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AND 

TAXATION 
FOR 

BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY 
 
 

IN COLORADO 
 
 
 We have prepared this brochure to provide business and 

industry property owners a better understanding of how the 
property tax system works in Colorado. 
For Further information please visit our website at: 
www.dola.state.co.us/propertytax. 
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ASSESSMENT TERMINOLOGY 
 
ASSESSMENT DATE -Colorado law establishes January 1 as the assessment date.  
Property is classified and assessed according to its status, use, and condition on the 
assessment date. 
 
ACTUAL VALUE - For real property, actual value is generally synonymous with market 
value.  For personal property assessment purposes that actual value is the market value in 
use, as installed. 
 
ASSESSED VALUE – The assessed value is the actual value multiplied by the assessment 
rate.  For business property the assessment rate is 29 percent.  
 
Example:  Retail store 
The assessor determines the following property values: 
 

Real property      Actual value 
Land        $  40,000 

Building        $160,800 

Total        $200,800 

 
The taxpayer would receive two Notices of Valuation (notice): a real property notice and a 
personal property notice.  The assessment rate applied to all non-residential taxable real 
and personal property is 29 percent as shown below in the example. 
 

Actual value  x  Assessment rate  =  Assessed value 
 

Property Actual 
value 

 
X 

Assessment  
rate 

 
= 

Assessed 
 value 

Real  $200,800 X 29% = $58,232 

Personal $ 40,000 X 29% = $11,600 

 
The taxing entities calculate the mill levy based on the allowable budgets in the tax area.   
For the purpose of the example, 82 mills are used.  The decimal equivalent of 82 mills is 
0.082. 
 

Assessed value  x  Mill levy  =  Tax bill 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Personal property Actual value 
Equipment    $  23,000 

Furniture    $  17,000 

Total    $  40,000 

Property Assessed 
  value 

 
X 

 
Tax rate 

 
= 

 
Tax  

Real $58,232 X 0.082 = $ 4,775.02 

Personal  $11,600 X 0.082 = $    951.20 



TAXABLE PROPERTY - All property, real and personal, not expressly exempted from 
taxation by law. 
 
REAL PROPERTY - Permanently fixed in nature such as land, interest in the land, and 
improvements on the land. 
 
Improvements – All structures, buildings, fixtures, fences, and water rights attached to 
the land. 

 
Fixtures – Items that were once moveable chattels but have become physically 
incorporated into an improvement or affixed to land.  “Fixtures” include systems for 
heating, air conditioning, ventilation, sanitation, lighting and plumbing; and do not 
include machinery, equipment, or other articles related to commercial or industrial 
operations that are affixed to the real property for proper utilization. 

 
Leasehold improvements – Additions and/or remodeling made and owned by a lessee. 

 
PERSONAL PROPERTY – Everything that is not included under the term real property. 
Personal property is typically portable or movable property such as equipment, furniture 
and freestanding appliances. 
 

Taxable personal property – All personal property that is not specifically exempted by 
law.  

 
POSSESSORY INTERESTS  – Are private property interests in an otherwise tax-exempt 
property or, the right to the occupancy and use of any benefit in a tax-exempt property that 
has been granted under lease, permit, license, concession, contract, or other agreement. 
 
HOW PROPERTY IS VALUED 
 
VALUATION 
 
• Real property is reappraised by the assessor’s office every odd numbered year.  The 

value determined by the assessor for the year of reappraisal is generally used for the 
intervening year.  

 
• Personal property is revalued each year. 
 
• The actual value of producing mines, producing coal mines, other lands producing 

nonmetallic minerals, oil and gas, and agricultural lands is based on earnings and/or 
productive capacity of the land and is valued annually. 

 



APPROACHES TO APPRAISAL 
 
The assessor determines the actual value of property by considering the three approaches 
to value: the market (sales comparison) approach, the cost approach, and the income 
approach. 
 
Market (Sales Comparison) Approach – Arm’s length sales of similar properties are 
analyzed, compared, and adjusted to arrive at a value for the subject property. 
 
Cost Approach – Estimates the material and labor costs to replace the subject property 
with an equally desirable substitute property that is equivalent in function and utility.  The 
value is calculated by subtracting accumulated depreciation from the replacement cost new. 
 
Income Approach – Estimates the present value of the future net benefits to be derived 
from a property by capitalizing net income into an indication of value.  
 
VALUATION OF PERSONAL PROPERTY 
 
Personal property is not taxable until the assessment date following the year in which the 
property was acquired and first put into use. 
 
Personal property values are not prorated.  Personal property is classified and valued as of 
the assessment date and is valued for the entire year regardless of any destruction, 
conveyance, relocation, or change in taxable status.  Whenever taxable personal property is 
brought into the state after the assessment date, the taxpayer must complete a personal 
property declaration schedule and file it with the county assessor, if the total actual value 
of all taxable personal property owned by the taxpayer is over $2,500 per county.  The 
owner of any taxable personal property removed from the state is liable for the entire tax 
obligation. 
 
The lien of general taxes for the current year attaches to all taxable real and personal 
property on the January 1 assessment date. 
 
BUSINESS PERSONAL PROPERTY EXEMPTIONS 
 
Personal Property Rented 30 days or less 
Personal property typically rented for 30 days or less is exempt.  
 
Intangible Personal Property 
Intangible personal property includes trademarks, patents, copyrights, stocks, bonds, and 
computer software. 
 
$2,500 Exemption 
Personal property under common ownership with a combined total actual value less than or 
equal to $2,500 per county is exempt.  For personal property with a total actual value 
greater than $2,500, the full value is taxable. 
 
“Consumable” personal property includes personal property having a life of one year or 
less regardless of cost or any personal property with a life longer than one year that has a 
cost of $250 or less at the time of acquisition.  The $250 threshold applies to the acquisition 
cost of the personal property as completely assembled for use in the business, not the 
personal property’s unassembled, individual component parts.  The cost must include and 
allowance for installation costs, sales taxes and freight expenses. 



DECLARATION SCHEDULES 
 
WHO FILES A DECLARATION SCHEDULE?  
 
The owner of taxable personal property as of January 1 must file a declaration schedule if 
the total actual value (depreciated value) of all the personal property to be listed on the 
schedule is greater than $2,500 per county.  All personal property, such as a 
business/organization’s equipment not otherwise exempt by law, must be listed on the 
schedule.  
 
WHEN TO FILE? 
 
The assessor mails the declaration schedules as soon after January 1 as possible.  If the 
owner does not receive a declaration schedule in the mail, one may be obtained from the 
assessor’s office.  The declaration schedule must be received by the county assessor by the 
April 15 deadline every year.  Failure to receive a declaration schedule does not relieve 
the taxpayer of the requirement to file. 
 
HOW DO YOU FILE FOR AN EXTENSION?  
 
The deadline may be extended if, not later than April 15, the assessor receives a written 
request AND $20 for a 10-day extension or $40 for a 20-day extension.  The extension 
applies to all personal property schedules (single or multiple) that a person is required to 
file in a county. 
 
WHAT HAPPENS IF YOU FAIL TO FILE? 
 
The late filing penalty is $50 or 15 percent of the taxes due, whichever is less.  If the 
owner of taxable personal property fails to file a schedule, the assessor may determine a 
valuation based upon the BEST INFORMATION AVAILABLE and may add a penalty of up 
to 25 percent of the assessed value of the undeclared omitted property. 
 
CONFIDENTIAL DOCUMENTS 
 
Declaration schedules and attachments are confidential documents by law.  
 
NOTIFICATION OF VALUE 
 
ASSESSOR’S RESPONSIBILITY 
 
Each year, owners of taxable property will receive a Notice of Valuation for each class of 
property that they own.  The notice indicates the actual value of the property and advises 
the owner of the right to protest the valuation. 
 
TAXPAYER’S RESPONSIBILITY 
 
When taxpayers receive a Notice of Valuation, they should study it carefully. The notice 
describes the property that the taxpayer owns, gives the actual value for both the prior and 
current year, advises of the value change, and describes the opportunity for taxpayers to 
present their objections to the assessor.  Keep in mind that the changed value on the notice 
affects the amount of taxes the taxpayer must pay the following January. 
 
If the Notice of Valuation reflects any discrepancies, the taxpayer is advised to CONTACT 
THE COUNTY ASSESSOR! 



TAXPAYER REMEDIES 
 
LEGAL RIGHTS UNDER THE LAW 
 
If taxpayers disagree with the assessor, they must file an objection with the 
assessor in the county where the property is located. 
 

REAL PROPERTY OWNERS: 
Protests must be postmarked, delivered, or given in person by June 1. 

 
PERSONAL PROPERTY OWNERS: 
A mailed protest must be postmarked by June 30.  If taxpayers appear in person, they 
must do so on or before July 5. 

 
The assessor must give a written decision: 
• TO REAL PROPERTY OWNERS by the last regular working day in June. 
• TO PERSONAL PROPERTY OWNERS by July 10. 

 
If taxpayers are dissatisfied with the assessor’s decision, they can appeal to the 
county board of equalization (county commissioners) by July 15 for real property or July 20 
for personal property.  The county board of equalization conducts hearings through August 
5.  The board must notify the taxpayer in writing within five business days of its decision. 
 

Counties may elect to use an alternate appeal procedure for real 
and personal property.  For those counties electing to use the 
alternate appeals procedure, the deadline for mailing real and 
personal property Notices of Determination (NOD), is the last 
working day in August. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
If taxpayers are dissatisfied with the county board of equalization’s decision, they 
may appeal to the Board of Assessment Appeals, binding arbitration, or the district court of 
the county in which the property is located.  The taxpayer must appeal within 30 days of 
the county board of equalization’s decision.   
 

Decisions reached through the arbitration procedure are final 
and not subject to review, except for clerical errors. 

 
 
 
 
If taxpayers are dissatisfied with the decision of the Board of Assessment Appeals 
or district court, they can appeal to the Court of Appeals within 30 days of the Board of 
Assessment Appeals decision or within 45 days of a district court decision. 
 



WHEN TO PAY PROPERTY TAXES 
 
COUNTY TREASURER 
 
County treasurers mail the property tax bills for the preceding year as soon after January 1 
as possible.  The first half payment is due by the last day of February.  The second half 
payment is due by June 15.  If the tax bills are mailed after January 29, payment is due 30 
days from the date the tax bills are mailed.  If your payment is LATE, penalty interest is 
added to the tax amount. 
 
• If the tax amount is $25 or less, it must be paid in one payment by April 30. 
• If the tax amount on real property is $10 or less, the county treasurer may add an 

administrative fee of $5 to your bill. 
• If the tax amount is GREATER than $25, you can pay the taxes in a single payment by 

April 30 or in two EQUAL payments. 
 
STARTING OR OPERATING A BUSINESS 
 
For information concerning starting a business in Colorado you may request: 
 

COLORADO BUSINESS START-UP KIT 
From: Colorado Business Resource Center 
Bette Brennan 
1625 Broadway 
Denver, Colorado 80202 
(303) 592-5920 
www.state.co.us/oed

 
For information concerning operating a business in Colorado you may request: 
 

BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT MATERIALS 
From: Small Business Development Center 
1445 Market Street 
Denver, Colorado 80202 
Attn: Steve Ambriz 
(303) 620-8076 
www.coloradosbdc.org  

 
Please click on Denver under participating centers. 

 
If there are any questions that are not addressed in this brochure, contact the county 
assessor. 
 
Prepared by: 
 
Division of Property Taxation 
Department of Local Affairs 
State of Colorado 
Reorder:  PrintRite 303-789-6067 
15-DPT-AR PUB B3 (03/07) 
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