ....$5 $5
» Habitat Stamp (required) ......55 $5
» Military (60% or more

disability, details below) .............. free n/a

Prices include 25-cent search-and-rescue fee and 75-cent sur-

3 charge for the Wildlife Management Public Education Fund.

SAVE TIME: BUY ONLINE OR BY PHONE
Buy your license through the DOW's
website or by calling 1-800-244-5613.
Credit cards are accepted for phone
and Internet purchases. DOW offices
and license agents also sell licenses.

INFORMATION

YOUTH LICENSES AND MENTOR HUNTING
People under age 18 must have a license to hunt small
game. A youth small game license is $1, plus surcharge.
All youths must meet hunter education requirements.
Those under 16 must be accompanied by a mentor
while hunting. A mentor must be 18 or older and must
meet hunter education requirements. Mentors aren't re-
quired to hunt. While hunting, youths and mentors
must be able to see and hear each other without binocu-
lars, radios or other aids. Youths under 18 also can buy
an adult license as long as they meet hunter education re-
quirements. At age 18, youths must buy an adult license.

DISABLED VETERANS

Colorado residents who are disabled veterans can get
free lifetime combination small game hunting and fish-
ing licenses. They must have served on active duty and
have been honorably discharged. Proofis required of a
service-related disability rated by the Veterans Adminis-
tration of at least 60% through disability retirement
benefits or a pension administered by the Department.
of Veteran Affairs or respective service department.
Contact the DOW, (303) 297-1192, for details.

CHILD SUPPORT DELINQUENCY

State law requires Social Security numbers for all li-
censes purchased. It is not displayed on the license but
may be provided, if requested, to Child Support En-
forcement authorities. Hunting and fishing licenses are
not issued to people delinquent in child support.

WEAPONS RESTRICTIONS

Colorado and federal laws prohibit people convicted of

certain crimes, such as domestic violence, from possess-
ing weapons even for hunting. If you've been convicted

of a crime, check with the appropriate law enforcement

authority to find out how these laws apply to you.
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PURCHASING A LICENSE

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
1. You must carry your license when hunting and show it when re-
quested by law enforcement officers.

2. Annual fishing, small game and furbearer licenses, as well as Col-
orado waterfowl stamps, habitat stamps, and walk-in access permits are
valid April 1 through March 31 of the following year. Licenses expire
on the date printed on them. Lifetime small game and fishing combina-
tion licenses are valid as long as you are a Colorado resident.

3.TO HUNT AND TAKE SMALL GAME, you need a small game license, a
combination small game and fishing or a lifetime small game and fish-
ing license. Small game hunters must register with HIP before their first
hunt. See details in the “Harvest Information Program” section below.

4.TO HUNT COMMON SNAPPING TURTLES, you need a small game li-
cense or fishing license.

5.TO HUNT FURBEARERS, you must have a furbearer or small game license.

6.YOU CAN HUNT COYOTES without a license during big game seasons
if you have an unfilled big game license for the same season and unit.
You must use the same method of take for coyotes as your big game li-
cense allows.

7.TO HUNT WATERFOWL, you need a small game hunting license. If you
are 16 or older, you also need a Federal Migratory Bird Hunting Stamp
(Duck Stamp) and a Colorado Waterfowl Stamp.

8.TO HUNT BAND-TAILED PIGEONS AND SANDHILL CRANES, a separate
federal permit number, available through HIP, is required.

9. If a license is restricted to a specific area, you can hunt only that area.
10. Licenses are not transferable.

11.False statements made in buying a license and altering a license are
illegal and void the license.

12.Lost or destroyed licenses can be replaced by buying a new one or
signing an affidavit and paying a fee. Forms are available at DOW of-
fices and license agents.

HARVEST INFORMATION PROGRAM (HIP)
Small game, furbearer and migratory bird hunters, including falconers,
must sign up with HIP each year before their license is valid.

Write the new HIP number in the space provided on your license. If you
signed up with HIP for the 2009 season and buy a small game license in
2010, remember to also transfer the old HIP number to your new license.

To sign up with HIP, call 1-866-265-6447 (1-866-COLOHIP) or go
to www.colohip.com. You will need to provide basic information, in-
cluding how many birds you harvested the previous season and species
you plan to hunt this year.

The HIP phone line and website run 24 hours daily. For help, call
1-800-368-4683, from 6 a.m.-4 p.m. (MST) Monday-Saturday.

HUNTER EDUCATION (SAFETY) REQUIREMENTS
Hunters born on or after Jan. 1, 1949, must have completed an approved
hunter education course sanctioned by a state or province before pur-
chasing a license. Colorado honors hunter education courses from other
states and provinces. You must present an original hunter safety card
when buying a license (unless previously verified) or enter the required in-
formation when applying by mail or online. You must carry your hunter
education card while hunting unless a “V” is printed on the license,
which indicates hunter education has been verified at a DOW office.
Hunter education courses can be found online at www.wildlife.state.co.us/
Hunting/HunterEducation/CourseCalendar. Details on seminars/clinics:
www.wildlife.state.co.us/Hunting/HunterOutreach/ClinicsAndSeminars.

YOUR 75-CENT WILDLIFE o
EDUCATION FEE WORKS FOR YOU

The Wildlife Management Public Education
Advisory Council uses these funds to educate the public about the

importance of wildlife management and that this management is
funded primarily through the sale of hunting and fishing licenses.
Visit the website at www.keepingcoloradowild.org.

RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS
These are the requirements to qualify as a Colorado resident to buy a
hunting license:

1. You must have lived continuously in Colorado at least six months im-
mediately before applying for or buying a license, and must intend to
make Colorado home (except #2 and #3 below.) The residence address
given to purchase or apply for a license must be the same address used
on your Colorado income tax return.

2.U.S. armed services personnel and military personnel of U.S. allies on
active duty in Colorado under permanent orders and their dependents.
This includes people who were Colorado residents when they entered
the armed services and maintain Colorado as their home of record, and
their dependents (unless they change their home of record to another
state.) Also included are personnel of the U.S. Diplomatic Service or
diplomatic services of nations recognized by the U.S. assigned to duty
here on permanent active duty orders and their dependents. Active duty
does not include reserve status or National Guard.

3.Full-time students enrolled and attending a Colorado college, univer-
sity or trade school at least six months immediately before applying for
or buying a license. This includes students who are temporarily absent
from Colorado but still enrolled. Colorado residents who attend school
full-time out of state and pay nonresident tuition still qualify for a resi-
dent license.

4.Children under 18 have the same residency status as their parent,
legal guardian or person with whom they live the majority of the time
per court order.

5.1f you have a home in Colorado and another state, call (303) 297-1192
to make sure you comply with Colorado residency requirements before
obtaining a hunting or fishing license.

6.Except as in #2 and #3 above, you lose your Colorado residency if you
apply for, buy or accept a hunting, fishing or trapping license as a resi-
dent of another state or country; register to vote outside Colorado or get
a driver’s license with an address in another state.

GREATER PRAIRIE-CHICKEN PERMITS
Greater prairie-chicken permits are limited in number and can be pur-
chased on the website, at DOW offices and license agents starting Sept.
1. Permits cost $5 and include 2 carcass tags. Permits are valid in game
management units 97, 98, 100, 101, 102. You also must buy either a
small game license or falconry license. You cannot hunt any other
species with this permit, including lesser prairie-chickens or plains
sharp-tailed grouse.

For other regulations applying to greater prairie-chickens, see “Species
Identification” and “Tagging Requirements” on page 4.

WALK-IN ACCESS PROGRAM

The Walk-In Access (WIA) Program provides opportunities to hunt
small game, migratory game birds and furbearers on enrolled properties.
The (1) regular season properties are open Sept. 1 through the end of
February. The (2) late cropland season properties are open from open-
ing day of pheasant season through the end of February. The (3) ex-
tended walk-in properties are open from the start of pheasant season
through the end of March.

WIA properties allow hunting small game, furbearers, migratory
game birds and Eurasian collared-doves but only during established sea-
son dates. Properties are closed to hunting Gambel’s quail, Gunnisons
sage-grouse and Greater sage-grouse.

Properties are open to foot access only. For small game hunting,
lands are open one hour before sunrise until one hour after sunset. A
WIA permit is no longer required to hunt WIA lands, but hunters must
have a small game license. Properties enrolled are posted with Walk-In
Access signs and published in a WIA atlas. Access is prohibited as
posted when the landowner is actively harvesting crops.

Two atlases for 2010-11 will be published. An early version will be
available in mid-August and includes properties open Sept. 1. A second
atlas will be available in late October and includes all properties.
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KNOW BEFORE YOU GO

more hunting laws and legal methods of take on pages 10-11

Attention: Snow goose hunters Common hunting definitions

AGGREGATE: total number of animals allowed in a bag limit
regardless of species.

If you removed the plug CANADA LYNX RECOVERY AREA: in San Juan and Rio Grande

from your shotgun during the 2010 Spring national forests, and associated land above 9,000 feet, west

Conservation Action, remember to replace the plug from a north-south line passing through Del Norte and
. before huntina during the fall east from a north-south line passing through Dolores; and
Inyour gun before hunting during the ta from New Mexico north to the Gunnison basin, including

small game and waterfowl seasons. Taylor Park east to the Collegiate Range. It includes Game
Units 55, 65-68, 70, 71, 74-81, 551, 681, 711 and 751.
CROSSBOW: bow fired from the shoulder, attached perpen-

LEGAL HUNTING HOURS dicularly to its stock. Has mechanical device to hold string
Legal times to hunt small game are one-half hour before sunrise to cocked.

sunset. An exception is made for furbearers, which can be hunted from DAILY BAG LIMIT: maximum number of wildlife you can take in

one-half hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset. 5 alr fndhting gy comeunesl @ dlomsiael cintne al i an
Raccoons, coyotes, bobcats, striped skunks, beavers and red, gray FALCO}II\’IRY (OR HgAWi,(IN G): huntin g T, d?’ . ap}‘; - ’

and swift foxes can be hunted at night. See “Furbearers: Legal Methods of

Take” on page 10 for details FURBEARERS: mink, pine marten, badger, red fox, gray fox,

The sunrise/sunset chart below lists Denver times. Subtract 1 minute swift fox, str. lped.skunk, western SPOFted skunk, beaver,
from opening and closing time for each 12 1/2 miles east of Denver. muskrat, long-tailed weasel, short-tailed weasel, coyote,
Add 1 minute to opening and closing time for each 12 1/2 miles west of bobcat, opossum, ring-tailed cat, raccoon.

Denver. (These changes assume that each degree of longitude equals 50 HAND-HELD BOW:long bow or compound bow with a man-
miles and a change of 1 degree of longitude equals a 4-minute change in ually held or drawn string.
sunrise and sunset times.) HANDGUN: pistol, revolver, without shoulder stock or attach-
ment.
2010 SUNRISE/SUNSET TABLE (DENVER) LIKE LICENSE: license to take the same wildlife in same man-
ner at same time.
SEPT. ocT. NOV. DEC. JAN.2011 LIVE TRAPS: box traps, Snead-design colony traps, cage traps.
RISE SET | RISE SET | RISE SET RISE  SET RISE  SET MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS: migratory birds included in con-
AM. PM. | AM. PM. | AM. PM. | AM. PM. | AM. PM. ventions between U.S. and foreign countries to protect
DAY (DST) (DST) ks & i ffered. Th terfowl
8 7 % & 595 : - TR irds for which seasons are offered. They are: waterfow!
1 628 731 | 656 642 | 729 558 | 702 436 | 721 446 { ! g L
2 620 729 | 657 641 | 7:30 557 | 703 436 | 721 447 (ducks, including mergansers, and geese, including brant),
i gig? ;152 gigf; gizg ;g; gigg ;ig‘s‘ ﬁfi? ;51 ﬁg mourning and white-winged doves, band-tailed pigeons,
5 632 725 | 700 636 | 733 554 | 706 435 | 721 450 sandhill cranes, American coots, sora, Virginia rail, Wil-
6 6:33 723 | 701 634 | 7:34 552|707 435 | 721 451 son’s snipe, Crows.
7 634 721 | 702 633 | 635 451|707 435 | 721 452 PELLET GUN: handgun or rifle powered by compressed air or
8 6:35 720 | 703 631 | 6:37 450 | 708 435 | 721 453 : .
9 6:35 718 | 704 630 | 6:38 449 | 709 435 | 721 453 gas thatis .177 caliber or larger and fires pellets.
10 636 717 | 705 628 | 639 449 | 710 435 | 721 454 PELT: skin of a furbearer with hair intact.
1 637 7:15 | 7:06 627 | 640 4:48 711 436 7:20 456 POSSESSION LIMIT: maximum number of wildlife you can
12 638 7:13 | 707 625 | 641 447 | 712 436 | 720 457 have at any time.
13 6:39  7:12 7:08 6:24 6:42  4:46 712 436 7:20  4:58 3 9 1 11e 9 9
14 6:40 7:10 7:09 622 6:43 4:45 713 436 720 4:59 RELOCATION: moving live wildlife to a site not Contlguous to
15 641 708 | 7:10 621 | 645 444 | 714 436 | 719 500 the capture site.
Yo g w00 @08 | Bl wes 208 g 721 50 RIFLE: firearm fired from the shoulder with a rifled bore,
17 643 705 | 712 618 | 647 443 | 715 437 | 718 502 16-inch or 1. barrel. at least 26 inches i all 1
18 644 703 | 713 616 | 6:48 442 | 716 437 7:18 503 6-inch or longer barrel, at least 26 inches in over: ength.
19 645 702 | 7:14 615 | 649 441 | 7:16 438 | 717 504 SHOTGUN: firearm fired from the shoulder with a smooth
ZOBG M 00N M1 MG SN > O TN 7/ 5 | 1/ 0 bore, at least an 18-inch barrel and at least 26 inches in
21 647 659 | 716 612 | 651 440 | 7:17 439 | 716 506 11
22 648 657 | 7:18 611 | 652 440 | 718 439 7:16 508 overall length. ) }
23 649 655 | 719 609 | 6:53 439 | 7:18 440 | 715 509 SLINGSHOT: hand-held device manually drawn or held with
20 649 654 L 720 608 | 635 439 |79 440 | 714 o0 elastic band attached to arms or attachment points for pro-
26 651 650 | 722 605 | 657 438 720 442 | 73 512 pelling stones or metal projectiles. Wrist-brace attach-
27 652 649 | 723 604 | 658 437 | 720 442 | 7:12 513 ments and non-elastic projectile pouches are normal parts
2 64 Gas | 725 602 | 700 437|720 aaa | 711 s of a slingshot.
30 655 644 | 726 600 | 701 436|721 445 | 710 517 SNtIA'i-lL GAMEtBIRDS;g.rouﬁ.e,lftarmlgan, pheasant, quail, par-
31 727 559 721 445 709 518 r1dge, greater prairie-cnicken.
SMALL GAME MAMMALS: cottontail rabbit, snowshoe hare,
TIME ADJUSTMENT FOR OTHER COLORADO CITIES jackrabbit, marmot, fox squirrel, pine squirrel and Aberts
This table reflects the minutes Alamosa +3 Gr. Junction +13 squirrel,
foaddtothechartabove  BuenaVista 45 GunpisCol OTHER SMALL GAME: prairie dog, Wyoming (Richardson’s)
for select towns. These are Burlington  -10 LaJunta -6 9 - q
approximate,useonlyasa  Craig +9 Lamar 9 ground squirrel, prairie rattlesnake, European starling,
general reference.Consultastate  Durango  +11 Sterling -6 English or house sparrow, common snapping turtle.
B L = alcs TRAPPING: taking or attempting to take wildlife with a trap.

Source: www.usno.navy.mil and Rand McNally Atlas
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ATTENTION HUNTERS!

The DOW has released Canada lynx in southwest Colorado, which
may be found elsewhere in the state. If you see one, please report it
to a DOW office. Bobcat hunters should make sure they don't shoot
a lynx. Lynx differ from bobcats in several ways:
« THETIP OF A LYNX TAIL is black all around. On a bobcat, the
underside of the tip of its tail is white.
o THE EARTUFTS of lynx are more than one-inch long.
 THE BELLY FUR on a lynx is tawny colored. On a bobcat, it is
white.
« LYNXTRACKS are 3 1/2 to 4 1/2 inches wide. Bobcat tracks are
smaller than 2 1/2 inches wide.

TAGGING REQUIREMENTS

After you kill wildlife requiring a carcass tag, you must immediately
sign and date the carcass tag, then attach it to the animal. The tag must
be attached while the animal is transported, in camp, at a residence, in
storage or in your possession. If you accidentally detach the tag from
your license, lose or destroy it, you must get a duplicate tag before hunt-
ing. You can get a duplicate after providing proof of accidental detach-
ment, loss or damage to the DOW. To transport wildlife not requiring a
carcass tag, license holders must accompany the animal. Wildlife
shipped by common carrier must be accompanied by the license, pho-
tocopy of license or carcass tag.

SPECIES IDENTIFICATION

A fully feathered wing or head must be attached to all birds, except
turkeys, doves and band-tailed pigeons, in transit to hunter’s home or
commercial processor. For pheasants, a foot with visible spur can be sub-
stituted. Note: While in the field or during transport, all dressed (not fully
feathered) doves count against the daily bag and possession limit for
mourning and white-winged doves during the Sept. 1-Nov. 9 dove season.
Eurasian collared-doves must be fully feathered while in the field or dur-
ing transport at all other times.

BOBCAT SEALS

All bobcats or their pelts must be personally presented by the hunter for
inspection and sealing by the DOW within 30 days after take or within
five days after the season closes, whichever is sooner. Any bobcat hide/pelt
without a seal within five days after the season closes is illegal and be-
comes the property of the state. Seals will be placed only on bobcats taken
legally in Colorado. Inspection and sealing is free, and seals must stay at-
tached to hide until processed. Bobcat hides/pelts cannot be transported,
shipped or otherwise taken from Colorado until inspected and sealed. It is
illegal to buy; sell, trade or barter an untanned bobcat hide/pelt without a
seal. One seal per hide/pelt. Contacta DOW office for details.

DONATING WILDLIFE

You can donate edible parts of wildlife to a like-license holder anywhere
or to anyone at the recipient’s home. Bag and possession limits apply to
donors and recipients and birds must be properly tagged. See “Migra-
tory Bird Transporting, Shipping” on page 11.

WILDLIFE CAUSING DAMAGE
Colorado law allows landowners to protect private property from most
wildlife damage. For information, call (303) 297-1192.

4

Safe handling of game meat

Concern has grown about diseases affecting wild animals that
could potentially make humans sick. Most of the time, properly
handled and prepared game meat poses no greater risk than do-
mestic meat of causing disease in humans. Hunters are encour-
aged to contact their local public health department or DOW office
for information on wildlife diseases that may be present where
they plan to hunt. Public health officials recommend the following
precautions when handling and preparing game meat:

1.Do not handle animals that are obviously sick or found dead.
Report sick or dead animals you find to a DOW office.

2.Keep game cool, clean and dry.

3.Do not eat, drink or smoke while dressing game.

4.Use disposable gloves when cleaning game.

5.Wash your hands with soap and water or use alcohol wipes after
dressing game.

6.Clean all tools and surfaces immediately afterward. Use hot
soapy water, then disinfect with a 10% chlorine bleach solution.

7.Cook game meat to an internal temperature of at least 165° F to
kill disease organisms and parasites. Juices from adequately
cooked game meat should be clear.

8.Do not eat any raw portions of wild game.

9.Do not feed raw wild game to domestic pets.

SMALL GAME SURVEYS

The DOW conducts several small game harvest surveys annually to es-
timate harvest, hunter numbers and recreation days, in addition to as-
sessing satisfaction and crowding. In many cases, surveys represent the
primary means of monitoring populations of several species, especially
those difficult to survey by observation. Harvest surveys also are valu-
able to hunters wanting to learn more about small game in Colorado.
Past surveys are available on our website, and updated reports are avail-
able after surveys conclude. Hunters are selected randomly to partici-
pate. Small game surveys are by telephone or by e-mail. If contacted,
your participation is not required, but responding, even if you did not
hunt or harvest an animal, helps us manage small game.

NONTOXIC SHOT

1.It is illegal to use or have toxic (lead) shot, either in shotshells or as
loose shot for muzzleloading, while taking or attempting to take ducks,
geese or coots in Colorado. This includes national wildlife refuges open
to hunting. Toxic shot, either in shotshells or as loose shot for muzzle-
loading, cannot be in a hunter’s gun, on his/her person or near a hunter
taking or attempting to take waterfowl. Store lead shot in your vehicle.
You can store lead shot elsewhere if it’s not readily accessible while hunt-
ing waterfowl.

2. Nontoxic shot is required in commercial wildlife parks, field trials and
dog-training while hunting captive-reared mallards.

3.Nontoxic shot is any type approved by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Service. Go to: www.fws.gov/migratorybirds/CurrentBirdIssues/
nontoxic.htm.

4.1t is illegal to have or use nontoxic shot larger than size T to hunt
ducks, geese or coots.

OPERATION GAME THIEF

Operation Game Thief (OGT) is a non-
profit organization working with DOW
law enforcement. It pays rewards to i
citizens who report poachers or re-
source violations. Callers don't have to g
reveal their names, testify in court or
sign a deposition. Rewards are paid if the information leads to the
arrest of a poacher or a citation is issued. Rewards do not depend on
a conviction but must be requested when a violation is reported.
Call toll-free: 1-877-COLOOGT or e-mail game.thief@state.co.us.
Please do not use this phone number for information requests or emergencies.

...} YOU CAN HELP
w=u § STOP POACHING!
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BAND-TAILED PIGEON
SEASON: Sept. 1-30
AREAS: Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 5
POSSESSION LIMIT: 10
NOTE: Permit required through HIP. See
“License Requirements,” page 2, for more.

CHUKAR
SEASON: Sept. 1-Nov. 28
AREAS: Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 4
POSSESSION LIMIT: 12

CROW
SEASON: Oct. 1-Jan. 31, 2011
AREAS: Statewide
BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS: Unlimited
NOTE: Recorded or electronically ampli-
fied calls may be used during this season.

DUSKY (BLUE) GROUSE
SEASON: Sept. 1-Nov. 21
AREAS: Only game management units
west of I-25.
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3
POSSESSION LIMIT: 9

EUROPEAN STARLING;

ENGLISH OR HOUSE SPARROW
SEASON: Year-round
AREAS: Statewide
BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS: Unlimited

GREATER PRAIRIE-CHICKEN
SEASON: Oct. 1-Nov. 12
AREAS: Game management units 97,
98,100, 101, 102
ANNUAL BAG LIMIT: 2 of either sex
NOTE: Permit required. See “Greater
Prairie-Chicken Permits,” page 2.

GREATER SAGE-GROUSE
SEASON 1: Sept. 11-12
AREAS: Units 6, 16, 17, 161, 171
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 2 birds
POSSESSION LIMIT: 2 birds

SEASON 2: Sept. 11-17

AREAS: Units 3, 10, 11, 18 except east of
Colo. 125 in Grand County, 27, 28 ex-
cept north and east of Grand CR 50
(Church Park Rd.), 37, 181, 201, 211
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 2

POSSESSION LIMIT: 4

MIGRATORY AND OTHER BIRD
REGULATIONS:

Hunting doves?

Learn how to identify the types
of doves found in Colorado
and the regulations for
each species. PAGE 6

MOUNTAIN SHARP-TAILED GROUSE
SEASON: Sept. 1-19
AREAS: Closed statewide except units
4,5,12,13, 14,131, 211, 214, 441
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 2
POSSESSION LIMIT: 4

PHEASANT
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3 cocks
POSSESSION LIMIT: 9 cocks

SEASON 1: Nov. 13-Jan. 31, 2011
AREAS: Units east of -25

SEASON 2: Nov. 13-Jan. 2, 2011
AREAS: Units west of I-25.

QUAIL: NORTHERN BOBWHITE,
SCALED, GAMBEL'S
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 8 of each species
POSSESSION LIMIT: 24 of each species

SEASON 1: Nov. 13-Jan. 2, 2011

AREAS: Units east of I-25 and north of
I-70 from I-25 east to Byers and Hwy.
36 from Byers to Kansas.

SEASON 2: Nov. 13-Jan. 31, 2011
AREAS: Units east of I-25 and south of
I-70 from I-25 to Byers and Hwy. 36
from Byers to Kansas, and parts of the
following counties that are west of I-
25: Pueblo, Fremont, Huerfano and
Las Animas.

SEASON 3: Nov. 13-Jan. 2, 2011
AREAS: Units west of [-25 except in
Pueblo, Fremont, Huerfano and Las
Animas counties.

SANDHILL CRANE
SEASON: Oct. 2-Nov. 28
AREAS: East of the Continental Divide
except North Park (Jackson County)
and San Luis Valley.
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3
POSSESSION LIMIT: 6
NOTE: Permit required through HIP. See
“License Requirements,” page 2, for more.

Continued, Page 6
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DISTRIBUTION

The ranges of popular Colorado
birds to hunt are shaded in orange
below. The red lines through the
state indicate I-70 east and west,
I-25 north and south and I-76
northeast from Denver.
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HOW TO IDENTIFY DOVES

There are three types of doves in
Colorado.Knowing how to identify each is
important to avoid violating the law while
hunting.

White-winged doves are relatively
uncommon in Colorado and occur primarily
along the Front Range, while Eurasians occur
sporadically throughout the state.The
white-winged dove is pioneering new
habitats north of its historic range in the
southwest U.S.The Eurasian collared-dove
is an exotic introduced into the U.S.

MOURNING DOVE:
» 12 inches long from

» Grayish-brown color
» Long, pointed tail

flight path
» Soft call,

dove
» Dark grayish-brown
» Long, squared tail

DOVE BANDING

Mourning doves are
being banded in
Colorado and other
states as partof a
nationwide program to
monitor their status.
Hunters should report
banded mourning
doves to the USGS Bird
Banding Lab,
www.reportband.gov
or 1-800-327-BAND.

tip of beak to end of tail

» Rapid wing beat, erratic

st ““ -
“cooAHoo,” followed
by several coos A
A
i
,ﬁiﬁ?

EURASIAN COLLARED-DOVE:

» 15 inches from tip of beak to end of tail
» Larger, heavier than mourning

.......

© WAYNE LEWIS, DOW

© GEORGE. NDREJKO, AZ GAM

6

."‘.__'E‘ =9

&FISH

» Thin black band on neck ,‘..? ks, =
with white upper border L

» Gray belly and undertail
coverts with black visible
on tail

» Coarse, rapidly delivered,
three-part cooing,“coo-coo-
coo,”with middle coo longest

WHITE-WINGED DOVE:

» Slightly larger than
mourning dove L,
» Gray-brown color },-'
» Long, moderately e W
rounded tail rd
» White bar on upper
wing
surface
» Soft call,"hoohoo
hoohoo,” with last note descending

DOVE REGULATIONS
AND SEASON DATES:

MOURNING, WHITE-WINGED
SEASON: Sept. 1-Nov. 9
AREAS: Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 15 singly or in aggregate for
either species
POSSESSION LIMIT: 30 of either species
NOTE: See “Species Identification” on page 4 for
transit requirements. See Eurasian note below
for influence on bag limits.

EURASIAN COLLARED
SEASON: Year-round
AREAS: Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: Unlimited
POSSESSION LIMIT: Unlimited
NOTE: See “Species Identification” on page 4
for transit requirements.
NEW: If taken Sept. 1-Nov. 9, fully feathered
Eurasians will not be counted toward mourning
and white-wing bag and possession limits. If
Eurasians taken at this time are not fully feath-
ered, they count toward all dove bag and posses-
sion limits. Eurasians must be fully feathered if
taken at times other than Sept. 1-Nov. 9.

BIRD REGULATIONS (cont))

SORA AND VIRGINIA RAIL
SEASON: Sept. 1-Nov. 9
AREAS: Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 25 singly or aggregate
POSSESSION LIMIT: 25 singly or aggregate

TEAL
SEASON: Sept. 11-19
AREAS: In Lake and Chaffee counties and
east of I-25.
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 4 singly or in aggregate.
POSSESSION LIMIT: 8 singly or in aggregate.

WHITE-TAILED PTARMIGAN
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3
POSSESSION LIMIT: 6

SEASON 1: Sept. 11-Oct. 3
AREAS: Statewide except units 44, 45, 53,
54, 66, 67, 68,70, 71, 74-81, 444, 751

SEASON 2: Sept. 11-Nov. 21
AREAS: Units 44, 45, 53, 54, 66, 67, 68, 70,
71,74-81, 444,751

WILSON'’S SNIPE
SEASON: Sept. 1-Dec. 16
AREAS: Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 8
POSSESSION LIMIT: 16
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ABERT’S SQUIRREL
SEASON: Nov. 15-Jan. 15,2011

DAILY BAG LIMIT: 2
POSSESSION LIMIT: 4

BEAVER
SEASON: Oct. 1-April 30, 2011
BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS: Unlimited

BOBCAT
SEASON: Dec. 1-end of Feb. 2011
BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS: Unlimited
NOTE: See “Bobcat Seals,” page 4.

COMMON SNAPPING TURTLE
SEASON: April 1-Oct. 31,2010 &
April 1-Oct. 31,2011
BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS: Unlimited

COTTONTAIL, SNOWSHOE HARE,
WHITE-TAILED & BLACK-TAILED
JACKRABBIT

SEASON: Oct. 1-end of Feb. 2011

DAILY BAG LIMIT: 10 cottontails, 10 snow-
shoes, 10 jackrabbits

POSSESSION LIMIT: 20 cottontails, 20
snowshoes, 20 jackrabbits

COYOTE
SEASON: Year-round
BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS: Unlimited

FOX & PINE SQUIRREL
SEASON: Oct. 1-end of Feb. 2011
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 5 of each species
POSSESSION LIMIT: 10 of each species

MARMOT
SEASON: Aug. 10-Oct. 15
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 2
POSSESSION LIMIT: 4

PRAIRIE DOGS: WHITE-TAILED,
BLACK-TAILED, GUNNISON’S
PUBLIC LAND SEASON: June 15-end of Feb.
2011

SMALL GAME REGULATIONS, STATEWIDE HUNTING:

PRIVATE LAND SEASON: Year-round
BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS: Unlimited

PRAIRIE RATTLESNAKE
SEASON: June 15-Aug. 15
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3
POSSESSION LIMIT: 6

WYOMING (RICHARDSON'S)
GROUND SQUIRREL

SEASON: Year-round

BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS: Unlimited

BADGER, MINK, PINE MARTEN,
GRAY FOX, RED FOX, SWIFT FOX,
RACCOON, RING-TAILED CAT,
STRIPED SKUNK, WESTERN SPOTTED
SKUNK, LONG-TAILED WEASEL,
SHORT-TAILED WEASEL, OPOSSUM,
MUSKRAT

SEASON: Nov. 1-end of Feb. 2011

BAG AND POSSESSION LIMITS:

Unlimited

COTTONTAIL, SNOWSHOE HARE,
WHITE-TAILED & BLACK-TAILED
JACKRABBIT
SEASON: Sept. 1-March 31, 2011
AREA: Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 10 of each species
POSSESSION LIMIT: 20 of each species

CHUKAR
SEASON: Sept. 1-March 31, 2011
AREA: Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 4 birds
POSSESSION LIMIT: 12 birds

DUCKS, GEESE, MERGANSER,
COOTS, SORA, VIRGINIA RAIL,
BAND-TAILED PIGEON, DOVES,
WILSON'S SNIPE, CROW
SEASON: Dates coincide with established
seasons.
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3 singly or in the aggre-
gate for species with an open hunting
season or special falconry season
POSSESSION LIMIT: 6 singly or in aggregate
NOTE: Falconry bag and possession limits
are not in addition to gun bag limits.

DUSKY (BLUE) GROUSE
SEASON: Sept. 1-March 31, 2011
AREA: Units west of I-25

DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3 birds
POSSESSION LIMIT: 9 birds

EUROPEAN STARLING, ENGLISH
OR HOUSE SPARROW

SEASON: Year-round

AREA: Statewide

BAG, POSSESSION LIMITS: Unlimited

FOX & PINE SQUIRREL
SEASON: Sept. 1-March 31, 2011
AREA: Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 5 of each species
POSSESSION LIMIT: 10 of each species

FURBEARERS
SEASON: Dates coincide with established
seasons.
AREA: Statewide
BAG, POSSESSION LIMITS: Unlimited

GREATER PRAIRIE-CHICKEN
SEASON: Oct. 1-Dec. 31
AREAS: Units 97, 98, 100, 101, 102.
ANNUAL BAG LIMIT: 2 of either sex
NOTE: Permit required, see page 2.

GREATER SAGE-GROUSE
SEASON: Sept. 1-Jan. 31, 2011
AREA: Units 3, 6, 10, 11, 16-18 except that
portion of unit 18 east of Colo. 125 in Grand

HAWKING AND FALCONRY REGULATIONS:

County; 27, 28 except that portion of unit 28
north and east of Grand Co. Rd. 50 (Church
Park Rd.); 37, 161, 171, 181, 201, 211

DAILY BAG LIMIT: 2 birds

POSSESSION LIMIT: 4 birds

MOUNTAIN SHARP-TAILED GROUSE
SEASON: Sept. 1-Jan. 31, 2011
AREA: Closed statewide except for units 4,
5,12-14,131, 211, 214, 441
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 2 birds
POSSESSION LIMIT: 4 birds

PHEASANT
SEASON: Sept. 1-March 31, 2011
AREA: Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3 cocks
POSSESSION LIMIT: 9 cocks

QUAIL: NORTHERN BOBWHITE,
SCALED, GAMBEL'S
SEASON 1:Sept. 1-March 31, 2011
AREA: Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 8 of each species
POSSESSION LIMIT: 24 of each species

WHITE-TAILED PTARMIGAN
SEASON: Sept. 1-March 31,2011
AREA: Statewide
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3 birds
POSSESSION LIMIT: 6 birds
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Lo LEAD BULLETS
55 L2 & GAME MEAT
91

LazaN COLINTY : , Recently, concerns have been raised

0 . about the potential risk of exposure to
lead from eating wild game harvested

ot Wpwe COUNTYS e | 1 with lead bullets.Ingesting lead from a
endan ' v : variety of sources can cause significant

health problems, especially in young

-

88

Pawrma MG

bagion

ollin

dehnstouny children and pregnant women. Not
944 e enough research has been done to

gl - ddaes  Fort Momgan fully evaluate potential health risks that
ol | Yonomaan ) e may be associated with lead in game

AR L . [iygf (CLINTY _-mns.—luﬂ ZTON meat, but data from a recent study
= \ EEHINTY suggest these risks are low for most
""""""" 1 :3?:'!’ T people. The Colorado Department of
[ 100 [ Public Health and Environment and

.
DOW offer recommendations to
minimize exposure to lead in wild
game:
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7
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LEAD FRAGMENTS CANNOT BE

Vrego o aranes : | & {8 ELIMINATED WITH COMPLETE
I T CERTAINTY, so pregnant women and
Rk : children younger than 6 should avoid
o R Ll eating meat from game animals

e harvested with lead bullets.These
people are more sensitive to the health
effects of lead,and ingesting even small
amounts may be harmful.Lead can
affect the development of infants and
young children.

M\x COLMTY
.'_I_-' S

HUNTERS CAN USE LEAD-FREE SHOT OR
BULLETS to eliminate lead in game
meat.

COUNTY
Feunlnin

WHEN PROCESSING AN ANIMAL,

fgg 1 LIBERALLY TRIM AND DISCARD MEAT
DAMAGED BY THE BULLET because lead
fragments may scatter some distance
from the visible wound. Discard meat

e I, = that is bruised, discolored or contains

%/ L Busehis hair, dirt, grass, bone or lead fragments.

P
‘_?{' B LEAD IS A SOFT METAL that can be

ground with meat, spreading lead
contamination through an entire
batch of ground meat. Lead has been
found more often in ground meat than
whole meat cuts.To minimize the
amount of processed game meat
.... ' potentially contaminated with lead,
clean the grinder frequently, preferably
between each animal.

EVEN IF A CARCASS IS PROCESSED USING
THESE RECOMMENDATIONS, at home or
at a commercial processor, there is still

| Houmn
ey i {

Oumencha sy, i BAGA ““"4'” a chance small amounts of lead may

. ’ 144 remain in the meat if lead bullets have
e . 143 ‘ | (145 been used.
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HUNTING LAWS & LEGAL METHODS OF TAKE

GENERAL HUNTING LAWS
1. The DOW can post firing lines at its properties.

2. It is illegal to kill, capture, injure or harass
wildlife from an aircraft or motor vehicle. It is
also illegal to operate aircraft with intent to in-
jure, harass, drive or rally wildlife. It is illegal to
discharge a firearm or release an arrow from
an aircraft or motor vehicle.

3. It is illegal to discharge a firearm or release
an arrow from, on or across a public road.
Hunting with rifles, handguns, shotguns firing
a single slug and archery equipment prohibited
within 50 feet on each side of the center line of
any public road. On a divided road, the prohi-
bition includes the median, and the 50-foot re-
quirement is measured from the center line of
both roads.

4, Tt is illegal to carry or have a firearm, except
a pistol or revolver, in or on a motor vehicle
unless the chamber is unloaded. While using
artificial light from a vehicle, it is illegal to have
a firearm with cartridges in the chamber or
magazine, or possess a strung bow unless the
bow is cased.

5. You must take edible parts of game meat
home to eat or provide it for human consump-
tion. Do not leave wounded wildlife (or possi-
bly wounded wildlife) without attempting to
track and kill it.

6. Possession of wildlife is evidence you hunted.

7. Small game and migratory bird hunters are
not required to wear solid daylight, fluorescent
orange clothes. However, the DOW encour-
ages you to wear fluorescent orange clothes for
safety.

8. You must stop at DOW check stations when
told to do so.

9. Violations of Colorado wildlife laws carry
point values. You can face suspension of li-
cense privileges for up to five years or more if
you accumulate 20 or more points in five
years.

10. It is illegal to promote, conduct, offer to
conduct or participate in a competitive event
that involves killing small game or furbearers
for which there is no bag and possession limit
(including coyotes and prairie dogs). Contests
are allowed if no more than 5 of each species
are killed by each participant during the event.
Contests of marked or tagged small game and
game birds for money or valuable prizes also
are illegal. Tokens of recognition without sig-
nificant monetary value are not considered
valuable prizes. This does not apply to wildlife
parks and field trials licensed by the DOW.

11. During deer, elk, pronghorn antelope and
bear seasons, firearms (except handguns) must
be unloaded in the chamber and magazine
when carried on an off-highway vehicle.
Firearms (except handguns) and bows carried
on an OHV must be fully enclosed in a hard or
soft case. Scabbards or cases with open ends or
sides are prohibited. This regulation does not
apply to landowners or their agents carrying a
firearm on an OHV for the purpose of taking
depredating wildlife on property owned or
leased by them.

10

Legal hunting methods
for small game

GAME MAMMALS

A.Rifles or handguns.

B.Shotguns cannot be larger than 10 gauge.
Shotguns cannot be capable of holding more
than 3 shells in magazine and chamber
combined.

C.Hand-held bows and crossbows.

D. Pellet guns and slingshots.

E.Hawking.

GAME BIRDS (EXCEPT MIGRATORY BIRDS)
A.Rifles or handguns allowed for dusky
(blue) grouse and ptarmigan.

B.Shotguns cannot be larger than 10 gauge
not firing a single slug. Shotguns cannot
be capable of holding more than 3 shells in
magazine and chamber combined.
C.Hand-held bows and crossbows.

D. Pellet guns and slingshots allowed for
dusky (blue) grouse and ptarmigan.
E.Hawking.

CALIBER RESTRICTION

A.It is illegal to hunt game birds, small
game mammals or furbearers with a cen-
terfire rifle larger than .23 caliber in regular
rifle deer and elk seasons west of [-25, un-
less you have an unfilled deer or elk license
for the season you are hunting. A small
game license is required.

AIDS IN HUNTING SMALL GAME

A.Dogs are allowed to hunt small game,
waterfowl and furbearers but only to pur-
sue, bring to bay, retrieve, flush or point. It
is illegal to use dogs to hunt cottontail rab-
bits, snowshoe hares and tree squirrels dur-
ing regular rifle big game seasons.

B. Artificial decoys are permitted.
C.European ferrets are permitted for hawk-
ing. Ferrets must be neutered, tattooed on
left inguinal area and dyed along one-fourth
of their body for easy field identification.
D.Mechanical devices designed to call
wildlife are allowed.

HAWKING & FALCONRY
GENERAL HUNTING LAWS

1. Apprentices cannot hunt with more than 1
raptor at a time.

2. A resident falconry license is required.
3.Nonresident falconers must buy a nonresi-
dent falconry license from the DOW’s Special
Licensing Section and a one-day small game
hunting license or a nonresident small game
hunting license. Hunter education laws apply.

4. Falconers must comply with HIP.
5.Firearms prohibited while hawking.

6. Hawking prohibited from a public road.
7.Hawking on private property is illegal without
permission from owner or person in charge.
8.Nonresidents also must obtain an import
permit at least 30 days in advance from Special
Licensing. The permit is free, but a current
health certificate issued within 30 days of the

proposed entry from state of origin required.
Import permit applications and import per-
mits are available on the DOW website.

FURBEARERS:

LEGAL METHODS OF TAKE

1. The following methods of take are legal to
hunt furbearers: Any rifle, handgun, shotgun,
handheld bow or crossbow or live traps — lim-
ited to cage, box or Snead-design colony traps.

2. If wildlife (except Canada lynx) is accidentally
captured alive when trapping season is closed or
is illegal for that species, you must release the
animal immediately. You cannot kill it. If you
find a dead animal in your trap, you must bring
its carcass to a DOW officer or office within 5
days. Failing to do so is evidence of illegal pos-
session of wildlife. Trappers who comply will
not be charged with illegal possession.

3. If you accidentally capture a live animal for
which trapping season is open, you must kill or
release it immediately upon checking the trap.

4. You must check traps at least daily. In
Canada lynx recovery area or where lynx are,
you must check traps every 24 hours.

5. If you accidentally capture a Canada lynx but
it’s not injured, you must release it immediately
and report it the DOW within 24 hours. Ifa
lynx is accidentally injured, but not in your pos-
session, you must report it to the DOW within
24 hours. If you capture a lynx accidentally and
injure it, take the lynx to the DOW or licensed
veterinarian and report it to the DOW within
24 hours. If you accidentally kill a lynx, you
must report it to the DOW within 24 hours and
take the carcass to the DOW within 3 days after
the report. Failing to follow these rules is con-
sidered unlawful take and possession. You will
not be charged if you comply with these require-
ments, are registered in the DOW’s Lynx Con-
servation Plan or use the plan’s best management
practices to avoid accidentally taking a lynx.

6. Except when legally placed on private prop-
erty by permit, it is illegal to set traps or snares
within 50 feet of either side of the travelled part
of state or federal highways or county roads.

7. Hunting furbearers with bait is legal. When
permitted, bait must be made solely of plants
or animals. Bait cannot contain metal, glass,
porcelain, plastic, cardboard or paper. Wildlife
used as bait can be carcasses or parts of legally
taken furbearers, carp, shad, white and long-
nose suckers, and inedible parts of legally ob-
tained game mammals, birds or game fish.

8. Electronic calls are legal to hunt furbearers.

9. On private land, artificial light is allowed at
night to hunt beavers, raccoons, coyotes, bob-
cats, striped skunks and red, gray or swift foxes
with permission of landowner or agent.

10. On public land, artificial light is allowed at
night with permit from local district or area
wildlife manager, to hunt raccoons, coyotes,
bobcats, striped skunks, beavers and red, gray
or swift foxes. Permits are valid for time and
place specified.

a. Permits are not valid 24 hours before or

during deer, elk, or pronghorn rifle seasons,



nor opening weekend of grouse, pheasant,
quail and waterfowl seasons.

b.It is illegal to hunt with a light permanently
attached to a vehicle or to project light from
inside a vehicle.

c. It is illegal to take furbearers within 500
yards of a dwelling, building, campground or
other structure, or in areas that jeopardize
human safety.

d. You must carry the permit while hunting to
show if requested by a law enforcement officer.
e.DOW can deny a permit for management
purposes.

f.Night hunting permits are not issued for bob-
cat on public land in Canada lynx recovery
areas or where lynx are. If a bobcat hunter kills
a Canada lynx during bobcat hunting season,
the DOW will not issue any more night hunt-
ing permits for bobcat for the rest of the calen-
dar year in the recovery area or where the lynx
was killed. The DOW also will revoke all night
hunting permits previously issued for bobcats.

11. It is illegal to destroy or damage beaver or
muskrat houses, dens or dams, except to main-
tain water flow or prevent property damage.

ILLEGAL HUNTING METHODS

FOR SMALL GAME AND FURBEARERS,

ITIS ILLEGALTO:

1. Use toxicants, drugs, explosives, stupefying
substances or leghold traps, instant kill body-
gripping design traps or snares to hunt, kill,
capture, injure or harass wildlife, except with
permits issued by DOW or the Colorado De-
partment of Agriculture.

2. Use electronic devices and electronic calls, ex-
cept as in “Furbearers: Legal Methods of Take”

3. Use any artificial light as an aid in hunting
or taking wildlife, except as in “Furbearers:
Legal Methods of Take”

4, Use bait to hunt small game mammals, game
birds and migratory birds. You can hunt migra-
tory game birds over standing crops or feed
used in the course of agricultural planting, har-
vesting or other normal agricultural practices.
5. Use visual lures, fresh meat baits, fish oil and

anise oil lures to attract felids in lynx recovery
areas or where lynx are.

MIGRATORY BIRD,
EURASIAN COLLARED-DOVES

LEGAL HUNTING METHODS

1. Shotguns cannot be larger than 10 gauge. They
cannot be capable of holding more than 3 shells
in magazine and chamber combined. They must
be fired from the shoulder. To reduce capacity of
shotguns that hold more than 3 shells in the
chamber and magazine combined, the magazine
must be cut off, altered or plugged with a 1-piece
filler that cannot be removed unless the gun is
disassembled. Slugs are illegal to hunt waterfowl.

2.Hand-held bows are allowed only if the
arrow or bowstring is not held or drawn me-
chanically. It is illegal to use bows on firing
lines designated by the Wildlife Commission.

3.1t is legal to hunt waterfowl in the open,
from a blind or other concealed place except a
sink box. When camouflaged with vegetation
from agricultural crops, camouflaging cannot
result in exposing, depositing, distributing or
scattering grain or other feed.

4.a.It is illegal to take migratory birds and wa-
terfowl by the aid of baiting, or on or over any
baited area, if you know or reasonably should
know the area is baited. It is illegal to place or
direct placement of bait on or next to an area
to cause, induce or allow anyone to take or at-
tempt to take migratory birds with the help of
bait or over a baited area.

b. Baiting means directly or indirectly placing,
exposing, distributing or scattering salt, grain
or other feed as an attraction for migratory
game birds to, on or over where hunters are
trying to hunt.

c.Itis legal to take migratory birds, including
waterfowl, coots and cranes, on or over the fol-
lowing lands not otherwise baited: standing or
flooded standing crops; standing flooded or ma-
nipulated natural vegetation; flooded harvested
crop lands; where seeds or grains were scattered
solely from normal agricultural planting, har-
vesting, post-harvest manipulation or normal
soil stabilization practice; flooded, standing agri-
cultural crops where grain is inadvertently scat-
tered solely by a hunter entering or exiting an
area, placing decoys or retrieving downed birds.
d.It is legal to take migratory birds, except wa-
terfowl, coots and cranes, on or over the follow-
ing lands not otherwise baited: where grain or
other feed is distributed or scattered solely from
manipulation of agricultural crops or other feed,
or solely from normal agricultural operations.

5.Hunting is allowed from vessels (except sink
boxes) with motors or sails if the motor is off,
and/or sails furled and forward movement has
stopped. Hunting is allowed from drifting ves-
sels and those propelled by hand. Motorized
vessels are only allowed to pick up dead or in-
jured birds, or to put out and retrieve decoys.

6. Hawking or falconry permitted.

7.Dogs, artificial decoys, duck calls or goose calls
are legal, except recorded or electronically ampli-
fied calls or sounds. Recorded or electronically
amplified calls are legal to hunt common crows.

MIGRATORY BIRD HUNTING LAWS

In Colorado, the Pacific Flyway is west of the
Continental Divide, and the Central Flyway is
east of the Continental Divide. Federal and
state laws apply.

1. The Wildlife Commission sets waterfowl
seasons in August. See the DOW’s waterfowl
brochure.

2. You cannot hunt migratory birds on a fed-
eral reservation, federal land set aside as a
wildlife reservation, breeding ground or refuge
or federal land closed by the Migratory Bird
Treaty Act, except as permitted.

3.1t is illegal to hunt migratory birds from, on or
across a highway, road, trail, public or private
right-of-way in national wildlife refuges. Stricter
regulations may apply on wildlife refuges. Con-
tact: Alamosa and Monte Vista National Wildlife
Refuges, (719) 589-4021; Browns Park NWR,
(970) 365-3613; Arapaho NWR, (970) 723-8202.

4.1n the areas bounded on N by Wyoming; E
and S by Hwy. 71, USS. 36 and I-70; and W by
the Continental Divide and Larimer-Jackson
county line; and in Bent, Crowley, Kiowa,
Mesa, Otero and Prowers counties:
a. It illegal to hunt waterfowl within 50 yards
on either side of center line of a public road.
b. It is illegal to hunt waterfowl within 150
yards of a dwelling, including directly above it,

2010 Colorado Small Game Hunting

without first obtaining permission from owner,

occupant or person in charge of the dwelling.
5.The most restrictive state or federal laws apply.
See www.fws.gov/hunting/whatres.html for more.

6. You cannot kill, have, transport, import or
export migratory birds, their parts, nests or
eggs that were taken, bought, sold, trans-
ported, possessed or exported illegally.

7.1t is illegal to have or transport live migra-
tory birds or waterfowl, including wounded
birds. You must kill migratory birds immedi-
ately after you injure them, and they become
part of your bag limit.

8.You don't need a permit to have and trans-
port plumage or skins of legally taken migra-
tory birds for your use.

9.You don’t need a permit to have, dispose and
transport feathers from wild ducks and wild
geese legally killed, or from birds seized and
condemned by wildlife authorities. It is legal to
use feathers to make fishing flies, bed pillows,
mattresses and similar commercial items, ex-
cept for millinery or ornamental use.

10.1t is illegal to buy, sell, barter or offer to buy
or sell feathers or mounted specimens of mi-
gratory birds.

11.Itis illegal to receive or have someone else’s mi-
gratory birds unless they are tagged as required.
12.Sandhill crane hunters: Whooping cranes are
federally endangered and illegal to hunt. They
may be in Colorado during sandhill crane season.

MIGRATORY BIRD
TRANSPORTING, SHIPPING

You must tag migratory birds or packages of
birds before transporting them, including to a
taxidermist or someone else for picking, clean-
ing, processing and storage. You must sign the
tag and include your address, number and
species of birds, harvest date and license num-
ber. You don't need to tag birds you have at
home. You can ship migratory birds only if you
mark the package outside with name and ad-
dress of sender, name and address of recipient,
and number of birds by species.

MIGRATORY BIRD IMPORTING

During a week (beginning on Sunday), you can-
not import more than 25 doves and 10 pigeons
from a foreign country. You also cannot import
more than 10 ducks and 5 geese from a foreign
country, except Canada and Mexico. Doves and
waterfowl imported from Canada and Mexico
cannot exceed Canadian and Mexican export
limits. Export limits vary among provinces and
states. One fully feathered wing must stay at-
tached to migratory game birds transported be-
tween ports of entry and a person’s home or
migratory game bird facility. It is illegal to im-
port someone else’s migratory game birds.

PRESERVATION FACILITIES

It is illegal to receive or have someone else’s
migratory birds to pick, clean, freeze, process,
store or ship without records showing number
of each species, date birds were received, date
birds were disposed, name and address of per-
son receiving the birds. You must keep records
for 1 year after the last entry on them. Officers
authorized to enforce this regulation can enter
facilities at reasonable hours to inspect records
and premises.
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LAND USE RULES

NOTE: This is not a complete list of
properties or restrictions. See the State
Wildlife Areas and State Trust Lands
brochures detailing land use.

ANDRICK SWA:

1.Public access is limited to Sat., Sun., Wed.,
and legal holidays. During these days, public
access is prohibited from 9 p.m.-3 a.m. Night
hunting is prohibited.

2.Hunting by reservation only. See “Reserva-
tion Procedures” (top of page) for details. Max.
4 hunters allowed in each area at any time.
From Sept. 1 through end of regular goose sea-
son, only 3 reservations allowed per hunter an-
nually.

3.From Sept. 1-Nov. 30, all public use prohib-
ited except migratory bird hunting within des-
ignated hunting areas.

4. From Dec. 1 through end of regular goose
season, hunting is permitted for waterfowl
and small game. During this time, the prop-
erty will be divided into small game and mi-
gratory bird hunting areas, and hunt days will
be established as small game hunting or mi-
gratory bird hunting only to minimize con-
flicts. Hunters need to refer to the waterfowl
brochure to find which dates are designated
small game hunting only and which dates are
designated waterfow] hunting only.

5.From the end of dark goose season through
the Friday prior to Memorial Day, only spring
turkey hunting permitted.

6. Mandatory check in and check out as
posted.

ATWOOD STL:

1. Hunting prohibited except Sat., Sun., Wed.,
Labor Day, Columbus Day (observed), Veter-
ans Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas, New
Year’s Day, Martin Luther King Day and Presi-
dents Day.

2, Small game and waterfowl hunting regulated
by reservation system and mandatory check
station. See “Reservation Procedures” (top of
page) for details. Hunters may hunt only area
specified on reservation. Mandatory check in
and check out as posted.

3. Two reservations are for the general public: 1
for mobility-impaired hunters and 1 for youth
and their mentor. General public and mobility-
impaired must hunt the up-river side of Hwy.
63. Youths and mentors must hunt down-river
side of the highway.

4.Hunting prohibited with centerfire rifles.

ATWOOD SWA:

1.Beginning with first day of the regular duck
season through last day of regular duck season,
waterfowl and small game hunters must check
out at the designated check station. Access
from designated parking areas only.

BANNER LAKES SWA:

1.Closed first day of regular waterfowl season
to the day before the first day of pheasant sea-
son except for waterfowl hunting on Sat., Sun.,
Mon. and legal holidays.

2.Reservations available for waterfowl but not
required. See “Reservation Procedures” (top of
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Reservation Procedures
On properties requiring reservations, call 1-800-846-9453 (1-800-UGO-WILD).

« Reservations are not accepted more than 14 days in advance of hunt date nor after noon the
day before the hunt date or noon Friday for hunts on Sunday and holidays falling on Monday.

« To cancel, hunters must do so by noon the day before the hunt date. Failing to cancel
reservations or follow check station procedures may result in losing future reservation rights

for the rest of the hunting season.

» Maximum 1 reservation per hunt date and 1 reservation per phone call. Reservations are not
transferable. The person making the reservation must be a licensed hunter for the species to
be hunted and must be at the property the day of the hunt.

page) for details. Hunters can only hunt the
area specified on the reservation. Max. 4
hunters per reservation.

3.Reservations valid during reserved day until
hunter with reservation checks out. Hunters
may check in on first-come, first-served basis
after a hunter with a reservation checks out. If
areserved area is not claimed by legal sunrise,
or if no reservation exists for a hunt area,
hunters may check in after midnight the
morning before the hunt.

4. Waterfowl hunters must follow check-in and
check-out procedures as posted.

5. Access only through designated parking
areas.

BRAVO SWA:
1.Beginning with the first day of the regular
duck season through the last day of the regular
duck season, reservations are required for all
hunting. See “Reservation Procedures” (top of
page) for details.
2, Waterfowl and small game hunting is per-
mitted only on Sat., Sun., Wed., Columbus Day
(observed), Veterans Day (observed), Thanks-
giving Day, Christmas Day, New Year’s Day
and Martin Luther King Jr. Day.
3.Reservations are limited as follows: County
Road 34 and 36 parking lots: 1 waterfowl and 1
small game reservation per day; County Road
370 parking lot #1: 2 waterfowl and 2 small
game reservations per day; Youth/Mentor
parking lot: 1 waterfowl reservation per day
(no more than two mentors and at least one
youth per reservation); County Road 370
parking lot #2: 1 waterfowl and 1 small game
reservation per day. Max. 4 people allowed per
reservation.
4. Waterfowl and small game hunters must
check out by 2 p.m. daily and must follow
check-in and check-out procedures as
posted.
5. Access from designated parking areas only.
6.SCALVA PARCEL: All public access requires a
reservation. See “Reservation Procedures” (top
of page) for details.
a. From Sept. 1-May 31, only hunting is al-
lowed and is limited to archery, muzzle-
loading and shotgun during established
seasons. Hunting is only on Sat., Sun.,
Wed., Labor Day, Columbus Day (ob-
served), Veterans Day (observed), Thanks-
giving Day, Christmas Day, New Year’s Day,
Martin Luther King Jr. Day and Presidents
Day.

b. Access by foot only 4 a.m.-9 p.m. through
designated parking and mandatory check
station.
7.Deer and fall turkey hunting allowed in es-
tablished seasons. Deer and turkey hunters do
not need to check in or out, but reservations
are required.

BRUSH SWA:

1.Beginning with the first day of regular duck
season through last day of regular duck season,
waterfowl] and small game hunters must check
out at designated check station. Access from
designated parking areas only.

BRUSH PRAIRIE PONDS SWA:

1. Public access prohibited from 9 p.m.-3
a.m., except when authorized by night hunt-
ing permit.

2. All land users must check in and check out
at the designated check station at Brush Me-
morial Park. Access is regulated through the
check station, max. 4 hunters allowed in each
area.

3. From the last day of regular goose season
until opening of first waterfowl season, only
wildlife observation is permitted with access
limited to areas as posted. This is to protect
nesting waterfowl and depends on water lev-
els. Public access by foot only.

4.From opening of teal season through Nov.
30, only migratory bird hunting allowed and
only on Sat., Sun., Wed., Columbus Day (ob-
served), Veterans’ Day (observed), and
Thanksgiving Day.

5. From the September teal season through
Dec. 1, reservations are available, but not re-
quired. See “Reservation Procedures” (top of
page) for details. Max. 3 reservations per
hunter annually. Reservations valid until 9
a.m., hunters may only hunt the area speci-
fied on the reservation or which they check
into. Hunters may check in on first-come,
first-served basis after a hunter with a reser-
vation checks out. If no reservation exists for
a hunt area, hunters may check in after mid-
night the morning before the hunt.

6. From Dec. 1 through the last day of regu-
lar goose season, only hunting is allowed.
Reservations available to hunt on Dec. 1
(first day for small game and big game hunt-
ing). Reservations not available from Dec. 2-
end of dark goose season. Hunters may
check in at one of five hunting areas on a
first-come, first-served basis, after midnight



the morning before the hunt. Hunters prop-
erly checked in to any of these areas may hunt
anywhere on the property.

CENTENNIAL VALLEY SWA:

1.During waterfowl season, small game and
waterfowl] hunting is only in designated
zones.

2. Hunting with centerfire rifles prohibited.
3.During regular duck seasons, reservations
are required for waterfowl and small game
hunting. See “Reservation Procedures” (at
left) for details. Hunters with reservations can
only hunt the area specified on the reserva-
tion. No more than 4 hunters allowed per
reservation. Mandatory check in and check
out as posted at designated station.

4.Closed during regular waterfowl seasons
except Sat., Sun., Mon., and legal holidays.
Closed March 1-Aug. 31 except on designated
trail for wildlife viewing and for hunters with
spring turkey licenses.

ELLIOTT SWA:

1.HAMLIN TRACTS (N AND S): Sept. 1-Now. 30,
waterfowl and migratory bird hunting only.
Reservations available, see “Reservation Pro-
cedures” (at left) for details. Mandatory check
station. See DOW’s waterfowl brochure for
more details.

2.UNION TRACT: Public use is prohibited ex-
cept for waterfowl hunting. Reservations
available, see “Reservation Procedures” (at
left) for details. Mandatory check station. See
DOW’s waterfowl brochure for more details.

FRANK SWA:

1.During regular duck season, all waterfowl
and small game hunting is limited to Sat.,
Sun., Mon. and legal holidays.

2. A reservation is required. See “Reservation
Procedures” (at left) for details. Max. 4
hunters allowed per reservation. Hunters
must hunt only in areas specified on the
reservation. Mandatory check in and check
out as posted at designated check station.

3. Hunting prohibited west of County Road
13 and in the posted safety zone in the north-
east corner of the property.

JACKSON LAKE SWA:

1. Access only from designated parking areas.
2.Beginning with first day of regular duck
season through the last day of regular duck
season, all hunting is by reservation only. See
“Reservation Procedures” (at left) for details.
Hunters with reservations can only hunt area
specified on reservation. Mandatory check in
and check out as posted at designated check
station.

3.Reservations regulated by areas. One area
reserved for youth mentor hunting. Max. 2
mentors and at least 1 youth per reservation.
Three reservations available for waterfowl
hunting from vessels on lake.

4.Boat hunting prohibited beginning on first
day of regular dark goose season. Hunters
with boat reservations must call reservation
line 2 days before scheduled hunt to confirm
ice conditions. Only boat hunters with reser-
vations are exempt from Nov. 1 boat closure.
Boats prohibited on frozen surface of lake.
5.Check out at station at parking lot a half-
mile S of CR CC and CR 4 by 2 p.m. Water-

Land closures
in deer season
(opening weekend)

All recreational activities except deer hunt-
ing prohibited on the following lands dur-
ing opening weekend of regular plains rifle
deer season and on opening day and first
weekend of late plains rifle deer season:

STATE WILDLIFE AREAS: Atwood, Bravo
(and Scalva parcel), Brush, Centennial
Valley, Cottonwood, Dune Ridge, Elliott,
Jean K. Tool, Julesburg leases, Knudson,
Messex, Overland Trail, Pony Express
and Sedgwick Bar, Tamarack Ranch.

STATE TRUST LANDS: Atwood, Red Lion
Ranch and Ford Bridge

fowl hunters with boat reservation exempt
from check-out station.

6. Hunters and vessels must stay in designated
hunt zone. Hunting prohibited within 150
yards of shore, other vessels. Vessels launched
from Jackson Lake State Park must have state
parks pass.

7. Waterfowl and small game hunting permit-
ted only Sat., Sun., Wed., Columbus Day (ob-
served), Veterans Day, Thanksgiving Day,
Christmas, New Year’s Day and Martin
Luther King Day.

8. Deer hunting allowed in established sea-
sons. Deer hunters do not need to check in or
out. Deer hunting reservations required and
are unlimited in number.

JEAN K.TOOL SWA:

1.Beginning with the first day of regular duck
season through last day of regular duck sea-
son, waterfowl and small game hunters must
check out at designated check station.

2. Access from designated parking areas only.

LAKE DOROTHEY, WALKER

AND WINDY GAP SWAs:
1. Trapping prohibited.

MT. EVANS HIGHWAY:

1.Hunting prohibited a half-mile on either
side of road. For map, call Northeast Re-
gional Office in Denver, (303) 291-7227.

OVERLAND TRAIL SWA:

1.Hunting by reservation only. Max. 4
hunters per reservation. See “Reservation
Procedures” (at left) for details. Hunters with
reservations can only hunt area specified on
reservation. Mandatory check in and check
out at designated check station as posted.
2.Foot access only via designated parking
area.

3.From Sept. 1-May 31, hunting permitted
only on Sat., Sun., Wed., legal holidays and
opening day of the late rifle deer season.
4.Beginning with first day of regular duck
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season through last day of regular duck sea-
son, only hunting allowed. Waterfowl and
small game hunters must check out at desig-
nated check station by 2 p.m.

5.Deer and fall turkey hunting allowed in es-
tablished seasons. Deer and turkey hunters
do not need to check in or out, but reserva-
tions required.

RED LION SWA:

1.Beginning with first day of regular duck
season through last day of regular duck sea-
son, waterfowl and small game hunters must
check out at designated check station. Access
from designated parking areas only.

TAMARACK RANCH SWA:
1.Reservations are available but not required.
See “Reservation Procedures” (at left) for de-
tails. Hunting open weekends and Colum-
bus Day (observed), Veterans Day;,
Thanksgiving Day, Christmas, New Year’s
Day, Martin Luther King Day and Presidents
Day.

2.The first hunt date available for reserva-
tions is the Sat. after Oct. 24 and the last date
available is the last Sun. of regular duck sea-
son. Weekdays, weekends and holidays out-
side the reservation period and any
unreserved or open units are available for
hunting without reservations and are regu-
lated through check station. Hunters with
reservations can only hunt area specified on
reservation. Mandatory check in and check
out as posted at designated station.
3.Hunters must park vehicles at parking area
they are checked into and are restricted to
that area until 9 a.m., at which time they may
walk into and hunt adjacent areas.

TWENTY MILE/GRASSY CREEK STLs:
1.Small game hunting on weekends and
Labor Day by permit only.

2. Max. of 8 hunters allowed daily. Max. 4
hunters allowed per permit. Permits are free
and may be applied for by contacting Steam-
boat Springs Service Center, Box 775777,
Steamboat Springs, CO 80477 or by calling
(970) 870-2197. Permit deadline July 1. Per-
mits issued by drawing. Successful applicants
notified by mail.

WELLINGTON SWA,
WELLINGTON UNIT:

1.Closed from first day of regular waterfowl
season to first day of pheasant season except
Sat., Sun., Mon. and Columbus Day (ob-
served), Veterans Day, Thanksgiving Day,
Christmas, New Year’s Day and Martin
Luther King Day.

WHITEHORSE SWA:

1.Closed except for youth/mentor waterfowl
hunting when authorized by area wildlife
manager as participants in DOW youth
hunter program.

2.Reservations required. See “Reservation
Procedures” (at left) for details. Hunters with
reservations can only hunt area specified on
reservation except in areas where reservations
are not required or are unreserved and unoc-
cupied. Mandatory check in and check out as
posted at designated check station.
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www.wildlife.state.co.us

Colorado Division of Wildlife
6060 Broadway, Denver CO 80216
(303) 297-1192

Subscribe to Colorado OQutdoors

Did you know Colorado has the largest elk herd in the world? Did
you know Colorado is the only state where you can buy an over-the-
counter bull elk license? Colorado Outdoors magazine will keep you
up-to-date on all the opportunities available to you and your hunting
buddies. Don't flounder around looking for the best spots to fish.
Colorado Outdoors is a must-read if you're seeking a high-country
angling experience or fishing the state’s plains reservoirs.

For over 70 years, Colorado Outdoors has been the official publi-
cation of the Division of Wildlife and the only magazine dedicated
to Colorado’s wildlife. And now when you subscribe, you get your
choice of either a free hunting guide or fishing guide. These special
annual editions are packed with a wealth of information you need to
know to be a more successful hunter or angler.

We provide insight into our wildlife resources as well as providing
up-to-date coverage of hunting, fishing and wildlife management.
You get valuable advice from Division of Wildlife experts, and you
can't get that information anywhere else. You'll read about recovery
efforts of some of our endangered species. Plus you’ll benefit from
environmental news, watchable wildlife events, volunteer opportuni-
ties, state fishing records and much more.

10 Reasons to subscribe to
Colorado Outdoors

« Each one-year subscription entitles you to six issues.

« Subscribers get their choice of either the Fishing Guide or the Hunt-
ing Guide. These 40-page special editions sell for $5 on the newsstand
and you get your choice of one absolutely free.

« Learn high-performance hunting tips for a more successful hunt.

« Annual Preference Point issue is a must-have tool in planning your
big game hunt.

« Expert advice on cold- and warm-water fishing.

« Award-winning wildlife photography, including annual photogra-
phy issue.

« A great way to introduce your children to wildlife and the outdoors.

« A valuable reference guide for classrooms and libraries.

« Makes a great gift

« Never any advertising

To order your subscription online visit the Division of
Wildlife Web site at http://wildlife.state.co.us/wildlifestore
and click on the link to Colorado Outdoors magazine

NOTICE: ABOUT THIS GUIDE & SPECIES INCLUDED

This brochure includes information on furbearers, pheasant, quail, doves, band-tailed pigeon, sora, Virginia rail, Wilson's snipe, ptarmigan, dusky (blue), mountain
sharp-tailed and greater sage-grouse, chukar, crow, sandhill crane, greater prairie-chicken, rabbit, snowshoe hare, squirrel, coyote and other small game. (Ducks and
geese are in the waterfowl brochure, available in September.) This brochure is not a legal notice nor a complete collection of hunting regulations and laws. Copies of
statutes and regulations can be obtained from a DOW office or at www.wildlife.state.co.us/RulesRegs. For questions, call the DOW at (303) 297-1192.




