

COLORADO STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

201 East Colfax Avenue [Central Office 303.866.6817] Denver, Colorado 80203-1704 • www.cde.state.co.us

A RESOLUTION:

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION'S LEGISLATIVE PRIORITIES FOR 2005

ACCOUNTABILITY

- Longitudinal Growth/SAR Propose clean-up legislation to ensure reliability and meaningfulness of the longitudinal growth rating on the School Accountability Reports.
- SARs and Unsatisfactory Schools Propose increased flexibility and State Board discretion in directing multiple remedies for 'Unsatisfactory' schools beyond what is currently in statute (SB-186).

FINANCE

- ➤ <u>At-risk Funding for Non-English Speakers</u> Encourage the Legislature to restore the \$4 million in the at-risk funding factor of the School Finance Act for ELL students.
- ➤ Full-day Kindergarten/Colorado Preschool Program (CPP) Back the proposal of the Office of State Planning & Budgeting (OSPB) to restore funding in 05-06 of CPP to the original 11,050 slots and encourage full-day kindergarten as an effective intervention for at-risk populations.
- ➤ Online Education Funding Ensure accessibility for all Colorado students.
- School Trust Lands Encourage the Legislature to follow the state Constitution's requirement that school trust land funds are to be used to supplement, not supplant, the School Finance Act.
- Restoration of Library Funding Reiterate the Board's current budget request of \$60,500 for libraries.

SCHOOL CHOICE

- Resolution on Principles of School Choice Reaffirm the Board's resolution on school choice and encourage the Legislature to follow the guidelines in it when considering any bill related to school choice.
- ➤ Bonding for Institute Charter Schools If the Charter Institute Board is interested in securing bonding access through the Cultural Facilities District, the State Board will support their efforts.

GENERAL

State Board Authority – One overall principle favored by the Board is to have legislation give the Board more flexibility to put specifics of implementation in rule.

Seated February 2004

Jared Polis Chairman

Member-at-Large

Randy DeHoff Vice Chairman

6th Congressional District

Christine Baca

7th Congressional District

Evie Hudak 2nd Congressional District

Peggy Littleton
5th Congressional District

D. Rico Munn

1st Congressional District

Clair Orr 4th Congressional District

Pamela Jo Suckla 3rd Congressional District

Adopted: October 14, 2004