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Libraries Nationwide Report Circulation Policies

Do circulation policies vary widely throughout the country?
How do the policies of other metropolitan libraries in the U.S.
compare with those of Colorado?

To find out, in June 1996, we surveyed two dozen metropolitan
public libraries nationwide, ten of which are Colorado public
libraries. These libraries reported their circulation policies for different formats, and told
us how they inform patrons of due dates.

Similar Trends Discovered for Different Formats

After compiling results of the surveys, we found a reassuring trend:

Circulation policies for most format materials
(books, periodicals, audio cassettes, and audio CDs)
are fairly uniform among libraries surveyed.

Loan Periods Grace Periods Overdue Rates Maximum Fines

Colorado $.05t0 $.10 $2.00 to $5.00
Libraries 21 days 2 to 3 days per item per item
Other U.S. $.05t0 $.10 Zero to $10.00
Libraries 21 days None per item per item

“Individual reports for each format are available from the Library Research Service.
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Circulation Policies in Detail

B Loan Periods:

B Grace Periods:

B Overdue Rates:

B Maximum
Fines:

Most Colorado and U.S. libraries surveyed reported loan
periods of 21 days for most types of materials (excluding
videos and CD-ROMs). Half of the Colorado libraries that lend
periodicals reported shorter lending periods of 7 to 14 days

In Colorado, most grace periods for the familiar formats are
2 to 3 days, while most metropolitan U.S. libraries extend no
grace period at all.

Most Colorado and U.S. libraries surveyed charge $.05 to $.10
for items excluding videos and CD-ROMs.

We also found that three U.S. libraries routinely assess a split
adult/child rate:

$.10/$.02 Buffalo & Erie County Public Library, PA
$.25/%$.10 Multnomah County Public Library, OR, and
Tucson-Pima Library, AZ

Of the Colorado libraries surveyed that circulate periodicals, the
largest single group charges a maximum fine of $2.00. Most
Colorado libraries surveyed also collect maximum fines of $3.00
to $5.00 for books, cassettes, and audio CDs. Other U.S.
libraries surveyed charge amounts ranging from zero to $10.00
for formats excluding videos and CD-ROMs.

The same three libraries shown above also set maximum fines
according to split adult/child rates for all formats circulated,
except video and CD-ROM:

$6.00/$2.00 Buffalo & Erie County Public Library, PA
$7.50/$3.00 Tucson-Pima Library, AZ
$10.00/$5.00 Multnomah County Public Library, OR

In Colorado, an adult/child rate for maximum fines is charged by
the Arapahoe Library District: $5.00/$2.00 for books, audio
cassettes, audio CDs, and videos.

Other U.S. libraries collect the replacement cost of the item
for all formats circulated. (Public Library of Cincinnati &
Hamilton County, OH, and Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, PA.)



Video and CD-ROM Circulation Policies Are Tighter

The surveys showed that the libraries impose generally tighter circulation policies for

day).

videos and CD-ROMs than for other format materials.

Videos circulate for shorter periods and incur larger potential
maximum fines.

CD-ROMs--where offered by libraries--circulate for up to 21
days, but call for higher overdue rates (up to $1.00 per

In Colorado, surveyed libraries allow grace periods of various lengths for CD-ROMs;
but such grace periods are generally not granted at all in other U.S. libraries--a trend
observed for all formats. In the Colorado and U.S. libraries surveyed, grace periods
are not given for videos. Maximum fines for CD-ROMs vary among the Colorado and
U.S. libraries, with the highest at $10.00 per item. Maximum fines for videos are
significantly higher than for CD-ROMs, up to $50.00 per item.

Videos in Detail:

B Loan Periods:

B Grace Periods:

Overdue Rates:

Maximum
Fines:

Half of Colorado libraries and 61% of U.S. libraries report that
videos circulate for 7 days.

The majority of Colorado and U.S. libraries offer no grace
period for overdue videos.

Colorado libraries are in line with other metropolitan U.S.
libraries, most charging $1.00 per item per day.

In Colorado, maximum fines for videos range from $3.00 (Weld
Library District) to $25.00 (Jefferson County Public Library).
Within that range, 30% of Colorado libraries charge a $5.00
fee, and another 30%, $10.00 fee. In other U.S. libraries
maximum fines range from a low of $2.00 up to replacement
cost of the item, with 31% of those surveyed assessing only
$5.00.

Adult/Child fines are structured as follows:

$5.00/$2.00 Arapahoe Library District, CO
$10.00/$5.00 Buffalo & Erie County Public Library, PA
$7.50/$3.00 Tucson/Pima Library, AZ

The highest maximum fine for videos reported outside Colorado
is $50.00, charged by the Oakland (CA) Public Library. Two
U.S. libraries (Public Library of Cincinnati & Hamilton County



and Carnegie
Library of
Pittsburgh) charge
patrons to replace
missing items at
cost, as is their
policy with other
materials.

CD-ROMS in Detail:

Half of the 24 libraries surveyed do not have CD-ROMs available for check out.

In Colorado, only three libraries (Aurora, Pikes Peak, Weld) that circulate CD-ROMs
responded, along with eight libraries elsewhere in the U.S. Their responses are
summarized below:

B Loan Periods: Most Colorado and U.S. libraries reported loan periods of
21 days for CD-ROMs.

B Grace Periods: Colorado Libraries reported 2 to 6 days, while most U.S.
libraries reported no grace period is offered, following the
overall pattern.

W Overdue Rates: Colorado libraries reported daily overdue rates for CD-ROMs of

$.05, $.50 and $1.00 per item. The $1.00 rate is also
preferred by most U.S. libraries offering CD-ROMs. Two U.S.
libraries (Tucson/Pima Library and Multnomah County) charge
a split adult/child rate of $.25/$.10, as is done for other formats.

Maximum

Fines:
Two Colorado libraries charge $10.00, while U.S. libraries

report rates ranging from $5.00 to $10.00. Adult/child rates for
Multnomah County are $10.00/$5.00, and for Tucson/Pima are
$7.50/$3.00, the same amounts charged for most other formats.

How Do Libraries Inform Borrowers of Due Dates?

Of the libraries surveyed, 41% reported their methods for letting borrowers know when
materials are due.

Most of these libraries give borrowers a loose, disposable slip stamped with the
item’s due date. One library (Boulder, CO) uses a bookmark for this purpose. Only
one library (Jefferson County, CO) places the slip into a pocket affixed to the item.



Two libraries (Tucson-Pima and Weld) allow users to check materials out
themselves by utilizing self-serve stations and stamping their own due dates.

Libraries also use these other methods: affixing white stickers stamped with the
due date to the front or back of the item; or notifying users verbally of the date
items may be renewed by telephone, as well as reminding them of the next due date
during the telephone renewal.



