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Stay Connected with CDLE

You can stay up to date with all things labor and employment by

liking the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment Facebook
page or following us on Twitter @ColoradoLabor. Find information on
unemployment rates, market statistics, new labor policies, employer
resources, reminders about important upcoming deadlines, and more!

o facebook.com/ColoradolLabor O twitter.com/coloradolabor

Information on Unemployment Numbers

We are often asked by employers exactly how unemployment numbers are calculated.
The answer is there are a variety of unemployment measures based on questions asked
in the Current Population Survey, which covers about 60,000 households nationwide.
The unemployment measure most commonly reported in the news for national and
state-level rates estimates the ratio to the total labor force of the number of people
who do not have a job, who actively looked for work in the previous four weeks and

are available to work. There are other, broader measures which include those who are
underemployed or who have stopped looking out of discouragement over job prospects
but would still like to work. You can find more information on Colorado'’s labor numbers
by visiting colmigateway.com.
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Empower Your Community by Being A DVR Vendor

The Division of Vocational Rehabilitation (DVR) helps businesses
both large and small recruit, hire, and train skilled workers with

disabilities. DVR offers a number of valuable benefits for

both the employee and the employer including
providing on-the-job training, technical assistance
about available tax credits, and conducting free

disability awareness training.

DVR also relies on local vendors that provide
services or products that will help DVR clients

on their path to employment. Vendors
may provide everything from uniforms
and hardhats to medical services and
assessments or specialized equipment
and can make a big difference in the
lives of people with disabilities.
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skills.

Colorado Employment Law Update

The new 2017 Colorado minimum wage
is $9.30 per hour. For tipped employees,
the minimum wage is $6.28 ($9.30 - $3.02
which is determined by a formula in the
Colorado Constitution). The rates are the
result of the passage of Amendment 70
by Colorado voters in the November 2016
election.

Colorado also has two laws in effect
since 2013 that affect hiring and
retention practices. The Colorado
Employment Opportunity Act restricts
the use of consumer credit information
by employers in Colorado. It prevents
employers from requesting or using
credit information (such as credit reports)

in employment decisions for certain
employees and job applicants.

The Social Media and the Workplace Law
prohibits an employer from accessing an

2017 Colorado
minimum wage is
$9.30 per hour.

employee’s or applicant’s social media
accounts. Additionally, an employer may
not request an employee’s or applicant’s
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DVR is particularly looking for qualified vendors in rural
and mountain communities outside of the Front Range.

Additionally, DVR is looking for employers to partner in the
provision of work experience sites for individuals who are
learning how to be successful in a realistic work setting

or working to build their resumes to reflect current work

When local employers and vendors team up with DVR,
we can strengthen and diversify the workforce and
ensure that all Coloradans reach their employment
potential. If you are interested in becoming a
vendor please contact
stacy.martens@state.co.us or go to
colorado.gov/dvr.

personal social media account
username or password, compel
them to add the employer to his or
her list of contacts, or increase or
decrease their privacy settings.

For further information about the
minimum wage, credit history law,
and social media law, please visit
the Colorado Division of Labor
Standards and Statistics’ website
at coloradolaborlaw.gov or call
(303) 318-8441.
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Help Reduce Improper Payments

Improper payments may lead to an increase in your unemployment rate. The number one cause
of the improper payment rate for first quarter is misreporting hours and earnings. A person who
is working reduced hours may receive unemployment insurance benefits, but must accurately
report this information when filing.

You can help by reporting new hires and responding to earnings requests timely:

Report New Hires

Report all hiring to the State Directory of New Hires by the due date. Timely reporting helps
prevent payment of ineligible unemployment claims after an individual has returned to work
Visit: https://newhire.state.co.us

Respond to Earnings Requests

Respond promptly to any Request for Verification of Weekly Earnings that you receive. If
you receive this form, we are conducting an audit of your employee’s (or former
employee’s) claim for unemployment benefits to determine if they are
properly reporting their earnings. A prompt response will help prevent
improper payments.

Tips for Making Successful Payments via MyUl Employer

® ACH transactions can only be made with checking accounts.
Please do not provide a savings account number.

® The Authorized Remitter name entered must be listed as an
authorized remitter on the account through your bank.

e Submit the payment at least three business days before the due
date. This allows time for the payment to be processed to help
ensure your payment is posted timely and you are not sent a bill.

® |fyou are having issues submitting payment, contact your bank
to verify if there are any other issues (such as an incorrect or

changed routing number, a debit blocker, etc.)
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Workers’ Compensation Cost Containment Certification

The Premium Cost Containment Program is an effort from the Division of Workers’ Compensation to partner with employers to
protect Colorado’s workforce. Through this program, employers will find ways to control work-related injuries while qualifying for a
workers’ compensation premium discount by having a certified Safety and Loss Control Program.

Currently, over 7,000 Colorado employers participate in the program. Employers certified in the Cost Containment Program saw a
total of $22,093,184 in the overall reduction of total claim costs in 2015. This is in addition to the five percent discount applied to
the workers’ compensation premiums.

Steps to becoming certified:

The Premium Cost Containment Program is an equal opportunity program meaning that there are no requirements based upon
the size of the business or how many years they have been in operation. Companies large and small are all subject to the same
basic six steps:

Declaration of a Safety Policy
Designation of a Safety Committee or Coordinator

Safety/Loss Prevention Rules

Ongoing Safety/Loss Prevention Training 4
Designated Medical Providers 4
Written Claims Management Procedures 5
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For further resources, visit colorado.gov/cdle/safety-and-loss-control
or contact the Division of Workers' Compensation at (303) 318-8700. .

Your Workforce Center Can Help Move Your Business Forward

Our workforce centers can help you make strategic, informed decisions to help move your business forward. Our specialists can
provide valuable information about wages, demographics, commuter patterns, workforce trends, supply and demand and more. We
also offer opportunities for you to connect with the community through our workshops and roundtables and streamline the hiring
and recruitment process to help you snag your next great employee. Check out these testimonials from employers from every corner
of the state below:

i1 i1
| enjoyed working with Employment Services The Southeast Workforce Center has Discover what you've been missing
of Weld County. The additional training assisted us in publicizing and recruiting to and find your local workforce center at
received through the On-the-Job Training fill job vacancies. We have also participated yourworkforcecenter.com
Service gives me confidence that | hired the in their training program with new staff for
right candidate. | will definitely work with ESWC education, gas, and reimbursement of wages,
again! n which has greatly benefited our agency! n
Sue Supinski, Employer Sarah Dillon, Executive Director,

Tri-County Family Care Center

Public Works Projects Requirement to Keep Jobs in Colorado

Whenever any public works project financed in whole or in part by funds of the state, counties, school districts, or municipalities of the
state of Colorado are undertaken in this state, Colorado residents shall be employed to perform at least eighty percent of the work.

Learn more through the Division of Labor Standards and Statistics. For more information, please visit coloradolaborlaw.gov or call
the Division at 303-318-8441.
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