

Welcome to the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment's Employer Newsletter. In this issue you will find tips on vacation pay, pay statements, commercial boilers and apprenticeships.

In this Issue

- Vacation Pay in Colorado
- TIPS
- Third Party or CPAs Request for Rates and Account Numbers
- Pay Statements
- The Impact of Apprenticeships on Our Economic Future
- Commercial Boilers How to Operate
 Them Properly

colorado.gov/cdle/businesses-employers

Vacation Pay in Colorado



Pursuant to the Colorado Wage Act ("CWA"), vacation pay may be considered a form of "wages," but only to the extent that it has been "earned in accordance with the terms of any agreement" between an employer and its employees. § 8-4-101(14)(a)(III).

Employers in Colorado may have "use it or lose it" provisions in vacation agreements provided that the policy is included in the terms of an agreement between the employer and employee. A "use-it-or-lose-it" policy may not operate to deprive an employee of earned vacation time and/or the wages associated with that time.

Read more about vacation pay at **colorado.gov/cdle/vacation**.



Third Party or CPAs Request for Rates and Account Numbers

Employer Services is working in partnership with our third-party, accountants and CPA community. Third parties, accountants and CPAs with 10 or more clients are encouraged to request rates and amounts due of your clients at least once quarterly to keep your files updated.

Save money and time by submitting your requests electronically. Once quarterly, please submit a request for rates and amounts for your clients.

To submit electronically, go to **colorado.gov/cdle/forms-publications** then select Third Party or CPAs Request for Rates and Account Numbers Instructions.

Unemployment Premiums Tips



Online Tools

Be sure to sign up for MyUI Employer for online access to your employer account, including online tracking of your wage and premium reports, convenient account access, and answers to many questions about your account. Register at coloradoui.gov/myUIEmployer



Total Wages

By total wages, we mean the gross wages minus allowable deductions that were paid to the employee in the calendar quarter (e.g. cafeteria plans). Total wages paid, up to the chargeable limit per employee, are subject to UI premiums.



Online Business Changes

If you have changed your address, acquired, sold or closed your business, you must notify the Division within 10 days by submitting a form, Employer Change Request, UITL-2, available at

colorado.gov/cdle/businesses-employers.



No Wages to Report

If you have no wages to report, you are still required to file your quarterly reports timely each quarter. A \$50.00 per quarter penalty will be assessed for each quarter the report is late.



Premium Overpayments

To request a refund of an overpayment of unemployment insurance premiums, submit a request in writing and send it via mail or fax to 303-318-9013.



QuickBooks

If you use QuickBooks, it is not supported by our system and does not transfer electronic submission of reports and payments through QuickBooks. Your submissions can only occur by registering for MyUI Employer for online filing or by sending us your paper reports and payments.



Forms

Our employer forms may be downloaded from our website, at **colorado.gov/cdle/businesses-employers**

Pay Statements

As an employer in Colorado, you are required to provide itemized pay statements to your employees. These statements must be available in writing to employees at least once a month, or at the time of each payment of wages or compensation. You must include (at a minimum):

- 1. Gross wages earned for the pay period
- 2. All withholdings and deductions
- 3. Net wages earned
- 4. Inclusive dates of the pay period
- 5. Name of the employee or the employee's social security number
- 6. Name and address of the employer

Employers are required to retain itemized pay statement information for at least three years after the wages or compensation were due. Employers are to provide copies of the records if a request is made by either the employee or the Division during its investigation or an appeal.

If you have questions about this or any other portion of Colorado wage law, please call the Colorado Division of Labor at (303) 318-8441 or toll free at 1-888-390-7936 and ask to speak to a compliance officer.





Young people are plotting out a course for the future, considering their career interests and the strengths and skills needed to make their career choices a reality. For teens with an aptitude and interest in manufacturing, construction and the service trades, an apprenticeship is a viable pathway to economic success and a strong career.

Businesses should consider adding apprenticeship programs as a way to develop a new generation of skilled workers. To learn how apprenticeships are helping thousands of young people gain entry to fastgrowing occupations and industries, visit the U.S. Department's Apprenticeship USA at

www.dol.gov/apprenticeship/Instructions

Commercial Boilers How to Operate Them Properly

Do you have a commercial property with a boiler used for space heating, a manufacturing process or potable domestic hot water? If so, do you know the requirements for operating it in compliance with State regulations?

Boilers must be routinely inspected and serviced to avoid posing a significant danger to people and property.

Most commercial boilers require registration with the Division of Oil and Public Safety's Boiler Inspection Program and periodic inspections for certificate renewal.

- Heating boilers (commonly found in apartments and condos) require inspection every 2 years.
- Power boilers (commonly found in dry cleaners, hospitals
 or processing plants) require inspections twice each year –
 one internal inspection for certificate renewal purposes and
 one external in-service inspection to check for proper boiler
 operation.

When a new or used boiler is installed at a property, the owner must notify the Boiler Inspection Program so that the boiler can be registered with the state and inspected for code compliance.

When a property is sold, the former owner or the new owner needs to contact the Boiler Inspection Program to let us know who the new owner and responsible party are so that we have the correct contact information.

Forms are available on our website at **colorado.gov/ops/BoilerInspection** for you to complete and submit if either of these situations occurs at your business.





We Want Your Feedback

Our goal is to provide you with the most up-to-date and relevant information. Please take a moment to fill out our online feedback survey, and let us know what we can do to keep this publication a great resource for Colorado employers.

Visit: coloradoui.gov/feedback