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I. Official Count Date 

The official student count date is October 1.  All district students that meet the applicable enrollment, 
attendance, and scheduling requirements on October 1 are eligible to be counted.   In-service days 
scheduled within the eleven-day window will be considered as non-attendance days and no extension will 
be granted. Districts requesting an alternative count date must submit their request in writing to the Audit 
Unit of the Colorado Department of Education (CDE) by September 15.  

Important Reminder:  If a district has a scheduled teacher in-service or professional development day that 
falls on the official count date: 

The district will need to provide prior attendance (for the current school year) and attendance 
within 30 days after the official count date, for every student. 
For count day mileage (CDE40), districts who pay parent mileage could be affected. 

Reference: CSBOE 2254-R-3.00 & CSL 22-54-103(10)(a)(l) 

For Districts on a Monday-Friday Five-Day Week 
Year Official Count Date Eleven Day Window 
October 2010 October 1 Sept. 24 – Oct. 8 
October 2011 September 30 Sept. 23 – Oct. 7 
October 2012 October 1 Sept. 24 – Oct. 8 
October 2013 October 1 Sept. 24 – Oct. 8 
October 2014 October 1 Sept. 24 – Oct. 8 

For Districts on a Monday-Thursday Four-Day Week 
Year Official Count Date Eleven Day Window 
October 2010 September 30 Sept. 22 – Oct. 11 
October 2011 September 29 Sept. 21 – Oct. 10 
October 2012 October 1 Sept. 20 – Oct. 9 
October 2013 October 1 Sept. 23 – Oct. 9 
October 2014 October 1 Sept. 23 – Oct. 9 

For Districts on a Tuesday-Friday Four-Day Week 
Year Official Count Date Eleven Day Window 
October 2010 October 1 Sept. 23 – Oct. 12  
October 2011 September 30 Sept. 22 – Oct. 11 
October 2012 October 2 Sept. 21 – Oct. 10 
October 2013 October 1 Sept. 20 – Oct. 9 
October 2014 October 1 Sept. 23 – Oct. 9 

For Preschool Programs Using the November 1 Official Count Day 
Year Official Count Date Eleven Day Window 
November 2010 November 1 Oct. 25 – Nov. 8 
November 2011 November 1 Oct. 25 – Nov. 8 
November 2012 November 1 Oct. 25 – Nov. 8 
November 2013 November 1 Oct. 25 – Nov. 8 
November 2014 October 31 Oct. 24 – Nov. 7 
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I (A).  Alternative Count Date 

A district may request an alternative count date for a school/program to allow maximum flexibility in the 
operation and scheduling of school calendars and of year-round calendars or for other reasons as 
authorized in statute.  Districts must submit their requests in writing to the Audit Unit of the Colorado 
Department of Education by September 15.

Eligible Programs: 
A program designed to return dropout students for completion of the 12th grade. 
A program not in session 30 calendar days prior to the count date or the alternative count 
date.

Alternative count date must be within 45 days of the official count date. 

The alternative count will be conducted in the same manner as the October count. 

If necessary, the district may need to submit an estimate count for the number of students using 
the alternative count date and replacing the estimated number of students with the actual count. 

In no case shall a student be counted on more than one count date. 

Students transferring to the school with an alternative count date after the official count date must 
have certification from the former Colorado district that the student was not included in their 
official October count.  See rules for transfer. 

Reference:  CSBOE Rule 2254-R-4.00 & CSL 22-54-103(10)(a)(I) 
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II. Count/Funding Eligibility 

In order for a student to be eligible to be counted in the Student October Count, students must meet all 
enrollment, attendance, and scheduled hours criteria.

II (A).  Enrollment 

In order for a student to be included in the official count, the student must have been actively enrolled in 
the district on the Official Count date.   

Students who are under 21 years of age as of the official count date may be included in the 
funded student count. 

Students who are receiving services under an Individual Education Plan (IEP) and reach the age 
of 21 during the semester of the official count date may be included in the funded student count. 

A student that has received a high school diploma is not eligible to be counted. 

A student who withdraws or transfers (out of district) prior to the official count date shall not be 
included in the Student October Count.   

Districts will be required, but not limited, to provide the following: 
Enrollment documentation for each student showing the student meets the enrollment 
requirement. 

Reference:  CSBOE Rule 2254-R-5.03(2) & CSBOE Rule 2254-R-5.05(2)(b) 

II (B).  Attendance 

In order for a student to be eligible to be included in the Student October Count, the student must 
establish attendance with the district on or before the official count date.  Attendance requirements 
necessary for inclusion in the Student October Count include one of the following: 

Attending school for all or any portion of the official count date, or
If the student is absent/does not attend on the official count date, then the student must have 
attended school in the five school days prior to the official count date, and resume attendance 
within 30 calendar days after the official count date, or
If the student is absent on the official count date, has attended school during the current 
school year prior to the count date, and has resumed attendance within 5 school days after the 
official count date. 

If a student’s last date of attendance is prior to the official count date, and the student does not 
resume attendance within 30 calendar days after the official count date, then the student does not 
meet the attendance criteria and is not eligible for funding. 

If a student’s first date of attendance is after the official count date, then the student does not meet 
the attendance criteria and is not eligible for funding (even if the student meets the enrollment 
criteria). 
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Students absent on the official count date and with no attendance within 30 calendar days 
following the official count date shall be recorded as withdrawals on their last day of attendance 
and shall not be included in the Student October Count. 

For students who are participating in off- site programs only (such as work study/experience, post 
secondary courses, etc.), the district must be able to provide attendance verification for those 
students.

Districts will be required, but not limited, to provide the following: 
Attendance documentation for each student showing the attendance requirement was met. 
If a student has sporadic attendance, additional attendance verification may be required.  
Examples of attendance verification include, but are not limited to, teacher verification, in-
class assignments, sign-in sheets, etc.  

The Letter of Intent to Return is no longer required for audit documentation.  Attendance records must 
verify the student was in attendance prior to the official count date and returned within 30 days of the 
official count date.  Attendance records must be maintained by the district until audited by CDE. 

Reference:  CSBOE Rule 2254-R-5.03 

II. (C).  Schedules (Funding Eligibility) 

The amount of funding for which a student is eligible in the Student October Count is based on the 
amount of student-teacher contact time scheduled for each student. 

Full Time Funding:  A student is eligible for full time funding if the student has a schedule as of 
the official count date which provides at least 360 hours of student-teacher contact and instruction 
in the semester of the official count date.

Part Time Funding:  A student is eligible for part time funding if the student has a schedule as of 
the official count date which provides at least 90 hours, but less than 360 hours, of student-
teacher contact and instruction in the semester of the official count date.

Districts will be required, but not limited, to provide the following: 
A school year calendar for each secondary school.  The calendar needs to be adopted by the 
board of education, the district administration, the school administration or any combination 
prior to the beginning of the school year.  Any changes to the calendar, excluding 
emergencies or unforeseen circumstances must be preceded by at least thirty days notice. 
Bell schedule for each secondary school 
Student schedules for all secondary students.  Schedules will need to be effective as of the 
official count date and include classes scheduled equal to one half the school year.
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A semester is defined as one-half of the school year.   
Scheduled hours per semester must be determined by calculating the total hours per year 
(based on first semester classes only) and dividing this number by two. 
A semester is defined as the number of student contact days in a school year plus up to 24 
hours of parent-teacher conferences or staff in-service programs, divided by two. 
If a district is on trimesters, then the district should schedule the student for trimesters 1 and 2 
as this would be used to determine schedules equal to one half of the school year. 
If a district is on quarters, then the district should schedule the student for quarters 1 and 2 as 
this would be equal to one half of the school year. 
If a district is on hexters, then the district should schedule for hexters 1 through 3 as this 
would be equal to one half of the school year. 
If a district is on twelve mini sessions, then the district should schedule for mini sessions 1 
through 6. 
The district should have the student handbook available for review. 

Reference: CSBOE 2254-R-1.06 

A district shall not include the actual time instruction is suspended for lunch period. 

Optional attendance periods (advisory, enhancement, tutorial, etc.) are not eligible to be used in 
the calculation of student-teacher contact time.  

A district may include days students are excused to participate in state mandated testing.  

A student receiving services under an IEP, but unable to benefit from a full-time program, shall 
be deemed to meet the requirements of full-time membership.  The IEP must state the student was 
unable to benefit from a full-time program. 

Reference:  CSBOE Rules 2254-R-5.04 & 5.05 & CSBOE Rules 2254-R-5.06 & 5.07 
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II (C)(1).  Counting Calendar Days 

When determining the number of hours in which a student is scheduled for the entire first semester, a 
district should first determine how many student-teacher contact days are scheduled. 

When reviewing the district calendar, only count student-teacher contact days. 
Be sure to exclude holidays, professional, in service or planning days. (Any day students are 
not present.) 
If alternate calendars are allowed, be sure to use the calendar appropriate to the school in 
which the student attends.   

Month # School Days 
August 10 

September 20 
October 20 

November 16 
December 14 

January 18 
February 18 

March 17 
April 21 
May 17.5 

Total Student-Teacher 
Contact Days 

171.5 

Next, in order to determine the mid-point of the school year: 
Divide the total number of student-teacher contact days by two.
Round to nearest whole number 
Begin counting from the first day of school. Only count actual student teacher contact days 

Total 171.5 
Divided by 2 

Equals 86 

Example:  Refer to the Calendar on the following page.

In this example: 
Student Teacher Contact days equal 171.5 
The 86th day of school would be midpoint 
January 13th is actual midpoint day. 
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II (C)(2).  Calculating Daily Hours/Minutes 

Once the number of student-teacher contact days have been determined for the entire school year or first 
semester, calculating the minimum number of daily hours or minutes necessary for full or part time 
funding is possible. 

To calculate scheduled hours, the district must determine the number of hours of student-teacher 
contact per semester as of the official count date.  These hours are based on classes scheduled in 
the first semester; do not include second semester classes in this calculation. 

There are a number of ways a district can calculate the scheduled contact hours for the semester.  
Below are five examples of how the CDE auditor will calculate student-teacher contact hours in 
the first semester: 

Example calculation #1: 

In this example, the school has the same number of periods each day: 
Five first semester classes @ 55 minutes per day 
(55 x 5) 

275 (minutes per day) 

Divide by 60 minutes 60  
Number of hours per day 4.58 
Multiply by number of days in school year * 175 
Number of hours per year 801.5 
Divided by Two 2 
Number of scheduled hours per semester 400.75 
*Includes the equivalent of 24 hours of teacher in-
service and parent- teacher conference days. 

Note: This student would be eligible for full-time funding as the scheduled hours are at least 360 
in the first semester of the official count date.
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Example calculation #2: 

In this example, the school has a block schedule where each class period is taken every other day.  In this 
situation, the auditor will calculate an average number of scheduled hours per day over a two-week 
period: 

 Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Total 
Week 1:       
Period 1  110  110   
Period 2 110  110  110  
Period 3  110  110   
Period 4 110  110  110  
Period 5  110  110   
Total Minutes 220 330 220 330 220 1320 
       
Week 2:       
Period 1 110  110  110  
Period 2  110  110   
Period 3 110  110  110  
Period 4  110  110   
Period 5 110  110  110  
Total Minutes 330 220 330 220 330 1430 
       
 Total number of minutes in a two-week period 2750 
 Divided by: Number of days in a two-week period 10 
 Average minutes per day 275 
 Divided by: 60 minutes 60 
 Number of hours per day 4.58 
 Multiply by number of days in the school year* 175 
 Divide by two 2 
 Number of scheduled hours per semester 400.75 
   
 *Includes the equivalent of 24 hours of teacher in-service and 

parent-teacher conference days. 

Note: This student would be eligible for full-time funding as the scheduled hours are at least 360 
in the first semester of the official count date.
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Example calculation #3: 

If a student’s first semester class schedule includes quarter or trimester classes, the total time for these 
classes must be averaged for the semester (i.e. one class is equal to 1/2 the total time of a semester class): 

Number of hours per day in firsts quarter/trimester 5.5 
Number of hours per day in second quarter/trimester 3.3 

8.8 
Divide by: Two quarters/semesters 2 
Average number of hours per day in the first semester 4.4 
Multiply by number of days in school year* 175 
Number of hours per year 770 
Divide by two 2 
Number of scheduled hours per semester 385 

*Includes the equivalent of 24 hours of teacher in-service and parent-teacher 
conference days 

Note: This student would be eligible for full-time funding as the scheduled hours are at least 360 
in the first semester of the official count date.

Example calculation #4: 

If a student’s class schedule is based on hexters, the total time for these classes must be averaged for the 
semester.  

Number of hours per day in first hexter 5.5 
Number of hours per day in second hexter 0 
Number of hours per day in third hexter 3.3 
Total 8.8 
Divided by: Three hexters (amount equal to half the school year). 3 
Average number of hours per day in the first semester 2.9 
Multiply by number of days in school year* 175 
Number of hours per year 513.3 
Divide by two 2 
Number of scheduled hours per semester 256.67 

*Includes the equivalent of 24 hours of teacher in-service and parent-teacher 
conference days. 

Note: This student would be eligible for part-time funding only as the scheduled hours are less than 360 
in the first semester of the official count date.
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Example calculation #5: 

If a student’s class schedule is based on twelve mini sessions, the total time for these classes must be 
averaged for the semester. 

Number of hours per day in first mini session 4 
Number of hours per day in second mini session 3.5 
Number of hours per day in third mini session 0 
Number of hours per day in fourth mini session 2.5 
Number of hours per day in fifth mini session 0 
Number of hours per day in sixth mini session 3.3 
Total 13.3 
Divide by Six mini sessions as this equals one half of the school year 6 
Average number of hours per day in the first semester 2.2 
Multiply by number of days in the school year* 175 
Number of hours per year 387.9 
Divided by two 2 
Number of scheduled hours per semester 194.0 

*Includes the equivalent of 24 hours of teacher in-service and parent-teacher 
conference days. 

Note: This student would be eligible for part-time funding only as the scheduled hours are less than 360 
in the first semester of the official count date.

Reference:  CSBOE Rule 2254-R-1.06 

II (C)(3).  Passing Periods 

Passing time is defined as the time between two classes or between a class and lunch period.   

Beginning with school year 2010/2011, passing period resolutions are no longer required to count 
the time between two classes or between a class and lunch as part of the education process. 

Passing period resolutions are required for all years prior to the 2010/2011 school year. 
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III. Student Types 

Depending on the type of student, or program in which the student is participating, additional 
documentation or requirements may apply when trying to determine a student’s eligibility to be included 
in the funded count. 

III (A).  Advanced Highly Gifted Students 

Beginning in school year 2008/2009, and pursuant to CSL 22-20-103, eligible school districts can allow 
early access to kindergarten to a highly gifted advanced four year old and early access to first grade to a 
highly gifted advanced five year old.  

The administrative unit at the school district, board of cooperative services or the state Charter 
School Institute must file a Program Plan containing the elements of early access or an early 
access addendum to the program plan. The initial addendum must be filed for approval with the 
Gifted Education Unit at the Department of Education by January 1 prior to the fiscal year of 
implementation. (For example: Eligible addendums for fiscal year 2010-2011 must have been 
submitted by January 2010.) 

The early access provisions will benefit only a few highly advanced gifted children. The 
legislation is not for the majority of age 4 or age 5 gifted students. Gifted education directors and 
coordinators will be working with their superintendent, steering committees, and/or other 
stakeholders to determine if early access will be permitted in their administrative unit. 

The early access addendum template and checklist are located on CDE’s Web page: 
http://www.cde.state.co.us/gt/resources.htm. 

The student must have an ALP on file as of September 30.  

For a four year old to be counted in kindergarten or a five year old to be counted in first grade, the 
child’s ALP must contain the phrase, “grade acceleration” in a prominent, highly visible, place 
during grades kindergarten and first grade.   

The student must reach the age of four by September 1 or the beginning of the school year 
whichever comes first to be included in kindergarten. 

The student must reach the age of five by September 1 or the beginning of the school year 
whichever comes first to be included in first grade. 

The AU’s gifted education director will have current information about the local advanced 
learning plan system of support. Examples of ALP”s are located on CDE’s Web page: 
http://www.cde.state.co.us/gt/resources.htm 

Administrative units that permit early access will need to post the start dates for their district or 
member districts on the automated data entry (ADE) system 

Districts will be required, but not limited, to provide the following: 
Student ALP on file as of September 30 that contains the phrase “grade acceleration” in a 
prominent, highly visible, place during grades kindergarten and first grade. 

Reference: CSL 22-20-104.5 (1.5)(a)(I)(II)
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III (B).  Concurrently Enrolled Students 

Note: House Bill 09-1319 changed law for students participating in Fast Jobs Fast College, Fast Track 
and Postsecondary Enrollment programs. Beginning July 1, 2012; all of these programs will be 
superseded by concurrent enrollment. Until the implementation of the aforementioned law, the 
documentation requirements for Fast Jobs Fast College, Fast Track and Post Secondary Enrollment will 
remain unchanged. 

In order for students to enroll under Concurrent Enrollment, Local Education Providers must have 
a signed Cooperative Agreement on file with the institution of High Education. 

Students may concurrently enroll into any state university or college, community college, junior 
college, local district college, or area vocational school, a postsecondary career and technical 
education program described in title 23, C.R.S. or an educational institution operating in this state 
that meets the following criteria: 

Does not receive state general fund moneys in support of its operating costs; 
Admits as regular students only persons having a high school diploma or the recognized 
equivalent of such a certificate; 
Is accredited by a regional accrediting agency or association; 
Provides an educational program for awarding a bachelor’s degree or a graduate degree; 
Maintains a physical campus or instructional facility; and 
Is determined by the United States Department of Education to be eligible to administer 
federal financial aid (i.e. “Title IV eligible”). 

Students in 9th, 10th, 11th, and 12th grades may qualify to concurrently enroll in postsecondary 
courses if the student has: 

Received approval from the local education provider for their academic plan of study; 
Applied for concurrent enrollment approval with the local education provider no later than 
the deadline set by the college and local education provider and 60 days before the end of the 
academic term that immediately precedes the intended term of concurrent enrollment*; 
Met the minimum college prerequisites for the desired course(s)**. 

  *Note: Districts may waive the 60 day process per 22-35-104(2)(a)(1) C.R.S. 
** Note: Students need not meet all Higher Education Admission Requirements (HEAR) or the 
Colorado Commission on Higher Education (CCHE) index score. 

Students in 12th grade who have not satisfied minimum high school graduation requirements 
established by his or her high school by the end of his or her 12th grade year and are held back for 
instructional purposes may not concurrently enroll into more than 9 credit hours during the 
academic year (including basic skills courses) with a maximum of 6 credits per semester as a full-
time student and 3 credits per semester as a part-time student in any subsequent years while 
registered as a K-12 student. 

Districts must ensure that all college credit hours earned concurrently apply toward the students’ 
high school graduation requirements as defined in the students’ academic plan. 

Districts are required to pay tuition up front for concurrent courses at the in-state (“resident”) 
community college tuition rate. 
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Districts will be required, but not limited, to provide the following: 
Contract (Cooperative Agreement: Concurrent Enrollment Programs Act) 
Academic Plan 
High school transcript 
Documentation to support that tuition was paid by the district “up front” to the college.  

A student must be enrolled in 6 credit hours of college courses in order to be eligible for full time 
funding. 

A student must be enrolled in a minimum of 3 credit hours of college courses in order to be 
eligible for part time funding. 

Reference: HB 09-1319 & CSL 22-35-101 

III (B)(1).  ASCENT 

In order for students to enroll in the ASCENT program, Local Education Providers must have a signed 
Cooperative Agreement on file with the Institution of Higher Education. 

Students may concurrently enroll into any state university or college, community college, junior 
college, local district college, or area vocational school, a postsecondary career and technical 
education program described in title 23, C.R.S. or an educational institution operating in this state 
that meets the following criteria: 

Does not receive state general fund moneys in support of its operating costs; 
Admits as regular students only persons having a high school diploma or the recognized 
equivalent of such a certificate; 
Is accredited by a regional accrediting agency or association; 
Provides an educational program for awarding a bachelor’s degree or a graduate degree; 
Is authorized by the department of Higher Education to do business in Colorado; Maintains a 
physical campus or instructional facility. 
Is determined by the United States Department of Education to be eligible to administer 
federal financial aid (i.e. “Title IV eligible”). 

By September 1st, districts submit to the Colorado Department of Education a number of current 
12th graders who will be eligible for and who are interested in the ACENT program during the 
2011-2012 school year (i.e. current seniors who plan to remain enrolled at the high school in 
order to participate in a 5th year program).  Please submit this number to Charles Dukes via email 
at: dukes_c@cde.state.co.us.  

Eligible students for the ASCENT program must: 
Complete, or be schedule to complete, at least 12 credit hours (semester hours or equivalent) 
of postsecondary course work prior to the completion of his or her 12th grade year*; 
Not be in need of basic skills coursework as defined by the Colorado Commission on Higher 
Education’s (CCHE) remedial education policy; 
Have been selected for participation in the ASCENT program by his or her high school 
principal or equivalent school administrator; 
Have satisfied the minimum prerequisites for the course(s) before his or her enrollment in the 
course(s); and 
Have not participated in the ASCENT program in previous years. 
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*Note: International Baccalaureate (IB), College Level Education Program (CLEP), and 
Advanced Placement credits do not count towards postsecondary course work. 

Districts must ensure that all college credit hours earned concurrently apply toward the students’ 
high school graduation requirements as defined in the students’ academic plan.  Additionally, an 
ASCENT program participant shall not be considered a high school graduate until he or she has 
completed his or her participation in the ASCENT program and any remaining graduation 
requirements. 

Districts will be required, but not limited, to provide the following: 
Contract (Cooperative Agreement: ASCENT Program Act) 
Academic Plan 
High school transcript  
Documentation to support that tuition was paid by the district “up front” to the college.  

Students must be enrolled in 12 credit hours of higher education courses as of October 1 in order 
to be eligible for full time funding. 

Students enrolled in less than 12 credit hours of higher education courses as of October 1 will be 
eligible for part time funding. 

Important Note: For the 2010/2011 school year, only six Local Education Providers have 
implemented the ASCENT Program.  These districts include:  

Denver Public Schools 
Aurora Public Schools 
Jefferson County Schools 
Las Animas 88 (Kim) 
Weld 6 (Greeley) 
El Paso 3 (Widefield) 

Reference: HB 09-1319 & CSL 22-35-101 

III (B)(2).  Fast College Fast Jobs 

This program enables students enrolled in “Target High Schools” to receive a high school diploma and an 
associate’s degree or a career and technical education certificate within five years.   

Eligible school district means:  
A district that contracted with a community college to implement a dual degree program in 
two years prior to FY2006-07, or
A district that had a graduation rate of less than 75% for the FY2004-05 school year.

Institution of Higher Education means: 
A public institution of higher education that offers a 2-year degree program, or
An area vocational school, or
A junior college that is part of a junior college district 
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Target School means: 
A public high school that serves grades 9-12 that: 
Offered a dual degree program through a contract with a community college within 2 years 
preceding FY2006-07. 
Had a graduation rate of less than 75% for FY2004-05, as reported by CDE. 

To participate, the District must: 
Enter into a contract as described in section 22-35.5-106 with one or more institutions of 
higher education to provide a “Fast College Fast Jobs Education Program”. 
Local Board that chooses to participate shall adopt policies and procedures as are necessary 
for implementation of program. 
Design the program to include courses with a sufficient level of rigor to ensure that a student 
does not need skills remediation, but develops sufficiently high level of skills to successfully 
complete postsecondary-level course work. 
Establish participation requirements as it deems appropriate (i.e. year-round classes and 
parental participation). 
Ensure program includes regularly scheduled counseling and other appropriate student 
support services throughout student’s 5 years of participation. 
Annually notify students and parents enrolled in target high schools of the availability and 
requirements of “Fast College Fast Jobs Education Program”. 

District is not required to provide or pay for transportation for students in the program. 

Student who chooses to participate must: 
Begin the program in the 9th grade. 
Take a prescribed schedule of high school courses and higher education courses with a 
sufficient number of credits to ensure the student earns a high school diploma and an 
Associate’s Degree or a Career and Technical Education Certificate in 5 years. 
Maintain a minimum 2.0 grade point average for each semester of participation in the 
program. 
Additional participation requirements deemed appropriate by District (i.e. year-round classes 
and parental participation.) 
Students in 9th or 10th grade may enroll only in accordance with any age-waiver procedures 
the institution may have in place. 
Student is not eligible to receive a stipend from the College Opportunity Fund Program 
pursuant to Article 18 of Title 23. 

Contract Minimum Requirements: 
Level of academic readiness a student shall meet in order to enroll in higher education 
courses through the program. 
Limitation on number of students who may enroll. 
Limitations on number of higher education courses in which a student may enroll per 
semester. 
The Associate’s Degree programs or Career and Technical Education Programs that are 
available to students. 
Financial provisions for funding each student’s enrollment through program. 
Contract shall be subject to approval of the Institution’s Governing Board of the Colorado 
Commission on Higher Education. 
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District and Institution shall negotiate the amount and payment of the following costs: 
o Tuition
o Costs of providing counseling and tutoring services 
o Other applicable course fees charged by Institution and cost of student’s books 

If a student’s college courses are needed to verify a student’s funding eligibility, the district will 
be required, but not limited, to provide the following: 

A college transcript for the applicable semester showing the student earned a grade of “C” or 
better in his/her college classes. 
A high school transcript showing that the student earned high school credits for the college 
classes in which he/she was enrolled. 
Verification that tuition was paid or reimbursed by the district for the college classes. 
If a student is only enrolled in college courses, then the district must provide attendance from 
the college for the student. 

Reference:  CSL 22-35.5-101 

III (B)(3).  High School Fast Track Program 

A school district may negotiate a written agreement with an accredited state institution of higher 
education in Colorado whereby any student in the district who fulfils the requirements for graduation 
from high school may take one or more higher education courses during their twelfth grade year. 

The student shall be under age 21. 

The student shall have completed graduation requirements in less than twelve grade years. 

The district shall pay established rate to institution, up to 75% of PPOR. 

Reference:  CSL 22-34-101 

III (B)(4).  Post Secondary Options Act 

Colorado law (Article 35) provides for high school students enrolled in the 11th or 12th grade and not 
more than 21 years old to apply credit earned at Colorado post secondary institutions toward high school 
graduation as well as a post secondary degree or certificate.  The participating school district and the 
institution of higher education shall enter into a written cooperative agreement which shall include, but 
not be limited to, academic credit and payment of tuition. 

It is the responsibility of the student to pay the amount of tuition, unless the student meets the 
criteria for free/reduced lunch. 

The first two courses per academic term shall be subject to reimbursement by the school district, 
upon the parent or student presenting evidence of the successful completion of the courses.  In 
addition, the district may choose to reimburse for additional courses. 

The student must achieve a grade of “C” or above on any course to be included in the calculation 
to determine full or part-time membership. Since course work is to be applied potentially toward 
degrees and may be used for transfer purposes, a “C” will be considered as the passing grade.  
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A district shall include only those courses which count for credit toward meeting the student’s 
graduation requirements to determine full or part-time membership.  

A district shall count the student in full-time membership if the number of semester credit hours 
for the courses in which the student is enrolled is equivalent to a full-time student credit load as 
defined by the institution of higher education, or is equal to at least seven semester credit hours. 

A district shall count the student in part-time membership if the number of semester credit hours 
for the courses in which the student is enrolled is equivalent to a part-time student credit load as 
defined by the institution of higher education, or is equal to at least three semester credit hours. 

A student attending courses offered by a district and an institution of higher learning can meet the 
attendance requirements at either location.  The sum of the student’s schedule at the school 
district and at the institution shall be used to determine the student’s full or part-time status. 

If a student’s post secondary courses are needed to verify a student’s funding eligibility, the 
district will be required, but not limited, to provide the following: 

A college transcript for the applicable semester showing a student earned a grade of “C” or 
better in his/her college classes. 
A high school transcript showing that the student earned high school credits for the college 
classes in which he/she was enrolled. 
Verification that tuition was paid or reimbursed by the district for the college classes. 
If a student is only enrolled in post secondary courses, then the district must provide 
attendance from the college for the student. 

Reference:  CSBOE Rule 2254-R-5.14 
    CSL 22-35-101 

III (C).  Contractual Educational Services Students (District Paid Tuition) 

A district of residence may include students in their funded student count who are receiving educational 
services from another district, and the resident district is paying maximum tuition to the district of 
attendance.   The district of attendance must deduct these students from their October 1 membership 
count. 

Maximum tuition is defined as money paid to another district to cover basic education costs. 

Tuition does not include the excess costs for special education services. 

Tuition students must be in membership in the district of attendance on the official count date. 

In the event an individual and not a school district is to pay tuition, no district shall include the 
student in its student membership. 

The determination of full-time or part-time status is based upon the number of hours of student- 
teacher contact scheduled at the district of attendance. 

Reference:  CSBOE Rule 2254-R-5.15(3) & CSL 22-54-109 
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III (C)(1).  BOCES Students

Students who are receiving their education through a cooperative agreement with a BOCES program 
would be counted by the district of residence. 

BOCES students must be in membership in the district of residence on the count date. 

The determination of full time or part time status is based upon the number of hours the student 
teacher contact scheduled at the BOCES program. 

The district of residence must obtain attendance, enrollment, student schedule for all secondary 
students, bell schedule and calendar from the BOCES in order to include these students in its 
funded student count. 

Reference: CSBOE Rule 2254-R-8.01 

III (D).  Detention Center Students

Students in short-term detention centers on the official count date are eligible to be counted.  Districts in 
which the detention centers are located will obtain a listing of students who are in the detention center as 
of the October 1 count date; these districts will provide notification to the districts of residence.  These 
centers are: 

Adams Youth Services Center - Brighton 
Gilliam Youth Services Center - Denver 
Mountview Youth Services Center - Golden 
Pueblo Youth Services Center - Pueblo 
Grand Mesa Detention Center - Grand Junction 
Platte Valley Youth Services Center - Greeley 
Marvin W. Foote Youth Services Center - Cherry Creek 
Robert Denier Detention Center – Durango 
Spring Creek Youth Service Center – Colorado Springs 

Students held in these centers may be included in the student count by the district of residence if 
they meet the following criteria: The student was in attendance in the current school year 
preceding the count date, has not withdrawn from the district of residence, and the resident 
district received a notification from the district in which the detention center is located verifying 
the student was in the center as of the official count date.  

Students not in attendance in the current year preceding the count date are eligible to be counted 
if the district of residence is also the district where the detention center is located. The district 
must enroll and establish a schedule with intent to have the student attend district schools after 
release from the detention center. 
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The district where the detention center is located (district of attendance) may count a student that 
is not eligible to be counted by the district of residence.  The district of attendance must receive 
written verification from the district of residence stating that the student was not eligible to be 
counted by the district of residence. The district of attendance must provide the educational 
program at the detention center.  

Do not count detention center students as facility placed students. 

Reference:  CSBOE Rule 2254-R-5.16 

III (E).  Expelled Students 

Expelled students are not eligible to be included in the official count.  However, if a student is expelled 
from a school setting and the district is continuing to provide an educational program off-site or purchases 
educational services, then the student is eligible to be counted. 

Students must be in an educational program on the official count date. This includes students 
expelled in a prior school year. 

The determination of full-time or part-time status can be based on the student-teacher contact 
time prior to the student’s expulsion or the student-teacher contact time in the expelled program. 

The district may count an expelled student if the student was expelled in the current school year, 
was not in attendance during the eleven-day count period, and the student resumed attendance in 
an educational program (provided by the school district or another educational agency) within 30 
calendar days after the official count date. 

If the district is purchasing educational services for expelled students then the district should enter 
into appropriate contracts with the entity providing the educational services.  

Reference:  CSBOE Rule 2254-R-5.03(8) 

III (F).  Facility School Students 

Students attending a facility school on the official count date are not eligible to be counted by their district 
of residence. 

Each approved facility school shall report to the facility school unit at CDE the number of 
publicly placed students receiving educational services in an approved facility school. 

No later than October 15, the facility school unit at CDE shall notify resident districts of students 
publicly placed in an approved facility school. These students will be counted by the approved 
facility school and should be removed from the school district’s October count. 



21

In the following situation the approved facility school shall count the student in their funded 
count:

The student attends the approved facility school in the current school year and prior to the 
official count day. The student is in the detention center on the official count day but returns 
to the approved facility school within the 30 days of the official count date.  

The student attends the approved facility school in the current school year and prior to the 
official count day. The student is in an online school on the official count day but returns to 
the approved facility school within the 30 days of the official count date.  

If a student is publicly placed in a group home but the student is receiving educational 
services as of the official count day at an approved facility school. The facility school should 
count the student. The district in which the group home is located should not count the 
student because they are not providing educational services. 

If the district is educating publicly placed students living in a facility, the district in which the 
facility is located counts the students in its funded count.  

If a student is publicly placed as of the official count date in a group home located in District A, 
but is attending a day treatment facility; who should count the student?  The determination of who 
should count the student depends on who is providing educational services. 

If the day treatment facility is an approved facility school, regardless of where the day 
treatment is located, then the student would be counted in the facility school’s funded count. 

If the day treatment program is not an approved facility school, but a district has made the 
placement and is paying for the educational services, then the district paying for the services 
would include the student in its funded count. 

If the student is a private placement or self referral, then no district is responsible for payment 
of educational services and the student would not be included in any district’s funded count. 

If the day treatment program is a district day treatment in District B, then District B should 
include the student in its funded count. 

If the student receives services in a District B program, then District B should include the 
student in its funded count. 

Reference:  CSL 22-54-129
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III (G).  First Grade Students

A student must be six years old on or before the official count date in order to be included in Grade 1 
enrollment and eligible for full time funding, unless the student meets the requirements of Advanced 
Highly Gifted Students, has transferred from a school in a state other than Colorado, or has parent(s) who 
are active military.  

Advanced Highly Gifted Students 
See “Student Types: Advanced Highly Gifted Students” section for requirements 

Transferring from a school in a state other than Colorado. 
For budget years beginning with 2007/2008 and each year thereafter, a district may count and 
receive full time funding for a student who is at least five years old on or before October 1 of 
the applicable budget year if the student attended at least one hundred twenty days of 
Kindergarten in a state other than Colorado.   

o For example, a five year old student attends Kindergarten for one hundred twenty 
days in a California private school. If the district could document attendance from the 
private school, the student could be counted in the first grade. However, if the school 
was located in Canada, the student would have to be counted as a Kindergarten 
student with part time funding. 

Districts will be required, but not limited, to provide one of the following: 
o Enrollment information from the prior school that summarizes how many days the 

student attended school out of state during the student’s kindergarten year. 
o Actual attendance records from the prior school that shows the student was present in 

school for 120 days during the student’s kindergarten year. 
o Actual attendance summary document from the prior school that shows the student 

attended school for 120 days during the student’s kindergarten year. 

Military students who have not reached age 6 as of the official count date and transferred from a 
school in another state if: 

Parent(s) are active military 
Student was enrolled in school in the current school year in another state 
Parent(s) have been relocated and student has been transferred into a Colorado school from a 
school in another state or Grandparents or other relatives are caring for a child of a parent 
who is active military that has been deployed or relocated and the child has transferred from a 
school in another state during the current school year. 
Districts will be required, but not limited, to provide the following: 

o Enrollment information from the prior school 
o Active military orders. 

Reference: CSBOE Rule 2254-R-5.05 (2) (a) and CRS 22-54-103 (10)(a)(IV)(B) 
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III (H).  Foreign Exchange Students 

A district may include foreign exchange students in the funded count if they meet the enrollment, 
attendance, and scheduled hours requirements. 

Students for whom the district is receiving tuition (e.g. students with F-1 visa) shall not be 
included in the funded count. 

Students on a J-1 visa shall not be included in the funded count if the student has graduated 
school from the country in which the student resides, or if the district is receiving tuition. 

III (I).  GED Students 

Students who have attained a GED certificate and have returned for a high school diploma are eligible to 
be counted.  If a student has been expelled and is receiving educational services from the district in a 
GED program, the student is eligible to be counted if the district provides credit for GED courses toward 
a high school diploma.  Students attending a BOCES GED program are eligible for the funded count if 
their resident district allows credit toward a diploma. 

Reference:  CSL 22-33-203(2)(a) 

III (J).  Home Based Education (AKA Home School or Home Study) 

Students receiving home based education are not eligible for funding. Home-based students who are 
receiving regular education services from a certified or licensed district teacher may be included in the 
funded student count if all of the following apply: 

The student must have 90 scheduled hours of student-teacher contact time. 

Scheduled hours can only include the time the student spends under the supervision of a certified 
or licensed teacher employed by the district. 

Students must be in enrolled and in attendance as of the official count date. 

A student is only considered in attendance on days of actual student-teacher contact. 

Reference: CSL 22-33-104.5 & CSBOE Rule 2254-R-5.13 
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III (K).  Home Bound Students 

If a home bound student is receiving school district instruction from a certified or licensed teacher, the 
student may be eligible for funding.   

Homebound students must meet the same enrollment, attendance, and scheduled hours 
requirements as all other students. 

Districts will be required, but not limited, to provide the following: 
Attendance documentation showing student was receiving instruction under the supervision 
of a certified or licensed teacher.  Examples of attendance documentation include, but are 
not limited to: 

o Time sheets clearly stating the student’s name, the date services were provided, 
and the name of the person providing the services. 

o Log-in documentation from an online program (that meets the definition of an 
online program) for students receiving instruction delivered using technology 
under the supervision of a certificated or licensed teacher. 

Student schedule showing the number of student teacher contact time schedule equivalent 
to ½ the school year.  Student schedules include those in effect at the time the student 
became homebound, or the number of scheduled hours in the home bound program.

Reference:  CSBOE Rule 2254-R-5.12 

III (L).  Independent Study Students 

Students participating in an independent study program can include only those hours defined in the 
student’s schedule that are under the supervision of a licensed teacher. 

Students must meet all enrollment, attendance, and scheduled hours requirements on the official 
count date. 

A district shall include only the time of supervised student-teacher instruction and contact. 

A student participating only in independent study shall be counted a maximum of .5 FTE.

Reference:  CSBOE Rules 2254-R-5.04 and 5.06 

III (M).  Kindergarten Students 

In order to be counted as a kindergarten student and receive part time funding, the student must be 5 years 
old as of the official count date, unless the student meets the requirements of Advanced Highly Gifted 
Students, has an Individual Education Plan, or has parent(s) who are active military. 

Advanced Highly Gifted Students 
See “Student Types: Advanced Highly Gifted Students” section for requirements 

Individual Education Plan (IEP) 
If a student has an IEP or schedule as of the official count date which provides at least 90 
hours of student-teacher instruction and contact time in the semester of the official count date.  
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Military students who have not reached age 5 as of the official count date and transferred from a 
school in another state if: 

Parent(s) are active military 
Student was enrolled in school in the current school year in another state 
Parent(s) have been relocated and student has been transferred into a Colorado school from a 
school in another state or Grandparents or other relatives are caring for a child of a parent 
who is active military that has been deployed or relocated and the child has transferred from a 
school in another state during the current school year. 
Districts will be required, but not limited, to provide the following: 

o Enrollment information from the prior school 
o Active military orders. 

Reference:  CSBOE Rule 2254-R-5.08 & CSL 22-54-103(10)(b) 

III (N).  Online Students 

Students participating in an online program are eligible for funding if they meet the necessary 
requirements, and if the program in which they are participating in has received confirmation from the 
Unit of Online Learning verifying the statutory definition of online learning is being met .  Students must 
meet the following requirements in order to receive funding: Enrollment and Colorado resident, 
Participation & Attendance, and Scheduled Equivalent Hours. 

Online programs should receive confirmation from the Unit of Online Learning to verify the 
statutory definition of online learning is being met. 

The Online Program must have a calendar that reasonably aligns with the beginning date of the 
school year of the Authorizer that operates it or has been approved for an alternative calendar by 
the Authorizer and the Department. 

Enrollment and Colorado Resident

An Online Program must verify and document student residency in the State of Colorado upon 
enrollment and annually thereafter and retain a copy of the document or written statement offered 
as verification in the student’s mandatory permanent record. Colorado residency is determined by 
the student and Parent or legal guardian currently residing within the State of Colorado 
boundaries, except for students of military families pursuant to  § 8.06.5 of these rules. 
Reasonable evidence of residency may be established by documentation including, but not 
limited to, any of the following: 

Property tax payment receipts; 
Rent payment receipts; 
Utility service payment receipts; or 
Written Statement of Residency executed by the student's parent/guardian. The written 
statement of residency should follow § 1-2-102(a) and (b) C.R.S. and may be satisfied by a 
statement such as: “I, ________________, swear and affirm under penalty of perjury that I 
am a resident of the State of Colorado.”    
A member or dependent of a member of the United States Armed Services shall be eligible to 
participate in an Online Program, notwithstanding the length of his or her residency, upon 
moving to Colorado on a change of station basis. 
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A member or dependent of a member of the United States Armed Services shall be eligible to 
participate in an Online Program, upon moving out of Colorado on a change of station basis 
as long as the member of the United States Armed Services qualifies for Colorado residency. 
In order to meet residency requirements, a member or dependent of a member of the United 
States Armed Services must maintain Colorado as their state of legal residence for tax 
purposes, and voters must maintain Colorado voter registration. 

Examples of invalid documentation include (but are not limited to): 
o Any student system login not including student name, date, time, or documentation 

that does not specifically address course content and student work; 
o An email that does not have documented corresponding system login information or 

does not include specific course content and student work; 
o Any documentation that can not specifically verify individual student login, date, 

time, or course content and student work. 

Examples of alternate Proof of Residency documentation: 
o Family Economic Data Survey Form 

Must contain physical address. No P O Boxes. 
Must be on State Approved Form. 
Must contain statement attesting the information is true and correct or under 
the penalty of perjury the information is correct. 
Must be signed. Electronic signatures are acceptable on STATE forms only.  

o A State approved form that contains: 
Physical address. No P O Boxes. 
Statement attesting the information is true and correct or under the penalty of 
perjury the information is correct. 
A Signature (must be signed). Electronic signatures are acceptable on 
STATE forms only.  

Participation and Attendance

Pursuant to § 22-30.7-105(2)(a) C.R.S., an Online Program must be able to document active 
participation in an online sequential educational program and individual student attendance in the 
Online Program during the official count window. Documentation of active participation must 
include system logins that make evident each student taking part in course content in the online 
educational program via the internet. Logins must show that the student was online on the official 
count date (October 1) or if the student is absent on the official count date, there must be a login 
prior to the official count date and within thirty days following. 

Examples of valid documentation include (but are not limited to): 
o Student management system login including student name, date, time, and 

documentation that specifically addresses course content and student work; 
o Student management system login including student name, date, time, with a 

corresponding email documenting specific course content and student work; and 
o Student management system login including student name, date, time, with 

corresponding documentation of instant messaging, or web conferencing with 
specific course content and student work. 
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The date of withdrawal must be as of the student’s last day of attendance. 
The attendance register should note if a student is absent or present on the date of withdrawal. 

Scheduled Equivalent Hours

The determination of full-time or part-time status is based upon the minimum number of hours 
provided for a student to receive instruction. Minimum hours can be based on the number of 
hours per day (or week) required to earn an equivalent number of credits in a traditional 
classroom setting. 

A full time student must have a schedule that provides for a minimum of three hundred and 
sixty (360) hours of instruction per semester to receive full-time funding pursuant to 2254-R-
5.06(3). 
A part time student must have a schedule that provides for a minimum of ninety (90) hours of 
instruction per semester to receive part-time funding pursuant to 2254-R-5.06(3). 
Student schedules should designate the number of hours per day (or week) required to earn an 
equivalent number of credits in a traditional classroom setting.  

Districts will be required, but not limited, to provide the following: 
Attendance and participation documentation  

o Generated from the student management system login that contains: 
Student name, date, time, course content, and student work 

Student schedules 
o Showing the classes scheduled as of the official count date 
o The number of hours per day (or week) required to earn an equivalent number of 

credits in a traditional  classroom setting 
School Calendar 

o Must reasonably align with the district calendar 
Proof of Colorado residency 

Reference: CSL 22-30.7105 & 1 CCR 301-71 (8.0) 

III (O).  Preschool Students 

Districts may count preschool students with disabilities, or preschool students served under the 
Colorado Preschool Program.   

All preschool students must meet the enrollment, attendance, and scheduling criteria. 

The November 1 alternate count day may be used for preschool students (grade level 004 only).  
If a district decides to use the alternate count day, then all CPP and preschool special education 
must be counted using the same day. 

Preschool students with disabilities counted using the alternate count day of November 1 
must have at least 90 hours of student-teacher contact time.  
Preschool students served under the Colorado Preschool Program shall have no less than 
three hundred and sixty hours or one hundred and eighty hours in the semester of the 
alternate count day and must have 90 hours of student teacher contact time. 
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Preschool Students with Disabilities
The staffing date is not considered a day of attendance. The student must establish 
attendance on or before the official count date 
Students are eligible to be counted if they reach age three during the semester of the official 
count date. 
Students must have a Service Delivery Page of their Individual Education Plan (IEP) that is 
dated on or before the official count date. 
Students must be schedule for at least 90 hours of student-teacher contact time in the 
semester of the official count day, but must have a program that offers one hundred and 
eighty hours of student-teacher contact.  Effective with the 2006/2007 school year, parent 
implemented intervention activity hours may no longer be counted toward the minimum of 
90 program contact hours per semester in order to be included in the state count and receive 
the .5 PPR school finance funding. 
Students cannot be funded for more than .5 FTE.
Districts that contract with Headstart or a private organization for special education 
services must provide evidence of a purchase agreement between the district and the 
outside agency. 

Preschool Students served under the Colorado Preschool Program (CPP)
Students must reach age three or age four on or before the official count date.  If a child is 
three years old, the district must provide documentation that the child meets at least three of 
the risk factors in CSL 22-28-106(1)(a.5). 
The number of hours scheduled shall be no less than three hundred and sixty or one 
hundred and eighty hours in the semester of the official count. CSBOE Rules 2254-R-2.06 
The number of preschool students in CPP cannot exceed the number of slots allotted to the 
district by CDE. 
Students cannot be funded for more than .5 FTE (equivalent to 1 CPP slot), unless a 
student has been approved to be funded with 2 slots. 

Reference: CSBOE Rules 2254-R-5.07-5.11, CSBOE Rules 2254-R-2.06,  
  CSL 22-28-104 & CSL 22-28-104(4)(b)) 

            
III (P).  Suspended Students 

A student on suspension from school attendance on the official count date may be included in the Student 
October count if the student resumes attendance within 30 calendar days after the official count date. 

Reference:  CSBOE Rule 2254-R-5.03(7) 
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III (Q).  Transferring Students (between Districts) 

For all students enrolling on or before the official count date from another Colorado district, the enrolling 
district should send a transfer notification to the former district. 

Transfer notifications should be sent to the former district within 15 calendar days of the count 
date.

If the student attended classes in both the former and new district on the count date, the receiving
district is entitled to include the student in its funded count. 

Schools with a CDE approved alternative count date that enroll students from another Colorado 
district on any day after the October 1 count date may include these students in their count. 

The receiving district obtains certification from the former district that the student was not 
included in their student count, and
The receiving district maintains count date and continuing attendance records. Documents 
must be kept until audited by CDE. 

An in-district transfer during the count period must not be shown as a withdrawal or a drop by the 
former school.  A student who is recorded as withdrawn prior to the count day is not eligible to be 
included in the funded student count. 

In-district transfers should be clearly documented on the attendance records of both schools. 

Reference:  CSBOE Rules 2254-R-5.03(1)(c) and 5.03(5) 

III (R).  Transition Students 

October count requirements for students ages 18-21 are the same as for all other students.  Students 
participating in district sponsored transition programs may be counted so long as the student meets all of 
the requirements (enrollment, attendance, and scheduled student/teacher contact). Community based 
services are an extension of school building based services and should be documented in the same way.  
Requirements for attendance, work study, independent study, and post secondary enrollment apply to all 
students.       

Students may not be counted if a diploma has been issued or graduation requirements have been 
met. 

Transition students must be in membership on the official count date and must be actively 
participating in program activities.     

The determination of full-time or part-time status is based upon the number of hours of student-
teacher contact time provided or paid for by the district.   

All direct, supervised or purchased services must be documented in a student schedule and/or the 
services page of the student’s IEP (district must provide Service Delivery Page). 
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Students receiving credit for a successful completion of program activities must result in credit 
toward a high school diploma. 

Attendance documentation is required and may include time sheets from job sites, attendance 
records from post secondary schools, and documentation of contact with the supervising 
teacher/staff.   

III (S).  Truant Students 

A truant student may be included in the funded count if the student was enrolled and in attendance during 
the current school year prior to the official count date, was truant during the entire eleven-day count 
period, and the district has taken legal action provided in the statutes to compel the student’s attendance. 

Legal action may include a notification to the parent(s) of intent to file with the court and 
direction has been given to the attorney to file, or that action by the court was requested within 10 
school days following the official count date. 

A truant student must not have reached the age of 17 as of the official count date. 

Any student who has reached the age of SIX on or before August 1 of each year shall attend
public school.

Reference:  CSBOE Rule 2254-R-5.03(10) & CSL 33-104(5)(a) 

III (T).  Work Study Students 

For purposes of determining the number of hours of student-teacher instruction and contact for students 
participating in a work study program, a district shall include only the time of instruction and contact 
provided under the supervision of a certificated or licensed teacher. 

Students must be in membership on the official count date. 

The work study program must be approved by the local board of education. 

The district shall include only the work hours required to earn credit hours as defined in the 
student’s schedule. 

A student participating only in a work study program shall be counted a maximum of .5 FTE.

Reference:  CSBOE Rule 2254-R-5.06(3)(c) 
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IV.  At-Risk Funding 

The Public School Finance Act of 1994 utilizes the count of “At-Risk” students in determining funding 
for public school districts.  The At-Risk student count includes those students who are eligible for free 
lunch. 

Students eligible for the At-Risk count must also be included in the funded student count. 

Students who qualify for the At-Risk count based on eligibility for free lunch must meet at least 
one of the following criteria: 

The student has a Free Lunch Application on file that has been approved within 30 calendar
days after the October count date, OR 

o Free Lunch Applications: 
Must be signed and dated by an adult member of the household. 
Must have the social security number of the parent/guardian or indicate there 
is no social security number.  If the student is a foster child or the family 
receives food stamps a social security number is not required. 
Must include the names of all household members including the name(s) of 
the child(ren) for whom the application is made. 
If the family qualifies for the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 
(SNAP), part 2 of the application must be completed. 
If the child is a foster child, then part 3 of the application must be completed.  
Foster child are the children who are the legal responsibility of a welfare 
agency or court.  Grandchildren would not qualify as foster children. 
School district personnel should not alter any information on the application.  
If there is a change to the family’s gross income, the district should obtain a 
new application or attach a pay stub that contains the family gross income 
and is dated appropriate to the applicable Student October Count. 
Applications dated 31 days or more past the official count day should not be 
included in a district’s October count transmission. 
Applications must include gross income for all household members who 
work.
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The student has a Family Economic Data Survey that has been approved within 30 calendar 
days after the October count date.  This form can be used by schools that are not participating 
in the Federal National School Lunch or School Breakfast programs. 

o Family Economic Data Surveys: 
Must be signed and dated by an adult member of the household. 
Must include the names of all household members including the name(s) of 
the child(ren) for whom the application is made. 
If the child is a foster child, then part 2 of the application must be completed.  
Foster child are the children who are the legal responsibility of a welfare 
agency or court.  Grandchildren would not qualify as foster children. 
School district personnel should not alter any information on the application.  
If there is a change to the family’s gross income, the district should obtain a 
new application or attach a pay stub that contains the family gross income 
and is dated appropriate to the applicable Student October Count. 
Applications dated 31 days or more past the official count day should not be 
included in a district’s October count transmission. 
Applications must include gross income for all household members who 
work.

Absent a current year application, the district may submit the student’s approved free lunch 
application from the prior year that is effective for a maximum of 30 school days into the 
current school year. 
A copy of the direct certification listing as of the official count date or the alternative count 
date which includes the student’s name. 
The student has been identified as “migrant” by the district’s Migrant Education Program 
Director using guidelines established under Section 107 of the Child Nutrition and WIC 
Reauthorization Act of 2004. 
The student has been identified as “homeless” by the district’s Homeless Liaison using 
guidelines established under McKinney-Vento Assistance Act. 

ELL at risk students should not be added to the district’s at risk count. These students will be 
calculated in accordance with 22-54-103(1.5)(b)(1V). This calculation will be done by the 
Department of Education. 

Reference: CSBOE Rule 2254-R-6.00 & CSL 22-54-103 (1.5) (b) I-III 
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Concurrent Enrollment and ASCENT
Frequently Asked Questions

Updated 6/28/10

General

Q: Are districts required to implement an ASCENT program? Concurrent 
Enrollment?

A: There are no statutory requirements to implement an ASCENT program, a
concurrent Enrollment program, or sign a cooperative agreement. Districts are only 
required to follow the ASCENT guidelines if they choose to participate in a 5th year 
Concurrent Enrollment program after 2012. Should districts choose to participate in 
ASCENT, names of interested and eligible students must be provided to the 
Colorado Department of Education by September 1st

A: Concurrent enrollment is open to students in 9

of each year for students to be 
considered for the following academic year.

Q: When are districts able to fully implement the ASCENT program?

A: The first group will be eligible to participate in fall 2010.

Q: What is the difference between concurrent enrollment and ASCENT?
th-12th grade.  Tuition for 

approved course(s) is paid through per pupil operating revenue funding. ASCENT a 
5th year program for students that have completed or are on schedule to complete 
at least 12 credit hours (semester hours equivalent) of postsecondary course work 
prior to the completion of his or her 12th grade year.

Q: Can districts mix and match Postsecondary Enrollment Options (PSEO) 
and Concurrent Enrollment or must they choose only one?

A: Districts have the option to use pieces of both programs until July 1, 2012;
however, there would have to be two different cooperative agreements in place,
one for each program. Beginning fall 2012, districts will have to use concurrent 
enrollment and ASCENT program criteria as Postsecondary Enrollment Options will 
no longer be available.

Q: What is the difference between extended studies and concurrent 
enrollment?

A: Concurrent enrollment is a type of dual enrollment program, which allows 
students to receive college credit before high school graduation. Concurrent 
enrollment programs (current and previous) include and/or included the 
Postsecondary Enrollment Options program; the Fast College Fast Jobs program;
the High School Fast Track program; concurrent enrollment (replaces PSEO and 
Fast Track no later than 2012) and the ASCENT program. The ASCENT and 
concurrent enrollment programs require the school district to pay the tuition of 
participating students up to the community college tuition rate. Funding to school 
districts will occur as outlined in the legislation and rules. 
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Extended studies dual enrollment programs are off campus programs offered 
through a contract between the school district and four year institutions. These 
programs are generally cash funded and do not carry College Opportunity Fund 
eligibility. Additionally, these programs are authorized through the Colorado 
Commission on Higher Education policies and rules pursuant to Section 23-1-109 
C.R.S. (2009). 

Funding

Q: Are books and fees included in the funding for these programs?

A: The legislation declares that funding for books and fees is not included; however, 
the school district may choose to sponsor such expenses, and it is recommended 
that those expenses be addressed in the cooperative agreement. 

Q: For what amount of tuition are students eligible?

A: If a student goes somewhere other than the local community college, the 
student would only be eligible for the amount of tuition at the local community 
college tuition rate. The payment of any tuition charged above the community 
college rate should be addressed in the cooperative agreement and made clear to 
the student during the registration process!

Q: How will funding be determined with the potential for requests for 
ASCENT student participation that exceed state allocation?

A: The ASCENT advisory board will help CDE with the selection for ASCENT 
participation in the event of limited funds. Districts will then allocate received slots
according to their own methodology. 

Q: Are students in ASCENT or concurrent enrollment programs eligible to 
receive College Opportunity Fund?

A: Yes, students participating in concurrent enrollment programs are eligible to 
receive payment of stipends from the college opportunity fund program.

Q: Does the concurrent enrollment program impact a school district’s per 
pupil funding?

A: No, participating concurrent enrollment students shall be included in the funded 
pupil count of his or her school district, or, in the case of a student enrolled in an 
institute charter school, the school's accounting district. 

Q: Are students who take remedial courses covered under Concurrent 
Enrollment guidelines?

Eligibility
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A. Yes, the legislation states that students in their senior year are eligible to take 
remedial courses under a concurrent enrollment program.  The district reserves 
the right to determine if students will be approved to take remedial courses 
under Concurrent Enrollment.

Q: Are students who take remedial courses eligible for ASCENT?

A: Eligible seniors may take remedial courses, but remedial coursework does not 
qualify as part of the 12 credit hours of college coursework required for ASCENT 
eligibility.

Q: Can all high school students participate in ASCENT program?

A: Yes, all students may participate if they meet the requirements for the ASCENT 
program and funding is available. 

Q: Do Advanced Placement courses count as college credit for ASCENT 
eligibility?

A: No, a student may only use college credits from a “qualified” institution of higher 
education. The statute indicates that students must have completed 
“postsecondary coursework,” and AP is a high school course.

Q: Is there a transition period for students so that allows for participating 
who do not yet have 12 credits to participate in the ASCENT?

A: No, the legislation is clear about the 12 credit hour requirement. 

Q: Do CLEP credits count toward the 12 needed for ASCENT? 

A: Any college-level credit transcribed on the college transcript will count towards 
the 12 credit hour requirements. 

Q: Does the Accuplacer exam have to be taken prior to enrollment?

A: The legislation does not require a specific postsecondary test; however, a 
qualified student who intends to concurrently enroll in a postsecondary course, 
including an academic or a career and technical education course, must satisfy the 
minimum prerequisites for the course prior to his or her enrollment in the course.
In order to demonstrate meeting pre-requisites the institution of higher education 
may require testing or other means to demonstrate preparedness. 

Q: How does an institution of higher education determine that the student 
is qualified? 

A: The institutions of higher education will utilize existing procedures and or those 
in the cooperative agreement to determine if a student is qualified. 

Agreements

Q: Are there separate agreements for Concurrent Enrollment and ASCENT?
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A: Yes. Both preferred agreement models can be found on the CDE website. 
(http://www.cde.state.co.us/scripts/reforms/detail.asp?itemid=576304)

Q: If a college course is taught at the high school by a high school teacher, 
can students participate in the ASCENT program with this course?

A: Yes, this is allowed, but it would have to be specified in the cooperative 
agreement that such courses are acceptable.

Q: Is there a disclosure in the cooperative agreement form that declares 
that information can be released to high school and parent?

A: For the purposes of meeting the Family Education Rights and Privacy Act 
(FERPA), the student is considered a high school student until they reach the age of 
18. At that point rights transfer to the student. 

Q: Can districts send students to either a two-year or four-year 
institution?

A: Yes, a cooperative agreement can be signed between a local education provider 
and a two-year or a four-year institution of higher education. Local education 
providers may enter into multiple cooperative agreements.

Q: Is a school district limited to enter into an agreement with only one 
college or community college for enrollment of students?

A: No, it is permissible for school districts to have multiple agreements. However, 
colleges that are part of the Colorado Community College System are not allowed 
to serve districts outside of the college’s defined service area unless there is a 
Service Area Clearance Agreement in place. 

District Concerns

Q: Are students considered high school graduates after they have met 
graduation requirements, even if they continue into the 5th year with the 
ASCENT program?

A: No, a student who is designated as an ASCENT program participant shall not be 
considered a high school graduate until he or she has completed his or her 
participation in the ASCENT program and any remaining graduation requirements 
specified by his or her high school administration.

Q: Can districts choose to only allow juniors and seniors to participate in 
the Concurrent Enrollment Program?

A: The district has flexibility in implementing the Concurrent Enrollment Program to 
best meet the needs of students in their district.

Q: What will be the impact of graduation for AYP and other district 
accountability requirements?
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A: The Colorado Department of Education will work with the Concurrent Enrollment 
Advisory Board to ensure, to the extent practicable, that districts are not adversely 
affected when reporting for the ASCENT students. CDE will work with the districts 
that have ASCENT students on how to code these students so that they will not be 
adversely affected.

Other

Q: May online learning options be used for concurrent enrollment or the 
ASCENT program learning?

A: The Concurrent Enrollment Advisory Board has discussed the possibility of online 
learning options, but there have been no final conclusions as to whether online 
delivery is an option for concurrent enrollment.

Q: Has the Concurrent Enrollment Advisory Board had conversations about 
disability services?  How will compliance with the Individual with 
Disabilities Act be addressed in concurrent enrollment programs?

A: The Concurrent Enrollment Advisory Board as discussed this issue.  However 
more research is needed to fully address accessibility in concurrent enrollment 
programs.

Q: In the 5th year, is there any limit in the number of credits that a student 
can take?

A: If a student is taking classes during the 5th year through ASCENT, there are no 
limits to the numbers of credit hours a student can take unless otherwise restricted 
per a college’s maximum credit policy.  However, if a student was retained for a 5th

year due to not meeting graduation requirements, the student is limited to 9 credits 
total during his/her 5th year, with a maximum of 6 credits allowed in one semester.

Q: Does the approved plan of study in the Concurrent Enrollment program
have to have a certificate/degree built in?

A: The Concurrent Enrollment legislation does not require a certificate or degree be 
included in a student’s Individual Career and Academic Plan by the end of the 5th

year.

Q: Will concurrent enrollment credits be included in the student’s College 
Opportunity Fund tally? 

A: Yes, with the exception of basic skills courses. 


