Employer **NEWSLETTER**



f

facebook.com/ColoradoLabor



twitter.com/coloradolabor





In This Issue

- Timely Earnings Data Reponses Help Prevent Improper Payments
- Employer Handbook Now Available
- Required Electronic Filing of Wage Reports
- New Colorado Minimum Wage for 2018

- Avoid Unnecessary Additional Business Costs
- Understanding Unemployment Insurance Employer Workshops
- Nursing Mothers in the Workplace
- Stay Connected with CDLE

Timely Earnings Data Reponses Help Prevent Improper Payments

If you've received a Request to Employer for Earnings Data, UIB-144, responding timely will save you money and allow us to detect and prevent improper payments more quickly. Working together, we will reduce the impact to premium rates and to the Trust Fund for all employers. *Help prevent improper payments - respond timely!*



Employer Handbook Now Available

The Division of Unemployment Insurance has a new handbook for employers. It includes information for businesses such as tips for reducing unemployment insurance costs, what defines wages, proper worker classification, and what to report and when. The handbook is available online at **coloradoui.gov/employerguide**.

Electronic Filing of Wage Reports



If your business currently submits wage reports by paper instead of filing online, we would like to help you get set up to submit these reports electronically. Using our convenient, easy and secure online filing system can save you paperwork, stamps, and time!

To sign up, simply register at **coloradoui.gov/myUIEmployer** and follow the instructions.

You can also manage your employer account in full using the resources found in the employer toolkit at coloradotoolkit.com.

We are here to help you succeed. If you have questions or need assistance registering online, our Employer Services staff are available at (303) 318-9100 or 1 (800) 480-8299.

New Colorado Minimum Wage for 2018

On January 1, 2018, the Colorado minimum wage will increase to \$10.20 per hour. For tipped employees, the minimum wage will be \$7.18 (\$10.20 - \$3.02 which is determined by a formula in the Colorado Constitution). These rates represent increases from the current levels of \$9.30 and \$6.28 respectively.

The new minimum wage is the result of the passage of Amendment 70 by Colorado voters in the November 2016 election. Amendment 70 requires the minimum wage to increase by 90 cents each January 1st until the rate reaches \$12.00 on January 1, 2020. Starting on January 1, 2021, the minimum wage will adjust annually for cost-of-living increases as measured by the Consumer Price



Index for the Denver-Boulder-Greeley metropolitan area.

Information about the new minimum wage is posted on the Division of Labor Standards and Statistics, coloradolaborlaw.gov. If you have any questions, please call the Division at (303) 318-8441 and ask to speak to a Compliance Investigator.

Avoid Unnecessary Additional Business Costs



Did you know that your unemployment insurance account might not receive a credit for benefits already paid to a claimant despite a successful appeal on your part? If you fail to respond timely or adequately to requests from the Division of Unemployment Insurance for information relating to a claim, are at fault for that failure, and have established a pattern of failing to respond to such requests timely or adequately, Colorado law requires that your account still be charged for those improper payments.

Avoid the potential additional expense to your business and better ensure the proper payment of benefits by responding or having your representative respond immediately to requests from the Division for information related to unemployment claims filed against your account.

Understanding Unemployment Insurance Employer Workshops

Colorado Department of Labor and Employment's Division of Unemployment Insurance is holding a series of free presentations across Colorado to help employers better understand the state's unemployment insurance laws. One of these educational presentations is coming to Colorado Department of Labor and Employment's office at 633 17th Street (Conference Room 12A) in Denver on **February 28, 2018 from 9:30 AM to 11:30 AM**.

The presentation will help employers learn how to properly report wages, identify pitfalls and common mistakes, and develop processes to ensure they are fully in compliance with unemployment insurance laws. Among the topics to be covered during the event:

- · Correct wage reporting
- How premiums and benefits are calculated
- Accurate premium payments
- Using online tools to manage unemployment insurance premium accounts
- Proper classification of workers as employees or independent contractors
- Understanding the unemployment insurance appeals process

The free workshop is for employers only and provides an opportunity to build knowledge, improve practices and make sense of it all. Information covered will include employer rights and responsibilities and steps to implement a penalty-proof program.

Because seating is limited, reservations are required. To RSVP or learn more about this event, contact cdle_ui_employer_outreach@state.co.us or call **(303) 318-9100**, option 4.

Nursing Mothers in the Workplace



Both state and federal laws address workplace requirements for nursing mothers. In Colorado, the Workplace Accommodations for Nursing Mothers Act requires public and private employers who have one or more employees to provide reasonable unpaid break time or permit an employee to use paid break time, meal time, or both, each day to allow the employee to express breast milk for her nursing child for up to two years after the child's birth.

An employer is to make reasonable efforts to provide a room or other location close to the work area, other than a toilet stall, where an employee can express breast milk in privacy. The term, "reasonable efforts," means anything that would not impose undue hardship on the operation of an employer's business. "Undue hardship" refers to significant difficulty or expense that may be incurred by an employer.

This law applies to all public and private employers in Colorado with one or more employees. Before an employee seeks litigation pertaining to this, there is to be nonbinding mediation between the employer and the employee. Persons may also need to contact an attorney for legal advice.

For more information, go to the Colorado Division of Labor Standards and Statistics website, **coloradolaborlaw.gov**. Look for the heading, "Workplace Conditions" and click on "Nursing Mothers."

This issue is also addressed at the federal level by The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA). If an employee is covered under both state and federal laws, the one that provides greater protection to the employee is followed. For information on the PPACA, contact the Denver office of the U.S. Department of Labor at **(720) 264-3250**.

Stay Connected with CDLE



You can stay up to date with all things labor and employment by liking the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment's Facebook page or following us on Twitter @ColoradoLabor. Find information on unemployment rates, market statistics, new labor policies, employer resources, reminders about important upcoming deadlines, and more!

If you're interested in learning more about hiring or working with communities with disabilities, follow the Division of Vocational Rehabilitation (DVR) by liking their Facebook page or by following them on Twitter at **@COVocRehab**.

For employers who work with the Division of Oil and Public Safety, stay connected with them on their new facebook page or follow them on Twitter at **@ColoradoOPS**.

If you're looking for more regionally specific content, visit our Central Mountains and Western Region Workforce Centers Facebook pages.

CDLE: facebook.com/ColoradoLabor | twitter.com/coloradolabor

DVR: facebook.com/ColoradoVR | twitter.com/covocrehab

OPS: facebook.com/ColoradoOPS | twitter.com/ColoradoOPS

Western Region Workforce Centers: facebook.com/wfcwesternregion

Central Mountains Workforce Centers: facebook.com/wfccentralmountains

Join our Email List

Get monthly updates about upcoming events, programs, opportunities, grants, and regulations that may affect your business delivered straight to your inbox by joining our Employer Monthly Update email list. We'll keep you up-to-date on changes to the minimum wage, unemployment premiums rates, workforce statistics and opportunities, and more! It's easy, just go to **coloradoui.gov/employer** and select subscribe to email updates.

